RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Americans with Disabilities Act-Print Resources

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, mandates the removal of architectural barriers, resulting in physical accessibility and safe buildings. It also mandates the removal of communication barriers, resulting in routine use of TTY's, state relay services and awareness of and sensitivity to, varying communication modes and cultural differences of disabled people. T

The following books, videos and web links will provide the reader with a general understanding of ADA. This is not a complete list of ADA resources available in RIT Library. Check the library's Einstein catalog for additional titles. If you have any questions, please ask a reference librarian. Try different keywords such as United States, Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990, Americans With Disabilities Act, Disability and Civil Rights, Disability and legal status, Discrimination and disability, etc. When you look at a record, click on the subject headings on the bottom of the record to expand your search. Two ** indicates a deaf lawyer or author. Check out the Legal Interpreting and Sign Language Video guide.

Databases-Use WestLaw Campus, Lexis Nexis and Special Education Connections. Check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals which indexes articles from Deaf Life and NAD Deaf Monographs and th NTID Index to Interpreting and Deaf Periodicals. If you are interested in learning more about deaf lawyers, check out the Gallaudet Guide to Deaf Biographies. Try the CQ Researcher for in-depth reports on the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Encyclopedias & References

ADA Info & Deaf

ADA and/or Legal Rights, Court & Deaf

ADA Compliance

ADA -Communication & Deaf

Architecture & ADA

ADA Handbooks & Info

ADA-Education & Deaf

Disabilities & ADA

ADA Employment

ADA-Employment & Deaf

Education & ADA

ADA, Legal Issues and Deaf

ADA-Health Care & Deaf

Websites


Encyclopedias and References-Check out CQ Researcher and look for in-depth reports on the ADA.

Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation
. New York: Macmillan Library Reference USA. (1st floor REF HV1568 .E53 1995).
Look up "Americans With Disabilities Act" on page 47.

Olson, K.C. Legal Information : How to Find It, How to Use it. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 1999. (1st floor REF KF240 .O365 1999).
Overview -- Understanding legal information -- General reference sources -- Law books -- Journals and periodicals -- Finding lawyers and institutions -- The Constitution and the Supreme Court -- Federal legislation -- Federal courts -- Federa ladministrative law -- State legislation and administrative law -- State courts.

U.S. Code Congressional and Adminstrative News. St. Paul, MN: West Pub. Co., 1990. (1st floor REF KF 62.A3 W44 1990 v.1).
Find the P.L. 101-336 [S. 933] July 26, 1990 ADA Act of 1990. (104 STAT. 327) in this text.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law.
Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN : West Pub. Co., 1998. (1st floor REF
KF154 .W47 1998 v.1 -12.) Vol. 3: p. 3-4, 83, 189; Vol. 4: p. 93-95; 108, 217, 235, 278, 288-289; Vol. 6: p.13, 180; and vol. 10 p. 89.
Find short articles in the volumes and pages listed.

ADA Compliance-Of interest to lawyers and managers, this discusses compliance with legislation and accommodating persons with disabilities.

ADA Compliance Guide
. Online site is available from 2001- .Monthly. Thompson Publishing Group, 1990. (REF KD480.A93 1990v.3 no.2-v.11, no.12 1992-2000).

Bruce, S.D. and L. Atkinson. How to Comply With the Americans With Disabilities Act. Madison CT: Business and Legal Reports, 1991.(4th floor REF KF3469.H689 1991)

Trenkner, T. R. Americans With Disabilities Practice and Compliance Manual. Lawyers Co-operative Publishing, 1992.( REF KF480.A6A57 1992).

ADA Handbooks and Information


Americans With Disabilities Act Law and Regulations. LRP Publications, 1992. (1st floor REF KF480A9583 1991).
Of interest to lawyers and managers, focuses on discrimination in employment.

Crispen, J. L. The Americans with Disabilities Act : Its Impact on Libraries
. ALA, 1993. (3rd floor Z711.92.H3A4 1993).
Of interest to librarians.

