April 09, 2008

Multidisciplinary: New Titles Added to Credo Reference

CREDO Reference now includes the following new titles:

Many other titles have also been updated to the latest available editions. CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 55 highly-respected publishers. Search CREDO Reference now.

Posted by digital_assets at 02:31 PM

March 21, 2008

Mutlitdisciplinary: New JSTOR Platform

JSTOR will release a new search platform at the end of this month. The new platform will provide more tools and capabilities for JSTOR users and enhanced navigation and ease of use.

New Features will include:

You can access JSTOR from the RIT Libraries' web site or at http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/jstor/.

Posted by digital_assets at 09:17 AM

March 03, 2008

Multidisciplinary: EBSCOhost to Introduce New Interface - July 2008

This summer (July 2008), EBSCOhost will receive a brand new look and feel, based on extensive user testing and feedback. This is the first redesign of the EBSCOhost interface since 2002, and its functionality incorporates the latest technological advances.

An overview of EBSCOhost 2.0 is provided in this Flash demonstration.

To view the EBSCOhost 2.0 web pages and learn more about its key features, click here .

Posted by digital_assets at 02:09 PM

February 29, 2008

Engineering: Knovel Introduces Usability Enhancements

Knovel, an interactive full-text database that contains over 700 of the leading scientific and engineering reference handbooks and conference proceedings in full-text format has recently released interface enhancements. A new release of Knovel is available as of Monday, February 25th and features usability enhancements including cleaner interface designs, more efficient navigation, simpler search refinement and improved browse capabilities.

Explore these new enhancements!

Posted by digital_assets at 11:19 AM

January 29, 2008

Multidisciplinary: New Web of Knowledge Interface Goes Live February 3rd

This past summer, ISI Web of Knowledge introduced a new interface that could be tested by clicking the "Access the New Version" on the Web of Knowledge site. Currently, there is dual access to the new and previous versions of ISI Web of Knowledge. This dual access has been provided so you could become familiar with the new features and functionality while still accessing the older version. On February 3rd, dual access to ISI Web of Knowledge will be discontinued and only the new version will be available.

This new version presents a new face of research designed to address the unique demands and research needs of a diverse, global user community, enabling them to follow new and innovative research pathways. This extensively redesigned ISI Web of Knowledge will prove easy for novices to navigate, while continuing to provide the powerful capabilities seasoned users appreciate.

RIT's access to Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Journal Citation Reports, ISI Proceedings and EndNote Web.


Posted by digital_assets at 02:52 PM

December 13, 2007

Art: Redesign of Grove Art Online in January

Grove Art Online will be completely redesigned this January. Grove Art Online's many improvements and enhancements include a completely new and user-friendly interface, sophisticated advanced search capabilities, improved biographical searching, OpenURL compliance, an expanded cross-reference system, and more. At relaunch, the Grove Art Online subscription will also include the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (4 vols), the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, as well as new Grove/MoMA learning resources, a world art timeline and thematic guides, and linking with ARTstor.

The new site further allows users to search for images and image links within Grove Art Online efficiently in a single place. This enhancement permits users to easily discover the more than 5,000 images from our many new image partners, which include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and the Artists Rights Society.

Search Grove Art Online
now!

Posted by digital_assets at 01:57 PM

August 22, 2007

Multidisciplinary: New IEEE Xplore® Toolbar Introduced

IEEE has announced the release of the IEEE Xplore Toolbar. The new toolbar, easily downloaded, provides users with instant access to the IEEE Xplore digital library of premier technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. With the IEEE Xplore Toolbar, members can enjoy constant access to IEEE Xplore content; browse and search IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards, and books directly from the toolbar. Download toolbar

Posted by digital_assets at 11:02 AM

August 01, 2007

Multidisciplinary: Coming Soon - New Web of Knowledge Interface

New Face of Research

This summer, ISI Web of Knowledge users will see a totally new interface. It's not just another upgrade - and it's definitely more than just a new look. It's a completely new approach developed in close partnership with researchers at every level.

