RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Selected Bibliography of African-American Writers and Their Writings


Achebe, Chinua (1930- ):

PR9348.A34 1985
African Short Stories. Portsmoth, NH.: Heineman Publishing, 1985.

PR9387.9.A3A83 1988
Anthills of the Savannah. New York: Anchor Press, 1988.

PR9387.9.A3A8 1969
Arrow of God. Garden City, NY.: Anchor Books, 1969.

PR9387.9.A3A17 2004
Collected Poems. New York: Anchor Books, 2004.

PR9387.9.A3 Z467 2000
Home and Exile. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000

PR9387.9.A3H6 1969
Hopes and Impediments: Selected Essays. New York: Doubleday, 1989.

PR9387.9.A3M3 1967
A Man of the People: A Novel. Garden City, NY.: Anchor Books, 1967.

PR9387.9.A3T514 1958
LeMonde, S'Effondre, Roman. Paris: Prensence Africaine, 1958.

PR9340.5.A3 1975
Morning Yet On Creation Day: Essays. Garden City, NY.: Anchor Press, 1975

PR9387.9.A3N6 1969
No Longer At Ease. Greenwich, CT.: Fawcett Books, 1969.

N7380.S567 2001
The Short Century: Independence and Liberation Movements in Africa, 1945-1994. New York: Prestel, 2001.

PR9387.9.A3T5 1969
Things Fall Apart. Greenwich, CT.: Fawcett Books, 1969.

Andrews, Raymond. (1934-1991):

PS3551.N452A8
Appalachee Red: A Novel. New York: Dial Press, 1978.

Angelou, Maya (1928- ):

PS3551.N464 1966
All God's Children Need Traveling Shoes.
New York: Random House, 1966.

N6538.N5B43 1996
Bearing Witness: Contemporary Works by African American Women Artists.
New York: Rizzoli, 1996.

PS3551.N464B7 1995
Brave and Startling Truth.
New York: Random House, 1995.

PS3551.N464A17 1994
Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou.
New York: Random House, 1994.

PS3551.N464E94 1997b
Even The Stars Look Lonesome.
New York: Random House, 1997.

PS3551.N464Z464 1974
Gather Together in My Name.
New York: Random House, 1974.

14 day Audiobook
Hallelujah, The Welcome Table.
New York: Random House Audio, 2004.

PS3551.N464Z465 1997
The Heart of A Woman.
New York: Random House, 1997.

OVER E185.86.L355 1999b
I Dream a World: Portraits of Black Women Who Changed America.
New York: Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 1999.

E185.97.A56A3 1970
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.
New York: Random House, 1969

PS3551.N464I17 1990
I Shall Not Be Moved.
New York: Random House, 1990.

PS3551.N464J8
Just Give Me A Cool Drink of Water 'Fore I Diiie.
New York: Random House, 1971.

PS3551.N464L54 1993
Life Doesn't Frighten Me.
New York: Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 1993.

DT507.A54 1996
Magic.
New York: Clarkson Potter, 1996.

Resd. Cassette 683
The Maya Angelou Poetry Collection.
New York: Random House, 1999.

PN56.Ff3M46 2003
Minding the World: Stories of Family By Contemporary Black Writers. New York: BasicCivitas Books, 2003.

DT2913.N44A54 1994
My Painted House, My Friendly Chicken, And Me.
New York: Clarkson Potter, 1994.

OVER PS3551.N464N67 1994
Now Sheba Sings the Song.
New York: Plume Books, 1994.

PS3551.N464P48 1994
Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women.
New York: Random House, 1994.

PS3551.N464S52 1983
Shaker Why Don't You Sing.
New York: Random House, 1983.

E185.97.A56A33
Singin' and Swingin' and Gettin' Merry Like Christmas.
New York: Random House, 1976.

PS3551.N464Z476 2002
A Song Flung Up To Heaven.
New York: Random House, 2002.

PS3551.N464W68 1993
Wouldn't Take Nothing For My Journey Now.
New York: Random House, 1993.

Ansa, Tina McElroy (1949- ):

PS3551.N64B34 1991
Baby of the Family.
San Diego: Harcourt, Brace, 1991.

PS3551.N64U36 1993
Ugly Ways: A Novel.
New York; Harcourt, Brace, 1993.

Armah, Ayi Kwei (1939- ):

PR6051.R55B4
The Beautiful Ones Are Not Yet Born: A Novel.
Boston: Houghton-Mifflin, 1968.

PR6051.R55W48 1972
Why Are We So Blest?: A Novel.
New York: Doubleday, 1972.

Baker, Houston (1943- ):

PS508.A4B27
Black Literature in America.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 197l.

E184.7.B3 1993
Black Studies, Rap, and the Academy.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1993.

PS153.N5B23 1984
Blues, Ideology, and Afro-American Literature: A Vernacular Theory.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1984.

PS92.C64 1988
Columbia Literary Historyf of the United States.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1988.

E185.82.B3
Long Black Song: Essays in Black American Literature and Culture.
Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 1972.

PS153.M56T5 1982
Three American Literatures.
New York: Modern Language Association, 1982.

PS3545.R815N33
Twentieth Century Interpretations of Native Son; A Collection of Critical Essays.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ.: Prentice- Hall, 1972.

PS153.N5B28 1991
Workings of the Spirit: The Poetics of Afro-Americn Women's Writing.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1991.

Baldwin, James (1924-1987):

PS3552.A45A7 1962
Another Country.
New York: Dial Press, 1962.

E185.615.B54
Black Anti-Semitism and Jewish Racism.
New York: R.W. Baron, 1969.

PS628.N4P3
Black Theatre; A 20th Century Collection of the Work and Its Paywrights.
New York: Dodd, Mead, 1971.

PS3552.A45B5
Blues for Mister Charlie: A Play.
New York: Dial Press, 1964.

PS3552.A45Z515
Devil Finds Work: An Essay.
New York: Dial Press, 1976.

HV6534.A7B35 1985
Evidence of Things Not Seen.
New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston, 1985.

Electronic Resource
Fairy Stories and Fables.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resource
Fifty Famous Stories Retold.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

E185.61.B195
Fire Next Time.
New York: Dial Press, 1963.

PS3552.A45G5
Giovanni's Room: A Novel.
New York: Dial Press, 1956.

PS3552.A45G5
Go Tell It On The Mountain.
New York: Dial Press, 1963.

PS3552.A45G56
Going To Meet The Man.
New York: Dial Press, 1965.

PS3552.A45I3
If Beale Street Could Talk.
New York: Dial Press, 1974.

PS3552.A45J8
Just Above My Head.
New York: Dial Press, 1979.

E185.615.B28
No Name In the Street.
New York: Dial Press, 1972.

E185.615.B197
Nobody Knows My Name: Notes of a Native Son.
New York: Dial Press, 1961.

E185.61.B2
Notes of a Native Son.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1955.

PS3552.A45T4
Tell Me How Long The Train's Been Gone: A Novel.
New York: Dial Press, 1968.

Bambara, Toni Cade (1939- ):

E185.86.C28
The Black Woman: An Anthology.
New York: New American Library, 1970.

PS3552.A473 D44 1996
Deep Sightings and Rescue Missions: Fiction, Essays, and Conversations.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1996.

PS3552.A473G6 1981
Gorilla, My Love.
New York: Vintage Books, 1981.

PS3552.A473B2 1992
The Salt Eaters.
New York: Vingage Books, 1992.

PS3552.A473T47 1999
These Bones Are Not My Child.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1999.

Baraka, Imamu Amiri (1934- ):

PS3552.A583Z463 1984
Autobiography of Le Roi Jones.
New York: Freundlich Books, 1984.

PS3519.O4545B3
Baptism and the Toilet.
New York: Grove Press, 1957.

PS508.N3J64
Black Fire: An Anthology of Afro-American Writing.
New York: William Morrow, 1968.

PS3519.O4545A17 1969
Black Magic: Sabotage, Target Study, Black Art, Collected Poetry, 1961-1967.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1969.

ML3556.B3
Black Music.
New York: W. Morrow, 1967.

ML3556.J73
Blues people: Negro Music in White America.
New York: William Morrow, 1963.

PS3552.A583A16 1984
Daggers and Javelins: Essays, 1974-1979
. New York: William Morrow, 1984.

PS3519.O4545D4
Dead Lecturer: Poems.
New York: Grove Press, 1964.

PS3519.O4545D8
Dutchman and the Slave; Two Plays.
New York: William Morrow, 1964.

PS3519.O4545F6
Four Black Revolutionary Plays, All Praises to the Black Man.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1969.

PS3552.A583F86 1996
Funk Lore: New Poems, 1984-1995.
Los Angeles: Littoral Books, 1996.

E185.6.J74
Home, Social Essays.
New York: William Morrow, 1966.

PS3552.A583I5
In Our Terribleness (Some Elements and Meaning in Black Style).
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1970.

PS3552.A583I8
It's Nation Time.
Chicago: Third World Press, 1970.

PS536.J6
The Moderns: An Anthology of New Writing in America.
New York: Corinth Books, 1963.

PS3552.A583M6
The Motion of History, and Other Plays.
New York: Morrow, 1978.

ML3556.B17 1987
The Music: Reflections on Jazz and Blues.
New York: Morrow, 1987.

PS3552.A583R4 1981
Reggae or Not! Poems.
Bowling Green, NY: Contact II Publications, 1981.

PS3552.A583A17 1979
Selected Poetry of Amiri Baraka.
New York: William Morrow, 1979.

PS3552.A583S55
Slave Ship, A One Act Play.
Newark, NJ.: Jihad Productions, 1969.

PS3519.O4545T3
Tales.
New York: Grove Press, 1967.

N6537.D4468A4 1993
Thornton Dial: Image of the Tiger.
New York: H.N. Abrams, 1993.

PS3552.A583A6 1975
Three Books.
New York: Grove Press, 1975.

PS3552.A583T73 1996
Transbluesency: The Selected Poems of Amiri Baraka/LeRoi Jones, (1961-1995)
New York: Marsilio Publishers, 1996.

Beckham, Barry (1944- ):

PS3552.E28R8
Runner Mack.
New York: William Morrow, 1972.

Bell, Derrick (1930- ):

E185.615.B39 1987
And We Are Not Saved: The Elusive Quest for Racial Justice.
New York: Basic Books, 1987

ETC VH 876
Can WE All Get Along? Alexandria: PBS Video. 1992.

REF. KF4756.A52O58
Civil Rights--Leading Cases.
Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1980.

E185.615.B395 1992
Faces At The Bottom Of The Well: The Permanence of Racism.
New York: Basic Books, 1992.

REF. KF4757.B35 1980
Race, Racism, and American Law. 2nd. edition.
Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1980.

Bennett, Hal (1930- ):

PS3552.E546B57
Black Wine.
New York: Pyramid Books, 1968.

PS3552.E546L6 1970
Lord of Dark Places.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1970.

Blyden, Edward W 1832-1912):

DT4.B538 1971
Black Spokesman; Selected Published Writings of Edward Wilmot Blyden.
London: Cass, 1971.

DT4.B54 1967
Christianity, Islam and the Negro Race.
Edinburgh: University Press, 1967.