Disabilities and Disaster: Five Years of ADA Implementation
. Video. Emmitsburg, MD : EENET, National Emergency Training Center, 1995. 3 videocassettes (270 min.) : captioned, voiced. (ETRR, NTID Video 6456).
This videoconference focuses on ADA implementation for emergencymanagement. Issues covered include: ADA requirements for emergency communication, evacuation and sheltering. Specific topics include 911 access for the deaf: The L.A. story; and Hurricane warnings for the deaf: The Lee county story.

Jasper, M. C. The Americans with Disabilities Act. Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana Publications, 1998.(4th floor KF480.Z9 J37 1998).
A law guide for the layperson.

Jones, T. L. The Americans With Disabilities Act: A Review of the Best Practices. AMA Membership Publications Division, 1993. (4th floor HD7256.U5J66 1993).
Focuses on employment law and discrimination.

Kenney, D.J. and G. W. Cordner. Managing Police Personnel. Cincinnati, OH : Anderson Pub. Co., c1996. (4th floor, HV7936.P47 M36 1996).
There is an article about the police and ADA. Of interest to anyone in the law enforcement area

Pardeck, J.T. Social Work After the Americans with Disabilities Act: New Challenges and Opportunities for Social Service Professionals. Westport, Conn.: Auburn House, 1998.(4th floor HV1553.P37 1998).
Of interest to social workers who work with persons with disabilities.

Perritt, H. H. Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook. New York : Wiley Law Publications, 1991-1993. REF KF3469 .P47 1991 v. 1 -2).
Of interest to lawyers and managers, discusses employment law, discrimination and architecture. Has forms and procedure recommendations.

Scherer, D. J. ADA Impact: Key Questions and Answers About the Americans With Disabilities Act. Reymont Associates, 1992. (4th floor, KF3469.Z9A32 1992).
Of interest to the general audience.

The Americans With Disabilities Act: An Easy Checklist. Chicago: National Easter Seal Society, 1990. (REF KF480.A9572 1990).
Of interest to the general audience.

West, J., ed. The Americans with Disabilities Act : From Policy to Practice. New York : Milbank Memorial Fund, 1991. (4th floor and ETRR KF480 .A958 1991).
The book will be useful both in orienting those who need a general sense of the law and its mandates and in supplying a reference for specific areas of inquiry, such as how technology can be used to provide reasonable accommodations.The book addresses itself to a range of questions.First, what exactly does the ADA require? What is the basis of thoserequirements? What do we know about creating a world that supports, promotes, and enables persons with disabilities to live independent,productive lives? What does the research tell us? What do the experts tell us? What is the best thinking in the emerging field of disability research?Furthermore, how can we use the knowledge we have to implement the ADA?

**Tucker, B.P. Legal Rights of Persons With Disabilities: An Analysis of Federal Law. Horsham, PA: LRP Publications, 1991. ( REF KF480.T82 1991).
Of interest to lawyers, this focuses on legislation for persons with disabilities.

Wehman, P. The ADA Mandate for Social Change. Paul H. Brookes, 1993. (4th floor, HV1553.A595 1993).
Of interest to the general audience.

Young, J. M. Equality of Opportunity : the Making of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Washington, D.C.: National Council on Disability, 1997. (ETRR, NTID KF480.A32 A168 1997).
Discusses the legislative history of the ADA.

ADA Employment


Allen, J. Complying with the ADA: A Small Business Guide to Hiring and Employing the Disabled. New York: Wiley , 1993. (4th floor HD7256.U5A683 1993)
A guide for managers who want to learn more about the ADA.

Cognitive Impairments and the Application of Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act
. Washington, D.C. : National Council on Disability, 1996. (ETRR, NTID, KF480 .N36 1996).
Of interest to managers, counselors and educators.

