Bilingual Bicultural Deaf Education
Use the RIT Libraries Catalog to find books, electronic resources and videos.
The Bilingual-Bicultural Deaf Education philosophy is a popular movement in the field. There are different interpretations of bilingual-bicultural deaf education, but the most common interpretation is the development of ASL as the primary language and English as a second language, particularly the reading-writing components. Both ASL and English are considered equal languages of importance. Therefore, there are ASL specialists who provide ASL therapy services much like speech therapists provide speech therapy services.
Sweden has an innovative bilingual bicultural text and video set called Adam's Bok which they use in the elementary grades. The text shows a deaf boy with hearing parents, deaf grandparents and a hearing sister. It also shows his home environment with captioned tv, ttys, flashing lights and family members signing.
Several reasons why the field is exploring this model are: 1) there is evidence that deaf children of deaf parents have higher achievement levels in English as compared to deaf children of hearing parents which is due to the fact that deaf children of deaf parents have an accessible visual language and can easily communicate within the family; 2) there is evidence that deaf students have not progressed with the simultaneous communication method (sign supported speech) and 3) we are moving away from the medical disability view to a (multi)cultural view of deaf education.
There are many variables that affect language learning outcomes such as the family's socio-economic status, onset and degree of hearing loss, use of residual hearing, and learning differences. This model emphasizes deaf students' strengths, abilities, identity and pride. The concept behind this movement is to recognize that students are at different developmental levels in both languages, to aim for strong skills in both languages thereby giving students more choices as to the society (societies) they wish to join, and to foster respect for diversity within the deaf community.
There are several different linguistic groups we need to consider within the deaf community: ASL fluent-English challenged; English fluent-ASL challenged; ASL & English fluent users; and ASL & English challenged (low verbal).
Reference Books (Handbooks and Encyclopedias)
Marschark, M. & Spencer, P.E. (Eds). (2003). Oxford handbook of deaf studies, language and education. New York: Oxford University Press. (4th floor, HV2380 .O88 2003).
The Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education is the definitive professional reference work in the field of deafness research. This volume covers all important aspects of deaf studies: language, social/psychological issues, neuropsychology, culture, technology, and education. Each chapter, written by an acknowledged authority in the field, contains a state-of-the-art review of an important aspect of research concerning individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. The book also includes comprehensive bibliographies and a glossary. The editors are from the two primary institutions for research and post-secondary education of deaf individuals and were founding editors of OUPs Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education. The Handbook is intended for researchers, educators, educational administrators, service-providers such as audiologists, speech therapists, and school psychologists, as well as graduate students in the field of deaf studies. (from Amazon).
Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (REF LC3707 .E53 1998).
This encyclopedia is divided into three sections: individual bilingualism;bilingualism in society and bilingual education. It includes many pictures, graphs, maps and diagrams. The book concludes with a comprehensive bibliography on bilingualism. Part 1 focuses on Individual bilingualism- what is a bilingual?- bilingualism and the family- the everday use of bilinguals- bilingualism and thinking- measurement of bilingualism; Part 2 focuses on Bilingualism in society-bilingualism in communities- how many languages are there in the world? - languagesin contact, the mapping of languages in the world, presentation of language maps-language change - language planning and evolution- bilingualism and culture-bilingualism and politics;Part 3 Bilingual education focuses on- the aims of bilingual education- weak forms of bilingual education- strong forms of bilingual education- bilingual education and the community- bilingual education in the United States- bilingual eduation for students with special needs- bilingual education for the deaf and hearing impaired- language awareness-multiculturalism in education- the bilingual classroom- factors affecting second languae acquistion- second language learning in the classroom.(from Multilingual Matters web site).
Feinberg, R.C. (2002). Bilingual education : A reference handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO. (REF LC3731 .F45 2002).
Feinberg (education, Florida International U.) provides an introduction to bilingual education, covering the evolution of bilingual education in the U.S.; its relation to educational and civil rights reform; federal, state, and district policies affecting the implementation of bilingual programs; legal, political, demographic, and economic factors and controversies involved in bilingual education; and a comparison of international bilingual education programs illustrating additional approaches to language education and policies designed to incorporate diverse groups into mainstream society. An extensive list of agencies and organizations and print and nonprint resources is included. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (From RIT Library Catalog).
Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill. (1st floor and on the 4th floor- REF HV 2365.G35 1986).
Written by 300 experts from around the world in the fields of sociology, audiology, law, education, psychology, history, and rehabilitation, this unique and authoritative three-volume reference work is broad in scope and international in coverage. It features 271 articles on sign languages and other methods of communication hearing, audiology, and auditory disorders organizations, associations, publications of the deaf community, rehabilitation, demographics, religion, biographies of distinguished deaf individuals, educational programs, and the conditions and status of the deaf community in most of the major countries around the world. (from Amazonweb site).
Books in the Collection
Bailes, C.N. (1999). Deaf-centric teaching: A case study in ASL-English bilingualism. In Bragg, L. (Ed.), Deaf world: A historical reader and primary sourcebook (pp. 211-233). New York: New York University Press. (4th floor, HV2545.D43 2001).
Chamberlain, C., Mayberry, R. & Morford, J. (Eds.). (2000). Language acquisition by eye. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (4th floor, HV2474 .L33 2000).
A dozen studies consider the acquisition of signed language by young children, based on the proposition that theories of language acquisition and reading development must account for signed languages in order to understand the universal, modality- specific, and language-specific characteristics of language acquisition and the learning mechanisms that account for reading. They show that early exposure to signed languages results in a very different developmental outcome than exposure beyond early childhood. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (From RIT Library Catalog).
Easterbrooks, S. R. (2002). Language learning in children who are deaf and hard of hearing : Multiple pathways. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor HV2430 .E27 2002).
This text looks at the acquisition of language by children with hearing losses and proposes multiple pathways by which students can acquire a practical system of communication. Recent advances in the education of students who are deaf and hard of hearing have brought new insights into imparting the ability to communicate to this population.The work addresses the language development process from multiple perspectives, drawing on the latest research in bilingual-biculturalism, cochlear implant technology and neuroscience. It presents a unique view of language development, proposing that there are multiple pathways to the acquisition of a system of communication and providing a departure from traditional proprietary perspectives. The book begins with a historical overview of language development in students who are deaf and hard of hearing and follows with a review of current literature on the subject. The multiple pathways perspective is described, introducing real students with hearing losses as points of departure for application. These same students provide examples for the chapters on assessment and instruction. The book ends with an in-depth meta-linguistic overview of the two languages which teachers of the deaf and hard of hearing must master: English and American Sign Language. (From Allyn and Bacon web site)
Emmorey, K. & Lane, H. (Eds.). (2000). The signs of language revisited : An anthology to honor Ursula Bellugi and Edward Klima. Mahwah, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (4th floor, HV2474 .S573 2000).
The burgeoning of research on signed language during the last two decades has had a major influence on several disciplines concerned with mind and language, including linguistics, neuroscience, cognitive psychology, child language acquisition, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, and deaf education. This text has three major objectives: * presenting the latest findings and theories of leading scientists in numerous specialties from language acquisition in children to literacy and deaf people, * taking stock of the distance scholarship has come in a given field, where we are now, and where we should be headed, and * acknowledging and articulating the intellectual debt of the authors to Bellugi and Klima. Check out the following selections: "Language in the Visual-Spatial Modality", "Attentional Resources and Working Memory: A New Framework for the Study of the Impact of Deafness on Cognition", "More Than Just Handwaving: The Mutual Contributions of Sign Language and Linguistics", "Codeswitching in ASL and Written English Language Contact," " Language Acquisition", "Viewing Deaf Children in a New Way: Implications of Bellugi and Klima's Research for Education", "Shared Motoric Factors in the Acquisition of Sign and Speech", "Explorations of Enhanced Gestural Input to Children in the Bimodal Period", "Early and Late in Language Acquisition: Aspects of the Syntax and Acquisition of Wh-Questions in American Sign Language", "Search for the Missing Link: The Development of Skilled Reading in Deaf Children", "On the Biological Foundations of Human Language", "The Neural Organization of Sign Language", "Language and the Brain", and "On the Uniqueness of Language".
Erting, C.J., Johnson, R.C., Smith, D.L., & Snider, B.N. (Eds.). (1994). The Deaf way: Perspectives from the international conference on deaf culture. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor, HV2359 .I487 1989-3 copies).
This book chronicles the historic gathering at Gallaudet University of over 6,000 deaf people from around the world who attended "The Deaf Way," an international conference on deaf culture in July 1989. The 153 articles focus on topics related to deaf societies around the world. Check out the following articles: "The Development of Deaf Identity", "Deaf Identity: An American Perspective", "Developing and Defining an Identity: Deaf Children of Deaf and Hearing Parents", "Reaching the Deaf Community for Literacy", "The Deaf Archive: Our History, Our Future", The Study of Sign Language in Society", "The Impact of ASL Research on the American Deaf Community", "Educational Methods for Teaching Sign Language, "From One to Many and from Many to One: A Comparative Analysis of ASL and the English Lexicon", "How Long Must We Wait?, "Bringing Up Our Children to Be Bilingual and Bicultural", "Sign Language Acquisition Among Deaf Children with Deaf Parents", "The Early Intervention Program for Deaf Children: A Bilingual Experience", "A Brief Overview of "Unlocking the Curriculum" , "The Language Arts Curriculum in Programs for Deaf Children", "Trends in the Progress Toward Bilingual Education for Deaf Children in Denmark". "Improving Sign Language Skills of Hearing Teachers: A Swedish Experiment", "Deaf Teacher and a Hearing Researcher Collaborating: From ASL to English in a Kindergarten Classroom", "The Use of Interactive Videodisc Technology for Bilingual Instruction in American Sign Language and English", Deaf Studies Curriculum for High School Teachers", "The Deaf Community: Why This Difficult Relationship with the Hearing?"," A Professional Deaf Educator in Spite of the System", "Hearing-Deaf Relations", "Deaf Awareness Program: A Suggestion". "ASL Is Finally Accepted as a Foreign Language in High Schools!", "Misconceptions of Deaf Culture in the Media and the Arts", "The Challenge to Deaf People in the Arts Today", "De'VIA (Deaf View/Image Art)" . "Human Rights and the Deaf Hurst Hannum", "The Human Rights of the Deaf", "Are Deaf Children "Allowed" Signing?" , "Deaf President Now" and "Deaf Studies Before and After the Revolution". (From RIT Library Catalog)
Erting, L. & Pfau, J. (1997). Becoming bilingual: Faciliating English literacy development using ASL in pre-school. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Pre-College National Mission Programs. (4th floor, HV2391 .E78 1997).
