November 26, 2007
Socal Science: New Database Available
Search for information on Post-Traumatic Stress disorder in a new database:
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Search PILOTS now!
Posted by digital_assets at 03:49 PM
July 31, 2007
Image Collections: ARTstor Now Available!
RIT now offers access to ARTstor, an extensive image database.
ARTstor is a non-profit organization created by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. ARTstor is developing a rich digital library that offers collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images that document artistic traditions across all times and cultures and embraces architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual and material culture. ARTstor's software tools support viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations, both online and offline.
The ARTstor Charter Collection is derived from the dozens of source collections. These source collections are themselves the product of collaborations with libraries, museums, photographic archives, publishers, slide libraries, and individual artists, photographers, scholars, and teachers.
Search ARTstor now!
Posted by digital_assets at 03:30 PM
Law/History: Proceedings of the Old Bailey Now Online
Of great historical interest, the Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London 1674 to 1834 is now freely available online. This is a fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
The Proceedings contain accounts of trials which took place at the Old Bailey. The crimes tried were mostly felonies (predominantly theft), but also include some of the most serious misdemeanours. The first published collection of trials at the Old Bailey dates from 1674, and from 1678 accounts of the trials at each session (meeting of the Court) at the Old Bailey were regularly published. Inexpensive, and targeted initially at a popular rather than a legal audience, the Proceedings were produced shortly after the conclusion of each sessions and were a commercial success. With few exceptions, this periodical was regularly published each time the sessions met (eight times a year) for 160 years. In 1834 it changed its name, but publication continued until 1913.
Search the Proceedings now!
Posted by digital_assets at 01:49 PM
Multidisciplinary: Credo Reference Brings Entire Reference Collection Online
Credo Reference is now a part of RIT library's online reference collection. Credo Reference features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 2 million entries, 65,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 93,000 audio pronunciation files. The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics, titles and publishers to give you accurate, contextual results.
It's a search engine like Google, but instead of searching the entire Internet, your results come from a comprehensive library of trusted reference sources without advertisements, clutter, or irrelevant hits.
Current titles include Marquis Who's Who, The Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology by McGraw Hill, The Encyclopedia of Computer Science, The Computer Graphics Companion, The Capstone Encyclopedia of Business, 3 great new literature titles from Continuum, 4 great new American History Reader's Companion titles from Houghton Mifflin, and many more!
Some of the unique features of Credo Reference:
- Hundreds of images and audio files. You can prioritize your search results to view those with images or audio files, or rank results by relevancy or length.
- Find topic ideas for papers or research projects using Concept Map, a visual map that displays the connections between search results and topics in an interactive format.
- Access statistical international or census data that you can customize and export. The CIA World Factbook and The US Census 2000 State and County QuickFacts feature customizable and interactive tables that allow you to add columns to compare data, sort by column, and export and chart tables.
- Cite your information easily? You can select APA, MLA or Chicago style for any entry viewed. Credo Reference will format the citation for you!
- E-mail an entry to a friend. You can email an entry to any other Credo Reference subscriber with one click.
Search Credo Reference now!
Posted by digital_assets at 09:07 AM
Computer Science: Oracle Documentation Free Online
100+ installation guides and administration manuals for Oracle database systems are available free online.
This collection is available at: http://www.oracle.com/pls/db102/portal.portal_db?selected=3
Posted by digital_assets at 08:58 AM
July 30, 2007
Multidisciplinary: Free access to NY TimesSelect
The New York Times TimesSelect service is now free for University Students and Faculty. A university subscription to TimesSelect includes:
- OP-ED COLUMNISTS Enjoy exclusive online access.
- NEWS COLUMNISTS Explore the perspectives of select columnists from Business, New York/Region, Sports and The International Herald Tribune.
- THE ARCHIVE Explore The Times archive back to 1981. Access up to 100 articles per month.
Sign up at: http://www.nytimes.com/gst/ts_university_email_verify.html
Posted by digital_assets at 02:02 PM
March 05, 2007
Science: Free Access to Birds of North America Online
Enjoy free access to the Birds of North America (BNA) database for the entire Spring quarter. BNA Online provides detailed scientific information (18 volumes, 18,000 pages in total) for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. BNA Online will build image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and more. Each online species account will contain recordings of that bird's songs and calls, selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.
Try this database now
Posted by digital_assets at 01:30 PM
February 07, 2007
Social Science: RIT Libraries Expands Electronic Collection with Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Try Anthropology Plus now!
Posted by digital_assets at 09:34 AM
December 04, 2006
Multidisciplinary: RIT Libraries Expands Electronic Collection with Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource in ISI's Web of Knowledge that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Largest journals in a field
RIT Libraries now provides access to the two editions of JCR:
- JCR Science Edition: Contains data from over 5,900 journals in 171 subject categories.
- JCR Social Sciences Edition: Over 1,700 journals in the 55 subject categories.
Posted by digital_assets at 02:11 PM
November 08, 2006
RIT Libraries Expands Electronic Collection with Optics Infobase
Looking for the latest information on display technology or optical networking? Your research just got easier with fulltext access to the publications of the Optical Society of America. Try the new Optics InfoBase, the Optical Society of America's online database of both current and past volumes of all its journals. It also contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.
Check it out at: http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.opticsinfobase.org
Posted by digital_assets at 02:43 PM
November 03, 2006
RIT Libraries Adds Several New Resources
The RIT Libraries have been able to make significant additions this fall to our electronic resources that support our graduate and faculty level research as well as our undergraduate programs.
Brand new to RIT resources include:
- Proquest Digital Dissertation and Theses is a database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to ones recently accepted recently; those published from 1980 forward also include 350- word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Of the millions of titles listed, UMI offers over 1.8 million in full text. More than 700,000 are available in PDF format for immediate download.
- Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
- The Social Sciences Citation Index provide access from 1991 to current bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
- ISI Proceedings provides Web access to bibliographic information and author abstracts from papers delivered at prestigious international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete expands access to research in areas related to the communication discipline. CMMC offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 600 journal titles and full text for more than 285 journals.
- PAIS International database offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Included is an archive file that provides coverage back to 1915.
- Index to Current Urban Documents is a guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic
organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. - Expanded coverage for the Science Citation Index. The coverage now available now goes back to 1965.
Posted by digital_assets at 09:06 AM

©2006 Wallace Library, Rochester Institute of Technology, 90 Lomb Memorial Dr. Rochester, NY 14623 (585) 475-2562