RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Architecture, Interiors and Furniture: Guide to Research


The purpose of this guide is to introduce library users to the standard reference tools for research in the history of architecture, interior design and furniture and to help them make better use of the RIT Library collections and those of other libraries with substantial holdings of primary and secondary source materials for the study of the discipline.

BOOKS AND EXHIBITION CATALOGS

The titles described here list books, periodical articles, and other sources about many aspects of the history of architecture, interior design, furniture and related disciplines. They are a good place to survey the literature on a specific topic and will help the researcher direct his or her search of the local library catalog.

Architecture

REF NA 200 .F63 1996
Fletcher, Sir Bannister. Sir Banister Fletcher's A History of Architecture. Boston : Architectural Press, 1996.

On Order
Kostof, Spiro. The Architect: Chapters in the History of the Profession. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2001.

3rd floor NA 200 .K65 1995
Kostof, Spiro. A History of Architecture: Setting and Rituals. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.

3rd floor NA 200 .R57 1997
Risebero, Bill. The Story of Western Architecture. Cambridge, Massachusetts: MIT Press, 1997.

Furniture

3rd FLOOR NK 1710 .B57 1997
Blakemore, Robbie G. History of Interior Design and Furniture : From Ancient Egypt to Nineteenth-Century Europe. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1997.

Reserve NK2270 .L82 1999
Lucie-Smith, Edward. Furniture: A Concise History. New York: Oxford University Press, 1979.

3rd FLOOR NK2395.F54 1991
Fiell, Charlotte and Peter. Modern Furniture Classics Since 1945. Washington, D.C. : American Institute of Architects Press, 1991.

Reserve NK 2350 .H6 1969
Honour, Hugh. Cabinet Makers and Furniture Designers. New York: G. P. Putnam's Sons, 1969.

3rd NK270.M67 1999
Morley, John. The History of Furniture: Twenty-Five Centuries of Style and Design in the Western Tradition. Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1999.


3rd FLOOR NK 2395 .S4713 1990
Sembach, Klaus-Jurgen. Twentieth Century Furniture Design. Koln: Taschen, 1990.

Interiors

3rd FLOOR NK 1710 .B57 1997
Blakemore, Robbie G. History of Interior Design and Furniture : From Ancient Egypt to Nineteenth-Century Europe. New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1997.

Ref NK 1165 .E53 1997 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Interior Design London, Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.

3rd floor NK 1710 .M35 1983
McCorquodale, Charles. History of Interior Decoration. New York, Paris: Vendome Press, distributed by Viking Press, 1983.

3rd floor NK 1980 .M38 2001
Massey, Anne. Interior Design of the 20th Century. London: Thames and Hudson, 2001.

3rd floor NK1710.P55 2000
Pile, John. History of Interior Design. New York: John Wiley, 2000.

3rd floor NK 2004 .S65 1987
Smith, C. Ray. Interior Design in the 20th-Century America: A History. New York: Harper & Row, 1987.

RIT Library Catalog [Einstein] Subject Headings

Use the library catalog's subject search option to find entire books on a specific topic. The subject headings listed below will assist you in searching for information on the disciplines of architecture, interior design and furniture.

Architecture -- History
Furniture -- History
Furniture design -- History
Interior architecture -- History
Interior decoration -- History

INDEXING AND ABSTRACTING SERVICES

Indexing and abstracting services provide precise access to periodical literature and are useful tools for locating both current and retrospective material. Indexes group together by subject, articles, reviews, and even reproductions appearing in many different periodicals published during a specified time period. The indexes to fine arts literature included below provide essential coverage of architecture, interior design and furniture literature. General periodical indexes (Readers Guide Full-text and New York Times Index, for example) may also be helpful for many topics.

Architectural Index. Indexing 1950-. Annual.
Print Issues: Index NA1.A59 1950-.
Abbreviated as ARCH.

Art Full Text. Indexing 1984 -. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly.
Electronic format: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 1-61. 1929-1991.
Abbreviated as ART.

