« Computer Science: New Titles Added to the Books24x7 E-Book Database | Main | Multidisciplinary: RIT Libraries Expands Electronic Collection with Journal Citation Reports »
November 27, 2006
Multidisciplinary: New Features Added to EBSCO Search Interface
Searching the EBSCO databases is now easier with several new features:
Autocomplete Keyword Search Suggestions
This feature automatically offers keyword suggestions, as you begin to enter a search term in the Find field. Suggestions are based on popular and commonly misspelled search terms.
Improved Navigation for CINAHL Headings and MEDLINE MeSH
Subject screen enhancements include fewer steps to search the main database, once you choose a subject. You can also search a subject term as a keyword. Screen clarifications, Help icons, minor layout changes, and adjustments to the tree view are also included.
Note: This feature is only applicable to certain databases.
Ask-A-Librarian
The Ask-A-Librarian link, allows you to send questions to your library via email, right from EBSCOhost. Simply click the Ask-A-Librarian link in the upper right corner of your screen and complete the resulting form. You may also be able to include your current Search History in your email, for clarification.
Search History Screen Layout Enhancements
The Search History view has been changed. You will find new Search History information is consolidated for easier viewing, without changing its functionality. Combining previous and new searches is easier, as retrieved searches will now be added to your current Search History.
Direct Export
EBSCOhost’s robust bibliographic manager export functionality is now easier to access. We have added an Export link to the article detail and folder Print/E-mail/Save toolbar, that takes you directly to the export options.
Find More Like This
Every EBSCOhost article now includes a Find More Like This link. Click on the link to retrieve articles with subject terms similar to those in your original article.
Try the new features by searching any of the many EBSCOhost databases
Posted by digital_assets at November 27, 2006 02:22 PM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562