« May 2007 | Main | August 2007 »
July 31, 2007
Business: GMID Introduces New Interface
A new search interface is now available for Euromonitor.
Euromonitor International’s Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an online information resource providing business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.
205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52.
GMID offers a unique range of international market research
- 4 million+ statistics on industries, countries and consumers
- 15,000 industry, company, country and consumer reports
- Daily articles offering topical reaction to news events
- 25,000 sources of further research information
- Market share and brand share rankings
- 205 countries
Try the GMID new search interface.
Posted by digital_assets at 10:37 PM
Image Collections: ARTstor Now Available!
RIT now offers access to ARTstor, an extensive image database.
ARTstor is a non-profit organization created by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. ARTstor is developing a rich digital library that offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images that document artistic traditions across all times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture. ARTstor's software tools support viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations, both online and offline.
The ARTstor Charter Collection is derived from the dozens of source collections. These source collections are themselves the product of collaborations with libraries, museums, photographic archives, publishers, slide libraries, and individual artists, photographers, scholars, and teachers.
Search ARTstor now!
Posted by digital_assets at 03:30 PM
Database Changes/Cancellations for 2007/2008
The Library recently completed an extensive use and cost analysis of all electronic resources and after receiving input from all the Colleges made the following decisions regarding database cancellations and replacements for 2007/2008.
Database Cancellations:
Access to the databases will be discontinued on the date indicated. Dates will vary due to initial subscription contract dates.
Special Ed Connections: December 1, 2007
FACCTS Web: June 1, 2008
Wilson Applied Science & Technology April 1, 2008
Literary Market Place: July 1, 2007
Social Work Abstracts: August 1, 2007
America History & Life August 1, 2007
Historical Abstracts August 1, 2007
OCLC FirstSearch pay Per-Search Databases: Immediate
(Agricola, Alternative Press Index, BasicBIOSIS, Business and Industry, Business and Management Practices, Contemporary Women's Issues GeoBase, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst)
Database Replacements:
Encyclopedia Britannica replaced by CREDO reference (Xreferplus), an online collection of over 250 reference works: July 1, 2007
RefWorks Citation Management program replaced by EndNote: July 1, 2007
The Library's web pages will direct you to alternative database choices for all of the cancellations.
Posted by digital_assets at 03:25 PM
RefWorks Cancelled - EndNote Web Available
Due to the low use of RefWorks, budgetary constraints and the availability of EndNote Web as part of the Web of Knowledge database package, RefWorks is no longer available as a citation management tool. EndNote Web is now available for your use. Please see http://library.rit.edu/electronic/endnote/endnote.html for more information.
Posted by digital_assets at 01:59 PM
Law/History: Proceedings of the Old Bailey Now Online
Of great historical interest, the Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London 1674 to 1834 is now freely available online. This is a fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
The Proceedings contain accounts of trials which took place at the Old Bailey. The crimes tried were mostly felonies (predominantly theft), but also include some of the most serious misdemeanours. The first published collection of trials at the Old Bailey dates from 1674, and from 1678 accounts of the trials at each session (meeting of the Court) at the Old Bailey were regularly published. Inexpensive, and targeted initially at a popular rather than a legal audience, the Proceedings were produced shortly after the conclusion of each sessions and were a commercial success. With few exceptions, this periodical was regularly published each time the sessions met (eight times a year) for 160 years. In 1834 it changed its name, but publication continued until 1913.
Search the Proceedings now!
Posted by digital_assets at 01:49 PM
Multidisciplinary: Lexis/Nexis to Launch New Interface
LexisNexis will launch a completely redesigned version of LexisNexis Academic for all subscribers in August of 2007.
Features of the new interface include:
- Shepard's Citations will expand to cover all federal and state courts
- Company Dossier will be included in all U.S. subscriptions
- Search across broad content such as all news or all federal and state cases
- Powerful source selection using language, geographic, topic, and other facets
- Ability to create ad hoc combined sources
- Power Search form supports full LexisNexis® query language and operators
- Sophisticated results clustering feature
- SmartIndexing Technology™ at work throughout the interface
- Support for article-level linking
- Support for federated searching
You can try the new interface now by clicking on "Try the Beta release now" link at the top of the Lexis/Nexis Home page.
Posted by digital_assets at 11:09 AM
Multidisciplinary: 2006 JCR Data Now Available
2006 data is now available for Journal Citation Reports.
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Largest journals in a field
JCR comes with two editions:
JCR Science Edition: Contains data from over 5,900 journals in 171 subject categories.
