The following resources are found in Wallace Library and/or the Educational Technology Resource Center (ETRR) in Building 60 or LBJ, 3355. If you are interested in more books on this topic, use the keyword search and type in deaf* AND (wom*n ) or type in last name, first name such as Low, Juliette. in the library's Einstein catalog. You can also explore the video catalog. If we do not have the book you want, be sure to check the "Connect NY" library catalog. If you still cannot locate the book, go to Interlibrary Loan and request the book. ILL service is fast and the book arrives within a few days. Vicki Hurwitz, a retired professor who has developed a course about Deaf Women and is in demand as a lecturer on this topic has contributed most, if not all of the titles in this bibliography.An asterisk* next to the name indicates a deaf author. Two asterisks** indicate a hearing child of deaf parents. Karen Christie is teaching this course.
BIOGRAPHICAL DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Lang, H.G*. & Meath-Lang, B. (1995). Deaf persons
in the arts and sciences : A biographical dictionary. Westport,
Conn. : Greenwood Press. (Reference, 4th floor and ETRR, HV2372
.L36 1995).
Look up the following actresses: Linda Bove, Julianna Fjeld, Phyllis
Frelich, Marlee Matlin, Freda Norman, and Audree L. Norton. Look
up the following artists: Eliza Haigh-Voorhis, Regina O. Hughes,
Margaret Jackson, Betty Miller, Mary Washburn and Dorothy S. Wise.
Look up the following scientists or physicians: Ruth F. Benedict,
Annie Jump Cannon, Henrietta Swan Leavitt, and Nansie Sharpless.
Look up the following writers/poets: Angeline F. Fischer, Dorothy
C. Fisher, Ellen Glasgow, Helen Keller, Marie Leneru, Harriet Martineau,
Florence Lewis May, Alice J. McVan, Yvonne Pitrois, Laura C. R.
Searing, Charlotte E. Tonna, and Carolyn Wells. Look up the following
musicians/dancers: Evelyn Glennie and Frances Wood. Look up the
following educators and/or advocates: Gertrude S. Galloway, Roslyn
Rosen and Heather Whitestone.
Van Cleve, J. (Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf
people and deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill.. (In Reference
area on the 1st floor and on the 4th floor- REF HV 2365.G35 1986).
Look up individual women by name in the index. Women covered are:
Alcom, S, Barry, K., Bell, M., Bridgman, L., Bove, L., Cogswell,
A, Dalton, A., Fabray, N., Frelich, P., Hughes, R., Denis, T., Fessenden,
J., Fischer, A., Fitzgerald, E., Fuller, S., Keller, H., Martineau,
H., McVan, A., McGreey, G., Mentkowski, S., Miles, D., Mills, A.,
Montague, M. , Muse, H., Parsons, F., Peet, M., Pitrois, Y., Roucheleau,
C., Rogers, H., Searing, L., Switzer, M., and Woods, F.
DEAF COLLECTIVE BIOGRAPHIES
Braddock, G. C.* (1975). Notable deaf persons.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet College Press. (HV2373.B7- ETRR only).
Profiles of 100 deaf persons from early times to the 1940s.
Bowe, F*. (1972). I'm deaf too : 12 deaf Americans. Silver Spring,
Md. : National Association of the Deaf. (4th floor and ETRR HV2534.A3B6).
Look up Ann Billington (Miss Deaf America), Nancy Rarus (Educator) and Jane
N. Wilk (TV newscaster).
Campbell, H. M., Robinson, J., & Stratiy, A. (2002). Deaf women of
Canada: A proud history and exciting future. Canada: Duval House Publishing,
Inc. (OVER 4th floor HV2577.A3 C35 2002).
A collective history of Deaf women and their contributions to their various
communities, Deaf Women of Canada recounts their anecdotes, stories and histories
to help us understand their experiences. Information about the daily lives and
struggles of Deaf women is not easy to come by, mainly because, until recent
decades, women were not considered makers of history. Be inspired and sustained
by the women whose remarkable accomplishments are traced in this book - heroines
to call our own.(from Duval
House Publishing website).
Carbin, C.F.* (1996). Deaf heritage in Canada: A distinctive, diverse
and enduring culture. Toronto, CA: McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited. (4th
floor OVER HV2576 .C38 1996 and ETRR).
The story of the Canadian Deaf experience is the story of men and women, both
hearing and deaf. Some have achieved recognition for their feats of bravery,
for their pioneering spirit, for their courage in the face of adversity, for
their determination to succeed regardless of the situation in which they found
themselves. Others have added colour and texture to the Canadian tapestry through
accomplishments in education, the arts, religion, science, writing and publishing,
business and sports. The pages of Deaf Heritage in Canada bring to life the
stories of these people.Dr. Carbin describes Deaf Heritage in Canada as "a window
through which we can catch a glimpse of deaf Canadians as they go about their
everyday lives, responding to events around them and making a difference in
the future of their local Deaf communities." As such, it provides all Canadians
with a fascinating and unique insight into the lives of deaf Canadians. It also
provides, for deaf and hearing Canadians alike, an appreciation and understanding
of the valuable contribution deaf Canadians have made and are continuing to
make to the Canadian cultural mosaic. Contents include: Chapter 1: The Early
Days Attitudes Toward Deaf People and Their Education; Chapter 2: The American
Scene; Chapter 3: Early Educational Efforts and Short-Lived Schools; Chapter
4: Schools in Quebec and Ontario; Chapter 5: Schools in the Atlantic Provinces;
Chapter 6: Schools in Western Canada; Chapter 7: Organizations; Chapter 8: Deaf
Settlers in Western Canada; Chapter 9: Occupations; Chapter 10: Religion; Chapter
11: The Printed Page; Chapter 12: Sign Languages Chapter 13: The Visual Arts;
Chapter 14: The Performing Arts; Chapter 15: Sports; Chapter 16: Hobbies and
Leisure Activities; Chapter 17: "Down Memory Lane" -Insights, Anecdotes and
Adventures; Chapter 18: Military Service and Training for Deaf People; Chapter
19: Deaf People and Technology; Chapter 20: "Silent No Longer" Chapter 21: A
Few Things More... (From
McGraw - Hill website).
Carroll, C. and Mather, S.M.* (1997). Movers and shakers: Deaf people
who changed the world. San Diego: DawnSignPress. (4th floor and ETRR
HV2373 .C37 1997).
Inspires Deaf people to succeed, hearing people to understand, and people to
know that nothing can hold them back except themselves. Includes references
on Deaf Culture and History, Fingerspelling, Gestures and Sign Language, Deaf
Publications, and English as a second language. As the wondrous lives of both
famous and unsung deaf heroes unfold, deaf and hearing readers alike are compelled
to imagine themselves achieving their own potential. Women profiled are: Helen
Keller, Laura Redden Searing, Alice of Battenberg, Juliette Gordon Low, and
Harriet Martineau. A companion student bilingual workbook encourages inquiry
and research into deaf topics and ASL linguistic principles.
Davis, A.P. (1996). Discoveries : Significant contributions of deaf women
and men. Hillsboro, Or. : Butte Publications. (4th floor and ETRR, HV2373
.D384 1996).
Look up Linda Bove (Sesame Street TV actress), Phyllis Frelich (actress), Heidi
Zimmer (Systems Programmer and Mountain Climber), Princess Alice (British royal),
and Shelia Mentkowski (lawyer).
Gannon, J.R.* (1981). Deaf heritage: A narrative history of deaf
America. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (4th floor,
REF, RES and ETRR HV2530 .G36).
There are references to deaf women throughout the book. For ex:, Regina O. Hughes,
Betty G. Miller, The Deaf Nurses of Mercy Hospital, Laura C.R. Searing, and
Edith Fitzgerald to name a few. Check the index to gather names of deaf women.
Goldstein, M. M.(1990). Deaf Canadians: An insight. Calgary:
M. Goldstein. (* 4th floor and ETRR HV2577.A3 G64 1990).
Profiles 22 Canadians from different backgrounds.
Holcomb, M.S.* (1989). Deaf women : A parade through the decades.
Berkeley, CA : Dawn Sign Press. (4th floor and ETRR, HV2534.A3 H643 1989).
Read about women from history in all fields: Early Years, The Victorian Era,
Art, Black Deaf, Business World, Communication, Community Services, Deaf Blind,
Education, Entertainment, Feminists, Literature, Medicine and Science, Mothers,
Organizations, Queens, Religion, and Sports.
Jackson, P.W. & Lee, R.* (Eds.).(2001). Deaf lives: Deaf people in
history. Middlesex, ENG: British Deaf History Society. (OVER 4th floor,
HV2717.A3 D32 2001).
Read about the following women: Queen Alexandra, Charlotte Bain, Helen Burnside,
Leslie Edwards, Jane Groom, Beatrice Gubbins, Catherine Harvey, Harriet Martineau,
Dorothy Miles, Princess Plantagenet, Jane Poole, Princess Joanna, Kathleen Shaw,
Elizabeth Steel, Charlotte Tooma, and Dorothy Wise.
