« Database Changes/Cancellations for 2007/2008 | Main | Business: GMID Introduces New Interface »

July 31, 2007

Image Collections: ARTstor Now Available!

RIT now offers access to ARTstor, an extensive image database.

ARTstor is a non-profit organization created by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. ARTstor is developing a rich digital library that offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images that document artistic traditions across all times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture. ARTstor's software tools support viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations, both online and offline.


The ARTstor Charter Collection is derived from the dozens of source collections. These source collections are themselves the product of collaborations with libraries, museums, photographic archives, publishers, slide libraries, and individual artists, photographers, scholars, and teachers.
Search ARTstor now!

Posted by digital_assets at July 31, 2007 03:30 PM

RIT Libraries logo ©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562
Contact RIT Libraries | Terms of Use | Copyright Infringement