Bontemps, Arna W. (1902-1973):

PS591.N4B58
American Negro Poetry.
New York: Hill & Wang, 1963.

E185.6.B75 1966
Anyplace But Here.
New York: Hill & Wang, 1966.

PS3503.O474B6 1968
Black Thunder.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1968.

GR103.H74
Book of Negro Folklore.
New York: Dodd, Mead & Co., 1958.

E444.B67
Great Slave Narratives.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1969.

PN109.7.H8
Poetry of the Negro, 1746-1949: An Anthology.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1949.

Bradley, David. (1950- ):

PS3552.R226C5 1981
Chaneysville Incident: A Novel.
New York: Harper and Row, 1981.

E185.61.E544 1998
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America.
Armonk, NY.: Sharpe Reference, 1998.

Braithwaite, William S.. (1878-1962):

PS3503.R246W5
William Stanley Braithwaite Reader.
Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1972.

Branch, William B. (1927- ):

PS628.N5T37 1993
Crosswinds: An Anthology of Black Dramatists in the Diaspora.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1993.

Bricktop. (Ada Smith). (1894-1984):

ML420.B777A3 1983
Bricktop.
New York: Atheneum, 1983.

Brown, Claude. (1937- ):

HV1437.H37B75 1976
Children of Ham.
New York: Stein & Day, 1976.

E185.97.B56A3 1965
Manchild in the Promised Land.
New York: Signet, 1965.

Brown, Sterling. (1901-1989):

PS3503.R833A17 1980
Collected Poems of Sterling A. Brown.
New York: Harper & Row, 1980.

PS3503.R833L3
Last Ride of Wild Bill, and Eleven Narrative Poems.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1975.

PS508.N3B75 1969
Negro Caravan.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

PS374.A4B7 1968
Negro In American Fiction.
Port Washington, NY.: Kennikat Press, 1968.

PS153.N5B678 1969
The Negro in American Fiction: Negro Poetry and Drama.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

Brown, William W. (1815-1884):

E185.96.B863 1969
Black Man, His Antecedents, His Genius, and His Achievements.
Miami, FL.: Mnemosyne Publications, 1969.

PS1139.B9C5 1969
Clotel.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

E450.F75
Four Fugitive Slave Narratives.
Reading, MA: Addison-Wesley, 1969.

E444.B88 1969
Narrative of William W. Brown, A Fugitive Slave, and a Lecture Delivered Before the Female Anti-Slavery Society of Salem, 1847.
Reading, MA.: Addison-Wesley, 1969.

E540.N3B8 1968
The Negro in the American Rebellion, His Heroism and His Fidelity.
New YorK: Johnson Publishing, 1968.

E444.O8
Puttin' On Ole Massa: The Slave Narratives of Henry Bibb, William Wells Brown, and Solomon Northup.
New York: Harper & Row, 1969.

PS1139.B9C58
William Wells Brown and Clotelle.
Hamden, CT: Archor Books, 1969.

Bullins, Ed. (1935- ):

PS3552.U45A19 1969
Five Plays: Goin' a Buffalo; In the Wine Time; A Son, Come Home; The Electronic Nigger; Clara's Ole Man.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1969.

PS3552.U45A19 1971
Four Dynamite Plays.
New York: William Morrow, 1971.

PS3552.U45H6
How Do You Do: A Nonsense Drama.
New York: William Morrow, 1971.

PS3552.U45H8
Hungered One: Early Writings.
New York: William Morrow, 1971.

PS634.B8
New Plays From The Black Theatre: An Anthology.
New York: Bantam Books, 1969.

Burroughs, Margaret Taylor (1917- ):

N6538.N5T37 1996
A Shared Heritage: Art By Four African Americans.
Indiapolis: Indianapolis Museum of Art, 1996.

Butler, Octavia E. (1947- ):

PS3552.U827A6 1995
Bloodchild and Other Stories.
New York: Four Walls Eight Windows, 1995.

PS3552.U827K5 1988
Kindred.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1988.

PS3552.U827P38 2000
Parable of the Talents. New York: Warner Books, 2000.

Cain, George (1943- ):

PS3553.A39B5
Blueschild baby.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1970.

Camara, Laye. (1928-1980):

DT543.4.L313 1969
Dark Child.
New York: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, 1969.

PQ3989.L37R413 1965
Radiance of the King.
New York: Colier Books, 1965.

Campbell, Bebe Moore. (1950- ):

PS3553.A43B5 1994
Brothers and Sisters.
New York: Putnam's Publishing, 1994.

PS3553.A4395S56 1998
Singing in the Comeback Choir.
Landmark Audiobooks, 1998.

HQ536.C34 1986
Successful Women, Angry Men: Blacklash in the Two-Career Marriage.
New York: Random House, 1986.

PS3553.A4395W48 2001
What You Owe Me.
New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2001.

PS3553.A43B5Y88 1992
Your Blues Ain't Like Mine.
New York: Putnam's Publishing, 1992.

Cesaire, Aime. (1913- ):

ETC VH1954
Aime Cesaire: A Voice For Hisitory. San Francisco, 1994.

PQ3949.C44A24 1983
Aime Cesaire, the Collected Poetry.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 1983.

JV51.C413
Discourse on Colonialism.
New York: MR Publications, 1972.

PQ2605.E74C313 1969
Return to My Native Land.
Baltimore: Penguin Books, 1969.

 

Chesnutt, Charles. (1858-1932):

Electronic Resource
Baxter's Procrustes.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resource
Charles W. Chesnutt Essays and Speeches.
Stanford University Press, 1999.

Electronic Resource
The Colonel's Dream.
Philadelphia: University Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS1292.C6C6 1968
Conjure Woman.
Ridgewood, NJ.: Gregg Press, 1968.

Electronic Resources
Frederick Douglass. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS1292.C6H68 1988
The House Behind the Cedars.
Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1988.

PS1292.C6M3 1969
Marrow of Tradition.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

PS1292.C6W5 1969
Wife Of His Youth and Other Stories of the Color Line.
Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press , 1969.

Childress, Alice. (1920- ):

PS3505.H76S6
A Short Walk.
New York: Coward, McCann & Geoghehan, 1979.

Clifton, Lucille (1936- ):

PS628.N4P3
Black Theatre: 20th Century Collection of the Works of Its Best Playwrights. New York: Dodd, Mead, 1971

PS3553.L45B661 2000
Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems, 1988-2000.
Rochester, NY.: Boa Editions, 2000.

PS3553.L45B66 1993
Book of Light: Poems.
Port Townsend, WA.: Copper Canyon Press, 1993.

PS3553.L45G6
Good Times: Poems.
New York: Random House, 1969.

PS3553.L45G63 1987
Good Woman: Poems and A Memoir.
Brockport, NY.: BOA Editions, 1987.

5 Day Collection, PS3553.L45Z845 vol.2
Lucille Clifton (Videorecording) in Conversation with Denise Chavez.
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 2000.

PS3553.L45N48 1987
Next: New Poems.
Brockport, NY.: BOA Editions, 1987.

PS3553.L45Q55 1991
Quilting: Poems, 1987-1990.
Brockport, NY.: BOA Editions, 1991.

PS3553.L45T47 1996
Terrible Stories: Poems.
Brockport, NY.: BOA Editions, 1996.

Coleman, Wanda. (1946- ):

PS3553.O47447H36 1993
Hand Dance.
Santa Rosa, CA.: Black Sparrow Press, 1993.

PS3553.O47447H4 1987
Heavy Daughter Blues: Poems and Stories, 1968-1986.
Santa Rosa, CA.: Black Sparrow Press, 1987.

PS3553.O47447I4 1983
Imagoes.
Santa Rosa, CA.: Black Sparrow Press, 1983.


Colter, Cyrus. (1910- ):

PS3553.O477H5
Hippodrome: A Novel.
Chicago: Swallow Press, 1973.

Cortez, Jayne. (1936- ):

PS3553.O72C6 1984
Coagulations: New and Selected Poems.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1984.

PS3553.O72J39 2002
Jazz Fan Looks Back.
Brooklyn: Hanging Loose Press, 2002.

PS3553.O73S3
Scarifictions: Poems.
New York: Bola Press, 1973.

Cotter, Joseph Seamon, Jr.. (1895-1919):

PS3505.O86Z83 1969
Band of Gideon, and Other Lyrics.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing Co., 1969.

PS3505.O862N4 1969
Negro Tales. Miami: Mnemosyne Publishing Co., 1969.


Cruz, victor H.
. (1949- ):

PS3553.R8B9 1982
By Lingual Wholes.
San Francisco: Momo's Press, 1982.

PS3553.R8M37 2001
Maraca: New and Selected Poems, 1966-2000.
Minneapolis: Coffee House press, 2001.

PS3553.R8S6
Snaps: Poems.
New York: Random House, 1969.

5 Day Collection, PS3553.R8Z657
Victor Hernandez Cruz (Videorecording): In Conversation with Lewis MacAdams.
Santa Fe, NM.: Lannan Foundation, 1989.

5 Day Collection, PN6099.W44 1991
Where Poems Come From (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1991.


Cullen, Countee
. (1903-1946):

PS3505.U287B6 1929
Black Christ and Other Poems.
New York: Harper & Brothers, 1929.

PS3505.U287C6 1925
Color.
New York: Harper & Brothers, 1925.

PS3505.U287C6 1993
Color.
Salem, NH: Ayer, 1993.

PS3505.U287C65
Copper Sun.
New York: Harper & Brothers, 1927.

PS3505.U287A6 1991
My Soul's High Song: The Collected Writings of Countee Cullen, Voice of the Harlem Renaissance.
New York: Doubleday, 1991.

Davis, Angela. (1944- ):

ML3521.D355 1998
Blues Legacies and Black Feminism: Gertrude "Ma" Rainey, Bessie Smith, and Billie Holiday.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1998.

HV947.D38
If They Come In The Morning: Voices of Resistance.
New York: Third World Press, 1971.

HT1521.D38
Women, Race, and Class.
New York: Random House, 1981.

Delaney, Samuel. (1942- ):

PS3554.E437A85 1995
Atlantis: Three Tales.
Hanover: University Press, 1995

PS3554.E437B75 1987
Bridge of Lost Desire.
New York: Arbor House, 1987.

PS3554.E437Z4756 1999
Shorter Views: Queer Thoughts and the Politics of the Paraliterary.
Hanover, NH.: Wesleyan University Press, 1999.

PS3554.E437S7 1984
Stars In My Pocket Like Grains of Sands.
New York: Bantam Books, 1984.

HQ146.N7D45 1999
Times Square Red, Times Square Blue.
New York: New York University Press, 1999.

Delany, Martin R.. (1812-1885):

PS3507.E36B5 1970
Blake; or, The Huts of America: A Novel.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1970.

E185.D33 1968
Condition, Elevation, Emigration, and Destiny of the Colored People of the United States.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

DT515.2.S4
Search for a Place: Black Separatism and Africa, 1860.
Ann Arbor, MI.: University of Michigan Press, 1969.

Demby, William. (1922- ):

PS3507.E5346B4 1967
Beetlecreek.
New York: Avon Books, 1967.

