Deaf Studies Internet Resources
Check out Deaf Read and Deaf Digest News. Check out Rochester, NY via Deaf Times , Deaf Roc and DeafWeekly
|
Deaf Libraries, Information Centers, Bibliographies and Information Technology |
|||
ASL and Fingerspelling
ASL Center
- RIT and ASL Deaf Studies Community Center (RADSCC)-located at RIT, SAU, 2nd floor
ASL Courses
- ASL University--Outstanding distance learning course. There is a nice library topic section for ideas on research papers, also a list of signs one can view.
- Master ASL- Preview
- Signing Online
ASL Dictionaries
- NTID’s ASL Video Dictionary and Inflection Guide---Highly reccommended
- ASL Browser
- Handspeak
ASL Guides
- Gallaudet FAQ ASL Academic Acceptance and Recognition
- Gallaudet FAQ ASL Ranking and Number of Signers
- Gallaudet FAQ Deaf Place Names
ASL Programs
ASL Projects
-
ASL Project-Developed an innovative English to ASL digital translator
ASL Research
-
Gallaudet University-ASL Research
-
Institute for Disabilities Research and Training-ASL Products (Mexican/American Sign Language Translator, Russian Sign Language and children's software)
- Sign With Your Baby-Research by Joseph Garcia on using sign language with hearing babies
- Wide Eyed Learning-Teaching Sign to Babies
ASL Resources
-
Info to Go--States That Recognize ASL As a Foreign Language
-
National Clearinghouse of Rehabilitation Training Materials-Find multicultural interpreting videos
-
Self Instructional Lab- ASL Video Resources
-
Start Learning ASL
Fingerspelling and Numbers
- ASL Guide
-
Fingerpselling Practice-Control speed of fingerspelling
-
Read Fingerspelled Text Special Topics
- ASL Dictionary Library ( Technical Signs: Biology, Countries, Geography, Government, Math, Physics, Technology, U.S. History, Auto Mechanics
- Classifiers
- Cosmetology Signs
-
SignWriting--Find a dictionary, signwriting literature and more!
Assistive Technologies
PowerPoint Presentations
-
Demystifying Assistive Listening Devices-PowerPoint presentation
- You Don't Know What You've Been Missing-PowerPoint presentation
Stores and Resources
-
Abledata--Find 20,000 assistive technology products
- Center for the Deaf and HH - Wisconsin
-
Hearing Resources-Specializes in assistive technology and repair services for persons who are deaf or hh.
- Interpretype-a device that allows nonsigners and signers to communicate via keyboard-can be hooked up to the computer.
- Marilyn Electronics
-
Radio Shack-Has phone lights flashers
- Sonic Alert
- United TTY - The PocketComm, a NEW product innovation, is a lightweight and compact TTY/VCO device for the deaf and hard of hearing. It's a "Type and Read" TTY or a "Speak and Read" VCO.
- WCI Communications
Technology Communication, Projects and/or Research
- CapTel Phone
-
iCommunicator System-Facilitates communication between the hearing world and a person who is deaf, hh or has special needs. This multi-sensory device improves comprehension of spoken language and teaches reading, speech skills and sign language
-
National Public Radio - Transcripts provided for Deaf consumers
-
Technology Assessment Program, Gallaudet University
-
Typewell-turns lectures, peer comments into computer text
Audiograms
Organizations
Resources/Research
Late Deafened
Hearing Aids
- ASL Access-Where to buy ASL videos
- Buto Publishers
- Color of Language
- DawnSignPress
- Deaf Internet Bookstore - United Kingdom- Find hard to find books related to criminology and deafness here.
- Digiterp Communications
-
Forest Bookstore-United Kingdom
- Joyce Media
- Let's Sign--primarily focuses on ministry books
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf Bookstore
- Signs of Development
Caption Resources
- Captioning Software
- Gary Robson Captioning Resources-Find articles and more
- I-Caption--Makes performances accessible to deaf audiences
- International Captioning Services
- Vitac Real Time Captioning
Technology and Web Resources
-
Instant Captioning -Provides live captions or transcriptions for people who are deaf or hh which will assist them during conversations, meetings or lectures. Works with a variety of devices like laptops, cellular phones with alphanumeric display screens or small hand-held instant captioning devices.
- PlaceWare-The leader in web conferencing services for Internet-based business communications and eLearning, announced the formation of a partnership with Rapidtext, Inc. to provide live voice-to-text services for web conference participants.The partnership cements PlaceWare's position as the first web conferencing provider to become compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Enabling hearing-impaired users to utilize real-time web conferencing allows new audiences to fully leverage the enhanced "IQ," or interactivity quotient, of PlaceWare's eLearning services and gives instructors and learners more flexibility, control, functionality and independence overtheir learning environments.