The new version will present a new face of research designed to address the unique demands and research needs of a diverse, global user community, enabling them to follow new and innovative research pathways. This extensively redesigned ISI Web of Knowledge will prove easy for novices to navigate, while continuing to provide the powerful capabilities seasoned users appreciate.

RIT's access to Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Journal Citation Reports, ISI Proceedings and EndNote Web.

For more information, see ISI The New Face of Research

Posted by digital_assets at 07:44 PM

July 31, 2007

Business: GMID Introduces New Interface

A new search interface is now available for Euromonitor.

Euromonitor International’s Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an online information resource providing business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.

205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52.

GMID offers a unique range of international market research

Try the GMID new search interface.

Posted by digital_assets at 10:37 PM

Multidisciplinary: Lexis/Nexis to Launch New Interface

LexisNexis will launch a completely redesigned version of LexisNexis Academic for all subscribers in August of 2007.

Features of the new interface include:

You can try the new interface now by clicking on "Try the Beta release now" link at the top of the Lexis/Nexis Home page.

Posted by digital_assets at 11:09 AM

Science: CAS Releases SciFinder Scholar 2007

SciFinder Scholar 2007 offers powerful new features:


Download Scifinder 2007 now!


Posted by digital_assets at 10:03 AM

Multidisciplinary: EBSCO Citation Format and Export Enhancements

EBSCO has updated the MLA and APA citation formats to conform to the latest guidelines available and has added an additional export format option: BibTeX.

Extensive help and citation format guides are now available, including information on how to cite, as well as extra instructions specific to EBSCOhost citations. For additional information, click on the online citation help link within the Print/E-mail/Save Manager in EBSCOhost.

Posted by digital_assets at 08:40 AM

July 30, 2007

Multidisciplinary: RIT Holdings Now Appear in Google Scholar

RIT Library's holdings are now registered at Google Scholar. You will now be directed to the fulltext available in RIT Library and our more! service whenever you search Google Scholar. Look for the more! @ RIT link.

If you are coming from an RIT IP address, you will see the more! @ RIT link automatically. If you are coming from a non-RIT IP address, just set RIT as the library in your Google Scholar preferences.

Check it out at: http://scholar.google.com/

Posted by digital_assets at 02:00 PM

March 22, 2007

Multidisciplinary: Proquest Announces Full-Text Access with One-Click!

Users can now easily access full-text from multiple resources within the Proquest databases. Here's how it works: when you enter a search term, Proquest identifies the results and determines whether or not the full text articles are available electronically in any of the library's databases. If so, a "Link to full text" icon will appear and a single click will take you directly to the full text of the article. One-Click access!

Try this new feature in the Proquest databases!

Posted by digital_assets at 04:07 PM

March 01, 2007

Images: New Functionality Added to CAMIO Image Database

The ability to create a "favorites" list, compare images side-by-side, create a slide show, and bookmark an image has been added to the CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) image database.

Try out these new features now!

Posted by digital_assets at 03:00 PM

February 13, 2007

Engineering/Computer Science: IEEE Xplore Enhances Access/Display of Standards

The display of standards in the IEEE Xplore digital library has been significantly enhanced with:


Please note that the following release features will be loaded and
available within the next two weeks:

IEEE OnlineInfo, February 12, 2007

Posted by digital_assets at 08:20 AM

February 07, 2007

Multidisciplinary: ISI Web of Knowledge Enhancements

The new year is bringing new enhancements to ISI Web of Knowledge. See how these upgrades deliver more search opportunities and power to researchers..

For researchers, students, librarians, and other users:

Distinct Author Identification System — It's even easier to locate the exact author you seek. You can now view multiple author sets or clusters for each name, giving you the data you need to quickly target the correct author. Available in
Web of Science®.

EndNote® Web — More functionality means more flexibility, and quicker bibliography creation:

Thousands of additional full-text links — Easily access the full text of primary source materials in ISI Web of Knowledge resources, with new full-text links to:

70 additional Open Access journals
2,000 additional journals

For more information on the ISI WEb of Knowledge Upgrades, see the ISI News Announcement.

