Skating through the decades of men's hockey at RIT

Men's hockey thrives in the 1970's & 1980's

In 1972-73 the team became a member of the ECAC Division III. The ECAC was composed of two divisions, East and West, RIT played under the East Division.

In 1980, the RIT men's hockey program made a giant step forward by moving to the Division II level of play. This meant playing a challenging 25 game schedule, featuring 16 matches against Division II teams. RIT also began playing in the New York State College Hockey League (NYSCHL), comprised solely of Division II schools. The league folded in 1985-86.

The 1982-83 season marked a milestone in the program, as the Tigers won their first NCAA Championship in Division II. In the two game quarterfinal series, RIT defeated Mankato State and went on to beat Lowell 4-1 in the semifinals, advancing them to the championship game where they defeated Bemidji State, 4-2. The next year RIT moved to the Division III level. The Tigers repeated again as Champions in 1984-85, this time at the Division III level, defeating Bemidji State once again by a score of 5-1.

In 1988-89 the ECAC Division III, formed two more divisions, adding a North and a South Division. With this change, RIT moved to the ECAC West and continued its status as a powerhouse, winning seven conference titles in 17 seasons, including four straight, from 1998-2002. The Tigers have made multiple trips to the big show. In 1988-89 RIT tied the first game in the two game series against Wisconsin-Stevens Point, but ended their post-season play in the second game of the series, losing 3-2. In 1995-96, RIT made it to the Championship game, losing 3-2 to Middlebury.