January 22, 2008
Multidisciplinary: RIT Libraries Expands E-Journal Holdings
RIT Libraries has added over 1200 new electronic journals to its collection with subscriptions to the Elsevier Science Direct Freedom Collection and the SAGE Online Journal collection.
These additions will greatly expand access to scholarly publications for researchers across campus. Both collections are multidisciplinary in nature featuring titles in engineering, science, social sciences, business, humanities, medicine and technology. Historical coverages dates to 1995 for the Elsevier titles and to 1999 for the SAGE titles.
Search these expanded SAGE and Science Direct collections now!
Posted by digital_assets at 11:17 AM
December 12, 2007
Mulitdisciplinary: New Titles Added to Credo Reference
CREDO Reference now includes the following new titles:
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
- Cambridge World History of Food
- Collins Spurrell Welsh Dictionary
- Encyclopedia of African History
- Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
- Encyclopedia of German Literature
- Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms
- Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
- Harrap’s Polish Dictionary
- Reader's Guide to British History
- Reader's Guide to the History of Science
- Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
Many other titles have also been updated to the latest available editions. CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service featuring over 240 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 55 highly-respected publishers. Search CREDO Reference now.
Posted by digital_assets at 02:46 PM
September 27, 2007
Computer Science: Free Access to Computing Reviews
Computing Reviews is the leading online review service for books and articles across all disciplines of computing. RIT users can now access this resource for free through November 30th. Click here for the userid and password that will provide access for RIT users.
Posted by digital_assets at 01:11 PM
September 07, 2007
Multidisciplinary: New Titles Added to Online Reference Resource - Credo Reference
Credo Reference announced the recent addition of the following new titles:
- The American Heritage® Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style
- The American Heritage® Medical Dictionary
- The American Heritage® Science Dictionary
- Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology, Cambridge University Press
- The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art, Routledge
- How We Talk: American Regional English Today, Houghton Mifflin
- The Wisden Archive of Cricketers' Lives
- Word Histories and Mysteries From Abracadabra to Zeus, Houghton Mifflin
Check out these new titles at Credo Reference!
Posted by digital_assets at 10:33 AM
Chemistry: SciFinder Enhances CAS Registry
CAS REGISTRY Enhanced with New Experimental Property Tags
New experimental property tags have been added to the CAS REGISTRY. The tags are applied to new proteins and nucleic acids added to the CAS REGISTRY and refer to biochemistry-related data, including:
- Allele frequency and heterozygosity
- Disease-related mutations
- Drug targets
- Functional sites
- Genetic mapping
- Genetic polymorphism
- Human disease-related mutations
- Non-human animal disease-related mutations
- Plant disease-related mutations
- Post-translational protein modifications
- Subcellular localization
For a list of all experiment property tags in the CAS REGISTRY, including definitions, visit Searching for Property Data at http://www.cas.org
Posted by digital_assets at 10:20 AM
Science: Free Access to Nature Reports and Nature Protocols
Nature Reports is for all those who are interested in the facts behind the headlines, providing accessible information for users of all levels of expertise from the scientist to members of the general public. The Nature Reports series explores the science, social, political and economic implications of three topics: climate change, stem cells and avian flu.
The vast majority of Nature Reports is freely accessible and aims to explain the science behind the headlines, linking back to relevant news and research papers within the nature.com platform. Readers can download digital editions as well as other online content which includes; interactive editor blogs, article tagging, voting and recommendation tools, podcasts, and extensive expert discussion. Each continually updated site also has individual special features: for instance Nature Reports Avian Flu has a Google Earth map allowing users to track the spread of avian flu.
View Nature Reports now!
Users will also have access to Nature Protocols from Sept 20th until the end of October. Nature Protocols is an online resource for protocols, including authoritative, commissioned and peer-reviewed protocols written by experts in the field, and an interactive 'Protocols Network' where scientists can upload their own protocols and comment on others. Nature Protocols is an essential element of any bench scientist’s resources. Click here for free access to Nature Protocols.
Posted by digital_assets at 10:07 AM
August 03, 2007
Multidisciplinary: Backfiles for SSCI Expanded to 1971
As of July 1, 2007, access to backfiles for Socical Science Citation Index on the Web of Knowledge have been expanded. You can now access research from 1971 to the present.
Search SSCI now!
Posted by digital_assets at 06:59 PM
July 31, 2007
Multidisciplinary: 2006 JCR Data Now Available
2006 data is now available for Journal Citation Reports.
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Largest journals in a field
JCR comes with two editions:
JCR Science Edition: Contains data from over 5,900 journals in 171 subject categories.
JCR Social Sciences Edition: Over 1,700 journals in the 55 subject categories.
Access Journal Citation Reports on ISI's Web Of Knowledge.
