<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<rss version="2.0">
<channel>
<title>Database_News</title>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/</link>
<description></description>
<language>en</language>
<copyright>Copyright 2008</copyright>
<lastBuildDate>Wed, 09 Apr 2008 14:31:40 -0500</lastBuildDate>
<generator>http://www.movabletype.org/?v=3.17</generator>
<docs>http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss</docs> 

<item>
<title>Multidisciplinary: New Titles Added to Credo Reference</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>CREDO Reference now includes the following new titles: <ul><li>Keywords and Concepts in Evolutionary Developmental Biology<br />
<li>Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators<br />
<li>Notable American Women: 1607-1950, A Biographical Dictionary <br />
<li>Notable American Women: The Modern Period, A Biographical Dictionary<br />
<li>The Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy<br />
<li>Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained<br />
<li>Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia<br />
<li>Dictionary of Existentialism<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy<br />
<li>Dictionary of Italian Literature<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature<br />
<li>Handbook of Environmental Sociology</ul></p>

<p>Many other titles have also been updated to the latest available editions.  CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service featuring over 250 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 55 highly-respected publishers.  Search <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.xreferplus.com/search.jsp">CREDO Reference</a> now.</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/04/multidisciplina_21.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/04/multidisciplina_21.html</guid>
<category>Interface Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Wed, 09 Apr 2008 14:31:40 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Multidisciplinary:  GALE Offers Free Access during National Library Week</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>National Library Week is April 13 - 19, and AccessMyLibrary from GALE is honoring libraries by providing FREE access to many of its award-winning authoritative resources.</p>

<p>For the entire month of April, users will have FREE access to Gale's new, groundbreaking readers' advisory resource, Books & Authors.   </p>

<p>And, during National Library Week, April 13 - 19, Gale is offering FREE access to many other of its valuable resources:<br />
<ul><br />
    <li>Academic OneFile<br />
   <li>Biography Resource Center<br />
    <li>British Library Newspapers<br />
    <li>Gale Directory Library<br />
    <li>Gale Virtual Reference Library<br />
    <li>General OneFile<br />
    <li>Health & Wellness Resource Center<br />
    <li>History Resource Center: U.S<br />
    <li>History Resource Center: World<br />
    <li>Literature Criticism Online<br />
    <li>LitFinder<br />
    <li>Literature Resource Center<br />
    <li>Nursing Resource Center<br />
   <li>Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking<br />
    <li>Popular Magazines<br />
    <li>PowerSearch<br />
    <li>Science Resource Center<br />
    <li>Small Business Resource Center<br />
    <li>Sources in U.S. History Online: The American Revolution<br />
    <li>Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War<br />
    <li>Sources in U.S. History Online: Slavery in America</ul></p>

<p>Visit Gale's <a href="http://www.accessmylibrary.com/libraryweek">Access My Library</a> for more information.<br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/04/multidisciplina_19.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/04/multidisciplina_19.html</guid>
<category>Alerts</category>
<pubDate>Wed, 02 Apr 2008 08:54:09 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Mutlitdisciplinary: New JSTOR Platform </title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>JSTOR will release a new search platform at the end of this month.  The new platform will provide more tools and capabilities for JSTOR users and enhanced navigation and ease of use.</p>

<p>New Features will include:</p>

<ul><li>A new look and feel 
<li>A single, improved format of PDF files, to simplify printing and expand accessibility 
<li>Personalized account functionality, called "MyJSTOR" 
<ul><li>You can store your user information and your saved citations 
<li>You can select one-time acceptance of JSTOR's Terms and Conditions for PDF access </ul>
<li>More efficient navigation throughout the site 
<li>Ability to search within result sets 
<li>Thumbnail views of article pages: see full articles at a glance 
<li>Limit by discipline on basic search form 
<li>Select Recent Search </ul>

<p>You can access JSTOR from the RIT Libraries' web site or at <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/jstor/">http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/jstor/.</a></p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/03/mutlitdisciplin.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/03/mutlitdisciplin.html</guid>
<category>Interface Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Fri, 21 Mar 2008 09:17:54 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Multidisciplinary:  EBSCOhost to Introduce New Interface - July 2008</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>This summer (July 2008), EBSCOhost will receive a brand new look and feel, based on extensive user testing and feedback. This is the first redesign of the EBSCOhost interface since 2002, and its functionality incorporates the latest technological advances. </p>

<p>An overview of EBSCOhost 2.0 is provided in this <a href="http://www.ebscohost.com/2.0_flash">Flash demonstration</a>.</p>

<p>To view the EBSCOhost 2.0 web pages and learn more about its key features, click <a href="http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=969">here </a>.<br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/03/multidisciplina_18.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/03/multidisciplina_18.html</guid>
<category>Interface Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Mon, 03 Mar 2008 14:09:25 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Engineering: Knovel Introduces Usability Enhancements</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>Knovel, an interactive full-text database that contains over 700 of the leading scientific and engineering reference handbooks and conference proceedings in full-text format has recently released interface enhancements.  A new release of Knovel is available as of Monday, February 25th and features usability enhancements including cleaner interface designs, more efficient navigation, simpler search refinement and improved browse capabilities. </p>

