April 02, 2008

Multidisciplinary: GALE Offers Free Access during National Library Week

National Library Week is April 13 - 19, and AccessMyLibrary from GALE is honoring libraries by providing FREE access to many of its award-winning authoritative resources.

For the entire month of April, users will have FREE access to Gale's new, groundbreaking readers' advisory resource, Books & Authors.

And, during National Library Week, April 13 - 19, Gale is offering FREE access to many other of its valuable resources:

Visit Gale's Access My Library for more information.

Posted by digital_assets at 08:54 AM

January 31, 2008

Alert: Scheduled downtime for IEEE Xplore

NOTE: This upgrade will be rescheduled. Check back for new date.

An upgrade of the IEEE Xplore Digital Library is scheduled for Saturday, February 2nd. During this deployment, the system will be unavailable for up to up to eight hours beginning at approximately 9:00 AM ET. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

As a result of this new release, the IEEE Xplore digital library will be enhanced with:

Access IEEE Xplore.

Posted by digital_assets at 01:22 PM

July 31, 2007

Database Changes/Cancellations for 2007/2008

The Library recently completed an extensive use and cost analysis of all electronic resources and after receiving input from all the Colleges made the following decisions regarding database cancellations and replacements for 2007/2008.


Database Cancellations:

Access to the databases will be discontinued on the date indicated. Dates will vary due to initial subscription contract dates.

Special Ed Connections: December 1, 2007
FACCTS Web: June 1, 2008
Wilson Applied Science & Technology April 1, 2008
Literary Market Place: July 1, 2007
Social Work Abstracts: August 1, 2007
America History & Life August 1, 2007
Historical Abstracts August 1, 2007
OCLC FirstSearch pay Per-Search Databases: Immediate
(Agricola, Alternative Press Index, BasicBIOSIS, Business and Industry, Business and Management Practices, Contemporary Women's Issues GeoBase, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst)

Database Replacements:

Encyclopedia Britannica replaced by CREDO reference (Xreferplus), an online collection of over 250 reference works: July 1, 2007
RefWorks Citation Management program replaced by EndNote: July 1, 2007

The Library's web pages will direct you to alternative database choices for all of the cancellations.

Posted by digital_assets at 03:25 PM

RefWorks Cancelled - EndNote Web Available

Due to the low use of RefWorks, budgetary constraints and the availability of EndNote Web as part of the Web of Knowledge database package, RefWorks is no longer available as a citation management tool. EndNote Web is now available for your use. Please see http://library.rit.edu/electronic/endnote/endnote.html for more information.

Posted by digital_assets at 01:59 PM

May 04, 2007

Free Access to the Chronicle of Higher Education!

Chronicle.com is holding an online open house. Now through May 8, everyone will have access to all of The Chronicle's Web site absolutely free. You don't need a password and for the first time ever, the entire site is open.

During the open house, you can enter to win one of seven iPods, set up a free Chronicle account, sign up for e-mail newsletters, get job alerts; participate in Chronicle Forums; and more. If you are not a subscriber, you can also take advantage of the offer to receive 4 free issues of The Chronicle.

For more information, see http://chronicle.com/openhouse.

Posted by digital_assets at 01:28 PM

February 12, 2007

Multidisciplinary: Proquest and CSA Join Forces

Two of the leading companies in the information industry, Proquest Information and Learning and Cambridge Scientific Abstracts announced their official merger today.

For more information, see the original CSA press release and the most recent Proquest Update

Proquest Update, 2/12/07

Posted by digital_assets at 02:59 PM

November 03, 2006

Factiva Maintenance Window - November 11-12, 2006

Scheduled maintenance to Factiva will take place between Saturday, November 11 and Sunday, November 12 2006. This affects all components, including Factiva Search 2.0, Factiva Modules, Track Folders and E-Mail.

Access will be unavailable on November 11, 8PM to 10PM US EST (UTC-5).
Access will be intermittent on November 11, 10PM to 2AM US EST (UTC-5).

Proquest email - 11/03/06

Posted by digital_assets at 11:09 AM

RIT Libraries logo ©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562
Contact RIT Libraries | Terms of Use | Copyright Infringement