Posted by digital_assets at 10:33 AM
March 01, 2007
Science: 20 Year Archive to The Journal of The Electrochemical Society Available for 2007
ECS (The Electrochemical Society) announced that an additional 20 years of content from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society (JES) has been added to its online archive. The JES archive now begins with Volume 102 from 1955. Free trial access to this archive will be available through the end of 2007.
ECS Online Announcement 2-28-07
Posted by digital_assets at 01:34 PM
February 09, 2007
Engineering: SPIE Digital Library Premieres Two New Online Journals
SPIE has added two new, online-only journals to its journal roster, both of which are now accessible to SPIE Digital Library subscribers:
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (JARS) covers the concepts, information, and progress in remote sensing.
Journal of Nanophotonics (JNP) focuses on the fabrication and application of nanostructures that either generate or manipulate light from the infrared to the ultraviolet regimes.
Additional new content: papers from SPIE Photonics West 2007 and Electronic Imaging 2007 are being added to the SPIE Digital Library on a daily basis. Please visit the Proceedings homepage for links to the latest additions.
SPIE Digital Library Newsletter, February 2007
Posted by digital_assets at 11:46 AM
November 20, 2006
Computer Science: New Titles Added to the Books24x7 E-Book Database
Check out the new e-book titles recently added to the Books24x7 database:
3D for the Web
3ds max 7.5 projects
Adobe Photoshop elements 3.0
ASP.Net 2.0 MVP hacks and tips
Base SAS 9.1.3 procedures guide
Base SAS 9.1.3 procedures guide, second edition
Base SAS guide to information maps
Beginning Java objects
Beginning Visual C# 2005 express edition
Beginning Visual Web developer 2005 express
Beyond VoIP protocols
Build your own standards compliant website using Dreamweaver 8
Building Microsoft Access applications
CDST self-paced training kit (exam 70-272)
Configuring SonicWALL firewalls
Data management and reporting made easy with SAS Learning edition 2.0
Defeating the hacker
Degunking your Mac, Tiger edition
Deploying Linux on the desktop
Developer's digital media reference
Digital interface handbook
Disassembling code
Excel 2003 VBA programming with XML and ASP
Firewalls
Geeks on call security and privacy
Geeks on call wireless networking
Hacker Linux uncovered
Hacker Web exploitation uncovered
How to cheat at configuring ISA server 2004
How to cheat at managing Windows Server update services
HTML 4 for dummies, 5th edition
Integration of ICT in smart organizations
Introducing Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0
IT governance
Ivor Horton's Beginning Visual C++ 2005
Managing strategic enterprise systems and e-government initiatives in Asia
Microsoft ADO.NET 2.0 step by step
Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0 programming step by step
Microsoft Exchange server 2003, deployment and migration
Microsoft Internet Security and Acceleration (ISA) server 2004 administrator's pocket consultant
Microsoft SQL server 2005 administrator's pocket consultant
Microsoft Visual Basic 2005 express edition
Microsoft Visual Basic 2005 step by step
Microsoft Visual C# 2005 express edition
Microsoft Visual C# 2005 step by step
Microsoft Visual Web Developer 2005 express edition
Microsoft Windows administrator's automation toolkit
Microsoft Windows group policy guide
Microsoft Windows registry guide, second edition
Microsoft Windows scripting with WMI
Microsoft Windows security resource kit, second edition
Microsoft Windows Server 2003 performance guide
Microsoft Windows XP networking and security inside out
MPEG handbook
Network programming in .NET
No nonsense XML web development with PHP
Open source messaging application development
Oracle Application server 10g
Photoshop CS A to Z
Physical security for IT
Planning & scheduling using Primavera 5.0 for IT project office
Privacy protection for e-services
Pro JSP 2, fourth edition
Pro Visual Studio.NET
Professional ASP.NET 2.0 security, membership, and role management
Professional ASP.NET 2.0 XML
Professional MOM 2005, SMS 2003, and Microsoft update
Professional SQL Server 2005 reporting services
Professional SQL server analysis services 2005 with MDX
Professional Visual studio 2005 team system
Programming Microsoft ADO.NET 2.0 applications
Programming Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0 core reference
Programming Microsoft Web forms
Quick course in Microsoft Office 2003
Red Hat Fedora and Enterprise Linux 4 bible
RFID security
Run your own web server using Linux & Apache
SAS 9.1.3 intelligence platform
SAS 9.1.3 management console
SAS 9.1.3 output delivery system
SAS Intelligence Platform
Server architectures
Shellcoder's programming uncovered
SUSE Linux 10 bible
SUSE Linux 10 for dummies
Technology matters
Technology of video and audio streaming, second edition
Tony Redmond's Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 with SP1
Understanding Flash MX 2004 ActionScript 2
VB.NET hacks & pranks
Video over IP
Visibooks guide to Base 2.0
Visibooks guide to Calc 2.0
Visibooks guide to Impress 2.0
Visibooks guide to Writer 2.0
Visual Basic 2005 express
Wireless network hacks & mods for dummies
Working with Microsoft Visual studio 2005 team system
Posted by digital_assets at 08:05 AM
November 10, 2006
Engineering and Science: New Titles Added to Knovel E-Book Database