<p>Explore these <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.knovel.com/web/portal/basic_search"> new enhancements!</a></p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/02/engineering_kno.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/02/engineering_kno.html</guid>
<category>Interface Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Fri, 29 Feb 2008 11:19:34 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Alert: Scheduled downtime for IEEE Xplore</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>NOTE:  This upgrade will be rescheduled.  Check back for new date.</p>

<p>An upgrade of the IEEE Xplore Digital Library is scheduled for Saturday, February 2nd. During this deployment, the system will be unavailable for up to up to eight hours beginning at approximately 9:00 AM ET. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.</p>

<p>As a result of this new release, the IEEE Xplore digital library will be enhanced with:</p>

<p> <ul><li>Conference Proceedings weekly update alerts: enables users to receive weekly update alerts for every conference title via either email or RSS whenever a new conference proceeding title is added to IEEE Xplore.</p>

<p>  <li> Scitopia.org search from the IEEE Xplore home page: the IEEE Xplore home page will feature a quick search box enabling users to easily search scitopia.org, the free federated search portal to the digital libraries of leading science and technology societies.<br />
</ul></p>

<p>Access <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org">IEEE Xplore</a>. <br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/01/alert_scheduled.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/01/alert_scheduled.html</guid>
<category>Alerts</category>
<pubDate>Thu, 31 Jan 2008 13:22:33 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Multidisciplinary: New Web of Knowledge Interface Goes Live February 3rd</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>This past summer, ISI Web of Knowledge introduced a new interface that could be tested by clicking the "Access the New Version" on the <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://portal.isiknowledge.com/portal.cgi">Web of Knowledge</a> site.  Currently, there is dual access to the new and previous versions of ISI Web of Knowledge. This dual access has been provided so you could become familiar with the new features and functionality while still accessing the older version.  On February 3rd, dual access to ISI Web of Knowledge will be discontinued and only the new version will be available. </p>

<p>This new version presents a new face of research designed to address the unique demands and research needs of a diverse, global user community, enabling them to follow new and innovative research pathways. This extensively redesigned ISI Web of Knowledge will prove easy for novices to navigate, while continuing to provide the powerful capabilities seasoned users appreciate.</p>

<p>RIT's access to Web of Knowledge includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Journal Citation Reports, ISI Proceedings and EndNote Web.</p>

<p></p>

<p><br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/01/multidisciplina_16.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/01/multidisciplina_16.html</guid>
<category>Interface Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Tue, 29 Jan 2008 14:52:04 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Multidisciplinary: RIT Libraries Expands E-Journal Holdings</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>RIT Libraries has added over 1200 new electronic journals to its collection with subscriptions to the Elsevier Science Direct Freedom Collection and the SAGE Online Journal collection.</p>

<p>These additions will greatly expand access to scholarly publications for researchers across campus.  Both collections are multidisciplinary in nature featuring titles in engineering, science, social sciences, business, humanities, medicine and technology.  Historical coverages dates to 1995 for the Elsevier titles and to 1999 for the SAGE titles.</p>

<p>Search these expanded <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.online.sagepub.com/">SAGE</a> and <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=JournalListURL&_type=all&_auth=y&_acct=C000005018&_version=1&_urlVersion=0&_userid=47004&md5=4f19ea731707940fc67d03fc63fe7424">Science Direct</a> collections now!</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/01/multidisciplina_17.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2008/01/multidisciplina_17.html</guid>
<category>Content Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Tue, 22 Jan 2008 11:17:22 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Art:  Redesign of Grove Art Online in January</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>Grove Art Online will be completely redesigned this January.  Grove Art Online's many improvements and enhancements include a completely new and user-friendly interface, sophisticated advanced search capabilities, improved biographical searching, OpenURL compliance, an expanded cross-reference system, and more. At relaunch, the Grove Art Online subscription will also include the full text of the <i> Encyclopedia of Aesthetics</i> (4 vols), the <i>Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms</i>, the <i>Oxford Companion to Western Art</i>, as well as new Grove/MoMA learning resources, a world art timeline and thematic guides, and linking with ARTstor.</p>

<p>The new site further allows users to search for images and image links within Grove Art Online efficiently in a single place. This enhancement permits users to easily discover the more than 5,000 images from our many new image partners, which include the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA), Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and the Artists Rights Society.<br />
<a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.groveart.com/tdaonline/"><br />
Search Grove Art Online</a> now! </p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/12/art_redesign_of.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/12/art_redesign_of.html</guid>
<category>Interface Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Thu, 13 Dec 2007 13:57:45 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Mulitdisciplinary:  New Titles Added to Credo Reference</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>CREDO Reference now includes the following new titles: <ul><li>Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development<br />
<li>Cambridge World History of Food<br />
<li>Collins Spurrell Welsh Dictionary<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of African History<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century <br />
<li>Encyclopedia of German Literature<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850<br />
<li>Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century<br />
<li>Harrap’s Polish Dictionary<br />
<li>Reader's Guide to British History<br />
<li>Reader's Guide to the History of Science<br />
<li>Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences</ul></p>

