History of Photography: Quick Guide

This is a one-page quick guide to resources in the history of photography.

The purpose of this guide is to introduce library users to the standard reference tools for research in the history of photography.

Books: 

The list below provides a selected bibliography of titles dealing with the history of photography.

OVER TR 15 .N6813 1998
Frizot, Michel, editor. A New History of Photography. Koln: Konemann, 1998.
This massive history offers an encompassing history of photography. Originally published in French, this translation includes a section on methods of producing photographic prints as well as an extensive bibliography.

3rd floor TR 15 .H557 1999
Hirsch, Robert. Seizing the Light: A History of Photography. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 1999.

OVER TR 15 .M273 2002
Marien, Mary Warner. Photography: A Cultural History. New York: Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 2002.
An extensive thematic exploration of the history of photography. Includes a useful timeline and bibliography.

OVER TR 15 .N47 1978
Newhall, Beaumont. The History of Photography from 1839 to the Present Day. New York: Museum of Modern Art in collaboration with George Eastman House, 1978.
This excellent classic provides a solid foundation.

3rd floor TR 15 .P495 2003
Pinney, Christopher and Nicolas Peterson. Photography's Other Histories. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2003.

OVER TR 139 .R67 2000
Rosenblum, Naomi. History of Women Photographers. Updated and expanded edition. New York: Abbeville Press, 2000.
An examination of the history of women photographers from 1839 to 2000. Includes a thorough biographical and bibliographic section.

OVER TR 15 .R67 1997
Rosenblum, Naomi. A World History of Photography. 3rd edition. New York: Abbeville Press, 1997.
This classic on the history of photography includes a timeline, glossary and a bibliography.

Magazines/Journals/Periodicals: 

These selected journals are key titles in the photographic history. CMS = Current Magazine shelves, 2nd floor and PER = Bound periodical section on 2nd floor

CMS / PER/RARE TR 1 .A62
Aperture

CMS / PER TR 1 .B8
British Journal of Photography

CMS / PER TR 15 .H58
History of Photography

CMS / PER TR 1 .I47
Image

Databases: 

Journal and Indexing Databases
These databases provide essential access to journals articles dealing with the history of photography.

Art Full-Text

Art Index Retrospective

ARTbibliographies Modern

Image Databases

AP Photo

ARTstor

CAMIO