Check out the new e-book titles recently added to the Knovel database:
Engineering materials for biomedical applications
Optical properties of surfaces
Medical imaging systems technology: Methods in diagnosis optimization
Nanostructures & nanomaterials: synthesis, properties & applications
Medical imaging systems technology: Methods in general anatomy
Detecting allergens in food
Handbook of thermoluminescence
Delivery system handbook for personal care and cosmetic products
Medical imaging systems technology
Industrial fire safety guidebook
Microwave molecular spectra
Handbook of ion beam processing technology
Medical imaging systems technology
Fluoroelastomers handbook: the definitive user's guide and databook
Improving the fat content of foods
MEMS :a practical guide to design, analysis, and applications
Medical imaging systems technology.Modalities
Plastics Technician's Toolbox
Encyclopaedia of scientific units, weights, and measures
Civil jet aircraft design
Food packaging technology
Bender's dictionary of nutrition and food technology
Magnesium technology :metallurgy, design data, applications
Drug design:cutting edge approaches
Engineering metallurgy.Pt. 1, Applied physical metallurgy
Emerging foodborne pathogens
Nuclear chemical engineering
Hydraulics of groundwater
Fluorinated coatings and finishes handbook
Hazardous chemicals handbook
Food additives data book
Posted by digital_assets at 02:37 PM
October 20, 2006
ISI Introduces EndNote Web
EndNote Web will be available to academic and government subscribers of ISI Web of Knowledge and EndNote sitewide licensees later this year. ISI Web of Knowledge users will have immediate access to EndNote Web via the personalization options. Users will also be able to access EndNote Web at www.myendnoteweb.com (active later this year) to login to their personal account which will be accessible from any location, on and off campus. Read more.
KnowledgeLink Newsletter 10-19-06
Posted by digital_assets at 08:14 AM
October 19, 2006
Grove Art Online Expands Coverage of Women
This month, Grove Art Online was updated to enlarge the broad coverage of women in Grove Art Online by adding nearly 120 new articles and essays on women artists and designers, and over 120 new images of works by women, to include over 850 women artists. New entries include Kara Walker, Shahzia Sikander, Hildegard of Bingen, Valie Export, Guerrilla Girls, Destiny Deacon, Sheila de Bretteville, Paula Scher and more.
Grove Art also announces a landmark agreement with The Metropolitan Museum of Art for 2,000 images to be included in the Grove Art Online by Summer 2007.
Grove Art Online Update 10-19-06
Posted by digital_assets at 04:11 PM
Knovel Adds New Titles in Aerospace & Radar Technology
Military Avionics Systems
Copyright (c) 2006, John Wiley & Sons. This book introduces the military roles expected of aircraft types and describes the avionics systems required to fulfill these roles, ranging from technology and architectures to navigations systems, sensors, computing architectures and the human-machine interface. This reference enables readers to assemble combinations of systems in order to perform specific military roles. It covers a wide range of military aircraft roles and systems applications offering clear and concise system descriptions. This reference also includes case studies and examples from current projects, featuring full color illustrations which detail aircraft display systems.
Rocket Propulsion Elements (7th Edition)
Copyright (c) 2001, John Wiley & Sons. With more than a third of the text and illustrations either completely new or extensively revised, this latest edition includes current information on engine structures, nozzle theory, gas properties, thrust chambers, launch vehicles, and more. With a detailed table of contents breaking down each chapter into subsections--as well as an expanded index of key words--this Seventh Edition efficiently steers readers quickly to the information they need. Other highlights include: Separate chapters on liquid, solid, and hybrid propulsion systems and a new chapter on thrust chambers, including the new aerospace nozzle; Comprehensive coverage of rocket propulsion technology, with applications to space flight, satellite flight, and guided and unguided missiles; Problem-solving examples and exercises relevant to actual design situations; More than 340 illustrations including photographs, tables, and graphs; Coherent, up-to-date chapter on electrical propulsion balancing fundamentals with practical aspects and applications.
Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering, Volumes 1-6
Copyright (c) 2005, John Wiley & Sons. RF and Microwave Engineering is one of the fastest growth areas of the past decade and will probably continue to be a very active area of research and application in a large variety of fields. This six-volume set illustrates how this field has been the key enabling technology responsible for the phenomenal growth of wireless communication. This set also examines how RF and microwave engineering continue to have great influence in radar, remote sensing, remote control, sensors, navigation, surveillance, electronic warfare, radiometers, plasma research, and imaging.
Be sure to visit Knovel's New Titles page for a complete list of newly released titles.
K-News 10-18-06
Posted by digital_assets at 12:52 PM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562