October 24, 2006
ReferenceUSA Enhancements set for November 1!
Look for these new enhancements to ReferenceUSA:
- New Business Detail Page – Brand-new page layout! And, the following data elements have been added:
- Exact Employee Size – included on 97% of our business records.
- Business Description – what the business does.
- Glossy Reports – printable PDFs of companies’ annual reports.
- Headline News and Public Filings
Business Hours and Credit Cards Accepted - Executive Gender Search
- U.S. Business Address Search – search in two different formats: enter the business's address in ONE search box, or break it down by building name, pre-directional, street name, suffix, or post directional.
ReferenceUSA Monthly Update - October 2006
Posted by digital_assets at 01:15 PM
Coming Soon: ISI Web of Knowledge Upgrades
Thomson Scientific will be releasing numerous significant enhancements to ISI Web of Knowledge in early November 2006. The following upgrades will greatly improve your overall search experience.
New in Web of Science®:
Citation Report — New, powerful citation analysis feature
Distinct Author Identification System — Find the right author, quickly
Full Author Names — Web of Science now captures full author names as they are listed in original articles
More detailed information to come in early November.
Thomson Scientfic Online News - 10/23/06
Posted by digital_assets at 08:12 AM
October 23, 2006
CAS e-seminar: SciFinder®: Exploring Chemical Properties
SciFinder®: Exploring Chemical Properties and Finding New Ways to Enhance Your Search Results
Wednesday, October, 26 at 9.00 a.m. EDT
To register, visit: http://casevents.webex.com
After you register, you will receive an e-mail confirmation containing the teleconference phone numbers.
Learn how predicted and experimental property data can help you find relevant research answers quickly. Explore:
- The wide variety of chemical property data now available in SciFinder
- Tips and strategies using chemical property data to enhance searching
- Case studies demonstrating the versatility of substance property data
For system and other technical requirements needed to participate in this event, contact WebEx:
Phone: 866-779-3239 (North America) or 916-463-8262 (worldwide)
E-mail: support@webex.com
Web site: http://www.cas.org/SCIFINDER/require.html
Scholar - October 2006
Posted by digital_assets at 08:09 AM
RefWorks - Easily Capture Web Page Data with RefGrab-It
Now you can easily capture web page data with a single click! RefWorks new feature, RefGrab-It, works with your browser to capture bibliographic information from web pages.
And, if that weren't enough – RefGrab-It also searches the web for additional information related to your web page (based on ISBN numbers, PubMed IDs, DOIs), working behind the scenes to get you the most complete bibliographic information. Of course, you have the option to seamlessly import any of the data RefGrab-It locates into your RefWorks account.
RefWorks Technical Bulletin Features Release - October 2006
Posted by digital_assets at 08:04 AM
October 20, 2006
Update Your ISI Searching Skills
Recorded training are available anytime for ISI Web of Knowledge:
Sessions include Essential Science Indicators, Journal Citation Reports®, Journal Use Reports, Web of Science and more . . . Visit http://www.scientific.thomson.com/support/recordedtraining/ for more information.
Also, new in the KnowledgeLink librarian resource center:
- Guide to planning a training day
- Order training materials/request a personalized WebEx
- Products descriptions: graphics, logos and information for your library web site
- New, improved quick reference card for Web of Science® (PDF)
KnowledgeLink Newsletter 10-19-06
Posted by digital_assets at 08:18 AM
ISI Introduces EndNote Web
EndNote Web will be available to academic and government subscribers of ISI Web of Knowledge and EndNote sitewide licensees later this year. ISI Web of Knowledge users will have immediate access to EndNote Web via the personalization options. Users will also be able to access EndNote Web at www.myendnoteweb.com (active later this year) to login to their personal account which will be accessible from any location, on and off campus. Read more.
KnowledgeLink Newsletter 10-19-06
Posted by digital_assets at 08:14 AM
October 19, 2006
Grove Art Online Expands Coverage of Women
This month, Grove Art Online was updated to enlarge the broad coverage of women in Grove Art Online by adding nearly 120 new articles and essays on women artists and designers, and over 120 new images of works by women, to include over 850 women artists. New entries include Kara Walker, Shahzia Sikander, Hildegard of Bingen, Valie Export, Guerrilla Girls, Destiny Deacon, Sheila de Bretteville, Paula Scher and more.