- Viable Technologies - Remote realtime transcription solution fostering equal communication access for deaf, hard-of-hearing, and hearing clients with communication or other special needs.
Captioned Movie Theaters
-
Cinema Theater- 957 S. Clinton Ave., Rochester, NY 14620. Sometimes has captioned foreign flicks.
- DTS-CSS Caption System
-
Regal Theatre-Henrietta-OCF usually have 4 showings daily for one week with new changes beginning on Fridays. To find movies/times, check the Democrat & Chronicle Thursday Weekender and look for a box entitled "Open Captioned Film" which will tell you what movie is playing that week and showtimes. Pick up discount tickets at Campus Connections. When you get to this website, type in the zip code for Henrietta
- Little Theater-Subtitled and Foreign Movies
- CaptionFish- This is a national captioned movies search engine. Find OC, RWC, Foreign/Subtitled & Descriptive showtimes. Captioned trailers, theater locations, map/directions & more!
Captioned Videos and Movies
-
Library Video Co. (many are captioned)
- Math and Science Captioned Videos
- Special Interest Videos
Deaf Businesses
- Alaska Salmon Fishing Guide Service
- Deaf Business Directory
- Deaf Cruises
- DeafQuest
- Deaf Quote-Insurance
- Deaf Senior Citizens Housing-Cardinal Capital
- Dissertation on Deaf Businesses
- National Deaf Business Institute
Deaf Career and College Publications
- Achieving Goals: Career Stories of Individuals Who Are Deaf or HH-NETAC
- Careers in Deafness via DeafLinx
- Careers in Deafness via Info to Go
- Beyond Hearing Aids-Job Accommodations for Individuals Who Are HH or Late-Deafened-PowerPoint presentation
Deaf Education Career Resources
- Directory of Deaf Education Teacher Preparation Programs
- Deaf Education Employment Opportunities
- NTID Secondary Deaf Education Program
Deaf Employment Laws
- Questions and Answers about Deafness in the Workplace and ADA--U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission-
Deaf Employment and Networking Resources
- DeafTek-Focus is on employment opportunities for deaf people and persons who serve the deaf population.
- Deaf and HH in Government
- Gallaudet University Employment Opportunities
- NETAC Professional Internship Program
- NTID Center on Employment
- RIT Job Listing
- Trudy Suggs -Writing Services
- VESID- NY State Vocational and Educational Services for Individuals with Disabilities
General Career Links and Databases
- Careerxroads 2000-Online and annual print directory to the best job and résumé sites
- Employment Spot
General Disability Job Links and Databases
- California Business Leader Network
- Disability Gov
- JobAccess
- Job Accommodation Network
- National Organization on Disability
- University of Minnesota Job Database for People With Disabilities
- VESID- NY State Vocational and Educational Services for Individuals with Disabilities
Interpreters and Linguists
- Linguist Job List
- NTID ASL and Interpreting Education Program
- University of Rochester-Dept. of Linguistics
RIT Career Links
Cochlear Implants
- American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
- Cochlear Implant Education Center-Laurent Clerc Center
- Cochlear Corporation-Nucleus
- Cochlear Implants via DeafLinx
- Ear Surgery Information Center
- FDA Implanted Device
- House Ear Institute
- MED-EL Cochlear Implants
- NTID Cochlear Implant Program
- Sound and Fury Video, Debate and Articles-PBS
- Sources of Hearing Aids and Cochlear Funding
- The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia- Smith College and The Clarke School for the Deaf-Educational Consultant Training Program on Cochlear Implants
Conferences and Workshops
- Deaf Academics Conference
- Deaf History International Conference
- Deaf Initiative in IT (DIIT) Workshops at NTID
- Deaf Studies Conference
- Info to Go
Deaf Blind Resources
Associations and Organizations
Publications
- A-Z to DeafBlindness
- CAST Digital Book Project-This project will focus on digitizing books and create a "Cyber Univeral Learning Center", a web based service that provides teachers and special needs students with digital classroom materials. Once digitized, material can be manipulated in different ways. Text can be made larger, text-to-speech readers can be added to assist dyslextic or other special needs students, pages can be turned with eye movements and books can be ordered online for downloading to special braille output devices. Selected material will be available in 3 formats-HTML, Braille and DAISY-NISO
- Deaf-Blind Link
- DeafBlind in the U.S.- Gallaudet U.