Krentz, C. (Ed.). (2000). A mighty change: An anthology of deaf American
writing, 1816-1864. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (3rd
floor,
PS508.D43 M54 2000, ETRR has 2 copies).
Read about Laura Redden, a high-achieving student who would go on to become
an accomplished reporter; and Adele Jewel, a homeless deaf woman living in Michigan.
Lang, H.G.* (1994). Silence of the spheres: The deaf experience in the
history of science. Westport, Conn. : Bergin & Garvey. (3rd floor,
Reference, Archives and ETRR Q175.5 .L34 1994). There are sections about deaf
women (check the index).
Look up Ruth F. Benedict (Anthropologist), Doris Blanchard (Science educator),
Hypatia Boyd (Science student), Julia Brace (1st DB student before Laura B.),
Emma Brewington (Nurse trainee), Laura Bridgeman (DB woman), Sharon Campbell
(Environmental safety and health coordinator), Annie Jump Cannon (Astronomer),
Sharon Chadwick (Science reference librarian), Alice Cogswell (daughter of eye
surgeon who helped to found the American School for the Deaf), Jean Cordano
(Pathologist), Jane Dillehay (Biology professor), Amos Draper (Math professor),
Susan Feder (medical doctor), Marion Finch (nurse trainee), Angeline Fuller
Fischer (poetess and feminist), Sophia Fowler (Edward Gallaudet's mother), Catherine
Gatchell (research chemist), Sarah Griswold (wife of Samuel Morse), Emma Hall
(Gallaudet graduate delivered an oratory "The Martyrs of Science"), Patricia
Herbold (Math/Science professor), Regina Hughes (Botanical illustrator &
translator), Helen Keller, Vicki Kemp (Professor)), Camilla Lange (Math professor),
Henrietta Swan Leavitt (astronomer), Sarah Lewis (Gardener), Barbara Nies (Medical
researcher, Deaf Educator), Judith Ann Pachiarz (Professor, Medical Doctor-!st
deaf woman to get both Ph.D and M.D. degrees), Carol Padden (Linguistics Professor/Researcher),
May Paxton (Nurse trainee), Bettina Pels-Wetzel (Dentist), Karen Pennington
(Medical doctor & Radiobiologist), Edith Rikuris (Biology Professor), Katherine
Runkle (Science Teacher and Scientist), M. Teresa San Augustin (Medical doctor),
Deborah Saville (Biochemist and Programmer Analyst), Jean Schickel (Math Professor),
Katharine M. Schwartz (!st deaf women to attend Gallaudet and get involved with
scientific work), Nansie Sharpless (Director, Biogenic Amine Assay Lab), Laura
Sheridan (Advocate of Science Studies for Deaf Women), Rena A. Smith (Writer),
Lillie Speaker (Nurse Trainee), Anne Sullivan (Teacher), Helen B. Taussig (Pediatric
Cardiologist), Sally Taylor (co-write maintenance manual on TTYs), Agatha Mary
Agnes Tiegal (1st woman to get BA), Florence Vold (Math Professor), Marybeth
Williamson (Professor), Kathryn Woodcock (Systems Design Engineer, VP Hospital
Services, Late-Deafened Advocate and Writer), and Del Wynne (Science and Science
Educator).
Moore, M.S. & Panara, R.* (1996). Great deaf Americans : The second
edition. Rochester, N.Y. : Deaf Life Press. (4th floor, Reference and
ETRR HV2534.A3 M66 1996).
Look up Laura Redden Searing (literary patriot), Juliette G. Low (Girl Scouts
founder), Regina O. Hughes (botanical artist), Frances Woods (dancer), Nellie
Z. Willhite (pilot), Gertrude S. Galloway (Educator, administrator and advocate),
Alice Hagemeyer (librarian), Bonnie P. Tucker (Lawyer), Judith V. Tingley (Businesswoman),
Shirley J. Allen (First deaf woman African American to get Ph.D), Phyllis Frelich
(Actress), Linda Bove (Sesame Street tv actress), Kitty O'Neil (Stuntswoman),
Julianna Fjeld (Producer and actress), Kathie S. Hering (Late Deafened Adult
Advocate), Mary Lou Novitsky (Deaf Mosaic co-host), Marlee Matlin (Actress),
Bridgetta Bourne-Firl (DPN Student Leader), Shelley Beattie (Bodybuilder), and
Heather Whitestone (Miss America 1995).
Panara, R.* & Panara, J. (1983). Great deaf Americans. Silver
Spring, MD: TJ Publishers. (4th floor, Archives and ETRR HV2534.A3P35 1983).
Read about Laura Searing, Mabel Bell, Juliette Low, Frances Woods, Phyllis Frelich,
Linda Bove and Kitty O'Neil.
Paris, P.G.* & Wood, S.K.* (Eds.). (2002). Step into the circle: The
heartbeat of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations Deaf Communities.
Salem, OR: AGO Publications. (OVER 4th floor and ETRR HV2545 .S747 2002).
Monica Francisco, Katherine Mary Meeks McBride, Cyntia Marie Blevins-Botts,
Marsha Ireland, Terry Lee Vinson, Winifred Ann Weisgerber Tunison (DB), Eileen
Catherine Thomas (substance abuse), Cheryl Lynn Weisgerber Rhodes, Edith Golston
Vernon (biography), Daris Goff Paris, Sharon Kay Wood, Katrina Miller, Lisa
Tiger, Profile on Nathie Marbury, Angel Dahlgren, Sadie RedBear, Melvia Miller-Nomeland,
Doris Thomas, Mildred Shawanokasic, Melba Lee Spring Paramenter, Gabriel Arellano,
Judy Cummings Stout, Tiffany Talker, Joselita Galvan, Florence Clara Dan, Reba
Euline, Ann Salisbury-Phelps, Kitty O'Neill, Melanie McKay Cody, Dorothy J.
Watts, Lillian Hubbard Czyz Orbke, Alicia Liane McClurkan Graves, Michele Ida
Bryant, Karne B. Johnson, Patricia Lillian Richey (DB Interpreter), Debra D.
Sherlock Grant, Cecelia Corynne Serna Ohm, Mary Jean Hooke, Val Dively, Betty
Ann Raves (substance abuse), Kathy Stroyick, Trudy Suggs, Onalee Richard Cooper,
Annie Jean Clah, Tina Marie Francis Terrance, Daisy Cartwright, Dixie Vetterneck
Baker, Sandra Dean-Marlowe, Dorothy J. Watts, Alice Lucille Hutchinson, Majoriebell
Stakley Holcomb, and Hazel Estelle Newton Bienvenu.
Podmore, R.* (1995). Signs in success: Profiles of deaf Americans.
Hillsboro, Or.: Butte Publications, Inc.. (*4th floor and ETRR HV2534.A3P63
1995).
Short biographies of Marlee Matlin (actress), and Mary Lou Novitsky (Deaf Mosaic
host).
Sonnestrahl, D.M.* (2002). Deaf artists in America: Colonial to contemporary.
San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (RES, REF & 3rd floor N6505 .S614 2002).
Look up the following artists: Ann Silver, Maggie Lee Sayre, Regina Hughes,
Claire Bergman, Lee Ivey, Mary Thornley, Susan Dupor, Christy MacKinnon Maxcy,
Charlotte Coman, Frances Allen, Mary Allen, Blanche Lazzell, Mary Rappazzo,
Jessica Geiger, and Betty Miller.
Toole, D.K.* (1979). Successful deaf Americans. Beaverton, Or.
: Dormac. (4th FLOOR and ETRR HV2534.A3T66 1979).
Look up Nancy Bonura (Skier), Dorothy Miles (Poetess, writer, actress), Edna
Adler (Government Official), and Cynthia Saltzman (TV News Reporter).
Toole, D.K.* (1980). Courageous deaf adults. Beaverton, Ore. :
Dormac. (4th FLOOR and ETRR, HV2469.E5T66).
Look up Kitty O'Neil (Stuntwoman), Jane Chan (Artist), Jean Hauser (Aviatrix),
and Virginia Tibbs (Author).
Toole, D.K*. (1998). Living legends II : Six stories about incredible
deaf people. Hillsboro, Or. : Butte Publications. (4th floor and ETRR
HV2380 .T66 1998).
Look up Kathy Buckley (Comedian), Bethany Hummel (Basketball player), Laurene
Gallimore (Bilingual-Bicultural Educator and Advocate).
Toole, D.K.* (2000). Living legends III : Six stories about amazing deaf
people. Hillsboro, Or. : Butte Publications. ( 4th floor and ETRR HV2380
.T66 2000).
Look up Heidi Zimmer (Mountaineer), Dr. Lisa Woolf (dermatologist and surgeon)
and Patty Albee (Psychologist and world traveler).
