A Pathfinder to Harlem: 1920-1940
This pathfinder is intended for individuals seeking a general introduction to the Harlem Renaissance Era, Twentieth Century African-American History, or American history between World War I and World War 2.
My concentration is on place and time, Harlem 1920-1940, rather than on related biographies of the Harlem Renaissance Era. However, those individuals whose contributions greatly affected this Era are included. Additionally, the last section of this pathfinder contains a partial list of related names which may be explored for future research about the noteables of the era.
The HARLEM RENAISSANCE can be described as a unique period of cultural awakening in the history of African-Americans. Typically the term Harlem Renaissance is used to describe the artistic boom which occurred in Harlem, New York during the 1920's & 30's. A study of Harlem during this time period also reflects a broader spectrum of social and political change which occurred concurrently during this era. For the first time in history, the spotlight of popular interest was shone on African-Americans. The sources in this pathfinder suggest that as a result, Black Americans founded a Mecca and a forum from which to speak, Black Nationalism was born and the JAZZ Age flourished. Harlem was a place where music, art, literature and the struggle for racial identity converged.
Exploring this phenomenal era, will assist readers in their understanding of the contributions and history of African-American people.
What occurred in Harlem during this time period, did much to effect radical change in the socio-cultural framework of the United States, as would the Civil Rights Movement and the Women's Liberation Movement in later decades.
Harlem 1920-1930.
Scope Note: Included are basic sources of information about the African- American cultural rennaissance which occurred in Harlem, New York in the1920 and 1930.
Topics range from the specific literary Harlem Renaissance Era to a more general view of the social and political activities in Harlem concurrent with the literary Harlem Renaissance.
For a historical map of Harlem as it appeared in 1924:
- Asante, Molefi. The Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans.
New York: Macmillan, 1991. Page 113.
Some Related (researchable) Terms:
-
Amsterdam News: (Afro-American, Harlem newspaper)
- Cotton Club, The: (major Harlem nightclub)
- Sugar Hill: (a specific locale within Harlem)
- Talented Tenth: (term coined by W.E.B. DuBois)
- Villa Lewaro: (A'Lelia Walkers Mansion, Harlem Renaissance writers salon)
- Universal Negro Improvement League (the organization founded by Marcus Garvey)
For a comprehensive introduction to Harlem 1920-1940:
- Lewis, David Levering. When Harlem Was in Vogue.
New York: Alfred A Knopf,1981.
For Shelf Browsing (LC):
Dictionaries and Atlases:
-
Asante, Molefi. The Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans.
New York: Macmillan, 1991.
-
Kellner, Bruce, ed. The Harlem Renaissance: A historical Dictionary for the Era.
Conneticut: Greenwood Press, 1984.
Bibliographies:
-
Perry, Margaret. The Harlem Renaissance: an annotated Bibliography and commentary.
New York: Garland Publ.,1982.
-
Olsson, Martin. A Selected Bibliography of Black Literature: The Harlem Renaissance.
England: University of Exeter, American Arts Documentation, 1973.
Texts:
-
Cronon, Edmund David. Black Moses: The Story of Marcus Garvey and The Universal Negro Improvement Association.
Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1969.
-
Fabre, Michael. From Harlem To Paris: Black American Writers in France 1840-1980.
Chicago: University of ILLinois Press, 1991.
-
Kramer, Victor A. ed. The Harlem Renaissance Re-Examined.
New York: AMS, 1987.
-
Kellner, Bruce. Carl Van Vetchen and the Irreverent Decades.
Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1968.
-
Kellner, Bruce. ed. "Keep A-inchin' Along" Selected Writings of Carl Van Vetchen
Contributions in Afro-American Studies #45.
Connecticut, Greenwood Press, 1979.
-
Higgins, Nathan Irvin. Harlem Renaissance.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1971.
-
Martin, Tony, ed. African Fundamentalism: a literary and cultural anthology of Garvey's Harlem Renaissance.
Massachusettes: Majority Press,1991.
-
McGhee, Reginald. The World Of James Van Der Zee: a visual record of black Americans.
New York: Grave Press Inc. 1969.
-
McKay, Claude. Harlem: Negro Metropolis.
New York: E.P. Dutton. 1940.
-
Ottley, Roi. New World A-Coming.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.
-
Tyler, Bruce M. From Harlem to Hollywood: The Struggle for Racial and Cultural Democracy 1920-1943.
New York: Garland Publishing, 1992.
-
Weisbrot, Robert. Father Divine and the Struggle for Racial Equality.
Urbana: University of Illionois Press,1983.
-
Wintz, Cary D. Black Culture and the Harlem Renaissance.
Texas: Rice University Press,1988.
Related Texts:
-
De Cook, Liliane and McGhee, Reginald. James Van Der Zee.
New York: Morgan and Morgan, 1973.
-
Floyd Jr., Samuel A., ed. Black Music in the Harlem Renaissance: a Collection of Essays.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
-
Fox, Ted. Showtime at The Apollo.
New York: Holt, Rhineheart and Winston, 1983.
-
Hadlock, Richard. Jazz Masters of the Twenties.
New York: Macmillan,1965.
-
Jubilee, Vincent. Philadelphia's Afro-American Literary Circle and the Harlem Renaissance.