Fersh, D. Complying with the Americans with Disabilities Act : A Guidebook for Management. Greenwood Publications, 1993. (4th floor KF3469.F47 1993)
Of interest to managers.

Frierson, J. G. Employer's Guide to the Americans With Disabilities Act. Bureau of National Affairs, 1992. (4th floor, KF3469.F75 1992 )
Of interest to managers.

Fyock, C. D. Employing People with Capabilities: Responding to the Americans with Disabilities Act. Burr Ridge, Ill.: Irwin, 1994. (REF HD 7256.U6F96 1994 v. 1).
A leader's guide and a participant's workbook is included in this book. Of interest to employers and managers who want to promote diversity in the workplace.

Landry, A. J. Americans with Disabilities Act 1990 - Title I Employment : A Practical Guide for Employers. West Palm Beach, Fla. : LanNar Publishing, 1993. (4th floor, KF3469 .L355 1993).
Of interest to managers who want to comply with ADA employment laws.

Meeting the Needs of Employees With Disabilities. Resources for Rehabilitation, 1991. (4th floor, HD7256.U5M445 1991 and 1993).
Of interest to managers, educators and counselors.Discusses vocational rehabilitation and resources for self-help devices.

Veres, J.G. and R. R. Sims. Human resource management and the Americans with Disabilities Act. Westport, Conn. : Quorum Books,: 1995. (4th floor, HD7256.U5 H843 1995).
Of interest to managers.

Walsh, J. Mastering Diversity: Managing for Success Under ADA & Other Anti-Discrimination Laws. Santa Monica, Calif.: Merritt Pub., 1995. (4th floor, KF3464.Z9 W34 1995).
Focuses on hiring issues and of interest to employers and managers re: discrimination in employment and increasing diversity in the workforce.

ADA, Legal Issues and Deaf ** indicates a deaf lawyer or a deaf professor

The Right to a Full Hearing : Improving Access to the Courts for People who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Chicago, Ill. : American Judicature Society, 2000. (OVER 4th and ETRR KF480.5.D4 F34 2000).
Of interest to lawyers and those who work in the court system.Includes a directory of selected national organizations for people who are deaf or hard of hearing and a directory of state commissions.

ADA Information

Abrams, S. The ADA & the Hearing-Impaired Consumer. Washington, D.C.: Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf, 1996. (4th floor KF 480.5.D4A27 1996).
Geared for the deaf or hard of hearing consumer re: ADA.

**Emerton, R. G. Sociological implications of the Americans with Disabilities Act for Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Americans : Some observations. Rochester, NY : NTID/RIT, 1990. (at ETRR,NTID-RR 1439).
The purpose of this paper was to draw attention to some of the lesser known implications of the ADA for deaf and hard-of-hearing people.

Krieger, L.H. Backlash Against the ADA : Reinterpreting Disability Rights. Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, 2003.

The ADA and You : A Guide for Deaf and Hard of Hearing People. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet University, The Academy, 1992. (4th floor KF480.5.D4 A33 1992).
Of interest to the deaf and hard of hearing person who want to learn more about the ADA.

Switzer, Jacqueline Vaughn. Disabled Rights : American Disability Policy and the Fight for Equality. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 2003. (4th floor, HV1553 .S95 2003).

Communication

Ross, M. Communication Access for Persons with Hearing Loss: Compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Baltimore: York Press, 1994. (4th floor and ETRR HV 2502.C65 1994).
Focuses on communication devices for the deaf.

Education

1995 Advocacy Handbook. Washington, D.C. : Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf, 1995.
(4th floor, HV2551 .A19 1995).
Focuses on education rights of deaf and hard of hearing children.

A Case About Amy. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 1996. (4th floor, KF228.R63 S45 1996).

Self-Advocacy for Students Who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing. Austin, Tex. : Pro-Ed, 1997. (OVER 4th HV2463 .E54 1997 and at ETRR, NTID).
Of interest to deaf and hard of hearing students or counselors who want to advocate for their rights in educational settings.

