Web Widgets for Library Research
Recent years have seen an explosion in web "widgets," including extensions and other add-ons for web browsers and other free downloadable mini-applications that help you work online more efficiently.
There are many widgets that can help you with online library research. What follows are just a few, categorized loosely by what they do.
NOTE: Some widgets were created by third parties and are not directly supported by RIT Libraries.
Mobile Library Apps
Built by LibX for RIT, this Firefox extension installs a toolbar that allows you to instantly seach the RIT Libraries Catalog, the Connect NY catalog, and Google Scholar. With its latest release, LibX now can be installed in Internet Explorer.
Install a search engine in your Firefox browser that lets you search a specific library research database:
Zotero is a Firefox extension that helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources you find online
LibraryThing is a free online system that allows you to organize your personal collection of books in the style of a library catalog and network with other users who read the same books you read
CiteULike is a free online social scholarship site where you can save and tag online scholarly articles you read and share them with other colleagues who use CiteULike. CiteULike will link you to the full text of articles in many scholarly databases, some of which require subscription authentication.
- Articles, Books & More
- Course Reserves
- Floor Maps
- Interlibrary Loan
- Access Borrowing Card
- Study Rooms
- Computing Services
- Fax Services
- Publishing & Scholarship Support
- Faculty/Staff Campus Delivery
- ANSI Outreach Program
- Thesis & Dissertation Services
- Copyright & Fair Use Information
- Wallace Library
- RIT Archive Collections
- RIT Archive Special Collections
- Melbert B Cary, Jr. Graphic Arts Collection
- Design & Typography Special Collections
- RIT's Digital Media Library (DML)
- Image Collections
- Photo Collections
- RIT Open Access Publications
- Online Exhibits
- Book Lovers
- Meet Your Librarian
- User Specific Resources
- Workshops and Instruction
- News & Events
- Live Reference Help