Check out Deaf Read and Deaf Digest News. Check out Rochester, NY via DeafROC, Deaf Times and DeafWeekly
Web Resources
ASL and Fingerspelling
-
ASL Project-Developed an innovative English to ASL digital translator
-
-
-
-
-
Info to Go--States That Recognize ASL As a Foreign Language
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
Automatic Speech Recognition
-
Abledata--Find 20,000 assistive technology products
-
- Center for the Deaf and HH - Wisconsin
-
-
ClercScar--a literary online magazine, they also have a bookstore
-
-
Hearing Resources-Specializes in assistive technology and repair services for persons who are deaf or hh.
- Interpretype-a device that allows nonsigners and signers to communicate via keyboard-can be hooked up to the computer.
- Let's Sign
- Lowe's - Has flashing doorbell lights (battery-operated)
- Marilyn Electronics
-
-
-
-
- Sonic Alert
-
- United TTY - The PocketComm, a NEW product innovation, is a lightweight and compact TTY/VCO device for the deaf and hard of hearing. It's a "Type and Read" TTY or a "Speak and Read" VCO.
Technology Communication, Projects and/or Research
- CapTel Phone
-
iCommunicator System-Facilitates communication between the hearing world and a person who is deaf, hh or has special needs. This multi-sensory device improves comprehension of spoken language and teaches reading, speech skills and sign language
-
-
-
-
Typewell-turns lectures, peer comments into computer text
Audiology and Hearing Aids
Bookstores and Publishers
Captioning and Media Information
C-Print
Caption Resources
-
Instant Captioning -Provides live captions or transcriptions for people who are deaf or hh which will assist them during conversations, meetings or lectures. Works with a variety of devices like laptops, cellular phones with alphanumeric display screens or small hand-held instant captioning devices.
- MovieFlix Movies-Click on "Captioned" to view streamed videos.
- Personal Captioning System-Using wireless radio transmission the PALM CAPTIONING DISPLAY provides easy to read text captioning anywhere within a venue. The battery powered unit is held on a goose neck allowing complete flexibility in positioning. “Reading captions from a PALM CAPTIONING DISPLAY is like glancing down at the speedometer while you drive.” The unit can also rest on a table or desk.
- PlaceWare-The leader in web conferencing services for Internet-based business communications and eLearning, announced the formation of a partnership with Rapidtext, Inc. to provide live voice-to-text services for web conference participants.The partnership cements PlaceWare's position as the first web conferencing provider to become compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Enabling hearing-impaired users to utilize real-time web conferencing allows new audiences to fully leverage the enhanced "IQ," or interactivity quotient, of PlaceWare's eLearning services and gives instructors and learners more flexibility, control, functionality and independence overtheir learning environments.
- Viable Technologies - Remote realtime transcription solution fostering equal communication access for deaf, hard-of-hearing, and hearing clients with communication or other special needs.
-
Cinema Theater- 957 S. Clinton Ave., Rochester, NY 14620. Sometimes has captioned foreign flicks. Costs $3.00 to see 2 films. (2nd run movies).
-
- DTS-CSS Caption System
-
Regal Theatre-Henrietta-OCF usually have 4 showings daily for one week with new changes beginning on Fridays. To find movies/times, check the Democrat & Chronicle Thursday Weekender and look for a box entitled "Open Captioned Film" which will tell you what movie is playing that week and showtimes. Pick up discount tickets at Campus Connections. When you get to this website, type in the zip code for Henrietta
-
- Little Theater-Subtitled and Foreign Movies
Captioned Videos and Movies
Deaf Businesses
Deaf Career and College Publications
Deaf Education Career Resources
Deaf Employment Laws
Deaf Employment and Networking Resources
General Career Links and Databases
General Disability Job Links and Databases
Interpreters and Linguists
RIT Career Links
Cochlear Implants
Conferences and Workshops
Deaf Blind Resources
Associations and Organizations
Publications
Resources
- A-Z to DeafBlindness
- CAST Digital Book Project-This project will focus on digitizing books and create a "Cyber Univeral Learning Center", a web based service that provides teachers and special needs students with digital classroom materials. Once digitized, material can be manipulated in different ways. Text can be made larger, text-to-speech readers can be added to assist dyslextic or other special needs students, pages can be turned with eye movements and books can be ordered online for downloading to special braille output devices. Selected material will be available in 3 formats-HTML, Braille and DAISY-NISO
- Deaf-Blind Link
- DeafBlind in the U.S.- Gallaudet U.
- Gallaudet FAQ Helen Keller Quotations
- Ohio Center for DeafBlind Education
- Helen Keller National Center (New York)
- Online Digital Books via Bookshare.org- The current collection is mostly fiction and includes 3,000 books. Members are charged a $25 installation fee and a $50 yearly subscription rate. Only those in the United States who are able to show written proof of a visual disability can qualify.
- Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Blindness and Low Vision
Rochester Braille Printing Services
First Baptist Church Braille Service - 15 cents a page
Contact: Lin Pembroke 223-5998 Lpembrokatrochesterdotrrdotdotcom
National Braille Association, Inc. – Braille Book Bank
3 Townline Center
Rochester. NY 14523 Contact: Sheila Di Prima 427-8260 nbasheilaatnationalbrailledotorg
Technology and Web Access
Usher Syndrome
Deaf Art
- Ayisha Knight-Photographer
- TheBettsBro, Inc.-Web/graphic design
- Betty Miller
- Chuck Baird
- Claire Bergman
- Deaf Art-Deaf View/Image Art (De'VIA)
- Deaf Art/Deaf Artists Website-OUTSTANDING!