Employment


Foster, S. B. Working With Deaf People: Accessibility and Accommodation in the Workplace. Charles C. Thomas,
Of interest to managers and focuses on the communication issues deaf employees face on the job. Go to Susan's website for more information. <http://www.rit.edu/~468www/faculty_detail.php3?fid=9>

Hyde, Gail. Employment of Deaf Persons: An Annotated Bibliography. 16 April 1996. Center for Research, Teaching and Learning. 18 December 2001. <http://www.isc.rit.edu/%7E490www/employ/employbib.html>.

Laws That Relate To Hiring Workers With Disabilities, Including Hearing Loss.
12 Mar. 1998. Gallaudet University Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center.18 Dec. 2001. .<http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/InfoToGo/020.html>.

People with Hearing Loss and the Workplace: A Guide for Employers to Comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Bethesda, MD: Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, 1996.(4th floor KF480.5 D4 1996 ).
Resources, services and explanation of the laws related to employment of the deaf are listed to guide employers and other interested persons.

Health Care

People with Hearing Loss and Health Care Facilities : A Guide for Hospitals to Comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act. (OVER, 4th floor KF480.5.D4 P45 1993).
Of interest to hospital administration, this is a guide for hospitals on how to comply with ADA regulations.

Legal Rights/Sign Language/Court System

Colin, Joan. Interpreters and the Legal Process. Winchester : Waterside, 1996. (4th floor, HV2402 .C65 1996).

DuBow, S. Legal Rights: The Guide for Deaf and Hard of Hearing People. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet University Press, 2000. (4th floor and ETRR, KF480.5.D4 L43 2000).
Of interest to lawyers and deaf people who want practical applications of how the laws protect the interests of the deaf person.

Foret, A. T. A Manual and Dictionary of Legal Terms for Interpreters for the Deaf. Detroit, Mich. : Center for the Administration of Justice, Wayne State University Law School, 1976. (4th floor, KF156.F65 1976).
Of interest to interpreters who want to learn legal signs.

Jackson, P.W. Deaf Crime Casebook. [S.l.] : Cox & Jackson, 1997. (4th floor, HV6251 .J33 1997).
This title looks at horrific crimes committed by or against British Deaf people; and usually with the common thread of lack of communication. It describes the physical brutality, the often tragic circumstances, and the varied and sometimes complicated motives. Cases include the murder of Suzanne Greenhill, which led to Gwent Constabulary's longest and most expensive investigation and the 'Porno' cinema fire near King's Cross London.

Jackson, P.W. Deaf to Evidence. [Winsford, Cheshire] : Cox & Jackson, 1998. (4th floor, KD8464 .J33 1998).
This book looks at five cases, two from Britain, three from overseas, where deaf people suffered miscarriages of justice, resulting in lengthy prison sentences and in one case a hanging. Shocking and compelling reading, this book exposes some outrageous injustices. (from Forest Bookshop).

Jackson, P.W. Deaf Murder Casebook. [Winsford, Cheshire] : Cox & Jackson, 2000. (4th floor, HV6515 .J33 2000).
More in the deaf crime series, this takes a look at a number of famous cases from Britain, Europe, Australia and the USA. Many of the cases caused considerable headaches to the various legal systems due to the sign language interpretation requirements. One case led to a review of procedures for treatment of mentally-ill patients in community care provision. (from Forest Bookshop).

Jackson, P.W. Deaf Target. Winsford : Deafprint Winsford, 2002. (4th floor, HV7296 .J335 2002).
Focusing upon deaf people who have been murder victims, 15 stories from all over the world here include the killing of the Deaf son of Australia's biggest drugs baron, several gang-related murders in the USA and Mafia killings of Deaf people in Russia. The book also features reports on the unique murder at the Deaf and Dumb Institute in Hull, England and one of Ireland's biggest murder trials of recent years. (from Forest Bookshop).