PS3507.E534C3
The Catacombs.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1965.

Dodson, Owen. (1914-1983):

PS3507.O364C6
Confession Stone: Song Cycles.
London: P. Breman, 1970.

GT3211.N48V36
Harlem Book of the Dead.
Dobbs Ferry, NY.: Morgan & Morgan, 1978.

Douglass, Frederick. (1817-1895):

E449.D749 1994b
Autobiographies.
New York: Library of America, 1994.

HQ1426.D82 1976
Frederick Douglass on Women's Rights.
Westport, CT.: Greenwood press, 1976.

E449.D733 v.1
Frederick Douglass Papers.
New Haven, CT.: Yale Univerity press, 1979.

E449.D734 1999
Frederick Douglass Papers, Series Two; Autobiographical Writings.
New Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1999.

E449.D7345 1999
Frederick Douglass: Selected Speeches and Writings.
Chicago: Lawrence Hill Books, 1999.

E449.D744 1962
Life and Times of Frederick Douglass: His Early Life as Slave, His Escape From Bondage, and His Complete History.
New York: Collier Books, 1962.

E449.D738 1968
My Bondage and My Freedom.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

E449.D749O5
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave.
Cambridge, MA.: Belknap Press, 1960.

 

Dove, Rita

PS3554.O884A277 2004
American Smooth: Poems. New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.

Electronic Resource
Lady Freedom Among Us.
Philadelphia: University of Penn. Library.

PS3554.O884O52 1999
On The Bus With Rosa Parks: Poems.
New York: Norton, 1999.

PS3554.O844S45 1993
Selected Poems.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1993.

PS3554.O884A6 1993
Selected Poems.
New York: Vintage Books, 1993.

PS3554.O884T48 1992
Through the Ivory Gate: A Novel.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1992.

Downing, Henry F.. (1846-1928):

PR6007.O8933A5 1969
American Cavalryman: A Liberian Romance.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

DuBois, William E.B. (1868-1963):

E185.5.D78
An ABC of Color: Selections Chosen by the Author Over a Half Century of His Writings.
New York: International Publishers, 1968.

E185.97.D73A3
Autobiography of W.E.B. DuBois: A Soliloquy or Viewing My Life From the Last Decade of It's First Century.
New York: International Publishers, 1968.

HT1581.D75 1970
Black Folk: Then and Now; An Essay in the History and Sociology of the Negro Race.
New York: Octagon Books, 1970.

F128.9.A4D8
Black North in 1901: A Social Study.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

E668.D83 1935b
Black Reconstruction in America; An Essay Toward A History of the Part Which Black Folk Played in the Attempt to Reconstruct Democracy in America, 1860-1880.
New York: Russell & Russell, 1935.

E185.97.D73A4
Correspondence of W.E.B. DuBois.
Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 1973.

E185.5.D8 1969b
Darkwater: Voices From Within The Veil.
New York: AMS Press, 1969.

E185.97.D73 1968
Dusk of Dawn: An Essay Toward An Autobiography of a Race Concept.
New York: Schocken Books, 1968.

LC2801.D79 1973
Education of Black People: Ten Critiques, 1906-1960.
Amherst: University of Massachusetts, 1973.

E185.D83 1968
Gift of the Black Folk: The Negroes in the Making of America.
New York: Johnson Publishing, 1968.

Electronic Resources
John Brown: A Biography. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 1997.

HT1581.D8
Negro.
New York: Henry Holt, 1915.

E185.86.D81 1969
Negro American Family.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

E185.5.C92
The New Crisis (periodical).
Baltimore: Crisis Publishing Company, 1997.

F158.9.N3D8A25
Philadelphia Negro: A Social Study.
New York: B. Blom, 1967.

PS3507.U143Q4
Quest Of The Silver Fleece: A Novel.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

E185.97.D73A25
Selected Writings of W.E.B. DuBois.
New York: New American Library, 1970.

E185.97.D73A26
Seventh Son: The Thoughts and Writings of W.E.B. DuBois.
New York: Random House, 1971.

E185.5.D81 1968
Souls of Black Folk: Essays and Sketches.
Greenwich: Fawcett, 1968.

E441.D81 1965
Suppression of the African Slave Trade To the United States Of America, 1638-1870.
New York: Russell & Russell, 1965.

E185.96.T37
Three Negro Classics: Up From Slavery.
New York: Avon Books, 1965.

E185.5.D82
W.E.B. DuBois: A Reader.
New York: Harper & Row, 1970.

E185.86.D845 1978
W.E.B. DuBois On Sociology and the Black Community.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1970.

E185.5.D84
W.E.B. DuBois Speaks: Speeches and Addresses.
New York: Pathfinder Press, 1970.

DT21.D8 1965
World and Africa: An Inquiry into the Past Which Africa Has Played in World History.
New York: International Publishers, 1965.

E185.97.D72A2 1986
Writing.
New York: Library of America, 1986.

Dumas, Henry. (1934-1968):

PS3554.U43G6 1988
Goodbye, Sweetwater: New and Selected Stories.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1988.

Dunbar, Paul L. (1872-1906):

PS1555.A1 1967
Complete Poems of Paul Lawrence Dunbar.
New York: Dodd, Mead & Co., 1967.

PS1556.F3 1969
The Fanatics.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

Electronic Resources
Howdy, Honey, Howdy. Philadelphia; University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS1556.A4 2002
In His Own Voice: The Dramatic and Other Uncollected Works of Paul Laurence Dunbar.
Athens, Oh.: Ohio University Press, 2002.

PS1556.I5 1969
In Old Plantation Days.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

Electronic Resources
Li'L Gal. Philadelphia; University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS1556.L6 1896
Lyrics of Lowly Life.
New York: Dodd, Mead & Co., 1896.

Electronic Resources
Lyrics of Shunshine and Shadow. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS1556.S69 1969
Sports of the Gods.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

PS1556.S7 1969
Strength of Gideon, and Other Stories.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

PS1556.U5 1969
The Uncalled: A Novel.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

Electronic Resources
When Malindy Sings. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Dunbar-Nelson, Alice M. (1875-1935):

PS2459.N287G6
Goodness of St. Rocque, and Other Stories.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

PS663.N4N4 1970
Masterpieces of Negro Eloquence: The Best Speeches Delivered by the Negro From the Days of Slavery to the Present Time
. New York: Johnson Reprints, 1970.

Electronic Resources
Violets and Other Tales. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Early, Gerald. (1952- ):

E185.97.E26A3 1994
Daughters: On Family and Fatherhood.
Reading, MA.: Addison-Wesley, 1994.

PS3505.U287A6 1991
My Soul's High Song: The Collected Writings of Countee Cullin, Voice of the Harlem Renaissance.
New York: Doubleday, 1991.

Elaw, Zilpha. (1790-?):

BV3780.S57 1986
Sisters of the Spirit: Three Black Women's Autobiographies of the Nineteenth Century.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1986.

Elder, Lonne. (1931- ):

PS628.N4P3
Black Theatre: A 20th Century Collection of the Work of Its Best Playwrights.
New York: Dodd, Mead, 1971.

PS3555.L3C4
Ceremonies in Dark Old Men.
New York: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, 1969.

Ellison, Ralph. (1914- ):

PS3555.L625F58 1996
Flying Home and Other Stories.
New York: Random House, 1996.

PS3555.L625I5 1973
Invisible Man.
New York: Vintage Press, 1973.

PS3555.L625J86 1999
Juneteenth: A Novel.
New York: Random House, 1999.

5 Day Collection PS3555.L625Z85 2001
Ralph Ellison An American Journey (videorecording).
California Newsreel, 2001.

PS153.N5E4 1964
Shadow and Act.
New York: Random House, 1964.

Evans, Mari. (1923- ):

PS3555.V22I2
I Am A Black Woman.
New York: Morrow, 1970.

Fair, Ronald L. (1932- ):

PS3556.A36H6
Hog Butcher.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1966.

PS3556.A36W4
We Can't Breathe.
New York: Harper & Row, 1972.

PS3556.A36W6
World of Nothing: Two Novellas.
New York: Harper & Row, 1970.

Fanon, Frantz. (1925-1961):

GN645.F3 1967
Black Skin, White Masks.
New York: Grove Press, 1967.

DT282.F313 1967
Dying Colonialism. New York: Grove Press, 1967.

DT30.2.F3613 1988
Toward the African Revolution.
New York: Grove Press, 1988.

DT33.F3 1968
Wretched of the Earth.
New York: Grove Press, 1968.

Fauset, Jessie R. (1885-1961):

PS3511.A86C4 1969
Chinaberry Tree: A Novel of American Life.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

PS3511.A864C6 1969
Comedy American Style.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

Fisher, Rudolph. (1897-1934)

PS3511.I7436W3 1969
Walls of Jericho.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

Flowers, A.R.. (1951- ):

PS3556.L598A4 1994
Another Good Loving Blues.
New York: Ballantine Books, 1994.

Gaines, Ernest J. (1933- ):

PS3557.A355A9 1972
Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman.
New York: Bantam Books, 1972.

PS3557.A355B5 1976
Bloodline.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1976.

PS3557.A355C36 1993
Catherine Carmier: A Novel.
New York: Vintage Books, 1993.

PS3557.A355G3 1983
A Gathering of Old Men.
New York: Knopf, 1993.

PS3557.A355I5 1992
In My Father's House.
New York: Vintage Books, 1992.

PS3557.A355L47 1993
A Lesson Before Dying.
New York: Knopf, 1993.

Gates, Henry Louis. (1950- ):

E185.96.G38 2000
The African-American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped Our Country.
New York: Free Press, 2000.

REF DT14.A3743 1999
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience.
New York: Basic Civitas Books, 1999.

E185.96.B35 1991
Bearing Witness: Selections From African-American Autobiography in the 20th. Century.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1991.

PS153.N5B555 1984
Black Literature and Literary Theory.
New York: Methuen, 1984.

PS1449.C673B66 2002b
Bondwoman's Narrative.
New York: Warner Books, 2002.

PS29.G28A3 1994
Colored People: A Memoir.
New York: Knopf, 1994.

REF. CB9.D53 1997
Dictionary of Global Culture.
New York: Knopf, 1997.

N8232.M44 1990
Facing History: The Black Image In American Art, 1710-1940.
San Francisco: Bedford Arts, 1990.

E185.86.G377 1996
Future of the Race.
New York: Knopf, 1996.

PS1556.A4 2002
In His Own Voice: The Dramatic and Other Uncollected Works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. Athens: Ohio University Press, 2002.

PS1449.C673B6634 2003
In Search of Hannah Crafts: Critical Essays on the Bondwoman's Narrative.
New York: Basic Civitas, 2004.

NE2349.5.C66A4 1998
Josephine Baker and La Revue Negre: Paul Colin's lithographs of le Tumulte Noir in Paris, 1927.
New York: H.N. Abrams, 1998.

PS508.N3N67 1996
Norton Anthology of African American Literature.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1996.

KF9345.A75S67 1994
Speaking of Race, Speaking of Sex: Hate Speech, Civil Rights and Civil Liberties.
New York: New York University Press, 1994.

