RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Location of Art Materials

LOCATORS

The location of each item in the library collection is determined by its circulation status (i.e. whether or not the item can be checked out of the library) and its physical format. The codes given below are used in the library catalogs to indicate where materials are housed in the library building.

CARY    Melbert B. Cary, Jr., Graphic Arts Collection-Second floor (non-circulating)
CMS     Current Magazine Shelves-Second floor (non-circulating)
FICHE   Microfiche-Micro-VAX Area-Second floor (selective circulation)
FILM    Microfilm -Micro-VAX Area-Second floor (non-circulating)
HUGE    Huge Shelves-Fourth floor (circulating)
MRC     Media Resources Center-A level
OVER    Oversized Shelves-Fourth floor (circulating)
PER     Bound Periodicals-Second floor (non-circulating)
RARE    Special Collections-Third floor (non-circulating)
REF     Reference Collection-First floor (non-circulating)
RESD    Reserve Desk-First floor (non-circulating)
RIT     RIT Archives-Third floor (non-circulating)

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

Monographs (books, exhibition catalogs, theses) and periodicals (magazines, journals, newsletters, bulletins, annuals) are grouped on the RIT Library shelves by subject using the Library of Congress Classification System. Although most art material is classified as "N: Fine Arts," books on various aspects of the fine and applied arts can be found at other classification numbers as well. Consult "Einstein," the on-line catalog using author, title, subject, or key word approaches to ensure a complete search of the library's holdings on your topic.

N: Visual Arts (General)

 81-390		Study and teaching of art
 350        Art Education
 400-4040	Art museum and gallery collections
 5300-7418	History of art (general--more than one medium)
 5300-5306		General histories of art
 5330-5940		Ancient art
 5940-6320		Medieval art
 6370-6375		Renaissance art
 6407-6425		17th and 18th century art
 6450-6465		19th century art
 6485-6494		20th century art
6501-7413 History of the art of specific countries NA: Architecture

 200-1613	History of architecture
 701-1613	Architecture of specific countries including 
 			biographies of individual architects
 2500-2800	Architectural design, general treatises
 2835-4050	Architectural details and decoration
 4100-4160	Buildings classed by material and form
 4170-8480	Buildings classed by use (public, religious, etc.)
 9000-9425	City planning

NB:  Sculpture

 60-1115	History of sculpture
 201-1113	Sculpture of specific countries including 
 			biographies of individual sculptors
 1160-1195	Design and technique of sculpture
 1208-1270	Special materials (stone, metal, wood, etc.)
 1293-1880	Special forms of sculpture (portraits, monuments, tombs, etc.)

NC:  Drawing, Design, Illustration

50-376		History of drawing
101-376		Drawing of specific countries including biographies 
			of individual draughtsman
730-757		Technique and design (composition, perspective, etc.)
760-825		Special subjects (anatomy, landscapes, etc.)
850-915		Drawing materials
950-996		Illustration 
975-996		Illustration of specific countries including biographies 
			of individual illustrators
997-1003	Commercial and advertising art, graphic design
1005-1260	Collections of drawings including collections of the work of 					
			individual artists
1300-1766	Cartoons and caricature
1800-1853	Posters

ND:  Painting

 49-1113	History of painting
 201-1113	Painting of specific countries including biographies of 
 			individual painters
 237	  	American Painters
 1259-1289	Technique, styles, materials of painting, color
 1290-1460	Special subjects (human figure, portraits, religious scenes, etc.)
 1470-1660	Technique and materials
 1700-2495	Watercolor painting
 2550-2888	Mural painting
 2890-3416	Illumination of manuscripts and books


NE:  Printmaking

    1-978	Printmaking and engraving
  501-794	Printmaking of specific countries including biographies 				
  			of individual printmakers
 1000-1352	Wood engraving, woodcuts, and other relief printing
 1400-1879	Metal engraving
 1940-2230	Etching and aquatint
 2001-2110	Etching of specific countries including biographies of 
			individual etchers
 2250-2560	Lithography
 2301-2410	Lithography of specific countries including biographies 				
 			of individual lithographers
NK: Decorative Arts, Applied Arts, Decoration and Ornament

  600-1158	General histories of the decorative arts 
 1160-1678	Decoration and ornament, design history
 1700-3505	Interior design and decoration (see also TT)
 1710-2004		History and styles of interior design by period and country
 2200-2750		Furniture
 2775-2896		Rugs and carpets
 2975-3296		Tapestries, upholstery, wall-hangings
 3600-3640	Calligraphy, lettering (see also Z)
 3700-4695	Ceramics, pottery, porcelain (see also TP)
 4700-4890	Costume and accessories (see also GT and TT)
 5000-5015	Enamel
 5100-5440	Glass (see also TP and TT)
 6400-8459	Metalwork (see also NB, TS, and TT)
 7300-7695	Jewelry (see also GT, TS)
 8800-9505	Textile arts, weaving, needlework (see also TP, TS, and TT)
 9600-9955	Woodworking (see also NB, TS, TT)
NX: Fine and Performing Arts in General

  397-410	Art schools, scholarships and fellowships for the study of art
  440-600	History of the fine and performing arts
  440-458	History of the arts during specific periods
  501-596	History of the arts of specific countries
      600	Specific movements (Dadaism, Futurism, etc.)
  700-750	Patronage of the arts
GT: Manners and Customs

  500-1950	Costume, dress, and fashion
 2050-2281	Costume details and accessories (including jewelry)

PN: General Literature

 1992	Television broadcasting
 1993-1999	Motion pictures
 1997		Motion picture plays and scenarios

QC: Physics

 494-496	Color

R: Science

 836    Medical Illustration
TP: Chemical Technology
  785-869	Clay industry, ceramics, glass
  890-933	Textile bleaching, dyeing, printing
  934-944	Paints, pigments, varnishes

TR: Photography
       15	General history of photography
   21-126	History of the photography of specific countries
      140	Biographies of individual photographers
  287-500	Photographic processing, darkroom techniques
  510-545	Color photography
  640-685	Artistic photography including works about individual photographers
      651		1800 to 1850
      652		1851 to 1900
      653		1900 to 1950
      654		1950 to the present time
      690	Commercial photography
      925	Photomechanical reproduction processes
TS: Manufactures
  171	Industrial Design
  195-199	Packaging
  200-770	Metal manufactures, metal work, lapidary arts	
  840-915	Wood products, furniture
 1080-1165	Paper manufacturing
 1300-1865	Textile industries
TT: Handicrafts
  180-200	Woodworking, furniture making
  205-267	Metalworking
      298	Glass craft
  300-385	Painting, wood finishing, industrial painting
  490-695	Clothing manufacture, dressmaking, tailoring
  697-924	Needlework, sewing, knitting, and other decorative crafts
Z: Graphic Arts, Books

      4-8	History of books and bookmaking
    43-48	Calligraphy, penmanship
  116-241	History of printing
  250-251	History of type and type-founding (including specimen books)
  266-276	Bookbinding

Maintained by Kari Horowicz.