GENERAL COLLECTIVE BIOGRAPHIES
Edmonson, C.M. (1999). Extraordinary women who changed our world.
Holbrook, MA: Adams Media Corporation.
Griffin, L. & McCann, K. (1992). The book of women. Holbrook,
MA: Adams Media Corporation.
Hymowitz, C. and Weissman, M. (1978). A history of women in America.
New York: Bantam Books. (4th floor, HQ1410 .H95 1978).
Sherr, L. & Kazickas, J. (1994). Susan B. Anthony slept here: A guide
to American women's landmarks. New York: Times Books of Random House.
(1st floor REF E159 .S54 1994).
YA--Originally published in 1976 as The American Woman's Gazetteer, this updated
version is a travel guide through towns, cities, and states, packed with facts
about the role women have played in shaping U.S. history. The thorough index
and the alphabetical arrangement by state makes the book useful as a reference
source; it's also fun for browsing. The abundance of photographs and various
locales encourages readers to journey through the pages. Interesting trivia
is scattered throughout. This source complements Notable American Women, 1607-1950
(1971) and Notable American Women: The Modern Period (1980, both Belknap), and
Doreen Rappaport's American Women (HarperCollins, 1992). A noteworthy addition.
Beth Gourley, Handley Regional Library, Winchester, VA
BOOKS
Advocates
Behrens, J.. (1988). Juliette Low: Founder of the Girl Scouts
of America. Chicago: Childrens Press. (4th floor, HS3359.L6
B45 1988).
Kudlinski, K.V. (1988). Juliette Gordon Low : America's first
Girl Scout. New York: Viking Kestrel. (4th floor, HS3359.L6
K84 1988).
African Americans
Bryan, A.M. (2004).. Passion of words turning into action: A black Deaf filmmaker's journey. DVD. Deaf Vision Filmworks. . 120 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. . (3rd floor, PN1998.3.B79 P37 2004).
Includes interviews, student films, behind the scenes productions, personal video diaries about being a struggling filmmaker, production experiences, and professional production clips. Accompanied by DVD, "Behind the scenes: Somalia," 14:09 minutes, with music, subtitled. The accompanying DVD provides a look at the production of Jade's first feature film, "Somalia," the story of an African-American Deaf woman who falls in love with a musician
Hairston, E.* & Smith, L.* (1983). Black and deaf
in America: Are we that different. Silver Spring, MD: T.J.
Publishers, Inc. (4th floor and ETRR HV2545.H342 1983).
Lawhorn, G. * (1991). On different roads. New York: Vantage Press, Inc. (4th floor, HV1624 .L39 1991).
The author was deaf and blind by the time she completed high school, but she did not allow this to embitter her. Instead, she fought for a rewarding life, meeting many wonderful people and doing her share toward helping other handicapped people achieve a better, more independent existence ... The author chose to become a performer, appearing onstage in a one-woman show in which she performed monologues and played the piano ... In later years, [she] became a teacher at Hadley School for the Blind. -Book jacket
Marbury, N. Nathie: No hand-me downs. DVD. Tactile Mind Press, 2005. 125 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2534.M3 A3 2005).
Nathie Marbury tells her story: the 16th of 17 children, born into a family not believing in education, goes on to earn three college degrees and late in life finds her identity as a black, deaf woman.
Wright, M. H.* (1999). Sounds
like home: Growing up black and deaf in the South. Washington,
DC: Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor and ETRR HV2534.W75 A3
1999).
Wright tells of her experiences growing up as a deaf person in Iron
Mine, North Carolina in the 1920s-1940s. Her account is historically
significant because its provides valuable descriptive information
about faculty and staff at a residential school for black deaf and
blind students. She was involved in the school as both student and
teacher, and gives details on curriculum, which included a Black
History celebration. Includes b&w photos from family collections..
Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Wright, M.H..(2005). Far from Home: Memories of WW II and Afterward. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2005. 4th floor and ETRR HV2534.W75 2005. Available as an ebook via ebrary:
Athletes
Adler, D. A. (2000). America’s champion swimmer: Gertrude
Ederle. San Diego, CA: Harcourt, Inc. (4th floor, GV838.E34
A35 2000).
Trudy Ederle didn't learn to swim until she was seven. But once
she hit the water, there was no stopping her. She loved to swim,
she was talented, and she was determined to be the best. At the
age of fifteen Trudy won her first big race. Two years later she
qualified for the 1924 Olympics in Paris and won three medals for
the U.S. team. By the age of eighteen Trudy had set twenty-nine
U.S. and world records. But what she planned to do next had never
been done, at least not by a woman. She wanted to take on the most
difficult swim of all time: the twenty-one miles of choppy, cold
water that separates England from France. And she would do it faster
than any man. In her historic fourteen hour swim across the English
Channel, Trudy set a world record. She defied those who said it
couldn't be done. And with the courage and endurance that was typical
of everything she accomplished, Trudy Ederle became a symbol for
women everywhere.
Autobiographies
Bolander, A. M. & Renning, A.N. (2000). I was #87: A
deaf woman’s ordeal of misdiagnosis, institutionalization,
and abuse. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th
floor and ETRR, HV2534.B63 A3 2000).
In relating the story of how she was misdiagnosed as retarded rather
than deaf and mistreated at home and at an institution, a longtime
employee of General Motors writes: "I sincerely hope that this book
will help other children with as-yet undiagnosed hearing problems
be spared the horrors I experienced." The co-author has written
about her autistic child. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc.,
Portland, OR
Buckley, K.* and Padwa, L.. (2001). If you could hear what
I see: Lessons about life, luck and the choices we make.
USA: Penguin.(3rd floor, PN2287.B745 A3 2001).
Born with a hearing loss that went undetected until she was eight,
Kathy Buckley grew up in a silent world, her family and teachers
assuming she was mentally retarded. She was sexually abused, run
over by a jeep, and stricken with cancer all before the age of thirty.
Rather than be consumed by grief, Kathy sought the light of laughter.Kathy
Buckley not only survived, she went on to become a top female comic,
the award-winning author of a one-woman show, and a beloved motivational
speaker in demand throughout the country. In If You Could Hear What
I See, Buckley weaves a remarkable story about the people and events
that shaped her life and encouraged her to dream. She reveals the
priceless gift she received after a stunning life-after-death experience--the
gift that gave her power over her future and is available to every
one of us. Most of all, If You Could Hear What I See is about a
woman who made a choice: to overcome all the obstacles life threw
her way, and to meet those challenges with dignity, courage, and
laughter. Book jacket.
Coppes, C. (1976). The hearing eye. New York: Vantage
Press, Inc. (4th floor, HV2534.C67A3).
Story about a late-deafened woman and how she adapted.
Heppner, C. M.* (1992). Seeds of disquiet: One deaf woman’s
experience. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press.
(4th floor and ETRR, HV2534.H43 A3 1992).
In her autobiography Seeds of Disquiet, Cheryl Heppner writes of
experiencing severe hearing loss -- twice. Spinal meningitis caused
a profound loss of hearing when she was six, and for the next 18
years she worked hard to live the life of a "normal" hearing person.
Through exhaustive work in speech therapy and speechreading, she
excelled in school and college, performing Herculean feats without
the assistance of trained interpreters or notetakers. Then, when
she was 25, two strokes left her completely deaf. For the next 20
years she worked to recreate her life through sign language and
the Deaf community. The process stunned her by revealing how much
she had missed before. Initially embittered, Cheryl Heppner later
went on to use her astonishing energy as an advocate for deaf and
hard of hearing people.Seeds of Disquiet celebrates her accomplishments,
the most significant of which, perhaps, was her reconciliation with
her loved ones from her former life with her new outlook.
Laborit, E..* (1998). The cry of the gull. Washington,
D.C.: Gallaudet University Press.(3rd floor and ETRR PN2638.L22
A313 1998).
The autobiography of French deaf actress Laborit, known for her
roles in Beyond Silence and the French version of Children of a
Lesser God. She describes the effects of France's one-time criminalization
of signlanguage, her strained relationships with her parents, and
her frustrations at being placed in a speech-oriented school. Annotation
copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
McGreevy, G..* (1968.) I’m thirsty too! Cranbury,
NJ: A.S. Barnes and Co., Inc.(4th floor and ETRR HV2534.M15A3).
Nathan, F. I.* (1992). Memoirs of the deaf lady evangelist.
[S.l. : s.n.]. (4th floor and ETRR , HV2534.N375 1992).
Nieminen, R.* (1990). Voyage
to the island. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University
Press.(4th floor and ETRR HV2785.5 .N54 1990).
Recounts the experiences of the author who left her native Finland
with her husband for the Caribbean Island of St. Lucia, where she
discovered the paradoxes of an exotic paradise amidst poverty. Nieminen,
deaf herself, set out to teach the deaf children of the island sign
language, then reading, writing, and math. Annotation copyrighted
by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Parsons, F. * (1988). I didn’t hear the dragon roar.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor and ETRR
HV2534.P37 A3 1988).