- Gallaudet FAQ Helen Keller Quotations
- Ohio Center for DeafBlind Education
- Helen Keller National Center (New York)
- Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Blindness and Low Vision
Rochester Braille Printing Services
First Baptist Church Braille Service - 15 cents a page
Contact: Lin Pembroke 223-5998 LpembrokatrochesterdotrrdotdotcomNational Braille Association, Inc. – Braille Book Bank
3 Townline Center
Rochester. NY 14523 Contact: Sheila Di Prima 427-8260 nbasheilaatnationalbrailledotorg
Technology and Web Access
- Adobe Acrobat Access
- Freedom Scientific-Look at products produced by Henter-Joyce (JAWS & MAGic), Blazie Engineering, and Arkenstone (OpenBook and VERA).
- IBM Accessibility Info
- HumanWare-Braille Refreshable Display
- Section 508 Rehabilitation Act
- WebSpeak
- ZoomText Software
Usher Syndrome
- Usher Syndrome
Deaf Culture, History and Heritage
- Ayisha Knight-Photographer
- Adam Betts - Web and graphic design
- Betty Miller
- Chuck Baird
- Claire Bergman
- Deaf Art-Deaf View/Image Art (De'VIA)
- Deaf Art/Deaf Artists Website-OUTSTANDING!
- Deaf Art Listserv
- Deaf Culture Centre-Toronto
- DeafMedia.org
- Dyer Art Center at NTID
- eCards in ASL
- Eddie Swayze
- Exploring the Work of Deaf Artists---Julia Robinson from the Curriculum Foundation has creative activities related to artwork.
- Flying Hands Studio
- Gallaudet FAQ Guide about Gallaudet and Cogswell Statue
- Gallaudet FAQ Guide about Lincoln Statue
- Guy Wonder
- International Archive of Deaf Artists
- John Brewster-Fenimore Art Museum
- Leon Lim
- Mary Rappazzo
- Morris Broderson
- National Gallery of Art-Search by artist's last name, keywords, title, school, style, date, medium, subjects (check images only)
- De'VIA Artist-Pam Witcher
- Robin Bartholick-Photographer
- Robin Taylor
- Tamsin Williams
- Tate Tullier-Photographer
Deaf Biographies
- About Deaf Biography Resources
- Deaf Biographies-English Works!
- Deaf Friends International
- Deaf Genealogy Database
- Deaf Scientists
- Gallaudet Index to Deaf Biographies
- Gallaudet FAQ Deaf Nobel Prize Winners
- Peterson Collection at RIT Archives
Deaf Guides
Deaf History
- Chicago Deaf Stories
- Deaf African and Afro-American Slaves
- Deaf Glossary
- Deaf History Timeline
- Deaf History Timeline via Sound and Fury
- Deaf History via DeafLinx
- Deaf History Timeline -Gallaudet Archives
- Deaf People and WW II-Outstanding site!
- Deaf President Now
- Disability Studies for Teachers
- Earliest Known Deaf People-from Gallaudet U.
- "History Through Deaf Eyes"
- Laurent Clerc Guide from Gallaudet U.
- Kansas Museum of Deaf Culture
- Nebraska Deaf History Museum
- Rochester School for the Deaf History
- U.S. Civil War Military Service: Deaf Bios
Gallaudet Protest Issues 11 October 2006
- Bay Area Site
- DeafRead-View deaf blogs
- Gallaudet University
- National Public Radio Transcripts - Interview re: Protest and CI
- Tent Cities
Deaf Resources
- Centre for Deaf Studies-UK
- DeafAcademics.org
- Deaf Studies Program at NTID
- Disability in Films-UK
- Gallaudet Library Archives
- Gallaudet University Index to Deaf Periodicals
- Gallaudet University Guide to Deaf Biographies
- CSUN Resource Center
- NTID Deaf Index
- Two Views of Deafness
Deaf Discussion Groups, List-Servs and Newsgroups
- AllDeaf.com
- Beyond Hearing--SHHH and HH focus
- Deaf Academics Listserv
- Deaf Attorneys
- DeafCafe--Internet Portal Site
- Deaf-L
- DeafChat
- Deaf Digest Listserv that sends national deaf related news weekly
- Deafs
- DeafKids-send an email message "subscribe DEAFKIDS to your name"
- Deaf Online Forums
- Deafness Related ListServs
- DeafNotes-Online Community Forum
- Deaf Spot!
