During its many years of successful circulation, Fortune (1930-), an American business and industry magazine published by Time, Inc. in Chicago, has been designed by some of the most important designers of this century. Its first art director was T.M.Clelland in 1930. Eleanor tracy succeeded Clelland and remained at Fortune until 1938. Other important art directors followed, Francis Brennan (1938-1942), Peter Piening (1942-1946), Will Burtin (1946-1949), Leo Lionni (1949-1962) and Walter Allner (1962-1974).

Fortune's innovative art direction commissioned the works of great illustrators and photographers as well; Hans Barschel, Herbert Bayer, Lester Beall, Jean Carlu, Paolo Garetto, George Guisti, Gyorgy Kepes, E.McKnight Kauffer, Alvin Lustig, Fernand Leger, Herbert Matter, Ben Shahn, Ladislav Sutnar, Ansel Adams, Walker Evans, Edward Steichen, Ralph Steiner, amd Margaret Bourke-White.