Evans, C. (1998). Literacy acquisition in deaf children. Paper presented at the Annual Meeting of the Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (32nd, Seattle, WA, March 17-21, 1998). (OVER 4th floor HV2469.E5 E93 1998).
A review of literature focuses on the literacy acquisition process of deaf children who acquire American Sign Language (ASL) as a first language and written English as a second language. Literacy in this context is defined broadly to include the context and culture in which reading and writing occur, referring to the strong connection between language learning, the individual, and the community and emphasizing the importance of literacy acquisition and problems that can occur when literacy in this broad sense is impaired. Topics addressed in the review include: the nature of bilingualism; bilingual deaf education (BDE), or the teaching of English to deaf children as a second language (including the differences in the natures of ASL and English and differences between BDE and other forms of bilingual education); and the need for special strategies for literacy instruction for deaf children (motivation and self-concept development, teacher understanding of the principles of language development, the role of basic knowledge of the first language (ASL) in developing literacy, the speak-then-read approach, allowing student use of translation, emphasis on comprehension, incorporation of culture into instruction, use of cultural role models). (From Academic Search Elite - ERIC database).
Gallimore, L.E. (2000). Teacher's stories: Teaching American Sign Language and English literacy. (Doctoral dissertation, University of Arizona, 2000). (4th floor, HV2474 .G355 2000).
Graney, S. (1997). Where does speech fit in?: Spoken English in a bilingual context. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Pre-College National Mission Programs. (4th floor HV2497 .G73 1998).
Johnson, R., Erting, C. & Liddell, S. (1989). Unlocking the curriculum: Principles for achieving access in deaf education. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University. (4th floor, HV2469.E5 A328 1989-2 copies).
Klima, E. & Bellugi, U. (Eds.). (1979). The signs of language. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press (4th floor and on reserve, HV2474.K53).
Knight, P. & Swanwick, R. (1999). The care and education of a deaf child. Clevedon, England: Multlingual Matters.(4th floor, HV2716 .K65 1999).
This guide for parents of recently diagnosed deaf children begins with an audiological explanation of deafness, then considers family issues, language development, educational choices, and issues in school. Special consideration is given to the place of sign language in the development and education of deaf children.The authors train teachers of the deaf at the University of Leeds. (from RIT Library Catalog).
Lane, H., Hoffmeister, R., & Bahan, B. (1996). A journey into the Deaf-world. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (4th floor HV2380 .L27 1996-2 copies. ETRR has 3 copies).
Introduces readers to the lives, language, and culture of the deaf world. Examines the history, culture and political agenda of the deaf world and provides details on the education of deaf children, deaf culture worldwide, and technology that helps or hinders deaf people. (From RIT Library Catalog).
Livingston, S. (1997). Rethinking the education of deaf students: Theory and practice from a teacher's perspective. Portsmouth, N.H. : Heinemann.(4th floor, HV2469.E5 L58 1997).
This book asserts that Deaf students learn mostly like hearing students, going against the "disability" and "remedial" stamps of nearly all teacher preparation programs in Deaf Education. And unlike most books on teaching Deaf students, Rethinking... actually gives specific, real examples of how to put theory into practice. One of the most useful aspects of this book is Livingston's detailed explanation of how to read to Deaf students of all ages in a meaningful and accessible way. She asserts that the main focus of all language activities in the classroom must be meaning-based, with the logistics of language following. Every teacher and parent of the Deaf, despite educational or communication philosophy, needs to read this book. It offers an eclectic, well-tested, tried and true approach to increasing the literacy skills of Deaf students. (From Amazon web site).
Luetke-Stahlman, B. (1998). Language issues in deaf education. Hillsboro, OR : Butte Publications. (4th floor, HV2471 .L84 1998).
Presents theories, issues, and procedures for language assessment and facilitation with students who are deaf or hard of hearing. Focus is on procedures that are of benefit for students ages five through 18, that encourage collaboration and collective problem-solving, and that are applicable to students who use a variety of communication methods. Contains chapters on the Cummins Model and applications, bimodal instruction, and communication tips for general educators. Includes chapter summaries and activities. A companion volume to Language Across the Curriculum; When Students are Deaf or Hard of Hearing. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR. (From RIT Library Catalog).
Marschark, M. (1997). Relations of language and thought: The view from sign language and deaf children. New York: Oxford University Press. (HV 2391.R45).
Contributors offer different perspectives on language and cognitive development in deaf children, drawing on research in theoretical linguistics, neuropsychology, parent-child interactions, and reading education. Topics include the modular effects of sign language acquisition, the nature and role of lip reading in cognitive development of deaf children, and modules and the informational encapsulation of language processes. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc.,Portland, OR. (From RIT Library Catalog)
Mashie, S. (1995). Educating deaf children bilingually. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet Unversity, Pre-College Programs.(4th floor, HV2440 .M248 1995).
This book discusses successful bilingual education practices used with deaf children using examples from the Swedish and Danish experience. The natural sign language of the deaf and the written language of the larger hearing community are used to achieve grade-level proficiency. This book provides valuable information on bilingualism and the development of bilingual education programs. (From Laurent Clerc web site).
Mashie, S. (1997). A first language: Whose choice is it? Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Pre-College National Mission Programs. ( 4th floor, HV2391 .M33 1997).
Metzger, M. (Ed.). (2000). Bilingualism and identity in deaf communities. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor HV2471 .B55 2000).
Is perception reality? Editor Melanie Metzger investigates the cultural perceptions by and of deaf people around the world in volume six of the Sociolinguistics series Bilingualism and Identity in Deaf Communities. "All sociocultural groups offer possible solutions to the dilemma that a deaf child presents to the larger group," write Claire Ramsey and Jose Antonio Noriega in their essay, "Ninos Milagrizados: Language Attitudes, Deaf Education, and Miracle Cures in Mexico." In this case, Ramsey and Noriega analyze cultural attempts to "unify" deaf children with the rest of the community.Other contributors report similar phenomena in deaf communities in New Zealand, Nicaragua, and Spain, paying particular attention to how society's view of deaf people affects how deaf people view themselves. A second theme pervasive in this collection, akin to the questions of perception and identity, is the impact of bilingualism in deaf communities. Peter C. Hauser offers a study of an American child proficient in both ASL and Cued English while Annica Detthow analyzes "transliteration" between Spoken Swedish and Swedish Sign Language. Like its predecessors, this sixth volume of the Sociolinguistics series distinguishes itself by the depth and diversity of its research, making it a welcome addition to any scholar's library. (from Gallaudet University Press website)
McAnally, P.L., Rose, S. & Quigley, S.P. (1999). Reading practices with deaf learners. Austin, Tex. : Pro-Ed. (4th floor, HV2469.R4 M33 1999).
This book contains three sections, each providing in-depth information on topics critical to teaching reading. Foundations deals with theory and research in topics such as information processing, reading process, literacy development, vocabulary and comprehension. Also a chapter on ASL, English and reading that looks at research in the area of second language learners and its applications to deaf students. Literacy Development deals with instructional management, systems and designs. Looks at current trends and how they apply to deaf students. Applications deals with instructional interventions in reading, writing and spelling, detailing strategies that have been used successfully. The last chapter discusses with assessment, giving information and examples of both formal and authentic procedures. (From Butte Publications web site).
McIntire, M.L. (Ed.). (1994). The acquisition of American Sign Language by deaf children. Burtonsville, MD: Linstok Press. (4th floor, HV2471.A278 1994).
Mozzer-Mather, S. & Carroll, C. (1997). Movers & shakers: Deaf people who changed the world: Student bilingual workbook. San Diego, Calif.: DawnSignPress. (4th floor, HV2373 .C372 1997).
Unique workbook brings puzzles, games, additional information and exercises based on the readings of the text, and allows one to explore the stories in several dimensions. Challenges students to explore and develop their understanding of ASL and English. The exercises will expand your knowledge of these two rich languages that are the dual birthright of Deaf American children. (4th floor HV2373.C372 1997). (From book cover).
Nover, S. (1995). Politics and language: American Sign Language and English in deaf education. In C. Lucas (Ed.), Sociolinguistics in deaf communities (pp. 109-163). Washington, DC: Gallaudet University. (4th floor, HV2350.S645).
The first volume in the new Sociolinguistics in Deaf Communities series presents a rich collection of essays showcasing the breadth and depth of this exciting discipline. Topics of inquiry in the premiere volume include fingerspelling in Langue des Signes Quebecoise (LSQ) in Quebec, Canada; language used by a Navajo family with deaf children; language policy, classroom practice, and multiculturalism in deaf education; aspects of American Sign Language (ASL) discourse and of Filipino Sign Language discourse; and the nature and role of rhetorical language in Deaf social movements. This text affords an invaluable opportunity to assess up-to-date information on sign language linguistics worldwide and its impact on policy and planning in education, interaction with spoken languages, interpreting, and the issues of empowerment.(from Gallaudet University Press).