- Deaf Times
- DeafView-Share your opinions on hot topics and vote
- MSM Productions Deaf Links
Deaf Education and Post-Secondary Programs
Bilingual Bicultural Deaf Education
- Academic ASL Approach
- Info to Go-Bilingual/Bicultural Deaf Education
- New Mexico School for the Deaf
- Paddy Ladd Deafhood -YouTube
- Science of Learning Center on Visual Language and Visual Learning
- Star Schools
Deaf Communication and Language Options
Deaf Education
- Class Act-Universal Design in Education by Susan Foster, NTID
- Deaf Education via DeafLinx
- Deaf Education Web Site
- Effective Tutoring Practices With Deaf and HH Students-PowerPoint presentation
- Foreign Language Instruction-Tips for Accommodating HH and Deaf Students-PowerPoint presentation
- Instructional Strategies and Curriculum Materials
- Mainstreaming Deaf and HH Students
- NETAC Teacher Tipsheets
- Teaching Every Student-Universal Design for Learning
- Tutoring and Writing Links
- Universal Instructional Design
Deaf Orientation
- Deafness 101 An Introduction Need Acrobat Reader
Deaf Research
- Deaf Demographics-Gallaudet University
- Deaf Ed Net
- Deaf Population Statistics-FAQ from Gallaudet University
- ERIC
- Gallaudet University Index to Deaf Periodicals
- NTID Deaf Index
- PepNet Resource Center
Deaf Schools
- Laurent Clerc National Education Center
- National Deaf Academy Charter School-Florida
- Deaf Schools in the U.S.
Deaf Technology and Education
- NTID Instructional Technology and Deaf Education Conference 2010 Papers
- NTID Instructional Technology and Deaf Education Conference 2008 Papers
- NTID Instructional Technology and Deaf Education Conference 2005 Papers
- NTID Instructional Technology and Deaf Education Conference 2003 Papers
- NTID Instructional Technology and Deaf Education Conference 2001 Papers
Deaf -Testing Considerations
- Carol Traxler -Psychologist and Researcher-Assessment, Test Reviews, Accomodations for Deaf Test Takers, Literacy and Deaf, AERA Sig
- Stanford Achievement Test and FAQs
NTID
- NTID--National Technical Institute for the Deaf
- NTID ASL and Interpreting Education Program
- NTID Degree Options
- NTID Department of Research
- NTID Deaf Secondary Education Program
- NTID Instructional Technology Consortium
- NTID Learning Consortium
- NTID Pen International
Post-Secondary Programs
- Gallaudet University
- Gallaudet University Online Courses
- Online Degrees - Directory of Schools
- RIT Online Courses
Deaf Education Associations and Resources
- K-12 Deaf Academics
- CED-Council on Education of the Deaf
- Conference of Educational Administrators Serving the Deaf (CEASD)
- Convention of American Instructors of the Deaf (CAID)
- Association of College Educators-Deaf and HH Students
Deaf Entertainment
Drama and Theater
- Abababa Road Tour--CODA storyteller
- ASL Shakespeare Project
- Chinese Dance Troupe
- CJ Jones Live
- Deaf Actor-Tristan Thunderbolt
- Deaf Lens-Jane Norman outstanding website
- Deaf Theater Fest
- Deaf West Theater
- Dutch Theater
- National Theater of the Deaf
- NTID Performing Arts
- Pinky the Juggler
- Six Characters-Silent Vaudeville (deaf audience can enjoy)
- TOYS Theater- The deaf ensemble has used mime and gesture stories enhanced by rhythms to delight Deaf and Hearing audiences all over the world.
Entertainment & Cinema
- ASL Films
- British Deaf Association Film Festival
- Broken Ears Productions
- CSD TV
- Davideo Productions
- Deaf Film Festival Article by Adam Hartzell
- Deaf Film Festival Article-Berkeley, CA
- Deaf In the Picture Film Festival-Netherlands
- DeafNation
- DeafPlanet
- Deaf Rochester Film Festival 18-20 March 2005 and March 2007-View student film award winners
- Deaf Rochester Film Festival March 2009
- DeafTV
- Deafology 101
- Dov Film Festival - Sweden Film Festival
- Dummy Hoy - Signs of the Time movie. Also, see The Silent Natural
- Eyethfilms- film company that makes films, short films, and videos about the ASL culture. Adventure,comedy, and suspense in ASL.