E185.86.G374 1997
Thirteen Ways of Looking At A Black Man.
New York: Random House, 1997.

PS3563.O8749Z9 1993
Toni Morrison: Critical Perspectives Past and Present.
New York: Amistad, 1993.

DT14.G385 1999
Wonders of the African World.
New York: Random House, 1999.

Gayle, Addison. (1932-1991):

NX512.3.N5G38
Black Aesthetic.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1971.

PS153.N5G3
Black Expression: Essays By and About Black Americans In The Creative Arts.
New York: Weybright & Talley, 1969.

E185.61.G26
Black Situation.
New York: Horizon Press, 1970.

Giovanni, Nikki. (1943- ):

PS3557.I55B6 1970
Black Feeling, Black Talk.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1970.

Archives PS3557.I55B64 1979
Black Feeling, Black Talk, Black Judgement.
New York: Morrow Quill Paperbacks, 1979.

PS3557.I55B65
Black Judgment.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1970.

PS3557.I55B68 1999
Blues For All The Changes: New Poems.
New York: William morrow, 1999.

14 Day Collection
Collected Poetry of Nikki Giovanni: 1969-1983.
New York: HarperCollins, 2003.

PS3557.I55C6
Cotton Candy on a Rainy Day: Poems.
New York: William Morrow, 1978.

PS3557.I55Z5 1972
Gemini: An Extended Autobiographical Statement on My First Twenty-Five Years of Being a Black Poet.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1972.

PS3557.I55L68 1997
Love Poems.
New York: William Morrow, 1997.

PS3557.I55M9
My House: Poems.
New York: William Morrow, 1972.

PS3557.I55Z62
Poetic Equation: Conversations Between Nikki Giovanni and Margaret Walker.
Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1974.

PS3557.I55Q46 2002
Quilting the Black-Eyed Pea: Poems and Not Quite Poems.
New York: William Morrow, 2002.

PS3557.I55Z47 1994
Racism 101.
New York: William Morrow, 1994.

PS3557.I55R4
Re-Creation.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1970.

PS3557.I55A6 1996
The Selected Poems of Nikki Giovanni.
New York: William Morrow, 1996.

PS3557.I55T5 1983
Those Who Ride The Night Winds.
New York: William Morrow, 1983.

PS3557.I55W6 1975
Women and the Men.
New York: William Morrow, 1975.

Golden, Marita. (1950- ):

PS3557.O3593A84 1992
And Do Remember Me.
New York: Doubleday, 1992.

PS3557.O3593E34 1998
Edge of Heaven.
New York: Doubleday, 1998.

PS508.N3686 2002
Gumbo: A Celebration of African American Writing.
New York: Harlem Moon/Broadway Books, 2002.

PS3557.O3593L66 1989
Long Distance Life.
New York: Doubleday, 1989.

E185.86.G3 1995
Saving our Sons: Raising Black Children in a Turbulent World.
New York: Doubleday, 1995.

Gordone, Charles. (1925-1995):

PS628.N4P3
Black Theatre: A 20th Century Collection of the Work of Its Best Playwrights.
New York: Dodd, Mead, 1971.

PS3557.O72N6
No Place To Be Somebody: A Black Black Comedy in Three Acts.
Indianapolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1969.

Goss, Linda. ( ):

GT4403.G67 1995
It's Kwanzaa Time. New York: G.P. Putnam's, 1995.

GR111.A47T35 1989
Talk That Talk: An Anthology of African-American Storytelling.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1989.

DuBois, Shirley Graham . (1906-1977):

DT107.83.D8
Gamal Abdel Nasser, Son of the Nile: A Biography.
New York: The Third Press, 1972.

E185.97.D73D82
His Day Is Marching On: A Memoir of W.E.B. DuBois.
Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1971.

Griggs, Sutton E. (1872-1933):

Electronic Resources
Friction Between the Races: Causes and Cure. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS3513.R7154I49 1969
Imperium in Imperio: A Study of the negro Race Problem; A Novel.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

Grimke, Angelina Weld. (1880-1958):

PS3513.R744R3 1969
Rachel, A Play In Three Acts.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969, c1920.

Haley, Alex. (1921-1992):

E185.97.H24A3 1993
Alex Haley's Queen: The Story Of An American Family.
New York: William Morrow, 1993.

E185.97.L5A3 1992b
Autobiography of Malcolm X.
New York: Ballantine Books, 1992.

E185.97.H24A33
Roots.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1976.

Hamilton, Virginia. (1936- ):

E185.97.D73H3 1972
W.E.B. DuBois, A Biography.
New York: T.Y. Crowell, 1972.

PZ7.H1828Ze
Zeely.
New York: Macmillan, 1967.

Hansberry, Lorraine. (1930-1965):

PS3515.A515A6 1983
Collected Last Plays.
New York: New American Library, 1983.

Resd. Cassette 89
Lorraine Hansberry Speaks Out: Art and the Black Revolution.
Caedmons Records, 1972.

RARE E185.61.H25
A Matter of Colour: Documentary of the Struggle for Racial Equality in the USA.
New York: Simon and Schuster, 1964.

E185.61.H24
The Movement: Documentary of the Struggle for Racial Equality in the USA.
New York: Penguin Press, 1965.

RESD. PS3515.A515R3
A Raisin in the Sun: A Drama in Three Acts.
New York: Random House, 1959.

RESD. PS3515.A515Z8
To Be Young, Gifted, and Black: Lorraine Hansberry In Her Own Words.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ.: Prentice-Hall, 1969.

Harper, Francis E.W. (1825-1911 ):

Electronic Resources
Atlanta Offering: Poems. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS1799.M7
Iola Leroy: Shadows Uplifted.
College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

PS1799.H7A6 1994
Minnie's Sacrifice: Sowing and Reaping; Trial and Triump.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1994.

Electronic Resources
Poems: Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Sketches of Southern Life. Philadelphia; University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Harper, Michael S.. (1938- ):

PS508.A4C49
Chants of Saints: A Gathering of Afro-American Literature, Art, and Scholarship.
Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1979.

PS3505.R833A17 1980
Collected Poems of Sterling A. Brown.
New York: Harper & Row, 1980.

PS3558.A6248D4
Dear John, Dear Coltrane.
Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1970.

PS591.N4E94 1994
Every Shut Eye Ain't Asleep: An Anthology of Poetry by African Americans Since 1945.
Boston: Little, Brown, & Co., 1994.

PS3558.A6248H5
History In Your Own Heartbeat: Poems.
Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1971.

PS3558.A6248I5
Images of Kin: New and Selected Poems.
Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1977.

RESD Cassette 726
Language of Life (A Festival of Poets). (sound recording)
New York: BDD Audio, 1995.

PS3558.A6248N5
Nightmare Begins Responsibility.
Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1974.

PS3558.A6248P5
Photographs: Negatives: History As Apple Tree.
San Francisco: Scarab Press, 1972.

Harris, E. Lynn. (1955- ):

PS508.N3G86 2002
Gumbo: A Celebration of African American Writing. New York: Harlem Books, 2002.

PS3558.A64438I58 1994
Invisible Life.
New York: Anchor Books, 1994.

PS3558.A64438J87 1994
Just As I Am: A Novel.
New York: Doubleday, 1994.

14 Day Collection
What Becomes of the Broken Hearted: A Memoir.
New York: Doubleday, 2003.

 

Haskins, James. (1941- ):

ML420.B777A3 1983
Bricktop.
New York: Atheneum, 1983.

LC2803.N5H3
Diary of A Harlem Schoolteacher.
New York: Grove Press, 1969.

TR140.V37H37
James Van Derzee, The Picture Takin' Man.
New York: Dodd, Mead, 1979.

DS61.5.H37 1985
Leaders of The Middle East.
Hillside, NJ.: Enslow Publishing, 1985.


HV3023.A3H37 1979
Quiet Revolution: The Struggle for the Rights of Disabled Americans.
New York: Crowell, 1979.

NK6030.H37
Snow Sculpture and Ice Carving.
New York: MacMillan, 1974.

GR830.W4H37
Werewolves.
New York: F. Watts, 1981.

Hayden, Robert. (1913-1980):

PE1122.H37
Afro-American Literature: An Introduction.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1971.

PS3515.A936A74
American Journal.
Taunton, MA.: Elfendi Press, 1978.

PS3515.A9363A17 1996
Collected Poems.
New York: Liveright, 1996.

PS591.N4H3
Kaleidoscope: Poems by American Negro Poets.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1967.

PS3515.A9363A6 1966
Selected Poems.
New York: October House, 1966.

PS3515.A9363W6
Words in the Mourning Time: Poems.
New York: October House, 1970.

Heard, Nathan C. (1936- ):

PS3558.E25H6
Howard Street: A Novel.
New York: Dial Press, 1968.

Henson, Josiah. (1789-1883):

E450.F8 1969 v.1
An Autobiography of the Reverend Josiah Henson.
Reading, MA.: Addison-Wesley, 1969.

E450.F75
Four Fugitive Slave Narratives.
Reading, MA.: Addison-Wesley, 1969.

Hercules, Frank. (1917- ):

E185.H5
American Society and Black Revolution.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1972.

Hernton, Calvin C.. (1934- ):

E185.61.H53
White Papers For White Americans.
Garden City, NJ.: Doubleday, 1966.

Himes, Chester B. (1909-1984):

PS3515.I713B55
Blind Man With A Pistol.
New York: William Morrow, 1969.

PS3558.I544C3 1973
Cast The first Stone: A Novel.
Chatham, NJ.: Chatham Booksellers, 1973.

PS3515.I713C67
Cotton Comes to Harlem.
New York: Putnam Publishing, 1965.

Hooks, Bell. (1955- ):

HQ1426.H66
Ain't I A Woman: Black Women and Feminism.
Boston: South End Press, 1981.

TR654.S46 1995
Andres Serrano: Body and Soul.
New York: Takarsjima Books, 1995.

N6537.H585A2 1995
Art on my Mind: Visual Politics.
New York: New Press, 1995.

E185.86.H734 1992
Black Looks: Race and Representation.
Boston: South End Press, 1992.

E185.97.H77A3 1996
Bone Black: Memoirs of Girlhood.
New York: Henry Holt, 1996.

E185.86.H735 1991
Breaking Bread: Insurgent Black Intellectual Life.
Boston: South End Press, 1991.

N6537.A469A42 1994
Emma Amos: Changing the Subject, Paintings and Prints 1992-1994.
New York: Art in General, 1994.

HQ1190.H67 2000
Feminism for Everybody: Passionate Politics.
Cambridge, MA.: South End Press, 2000.

HQ1426.H675 1984
Feminist Theory From Margin to Center.
Boston: South End Press, 1984.

E185.615.H645 1995
Killing Rage: Ending Racism.
New York: Holt & Co., 1995.

E185.86.H737 1994
Outlaw Culture: Resisting Representations.
New York: Routledge, 1994.

E185.625.H66 2003
Rock My Soul: Black People and Self-Esteem.
New York: Atria Books, 2003.

E185.86.H74 1989
Talking Back: Thinking Feminist, Think Black.
Boston: South End Press, 1989.

LC196.H66 1994
Teaching To Gransgress: Education As the Practice of Freedom.
New York: Routledge, 1994.