Nover, S. & Moll, L. (1997). Cultural mediation of deaf cognition. In M.P. Moeller & B. Schick (Eds.), Deafness and diversity: Sociolinguistic issues (pp.39-50). Omaha, NE: Boys Town National Research Hospital.(ETRR only HV2430 C66 1997).
Nover, S. & Andrews, J. (2000). Critical pedagogy in deaf education: Teachers, reflections on creating a bilingual classroom for deaf learners: Year 3 (1999-2000). Santa Fe, New Mexico School for the Deaf. (Year 1 is available via ED 426568, Year 2 is available via ED 438634, Year 3 is available via ED 450534 in microfiche, 2nd floor).
Stephen Nover has been doing cutting-edge research on bilingual-bicultural deaf education programming at the New Mexico School for the Deaf. He has an extensive bibliogaphy list and some of the books are at Wallace Library.
Parasnis, I. (Ed.). (1996). Cultural and language diversity and the deaf experience. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.(4th floor HV2545 .C85 1996 -2 copies).
Presents a perspective that deaf people should be considered a cultural and language minority group rather than as individuals with an audiological impairment. Eighteen essays contributed by deaf and hearing educators, linguists, researchers, and community members support the efforts of deaf people to have ASL recognized in the planning of educational policies and curricula.
Paul, P.V. (1998). Literacy and deafness: The development of reading, writing and literate thought. Boston: Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2469.E5 P38 1998).
A treatment of the acquisition of English literacy skills in children and adolescents with severe to profound hearing impairment. The author surveys major aspects of literacy and deafness, including reading comprehension frameworks, perspectives on writing and second- language literacy. He offers guidelines for instructional issues such as school environments, print vocabulary building, higher-level comprehension, and writing skills. Extensive appendices review key issues and challenges for teachers, and suggest a list of books and materials for children and adults. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (from RIT Library Catalog).
Paul, P.V. (2001). Language and deafness. San Diego : Singular Thomson Learning. (4th floor, HV2471 .Q52 2001).
For student and practicing teachers and clinicians, Paul (education, Ohio State U.) introduces language development in deaf children. He includes much more detail about language than is common in beginner texts in the belief that teachers and clinicians must have it in order to promote initial language development of deaf children and to use more structured approaches at a later age if the earlier practices fail. In the third edition (first in 1984) he updates theories and research and adds more information on the structures and functions of language, instruction and assessment, English literacy skills, and other topics. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR (From RIT Library Catalog).
Pickersgill, M. & Gregory, S. (1998). Sign bilingualism : A model. Wembley, [England] : Adept Press. (OVER 4th floor HV2716 .S546 1998).
This text generates great interest within schools and services, increasingly acknowledging the central place of British Sign Language (BSL). This document gives clear guidance as to the most effective way of incorporating BSL into educational policies and practices. (From Forest Bookshop web site).
Root, J. (1999). The politics of visual language. Ottawa : Carleton University Press. (4th floor HV2395 .R66 1999).
This book is a ground-breaking study of the political socialization of children who are deaf. Debate has raged for years over how to educate the prelingually deaf - those children who cannot acquire language "normally" (that is, orally and aurally). While the battlelines have been drawn by the proponents of oralism versus manualism and their hearing supporters, two linguistic dilemmas facing D/deaf people remain constant: a conscious choice is always made for them as to the way they will be taught, and either method of language acquisition results in a form of marginalization. This work is a fascinating and unique perspective on the whole process of political socialization; unique because previous studies in this field have assumed that all participants in the process can hear. This work studies those who cannot hear and, while it attempts an impartial assessment of all educational methodologies, will undoubtedly raise new questions within the Deaf community and beyond. Sociologists, educators, medical professionals, linguists, psychologists and political scientists will have to reconsider the emotional and political effects of current assumptions about the socialization process. (from McGill-Queen's University Press).
Schley, S. D. (1994). Language proficiency and bilingual education of deaf children (Doctoral dissertation, Harvard Graduate School of Education, 1994). (WML 2nd floor, FICHE 300 no.94- 32430).
Schleper, D.R. (1997). Reading to deaf children: Learning from deaf adults. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University. (Basement, ETC VH 1852 suppl.; ETRR VIDEO 6572 suppl.). There is a companion video.
Fifteen principles are outlined as a guide for parents and teachers who want to share the pleasure of reading with deaf children. Check out the video-book bag program. California School for the Deaf (videos only), Kansas School for the Deaf (videos only) and St. Mary's School for the Deaf (video only-St. Mary's has more English like signing and drama) have similar shared reading video programs for sale..
Schleper, D.R. (1998). Read it again and again. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University. (Basement, ETC VH 1853 suppl.). There is a companion video.
In the video and manual, Read It Again and Again, David Schleper describes and demonstrates a technique for reading and re-reading the same books over several days. This shared reading model is effective for teachers, librarians, support staff, and parents who works with children from preschool through third grade. The video and manual show how to re-read the books, as well as how to help children write their own versions. Check out the video book bag program.California School for the Deaf (videos only), Kansas School for the Deaf (videos only) and St. Mary's School for the Deaf (video only-St. Mary's has more English like signing and drama) have similar shared reading video programs for sale..
Schirmer, B.R. (2000). Language and literacy development in children who are deaf. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor HV2443 .S33 2000).
The second edition of this text provides the most current information about teaching language, reading, and writing to deaf children. Models and strategies are clearly described and supported by theory, current research, and numerous examples of how these models and strategies can be used in classrooms with deaf students. The book has been reorganized so teachers can easily follow how to assess a deaf child's current abilities in language and literacy, develop appropriate instructional goals, and choose from among a variety of effective teaching models and strategies. The second edition discusses issues related to American Sign Language, bilingual education techniques, incorporating technology into instruction, and developing balanced literacy programs for deaf children. Experienced teachers, novice teachers, and individuals becoming teachers of deaf children can use this information to develop a comprehensive language and literacy program for deaf students from preschool through high school. (From Allyn and Bacon web site).
Small, A., Cripps, J., Snodden, K. & McLaughlin, L. (2004). A parent guidebook : ASL and early literacy.
Mississauga, Ont. : Ontario Cultural Society of the Deaf, 2004. 4th floor, HV2474 P37 2004.
Stokoe, W.C. (1992). Simultaneous communication, ASL, and other classroom communication modes. Burtonsville, Md. : Linstok Press. (4th floor, HV2474 .S59 1992).
Vernon, M. & Andres, J.F. (1990). Psychology of deafness: Understanding deaf and hard of hearing people. New York: Longman. (4th floor, HV2395 .V47 1990 - 3 copies).
Recommended reading: C. 4 about ASL's history and cultural use and C. 11 about helping deaf children learn via the bi bi approach.
Volterra, V. & Erting, C. (Eds.) (1994). From gesture to language in hearing and deaf children. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor, HV2471.F76).
In 21 essays on communicative gesturing in the first two years of life, this vital collection demonstrates the importance of gesture in a child's transition to a linguistic system. Introductions preceding each section emphasize the parallels between the findings in these studies and the general body of scholarship devoted to the process of spoken language acquisition. (From Gallaudet University Press web site).
Walworth, M., Moores, D. & O'Rourke, T.J. (Eds.). (1992). A free hand: Enfranchising the education of deaf children. Silver Spring, MD: T.J. Publishers. (4th floor HV2474 .F74 1992-2 copies).
Proceedings of a three-day symposium held in August of 1990 at Hofstra University, Hempstead, New York concerning issues related to the educational uses of American Sign Language.
Weisel, A. (1998). Issues unresolved: New perspectives on language and deaf education. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor, HV2430. I77 1998).
Comprises 20 contributions selected from the 400-plus papers presented at the 18th International Congress on Education of the Deaf. Representative paper topics include: assessing cognitive, relational, and language abilities of deaf preschoolers in Italy; the perception of speech by children with hearing loss; school and classroom characteristics that facilitate the social integration of deaf and hard of hearing children; deaf students attending regular four-year colleges and universities in the US; and deaf identity in adolescence. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (From RIT Library Catalog).
NTID professors Susan Fischer wrote "Critical Periods for Language Acquisition: Consequences for Deaf Education", Linda Siple wrote "The Use of Addition in Sign Language Transliteration", Michael Stinson and E. Ross Stuckless wrote "Recent Developments in Speech-to-Print Transcription Systems for Deaf Students", and Robert Menchel wrote "Deaf Students Attending Regular Four-Year Colleges and Universities in the United States".
Winston, E. (Ed.). (1999). Storytelling and conversation: Discourse in Deaf communities. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor HV2474 .S76 1999).
NTID Professors or Rochesterians Karen Christie, Dorothy Wilkins and Betsy McDonald wrote "GET-TO-THE-POINT: Academic Bilingualism and Discourse in American Sign Language and Written English" p. 162.
In this intriguing book, renowned sociolinguistics experts explore the importance of discourse analysis, a process that examines patterns of language to understand how users build cooperative understanding in dialogues. It presents discourse analyses of sign languages native to Bali, Italy, England, and the United States. Studies of internal context review the use of space in ASL to discuss space, how space in BSL is used to "package" complex narrative tasks, how signers choose linguistic tools to structure storytelling, and how affect, emphasis, and comment are added in text telephone conversations. Inquiries into external contexts observe the integration of deaf people and sign language into language communities in Bali, and the language mixing that occurs between deaf parents and their hearing children. Both external and internal contexts are viewed together, first in an examination of applying internal ASL text styles to teaching written English to Deaf students and then in a consideration of the language choices of interpreters who must shift footing to manage the "interpreter's paradox."This text casts new light on discourse analysis, which will make it a welcome addition to the sociolinguistics canon.(from Gallaudet University Press website).