<p>Many other titles have also been updated to the latest available editions.  CREDO Reference is the world's largest online reference service featuring over 240 full-text reference titles with over 3 million entries from 55 highly-respected publishers.  Search <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.xreferplus.com/search.jsp">CREDO Reference</a> now.</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/12/mulitdisciplina.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/12/mulitdisciplina.html</guid>
<category>Content Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Wed, 12 Dec 2007 14:46:21 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Socal Science:  New Database Available</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>Search for information on Post-Traumatic Stress disorder in a new database:</p>

<p>The <b>PILOTS</b> bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.</p>

<p>Search <a href="http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=rit&access=rit493&db=pilots-set-c">PILOTS </a> now!<br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/11/socal_science_n.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/11/socal_science_n.html</guid>
<category>New Resources</category>
<pubDate>Mon, 26 Nov 2007 15:49:05 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Computer Science: Free Access to Computing Reviews</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>Computing Reviews is the leading online review service for books and articles across all disciplines of computing.  RIT users can now access this resource for free through November 30th.  Click <a href="http://library.rit.edu/electronic/CR/CR.html">here </a> for the userid and password that will provide access for RIT users.</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/computer_scienc_2.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/computer_scienc_2.html</guid>
<category>Content Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Sep 2007 13:11:41 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Multidisciplinary: New Titles Added to Online Reference Resource - Credo Reference</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>Credo Reference announced the recent addition of the following new titles: </p>

<ul><li>The American Heritage® Guide to Contemporary Usage and Style 
<li>The American Heritage® Medical Dictionary 
<li>The American Heritage® Science Dictionary 
<li>Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology, Cambridge University Press 
<li>The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art, Routledge 
<li>How We Talk: American Regional English Today, Houghton Mifflin 
<li>The Wisden Archive of Cricketers' Lives 
<li>Word Histories and Mysteries From Abracadabra to Zeus, Houghton Mifflin </ul>

<p>Check out these new titles at <a href="http://library.rit.edu/electronic/xrefer/xrefer.html">Credo Reference!</a><br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/multidisciplina_15.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/multidisciplina_15.html</guid>
<category>Content Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Fri, 07 Sep 2007 10:33:57 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Chemistry: SciFinder Enhances CAS Registry</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>CAS REGISTRY Enhanced with New Experimental Property Tags</p>

<p>New experimental property tags have been added to the CAS REGISTRY.  The tags are applied to new proteins and nucleic acids added to the CAS REGISTRY and refer to biochemistry-related data, including:  </p>

<ul><li>Allele frequency and heterozygosity 
<li>Disease-related mutations 
<li>Drug targets 
<li>Functional sites 
<li>Genetic mapping 
<li>Genetic polymorphism 
<li>Human disease-related mutations 
<li>Non-human animal disease-related mutations 
<li>Plant disease-related mutations 
<li>Post-translational protein modifications 
<li>Subcellular localization </ul>

<p>For a list of all experiment property tags in the CAS REGISTRY, including definitions, visit Searching for Property Data at <a href="http://www.cas.org">http://www.cas.org</a></p>

<p> <br />
</p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/chemistry_scifi.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/chemistry_scifi.html</guid>
<category>Content Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Fri, 07 Sep 2007 10:20:36 -0500</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Science: Free Access to  Nature Reports and Nature Protocols</title>
<description><![CDATA[<p>Nature Reports is for all those who are interested in the facts behind the headlines, providing accessible information for users of all levels of expertise from the scientist to members of the general public. The Nature Reports series explores the science, social, political and economic implications of three topics: climate change, stem cells and avian flu.</p>

<p>The vast majority of Nature Reports is freely accessible and aims to explain the science behind the headlines, linking back to relevant news and research papers within the nature.com platform.  Readers can download digital editions as well as other online content which includes; interactive editor blogs, article tagging, voting and recommendation tools, podcasts, and extensive expert discussion.  Each continually updated site also has individual special features: for instance Nature Reports Avian Flu has a Google Earth map allowing users to track the spread of avian flu. <br />
 <br />
View <a href="http://www.nature.com/reports">Nature Reports</a> now!</p>

<p>Users will also have access to Nature Protocols from Sept 20th until the end of October. Nature Protocols is an online resource for protocols, including authoritative, commissioned and peer-reviewed protocols written by experts in the field, and an interactive 'Protocols Network' where scientists can upload their own protocols and comment on others. Nature Protocols is an essential element of any bench scientist’s resources.  Click <a href="http://www.nature.com/nprot/index.html">here</a> for free access to Nature Protocols. </p>]]></description>
<link>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/science_free_ac_1.html</link>
<guid>http://library.rit.edu/blogs/digital_assets/IES/databases/archives/2007/09/science_free_ac_1.html</guid>
<category>Content Enhancements</category>
<pubDate>Fri, 07 Sep 2007 10:07:49 -0500</pubDate>
</item>


</channel>
</rss>