Pizzo, R.* (2002). Growing up deaf: Issues of communication
in the hearing world. Philadelphia, PA: Xlibris Corporation.
This book shows the frustrations and joys of communication in the
Deaf and hearing worlds and help one understand how important ASL
is to Rose. You will also learn about Deaf culture from a Deaf perspective,
and how as a Deaf person, Rose moves in and out of the hearing and
deaf worlds. Rose grew up in Queens, NY and attended P.S. 47 in
Manhattan, and then a hearing vocational high school. She married
a Deaf man and they have 3 children and 3 grandchildren. Rose worked
many years as a Data Entry operator and has been an active member
of the North Jersey Community Center for the Deaf and its Women's
Auxiliary. She has worked as a Teacher's Aide at the Fair Lawn Deaf
Program for over 20 years and has taught ASL to hearing adults.
(Back cover).
Thomas, S.* (1990). Silent night. Wheaton, IL: Tyndale
House Publishers, Inc. (4th floor, HV2534.T46 A3 1990x).
Deaf at 18 months, Sue became a skating champion, accomplished pianist
and FBI surveillant. She is now losing some of her sight and there
is a TV series about her.
Biographies
Alexander Graham and Mabel Bell
Burlingame, R. (1964). Out of silence into sound: The life
of Alexander Graham Bell. New York: The Macmillan Co. (3rd
floor, TK6143.B4B8).
Foster, T. (1996). The sound and the silence: The private lives of Mabel
and Alexander Graham Bell. Halifax, NS: Nimbus Publishing Limited. (4th
floor TK6143.B4 F67 1996; ETRR has VIDEO 6455).
The Sound and the Silence is the true story of how, after inventing the telephone,
Alexander Graham Bell has his aircraft designs and inventions stolen and patented
by Glenn Curtis. In the last century six discoveries altered the course of human
destiny: nuclear fission, the microchip, television, the radio, the telephone
and development of the airplane. The Sound and the Silence is the true story
of the man responsible for two of them...and the incredible woman he loved.
Sixteen-year old Mabel was deaf. Alexander Graham Bell became her teacher and
taught her how to speak. After they were married, she managed his business affairs
and later, when he became world famous, she handled all of his finances. He
had a childlike curiosity about everything around him. He was an accomplished
pianist, an author, lecturer, and an extraordinary inventive genius--the Venetian
blind, the iron lung, the hydrofoil, aircraft tricycle landing gear, wing ailerons,
a method of producing fresh water from sea water for sailors adrift, genetics,
animal breeding, kites, airfoils, he founded the National Geographic Society,
the list goes on and on. Yet above all he was a teacher, a warm hearted, kindly
man whom the Almighty, in his wisdom, endowed with genius. It has been conservatively
estimated that over a half billion people on earth owe their livelihood and
well being--at least in part--to that genius of Alexander Graham Bell. (from
Amazon
Bookstore website).
Toward, L. M. (1996). Mabel Bell: Alexander’s silent partner.
Breton Books.(4th floor, HV2534.B44 T68 1984).
An intimate biography told from family letters and papers. This classic biography
of Mabel Bell is reprinted with large type and glowing photographs. Told from
Mabel’s letters and family papers, this is their intimate story of love
and courage. Originally published in 1984, this is the love story of one of
the most famous men in the world. Alexander Graham Bell was the inventor of
the telephone, made possible the first manned flight in the Commonwealth, experimented
with working hydrofoils and many other projects; he took for his lifelong mate
a woman of great strength and courage. Mabel’s deafness is often believed
to be the reason for Alex’s drive to create as he tried to find ways to
help Mabel join the hearing world. On her own, Mabel founded the first Montessori
School in Canada and the second in North America; organized the first Home and
School Association in Canada at Baddeck; her support of that Association provided
Baddeck with its first public library. Includes an introduction by Hugh MacLennan,
and a useful bibliography. With slightly larger type for easier reading. (from Breton
Books website).
Artists and Writers
Flynt, S.L (2002). The Allen sisters : Pictorial photographers, 1885-1920.
Deerfield, MA : Pocumtuck Valley Memorial Association.(OVER 4th TR653.A44 F4
2002).
The remarkable Allen sisters of Deerfield, Massachusetts, Frances (1854-1941)
and Mary (1859-1941), overcame challenges presented by their gender, progressive
deafness, and rural isolation to earn international recognition as two of America's
foremost women photographers. Working within the Deerfield Arts and Crafts Movement,
the Allen sisters created exquisite photographs for turn-of-the-century exhibitions
and publications. Their compelling, idealized photographs of country scenes,
romanticized figure and child studies, and exquisite landscapes of New England,
Great Britain, and California, have now been painstakingly catalogued and celebrated
in this book. Based largely on new or long-unseen material, this meticulously
researched and well-written biography is accompanied by 100 tritone plates and
40 duotone images. (from Einstein Catalog).
Miles, D. (1976). Gestures : Poetry. Northridge, Calif. : Joyce
Motion Picture Co. (3rd floor PR6063.I316G4 1976 and ETRR).
Miles, D.(1998). Bright memory : The poetry of Dorothy Miles.
British Deaf History Society Publications. (3rd floor PR6063.I316 B754 1998).
Yaeger Jones, J. (Ed.). (2003). Sweet bells jangled: Laura Redden Searing,
a deaf poet restored. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (forthcoming).
Other
Lee, Rev. H.. (1853). Cornelia: The deaf mute. Rochester, NY:
David Hoyt.
Vickers, H. (2000). Alice : Princess Andrew of Greece. London
: Hamish Hamilton. (4th floor, DF836.A45 V53 2000).
Dancers
Bray, B. (1981). The wonder dancers: Woods and Bray. Park Falls,
Wisc. : MacGregor Litho.
Heckman, H.* (1928). My life transformed. New York: The Macmillan Company.
Deaf Blind
Boggs-Qualls, R*. & Greene, D.C. (2001). Walking free:
The Nellie Zimmerman story. Richmond, IND: Densmore Reid
Publications. (4th floor HV 1624.Z5 B644 2001).
A biographical docudrama about the deaf and blind Nellie L.
Zimmerman. After the death of her father, Nellie was committed to
the Massillon State Mental Hospital at the age of 52. With no one
on the staff trained in communicating with the deaf-blind, Nellie
lived in silence for 19 years. She kept her mind sane by memorizing
her Braille Bible and playing complicated math and word games in
her head. She was finally discovered hiding under a bedsheet, finger
spelling the Lord's Prayer. After she was released from the State
Hospital in 1976, at the age of 71, she lived her life as if she
were making up for lost time. With the help of her companion Emily
Street, she attended Malone College, became a well-known lecturer
throughout Northeast Ohio, and worked as a life skills instructor
for deaf and deaf-blind boys. This inspiring true story will give
you rare insight into the life of this amazing woman, who won many
awards and was recognized by the Ohio State House of Representatives
as an outstanding Ohioan. (from Amazon
Bookstore website).
Carroll, C.* and Fischer, C.H.. (2001). Orchid of the bayou:
A deaf woman faces blindness. Washington, DC.: Gallaudet
University Press.(3rd floor and ETRR RF292.8 .C37 2001).
Fischer, who suffers from Usher syndrome, which causes deafness
at birth and deteriorating tunnel vision, grew up in the Louisiana
bayou with hearing siblings and parents who initially thought that
she was mentally retarded. Here she presents a vivid portrait of
the Cajun culture, in which her childhood memories are supplemented
by research she conducted, and an even more arresting description
of the Louisiana School for the Deaf, a residential institution
she began attending in 1953 at the age of six. It was here that
Fischer learned to communicate by sign ("naturally, the way hearing
kids pick up speech") and become a part of the deaf culture. She
firmly believes that deaf children benefit from residential schools
and, more importantly, need contact with other deaf children to
thrive. This memoir, which Fischer signed to Carroll (Movers and
Shakers: Deaf People Who Changed the World), describes how her education
offered her a link to everything beyond herself: "I learned not
only how to read and write,but also what it meant to be an adult,
and educated, and a citizen in the United States and the world."
Despite the loss of her mother to lung cancer and herfather's alcoholism,
the teenage Fischer was determined to attend Gallaudet, a university
for the deaf in Washington, D.C., where she obtained a college degree
and met her husband, Lance, who is also deaf. Now, at middle age,
Fischer, with her husband's support, maintains a courageous attitude
in dealing with increasing vision lossthat will probably result
in total blindness. Her recollections those of a resolute and complex
woman will certainly appeal to deaf readers, especially those with
Usher syndrome.Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.
Freeberg, E. (2001). The education of Laura Bridgman: First
deaf and blind person to learn language. Cambridge, MA:
Harvard University Press. (4th floor and ETRR HV1624.B7 F74 2001).