Thomas Scientific Online News, January 31, 2007

Posted by digital_assets at 09:09 AM

January 18, 2007

Multidisciplinary: Science Direct Implements New Search Platform

On January 21, 2007, ScienceDirect will implement the highly acclaimed FAST Enterprise Search PlatformTM. This new search engine, which is powerful, quick and flexible, was recently voted ‘Top Search and Retrieval Technology’ in Information Today’s first People’s Choice Awards.

Some of the benefits include:

To download the Search Reference Guide, explaining all the changes, please click here.

Posted by digital_assets at 03:46 PM

November 27, 2006

Multidisciplinary: New Features Added to EBSCO Search Interface

Searching the EBSCO databases is now easier with several new features:

Autocomplete Keyword Search Suggestions
This feature automatically offers keyword suggestions, as you begin to enter a search term in the Find field. Suggestions are based on popular and commonly misspelled search terms.

Improved Navigation for CINAHL Headings and MEDLINE MeSH
Subject screen enhancements include fewer steps to search the main database, once you choose a subject. You can also search a subject term as a keyword. Screen clarifications, Help icons, minor layout changes, and adjustments to the tree view are also included.

Note: This feature is only applicable to certain databases.

Ask-A-Librarian
The Ask-A-Librarian link, allows you to send questions to your library via email, right from EBSCOhost. Simply click the Ask-A-Librarian link in the upper right corner of your screen and complete the resulting form. You may also be able to include your current Search History in your email, for clarification.

Search History Screen Layout Enhancements
The Search History view has been changed. You will find new Search History information is consolidated for easier viewing, without changing its functionality. Combining previous and new searches is easier, as retrieved searches will now be added to your current Search History.

Direct Export
EBSCOhost’s robust bibliographic manager export functionality is now easier to access. We have added an Export link to the article detail and folder Print/E-mail/Save toolbar, that takes you directly to the export options.

Find More Like This
Every EBSCOhost article now includes a Find More Like This link. Click on the link to retrieve articles with subject terms similar to those in your original article.

Try the new features by searching any of the many EBSCOhost databases

Posted by digital_assets at 02:22 PM

November 15, 2006

Multidisciplinary: ISI Web of Knowledge Enhances Interface

Thomson Scientific announces the release of numerous significant innovations to ISI Web of Knowledge.

New in Web of Science®:
Citation Report — Use this new, powerful citation analysis feature to reveal and display citation trends in just a few clicks

Distinct Author Identification System — Find the right author, quickly

Full Author Names — Full author names are shown as they are listed in original articles, to help eliminate mistaken identity

EndNote® Web — Available for free via ISI Web of Knowledge; scheduled for general release in December

Thomson Scientfic Online News - 11/15/06

Posted by digital_assets at 10:09 AM

October 24, 2006

ReferenceUSA Enhancements set for November 1!

Look for these new enhancements to ReferenceUSA:

ReferenceUSA Monthly Update - October 2006

Posted by digital_assets at 01:15 PM

Coming Soon: ISI Web of Knowledge Upgrades

Thomson Scientific will be releasing numerous significant enhancements to ISI Web of Knowledge in early November 2006. The following upgrades will greatly improve your overall search experience.

New in Web of Science®:
Citation Report — New, powerful citation analysis feature
Distinct Author Identification System — Find the right author, quickly
Full Author Names — Web of Science now captures full author names as they are listed in original articles

More detailed information to come in early November.

Thomson Scientfic Online News - 10/23/06

Posted by digital_assets at 08:12 AM

October 23, 2006

RefWorks - Easily Capture Web Page Data with RefGrab-It

Now you can easily capture web page data with a single click! RefWorks new feature, RefGrab-It, works with your browser to capture bibliographic information from web pages.

And, if that weren't enough – RefGrab-It also searches the web for additional information related to your web page (based on ISBN numbers, PubMed IDs, DOIs), working behind the scenes to get you the most complete bibliographic information. Of course, you have the option to seamlessly import any of the data RefGrab-It locates into your RefWorks account.

RefWorks Technical Bulletin Features Release - October 2006

Posted by digital_assets at 08:04 AM

RIT Libraries logo ©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562
Contact RIT Libraries | Terms of Use | Copyright Infringement