Michigan: Dissertation Abstracts International, 1980.
-
Martin, Tony. Literary Garveyism: Garvey, black arts, and the Harlem Renaissance.
Massachusettes: Majority Press,1983.
-
Roses, Lorraine Elena. Harlem Renaissance and beyond: literary biographies of 100 black women writers 1900-1945.
Massachusettes: G.K. Hall,1990.
-
Singh, Amritjit, William S. Shiver, and Stanley Brodwin. The Harlem Renaissance Re-evaluations.
New York: Garland Publ., 1989.
-
The Studio Museum in Harlem, New York. Harlem Renaissance Art of Black America.
NewYork: Harry N. Abrams Inc.,1987.
-
Anderson, Jervis. This Was Harlem 1900-1950.
New York: Farrar, Straus Giroux, 1982.
-
Bogle, Donald. Brown Sugar: Eighty Years of American Black Female Superstars.
New York: Harmony Books, 1980.
-
Davis, Arthur P. From the Dark Tower: Afro American Writers 1900-1960.
Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press,1981.
-
Haskins, James. Black Dance in America: A History Through It's People.
New York: HarperTrophy,1990.
-
Haskins, Jim. The Cotton Club: a pictorial and social history of the most famous symbol of the jazz era.
New York: Random House, 1977.
-
Hughes, Langston and Meltzer, Milton. Black Magic: a pictorial history of the African American in the performing Arts.
New York: Da Capo Press Inc.,1967.
-
Null, Gary. Black Hollywood: The Black Performer in motion pictures.
New Jersey: The Citadel Press,1975.
Related Photography:
-
Haskins, Jim. James Van Der Zee: the picture takin man.
New York: Dodd, Mead and Company,1979.
-
Hughes, Langston. A Pictorial History of the Negro in America.
New York: Crown Publishers,1968.
-
Van Vetchen, Carl. Portraits, the Photography of Carl Van Vetchen.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill,1978.
-
Van Vetchen, Carl.The Dance Photography of Carl Van Vetchen.
New York: Schirmer Books,1981.
Audiovisual Materials:
-
The Negro-American Citizen: Back To Africa Movement,
(S. L. : Classroom World Productions, between 1970 and 1977), sound cassette.
-
Van Der Zee, James. Uncommon Images: The Harlem of James Van Der Zee.
Directed by Evelyn Darron.
Filmakers Library. 22 min. 1977. Motion Picture.
Journal Articles:
-
American Film: Journal of Film and Television Arts.
"A Memory of Harlem," 4, no. 2 (November 1978)
-
National Geographic
"To Live in Harlem," 151, no.2 (February 1977)
-
Essence Magazine
"A Celebration of Black Women," 16, no. 1 (May 1985)
Related Journal Articles:
-
Peter A. Bailey, "The Cotton Club Girls,"
Ebony 41 (December 1985) 90-95.
-
Ann Banks, "The Unknown Harlem--elegant architecture, glorious cuisine--the many surprises of uptown Manhattan,"
Vogue 176 (April1986): 248-249.
-
Peter Blauner, "Sugar Hill: A citadel of style and echoes of an earlier America,"
New York 20 (May 4 1987): 90-2.
-
Pamela Bloom, "Black and Tan Fantasy (Cotton Club Remembered),"
High Fidelity (Musical American edition) 35 (Feb 1985) 64.
-
"Harlem in the Jazz Age (A new exhibition explores the art of the Harlem Renaissance of the 1920's),"
The New York Time Magazine (Feb 8,1987): 32-33.
-
Leonard Diepeveen, "Folktales in the Harlem Renaissance,"
American Literature: A Journal of Literary History, Criticism and Bibliography," 58 no. 1 (Mar.1986) 64-81.
-
Gregory Ironman Tate, Harlem When it Sizzled,"
Village Voice: Literary Supplement (December 1982) 11-15.
This partial list of related (some familiar) names may be explored for future research about the notables of this era. Biographies have been written for most of these people.Armstrong, Louis: Musician, Singer.
- Baker, Josephine: Singer, Actress, Activist
- Basie, Count: Musician
- Bontemps, Arna: Writer
- Brown, Sterling: Poet
- Cullen, Countee: Writer
- Daddy Grace: Preacher
- Dubois W.E.B.: Teacher, Spokesman
- Duke Ellington: Composer, Musician
- Ellison, Ralph: Writer
- Father Divine: Preacher, Activist
- Garvey, Marcus: Activist
- Henderson, Fletcher: Musician
- Horne, Lena : Singer, Actress
- Hughes, Langston : Writer, Poet
- Hurston, Zora Neale: Writer
- Johnson, Jack: Boxer
- Johnson, James Weldon: Writer
- Larsen, Nella: Writer
- Locke, Alain: Writer
- Louis, Joe: Boxer
- McKay, Claude: Writer
- Smith, Bessie: Singer
- Robeson, Paul: Actor, Activist
- Robinson, Bill (Bojangles): Dancer
- Thurman, Wallace: Writer
- Toomer, Gene: Writer
- Van Der Zee, James: Photographer
- Van Vetchen, Carl: Photographer, Writer
- Walker, A'Lelia: Patron
- Walker, Madame C.J.: Businesswoman
- Waters, Ethel: Singer, Actress#