Artbibliographies Modern.
Electronic Format: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/artbib/artbib.html
Print format back issues: INDEX N1.A79. Vol. 1- 24, 1969-93. Semi-annual.
Abbreviated as ABM.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art. 1991-1995.. Quarterly.
[Incorporates RILA: International Repertory of the Literature of Art. Vol. 3-15, 1977-89].
Print issues: INDEX N7510.R44.
Abbreviated as BHA.

Design and Applied Arts Index.
Electronic format: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/daai/daai.html
Print format back issues: INDEX NK1110.D47. Vol. 1-6, 1987-93. Semi-annual.
Abbreviated as DAAI.

Humanities Full Text. Indexing 1984-. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly.
Electronic format: Part of Wilson Omnifile
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
Print Issues: INDEX AI3.H85 v.1-21 1974/75-1994.
Abbreviated as HUM.

Index to Craft Journals. 1979-1990. Irregular.
Print format all issues: INDEX NK1.I5 1979-1990.
Abbreviated as CJ.

Readers' Guide Full Text
Electronic format: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
Print Issues: INDEX AI3.R4 v.1-54 1900-1994.
Abbreviated as READ.

Architecture and Interior Design Periodicals

PER NK1700.A24 / CMS
Abitare. No. 97- , 1971- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, DAAI.

PER NA1.A563 / CMS
Architectural Design: A.D. Vol. 43- , 1973- . Monthly. Indexed by ART.

PER NA1.A58 / RESD
Architectural Digest. Vol. 26- , 1970- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, READ.

PER NA1.A6 and Film 994 / CMS
Architectural Record. Vol. 84- , 1938- . Monthly. Indexed by ARCH, ART, READ.

PER NA1.A69 and Film 1082 / CMS
Architectural Review. Vol. 127, 1960- . Monthly. Indexed by ARCH, ART, DAAI.

PER NA1.A326 / CMS
Architecture. Vol. 59- 1973- . Monthly. Indexed by ART.

PER NA680.A73 and Film 1078 / CMS
Architecture d' aujourd' hui. No. 159- , 1971- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by BHA.

PER NA4.A778 / CMS
Architettura. Vol. 17- , 1971- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, BHA.

PER NK1160.A98 / CMS
Azure. Vol. 11- , 1994- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER NA7100.B45 and Film 504 / CMS
Better Homes and Gardens. Vol. 16- , 1937- . Monthly. Indexed by READ.

PER NA1.B583 / CMS
Blueprint. No. 87- , 1992- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

PER NK8.N6B66 / CMS
Bonytt. Vol. 10- , 1950- . Monthly.

PER NK1700.C38
Casa Vogue. No. 95- , 1979-1995. Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

PER NA4.C3 / CMS
Casabella. Vol. 37- , 1973- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, BHA.

PER NK1458.A1D432 / CMS
Design DK. Vol. 1- , 1995- . Quarterly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER N4.D6 / CMS
Domus. No. 232, 1949- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, DAAI.

PER TH4805.F55 / CMS
Fine Homebuilding. No. 6- , 1982- . Bi-monthly.

PER NA1.F66 / CMS
Form. Vol. 52- , 1956- . 8 issues/year. Indexed by DAAI.

PER NA1.P67 / CMS
Historic Preservation Forum. Vol. 1- , 1987- . Quarterly.

Current Year Only / CMS
Historic Preservation Forum News. Bi-monthly.

PER NA7100.H65 and Film 1087 / CMS
House Beautiful. Vol. 62- , 1927- . Monthly. Indexed by READ.

PER NK1700.D55 / CMS
Interior Design. Vol. 25- , 1954- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ARCH, ART, DAAI.

PER TS1300.I67 / CMS
Interiors. Vol. 110- , 1950- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, DAAI.

PER NK1700.I65 / CMS
Interni. No. 447- , 1995- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER NA6.J3 / CMS
Japan Architect. Vol. 37- , 1962- . Monthly. Indexed by ART.

PER NK1700.J68 / CMS
Journal of Interior Design. Vol. 5- , 1979- . Semi-annual. ART.

Film 95 / CMS
Journal of the American Planning Association. Vol. 38- , 1972- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART, BHA.

PER NA1.A327 / CMS
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians. Vol. 40- , 1981- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART.

PER TK1.L23 / CMS
Lighting Design + Application: LD + A. Vol. 13- , 1983- . Monthly.