- FilmFest-Maine Festival
- Gallaudet FAQ Guide to Oldest Deaf Films
- Gallaudet FAQ Guide to Veditz Films
- Gallaudet University Video Library
- Hollywood Films and Deaf Films: Past, Present and Future-Los Angeles
- IMDB-Films with Sign Language
- Insight Cinema
- International Association of Deaf Media Professionals-For more info, contact davideo@satx.rr.com
- Jennfier Perlis
- John Lubotsy-Deaf Cinema
- Laura's Cavern-Film and TV Episodes with Sign Language
- Lightkitchen - deaf cinema
Music
- Beethoven's Nightmare-Deaf musical band
- Deaf Performing Artists network
Deaf/Hearing Dogs and Animals
- Gallaudet FAQ Deaf Animals Guide
- Hearing Dogs Info via About.com
- Koko-Signing Gorilla
Deaf Libraries, Information Centers, Bibliographies and Information Technology
ALA Resources
- ALA-Phone, e.mail and website contacts
- Association of Specialized Library Agencies
- ASCLA Century Scholarship
- ASCLA Electronic Discussion Lists
libdeaf@ala.org -Listserv - ASCLA Proposed ALA- ADA Policy on Library Services for People with Disabilities
ASL and Deaf Culture Video Resources
Libraries for the Deaf and/or Catalogs
- CSUN Online Library Catalog
- Disability Resources-Librarians' Connections: Serving Deaf Patrons
- ETRR at LBJ, 60-3355---NTID Faculty Library
- Folda
- Gallaudet Library Archives
- Gallaudet University Library
- Gallaudet University Index to Deaf Periodicals
- FAQs from Gallaudet University Library
- Info to Go
- Kentucky Interpreter Library
- MSSD Library
- National Association of the Deaf--Friends of Libraries for Deaf Action (FOLDA)
- NAD Issues and Resources
- Spartanburg Technical College Library Sign Language and Interpreting Resources Catalog
Technology and Web Design
- Accessibility Software-The Betsie software program translates each graphical page into a text only page.
- EASI-Equal Access to Software and Information
- MAGpie-free multimedia captioning application
- National Center for Accessible Media
- Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act
- Signing Video Clips-announced a new service, bridging global communications between the hearing and the deaf. The Sign Language Video Clips service by SignTel enables any business or individual to purchase, for a nominal fee, video clips that sign desired sentences to visitors to web sites, or enable usage with material presentations such as Microsoft's Power Point.Webmasters, or web designers, can now include on their site any chosen sentences to appear in sign language on their web site, by submitting such selected text to SignTel's Signing Video Clips engine. The respectivegenerated signs are sent back as e-mail with attached video clips ready foruse. When used in presentations, users who acquire SignTel Video Clips can easily integrate them into any presentation material.
- Website Accessibility and ADA
Deaf Literature and Poetry
- ASL Poetry Journal
- ASL Storytelling with Jackie Schertz-"Busted" YouTube video
- ASL Storytelling with Ritchie Bryant-"Lemonade" YouTube video
- Ayisha Knight-Poetry
- Brenda Brueggemann
- BSL-The Gardener
- ClercScar---publish essays, poetry, fiction, and artwork that will, as we sign it in ASL slang, "scar" your minds
- Deaf Characters in Literature
- Deaf Mythology - Charles Katz
- Deaf Poetry - About.com
- Deaf Poetry via DeafLinx
- Deaf Literature Infography
- Deaf Literature Powerpoint
- Deaf World Web Stories
- Eddie Swayze
- Flying Words Project
- I8Media-Jolanta Lapiak
- Poetry Without Sound-Article by Jerome Rothenberg
- Raymond Luczak
- Redesigning Literature-Poetics of American Sign Language Poetry-Article by H-Dirksen L. Bauman
- Scandal of Speech in Deaf Performance -Article by Michael Davidson
- Sign Language Poetry-Rachel Sutton-Spence
- SignWriting Literature
- Translucent Meanings: The Poetics of ASL Poetry - Brianne Brown
Deaf Mental Health and Substance Abuse Resources
ADD and LD Resources
- ADD Resources
- Misunderstood Minds-PBS Program
- NTID Center for Research, Teaching and Learning-LD and Deaf Research
Alcohol and Drug Addictions
- Distance Learning Program for Chemical Dependency Counselors
- Distance Learning Deaf Course Offerings for Chemical Dependency Counselors
- Minn. Chemical Dependency Program for Deaf and HH Individuals
- National Directory of Alcohol and Other Drugs Prevention and Treatment Program Accessible to the Deaf
- SAISD (Substance and Alcohol Intervention Services for the Deaf)-RIT
Mental Health Resources
- Advocacy Services for Abused Deaf Victims, Inc.-ASADV's mission is to provide support for deaf adults and their children who are or have been victims of sexual assault and/or domestic violence.