Anticipating the life of Helen Keller a half-century later, Laura
Bridgman's is a pioneering tale of her journey from isolation to
accomplishment. This book is both a success story of how a sightless
and soundless girl gained contact with an ever-widening world, and
also a cautionary tale about the way moral crusades and scientific
progress can compromise each other. 12 halftones.
Gitter, E. (2001). The imprisoned guest: Samuel Howe and
Laura Bridgman, the original Deaf-Blind girl. New York:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux. (4th floor and ETRR HV1624.B7 G57 2001).
In 1837, Samuel Gridley Howe, the director of Boston's Perkins Institution
for the Blind, heard about Laura Bridgman, a bright deaf-blind seven-year-old,
the daughter of New Hampshire farmers. At once he resolved to rescue
her from the "darkness and silence of the tomb." And indeed, thanks
to Howe and an extraordinary group of female teachers, Laura learned
to finger spell, to read raised letters, and to write legibly and
even eloquently.Philosophers, poets, educators, theologians, and
early psychologists hailed Laura as a moral inspiration and a living
laboratory for the most controversial ideas of the day. She quickly
became a major tourist attraction, and many influential writers
and reformers -- Carlyle, Dickens, and Hawthorne among them -- visited
her or wrote about her. But as the Civil War loomed and her girlish
appeal faded, the public began to lose interest. By the time Laura
died in 1889, she had beenwholly eclipsed by the prettier, more
ingratiating Helen Keller.The Imprisoned Guest recovers Laura Bridgman's
forgotten life, placing it in the context of nineteenth-century
American social, intellectual, and cultural history. Her troubling,
tumultuous relationship with Howe, who rode Laura's achievements
to his own fame but could not cope with the intense, demanding adult
she became, sheds light on the contradictory attitudes of a reform
era in which we can find some precursors to our own. Book jacket.
Herrmann, D. (1998). Helen Keller: A life. Chicago:
The University of Chicago Press. (4th floor HV1624.K4 H47 1998).
This biography concentrates on Keller's remarkable life (1880-1968)
beyond the familiar early years portrayed in The Miracle Worker,
including her controversial relationship with teacher Anne Sullivan,
friendships with the rich and famous, and the legacy and works of
someone viewed as "more of an institution than a woman" due to attitudes
toward the disabled. Includes b&w photos. Annotation copyrighted
by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR
Klages, M. (1999). Woeful afflictions: Disability and sentimentality
in Victorian America. (4th floor, HV 1553.K53 1999).
Find information about Helen Keller, Laura Bridgman and others.
Disabled people in the 19th century were portrayed in sentimental
terms, as afflicted beings whose sufferings afforded able-bodied
people opportunities to practice empathy and compassion. In all
kinds of representations of disability, from popular fiction to
the reports of institutions established for the education and rehabilitation
of disabled people, the equation of disability and sentimentality
served a variety of social functions, from ensuring the continued
existence of a sympathetic sensibility in a hard-hearted, market-driven
world, to asserting the selfhood and equality of disabled adults.Unique
in its focus on blindness and its examination of the interplay between
instuitional discourse and popular literature, this text offers
a detailed historical analyssi of the types of cultural work performed
by sentimental representations of disability in public reports and
lectures, exhibitions, novels, stories, poems, autobiographical
writings, and popular media portrayals in the U.S. from the 1830s
through the 1890s.
Lamson, M. S. (1978). Life and education of Laura Dewey Bridgman: The
deaf, dumb and blind girl. New York: Arno Press. (4th floor, HV1624.B7L2
1975).
Lawhorn, G. * (1991). On different roads. New York: Vantage Press, Inc. (4th floor, HV1624 .L39 1991).
The author was deaf and blind by the time she completed high school, but she did not allow this to embitter her. Instead, she fought for a rewarding life, meeting many wonderful people and doing her share toward helping other handicapped people achieve a better, more independent existence ... The author chose to become a performer, appearing onstage in a one-woman show in which she performed monologues and played the piano ... In later years, [she] became a teacher at Hadley School for the Blind. -Book jacket
Mactavish, J. (2000). Bravo! Miss Brown.Toronto, CA: CAVU Inc.
Born in 1935, the third child of a bush worker on a homestead west of Thunder
Bay, she walked the six miles to and from school as long as she was able to
do so. She then received teaching at a home from her devoted and determined
mother through correspondence courses as her sight steadily decreased. She would
lose her hearing later. Graduating from the University of Toronto in 1972, Mae
was the first person who was deaf-blind to do so in Canada, and possibly the
second woman in the world since Helen Keller. How this was accomplished over
13 years, 12 months a year, how she coped with periods of loneliness, love relationships
and heartbreaks, and how she strove to prove she was just a normal girl who
could not see and hear is a poignant, revealing and inspiring tale, unique in
every way.(from Canadian
Helen Keller Centre website).
Man, J. (1986). The survival of Jan Little. New York, N.Y.: Viking.
(4th floor, HV1792.L57 M35 1987).
This book tells the harrowing experiences of a woman who endured almost lethal
psychological and physical travails during her married life, homesteading in
the Amazon jungle, and who finally, despite being blind and deaf, overcame the
tragedy of the death of both her husband and daughter and survived her environment
as well as her terrible isolation. The focal point of the story is the period
following her husband and daughter's deaths, when Little found the strength
and competence, despite her handicaps and ill health, to keep going until she
was rescued. But her psychological survival during 20 years of marriage to an
emotionally dominating, fanatical man is equally amazing. The book, which is
written by a filmmaker and journalist, can be read on many levels, and the life
of this extraordinarily brave women should appeal to a wide audience.Joan W.
Gartland, Detroit P.L. Copyright 1987 Cahners Business Information, Inc.
Deaf Children
Franzosa, K.R. (2001). Forth and back: Coping with deafness. Bloomington,
Ind.: 1st Books Library. (4th floor, HV2390 .F7 2001).
Parent's story of raising a profoundly deaf daugher.
Sheridan, M.* (2001). Inner lives of deaf children: Interviews and analysis.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor and ETRR HV2391 .S58
2001).
While many researchers focus on the educational development of deaf children,
precious little time has been devoted to studying the child's social development
and "self-concept." Conducting interviews with seven deaf children between the
ages of 7 and 10, author Martha Sheridan offers a fresh look at the private
thoughts and feelings of deaf children in Inner Lives of Deaf Children: Interviews
and Analysis."What does it mean to be a child who is deaf or hard of hearing?"
Sheridan asks in the beginning of her study. She turns to Danny, Angie, Joe,
Alex, Lisa, Mary, and Pat for the answer. The author selected the children based
on their unique cultural background and conversed with each child in his or
her preferred method of communication. Her procedure remained consistent with
each: in addition to standard questions, Sheridan asked each child to draw a
picture based on their life and then tell a story about it; next, she showed
them pictures clipped from a magazine and asked them to describe what they saw.The
results proved to be as varied as they are engaging. Angie, an adopted, profoundly
deaf, ten-year-old girl who communicates in Signed English, expressed a desire
to attend a hearing college when she grows up, while also stating she hopes
her ownchildren will be deaf. Joe, an African-American, ten-year-old, hard-of-hearing
boy, drew pictures of deaf people who are teased in public school, reflecting
his own difficult experiences.Sheridan draws upon her tenure as a social worker
as well as her own experience as a deaf child growing up in a hearing family
in analyzing her study's results."From listening to the voices of these children
we learn that they do not always see themselves, their lifeworlds, and their
experiences as researchers have traditionally described them," she writes. "These
children have strengths, they have positive experiences, and they enjoy positive
relationships." With evident devotion to her subjects, Sheridan renders Inner
Lives of Deaf Children an enlightening read for parents and scholars alike.
(From Gallaudet University
Press website).
Deaf Parents
Abrams, C.** (1996 ). The silents. Washington,
D.C.: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor and ETRR, HQ759.912
.A27 1996).
Called the Silents by some, and the Shtimmers (its Yiddish equivalent)
by others, deaf Joe and Ruthie Herzberg were simply mother and father
to Abrams and her sister, Adelaide. In part, this is a straightforward
story of growing up during the Depression and WWII. It's also a
nice, but unremarkable story of a child discovering the difference
between the image and the reality of her parents, as when Abrams
discovers that her quick-tempered father had been a hobo, a boxer
and a bootlegger. But much rarer and hence more affecting, are the
scenes that are unique to a hearing child of deaf parents. These
give insights into a different normalcy. Abrams describes how her
parents tried to provide her and her sister a "regular" childhood
by having hearing friends and relatives come to speak to them while
they were young; and she recalls her mother's habit of calling out,
when the doorbell-activated light flashed, "Who is it?" even though
she would never hear the answer. There was a crisis, when Abrams
was first given a radio and her father feared it as an activity
that would divide the household into hearing and not. At least until
he discovered that the fights were broadcast, and, surrounded by
his deaf friends, he had the two girls sign and act out the parts
of the contenders. Strangely, what stand out most, are the sounds:
the knockings of a card player signaling a pass; the hmn, hmn that
is Abrams's father's laugh; her mother's crying as she grapples
with the additional hurdle of blindness; the whoops, groans and
moans in a large, otherwise silent party.