Woodward, J. (1992). How you gonna get to heaven if you can't talk with Jesus: On depathologizing deafness. Silver Spring, MD.: T.J. Publishers. (4th floor, HV2545.W66 1982).
Read p. 21-50: "Some sociolinguistic problems in the implementation of bilingual education for deaf students."
Ahlgren, I. & Hyltenstam, K. (Eds.). (1994). Bilingualism in deaf education: Proceedings of the international conferences on bilingualism in deaf education. Stockholm, Sweden. International studies on sign language and communication of the deaf. Vol. 27 Hamburg, Germany: Signum Press. (4th floor, HV2440 .B54 1994).
This volume results from a conference on the topic of bilingualism in deaf education which was held in Stockholm in August 1993 and organized by the World Federation of the Deaf (WFD) and the Swedish Deaf Association (SDR) in cooperation with the Department of Sign Language and the Centre for Research on Bilingualism at Stockholm University. Check out the following articles: "Deaf People as a Linguistic Minority" by Y. Andersson, "Signed Languages" by B. Bergman, "Kenyan Sign Language (KSL) Some Attitudinal and Cognitive Issues in the Evolution of a Language Community" by O.Okombo, "Sign Language as the First Language" by I. Ahlgren, "Second Language Learning in the Deaf" by K. Svartholm, "Bilingual Education for the Deaf in France" by C. Mas, "Teaching Sign Language as the Mother Tongue in the Education of Deaf Children in Denmark" by R. Bergmann, "Second Language Literacy in Deaf Students" by R. Andersson, "Attributes for Success, Attitudes and Practices that Facilitate the Transition toward Bilingualism in the Education of Deaf Children" by S.Davies, "Awareness Makes a Change" by J. Widell, "Linguistic Human Rights: A Prerequisite for Bilingualism" by T.Skutnabb-Kangas, "Spoken Languages, Differences and Similarities" by O. Dahl, "Vocabularies" by A. Viberg, "Literacies, Sociolinguistic and Ethnographic Perspectives on Reading and Writing" by C. Stroud, "Language Acquisition, Processing, and Change. Perspectives on Speech, Sign and Writing" by S. Stromqvist, "Second Language Acquistion" by M. Axelsson, "Teaching a Second Language" by I. Lindberg, "The Medium of Instruction and Bilingual Education in Africa: An Appraisal of Problems, Practices and Prospects" by M.A. Obondo, and "Factors Influencing the Social Role and Status of Minority Languages" by K. Hyltenstam.
Carroll, C. (Ed.) (1998). Deaf Studies V: TOWARD 2000 - Unity and diversity. Conference proceedings. April 17 - 20, 1997. Washington, D.C.: College for Continuing Education, Gallaudet University. (ETRR only HV2526 .D423 1998).
Check out the following articles: "In Their Own Words: Researching Stories About the Lives of Multicultural Deaf People" by G.B. Anderson, "Plains Indian Sign Language: A Comparative Study of Alternative and Primary Signers" by M.R. McKay-Cody, "Evaluating ASL in Deaf Children: ASL Influences on Reading with a Focus on Classifiers, Plurals, Verbs of Motion, and Location" by R.J. Hoffmeister, M.J. Philip, P. Costello, and W. Grass, "Holding Fast-Deaf Culture and Class in Early 20th Century England" by P. Ladd, "The Deaf Community in the 21st Century: A Black Deaf Perspective" by L.M. Dunn, "DEAF: A Journey Through the Film History of Sign" by J.W. Van Manen, "An Ethnographic Study of Deaf Filipinos in LA: Language, Culture, Identity and Values" by C.J.Plue, "A Public Presentation of American Deaf Life: Developing an Exhibition" by J. Gannon, J. Bergey, and H. Grasso, "Linguistic Variation in ASL: An Overview" by C. Lucas, "Deaf Studies: What Do Deaf and HOH Students Need to Know?" by C. Carroll and S. Mather, "Raising Bicultural and Bilingual Children: Deaf Parents' Perceptions" by T. Weiner, "Ebonics in ASL: Stylistic Variation in African American Signers" by J.G. Lewis, "Stamps with a Deaf View" by K.S. Rothschild, "Notes from the Underground: A Study in Russian Deaf History" by S. Burch, "The Fascinating Asian/Deaf Cultures in America" by S. Chough, "How the Other Half Lived: Deaf Women in 19th Century America" by K. Haberlie, and "Thoughts on the Effects of Provisions for the Deaf" by D.J. Kurs and B.J. Bahan.
Cebe, J. (Ed.). (1992). Bilingual considerations in the education of deaf students: ASL and English. (Proceedings of the Conference, June 28-July 1, 1990). Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University, College for Continuing Education. (4th floor, HV2437 .B55 1990).
Check out the following articles: "Toward Theoretically Sound Practices in Deaf Education" by S.K. Liddell & R.E. Johnson, "Partnerships for Change: Creating New Possible Worlds for Deaf Children and Their Families" by C.J. Erting, "The Learning Center for Deaf Children: The Transition from a Total Communication School to a Bilingual/Bicultural School" by M.J. Philip, "Bilingual/Bicultural Education: A Change" by A. Titus & D. Reynolds, "Deaf and Hearing Team Teaching: Learning from Each Other" by L.Erting and R.Stone, "The Black Community" by A. Armburo, "Use of ASL in Teaching Reading and Writing to Deaf Students: An Interactive Theoretical Perspective" by P.V.Paul, "Working wihtin the Bilingual Education Act: Why Deaf Children Should Not be Excluded" by M. Strong, "A Cooperative Language Program for the Deaf Adolescent Utilizing Bilingual Principles" by C. Neuroth-Gimbrone and C.M. Logiodice, "Communication and the Deaf Community: Where Do We Go from Here?" by B.Bragg, "Communication Collisions and the Emergence of Greater Acceptance toward ASL" by L.Fleischer, "Panel-Communication Issues: Perspectives on Deaf Adults" by J.Mann, Moderator, "Bilingual Education: Model or Metaphor" by M. Walworth, "Panel-Bilingual Considerations....A Continuing Dialogue" by R.Rosen, Moderator.
Cebe, J. (Ed.). (1992). Deaf studies for educators. (Proceedings of the Conference, March 7-10, 1991). Washington, D.C.:College for Continuing Education, Gallaudet University. (4th floor, HV2526 .D422 1992 ).
Educators, parents, administrators, interpreters, and members of the Deaf and hard of hearing community explore Deaf Studies as a framework for teaching and learning. The challenge is to develop a curriculum that will truly offer disciplined and formal access to deaf people’s rich linguistic, social, and cultural heritage in order to develop individuals who are capable of enjoying dual membership in both the Deaf and the hearing communities. Check out the following articles: "Deaf Studies: A Framework for Learning and Teaching" by H.J. Corson, "Deaf Studies in the 90's: Meeting a Critical Need" by M.J. Bienvenu, "The World According to (the) Deaf: The Place of ASL Literature in a Comprehensive Deaf Studies Curriculum by J.F. Keeleher and J.J. Fernandes, "History and Film in the Deaf Studies Curriculum" by J.V. Van Cleve and J.S. Schuchman, "Roadblocks in the Development of a Bilingual/Bicultural Program: Theory vs. Reality" by M. DiGiovanna and P. Tierney, "Colors of ASL....A World Expressed: ASL Poetry in the Curriculum" by W. Low, "Deaf Studies at MSSD" by L.C. Jacos, J.T. McMillan, & J.S. Weinstock, "Deafness and Deaf Culture as Curriculum Components" by B. Luetke-Stahlman, "Incorporation of Deaf Entrepereneur Role Models in Deaf Studies Curriculum" by R.E. Sutcliffe, "American Sign Language Literature: Curriculum Considerations" by E.L. Jacobowitz, "A Model Program for Integrating Personal Identity and Group Affiliation for Multiple-Minority Deaf Students" by P.M. Gleason & A.L. Lavong, "Teaming Up for Units and Deaf Kaleidoscope" by P.C. Shaw, "Some Sociological Implications of Deaf Studies" by Y. Anderson, "The Role of Deaf Identity in Deaf Studies" by B. Kannapell, "The Acquisition of ASL by Deaf Children with Deaf or Hearing Parents: Implications for Curriculum Development" by D. Galvan, "A Need in Deaf Education: ASL Artistic Expression" by C. Valli, "The Sound of ONe Hand Clapping: Performing Arts and Deaf People" by D.R. Bangs, "An Interactive-Interaction Bilingual/Bicultural Program Model" by J.A. Liedel, "Culture Across the Curriculum" by K. Brecklein, "American Sign Language Literature Series: Research and Development" by S.J. Supalla and B.J. Bahan, and "Deaf Studies: The Next Step" by L.R. Fleischer.
Cebe, J. (Ed.). (1992). Deaf studies: What's up?: Conference proceedings, October 24-25, 1991. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University, Continuing and Summer Studies. (4th floor HV2526.D42 1992).