JCR Social Sciences Edition: Over 1,700 journals in the 55 subject categories.
Access Journal Citation Reports on ISI's Web Of Knowledge.
Posted by digital_assets at 10:33 AM
Science: CAS Releases SciFinder Scholar 2007
SciFinder Scholar 2007 offers powerful new features:
- Categorize references—this tool enables you to sort and evaluate information in your answer sets by creating a histogram for easy analysis. Categorize separate related references on the basis of their associated CA index terms. With categorize, you can reassemble the different subsets in unique ways creating opportunities for new insights.
- Save answers—now you can save answer lists of references, substances, or reactions and re-use them later in other SciFinder Scholar sessions.
- Combine answer sets—the combine tool makes it possible to focus on a particular research topic in new ways by combining the substances, reactions, and references in an active answer set with those in a previously saved one. By employing various options of Combine, Intersect, or Remove, you can manipulate and customize the information contained in these combined answer sets.
- Export commercial chemicals records from CHEMCATS® into Excel—create reports listing your favorite commercial sources, including contact information and pricing, for substances of interest. Catalog information is exported into Excel spreadsheets for sorting, manipulation, and reference.
- Explore from substance displays—become more productive by using a substance record display to launch a new search or refine a previous one.
- Print structures in grid format—gain a unique comparative view of multiple chemical structures by printing them side by side in this handy grid arrangement.
Download Scifinder 2007 now!
Posted by digital_assets at 10:03 AM
Multidisciplinary: Credo Reference Brings Entire Reference Collection Online
Credo Reference is now a part of RIT library's online reference collection. Credo Reference features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 2 million entries, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 93,000 audio pronunciation files. The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics, titles and publishers to give you accurate, contextual results.
It's a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.
Current titles include Marquis Who's Who, The Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by McGraw Hill, The Encyclopedia of Computer Science, The Computer Graphics Companion, The Capstone Encyclopedia of Business, 3 great new literature titles from Continuum, 4 great new American History Reader's Companion titles from Houghton Mifflin, and many more!
Some of the unique features of Credo Reference:
- Hundreds of images and audio files. You can prioritize your search results to view those with images or audio files, or rank results by relevancy or length.
- Find topic ideas for papers or research projects using Concept Map, a visual map that displays the connections between search results and topics in an interactive format.
- Access statistical international or census data that you can customize and export. The CIA World Factbook and The US Census 2000 State and County QuickFacts feature customizable and interactive tables that allow you to add columns to compare data, sort by column, and export and chart tables.
- Cite your information easily? You can select APA, MLA or Chicago style for any entry viewed. Credo Reference will format the citation for you!
- E-mail an entry to a friend. You can email an entry to any other Credo Reference subscriber with one click.
Search Credo Reference now!
Posted by digital_assets at 09:07 AM
Computer Science: Oracle Documentation Free Online
100+ installation guides and administration manuals for Oracle database systems are available free online.
This collection is available at: http://www.oracle.com/pls/db102/portal.portal_db?selected=3
Posted by digital_assets at 08:58 AM
Multidisciplinary: EBSCO Citation Format and Export Enhancements
EBSCO has updated the MLA and APA citation formats to conform to the latest guidelines available and has added an additional export format option: BibTeX.
Extensive help and citation format guides are now available, including information on how to cite, as well as extra instructions specific to EBSCOhost citations. For additional information, click on the online citation help link within the Print/E-mail/Save Manager in EBSCOhost.
Posted by digital_assets at 08:40 AM
July 30, 2007
Multidisciplinary: Free access to NY TimesSelect
The New York Times TimesSelect service is now free for University Students and Faculty. A university subscription to TimesSelect includes:
- OP-ED COLUMNISTS Enjoy exclusive online access.
- NEWS COLUMNISTS Explore the perspectives of select columnists from Business, New York/Region, Sports and The International Herald Tribune.
- THE ARCHIVE Explore The Times archive back to 1981. Access up to 100 articles per month.
Sign up at: http://www.nytimes.com/gst/ts_university_email_verify.html
Posted by digital_assets at 02:02 PM
Multidisciplinary: RIT Holdings Now Appear in Google Scholar
RIT Library's holdings are now registered at Google Scholar. You will now be directed to the fulltext available in RIT Library and our more! service whenever you search Google Scholar. Look for the more! @ RIT link.
If you are coming from an RIT IP address, you will see the more! @ RIT link automatically. If you are coming from a non-RIT IP address, just set RIT as the library in your Google Scholar preferences.
Check it out at: http://scholar.google.com/
Posted by digital_assets at 02:00 PM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562