Davis, L.J.**(2000). My sense of silence : Memoirs of a childhood
with deafness. Urbana : University of Illinois Press. (4th
floor and ETRR HQ759.912 .D38 2000).
His identity as a child of deaf adults led Davis (English, SUNY
at Binghamton) to edit and publish his parents' correspondence in
Shall I Say a Kiss?: The Courtship Letters of a Deaf Couple, 1936-38
(Gallaudet Univ., 1999). Davis's new memoir focuses on how his parents'
deafness affected him. He writes frankly about the difficulties
he encountered, such as his inability to call his parents when he
needed comfort during the night and his having to serve as their
interpreter. He also discusses his embarrassment at his Jewish immigrant
parents' poor working-class lifestyle during his childhood and adolescence
in the Bronx. On the other hand, the author also infuses his writing
with humor and the sense of the love and respect he developed for
his parents and their accomplishments. In the epilog, he even implies
that his upbringing contributed to many of his own successes. For
instance, he mentions that his appreciation for language and strong
communication skills are related to his early experience with sign
language. Indeed, Davis's descriptions of the richness and complexity
of sign language are the most fascinating portions of the book.
Ximena Chrisagis, Wright State Univ Libs., Dayton, OH. Copyright
2000 Cahners Business Information, Inc.
Sidransky, R.** (1990). In silence : Growing up hearing in
a deaf world. New York : St. Martin's Press. (4th floor
and ETRR HQ759.912 .S53 1990).
Sidransky grew up in New York, the daughter of two deaf parents.
This is her memoir and, most of all, her warm and loving tribute
to the two very special people who were her parents. Her first memory,
she tells us, is the memory of a word signed by her mother, Miriam,
the word for ``baby.'' Her father, Ben, worked as an upholsterer
and believed that ``the finger of God'' was in his own fingers as
he worked and as he signed. When she started school, Ruth was put
in a class of retarded children because her language skills were
so poor. Her mother, always full of pluck, stormed into the principal,
who wisely recommended that she buy a radio so that Ruth could listen
to spoken English. ``If there were a way, if I could, I would write
this book in sign language. I cannot,'' writes Sidransky, now a
journalist who lectures extensively on the deaf. She has succeeded
remarkably, however, in transferring the grammar and cadence of
signing to the printed page. Very highly recommended.Marcia G. Fuchs,
Guilford Free Lib., Ct. Copyright 1990 Cahners Business Information,
Inc.
Strenkowski, P.** (1999). Silent journey: Life within a deaf
family. Chapel Hill, NC: Professional Press. (3rd floor
and ETRR RF290 .S87 1999).
A poignant true life story which begins in the early 1900s when,
infant Maggie, rendered deaf from spinal meningitis, struggles to
survive during a time when the handicapped were derided and formal
education for the deaf was controversial. Her family raised her
on instinct alone. Maggie did not go to school until she was 9 years
old. She developed a strong will to learn, a sence of competitiveness
and a dedicated spirit. The story watches her grow through adolescence,
become a loving wife, devoted mother and exceptional grandmother.
She touched may lives and became a true inspiration in a world still
tinged with bigotry.
Walker, L.A.** (1986). A loss for words : The story of deafness
in a family. New York : Harper & Row. (4th floor and
ETRR HV2395.W34 1986).
This is much more of a story than the subtitle suggests, beautifully
written and deeply affecting. Born in the Midwest in 1952, Walker
is one of three hearing daughters of Gale and Doris Jean Walker,
both deafened as babies by illnesses. As the oldest child, the author
served as her parents' ``interpreter,'' dealing with outsiders.
There is humor in her recollections but nothing lighthearted in
accounts of crude or condescending reactions to her father and mother
from indifferent people. Walker is candid in detailing her own frustrations
and the burdens of life with the deaf. Having graduated from Harvard,
she eagerly went her own way, establishing a writing career in New
York, but she reunites frequently with the family in a home warm
with love and shared memories. The reader says a fervent amen when
the author declares, ``I'd seen plenty of families where there was
more communication and less love.'' Copyright 1986 Cahners Business
Information, Inc.
Miller, L.W. **(2000). The best of both worlds :A-not-so-silent
life. San Jose, Calif. : Writers Club Press. (4th floor
and ETRR HQ759.912 .M55 2000).
A story of growing up in both worlds, Hearing and Deaf, nurtured
with love and independence. How a family succeeded in a life full
of all the trials and tribulations of so-called "normal" families,
but mainly of all the pleasures and g ratification. A book of loving
anecdotes, with appeal for all people fascinated with the Language
of "Sign." Book jacket.
Deaf Schools
Reed, R.D. (2000). Historic MSD: The story of the Missouri
School for the Deaf. Fulton, MO: Richard Reed. (4th floor
and ETRR HV2561.M8 H5 2000).
Historic MSD tells the history of the Missouri School for the Deaf
from its founding in 1851 to the present day. It not only chronicles
the events of the passing years at the Missouri School but also
shows how the School and its students and staff participated in
the life of the larger society of the city, state and nation. It
includes short biographies of a number of alumni. It describes state
organizations of the deaf whose leadership includes alumni and deaf
MSD staff. Among the many events covered in the book is the late-20th
century "revolution" by which MSD and its sister state schools for
the deaf threw off oralist domination and restored sign language
-- American Sign Language or ASL -- to its rightful place in the
eduation of the deaf. (The book also features over 1,000 photos,
and illustrations including 26 color photos.) (from Amazon
Bookstore website).
Young, B.A.(1997). A chain of love. Bloomfield, Conn.
: B.A. Young. (4th floor and ETRR HV2561.C8 Y68 1997).
Documents the fascinating history of the American School for the
Deaf in Hartford, Conn. and Alice Cogswell's life.
Educator
Berg, O.B. & Buzzard, H.L. (1989). Thomas Gallaudet: Apostle to the
deaf. New York: St. Ann's Church for the Deaf. (4th floor, HV2426.G3
B37 1989).
Boatner, M.T. (1959). Voice of the deaf: A biography of Edward Miner Gallaudet.
Washington, DC: Public Affairs Press. (4th floor and ETRR HV2561.D858B6).
Fitzgerald, E.* (1929). Straight language for the deaf. Staunton,
VA.: The McClure Company, Inc. (4th floor and ETRR HV2471.F56).
Fiction
Maraini, D. (2000). A silent duchess. New York : Feminist Press
at The City University of New York (3rd floor PQ4873.A69 L8613 2000).
This historical novel has been a critical and commercial success in 14 languages.
"Publishers Weekly wrote: "The publication in America of "The
Silent Duchess is cause for rejoicing." Set in Sicily in the early 18th
century, it is the timeless story of one woman's struggle to come to terms with
her past and to find her own voice after years of silence. See companion DVD Marianna Ucria
Scott, V. M.* (2000). Finding Abby. Hillsboro, OR: Butte Publications,
Inc. (3rd floor PS3569.C6793 F56 2000).
From Publishers Weekly. Tough lessons are learned about the way the differently
abled (in this case, the deaf), are treated, in this workmanlike novel published
by a press that aims to "specialize in educational materials on deafness and
select fiction that casts light onto the many facets of hearing loss." Stricken
with meningitis at age 14, Abby Jensen suffers severe hearing impairment, a
particularly devastating affliction since Abby is a musical prodigy with a passion
for the piano. When, two years later, it appears that Abby has committed suicide,
her older sister Paige is determined to discover why. As Paige embarks on a
mission of interviewing friends, teachers and medical professionals, her own
feelings of guilt are balanced by the insights she gains into the isolation,
pain and frustration that had become her sister's life. Paige's quest alternates
with Abby's own testimony (via her journal) of what it feels like to be both
guinea pig and poster child for well-meaning parents, doctors and friends. This
earnest work could be a reference tool for anyone who is interested in the process
of how, and how best to help, people adapt to a hearing-impaired life. (Mar.)Copyright
2000 Cahners Business Information, Inc.
International
Taylor, I.** (1997). Buddhas in disguise: Deaf people of Nepal.
San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (4th floor and ETRR HV2855.9 .T39 1997).
