« January 2007 | Main | March 2007 »
February 13, 2007
Engineering/Computer Science: IEEE Xplore Enhances Access/Display of Standards
The display of standards in the IEEE Xplore digital library has been significantly enhanced with:
- An improved navigation to help you find standards faster
- Clearer distinction between active, archived and superseded standards
- Availability of standards email alerts to keep you up-to-date on
standards revisions
- And the inclusion of links to standards interpretations, errata and other related documents
Please note that the following release features will be loaded and
available within the next two weeks:
- The option to search standards by status (i.e. active,
archived)
- The inclusion of the 2007 National Electrical Safety Code (NESC)
which will be full-text accessible
IEEE OnlineInfo, February 12, 2007
Posted by digital_assets at 08:20 AM
February 12, 2007
Multidisciplinary: Proquest and CSA Join Forces
Two of the leading companies in the information industry, Proquest Information and Learning and Cambridge Scientific Abstracts announced their official merger today.
For more information, see the original CSA press release and the most recent Proquest Update
Proquest Update, 2/12/07
Posted by digital_assets at 02:59 PM
February 09, 2007
Engineering: SPIE Digital Library Premieres Two New Online Journals
SPIE has added two new, online-only journals to its journal roster, both of which are now accessible to SPIE Digital Library subscribers:
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (JARS) covers the concepts, information, and progress in remote sensing.
Journal of Nanophotonics (JNP) focuses on the fabrication and application of nanostructures that either generate or manipulate light from the infrared to the ultraviolet regimes.
Additional new content: papers from SPIE Photonics West 2007 and Electronic Imaging 2007 are being added to the SPIE Digital Library on a daily basis. Please visit the Proceedings homepage for links to the latest additions.
SPIE Digital Library Newsletter, February 2007
Posted by digital_assets at 11:46 AM
February 07, 2007
Social Science: RIT Libraries Expands Electronic Collection with Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Try Anthropology Plus now!
Posted by digital_assets at 09:34 AM
Multidisciplinary: ISI Web of Knowledge Enhancements
The new year is bringing new enhancements to ISI Web of Knowledge. See how these upgrades deliver more search opportunities and power to researchers..
For researchers, students, librarians, and other users:
Distinct Author Identification System — It's even easier to locate the exact author you seek. You can now view multiple author sets or clusters for each name, giving you the data you need to quickly target the correct author. Available in
Web of Science®.
EndNote® Web — More functionality means more flexibility, and quicker bibliography creation:
- Macintosh users can now Cite While You Write™ in Microsoft® Word 2004 and X.
- Firefox browser users can quickly capture web pages as bibliographic references in an EndNote Web library.
- One-click author searching is available from a folder or reference page.
- New menu simplifies your activities in EndNote Web and provides reference counts for each folder.
Thousands of additional full-text links — Easily access the full text of primary source materials in ISI Web of Knowledge resources, with new full-text links to:
70 additional Open Access journals
2,000 additional journals
For more information on the ISI WEb of Knowledge Upgrades, see the ISI News Announcement.
Thomas Scientific Online News, January 31, 2007
Posted by digital_assets at 09:09 AM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562