- DCARA (Deaf Counseling, Advocacy, and Referral Agency)
- National Deaf Academy
General Deaf Multicultural Resources
- Deaf Clubs at RIT
- Gallaudet FAQ Sign Languages of the World by Country Guide
- Gallaudet FAQ Sign Languages of the World by Name Guide
- National Multicultural Interpreter Project
- NTID Pen International-International partnership of colleges and universities serving the postsecondary needs of deaf and hard-of-hearing students in Japan, China, Phillipines, Russia and the Czech Republic.
- Royal Association in Aid of Deaf People
- SignWriting Web Site--Fingerspelling Keyboards from 16 countries!
- University of Arkansas - Multicultural Bibliography
- World Federation of the Deaf
- WorldWide Deaf Linx
Deaf African Americans and Africans
- Biography of Andrew Jackson Foster
- Compensation Film-About a deaf woman and a hearing man
- DeafWeb Washington
- Ebony Deaf Club
- National Black Deaf Advocates
- University of Arkansas-Deaf African Americans Bibliography
Deaf Asian Americans
- Deaf Asians Powerpoint
- Leon Lim's work
http://www.deafpeople.com/dp_of_month/leon_lim.html
http://bsjeon.net/thisAbility/en/leon.html
http://www.wbff.org/films/detail.asp?fid=830
http://www.nyc.gov/html/mopd/downloads/pdf/MOPDD_Calender_2008-2009.pdf
http://www.vsarts.org/x2279.xml -
National Asian Deaf Congress (NADC)
NTID Asian Deaf Club
University of Arkansas-Deaf Asian/Pacific Islanders Bibliography
Deaf Hispanics
- Deaf Hispanics Powerpoint
- NTID Hispanic Deaf Club
- Hispanic and Latino Deaf
- Signing Fiesta
- University of Arkansas-Deaf Hispanics Bibliography
Deaf Native Americans
- Circle of Unity: Pathways to Improving Outreach to American Indians and Alaska Natives who are Deaf, DB or HH
- Deaf Native
- Deaf Native Americans-Powerpoint
- Indian Sign Language Dictionary
- University of Arkansas-Deaf Native Americans Bibliography
- Abused Deaf Women's Advocacy Services-Seattle
- Advocacy Services for Abused Deaf Victims, Inc.-ASADV's mission is to provide support for deaf adults and their children who are or have been victims of sexual assault and/or domestic violence.
- Deaf Abused Women Warrior's Web Network
- Deaf Hope
- Deaf Women of Rochester
- Deaf Women United
- Deaf Women Who Dared to Change the World Powerpoint
- Disability Studies-Deaf Women
Deaf Religious Resources
- Deaf International
- Hebrew Seminary of the Deaf
- Religious Resources via DeafLinx
- RIT Campus Ministry
- St. Paul's Church-Batavia, NY
Deaf Publications, News and Directories
Databases and Resources
- Journals@RIT
- Gallaudet FAQ Little Paper Family Guide
- International Bibliography of Sign Language
- NTID Deaf Index
General Newspapers
Gallaudet University and NAD Publications
- American Annals of the Deaf Website
- Gallaudet University Press Newsletter
- NAD E-Zine-Must be a NAD member to get e-news subscription
nadnewsatnaddotorg - Odyssey-New Directions in Deaf Education
- Research at Gallaudet
General Deaf News Publications
- CSD News-Subscribe to E-News
- Deaf Digest
- Deaf Nation
- Deaf Today News
- Hearing Health Magazine
- Silent Worker- 1888 to 1925
- Signews-A publication by CSD for the signing community.
International Publications
Literary Publication
ClercScar--publish essays, poetry, fiction, and artwork that will, as we sign it in ASL slang, "scar" your minds
NTID and Rochester, NY Publications-Subscribe to NTID News
- Comets Newsletter-Clearinghouse on Math, Engineering, Technology and Science at NTID
- Deaf Life
- Democrat and Chronicle Rochester Newspaper
- Journal of Information Technology and Disabilities
- NTID Focus Magazine
- NTID News Archives
Deaf Research Facilities and Resources
Gallaudet Resources
- Gallaudet --Deaf Population Statistics
- Gallaudet FAQ Etiologies and Causes of Deafness Guide
- Gallaudet Research Institute
- Gallaudet Index to Deaf Biographies
- Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals
NTID Resources
- BoysTown National Research Hospital
- Kresge Hearing Research Institute
- National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
- University of Arkansas Rehabilitation Research and Training Center
Deaf Resources
- 711 Vlogs
- Deaf Ed Net
- DeafLinx-Organized by topics.