Lucas, Ceil. Language and the Law in Deaf Communities. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2003. 4th floor and ETRR, HV2471 .L34 2003.
Three attorneys and three linguistics scholars contribute five essays focusing on the intersection of language and law in deaf communities. Coverage includes the language problems of minorities in legal settings, the interrogation of deaf people, interpretation issues for juries that include deaf people, and the basic issue of word meanings in lay and legal contexts. The concluding paper, "Misunderstanding, Wrongful Convictions, and Deaf People," is written by an experienced public defender not trained in or experienced with the legal problems of the deaf, and is included to provide an informed outside perspective. For linguists and others interested in legal issues as they effect deaf people. Annotation  2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Mathers, Carla M. Sign Language Interpreters in Court : Understanding Best Practices. Bloomington, IN : AuthorHouse, 2006. (4th floor, KF8725 .M38 2006)

Russell, Debra L. Interpreting in Legal Contexts : Consecutive and Simultaneous Interpretation. Burtonsville, Md. : LInstok Press, 2002. (4th floor, HV2402 .R87 2002).

**Tucker, B. P. Deaf Prison Inmates: Time to be Heard. Los Angeles : Loyola of Los Angeles School of Law], 1988. (4th floor, KF480.5.D4 T834 1988).
Discusses the civil rights of deaf prisoners.

Architecture

Americans with Disabilities Act : Answers for Foodservice Operators. Washington, DC : National Restaurant Association, 1992. (4th floor, KF2042.H6 A45 1992).
Focuses on restaurant architectural design to accommodate persons with disabilities.

Americans With Disabilities Act Facilities Compliance Workbook.
New York: Wiley, 1992. (REF NA2545.A1A46 1992).
Of interest to lawyers and architects.

Hospitality for Guests with Hearing Loss : A Guide for Hotel/Motel Compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Bethesda, MD : Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, 1992. (4th floor KF480.5.D4 H66 1992).
Explains the obligations hotels and motels have to accommodate guests with hearing loss. Of interest to managers and deaf consumers.

Jordan, J. E. ADA, Americans with Disablities Act Architectural Barrier Removal and Compliance Manual: A Simplified Approach to Accessibility. Prescott, AZ: Jordan Pub., 1999. ( 4th floor, KF3469.A85 J67 1999).
A manual based on uniform fire prevention and building code, division of housing and community renewal of interest to architects and building design planners.

Opening All Doors: ADA: A Resource Guide. American Institute of Architects, c1991. ( REF KF5709.3.H35A33 1992).
Of interest to architects who wish to comply with legislation re: accommodation of persons with disabilities.

Pocket Guide to the ADA: Americans With Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities. New York: Wiley, 1993. (REF KF5709.H35P63 1993)
Of interest to architects.

The Americans with Disabilities Act White Paper : SEGD's Clarification and Interpretation of the ADA Signage Requirements. Cambridge, MA : Society for Environmental Graphic Design, 1993. (3rd floor NX180.H34 S63 1993).
Focuses on signs and signboards and will be of interest to consumers and building designers.

Wilkoff, W. Practicing Universal Design: An Interpretation of the ADA. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1994. 3rd floor NA2545.P5 W56 1994 ).
Focuses on architecture design for persons with disabilities.

