RIT Founders Awards

RIT Archives

Table of Contents

Collection Overview
Historical Information for Founders Awards
Scope and Content
Subject Headings
Information for Researchers
Administrative Information

Collection Overview (Collapse)

RIT Founders Awards
Inclusive Date(s)
Collection contains RIT Founders Awards certificates, press releases, and programs.
3.0 Folder(s) (1 Oversize framed piece, 1 Oversize folder, 1 Folder)
C.S. South, Shelves 1, 46
C.S. South, Shelf 783, Box 3
RIT Archive Collections
RIT Libraries
Wallace Center
90 Lomb Memorial Drive
Rochester, New York, 14623
(585) 475-2557

Return to Top »

Historical Information for Founders Awards (Collapse)

The Executive Committee of the RIT Board of Trustees confers the Founders Award. This Institute award is to be extended to the persons who are living examples of the type of public and Institute spirit demonstrated by the founders of the Athenaeum and the Mechanics Institute. Nominations are submitted by Trustees, faculty, staff, and administrators to the President of RIT. The President can recommend candidates to the Executive Committee for final approval. Honorees are awarded a hand illuminated citation, hand-crafted silver piece, and are listed on a plaque in the lobby of the George Eastman building on campus.

Past honorees are:

Honoree Date of Award
Carl F. Lomb June 11, 1935
George H. Clarkb June 11, 1935
Frank E. Gannett May 17, 1952
Aileen O. Webb May 26, 1956
M. Herbert Eisenhart September 22, 1971
Mark Ellingson November 20, 1972
Ralph W. Tyler October 4, 1974
Arthur L. Stern March 4, 1983
Brackett H. Clark July 15, 1985
Burton S. August April 19, 1990
F. Ritter Shumway November 15, 1990
Robert F. Panara October 23, 1998
James and Janis Gleason April 16, 1999
Albert J. and Carolie R. Simone November 14, 2002
Alfred L. Davis March 23, 2006

Return to Top »

Scope and Content (Collapse)

RIT Founders Awards contains certificates for three past honorees: Carl F. Lomb (1935), Mark Ellingson (1972), and Arthur L. Stern (1982). There is also coverage for other honorees in the form of press releases, programs, and clippings. These include: M. Herbert Eisenhart (1971), Ralph W. Tyler (1974), F. Ritter Shumway and Burton S. August (1990), James and Janis Gleason (1999), Albert J. and Carolie R. Simone (2002), and Alfred L. Davis (2006).

Return to Top »

Arrangement (Collapse)

Collection consists of three items.

Return to Top »

Subject Headings (Collapse)

Personal Name(s)

  • Ellingson, Mark, 1904-1993
  • Lomb, Carl F., (Ferdinand)
  • Stern, Arthur L.

Corporate Name(s)

  • Founders Award.
  • Rochester Institute of Technology -- Awards.


  • College trustees -- New York (State) -- Rochester


  • Awards
  • Certificates

Return to Top »

Information for Researchers (Collapse)

Preferred Citation

RIT Founders Awards, RIT Archive Collections

Restrictions on Access

This collection is open to researchers.

Return to Top »

Administrative Information (Collapse)

Collection ID


Processing Information

Finding aid created by Amy Vilz in August 2011.

Return to Top »