- DeafMall
- Deaf Queer Resource Center
- DeafRead
- Deaf Resource Library
- DeafVideos
- Deaf Web Ring
- Deafwebsites.com
- DeafZone-"Culmination of deaf resources"
- DRM WebWatcher-Deafness and HI Index from DisabililtyResources.org
- FAQ Deaf-L
- Jamie Berke - About Deafness. Very comprehensive site nicely organized by topic.
- PepNet
- Royal Association for Deaf People-United Kingdom
- YouTube Videos
- Western Oregon University Internet Resources- Comprehensive listing of links.
Deaf Sports and Recreation
- Deaflympics
- Dummy Hoy-Baseball Player
- Gallaudet FAQ Sports Guide
- International Deaf Pilot Association
- Martial Arts
- U.S. Deaf Ski and Snowboard Association
English, ESL (English as a Second Language), Science and Social Science Projects or Resources
ESL Resources.
- High-Interest Texts-Dushkin Publishing
- National Clearinghouse English Language Acquistion-A great library section with hundreds of online articles and reports.
- Teaching English to Deaf Students Interest Section Program
- Zozanga
Library Resources
- COMETS - Clearinghouse on Mathematics, Engineering, Technology and Science-Highly recommended site on resources, lesson plans, bibliographies and more.
- English Works! Gallaudet University--Highly recommended!
- Literacy-Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center
- Shared Reading Video Outreach Project
- Supporting English Acquisition of Deaf and HH Students
Publications
- Reading Online-A K-12 journal published by the International Reading Association
Resources
- 15 Principles of Reading to Deaf Children
- Info to Go-Language and Literacy
- Signing Books for the Deaf
Families With Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Children Resources
Financial Advice
IEP Resources
- Council of Educators for Students with Disabilities Inc.
- IDEA-How the IDEA Applies to Deaf and HH Students
- IEP: The Process
- PepNet IDEA Regulations
- Wrightslaw Advocacy and Resource Center
International Sign Language and/or Resources
- Australia-Borchardt Library, Latrobe University.
- Sign On-Line-BSL Distance Learning
- German Manual Alphabet
- German Sign Language Dictionaries
- Handspeak International Signs-You need to subscribe to this to access the full database.
- International Bibliography of Sign Languages
- NTID Pen International
- Sign Languages of the World Gallaudet Guide
- SignStation-BSL
- SignWriting--Manual Alphabet keyboards from 16 countries!
- Southwest Asian Histories Annotated Bibliography Database-Over 200 items from antiquity up to modern times.
- UK Technical Signs Dictionary-Find Science Signs like Chemistry etc
- World Federation of the Deaf
Interpreting Resources
- ASL Teachers' Association
- College of St. Catherine-CATIE Center--has CD resources, online study packets etc.
- College of St. Catherine: Study Packets
- DeafLink-Videoconferencing service
- Digiterp-CDs and DVDs
- Info to Go--States That Accept ASL as a Foreign Language
- Interpretek
- Interpreting for Postsecondary Deaf Students
- Interpreting Resources via DeafLinx
- Medical Interpreting (CATIE Center)
- New York Interpreters-Genesee Valley Region
- NTID ASL and Interpreting Education Program
- Pinky-Tells the real story about videophone and video relay services
- Project TIEM Skills Development and Activties
- Professional Interpreter Exchange, Inc.
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
- Signs of Development CD-ROM Interpreter Training
- Terp Link
- Terp Jobs
ADA
- ADA Supreme Court Cases-do a search on Americans with Disabilities Act
- ADA U.S. Dept. of Justice
- Attorneys, Courts and Government Agencies ADA Responsibilities to Deaf and HH
- Communication Access and ADA
- Info to Go Law Info
- Jan's ADA Hot Links
Education Laws
Government and Legal Resources
- Congressional E-Mail Directory
- Deaf and HH in Government
- Deaf Attorneys
- Social Security Statistics
- U.S. Access Board
- U.S. Senate
ListServs (Professional/Parent Interest)
- Deaf Academics ListServ
- Deaf Attorneys
- PAH, MD!--send an email message with the following message in the body-
subscribe pah_md YOUR NAME DESCRIPTOR <email address>
Ex: subscribe pah_md J Doe Med Student <jdoe @vax.com> - Special Education E-Mail Discussion Lists
Medical and Health Resources
- Advocate Health Care- Illinois Masonic Health Center
- Association of Medical Professionals with Hearing Loss
- Deaf Doc
- Deafhood Yoga
- Deaf M.D.