PER NA4.L68 / CMS
Lotus International. No. 1- , 1964- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART.

PER TS840.M2 / CMS
MD. Vol. 12- , 1966- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

OVER PER N6535.N5M47 / CMS
Metropolis. Vol. 1- , 1981- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

PER NK1160.M66 / CMS
Modo. No. 74- , 1984- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

PER TS171.A1T77 and Film 1678 / CMS
Ottagono. No. 1- , 1966- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

PER NA2542.35.P53 / CMS
Places. Vol. 9- , 1995- . Quarterly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER NA12.R65 / CMS
RIBA Journal. Vol. 93- , 1986- . Monthly. Indexed by ART.

PER AP2.T6 / CMS
Town & Country. Vol. 119- , 1966- . Monthly.

Current Year Only / CMS
Visual Merchandising & Store Design. Monthly.

PER NA1.A1W5 / CMS
Werk, Bauen + [und] Wohnen. Vol. 6- , 1951- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, BHA.

Crafts and Decorative Arts Periodicals

PER NK1.C73 and Film 751 / CMS
American Craft. Vol. 12- , 1952- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, CJ, DAAI, READ.

PER TT186.E26 and Film 1014 / CMS
Chronicle of the Early American Industries Association, Inc. Vol. 1- , 1933- . Quarterly.

PER NK1.C72 / CMS
Craft Arts. No. 18- , 1990- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, CJ, DAAI.

PER TT1.C7 / CMS
Crafts. No. 4- , 1973- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ABM, ART, CJ, DAAI.

Current Year Only / CMS
Crafts Report. Monthly. Indexed by ABM, CJ, DAAI.

PER NA1.F66 / CMS
Form. Vol. 52- , 1956- . 8 issues/year. Indexed by DAAI.

PER NK1471.F5F67 / CMS
Form Function Finland. 1980- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, CJ, DAAI.

Current 6 Months Only / CMS
Gifts and Decorative Accessories. Monthly..

PER NK1160.J68 / CMS
Journal of Decorative and Propaganda Arts. No. 1- , 1986- . Annual. Indexed by ABM, BHA, DAAI.

PER NK1160.J685 / CMS
Journal of Design History. Vol. 1- , 1988- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA, DAAI.

PER NK1160.D251 / CMS
Newsletter of the Decorative Arts Society . Vol. 1- , 1992- . Quarterly.

PER NK7300.B42 / CMS
Ornament. Vol. 2- , 1975- . Quarterly. Indexed by ABM, ART, CJ, DAAI.

PER NK1457.A1S347
Scandinavian Journal of Design History. Vol. 1-, 1991- . Annual. Indexed by DAAI.

Current Year Only / CMS
Shavings from the Chronicle of the Early American Industries Association. Bi-monthly.

Current Year Only / CMS
Surface Design Association Newsletter. Quarterly.

PER NK1160.S97 / CMS
Surface Design Journal. Vol. 2- , 1978- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CJ, DAAI.

PER N9.W52 / CMS
Winterthur Portfolio. Vol. 2- , 1965- . 3 issues/year. Indexed by ABM, ART, BHA.

Woodworking and Furniture Periodicals

See also Crafts and Decorative Arts
PER NK1160.A98 / CMS
Azure. Vol. 11- , 1994- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER NK1458.A1D432 / CMS
Design DK. Vol. 1- , 1995- . Quarterly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER TH4805.F55 / CMS
Fine Homebuilding. No. 6- , 1982- . Bi-monthly.

PER TT180.F55 / CMS
Fine Woodworking. No. 1- , 1975- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ART, CJ, DAAI.

PER NK1700.I65 / CMS
Interni. No. 447- , 1995- . Monthly. Indexed by DAAI.

PER TS840.M2 / CMS
MD. Vol. 12- , 1966- . Monthly. Indexed by ABM, DAAI.

PER TT180.P7 / CMS
Practical Woodworking. Vol. 13- , 1978- . Monthly.

Current Year Only / CMS
Understory. Quarterly.

PER TT1.W6 / CMS
Woodworker. Vol. 90- , 1986- . Monthly.

Last Updated 09/00.
Maintained by Kari Horowicz