This proceeding from a two-day forum on Deaf Studies articulates the various aspects of Deaf Studies—language, culture, education, history, theater—in the light of advocacy and empowerment. (from Clerc Center web site). Check out the following articles: "Political/Community Advocacy: A Slogan by Itself Is Not Enough" by J. Levesque, "How to Build Your Organization/Be a Political Leader by H. Goodstein, "International Deaf History Conference: What's Next?" by A. Smits, "How Pathological and Cultural Views of Deafness Affect Service-Delvery Programs by S.M. Mather, "The Learning Center for Deaf Children: The Transition from a Total Communication School to a Bilingual/Bicultural School" by M.J. Philips, "Bilingual/Bicultural Program Development at the Learning Center for Deaf Children" by M.J. Philip and A. Small, "Whole Language in Deaf Studies at MSSD" by L.C. Jacobs and J.S. Weinstock, "New Ideas, New Directions in Deaf Theater" by D. R. Bangs, "Communication Issues: ASL and English" by L. Fleischer, "ASL Literature: Inside the Story" by B.J.Bahan, "Deaf Studies Curriculum for Elementary Schools" by S.K. Wood, "Deaf Studies and Deaf Culture Curriculum" by M.Miller-Nomeland, "Humor and Wit in the Deaf Community" by E.L. Jacobowitz and "How to Incorporate Deaf Culture in Your ASL Teaching", by B. Kannapell.
Cebe, J. (Ed.). (1993). Deaf studies III : Bridging cultures in the 21st century : Conference proceedings, April 22-25, 1993. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University, Continuing Education and Outreach. (4th floor HV 2526.D423 1993).
Conference papers focus on ways to provide formal access to the rich linguistic, social, and cultural heritage of the Deaf community for use in the classroom. The five major themes of the presentation relate to program and policy development and implementation, culture, American Sign Language and English literacy, curriculum components, and the arts. (From Clerc Center web site). Check out the following articles: "Deaf Studies in the Year 2000: New Directions" by M.J. Bienvenu, "Visual Arts in Deaf Studies: Historical Perspective on Deaf Artists" by D. M. Sonnenstrahl, "Deaf Studies: Building Bridges, Building Pride" by D.R. Bangs, "Multicultural/Minority Issues in Deaf Studies" by C.McCaskill-Emerson, "DEAF POW! Advocacy: Future Focus" by J. Levesque, "Reframing Deaf Art/De'VIA for the 21st Century: New Directions" by A. Silver, "African American Deaf Women in Performing Arts: Theater and Film" by M. Banks and A.M. Bryan, "Deaf Studies in the Elementary School: Strategies and Activities" by M. Miller-Nomeland, "Deaf Audiences: Performing Arts in the Future" by N. Wilson, "How to Implement Local Deaf Heritage in Deaf Studies Classrooms", "Visual Stategies to Enhance Language Learning" by E.L. Jacobowitz, "Deaf and Proud: Empowering Students through Learning Logs" by J.S. Weinstock and D.R. Schleper, "Let's Tell an ASL Story" by S.M. Ryan, "Teaching the Elephant to Remove ASL Phobia" by F.P. Waldorf, "The Power Structure in the Deaf Community" by B.M. Kannapell, "Hearing, Mother, Father Deaf: Issues of Identity and Mediation in Culture and Communication" by R.R. Myers and A. Marcus, "The Culture of American Deaf People", by S. D. Rutherford, "Deaf Consciousness-How Deaf Culture Studies Can Improve the Quality of Deaf Life" by P. Ladd, "CHALB Productions: Deaf Culture through Theatrical Performances by A.R. Barwiolek and J.C. McKinney, "Ethnicity, Social Theory and Deaf Culture" by A.L. Terstriep, "Let's Stop Talking about It and DO IT!" by H.L. Hall, P.Chance & N.Kelly-Jones, "Administrative Consdierations for Public School ASL/Deaf Culture Programs" by J.A. Liedel, "Incorporating Deaf Culture into Early Intervention" by C.L. Busch and K. Halpin, "The Use of ASL/Deaf Culture Principles for Effective Communiction in the Classroom" by L.C. Jacobs, J.T. McMillan & P.M. Yates, and "Developing a Bilingual/Bicultural Curriculum" by P. R. Haring.
Cebe, J. (Ed.). (1999). Deaf studies VI: Making the connection conference proceedings. April 8-11, 1999. Washington, DC: College for Continuing Education, Gallaudet University. (4th floor, HV2526.D423 1999).
Check out the following articles: "The Future of Deaf People" by C.A. Padden, "Making Connections: Deaf Studies in a Changing World" by S.D. Rutherford, "Starting a Deaf Studies Program: Requirements and Obstacles" by J.G. Bettger and E. Prinz, "My Eyes are my Ears: The Art of Harry R. Williams" by L.K. Elion, "Preliminary Examination of the Life Story of a Deaf Japanese American" by Y. Osugi, "Mirror Images: ASL and English Poetry as Reflections of a Language and Culture" by D. Kennedy and L. Peterson, "Science and Ethics of Childhood Cochlear Implants" by H. Lane and B.J. Bahan, "Deaf Studies, Ethnic Studies, and Women's Studies: What Can We Learn From Each Other?" by L. Fleishcer, R. Lakoff, L. Wang and KP Perkins, "A Partial History of Deaf Studies" by C.N. Katz, "Line/Shot/Montage: Cinematic Techniques in ASL Poetry" by H.L. Bauman, "A History of Deaf Asians/Pacific Islanders in America" by C. J. Plue, "Integrating Deaf Studies in the Classroom" by J.Cohen, "Deaf Studies + Cultural Pluralism=TRUE BUSINESS?" by E.F. Laird, "Money Talks, But Can It Sign?" by B.J. Bahan, C. Moers, R.I. Roth, and B. Schick, "Reading Between the Signs: Making the Connection Between the Fields of Intercultural Communication and Deaf Studies" by A. Mindess and P.Poynor-Moyers, "Creating Deaf Theater for the 21st Century" by D. Bangs, "Pueblo Indian Children Who Are Deaf" by W.P.Kelley, "ASL Literature" by C.E. Marsh, "Reconceptualizing Deafness: Sex Is to Gender as deaf Is to Deaf" by T.Doe, "He and I: The Depersonalization of Self in an ASL Narrative" by B.K. Eldredge, "Deaf Art Criticism: Where Have We Been, Where are We Going?" by R.I. Roth, "Integrating ASL and Multiculturalism in Storytelling" by F. Rangel, "Print as a Primary Source of English for Deaf Learners" by S.J. Supella, T.R. Wix, and C.McKee, "The Dilemma of the Hard of Hearing within the U.S. Deaf Community" by D.A. Grushkin, "Art Criticism and History: De'VIA Contributions to Deaf Studies" by P. Johnston, C. Baird, B. Schertz, A. Silver, and G. Wonder, "Deaf Studies in the New Millenium" by T. Holcomb, and "20 Deaf Artists: Common Motifs" by B. Schertz.
Clymer, E.W. (Ed.). (2008). Instructional technology and education of the deaf: Supporting Learners, K — College: An International Symposium. Available: http://www.rit.edu/ntid/vp/techsym/2008/index.html
Clymer, E.W. (Ed.). (2005). Instructional technology and education of the deaf: Supporting Learners, K — College: An International Symposium. Available: http://www.rit.edu/ntid/vp/techsym/2005/index.html
Clymer, E.W. (Ed.). (2003). Instructional technology and education of the deaf: Supporting Learners, K — College: An International Symposium. Available: http://www.rit.edu/ntid/vp/techsym/2003/index.html
Clymer, E.W. (Ed.). (2001). Instructional technology and education of the deaf: Supporting Learners, K — College: An International Symposium. Available: http://www.rit.edu/ntid/vp/techsym/2001/index.html
Papers from the June 25-29 symposium are posted. Read about the latest technology projects in the field of deaf education.
Knight, P. & Swanwick, R. (Eds.) (1996). Bilingualism and the education of deaf children : Advances in practice : Conference proceedings, June 29th 1996. Leeds : University of Leeds, School of Education. (4th floor LC3715 .B55 1996).
Moeller, M.P. & Schick, B. (Eds.). (1997). Deafness and diversity : Sociolinguistic issues : Proceedings of the 8th annual conference on issues in language and deafness. Omaha, NE : Boys Town National Research Hospital. (4th floor, HV2430 C66 1997).
Mokoloff, C. (Ed.). ASL in schools: Policies and curriculum. (Proceedings of the conference, October 28-30, 1992). Washington, DC: Gallaudet University, College for Continuing Education. ( 4th floor, HV2474 .A85 1993).
Check out the following articles: "American Sign Language and Language Planning in Deaf Education" by S.M. Nover and R. Ruiz, "ASL/ESL Issues: Infants/Toddlers/ Parent Perspective" moderated by M.Kemp, "ASL/ESL Issues: Education (K-12)" moderated by M.Kemp, "How to Utilize ASL as the Language of Instruction in the Classroom" by L.Gallimore, "Language Access and Deaf Culture" by S.J. Supalla, "Closing Panel Discussion: Making the Dream Happen" moderated by R. Rosen, and "Deaf Bilingualism and Biculturalism: Formulating Definition, Approaches and Language Policy" by M.H. Kuntze.
Snider, B.D. (Ed.). Conference proceedings: Post Milan ASL & English literacy: Issues, trends & research. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University, College of Continuing Education. (4th floor, HV2526 .P67 1994).