Grove Art also announces a landmark agreement with The Metropolitan Museum of Art for 2,000 images to be included in the Grove Art Online by Summer 2007.
Grove Art Online Update 10-19-06
Posted by digital_assets at 04:11 PM
Citing Sources on Knovel
Knovel has a handy "Citation" link that allows users to create a properly formatted citation for any reference book or database in the Knovel Library.
Here's how it works:
Go to the Table of Contents for any title in Knovel Library.
Click on the "Citations" link near the top of the TOC.
A box will open. Input the cited page number(s) in the box and click the "Continue" button.
That's it! An MLA (Modern Language Association) properly formatted citation will appear.
Knovel has programmed all necessary variations (single author, multiple authors, type of publication, etc.). All you need to do is indicate the page(s) and copy/paste the resulting citation. Give the Citation link a try. We hope you agree--it's kool!
K-News 10-18-06
Posted by digital_assets at 03:57 PM
Knovel Announces October Webinar Dates
Knovel continues to offer the "Intro to Knovel" online demonstration which takes approximately 30 minutes. All you need is a phone and an internet connection. During the session, you will learn how to use the features that transform Knovel from a simple e-book service to a workflow and productivity tool that can save you a great deal of time and effort in your research. For a full description of the Knovel webinar, click here. Don't wait to register! Sessions fill up fast. Choose a registration link for one of the upcoming webinars below:
- Oct. 23, 2006 (Monday) at 12:00 PM EST Register Here
- Oct. 27, 2006 (Friday) at 10:00 AM EST Register Here
K-News 10-18-06
Posted by digital_assets at 03:52 PM
Knovel Adds New Titles in Aerospace & Radar Technology
Military Avionics Systems
Copyright (c) 2006, John Wiley & Sons. This book introduces the military roles expected of aircraft types and describes the avionics systems required to fulfill these roles, ranging from technology and architectures to navigations systems, sensors, computing architectures and the human-machine interface. This reference enables readers to assemble combinations of systems in order to perform specific military roles. It covers a wide range of military aircraft roles and systems applications offering clear and concise system descriptions. This reference also includes case studies and examples from current projects, featuring full color illustrations which detail aircraft display systems.
Rocket Propulsion Elements (7th Edition)
Copyright (c) 2001, John Wiley & Sons. With more than a third of the text and illustrations either completely new or extensively revised, this latest edition includes current information on engine structures, nozzle theory, gas properties, thrust chambers, launch vehicles, and more. With a detailed table of contents breaking down each chapter into subsections--as well as an expanded index of key words--this Seventh Edition efficiently steers readers quickly to the information they need. Other highlights include: Separate chapters on liquid, solid, and hybrid propulsion systems and a new chapter on thrust chambers, including the new aerospace nozzle; Comprehensive coverage of rocket propulsion technology, with applications to space flight, satellite flight, and guided and unguided missiles; Problem-solving examples and exercises relevant to actual design situations; More than 340 illustrations including photographs, tables, and graphs; Coherent, up-to-date chapter on electrical propulsion balancing fundamentals with practical aspects and applications.
Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering, Volumes 1-6
Copyright (c) 2005, John Wiley & Sons. RF and Microwave Engineering is one of the fastest growth areas of the past decade and will probably continue to be a very active area of research and application in a large variety of fields. This six-volume set illustrates how this field has been the key enabling technology responsible for the phenomenal growth of wireless communication. This set also examines how RF and microwave engineering continue to have great influence in radar, remote sensing, remote control, sensors, navigation, surveillance, electronic warfare, radiometers, plasma research, and imaging.
Be sure to visit Knovel's New Titles page for a complete list of newly released titles.
K-News 10-18-06
Posted by digital_assets at 12:52 PM
October 18, 2006
Database Tutorials
Check out this website that offers free library tutorials (housed in DSpace at the U. of Calgary)
ANTS: Animated Tutorial Sharing Project from COPPUL: Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries
Download the tutorials from DSpace Browse the titles or subjects for a list of tutorials. Does not work in Firefox.
Posted by digital_assets at 08:53 AM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562