« October 2006 | Main | December 2006 »
November 27, 2006
Multidisciplinary: New Features Added to EBSCO Search Interface
Searching the EBSCO databases is now easier with several new features:
Autocomplete Keyword Search Suggestions
This feature automatically offers keyword suggestions, as you begin to enter a search term in the Find field. Suggestions are based on popular and commonly misspelled search terms.
Improved Navigation for CINAHL Headings and MEDLINE MeSH
Subject screen enhancements include fewer steps to search the main database, once you choose a subject. You can also search a subject term as a keyword. Screen clarifications, Help icons, minor layout changes, and adjustments to the tree view are also included.
Note: This feature is only applicable to certain databases.
Ask-A-Librarian
The Ask-A-Librarian link, allows you to send questions to your library via email, right from EBSCOhost. Simply click the Ask-A-Librarian link in the upper right corner of your screen and complete the resulting form. You may also be able to include your current Search History in your email, for clarification.
Search History Screen Layout Enhancements
The Search History view has been changed. You will find new Search History information is consolidated for easier viewing, without changing its functionality. Combining previous and new searches is easier, as retrieved searches will now be added to your current Search History.
Direct Export
EBSCOhost’s robust bibliographic manager export functionality is now easier to access. We have added an Export link to the article detail and folder Print/E-mail/Save toolbar, that takes you directly to the export options.
Find More Like This
Every EBSCOhost article now includes a Find More Like This link. Click on the link to retrieve articles with subject terms similar to those in your original article.
Try the new features by searching any of the many EBSCOhost databases
Posted by digital_assets at 02:22 PM
November 20, 2006
Computer Science: New Titles Added to the Books24x7 E-Book Database
Check out the new e-book titles recently added to the Books24x7 database:
3D for the Web
3ds max 7.5 projects
Adobe Photoshop elements 3.0
ASP.Net 2.0 MVP hacks and tips
Base SAS 9.1.3 procedures guide
Base SAS 9.1.3 procedures guide, second edition
Base SAS guide to information maps
Beginning Java objects
Beginning Visual C# 2005 express edition
Beginning Visual Web developer 2005 express
Beyond VoIP protocols
Build your own standards compliant website using Dreamweaver 8
Building Microsoft Access applications
CDST self-paced training kit (exam 70-272)
Configuring SonicWALL firewalls
Data management and reporting made easy with SAS Learning edition 2.0
Defeating the hacker
Degunking your Mac, Tiger edition
Deploying Linux on the desktop
Developer's digital media reference
Digital interface handbook
Disassembling code
Excel 2003 VBA programming with XML and ASP
Firewalls
Geeks on call security and privacy
Geeks on call wireless networking
Hacker Linux uncovered
Hacker Web exploitation uncovered
How to cheat at configuring ISA server 2004
How to cheat at managing Windows Server update services
HTML 4 for dummies, 5th edition
Integration of ICT in smart organizations
Introducing Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0
IT governance
Ivor Horton's Beginning Visual C++ 2005
Managing strategic enterprise systems and e-government initiatives in Asia
Microsoft ADO.NET 2.0 step by step
Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0 programming step by step
Microsoft Exchange server 2003, deployment and migration
Microsoft Internet Security and Acceleration (ISA) server 2004 administrator's pocket consultant
Microsoft SQL server 2005 administrator's pocket consultant
Microsoft Visual Basic 2005 express edition
Microsoft Visual Basic 2005 step by step
Microsoft Visual C# 2005 express edition
Microsoft Visual C# 2005 step by step
Microsoft Visual Web Developer 2005 express edition
Microsoft Windows administrator's automation toolkit
Microsoft Windows group policy guide
Microsoft Windows registry guide, second edition
Microsoft Windows scripting with WMI
Microsoft Windows security resource kit, second edition
Microsoft Windows Server 2003 performance guide
Microsoft Windows XP networking and security inside out
MPEG handbook
Network programming in .NET
No nonsense XML web development with PHP
Open source messaging application development
Oracle Application server 10g
Photoshop CS A to Z
Physical security for IT
Planning & scheduling using Primavera 5.0 for IT project office
Privacy protection for e-services
Pro JSP 2, fourth edition
Pro Visual Studio.NET
Professional ASP.NET 2.0 security, membership, and role management
Professional ASP.NET 2.0 XML
Professional MOM 2005, SMS 2003, and Microsoft update
Professional SQL Server 2005 reporting services
Professional SQL server analysis services 2005 with MDX
Professional Visual studio 2005 team system
Programming Microsoft ADO.NET 2.0 applications
Programming Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0 core reference
Programming Microsoft Web forms
Quick course in Microsoft Office 2003
Red Hat Fedora and Enterprise Linux 4 bible
RFID security
Run your own web server using Linux & Apache
SAS 9.1.3 intelligence platform
SAS 9.1.3 management console
SAS 9.1.3 output delivery system
SAS Intelligence Platform
Server architectures
Shellcoder's programming uncovered
SUSE Linux 10 bible
SUSE Linux 10 for dummies
Technology matters
Technology of video and audio streaming, second edition
Tony Redmond's Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 with SP1
Understanding Flash MX 2004 ActionScript 2
VB.NET hacks & pranks
Video over IP
Visibooks guide to Base 2.0
Visibooks guide to Calc 2.0
Visibooks guide to Impress 2.0
Visibooks guide to Writer 2.0
Visual Basic 2005 express
Wireless network hacks & mods for dummies
Working with Microsoft Visual studio 2005 team system
Posted by digital_assets at 08:05 AM
November 15, 2006
Multidisciplinary: ISI Web of Knowledge Enhances Interface
Thomson Scientific announces the release of numerous significant innovations to ISI Web of Knowledge.