PS3558.O55W6 1993
A Woman's Mourning Song.
New York: Harlem River Press, 1993.

E185.97.H77A3 1997
Wounds of Passion: A Writing Life.
New York: Henry Holt, 1997.

E185.86.H742 1990
Yearning: Race, Gender, and Cultural Politics.
Boston: South End Press, 1990.

Hopkins, Pauline E.

Electronic Resources
Contending Forces: A Romance Illustrative of Negro Life North and South. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Hagar's Daughter: A Story of Southern Caste Prejudice. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Hughes, Langston. (1902-1967):

PR9799.H8 1961
An African Treasury: Articles, Essays, Stories, and Poems.
New York: Pyramid Books, 1961.

PZ1.H849Be
Best Short Stories by Negro Writers: An Anthology From 1899 to the Present.
Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1967.

PS3515.U274B4
Best of Simple.
New York: Hill & Wang, 1961.

PS3515.U274Z5 1963
Big Sea: An Autobiography.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1963.

OVER PN2266.H75
Black Magic: A Pictorial History of the Negro In American Entertainment.
Englewood Cliffs: NJ.: Prentice-Hall, 1967.

OVER PS3515.U274B6 1995
The Block: Poems. New York: Viking Press, 1995.

GR103.H74
Book of Negro Folklore.
New York: Dodd, Mead & Co., 1958.

PS3515.U274A17 1994
Collected Poems of Langston Hughes.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1994.

Electronic Resources
Collected Works of Langston Hughes.
Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2002.

PS3515.U274A19 1963
Five Plays.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1963.

PS3515.U274G6 1973
Good Morning Revolution: Uncollected Social Protest Writings.
New York: L. Hill, 1973.

PS3515.U274Z58 1964
I Wonder As I Wander: An Autobiographical Journey.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1964.

PS3515.U274A6 1958
Langston Hughes Reader.
New York: George Braziller, 1958.

Electronic Resources
Let America Be American Again, and Other Poems. New York: Vintage Books, 2004.

PS591.N4H8
New Negro Poets U.S.A.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1964.

Electronic Resources
Novels Not Without Laughter and Tambourines to Glory.
Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2001.

PS3515.U274P3
Panther and Lash: Poems of Our Times.
New York: Knopf, 1967.


OVER E185.H83 1968
Pictorial History of the Negro in America. 3rd. revised edition.
New York: Crown Publishers, 1968.

PN6109.7.H8 1970
Poetry of the Negro.
New York: Doubleday, 1970.

PS3515.U274Z598 2001
Remember Me To Harlem: The Letters of Langston Hughes and Carll Van Vechten, 1925-1964.
New York: Random House, 2001.

PS3515.U274A6 1994
Return of Simple.
New York: Hill & Wang, 1994.

PS3515.U274A6 1959
Selected Poems.
New York: Knopf, 1959.

PS3515.U274A6 1993
Selected Poems of Langston Hughes.
New York: Knopf, 1993.

PS3515.U274S6
Simple's Uncle Sam.
New York: Hill & Wang, 1965.

RESD. Cassette 77
Simpleseven Stories From the Best of Simple and Simple's Uncle Sam.
Caedmon Records, 1968.

F128.9.N3D4 1967
Sweet Flypaper of Life.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1967.

Electronic Resources
Works for Children and Young Adult Biographies.
Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2001.

Hunter, Kristin (1931- ):

PS3558.U45G6
God Bless The Child.
New York: Scribner's, 1964.

Hurston, Zora Neale. (1901-1960):

PS3515.U789Z5 1969
Dust Tracks On A Road.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

GR55.H86A3 1995
Folklore, Memoirs, and Other Writings.
New York: Library of America, 1995.

PS3515.U789M6 1984
Moses Man of the Mountain.
Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1984.

PS3515.U789A6 1995
Novels and Stories.
New York: Library of America, 1995.

PS3515.U789T49 1969
Their Eyes Were Watching God: A Novel. New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

PS3515.U789Z48 2002
Zora Neale Hurston: A Life in Letters.
New York: Doubleday, 2002.

Jacobs, Harriet A. (1813-1897):

E444.J17A3 1987
Incidents In The Life of a Slave Girl: Written by Herself. Cambridge,MA.: Harvard University Press, 1987.

Electronic Resources
Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave.
New York: Modern Library, 2000.

Joans, Ted. (1928- ):

PS3560.O2A7
Afrodisia: New Poems.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1970.

PS3560.O2B48
Black Manifesto in Jazz, Poetry and Prose.
London: Calder & Boyars, 1971.

PS3560.O2Br
Black Pow-Wow: Jazz Poems.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1969.

Johnson, Charles R. (1948- ):

PS3560.O3735D7 1998
Dreamer: A Novel.
New York: Scribners, 1998.

E185.97.K5J57 2000
King: The Photography of Martin Luther King, Jr.
New York: Viking Studios, 2000.

PS3560.O3735M5 1990
Middle Passage. New York:
Atheneum Press, 1990.

PS3560.O3735O96 1982
Oxherding Tale.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1982

Johnson, James Weldon. (1871-1938):

E185.97.J69
Along This Way: The Autobiography of James Weldon Johnson.
New York: Viking Press, 1933.

PS3519.O2625A8 1927a
Autobiography of An Ex-Coloured Man.
Garden City, NJ.: Garden City Publishing, 1927.

F128.9.N3J67 1968
Black Manhattan.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

PS591.N4J6
Book of American Negro Poetry.
New York: Harcourt, Brace & Co., 1922.

PS3519.O2625G6 1927
God's Trombones: Seven Negro Sermons in Verse.
New York: Viking Press, 1927.

E185.96.T37
Three Negro Classics: Up From Slavery.
New York: Avon Books, 1965.

Jordan, June. (1936- ):

PS3560.O73H37 1994
Haruko: Love Poems.
New York: High Risk Books, 1994.

PS301.J86 1995
June Jordan's Poetry For The People: A Revolutionary Blueprint.
New York: Routledge, 1995.

PS3560.O73L5 1985
Living Room: New Poems.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1985.

PS3560.O73P3 1980
Passion: New Poems, 1977-1980.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1980.

PS3560.O73S6
Some Changes.
New York: E.P. Dutton, 1971.

PS591.N4J65
Soulscript: Afro-American Poetry.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1970.

E169.12.J657 1992
Technical Difficulties: African-American Notes on the State of the Union.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1992.

PS3560.O73W5
Who Look At Me.
New York: Thomas J. Crowell, 1969.

Kaufman, Bob. (1925-1986):

PS3561.A84A8
Ancient Rain: Poems.
New York: New Directions, 1981.

PS3561.A84G6
Cranial Guitar: Selected Poems.
Minneapolis: Coffee House Press, 1996.

PS3561.A84G6
Golden Sardine.
San Francisco: City Lights Books, 1967.

PS3561.A726S6
Solitudes Crowded With Lonliness.
New York: New Directions, 1965.

Keckley, Elizabeth. (1824-1907):

E457.15.K26 1968
Behind the Scenes: Thirty Years A Slave and Four Years in the White House.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

Kelley, William M. (1937- ):

PS3561.E392D4
Dem.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1967.

PS3561.E392D5
Different Drummer.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1962.

PS3561.E392D8
Dunford Travels Everywhere.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1970.

Kenan, Randall. (1963- ):

PS3561.E4228L48 1992
Let The Dead Bury Their Dead and Other Stories.
San Diego: Harcourt, Brace, 1992.

F347.M6M38 1996
A Time Not Here: The Mississippi Delta.
Santa Fe: Twins Palms Publishing, 1996.

E185.615.K375 1999
Walking On Water: Black American Lives At The Turn Of The 21st. Century.
New York: Knopf, 1999.


Killens, John O. (1916- ):

E185.61.K487
Black Man's Burden.
New York: Trident Press, 1955.

Kincaid, Jamaica: (1949- ):

OVER PR9275.A585K5633 1989
Annie, Gwen, Lilly, Pam, and Tulip.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1989.

PR9275.A583K5634 1986
Annie John.
New York: Plume/Penguin, 1986.

PR9275.A585K5635 2000
At The Bottom Of The River.
New York: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, 2000.

PR9275.A583K5636 1996
Autobiography of My Mother.
New York: Farrar Straus Giroux, 1996.

PR9275.A583Z63 2000
Jamaica Kincaid (Videorecording); In Conversation With William Gass.
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 2000

PR9275.A583K5638 1990
Lucy. New York: Farrar, Straus,& Giroux, 1990.

PR9275.A583K5639 1997
My Brother.
New York: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, 1997.

SB455.K98 1999
My Garden (Book).
New York: Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, 1999.

OVER TR660.5.G44 1998
Poetics of Place.
New York: Umbrage Editions, 1998.

King, Martin L. (1929-1968):

E185.97.K5A52 1998
The Autobiography of Martin luther King Jr.
New York: Warner Books, 1998.

E185.97.K5A5 2001
A Call to Conscience: The Landmark Speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
New York: Warner Books, 2001.

RIT E185.97.K53 1969
I Have A Dream: A Speech In Defense of Freedom and Justice For All.
Rochester, NY.: Press of the good Mountain, 1968.

Electronic Resources
I Have A Dream.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
I've Been to the Mountaintop.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Letter From the Birmingham Jail.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

BT703.K5 1968
Measure of a Man.
Philadelphia: Pilgrim Press, 1958.

Electronic Resources
Selected Works.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

BX6425.K5
Strength To Love.
New York: Harper and Row, 1963.

E185.89.T8K5 1986
Stride Toward Freedom: The Montgomery Story.
San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1986.

E185.97.K5A25 1986
Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings of Martin Luther King, Jr..
San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1986.

E185.97.K5A25 1966
Trumpet of Conscience.
New York: Harper and Row, 1968.

E185.615.K5
Where Do We Go From Here: Chaos or Community?
New York: Harper and Row, 1967.

E185.61.K54
Why We Can't Wait.
New York: Harper and Row, 1964.

King, Woodie. (1937- ):

PS628.N4K5
Black Drama Anthology.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1972.

E185.615.K53
Black Poets and Prophets.
New York: New American Library, 1972.

PS647.A4K5
Black Short Story Anthology.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1972.

PS591.N4K5
Forerunners: Black Poets in America.
Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1975.

Knight, Etheridge. (1931-1991):

PS3561.N45B4
Belly Song and Other Poems.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1973.

PS508.N3K6
Black Voices From Prison.
New York: Pathfinder Press, 1970.

PS3561.N45P6
Poems From Prison.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1968.

Komunyakaa, Yusef. (1947- ):

PS595.J34 1991
Jazz Poetry Anthology.
Bloomington, IN.: Indiana University Press, 1991.

PS3561.O455M34 1992
Magic City. Middletown, CT.: Wesleyan University Press, 1992.

PS595.J34S43
The Second Set: Jazz Poetry Anthology, v.2.
Bloomington, IN.: Indiana University Press, 1996.

PS3561.O455Z97 1999
Yusef Komunyakaa (Videorecording); In Converstation With Toi Derricotte.
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1999.