- Deaf Roots and Wings-Learn yoga, meditation and more
- DeafYoga
- Exceptional Nurse
- Health Care via DeafLinx
- Hospitals' Responsibilities Re: Deaf Patients
- Lifetime Health-Marion B. Folsom Center
- National Center for Deaf Health Research
- School Nurses for the Deaf
- Strong Memorial Hospital "Connections"-Teleconferencing Service-Expert, cost-effective sign language interpreting, for medical settings.
- University of Rochester School of Medicine
- YogaPah DVD
NTID/RIT Resources
- NTID
- NTID Access Services
- NTID President Website
- NTID Deaf Studies Certificate Program
- NTID Department of Research
- NTID Directory
- NTID Faculty Congress
- NTID Educational Technology Resource Room-LBJ, 60-3355
- NTID Center on Employment
- NTID Performing Arts
- NTID Professional Development
- NTID Self Instructional Lab
- RIT Site Index-Inside RIT
- BOCES
- Deaf Awareness Week
- Deaf Rec
- Deaf Rotary
- Empire State Association of the Deaf, Inc.r
- RCIL-Reginonal Center for Independent Living
- Rochester Recreation Club of the Deaf-1564 Lyell Ave.
- Rochester School for the Deaf
- Rochester School for the Deaf Outreach Center
- Hearing Loss Association -Rochester Chapter
- University of Rochester ASL Program
- University of Rochester Linguistics Program
Special Interest Groups
- American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association
- American Tinnitus Association
- Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf
- American Society for Deaf Children
- ASL Teachers' Association
- Association of Late-Deafened Adults
- Children of Deaf Adults--CODA
- Conference of Educational Administrators Serving the Deaf
- Conference of American Instructors of the Deaf
- CSD - private, nonprofit organization dedicated to providing broad-based services, ensuring public accessibility and increasing public awareness of issues affecting deaf and hard of hearing individuals.
- Deafened People Page
- Deaf Attorneys
- Deaf Match International
- Directory of National Organizations of and for Deaf and HH People
- Hard of Hearing Advocates (HOHA)
- Hearing Loss Association of America Rochester Chapter
- International Federation of Hard of Hearing
- National Association of the Deaf
- National Deaf Business Institute
- National Center on Deafness Links--Find links button and click
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf
- Royal Association In Aid of Deaf People
- Telecommunications for the Deaf
- World Federation of the Deaf
- American Speech Language and Hearing Association (ASHA)
- Clerc Center and Cochlear Implants
- Cued Language Network of America (CLNA)
- Cued Speech via DeafLinx
- DailyCues.com
- Language Matters
- Listen Up Organization
- NTID Speech and Language Master's Program
Videophone, TTY, Technology Communications and Relay Service Resources
Internet Relay Services - i711 Relay
- AT & T Internet Relay Services
- CAC VRS Service
- Hamilton Internet Relay
- HandsOn Video Relay Service
- IP Relay Service
- Sorenson Internet Relay
- Sprint Internet Relay Service Relay Services
- FAQ and Telecommunications Relay Services (TRS)
Pagers and Wireless Products
- Deaf Pagers
- Fuse Communications-introduces real-time wireless TTY and Relay for your wireless device. Experience the convenience of placing or receiving a live TTY or Relay calls anywhere you go from the palm of your hand.
- GotVoice-read voice mail
- Pager Answering Service-Need to contact someone who doesn't have a pager? Use the pager answering service with live operators available 24/7 to relay info to and from your pager, connecting you to others without pager ability.
- Sorenson Relay for Mobile Phones
- United TTY Wireless
TTYs and Cell Phones
- Cell Phones-ClearMobile for Deaf Users
- Federal Communications Commission
- TDI-Telecommunication for the Deaf, Inc.
- Telecommunications Relay Services-711-Federal Communications Commission Consumer Facts
Videoconferencing and Videophones
- i2eye VideoPhone-apply for a free videophone via CSD
- Con
- CSD VRS
- Deaf Link-Videoconferencing service
- Pinky-Tells the real story about videophone and video relay services
- Polycom
- Sightspeed
- Sorenson
- Sorenson VRS Service-
For more help or training on these resources, contact:
Joan Naturale
NTID Library Liaison
NTID Library News Blog
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian:
- Find
- Services
- Collections
- Instruction
- Publishing
- News & Events
- About
- Live Reference Help