Check out the following articles: "Reflections Upon Milan With an Eye to the Future" by K. Jankowski, "Literacy for Deaf Students: Freire and Macedo's Model" by E.Bosso & M.Kuntze, "Deaf Culture for Hearing Families with Deaf or HH Children" by B. Luetke-Stahlman, Teaching Sign Language to International Deaf Students" by H.P.Roth, "How to Read Aloud to Deaf Children and Young Adults" by S. LIvingston and M.Collins, "Using ASL and Videotaping in the Writing Process" by P.Togioka, J.Wolf, & C. Culbreath, "Grammar? Yuk! Grammar Groups for Deaf Students" by M.V. Curtis, "Fingerspelling in the Interaction Between Deaf Parents and their Deaf Daughter" by A. Blumenthal-Kelly, "Guidelines for Selecting Read-Aloud Books for Deaf Children by P.L. Hayes and P.C. Shaw, "Communication Abuse: A Sociolinguistic Perspective" by S.M. Mather and R. Mitchell, "Becoming Bilingual: Facilitating English Literacy Development: Using ASL in Preschool" by L.C. Erting and J.A. Pfau, "Metalinguistic Skills in Deaf Children: Knowledge of Synonyms" by R.J. Hoffmeister, "Cultural Mediation of Deaf Cognition" by S.M.Nover & L.Moll, "On the Equipotentiality of Signed and Spoken Language in Early Language Ontogeny" by L.A. Petitto, "What is Bad Semantics" by D. Berrigan & R. Gannon, "The Critical Reading Strategy in ASL: A Workshop" by S.P. Giansanti and P.L. Richey, "Developing Stories in ASL and ESL" by M.Miller-Nomeland & M.French, "Shakespeare Lives at CSD!" by A.S. Lentz and D.K. Ritter, "Developing Students' Literacy Skills in ASL" by M.Kuntze, "Adult/Deaf-Toddler Discourse" by S.M. Mather, and "Deaf Characters in Children's Books: How are They Perceived?" by M.M. Wilding-Diaz.
Zaitseva, G., Komarova, A., & Pursglove, D. M. (Eds.). (1998). Deaf children and bilingual education : Proceedings of the International Conference on Bilingual Education of Deaf Children. Moscow, April 1996. Moscow : Zagrey. (4th floor, HV2430 .D423 1998).
The conference was held under the auspices of the "World Federation of the Deaf". The contributors focus on the deaf child, the family, the teacher, the curriculum and the history and development of sign language.
General Bilingual Education Books--Vygotsky and Paulo Freire theories are often referred to in discussing deaf bibi education.
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. (2000). Reading topic pack. Alexandria, VA : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. (4th floor, LB1050 .R4 2000).
Contains full-text articles from ASCD publications, other ASCD resources, ERIC resources list of journal articles and Internet resources.
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (2000). Bilingual education/ESL topic pack. Alexandria, VA : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. (4th floor LC3731 .B54 2000).
Contains full-text articles from ASCD publications, other ASCD resources, ERIC resources list of journal articles and Internet resources.
August, D. & Hakuta, K. (Eds.). (1998). Educating language-minority children [electronic resource]. Washington, D.C. : National Academy Press.
Baker, C. (2000). A parents' and teachers' guide to bilingualism. Clevedon, England: Multilingual Matters. (3rd floor, P115.2 .B35 2000).
The second edition of this book provides an introduction of practical value to questions of bilingualism for parents and teachers. The style of the book is to pose questions that people most often ask about raising bilingual children. Straightforward answers follow, written in direct, plain English. Ideas and perceptions have been extended and enriched in this edition, and there has been elaboration and refinement in particular answers such as: the advantages of bilingualism; language mixing; trilingualism; and identity problems. Also a variety of new material has been included; for examples: influence of the World Wide Web and the Internet on bilingualism; the benefits for children who have a less developed second language; employment and bilingualism/multilingualism; mixed language marriages; and language strategies with an adopted child. (from Multilingual Matters web site).
Baker, C. (2000). The care and education of young bilinguals: An introduction for professionals [electronic resource] . Buffalo, NY: Multilingual Matters.
This book aims to provide a first but comprehensive introduction for busy professionals working with bilingual children. It assumes no previous training in this area but aims to provide the kind of information needed by those who deal with bilingual children. For speech therapists, doctors, psychologists, counselors, teachers, special needs personnel and many other professionals, the contents will sensitize and inform on the following: the nature of the bilingual child; bilingual children in families, bilingual children and their communities, the psychology of bilingual children, home—school relationships, bilingual schooling, bilingual children with special needs, racism and bilinguals, and the future for bilingual children. Bilinguals can only be understood through a cross-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary perspective. Hence, this book contains psychological, sociolinguistic, educational, linguistic and cultural aspects.Bilingualism has become an important topic. It reflects a surge of interest in bilinguals as people with different characteristics from monolinguals. It also reflects the increased interest in minority languages and cultures. The last decades of the twentieth century have brought swift changes in international travel, international communications, the global economy, ease of travel between countries, greater internationalism and the need for ethnic harmony. This has led to debates about the place of the languages of the world, including the need to preserve linguistic and cultural diversity. There are many indigenous and immigrant languages that are endangered. Just as there have been movements to save endangered species of animals and plants, so endangered languages need protection. The colorful diversity of human existence as expressed in its many languages and cultures is threatened, and therefore bilingualism becomes a central issue. Bilingual children are at the heart of this. In the last decade, the advantages of bilingualism and multilingualism have become clearer. The cultural, communication, cognitive and curriculum advantages of being a bilingual are increasingly agreed. Yet bilinguals often live in circumstances where there is relatively little power, little political influence, sometimes being marginalized and the targets of racial or ethnic attack. Therefore, this book aims to help reduce the prejudice and stereotyping that surrounds bilingual children and to inform about the beauty of bilingualism.
Baker, C. (2001). Foundations of bilingual education and bilingualism (3rd ed). Clevedon, England: Multilingual Matters.(4th floor LC3715 .B35 2001).
Baker (education, U. of Wales at Bangor) presents a comprehensive textbook on bilingualism at individual, group and national levels which covers major issues and controversies about language minorities and bilingual education. The third edition includes minor changes (updates of references, additions of research findings) plus the addition of new and more thoroughly covered topics. These include changes in bilingual education in the U.S.; Dual Language schools; California and Proposition 227; economic advantages of bilingual education; language loss in the world and endangered languages; the politics of language testing, and more. Written for an international audience, and intended to introduce students to a positive world of bilingualism and bilingual education. c. Book News Inc. (from RIT Library Catalog).
Banks, J.A. & Banks, C.M.(Eds.). (2001). Multicultural education : Issues and perspectives. New York : Wiley. (4th floor, LC1099.3 .M85 2001).
Written for present and future educators, this book offers guidance on becoming an effective teacher in the diverse classroom. Scholars in education, ethnic studies, anthropology, gender studies, and psychology present research, concepts, and debates on the education of students from different cultural, racial, ethnic, and language groups. Specific attention is given to issues of religion, gender, race, ethnicity, language, exceptionality, and school reform. Appendixes include a glossary and a list of multicultural resources. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR (from RIT Library Catalog).
Bialystok, E. & Hakuta, K. (1994). In other words: The science and psychology of second language acquisition. New York: Basic Books. (3rd floor, P118.2 .B52 1994).
With the development of international business and an increase in immigration, this culture can no longer afford the presumption of monolingualism. The theme of this book is that we are all capable of learning new languages and that doing so develops awareness of one's own intellectual and emotional dimensions. It presents recent research into second language acquisition, addresses broader sociological issues of cultural diversity and multilingualism, and calls for coherent policy on these issues so that our society might thereby become stronger economically, politically and culturally. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (from RIT Library Catalog).
Brisk, M. (2000). Literacy and bilingualism: A handbook for all teachers [electronic resource] . Mahwah, N.J. : L. Erlbaum Associates.
This handbook applies proven techniques, derived from bilingual/bicultural classrooms, to teaching literacy in the 21st century. Its goal is to help teachers increase their understanding of bilingual learners in order to maximize instruction. Teachers can use this handbook to: * Expand their understanding of literacy and bilingualism * Implement literacy approaches and assess students' development * Learn through reflection Features: Practical, flexible format and content. Complete and straightforward instructions, illustrated by case studies, allow teachers to use the strategies in this handbook on their own or in teacher-led study groups. They can select from the variety of approaches the ones which best match their students' needs and their own teaching style. Student-centered focus. All of the approaches share characteristics that help motivate students of varying language abilities to develop literacy. They: * Encourage students' creativity * Tap on students' knowledge as the basis for learning * Allow for students to regulate the degree of difficulty * Support functional uses of language * Reinforce all language skills (listening, speaking, reading, and writing) and their integration in teaching literacy * Include engaging activities * Invite student interaction and active participation * Practice skills in meaningful contexts Field-tested approaches. The approaches have beenmodified and tested with bilingual students of different ages and language backgrounds in bilingual, ESL, mainstream,special education, and deaf education classes ranging from preschool through high school. What has been learned about how to motivate students to acquire literacy in either their native or second languages is described.
Corson, D. (2000). Language diversity and education [electronic resource]. . Mahwah, N.J.: L. Erlbaum Associates.
The first, second, and last chapters give much of the background that beginning researchers need for studying language diversity and education. These chapters offer an update on the philosophy of social research. In doing so, they reveal how important language is for all the processes of learning that humans engage in, whether it is learning about the world through education, or learning about the nature of social life through research in the human sciences. The same chapters review the links between language, power, and social justice. And they look at dynamic changes occurring in 'language diversity and education' research. The book's four central chapters attempt a comprehensive and state-of-the-art coverage of the chief areas of language diversity that affect the practice of education: • standard and non-standard varieties; *different cultural discourse norms; • bilingual and English as a Second Language (ESL) education and • gendered discourse norms. Chapter 1 looks at language in social life, especially its central role in discovering and explaining a diverse social world. The chapter follows the interpretative, discursive turn that now offers a way of understanding language diversity and education that is critically real yet thoroughly postmodern.Chapter 2 reviews the links between discourse, power, and social justice. It looks at 'language and power' and at 'language and social justice'. Then it brings these two discussions together to suggest how the imbalances in power that language diversity creates, can be reduced in the interests of social justice. Chapter 3 addresses the many students who bring different cultural discourse norms into schools. It discusses cultural identity; mismatches in discourse; different cultural values; the effects of dominant discourse norms; the power of classroom contexts and teacher practices; and ways of changing these contexts and practices. Chapter 4 discusses the fair treatment of standard and non-standard varieties in education. Its topics include non-standard varieties and educational policy; recent research on non-standard varieties; and the practical issues of critical language awareness and critical literacy. Chapter 5 reviews bilingual and ESL education. It deals with the advantages of bilingualism and of bilingual education itself; the education of immigrant children up to middle childhood; established linguistic minorities; the signing Deaf; the ESL education of older children; and valuing minority first languages in schools. Chapter 6 looks at gendered discourse norms. Its topics include female discourse norms and male power; cooperative and competitive practices among adults and children; gendered norms reinforced by schools; influences beyond the school; the norms of immigrant girls; and reducing gendered school discourses. Chapter 7 examines the changing role of the language disciplines in understanding the real world of human interaction. It points towards discourse studies that are broadly conceived, politically aware, and socially situated. Finally, it presents summaries of methods at work, each drawn from one of the four central chapters.(from preface of book).