Larsen, Nella. (1891-1964):

PS3523.A7225P3 1969
Passing.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

PS3523.A7225 1969
Quicksand.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

Lawrence, Jacob. (1917- ):

PA3855.E5L36 1997
Aesop's Fables.
Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1997.

ND237.L29A4 1993
Great Migration: An American Story.
New York: Museum of Modern Art, 1993.

ND1839.L36B76
Jacob Lawrence.
New York Whitney Museum of Modern Art, 1974.

ND237.L29A4 1986
Jacob Lawrence: American Painter.
Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1986.

NC139.L37A4 1996
Jacob Lawrence: Drawings, 1945-1996.
New York: D.C. Moore Gallery, 1996.

N6537.L384A4 2000
Jacob Lawrence: Paintings, Drawings, and Murals (1935-1999): A Catalog Raisonne.
Seattle: University Of Washington Press, 2000.

Locke, Alain L. (1885-1954):

ML3556.L6N4 1968
Negro and His Music.
Port Washington, NY.: Kennikat Press, 1968.

ML3556.L6N4 1969
Negro and His Music: Negro Art, Past and Present.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

N6538.N5A39
Negro Artist Comes of Age.
Albany: Albany Institute of History and Art, 1945.

N6538.N5L6 1971
Negro In Art: A Pictorial Record Of The Negro Artist and The Negro Theme in Art.
New York: Hacker Art Books, 1971.

E185.82.L75 1968
The New Negro: An Interpretation.
New York: Johnson Publishing, 1968.

Lorde, Audre. (1934- ):

PS3562.O75B55 1978
Black Unicorn: Poems.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1978.

RC280.B8L58 1992
The Cancer Journals.
San Francisco: Aunt Lute Books, 1992.

PS3562.O75S5 1984
Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches.
Trumansburg, NY.: Crossing Press, 1984.

PS3562.O75Z23 1997
Zami, A New Spelling Of My Name.
Freedom, CA.: Crossing Press, 1997.

McKay, Claude. (1890-1948):


PS3525.A24785B29 1970
Banana Bottom.
Chatham, NJ.: Chatham Booksellers, 1970.

PS3525.A24785B3
Banjo: A Story Without a Plot.
New York: Harper and Brothers, 1929.

PS3525.A24785H6
Home to Harlem.
New York: Harper and Brothers, 1928.

PS3525.A24785A6 1973
Passion of Claude McKay: Selected Poetry and Prose, 1912-1948.
New York: Schocken Books, 1973.

McKenzie, Chandra. (1955- ):

PS3563.A31588I55 1983
Implications.
Rochester, NY.: Sympatico Press, 1983.

PS3563.A31588I5 1986
In A Quandry.
Rochester, NY.: Sympatico Press, 1986.

McMillan, Terry. (1951- ):

PS3563.C3868D3 2001
A Day Late and A Dollar Short.
New York: Viking, 2001.

PS3563.C3868H68 1996
How Stella Got Her Groove Back.
New York: Viking Press, 1996.

PS3563.C3868M3 1987b
Mama.
New York: Washington Square Press, 1987.

PS3563.C3868W35 1992
Waiting to Exhale.
New York: Viking Press, 1992.

Videorecording ETC VH 1418
Waiting to Exhale.
Beverly Hills: Fox Video, 1996.

McPherson, James A.. (1943- ):

PS3563.A325 1977
Elbow Room: Stories.
Boston: Little, Brown, & Co., 1977.

PS3563.A325H8
Hue and Cry: Short Stories.
Boston: Little, Brown, & Co., 1969.

Madhubuti, Haki R. (1942- ):

E185.86.M33 1990
Black Men: Obsolete, Single, Dangerous?: Afrikan American Families in Transition.
Chicago: Third World Press, 1990.

PS3563.A3397D5
Directionscore: Selected and New Poems.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1971.

PS3563.A3397D6
Don't Cry: Scream.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1969.

PS310.N4M33 v.1
Dynamite Voices.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1971.

E185.86.M54 1996
Million Man March: Day of Absence.
Chicago: Third World Press, 1996.

PS509.B7T6
To Gwen With Love; An Anthology Dedicated To Gwendolyn Brooks.
Chicago: Johnson Publishing, 1971.

PS3563.A3397W4
We Walk the Way of the New World.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1970.

F869.L857W5 1993
Why L.A. Happened: Implications of the '92 Los Angeles Rebellion.
Chicago: Third World Press, 1993.

Major, Clarence. (1936- ):

PS647.A35C35 1992
Calling the Wind: 20th Century African American Short Stories.
New York: HarperPerennial, 1992.

PS3563.A39C59 1998
Configurations: New and Selected Poems, 1958-1998.
Port Townsend, WA.: Copper Canyon Press, 1998.

PS3563.A39C6
Cotton Club: New Poems.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1972.

REF. PE3727.N4M3
Dictionary of Afro-American Slang.
New York: International Publishers, 1970.

PS591.N4G37 1996
The Garden Thrives: Twentieth Centry African-American Poetry.
New York: HarperPerennial, 1996.

PS3563.A39M9 1966
My Amputations: A Novel.
New York: Fiction Collective, Inc., 1966.

PS591.N4M3
New Black Poetry.
New York: International Publishers, 1969.

PS3563.A39R4
Reflex and Bone Structure.
New York: Fiction Collective, Inc., 1975.

PS3563.A39S8 1987
Such Was the Season: A Novel.
San Francisco: Mercury House, 1987.

PS3563.A39S9
Swallow the Lake.
Middletown, CT.: Wesleyan University Press, 1970.

Marshall, Paule. (1929- ):

PS3563.A7223B7 1972
Brown Girl, Brownstones.
Chatham, NJ.: Chatham Booksellers, 1972.

PS3563.A7223C5
Chosen Place, The Timeless People.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Janovich, 1969.

PS3563.A7223D38 1992
Daughters.
New York: Plume Books, 1992.

PS3563.A7223Z745 1994
Paule Marshall (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1994.

PS3563.A7223P7 1983
Praisesong For The Widow.
New York: Putnam, 1983.

Matthews, Victoria E. (1861-1907):

E185.6.W3 1969
Black-Belt Diamonds: Gems From the Speeches, Addresses, and Talks to Students of Booker T. Washington.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

Mayfield, Julian. (1928- ):

PS3563.A953L6
Long Night.
New York: Vanguard Press, 1958.

Mays, Benjamin. (1895-1984):

BR563.N4M3 1969b
Negro's Church.
New York: Negro University Press, 1969.

PS153.N5M3 1969b
Negro's God As Reflected In His Literature.
New York: Atheneum, 1969.

Micheaux, Oscar. (1884-1951):

VH 2492
African American Cinema: Oscar Micheaux's Within Our Gates (Videorecording).
New York: Unapix Consumer Products, 1995.

VH 1922
Body and Soul ( Videorecording). New York: Kino on Video, 1998.

E185.97.M62 1969
Conquest: The Story Of A negro Pioneer. College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

PS3525.I1875H6
Homesteader: A Novel. College Park, MD.: McGrath Publishing, 1969.

ETC VH1193
Midnight Ramble. Alexandria: PBS Video, 1994.

Electronic Resources
Straight Lick: The Cinema of Oscar Micheaux. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2000.

Miller, Kelly. (1863-1939):

D523.M46 1969
Kelly Miller's History of the World War for Human Rights.
New York: Negro Universities Press,1969.


E185.M66 1968
Race Adjustments And the Everlasting Stain.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

E185.M66 1968b
Radicals and Conservatives, And Other Essays On the Negro In America.
New York: Schocken Books, 1968.

Mitchell, Loften. (1919- ):

PS338.N4M5
Black Drama: The Story of the American Negro In the Theatre.
New York: Hawthorn Books, 1967.

Moody, Anne. (1940- ):

E185.97.M65A3
Coming Of Age In Mississippi.
New York: Dial Press, 1968.

Morrison, Toni. (1931- ):

RESD. PS3563.O8749B4 1987
Beloved: A Novel.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1987.

PS3563.O8749B4 1998
Beloved: A Novel.
New York: Knopf, 1998.

PS3563.O8749B55
Bluest Eye: A Novel.
New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1970.

PS3563.O8749B55 1998
Bluest Eye: A Novel.
New York: Knopf, 1998.

PS3563.)8749B55 1999
Bluest Eye: A Novel.
Philadelphia: Chelsea House, 1999.

PS3563.O8749Z655 2000
Circles of Sorrow, Lines of Struggle: The Novels of Toni Morrison.
Baton Rogue: Louisana State University Press, 2000.

PS3563.O8749Z464 1994
Conversations With Toni Morrison. Jackson: University of Mississippi Press, 1994.

RESD. PS3563.O8749J38 1992
Jazz.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1992.

14 Day Collection
Love Love.
New York: Knopf, 2003.

PS3563.O8749P37 1998
Paradise.
New York: Random House, 1998.


RESD. KF8745.T48R33 1992
Race-ing Justice, En-gendering Power: Essays On Anita hill, Clarence Thomas, and the Construction of Social Reality.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1992.

PS3563.O8749S6
Song Of Solomon.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1977.

RESD. PS3563.O8749S8
Sula.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1974.

PS3563.O8749T37 1981
Tar Baby.
New York: Alfred Knopf, 1981.

Murray, Albert. (1916- ):

NX512.3.A35M87 1996
Blue Devils Of Nada: A Contemporary American Approach to Aesthetic Statement.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1996.

E185.M9 1970
Omni Americans.
New York: Outerbridge & Dienstfrey, 1996.

N6537.B4G46 1997
Romare Bearden in Black and White: Photomontage Projections, 1964.
New York: H.N. Abrams, 1997.

F216.2.M87
South To A Very Old Place.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1971.

Myers, Walter D.. (1937):

OVER PS3563.Y48H37 1997
Harlem: A Poem.
New York: Scholastic Press, 1997.

PR830.R4M8 1973
The Later Realism: A Study of Characterization in the British Novel. Plainview, NY: Books for Libraries Press, 1973

REF E185.M97 1995
One More River To Cross: An African American Photograph Album.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, 1995.

Naylor, Gloria. (1950- ):

PS3564.A895B3 1992
Bailey's Cafe.
New York: Harcourt, Brace & Janovich, 1992.

PS3564.A895L5 1986
Linden Hills.
New York: Penguin Books, 1986.

PS3564.A895M3 1993
Mama Day.
New York: Vintage Books, 1993.

PS3564.A895W6 1983
Women of Brewster Place.
New York: Penguin Books, 1983.

Noble, Gil. (1932- ):

PN1992.4.N6A33
Black is the Color of My T.V. Tube.
Secausus, NJ.: Lyle Stuart, 1981.

Ottley, Roi. (1906-1960):

F128.9.N3O74
Negro In New York: An Informal Social History.
New York: New York Public Library, 1967.

F128.9.N3O74 1969
Negro in New York: An Informal Social History, 1626-1940.
New York: Praeger, 1969.

F128.9.N3O75 1968
New World A-Coming.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

Parks, Gordon. (1912- ):

PS3566.A73A89 1994
Arias in Silence.
Boston: Little, Brown, 1994.