With compelling prose and probing photography, this remarkable book is a journey
to the Himalayan valleys of Nepal, one of the most remote places in the world,
to discover the Silent Ones -- the individuals and communities of deaf people
who are isolated by silence in a nonliterate society. Striving to understand
this mysterious culture, the author studied the dancing hands, learned to sign
the language, and built a trusted intimacy with the Silent Ones that is both
touching and fascinating. A Buddha in disguise in Nepalese tradition is a needy
person who in a past life attained enlightenment and now appears to help others
grow in compassion. The photographs and stories in the book will teach readers
to show more compassion for those in the deaf community both in distant lands
and in America. (from Einstein Catalog)
History/Culture/Community
Fischer, R. & Lane, H. (Eds.). (1993). Looking back: A reader on the
history of deaf communities and their sign languages. Germany: Signum
Press. (4th floor and ETRR HV2367 .L66 1993).
Looking Back offers 29 thoughtful essays by world renowned researchers presenting
provocative findings on five core topics: Deaf Biographies; Deaf Communities;
Sign Languages and Sign Systems; Deaf Education and Daily Life at School: Sociological
and Philosophical Issues; and Methodological and Theoretical Issues.
Lane, H.. (1984). When the mind hears: A history of the deaf. New
York: Random House. (4th floor and ETRR HV2530.L36 1984). Video set available
at MRC VH 1692 and ETRR VIDEO 5975.
The authoritative statement on the deaf, their education, and their struggle
against prejudice. (from Amazon
Bookstore website).
Miss America
Gray, D. (1995). Yes, you can, Heather! : The story of Heather
Whitestone, Miss America 1995. Grand Rapids, Mich. : Zondervan
Pub. House. (4th floor and ETRR, HQ1220.U5W464 1995).
Ingram Here is the inspiring account of how one remarkable young
woman, deaf from childhood, became the first physically challenged
person to win the coveted Miss America title. Complete with a full-color
photo section, this portrait of God's grace and Heather's determination
is a true Cinderella story, offering heartwarming proof that dreams
really do come true. (from Amazon
Bookstore website).
Whitestone, H.* (1997). Listening with my heart. New
York : Doubleday. (4th floor and ETRR HQ1220.U5 W45 1997).
A--The first Miss America with a disability tells her life story
in a readable, engaging manner. Although profoundly deaf since the
age of 18 months, Whitestone let little stand in her way to achieving
her goals: to dance, to compete in pageants, to encourage others,
and always to praise God. YAs will be interested in the steps involved
in the various competitions that lead up to the Miss America competition,
and her pageant platform, STARS (Success Through Action and Realization
of your dreams). The author describes her Miss America year, with
the endless demands on her time and energy, the complete lack of
privacy, and the times when she was so exhausted that she felt she
could not keep going. What has always sustained her is her positive
attitude, and her absolute faith in God. This inspirational biography
will have wide appeal. Judy Sokoll, formerly at Fairfax County Public
Library, VA Copyright 1997 Cahners Business Information, Inc.
Physicians and/or Scientists
Baldwin, J. (1992). To heal the heart of a child: Helen Taussig, M.D.
New York: Walker and Company. (3rd floor, RJ43.T38 B35 1992).
Baldwin's biography of Dr. Helen Taussig is an admiring testimonial
to the woman who became the world's foremost authority on pediatric
cardiology, doing so despite personal and societal difficulty. Taussig
overcame not only the gender discrimination of the early 1920s,
which prevented her from being admitted to Harvard's medical school,
but also a severe learning disability and deafness. Her enlightening
story provides a model of personal courage. In addition, it affords
an interesting look at the barriers women encountered in the first
half of this century and a glimpse of the painstaking process of
medical research and the people involved. A well-done book, recommended
for school and public libraries in need of biographies of scientists
and of women in professional fields. To be illustrated with photographs;
further readings are appended. (Reviewed Sept. 15, 1992) Chris Sherman.
(from Einstein Catalog).
Sports
Coffey, W.R. Winning sounds like this: A season with the women's basketball
team at Gallaudet, the world's only university for the deaf. (2002)
New York : Crown. (4th floor, GV886 .C63 2002).
A true story of sports, deaf culture, and the pursuit of a dream, this winning
title takes readers inside a season with the Gallaudet University women's basketball
team.
Tiefenbacher, W. Deaf girls rule. (2001). Washington, DC : Gallaudet
University Press. (4th floor, GV885.43.G25 D43 2001).
This collection by students in the author's photography class at Gallaudet University
chronicles the 1998-1999 season of the school's women's basketball team and
traces the rich tradition of women's athletics at the school through full-color
and black-and-white photos.
PERIODICALS, MAGAZINES, JOURNALS, ARTICLES AND
DATABASES
Use the Gallaudet Index
to Deaf Periodicals. This lists citations on your topic from popular
deaf magazines like Deaf Life. Type in last name, first name to find
citations. Highlight the name of the magazine, copy the title by using the control
and c keys and open up a new window using the control and n keys. You will be
at the library home page (if using Netscape). Click on Einstein Catalog, click
on title search and paste (control c and v keys) in the title. Ex: Deaf Life.
Notice we keep old Deaf Life magazines in bound periodicals on the 2nd floor.
The call number is PER HV 2350.D45. Also, check out the Gallaudet
Index to Deaf Biographies
. You can search by a person's name, occupation, or by nationality/ethnicity.
There is a new literary magazine called The Tactile Mind that might have
works by deaf women. Check out the NTID Index to Interpreting and Deaf Journals
and Books via http://www.ntid.rit.edu/terpref/index.htm
for information related to deaf women.
Check the Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/search/X
and do a title search for journals to see where the journal is located.
It might be online via a database(s), on microfilm (2nd floor), on the current
magazine shelves (2nd floor) or in bound periodical format (2nd floor).
Check the following databases for well-known deaf people: Biographical
Information Databases and News/Newspapers
Databases.
Barnartt, S.N. (1987). Deaf women. In J.V. Van Cleve (Ed.), Gallaudet
Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness (Vol. 1, pp. 267-270). New
York: McGraw-Hill.(REF & 4TH Floor, HV2365.G35 1986).
Barnartt, S.N. (October 1981). Socio-economic status of deaf women.
Paper presented at Mid-South Sociological Association Meeting: Shreveport, LA.
Deford, F. (1997). Truly amazing Trudy!. Sports Illustrated, 36-39.(
2nd Floor, MICROFILM 475 Vol. 85-87 and Academic
Search Elite database).
Doctors, S.*(1976). Presentation at the National Deaf Women's Conference:
Gallaudet University, Washington, DC.
Gallaudet, T.H. (21 November 1827). An address on female education at
the opening of the edifice. Hartford, CN: H. & F.J. Huntingdon.(4th
floor, LC1671.G3 1971).
Hairston, E.* & Smith, L.* (1983). Common bonds and stepping stones. In
Black and Deaf in America (pp. ) Silver Spring, MD: T.J. Publishers,
Inc.(4th floor and ETRR HV2545.H342 1983).
Higgins, F.C. (1969). On the accomplishments of some deaf men and women.
Fremont, CA: California School for the Deaf.
Lytle, L.R.* (1987). Identity formation and development antecedents in
deaf college women (Doctoral dissertation, The Catholic University of
America, 1987).(2nd floor, MICROFICHE 300 no.87-12923).
MacLeod-Gallinger, J.E. (1990). The career status of deaf women: A comparative
look. American Annals of the Deaf, 137, 4. (2nd floor,
MICROFILM 529 v.135 1990).
Rosen, R.* (1988). Employment and deaf women. In T.J. Rourke (Ed.), Proceedings
of the National Conference on Deaf and Hard of Hearing People (pp. 148-151).
Silver Spring MD: T.J. Publishers.(ETRR HV2526 .N273 1988).
Schmitz, K.* (Winter/Spring 1991). 1st, 2nd & 3rd impressions: Deaf minority
women juggle multicultural identities. NTID Focus, 20-23.(3rd
floor, Archives HV2561.N73R58724 1990/1991).
Sheridan, L. (October 1875). The higher education of deaf-mute women. American
Annals of the Deaf, 248-252.
Singleton, P.E.* (1992). We can: Empowerment of people who are deaf. OSERS
News in Print. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office
of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services.
Skripnek, M. (19 January 1979). Focus on deafness: Women should aim for goal.
The News Herald.
Waltzer, D.R. (1995). Making Herstory. NTID Focus. (3rd floor,
Archives, HV2561.N73R58724 1994-1998).
Winzer, M. (1981). Talking deaf mutes: The special role of women in the methodological
conflict regarding the deaf, 1867-1900. Atlantis, 6, 2,
123-33.
Woods, Sr., W.H. (February 1974). Juliette Gordon Low: Girl scout founder.
The Deaf American, 26, 6, 6-8. (2nd floor, MICROFILM 190 v.26-31
1973/1974-1978/1979).
Women and deafness. (Spring 1974). Gallaudet Today, 4, 3. (2nd
floor Bound PER HV2561.W18W344 v.4-5 1973-1975),
Women and deafness. (Summer 1984). Gallaudet Today, 14, 4. (2nd
floor Bound PER HV2561.W18W344 v.14-15 1983-1985).