Cummins, J. (1984). Bilingualism and special education: Issues in assessment and pedagogy. San Diego, Calif. : College-Hill Press. (4th floor LC3731.C86 1984).
Dixon-Krauss, L. (1996). Vygotsky in the classroom : Mediated literacy instruction and assessment. White Plains, N.Y. : Longman. (4th floor LB1576 .Y95 1996).
Classroom instruction. Vygotsky's sociohistorical perspective on learning and its application to western literacy instruction / Lisbeth Dixon-Krauss -- Emerging readers and writers / Martha Combs -- Spontaneous and scientific concepts in content-area instruction / Lisbeth Dixon-Krauss -- Book club : the influence of a Vygotskian perspective on a literature-based reading program / Susan I. McMahon -- Collaborative learning and thinking : the Vygotskian approach / Clara M. Jennings and Xu Di Vygotsky and writing : children using language to learn and learning from the child's language what to teach / Marian Matthews -- The concept of activity / Patricia Ashton -- Classroom assessment. Vygotsky and multicultural assessment and instruction / Nile V. Stanley -- Vygotsky and at-risk readers : assessment and instructional implications / Sherry Kragler -- Using portfolios to mediate literacy instruction and assessment / Lyn Rothwell Wagner and Dana Brock Vygotsky in the future : technology as a mediation tool for literacy instruction /Joe M. Peters
Faltis, C. & Hudelson, S. (1998). Bilingual education in elementary and secondary school communities: Toward understanding and caring. Boston: Allyn & Bacon. (4th floor, LC3731 .F345 1998).
An introduction to bilingual education for education majors interested in becoming bilingual teachers. Presents a set of principles that form the foundation of how children and adolescents acquire literacy, and illustrates what actually happens in certain bilingual classrooms and schools through detailed vignettes of social interaction involving students and teachers. Unlike most works on bilingual education, there is much material on secondary students and schools. A final chapter discusses caring for bilingual education within a framework of caring and compassion in general. (from RIT LIbrary Catalog).
Freire, P.(1970). Pedagogy of the oppressed. New York: Herder and Herder. (2 copies, 4th floor, LB880.F7313).
Freeman, Y. & Freeman, D. (1992). Whole language for second language learners. Portsmouth, N.H.: Heinemann. ( 3rd floor, P53 .F73 1992).
Freeman, Y. & Freeman, D. (1998). ESL/EFL teaching: Principles for success. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.(3rd floor, P53 .F73 1998).
Explains second language teaching methodology, supported by classroom examples. Overviews different orientations for ESL/EFL teaching, describes teaching methods, and pinpoints the orientation most consistent with principles that lead to success. Subsequent chapters develop each of these principles for success in detail. Includes checklists and lesson ideas. This edition of the authors' Whole Language for Second Language Learners expands discussion of bilingual education, and condenses some material. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (from RIT Library Catalog).
Freeman, D.E.(2001). Between worlds : Access to second language acquisition. Portsmouth, NH : Heinemann.(3rd floor, P118.2 .F74 2001).
The first edition of Between Worlds provided such an excellent grounding in the theories and practices of second language acquisition that when it won MLA's Mildenberger Award it was cited for its treatment of the "issues that concern teachers of languages at all levels and in all contexts." Tens of thousands of educators discovered how to expand the learning potential of their students by considering how the world inside the school interacts with outside social contexts. Now, seven years later, the schooling of English language learners has become far more complex and political. So the Freemans have updated their classic text to address new trends and issues related to the teaching of multilingual students. The second edition features: clear, accessible review of second language acquisition theories and research in the fields of second language acquisition, bilingual education, and second language teaching methodology—now completely updated new insight into the social and cultural factors that affect second language acquisition and related current research and theory discussion of the role of grammar in second language acquisition the content teachers need for certification to teach second language learners—such as CLAD/BCLAD unparalleled practicality, with lots of new classroom examples, strategies, thematic units, student work, and language stories ideas for promoting cultural sensitivity logical organization that could easily serve as a basis for a course syllabus practical suggestions and useful resources for working with parents of language minority students.
Gonzalez, V. (1997). Assessment and instruction of culturally and linguistically diverse students with or at-risk of learning problems : From research to practice. Boston : Allyn & Bacon. (4th floor LC3731 .G67 1996).
This book is an essential tool for any educator working with culturally and linguistically diverse (CLD) students. It delivers applied recommendations from the research developed by scholars endorsing the importance of a constructivist and developmental perspective. Referred to as the “Ethnic Educator,” its approach emphasizes how educators must be responsive to the needs of CLD students and families. Appropriate for a wide range of professionals such as bilingual and special educators, education diagnosticians and psychologists, counselors, social workers, speech patholgists, and school administrators. (from back cover).
Grosjean, F. (1982). Life with two languages: An introduction to bilingualism. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press.(3rd floor, P115.G76 1982).
Hall, D. (2001). Assessing the needs of bilingual pupils : Living in two languages. London : D. Fulton. (OVER 4th floor LC3736.G6 H26 2001).
Ever since its publication in 1995, this book has offered a means for teachers to consider why some bilingual pupils in their classrooms are not making learning progress or are academically underachieving. This new second edition has been revised and updated in the light of the new government legislation and guidance, most significantly the revised Code of Practice for Special Educational Needs. It continues to look at ways of asking questions about the pupil, of collecting evidence of both learning and language development and of offering support within the classroom. It contains a model and photocopiable proformas for use within schools, which should help to establish clear systems of identification of those bilingual pupils who may have special learning needs and to distinguish these from the need for language support. (From Amazon Bookstore web site).
Kouritzin, S.G. (1999). Face[t]s of first language loss [electronic resource]. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc.
Kogan, E. (2001). Gifted bilingual students : A paradox?. New York : P. Lang Pub. (4th floor LC3731 .K64 2001).
Traditionally, Hispanics have been underrepresented in programs for gifted children in the U.S. Kogan (education, Adelphi U., New York) proposes changes in our educational system to enable gifted bilingual Hispanic children to be identified and nurtured in order to realize their full potential. Following an overview of bilingual education, the text discusses definitions and conceptions of giftedness in bilingual populations; identification of gifted bilinguals; approaches to gifted bilingual education; and the involvement of Hispanic parents in their gifted child's education. Detailed case studies of three gifted bilingual Hispanic children are included, followed by implications for the future.Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR (from RIT LIbrary Catalog).
Ovando, C. & Collier, V. (1998). Bilingual and ESL classrooms: Teaching in multicultural contexts. Boston: McGraw Hill. (4th floor, LC3731 .O96 1998).
Demographic predictions are that students with close connections to their bilingual/bicultural heritages (now labeled "language minority students" by the federal government) will be very large in number in the near future, becoming the majority in many states over the next three decades. The authors feel it is the responsibility of all educators, not just specialists, to prepare themselves to work with language minority students. This time-tested classic text (not an edited volume) integrates theory and practice and provides comprehensive coverage of all bilingual and ESL issues. The text integrates the fields of ESL, bilingual, and multicultural education and provides rich examples of effective practices and their underlying research knowledge base. This book covers teaching of all the content areas and has separate chapters on teaching mathematics, science, and social studies. The new edition includes research on the English-only movement (chapter 1), a comprehensive review of current research on first and second language acquisition for school (chapter 4), and the crucial research base on culture and the integral role it plays in schooling of diverse linguistic and cultural heritages (chapter 5). A new chapter 3 covers teaching and explores cooperative learning, critical pedagogy, and interdisciplinary, multisensory lessons, using as examples art, technology, and music incorporated into instruction that connects to students' lives inside and outside school. (from Amazon Bookstore web site).
Skutnabb-Kangas, T. (2000). Linguistic genocide in education, or worldwide diversity and human rights?[electronic resource]. Mahwah, N.J. Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
Bertling, T. (1994). A child sacrificed to the deaf culture. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor HV2534.B47 A3 1994-3 copies and ETRR has 2 copies).
Bertling shares his subjective and unpopular (with the deaf community) views on deaf culture, deaf education, and deaf children. He attended a residential school and has deaf family members.This controversial book was written for educators and administrators, parents of deaf children, and those having a professional or social interest in the deaf. (From Amazon Bookstore website).
Bertling, T. (1997). No dignity for Joshua : More vital insight into deaf children, deaf education, and deaf culture. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor HV2545.B395 1997-2 copies and ETRR has 2 copies).
Bertling surveys and offers subjective opinions on such controversial issues as cochlear implants, sexual abuse at residential deaf schools, militancy within the deaf community and deaf community leadership. Contributes to the on-going dialogue and debate of issues key to deaf community interests and to the education and assimilation of deaf children.(From Amazon Bookstore website).
Bertling, T. (Ed.). (1998). American sign language: Shattering the myth. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2471 .A63 1998).