- Deaf Art Listserv
- Deaf Culture Centre-Toronto
- Deaf Lens-Jane Norman outstanding website
- DeafMedia.org
- De'VIA Article - World Around You
- Disability Arts Lynx
- Dyer Art Center at NTID
- eCards in ASL
- Exploring the Work of Deaf Artists---Julia Robinson from the Curriculum Foundation has creative activities related to artwork.
- Flying Hands Studio
- Gallaudet FAQ Guide about Gallaudet and Cogswell Statue
- Gallaudet FAQ Guide about Lincoln Statue
- Guy Wonder
- Harry R. Williams
- Helene Oppenheimer
- International Archive of Deaf Artists
- International Center on Deafness and the Arts-is a place where children (2-102!), teens and adults
who are deaf, hard of hearing and hearing are encouraged to Imagine, Create and Dream through
shared artistic expression.
- Jean Leger-French deaf artist
- John Brewster-Fenimore Art Museum
- Leon Lim
- Mary Rappazzo
- Morris Broderson
- National Gallery of Art-Search by artist's last name, keywords, title, school, style, date, medium, subjects (check images only)
- De'VIA Artist-Pam Witcher
- Robin Bartholick-Photographer
- Robin Taylor
- Tamsin Williams
- Tate Tullier-Photographer
- Tom Willard Photography
Deaf Biographies
- About Deaf Biography Resources
- Deaf Biographies-English Works!
- Deaf Friends International
- Deaf Genealogy Database
- Deaf Scientists
- Gallaudet Index to Deaf Biographies
- Gallaudet FAQ Deaf Nobel Prize Winners
- Gene and Inez Petersen Collection of Life Stories: A Prototype Oral History Project at NTID
- Lang, H. The Deaf Astronomer & the Demon Star.
- Lang. H. Can Deaf People Succeed in Science? You Bet!
- Lang, H. Six Moon Craters Named for Deaf Scientists.
- World Around You Interviews and Profiles of Deaf Individuals--- Dr. Glenn Anderson, Michelle Banks, Nancy Bloch, Connie Briscoe, James Cameron, Kimberly Garcia, Morgan Green, Sharon Hayes, Chris Heuer and Paul Conant, Nathie Marbury, Dr. Tom McDavitt, Mr. Mohammad Obiedat, Simeon Ogolla, Vladimir Pavlyukovets, Roslyn Rosen, Louis Schwarz, Rachel Stone, John Stanton, Patrick Atuonah, Jay Baldridge, Robin Baily, Fred Beam, Evon Black, Clive Boswell, Deanne Bray, Gordon DaDalt, Sue Thomas, Derek Braun, Paige Franklin, Sumi Funayama, Barbara Hardaway, Ellen Loughran, James Nickerson, Charlene Sorensen, Uzi Buzaglo, Bill Carwile, Rai Doblmeier, CJ Jones, Jolanta Lapiak, Valerie Powell, Paul Thompson and Myron Weinberger.
Deaf Guides
Deaf History
Deaf Resources
Deaf Discussion Groups, List-Servs and Newsgroups
Deaf Education and Post-Secondary Programs
Bilingual Bicultural Deaf Education
Deaf Communication and Language Options
Deaf Education
Deaf Orientation
Deaf Research
Deaf Schools
Deaf Technology and Education
Deaf -Testing Considerations
NTID
Post-Secondary Programs
Deaf Education Associations and Resources
Deaf Entertainment
Drama and Theater
Entertainment & Cinema
Music
Deaf/Hearing Dogs and Animals
Deaf Libraries, Information Centers, Bibliographies and Information Technology
ALA Resources
ASL and Deaf Culture Video Resources
Libraries for the Deaf and/or Catalogs
Technology and Web Design
Deaf Literature and Poetry
Deaf Mental Health and Substance Abuse Resources
ADD and LD Resources
Alcohol and Drug Addictions
Mental Health Resources
General Deaf Multicultural Resources
Deaf African Americans and Africans
Deaf Asian Americans
Deaf Hispanics
Deaf Native Americans
Deaf Women
Deaf Publications, News and Directories
Databases and Resources
General Newspapers
Gallaudet University and NAD Publications
International Publications
Literary Publication
ClercScar--publish essays, poetry, fiction, and artwork that will, as we sign it in ASL slang, "scar" your minds
NTID and Rochester, NY Publications-Subscribe to NTID News
Deaf Research Facilities and Resources
Gallaudet Resources
NTID Resources
Deaf Resources
Deaf Sports and Recreation
English, ESL (English as a Second Language), Science and Social Science Projects or Resources
ESL Resources.
Library Resources
Projects
Publications
- Reading Online-A K-12 journal published by the International Reading Association
Resources
Families With Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Children Resources
Financial Advice
IEP Resources
International Sign Language and/or Resources
Interpreting Resources
Legal Issues
ADA
Education Laws
Government and Legal Resources
ListServs (Professional/Parent Interest)