VIDEOTAPES - Check the Video Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/search~S2/
to find more titles related to women.
Bucholz, C. (Producer). (1985). Deaf women united [Videorecording].
Harrison, J. & Rousso, H. (Producer). (1989). Positive images: Portraits
of women with disabilities[Videorecording]. NY: Women Make Movies.(ETRR
VIDEO 5341).
Humphrey, J.K. (Producer). (1989). Deaf culture autobiography: MJ Bienvenu
[Videorecording]. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers. (1st floor, HV2395 .D465 no.8B).
Juliana: A portrait. (1984).[Videorecording]. [S.l.] : Ulano/Mierzwa.
(ETRR, VIDEO 5048).
Marbury, N. (Producer). (1994). Deaf culture lecture: Cultural differences-Nathie
Marbury. [Videorecording]. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers.(1st floor HV2395
.D465 no.8L and ETRR VIDEO 5263).
Miller, W. (Producer).(1991). Shades of gray: Black and deaf [Videorecording].
Rochester, NY : WOKR Partners. (ETRR VIDEO 5112).
NTID (Producer). (1979). Deaf women: Ambitious dreams, emerging
dreams [Videorecording]. Rochester, NY: NTID. (ETRR VIDEO 5286).
NTID (Producer). (1988). Linda Bove at NTID [Videorecording].
Rochester, NY: NTID. (ETRR VIDEO 5891).
NTID (Producer). (1989). Meeting of the minds [Videorecording].
Rochester, NY: NTID. (ETRR VIDEO 5297).
Panara, R. (Producer). (1981). Famous deaf Americans [Videorecording].
Rochester, NY: NTID. (ETRR VIDEO 5487).
Rennie, D. (Producer). (1990). Debbie Rennie - Poetry in
motion [Videorecording]. Burtonsville, Md. : Sign Media. (1st floor,
PS3572.E493 D45 1990 and ETRR VIDEO 5917).
San Francisco Public LIbrary Media Division. (Producer). (1984). Deaf
minorities [Videorecording]. San Francisco, CA: San Francisco Public
Library. (ETRR VIDEO 5667).
Sign Media (Producer). (1993). When the mind hears: Concerning women
[Videorecording]. Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media. (ETRR VIDEO 5975 no.9 and Basement
of Library, ETC VH 1692 I ).
Special Materials Project. (Producer). (1981). Signs of victory
[Videorecording].
WEBSITES. Check out the Deaf Internet Resources via: http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html
Aiello, P. (n.d.). Pinky the juggler. Retrieved October 17, 2002
from http://hometown.aol.com/pinkyjuggler
Books-n-such. (22 November 2001). Deaf. Retrieved October 17,
2002 from
http://www.books-n-such.com/Medical/d/Deaf/index1.htm
Berke, J. (n.d.). Marlee Matlin and Terrylene. Retrieved October
17, 2002 from http://deafness.about.com/library/weekly/aa082498.htm?once=true&
Berke, J. (n.d.). Phyllis Frelich and Linda Bove. Retrieved October
17, 2002 from http://deafness.about.com/library/weekly/aa071299.htm?once=true&
Berke, J. (n.d.). Deanne Bray - Deaf actress and television Star.
Retrieved November 14, 2002 from http://deafness.about.com/library/weekly/aa111202.htm
Binder, B. and Harrer, K. The 21st Century Woman: From a Multicultural
Perspective. (20 May 2002). Retrieved April 8, 2003 from http://edf3.gallaudet.edu/diversity/BGG/The21stCenturyWoman/deafwomen.htm
Find info about Alice of Battenberg, Helen Keller, Juliette "Daisy"
Gordon Low, Harriet Martineau, Laura Catherine Redden Searing, Regina Olson
Hughes, Frances Woods, Nellie Z. Wilhite, Frances Parsons, Marcella Meyer, Gertrude
Galloway, Alice Hagemeyer, Bonnie Tucker, Judith Tingley, Shirley Allen, Phyllis
Frelich, Linda Bove, Kitty O'Neil, Julianna Field, Kathie Hering, Mary Lou Norutsky,
Marlee Matlin, Bridgette Bourne, Shelley Beattie, Heather Whitestone and Emmanuelle
Labroit.
Briscoe, C. (2002). Connie Briscoe official web ite. Retrieved
March 27, 2003 from http://www.conniebriscoe.com/home.htm
CBS. (n.d.). Christy Smith, deaf survivor. Retrieved April 9,
2003 from http://www.cbs.com/primetime/survivor6/survivors/prof/christy.shtml
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Above and beyond: Linda Bove. Retrieved November
14, 2002 from Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/deafbio.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Deanne Bray: Little sister: Retrieved November
18, 2002 from Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/919.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Deaf biographies. Retrieved October 18, 2002
from Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/deafbio.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Julianna Fjeld. Retrieved October 22, 2002
from Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/852.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Kathy Buckley. Retrieved October 22,
2002 from Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/894.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Laura Redden Searing. Retrieved October
22, 2002 from Deaf Friends International webiste http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/858.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). Laura Dewey Bridgman. Retrieved October 22,
2002 from Deaf Friends International website
http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/851.htm
Griffin, s. (n.d.). Shelley Beattie. Retrieved April 8, 2003 from
Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/587.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.) Sue Thomas: It is only in silence we hear God .
Retrieved November 18, 2002 from Deaf Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/918.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). The doctor is in: Dr. Josephine Deubler (veterinarian).
Retrieved February 19, 2003 from Friends International website http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/924.htm
Griffin, S. (n.d.). They called her Nellie. Retrieved October
22, 2002 from Deaf Friends International website: http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/880.htm
Guerami-Diznab, A. (15 June 1999). Women in Science. Retrieved
April 8, 2003 from http://edf3.gallaudet.edu/diversity/BGG/Women%20in%20Science/scientist1.htm
Lang. H. (4 Sept. 2003). Can Deaf People Succeed in Science? You Bet!
Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from
http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/science1.html
Lang, H. (7 Oct. 2003). Six Moon Craters Named for Deaf Scientists.
Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/science4.html
Lapiak, J. (2003). i8Media Artist. Retrieved April 9, 2003 from
http://www.i8media.com
Multonomah Country Library. (12 March 2003). Homework Center: Biographies.
Retrieved April 9, 2003 from
http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Online/biograph.htm
NETAC. (n.d.). Achieving Goals: Career stories of Individuals Who are
Deaf or Hard of Hearing. Retrieved March 27, 2003 from http://netac.rit.edu/goals/
Nelson-Metlay, V. (n.d.). Deaf Women of Rochester. Retrieved October
17, 2002 from http://members.rpa.net/~valnm/dwr/
O'Keefe Library. (10 March 2003). Biographical Information. Retrieved
April 9, 2003 from http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Online/biograph.htm
OneWorldLive. (n.d.). Marlee Matlin official website. Retrieved
April 9, 2003 from http://www.marleeonline.com/
Sacchetti, T. (n.d.). Terrylene website. Retreived August
18, 2003 from http://www.terrylene.com/
Schertz-Dunleavy, J. (24 August 2000). Works by Deaf women. Retrieved
October 17, 2002 from the Deafart.org website http://solo7.abac.com/deafart/Past_Exhibits/Works_by_Deaf_Women/works_by_deaf_women.html
Smith, V. and Beck, E. (13 September 2002). Angels of mercy. Retrieved
February 26, 2002 from the English Works website
http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading5.html
Smith, V. and Beck, E. (13 September 2002). Juliette Low. Retrieved
February 26, 2002 from the English Works website
http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading9.html
`
Smith, V. and Beck, E. (13 September 2002). Juliette Gordon Low. Retrieved
February 26, 2002 from the English Works website
http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/main/reading.html
Smith, V. and Beck, E. (13 September 2002). Laura Redden Searing. Retrieved
February 26, 2002 from the English Works website
http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/main/reading.html
Smith, V. and Beck, E. (13 September 2002). Shirley Allen: Follow Every
Rainbow . Retrieved February 26, 2002 from the English Works website
http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/main/reading.html
Smith, V. and Beck, E. (13 September 2002). Sophia Fowler Gallaudet.
Retrieved February 26, 2002 from the English Works website
http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading2.html
Surber, N. and Campion, A. (n.d.). Deaf Women in Sports. Retrieved
April 8, 2003 from http://edf3.gallaudet.edu/diversity/BGG/Deaf%20women%20in%20sport/first.htm
World Around You. (28 April 2003). Interviews and Profiles of Deaf Individuals.
Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/interviews.html#profiles
Zimmer, H. (October 2002). Seven summits-Heidi Zimmer. Retrieved
October 17, 2002 from
http://www.heidizimmer.com/Introduce.htm
Guide created by Joan Naturale with
Vicki Hurwitz's input
Email: JXNWML@rit.edu and VHURWITZ@rsdeaf.org
Links checked 17 August 2004.