Disabilities and ADA


Francis, L. & A. Silvers. Americans with Disabilities : Exploring Implications of the Law for Individuals and Institutions. New York : Routledge, 2000. (4th floor, KF480.A32 A73 2000).
With this pathbreaking book, two of the nation's leading social philosophers have pushed disabled Americans out of the shadows and into the limelight where they belong....Anyone who works on health, education, welfare and civil rights issues will need to read this book.Its collected essays come to grips directly with the most important issues of law, policy and morality involving Americans with disabilities. The authors...will make every reader think more carefully about how best to insure justice for the disabled. This comprehensive anthology is a major step in the development of disability studies in philosophy and legal scholarship. It takes philosophy of disability beyond the 'you too' afterthoughts added to discussions of social justice and demonstrates that issues raised by disability are critical to contemporary social philosophy. Leading philosophers, scholars and lawyers offer a perceptive philosophical andlegal analysis of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
Who should qualify as disabled? The obese? Asymptomatic HIV-positive people? In 1990 a landmark piece of legislation was passed by Congress. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was based on the idea that equal rights can solve social problems associated with disability. Few acts have sparked as much debate in recent years, with many employers and program providers protesting--and litigating--against the burdensome costs of the act. On the other side, many of the Americans with disabilities and their advocates claim that the ADA doesn't do enough, that only the most highly functioning disabled people benefit. Americans with Disabilities looks at the debate and sheds light on who is right. In this groundbreaking work, leading philosophers, legal theorists, bioethicists, and policy makers offer incisive looks into the philosophical and moral foundations of disability law and policy. A thought-provoking analysis of one of the most controversial laws on the books, Americans with Disabilities provides a keen understanding of how much U.S. law does--and should--protect citizens with disabilities against intolerance and social limitation.(From Routledge web site).


Goldman, C. Disability Rights Guide: Practical Solutions to Problems Affecting People With Disabilities. Lincoln, NB: Media Publishing, 1991. (4th floor KF480.Z9G65 1991).
Discusses laws for persons with disabilities.

Jernigan, K. Reflections on the Americans with Disabilities Act. [Baltimore, Md. : National Federation of the Blind, 1990]. ( OVER 4th floor KF480.5.B5 J47 1990).
Focuses on how this affects the blind population.

Johnson, M. People With Disabilities Explain it All for You: Your Guide to the Public Accommodations Requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Advocado Press, 1992. (4th floor, KF3469.P46 1992).
Of interest to anyone who wants to learn more about ADA.

Stalcup, B. The Disabled. San Diego, CA: Greenhaven Press, 1997. (4th floor HV 1553.D549 1996).
From the Current Controversies Series. Discusses the government policy of the U.S., ADA and discrimination against those with disabilities.

Stefan, S. Unequal Rights : Discrimination Against People with Mental Disabilities and the Americans with Disabilities Act. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2001. (4th floor, KF480 .S684 2001).
Focuses on persons with mental disabilities and their rights.

Treanor, R. B. We Overcame : the Story of Civil Rights for Disabled people. Falls Church, Va. : Regal Direct Pub., 1993. (4th floor, HV1553 .T74 1993).
Of interest to the general audience.

Education

Gordon, M, and S. Keiser. Accommodations in Higher Education under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): A No-Nonsense Guide for Clinicians, Educators, Administrators, and Lawyers. DeWitt, NY: GSI Publications, 1998. (3rd floor RA 1055.5.A28 1998).
Focuses on disability evaluation of college students, educational accommodations, testing, documentation of clincial conditions, legal requirements for clinical evaluations, ADHD, Language-based learning disabilities, mood and anxiety disorders, physical disabilities, amd visual disorders.

Morrissey, P.A. Educator's Guide to the Americans with Disabilities Act. Alexandria, VA : American Vocational Association, 1993. ( REF KF4210 .M67 1993).
Of interest to educators who need to know the laws relating to students with disabilities.

Technology and Computers
.

McCormick, J. A. Computers and the Americans with Disabilities Act: A Manager's Guide. New York: Windcrest/McGraw-Hill, 1993. (Ref 1st floor HV 1569.5.M251993).
Focuses on computers and self help devices for persons with disabilities

Websites

Go to my Deaf Internet Resource Page and look at the legal links via http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html#leg

Check out Deaf Lawyers via http://www.deaflawyers.org/, Legal Network for Deaf and Hard of Hearing via http://www.legal-deafhh.org/ and NAD Law Center via http://www.nad.org/infocenter/infotogo/legal/

For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)