OVER TR680.P25
Camera Portraits, The Techniques and Principles of Documentary Portraiture.
New York: F. Watts, 1948.

RESD. Phonodisc 158
Choice of Weapons.
Scholastic Records, 1970.

TR605.P33
Flash Photography.
New York., 1947.

PS3566.A73O57 1996
Glimpses Toward Infinity.
Boston: Little, Brown, 1996.

VH 540E
Gordon Parks and William S. McIntosh (Videorecording).
Rochester, NY.: Eastman Kodak, 1989.

TR646.U6M376 1983
Gordon Parks Collection.
Manhattan, KS.: Kansas State University,Department of Art, 1983.

TR654.P33 1971
Gordon Parks: Whispers of Intimate Things.
New York: Viking Press, 1971.

TR140.P35P35 1997
Half Past Autumn: A Retrospective.
Boston: Bulfinch Press, 1997.

TR140.P37P37 1997
Harlem: Gordon Parks; The Artist's Annotations On City Revisited in Two Classic Photographic Essays.
Toronto: Lumiere Press, 1997.

PS3566.A7315
In Love.
Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott, 1971.

PS3566.A73L4
Learning Tree.
New York: Harper and Row, 1963.

TR654.Y3 1998
Light & Shadow: The Photographs of Claire Yaffa.
New York: Aperture, 1998.

TR820.5.P258 1999
Midway; Portraits of a Daytona Beach Neighborhood: Photographs by Gordon Parks.
Daytona Beach, FL.: Southeast Museum of Photography at Daytona Beach Community College, 1999.

OVER TR654.P297 1975
Moments Without Proper Names.
New York: Viking Press, 1975.

TR647.P37 1983
Photographs of Gordon Parks.
Wichita, KS.: Edwin a. Ulrich Museum of Art, 1983.

TR654.P3
Poet and His Camera.
New York: Viking Press, 1968.

PS3566.A73S73 2000
A Star for Noon: An Homage To Women in Images, Poetry, and Music.
Boston: Bulfinch Press Book, 2000.

TR140.P35A34 1979
To Smile in Autumn: A Memoir.
New York: W.W. Norton, 1979.

TR140.P35A3 1990
Voices in the Mirror: An Autobiography.
New York: Doubleday, 1990.

Patterson, Lillie. (1920- ):

E185.97.K5P29 1989
Martin Luther King, Jr. And The Freedom Movement.
New York: Facts on File, 1989.

Patterson, Lindsay ( ):

OVER PN2226.P3 1968
Anthology of the American Negro In The Theatre: A Critical Approach.
New York: Publishers Company, 1968.

PS628.N4P3
Black Theater; A 20th Century Collection of the Work Of Its Best Playwrights.
New York: Dodd, Mead, 1971.

OVER PS508.N3P3
An Introduction To Black Literature In America, From 1746 to the Present.
New York: Publishers Company, 1968.

Payne, Daniel A.. (1811-1893):

BX8443.P28 1969
History of the African Methodist Episcopal Church.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

BX8443.P3A3 1968
Recollection of Seventy Years.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

Petry, Ann. (1911- ):

PS3531.E933C6
Country Place.
Boston: Houghton-Mifflin, 1947.

PS3531.E933S75
The Street.
Boston: Houghton-Mifflin, 1946.

Pharr, Robert D. (1916- ):

PS3566.H33S2
S.R.O.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1971.

Plumpp, Sterling. (1940- ):

PS3566.L79M6 1982
MoJo Hands Call, I Must Go.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1982.

PR9364.9.S6 1982
Somehow We Survive: An Anthology of South African Writing.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1982

Porter, Dorothy. (1905-1995):

PS508.N3P6
Early Negro Writing, 1760-1837.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1971.

Rampersad, Arnold. (1941- ):

PS3507.U147Z85
Art and Imagination of W.E.B. DuBois.
Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1976.

PS3515.U274A17 1994
Collected Poems Of Langston Hughes.
New York: Knopf, 1994.

GV994.A7A3 1993
Days of Grace: A Memoir.
New York: Knopf, 1993.

GV865.R6R34 1997
Jackie Robinson: A Biography.
New York: Knopf, 1997.

PS3515.U274Z698 1986
Life of Langston Hughes.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.

Randall, Dudley. (1914- ):

PS591.N4R352
The Black Poets.
New York: Bantam, 1971.

Redding, J. Saunders. (1906-1988):

E185.61.R298
The Lonesome Road; The Story of the Negro's Part In America.
New York: Doubleday, 1958.

E185.R42
The Negro.
Washington, D.C.: Potomac Books, 1967.

PS508.N3N48 1991
The New Cavalcade: African American Writing From 1700-to the Present.
Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1991.

E185.61.R3
On Being Negro In America.
Indianpolis: Bobbs-Merrill, 1951.

PS3568.E33S75 1969
Stranger and Alone, A Novel.
New York: Harper & Row, 1969.

E185.R4
They Came In Chains; Americans From Africa.
Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1950.

Redmond, Eugene. (1937- ):

PS310.A4R4
Drumvoices: The Mission of Afro-American Poetry; A Critical History.
Garden City, N.Y.: Anchor Press, 1976.

PS3554.U43G6 1988
Goodbye Sweetwater: New & Selected Stories.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1988.

Reed. Ishmael. (1938- ):

PS648.S5B44 1992
Before Columbus Foundation Fiction Anthology: Selections From the American Book Awards, 1980-1990.
New York: Norton, 1992.

PS3568.E365F5
Flight to Canada.
New York: Random house, 1976.

PS3568.E365F7
Free-Lance Pallbearers.
New York: Doubleday, 1967.

PS613.F76 2003
From Totems to Hip-Hop.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 2003.

PS3568.E365Z765 1989
Ishmael Reed (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1989.

PS3568.E365M8
Mumbo Jumbo.
New York: Doubleday, 1972.

PS3568.E365T4 1982
Terrible Twos.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1982.

PN6099.W44 1991
Where Poems Come From (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1989.

PS3568.E365Y4
Yellow Back Radio Broke Down.
New York: Doubleday, 1969.

Sanchez, Sonia. (1935- ):

PS3569.A468B5
Blues Book For Blue Black Magical Women.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1974.

PS3569.A468H6
Home Coming: Poems.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1969.

PS3569.A468H64 1984
Homegirls and Handgrenades.
New York: Thunder's Mouth Press, 1984.

PS3569.A468L6
Love Poems.
New York: Third Press, 1973.

PS3569.A468Z79 1990
Sonia Sanchez (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1990.

PS3569.A468W4
We a BaddDDD People.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1970.

Schuyler, George S.. (1895-1977):

PN4874.S35A3
Black and Conservative: The Autobiography of George S. Schuyler.
New Rochelle: Arlington House, 1966.

PS3537.C76B59 1969
Black No More: Being An Account Of The Strange and Wonderful Workings of Science In the Land Of the Free, A.D. 1933-1940.
College Park, MD.: McGrath, 1969.

PS3537.C76S55 1969
Slaves Today: A Story of Liberia.
College Park, MD.: McGrath, 1969.

Shange, Ntozake. (1948- ):

PS3569.H3324B4 1985
Betsey Brown: A Novel.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1985.

RARE TR681.M4M36 1986
Black Book.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1986.

TR681.A33B37 1980
Black Borders.
New York: A. Barboza, 1980.

PS3569.H3324F6 1989
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide, When The Rainbow Is Enuf.
New York: Collier Books, 1989.

PS3569.H3324S2 1982
Sassafrass, Cypress and Indigo: A Novel.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1982.


Shockley, Ann Allen.
(1927- ):

REF. PS508.N3A36 1988
Afro-American Women Writers, 1746-1933: An Anthology and Critical Guide.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1988.

REF. PS153.N5S5
Living Black American Authors.
New York: R.R. Bowker, 1973.

Sims, Naomi. (1949- ):

E185.86.S58 1982
All About Success for the Black Woman.
New York: Doubleday. 1982.

Smith, William G.. (1927-1974):

E185.61.S657
Return To Black America.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ.: Prentice-Hall, 1970.

PS3537.M8682S8
Stone Face, A Novel.
New York: Farrar, Straus, 1963.

Soyinka, Wole. (1934- ):

PR9387.9.S6Z462 1981
Ake: The Years of Childhood.
New York: Random House, 1981.

PR9387.9.S6A88 1993
Art, Dialogue, and Outrage: Essays on Literature and Culture.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1993.

DT30.5.S697 1999
The Burden of Memory, The Use of Forgiveness.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.

PR9387.9.S6Z464 2001
Conversations With Wole Soyinka. Jackson: University Of Mississippi, 2001.

PR9387.9.S6D4 2003
Death and the King's Horseman. New York: Norton, 2003.

PR6069.O9
Forest of a Thousand Daemons: A Hunter's Saga.
London: Nelson, 1968.

PR9387.9.S6Z89 2001
Ibadan: The Penkelemes Years: A Memoir, 1946-65. London: Methuen, 2001.

PR6069.O913 1968
Idandre and Other Poems.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1968.

PR9387.9.S6168 1972
Interpreters.
New York: Africana Publishers, 1972.

PR9387.9.S6J4 1992
Jero Plays. London: Methuen, 1992.

PR6069.O9K6
Kongi's Harvest.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1979.

PR6069.O9L5
Lion and the Jewel: A Play.
London: Oxford University Press, 1969.

PR9387.9.S6M3 1972
Madmen and Specialists, A Play.
New York: Hill and Wang, 1972.

PR9387.9.S6Z47 1988
Man Died: The Prison Notes Of Wole Soyinka.
New York: Noonday Press, 1988.

PL8010.S64
Myth, Literature, And The African World.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1976.

Resd PR9387.9.S6Z473 1997
The Open Sores Of A Continent. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.

PR9387.9.S6S34 2002
Samarkand and Other Markets I Have Known. London: Methuen, 2002.

PR6069.O9S9 1969
Three Short Plays: The Swamp Dwellers, The Trials of Brother Jero, And The Strong Bred.
London: Oxford University Press, 1969.

VH 1181
Wole Soyinka.
London: ICA, 1989.

Steele, Shelby. (1946- ):

E185.615.S723 1990
Content of Our Character: A New Vision of Race In America.
New York: St. Martin's Press, 1990.

Taylor, Susie King (1848- ?):

E492.94 33d.T3 1968
Reminiscences of My Life In Camp.
New York: Arno Press, 1968.

Thurman, Wallace. (1902-1934):

PS3539.H957B55 1969
Blacker the Berry.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

NX60.F5 1968
Fire: Devoted To Younger Negro Artists.
New York: Kraus Reprints, 1968.

Thomas, Piri. (1928- ):

F128.9.P8T5
Down These Mean Streets.
New York: Knopf, 1967.

F128.9.P85T5
Savior,Savior, Hold My Hand.
Garden City, NY.: Doubleday, 1972.

Tolson, Melvin B.:

PS3539.O334G3
A Gallery of Harlem Portraits. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1979.

Toomer, Jean (1894-1967):

PS3539.O478C3 1967
Cane. New York: University Place Press, 1967.

Troupe, Quincy. (1943- ):

PN6014.G38
Giant Talk: An Anthology of Third World Writings.
New York: Random House, 1975

PS3552.A45Z73 1989
James Baldwin: The Legacy.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1989.