New in Web of Science®:
Citation Report — Use this new, powerful citation analysis feature to reveal and display citation trends in just a few clicks
Distinct Author Identification System — Find the right author, quickly
Full Author Names — Full author names are shown as they are listed in original articles, to help eliminate mistaken identity
EndNote® Web — Available for free via ISI Web of Knowledge; scheduled for general release in December
Thomson Scientfic Online News - 11/15/06
Posted by digital_assets at 10:09 AM
November 10, 2006
Engineering and Science: New Titles Added to Knovel E-Book Database
Check out the new e-book titles recently added to the Knovel database:
Engineering materials for biomedical applications
Optical properties of surfaces
Medical imaging systems technology: Methods in diagnosis optimization
Nanostructures & nanomaterials: synthesis, properties & applications
Medical imaging systems technology: Methods in general anatomy
Detecting allergens in food
Handbook of thermoluminescence
Delivery system handbook for personal care and cosmetic products
Medical imaging systems technology
Industrial fire safety guidebook
Microwave molecular spectra
Handbook of ion beam processing technology
Medical imaging systems technology
Fluoroelastomers handbook: the definitive user's guide and databook
Improving the fat content of foods
MEMS :a practical guide to design, analysis, and applications
Medical imaging systems technology.Modalities
Plastics Technician's Toolbox
Encyclopaedia of scientific units, weights, and measures
Civil jet aircraft design
Food packaging technology
Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology
Magnesium technology :metallurgy, design data, applications
Drug design:cutting edge approaches
Engineering metallurgy.Pt. 1, Applied physical metallurgy
Emerging foodborne pathogens
Nuclear chemical engineering
Hydraulics of groundwater
Fluorinated coatings and finishes handbook
Hazardous chemicals handbook
Food additives data book
Posted by digital_assets at 02:37 PM
November 08, 2006
RIT Libraries Expands Electronic Collection with Optics Infobase
Looking for the latest information on display technology or optical networking? Your research just got easier with fulltext access to the publications of the Optical Society of America. Try the new Optics InfoBase, the Optical Society of America's online database of both current and past volumes of all its journals. It also contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.
Check it out at: http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.opticsinfobase.org
Posted by digital_assets at 02:43 PM
November 03, 2006
Factiva Maintenance Window - November 11-12, 2006
Scheduled maintenance to Factiva will take place between Saturday, November 11 and Sunday, November 12 2006. This affects all components, including Factiva Search 2.0, Factiva Modules, Track Folders and E-Mail.
Access will be unavailable on November 11, 8PM to 10PM US EST (UTC-5).
Access will be intermittent on November 11, 10PM to 2AM US EST (UTC-5).
Proquest email - 11/03/06
Posted by digital_assets at 11:09 AM
RIT Libraries Adds Several New Resources
The RIT Libraries have been able to make significant additions this fall to our electronic resources that support our graduate and faculty level research as well as our undergraduate programs.
Brand new to RIT resources include:
- Proquest Digital Dissertation and Theses is a database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to ones recently accepted recently; those published from 1980 forward also include 350- word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Of the millions of titles listed, UMI offers over 1.8 million in full text. More than 700,000 are available in PDF format for immediate download.
- Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
- The Social Sciences Citation Index provide access from 1991 to current bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
- ISI Proceedings provides Web access to bibliographic information and author abstracts from papers delivered at prestigious international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete expands access to research in areas related to the communication discipline. CMMC offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 journal titles and full text for more than 285 journals.
- PAIS International database offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Included is an archive file that provides coverage back to 1915.
- Index to Current Urban Documents is a guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic
organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. - Expanded coverage for the Science Citation Index. The coverage now available now goes back to 1965.
Posted by digital_assets at 09:06 AM
November 01, 2006
Are you having problems printing from ReferenceUSA?
ReferenceUSA is now Internet Explorer 7.0 compliant.
If you're using a version of Internet Explorer earlier than 6.0, you may have problems printing without adjusting the page margins:
- In Internet Explorer, select File, then Page Setup
- Adjust left and right margins to 0.25
- Click OK
If your printed version looks different than how it appears on your screen:
- In Internet Explorer, select Tools, then Internet Options
- Select the Advanced tab
- Under Printing, make sure "Print background colors and images" is selcted
- Click OK
Reference USA email - 11/01/06
Posted by digital_assets at 03:03 PM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562