This controversial and unprecedented collection of essays from distinguished and respected scholars marks the turning point in the education of the deaf. Headlined with compositions and documents written by the late Dr. Larry G. Stewart and Prof. Frances M. Parsons, both once members of the faculty of Gallaudet University, the book opens the door for new thinking. With additional contributions from Dr. Otto J. Menzel, Dr. Donald F. Moores, Dr. Truman W. Stelle, and PhD student Patrick W. Seamans, all of these writers venture into the heart of deaf language and cultural issues and reward us with the kind of critical thinking largely absent from many proponents of ASL-based learning. Topics regarding the failure of Deaf education, Bilingual-Bicultural, immoral intimidation tactics, and other pressing points are mentioned. Personal accounts that go against the traditional ASL mindset are also given.(From Amazon Bookstore web site).
Bertling, T. (Ed.). (2001). An intellectual look at American Sign Language : Clear thinking on American Sign Language, English, and Deaf education. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2474 .I563 2001).
This book encompasses contributions from some of the researchers, educators, and commentators on sign language communication. In addition to American Sign Language, the contributors discuss deaf education, the importance of English reading and writing skills, deaf culture, ethical questions, Cochlear Implants, residential schools for the deaf, and the future of education and life for deaf children. The subjective opinions and unpopular (with the deaf community) in the book challenges and shows skepticism toward the ASL-based approach to learning for the deaf.(From Amazon Bookstore web site).
Bertling, T. (2002). Communicating with deaf children. Wilsonville, Or: Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2471 .C66 2002).
Cochlear implants and the claims of culture? / by Dena S. Davis -- English language acquisition of children with cochlear implants / by Melissa Chaikof -- Language development in deaf children / by Frank Bowe -- Communication modalities and English literacy / by Gerilee Gustason -- What is deaf culture? / by Patrick Seamans -- Thirty years of cued speech: A compilation of international research results / by Paulette Caswell -- English acquisition for deaf children / by Glenn T. Lloyd.
Hakuta, K. (1986). Mirror of language: The debate on bilingualism. New York: Basic Books. (3rd floor, P115.H34 1986).
This first comprehensive account of the psychological, linguistic, educational, and social aspects of bilingualism separates myth from fact. (from Amazon Bookstore web site).
Krashen, S.D. (1996). Under attack : The case against bilingual education. Culver City, Calif. : Language Education Associates. (4th floor, LC3731 .K73 1996).
Bilingual education is under attack. Letters to the editor, editorials, and talk show hosts repeat the same arguments nearly daily. Bilingual education, they say, doesn't work. Students in bilingual programs do not learn English and those who have never had bilingual education appear to do very well without it. Also, critics claim that most parents and teachers don't want bilingual education, and that it contributes to the erosion of English in the United States. In this empirically grounded monograph, Krashen answers the critics. His book examines the following issues: Does the research show that bilingual education doesn't work?(No) Is English in trouble?(No) Are most parents and teachers against bilingual education?(No) Will bilingual education work for languages other than Spanish?(Yes) What about those who succeed without bilingual education? Is bilingual education good for English? (Yes !) Can bilingual education be improved?(Yes !) (From Amazon Bookstore web site).
Krashen, S,D. (1999). Condemned without a trial : Bogus arguments against bilingual education.Portsmouth, NH : Heinemann.(4th floor, LC3731 .K727 1999).
Here is a timely and important book for anyone concerned about the future of bilingual education in America. Written by Stephen Krashen, the nation's foremost expert on second language acquisition, it disproves many of the false assumptions and outright distortions that led to the passage of Proposition 227 in California. Now, as some of those same arguments proliferate in other states, Krashen explains the bases for five of these key beliefs, and proves--step-by-step--why they are wrong. In its careful delineation of the real issues, Condemned Without a Trial gives educators, administrators, parents, and voters the essential understanding--and evidence--they have heretofore been denied. (From book jacket).
Check out the Deaf Education Journal Guide:http://library.rit.edu/guides/education/online-deaf-journals.html
American Annals fo the Deaf
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Sign Language Studies
Abrams, M. (1991). Whole language: A folio of articles from perspectives in education and deafness. (4th floor, HV 2469.R4 W46 1991).
Check out the following articles: "What Does Reading Mean?", "Text Simpflication: A Solution With Many Problems", "Predictable Books: Captivating Young Readers", "Promoting Reading: All You Need Is Time", "Putting Print Into Context to Help Deaf Children Read", "Developing Reading Appreciation in Young Children", "Show-Me Bedtime Reading", "READ to Your Older Students Too!", "Reading Tests and the Deaf Reader", "What Parents Can Do to Help Their Hearing Impaired Children Develop Literacy", "A Lesson From Opal", "When Words Stand at a Dress Parade", "Publishing Students' Stories", "Learning on Paper: Dialogue Journals Build Language Skills", "Peer Reading Journals: A Student-to-Student Application of Dialogue Journals", "Literature and Writing: Two Sides of a Coin", "Learning Logs for Math: Thinking Through Writing", "Using Themes as Building Blocks for Learning", and "Using Literature Across the Curriculum".
Abrams, M. (1995). Whole language II: A folio of articles from perspectives in education and deafness. (4th floor, HV2469.R4W46 1995).
Check out the following articles: "The Road Not Taken", "Whole Language Works ...and I've Got Proof!", "Building Blocks for Literacy: Getting the Signs Right", A Book and a Bus Ride", "I Lost Control and My Students Found It", Three R's and a Very Big : Reading, 'Riting, Replication and Change", "Young Readers and the Environmental Print", "Adopt an Author", "It's Storytelling Day! A Two-Way Success", "Bedtime Reading=Language Learning", "Reading for Pleasure: A Reading Resource Room", "Tips for Building a Classroom Library", "Making Sense of Math Through Writing", "Dialog Journals: The Next Step", "Semantic Maps: The Road to Better Writing", "Turning Your Classroom into a Newsroom", "Emerging Voices: Deaf Students Discover Their Literacy", "S-P-E-L-L-I-N-G in the Real World", "Making Connections: Students, Technlogy, and Language Learning", When "F" Spells "Cat": Spelling in a Whole Language Program", "Grammar and Meaning in a Whole Language Framework", "Discovering Rumpelstiltskin: Building Language Skills", "Whole Language: Getting the Bugs Out", "Let's Pretend: Literature, Drama, and Language; "Creaing a Video Library: An Oral History Project", "Look What's Cookin in Whole Language", and "A Backup Team for Whole Language".
Butler, K.G. & Prinz, P.M. (Eds.). (August 1998). ASL proficiency and English literacy acquisition: New perspectives. Topics in Language Disorders, 18 (4). (3rd floor, RJ 496.L35 T66 Vol. 18. no. 4).
In this issue are the following articles: "Literacy and Deaf Children: The Language Question" by M. Kuntze, "From Sign to Word: Considering Modality Constraints in ASL/English Bilingual Education" by J.L. Singleton, S. Supalla, S. Litchfield and S.Schley, "Reading Ability in Signing Deaf Children" by C. Padden and C. Ramsey, "ASL Proficiency and English Literacy within a Bilingual Deaf Education Model of Instruction" by P. M. Prinz and M. Strong, "Development of ASL and English Competence for Learners Who Are Deaf" by S.M. Nover, K.M. Christensen, and L.L. Cheng, and "Toward a Differentiated Account of Facilitators of Literacy Development and ASL in Deaf Children" by K.E. Nelson
Parasnis, Ila. (1997) Cultural identity and diversity in deaf education. American Annals of the Deaf, 142, 72-79.
Academic Search Elite-ECommunication-RIC-Professional Development-PsychArt-PsycInfo
Proquest-Dissertations and Theses
Info to Go-Bilingual/Bicultural Deaf Education
New Mexico School for the Deaf
Paddy Ladd Deafhood -YouTube
Science of Learning Center on Visual Language and Visual Learning
English Works! Gallaudet University--Highly recommended!
Literacy-Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center
Signs of Literacy at Clerc
15 Principles of Reading to Deaf Children
Info to Go-Bilingual/Bicultural Deaf Education
Read It Again and Again
Nover, S. (1994). The politics of ASL in deaf education: Stephen H. Nover [videorecording]. Rochester, NY : NTID/RIT. (ETRR only VIDEO 5912 no.37).
Stephen M. Nover is a Ph.D. candidate in Language, Reading and Culture at the University of Arizona. His focus is on language planning as a tool in bilingual education with special regard to the role of American Sign Language in the education of the deaf.
Paoletti-Schelp, J. (2000). Viewpoints 3: Deaf education [videorecording]. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, Inc. (4th floor, HV 2395.V538 2000 pt.3).
Consists of unrehearsed interviews with 6 different D/deaf individiuals who come from a broad range of educational and linguistic backgrounds offering opinions and experiences on the topic of Deaf Education.
Efron, Amy Cohen. (2007). The greatest irony. DVD. Atlanta, Ga. : A.C. Efron, 2007. 12 mins. (4th floor, BF723.C57 E47 2007). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
Compares two popular programs, Baby Signs for hearing children and auditory verbal therapy for Deaf children.
- Interlibrary Loan
- Access Borrowing Card
- Study Rooms
- Computing Services
- Fax Services
- Publishing & Scholarship Support
- Faculty/Staff Campus Delivery
- ANSI Outreach Program
- Thesis & Dissertation Services
- Copyright & Fair Use Information
- Wallace Library
- RIT Archive Collections
- RIT Archive Special Collections
- Melbert B Cary, Jr. Graphic Arts Collection
- Design & Typography Special Collections
- RIT's Digital Media Library (DML)
- Image Collections
- Photo Collections
- RIT Open Access Publications
- Online Exhibits
- Book Lovers
- Meet Your Librarian
- User Specific Resources
- Workshops and Instruction
- News & Events
- Live Reference Help