PS3553.L45Z345 vol. 1
Lucille Clifton (Videorecording) In Conversation With Quincy Troupe.
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1996.

ML419.D39A3 1989
Miles, The Autobiography.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1989.

PS3570.R63W4 1991
Weather Report: New and Selected Poems.
New York: Harlem River Press, 1991.

Tutuola, Amos. (1920- ):

PR9387.9.T8M9 1970
My Life In The Bush of Ghosts.
New York: Grove Press, 1970.

PR6070.U8P3 1953
Palm-Wine Drinkard and His Dead Palm-Wine Tapster in the Deads Tour.
New York: Grove Press, 1953.

Van Dyke, Henry. (1852-1933 ):

Electronic Resources
Americanism of Washington.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Blue Flower.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS3117.C6 1970
Counsels By The Way.
Freeport, N.Y.: Books for Libraries, 1970.

Electronic Resources
Days Off and Other Digressions.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS3117.F5 1899
Fisherman's Luck and Some Other Uncertain Things.
New York: Scribners, 1899.

PS3116.W4 1900
Friendly Year.
New York: Scribners, 1900.

Electronic Resources
Little Rivers: A Book of Essays in Profitable Idleness.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Lost Word.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Mansion.
Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Music, And Other Poems. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

PS3117.P6 1911
Poems of Henry Van Dyke.
New York: Scribners, 1911.

PS3116.A2 1901
The Ruling Passion: Tales of Nature and Human Nature.
New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1901.

PS3117.S7 1903
The Story of the Other Wise Man.
New York: Harper & Bros., 1903.

PS3116.M5
Van Dyke Book.
New York: Scribners, 1905.

Electronic Resources
The White Bees and Other Poems. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
The Whole Family: A Novel by Twelve Authors. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Walker, Alice. (1944- ):

PS3573.A425Z892 1989
Alice Walker (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1989.

PS3578.A425B45 1997
Anything We Love Can be Saved: A Writer's Activism.
New York: Random House, 1997.

PS3573.A425B9 1998
By The Light Of My Father's Smile: A Novel.
New York: Random House, 1998.

PS3573.A425C6 1982
Color Purple: A Novel.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Janovich, 1982.

HV4708.S64 1988b
The Dreaded Comparison: Human and Animal Slavery.
Philadelphia: New Society Publishers, 1988.

5 Day Collection PS3573.A425E74 2003
Everyday Use.
Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities, 2003.

PS3573.A425H47 1991
Her Blue Body Everything We Know: Earthling Poems, 1965-1990 Complete.
San Diego: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovichs, 1991.

PS3573.A425O5
In Search Of Our Mother's Gardens: Womanist Prose.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovich, 1983.

PS3573.A425M4
Meridian.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovich, 1976.

PS3573.A425O5
Once: Poems.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovich, 1976.

PS3573.A425P67 1992
Possessing the Secret of Joy.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovich, 1992.

PS3573.A425T46 1989
The Temple of My Familiar.
San Diego: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovich, 1989.

PS3573.A425T67 1988
Third Life of Grange Copeland.
New York: Pocket Books, 1988.

GN484.W35 1996
Warrior Marks: Female Genitals Mutilation and the Sexual Blinding of Women.
San Diego: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovichs, 1996.

PS3573.A425Z475 2000
Way Forward Is With A Broken Heart.
New York: Random House, 2000.

PS3573.A425Y6
You Can't Keep A Good Woman Down: Stories.
New York: Harcourt, Brace, & Jovanovich, 1981.

Walker, David. (1785-1830):

E446.W178
David Walker's Appeal, In Four Articles.
New York: Hill & Wang, 1965.

E446.W1782
One Continual Cry; David Walker's Appeal to the Colored Citizens of the World, 1829-1830.
New York: Humanities Press, 1965.

Walker, Margaret. (1915- ):

PS3545.A517F6
For My People.
New Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1942.

PS3545.A517J8
Jubilee.
Boston: Houghton-Mifflin, 1966.

PS3545.A517O2
October Journey.
Detroit: Broadside Press, 1973.

PS3557.I55Z52
Poetic Equation: Conversations Between Nikki Giovanni and Margaret Walker.
Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1974.

West, Cornel. (1953- ):

E185.96.G38 2000
African American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped Our Country.
New York: Free Press, 2000.

E185.615.W425 1993
Beyond Eurocentrism and Multiculturlism.
Monroe, ME.: Common Courage Press, 1993.

E185.86.H735 1991
Breaking Bread: Insurgent Black Intellectual Life.
Boston: South End Press, 1991.

REF. E185.E54 1996
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History. (vols. 1-6). New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1996.

E185.86.G377 1996
Future of the Race.
New York: Knopf, 1996.

E185.615.W426 1995
Jews and Blacks: Let the Healing Begin.
New York: G.P. Putnam, 1995.

E185.615.W427 1993
Keeping Faith: Philosophy and Race In America.
New York: Routledge, 1993.

BL2525.W42 1988
Prophetic Fragments.
Grand Rapids: Eerdman's, 1988,

E185.615.W43 1993
Race Matters.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1993.

PN1995.9.N4S65 1994
White Screens, Black Images: Hollywood From The Dark Side.
New York: Routledge, 1994.

West, Dorothy. (1909- ):

PS3545.E82794L5 1969
Living Is Easy.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

PS3545.E82794W44 1995
The Wedding.
New York: Doubleday, 1995.

Wheatley, Phillis:

Electronic Resources
An Elegy, Sared to the Memory of the Great Divine, the Reverend and Learned Dr. Samuel Cooper, Whoo Departed This Life December 29, 1783. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Electronic Resources
Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral. Philadelphia; University of Pennsylvania Library, 2003.

Wideman, John E. (1941- ):

HV9471.J32 1999
Behind the Razor Wire: Portrait Of A Contemporary American Prison System.
New York: New York University Press, 1999.

HV6245.W733 1984
Brothers and Keepers.
New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1984.

PS3573.I26C38 1996
Cattle Killing.
Boston: Houghton-Mifflin, 1996.

PS3573.I26Z466 1994
Fatheralong: A Meditation on Fathers and Sons, Race and Society.
New York: Pantheon Books, 1994.

14 Day Collection
God's Gym: Stories. New York: Houghton-Mifflin, 2004.

PS3573.I26Z49 1993
John Edgar Wideman (Videorecording).
Los Angeles: Lannan Foundation, 1993.

PS3573.I26L9
Lynchers.
New York: Harcourt, Brace & Janovich, 1973.

PS3573.I26P48 1990
Philadelphia Fire: A Novel.
New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston, 1990.

PS3573.I26A6 1992
Stories of John Edgar Wideman.
New York: Pantheon books, 1992.

Williams, John A.. (1925- );

DT21.W5
Africa: Her History, lands, and People, Told With Pictures.
New York: Cooper Square publishing, 1962.

PS509.A4B4 1966
Beyond The Angry Black.
New York: Cooper Square Publishing, 1966.

PS3573.I4495C3
Captain Blackman: A Novel.
Garden City,NY.: Doubleday, 1972.

PS3573.I4495M3
The Man Who Cried I Am: A Novel.
Boston: Little, Brown, & Co., 1967.

PS3573.I4495N5
Night Song.
New York: Farrar, Straus, & Cudaby, 1961.

Williams, Sherley Anne (1944- ):

PZ7.W668174 Wo 1997
Working Cotton. San Diego: Voyager Books, 1997.

Wilson, August. (1945- ):

VH 1241
August Wilson (Videorecording).
Princeton, NJ.: Films for the Humanities and Science, 1994.

PS3573.I45677F4 1986
Fences: A Play.
New York: Plume/Penguin, 1986.

PS3573.I45677J64 1988b
Joe Turner's Come and Gone: A Play In Two Acts.
New York: Penguin Books, 1988.

PS3573.I45677M3 1985
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom: A Play In Two Acts.
New York: New American Library, 1985.

PS3573.I45677P54 1990
The Piano Lesson.
New York: Plume, 1990.

PS3573.I45677T96 1992
Two Trains Running.
New York: E.P. Dutton, 1992.

Wright, Jay:

PS3573.R536H6
The Homecoming Singer. New York: Corinth Books, 1971.

Wright, Richard. (1908-1960):

E185.6.W9 1969
12 Million Black Voices.
New York: Arno Press, 1969.

PS3545.R815Z498 1977
American Hunger.
New York: Harper & Row, 1977.

PS3545.R815Z5 1969
Black Boy: A Record of Childhood and Youth.
New York: Harper & Row, 1969.

DT511.W7
Black Power: A Record of Reactions in a Land of Pathos.
New York: Harper & Row, 1954.

PS3545,R815E5 1961
Eight Men.
New York: Pyramid Books, 1969.

PS3545.R815L3
Lawd Today.
New York: Walker & Co., 1963.

PS3545.R815L6
Long Dream: A Novel.
Chatham, NJ.: Chatham Booksellers, 1969.

PS3545.R815N3 1969
Native Son.
New York: Harper & Row, 1969.

PS3545.R815N3 1989
Native Son.
New York: Perennial Library, 1989.

PS3545.R815O8 1965
Outsider.
New York: Perennial Library, 1965.

DP43.W7
Pagan Spain.
New York: Harper & Row, 1957.

PS3545.R815U5
Uncle Tom's Children.
New York: Harper & Row, 1969.

Yerby, Frank. (1916- ):

PS3547.E65C3
Captain Rebel.
New York: Dial Press, 1956.

PS3547.E65F3
Fairoaks, A Novel.
New York: Dial Press, 1957.

PS3547.E65F5
Floodtide.
New York: Dial Press, 1950.

PS3547.E65F6
Foxes of Harrow.
New York: Dial Press, 1946.

PS3547.E65G59
Golden Hawk.
New York: Dial Press, 1948.

PS3547.E65P7
Pride's Castle.
New York: Dial Press, 1949.

PS3547.E65S3
Saracen Blade, A Novel.
New York: Dial Press, 1952.

Young, Al. (1939- ):

PS3575.O683A6 1982
Blues Don't Change: New and Selected Poems.
Baton Rouge: Louisian State University Press, 1982.

PS3575.O683H4 1992
Heaven: Collected Poems, 1956-1990.
Berkeley: Creative Arts Book Company, 1992.

PS3575.O68S55
Snakes, A Novel.
New York: Holt, Rinehart & Winston, 1970.

ML60.Y7 1987
Things Ain't What They Used To Be.
Berkeley, CA.: Creative Arts Books, 1987.

X Malcolm. (1925-1965):

E185.97.L5A3 1992b
Autobiography of Malcolm X.
New York: Ballantine Books, 1992.

E185.61.L578
End of White World Supremacy: Four Speeches.
New York: Merlin House, 1971.

BP223.Z8L57247 1994
Ghosts in our Blood: With Malcolm X in Africa, England, and the Caribbean.
New York: Lawrence Hill Books, 1994.

E185.61.L576
Malcolm X Speaks: Selected Speeches and Statements.
New York: Grove Press, 1966.


Maintained by: Sarah Reynolds