RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie

(REF. QD251.B4 1918)

Beilstein's major virtue is that it provides a comprehensive survey of the literature of organic chemistry, covering over 4 million substances, and organizing the information by compound. The information given for each compound (if available) is name(s), structure(s), formula, properties, history, occurrence, formation, preparation, technology, analysis, addition compounds, salts, and conversion products. The drawbacks are that it's written in German and is twenty to thirty years behind.

I. Beilstein's Parts

Hauptwerk (main work) covers the literature before 1910
Erstes Erganzungswerk (1st Supplement) covers 1910-1919
Zweites Erganzungswerk (2d Supplement) covers 1920-1929
Drittes (3d) v. 1-16 covers 1930-1939
Drittes Und Viertes (3d & 4th) v. 17-27 covers1930-1959
Viertes (4th) covers 1940-1959
5th Supplement (in English) covers 1960-1979

Volumes 1-4 of each part cover acyclic compounds.
Volumes 5-16 cover isocyclic compounds.
Volumes 17-27 cover heterocyclic compounds.

II. Order of each entry

Names

formula

General References

V or Vorkommen(occurrence)

B or Bildungsweisen (formation)

Darst. or Darstellung (preparation)

Eigenschaften (properties) Examples:

F (melting point)

Kp (boiling point)

Chemisches Verhalten (Chemical reactions and behavior)

Analytisches (analytical information)

Addition compounds, salts

III. Indexes

Sachregister (subject index)

Formelregister (formula index)

Gesamtregister (cumulative index)

Sample entry:

Pyridin 20, 181, I54, II96; vgl. 22 II619

means information about pyridine is in vol. 20 of the Hauptwerk, page 181. The 1st supplement has information in vol. 20, page 54. The second supplement has information in vol. 20, page 96. Additional information is in the 2d supplement, vol. 22, page 619.

IV. Further aids to using Beilstein

Contents of Beilstein : representative examples : Beilstein-Handbook of organic chemistry. REF QD251.B42C66 1979
The Beilstein system : strategies for effective searching. QD257.7 .B394 1998
The Beilstein Guide, REF. QD 251 .B43 W4413
How to Use Beilstein, REF. QD 251 .B43 B44
Beilstein key flow chart. REF QD251.B43 B435 1986
"Beilstein's Handbuch", Chapter 11 (p. 157-170) in Bottle's Use of Chemical Literature, QD8.5 .B6 1979.

V. Online access

Beilstein Online includes data for over 75 chemical and physical properties of more than 4 million substances. It can be searched by compound names, formulas, registry numbers, keywords, and propertiesbut be aware that the database is quite expensive. For a search ask at the Reference Desk (475-2563).

Beilstein Abstracts is available through ChemWeb . It is a free service but you must first register.

VI. German - English Translation Aids

The following dictionaries and list of abbreviations will help immensely in understanding the entries in Beilstein.

A. Dictionaries

Patterson's German - English Dictionary for Chemists, 4th ed., REF QD5.P3 1992.

Beilstein dictionary ; German-English, for the users of the Beilstein handbook of organic chemistry. REF QD251.B43 B428 1979

"Beilstein Dictionary - German/English", p. LXV to LXXXIX in Beilstein, vol. 6 no. 4, 4th Ergwk., 1979. REF QD251 .B4 1918 v.6 pt.4

B. Abbreviations

Since abbreviations differ slightly in each volume of Beilstein, it is impossible to list them all. The following is a partial list with German and English meanings. For other abbreviations check the front of each volume.




A.		Äthanol = ethanol, ethyl alcohol

absol.		absolut = absolute

ac.		allcyclisch = allcyclic

Acn.		Aceton = 2-propanone, acetone, dimethylketone, ketopropane

Ae.		Diäthyläther = diethyl ether

akt.		aktiv = active

alkal.		alkalisch = alkaline

al koh.		alkoholisch = alcoholic

ang.		angular

Anm.		Anmerkung = note, remark, comment

ar.		Aromatisch = aromatic

asymm.		asymmetrisch = asymmetrical

At.-Gew.	Atomgewicht = atomic weight

Äther 		ether



B.		Bildungsweise(n), Bildung = mode of formation(s). structure

Bac.		Bacillus

Bact.		Bacterium

BASF		Badische Anilin- un Sodafabrik = dye bath and soda works

Bd.		Band = volume

Beilstein	the man who compiled most of the first edition of the main work

ber.		berechnet = compute, calculate

Bzl.		Benzol = benzene, benzol, phenyl hydride

Bzn.		Benzin = gasoline, petrol

bzw.		beziehungsweise = mode of notation



ca.		circa

Chemisches Verhatten=Chemical Behavior



D		Dichte = density

Darst.		Darstellung = preparation

Dielektr.-Konst.Dielektrizitäts-Konstante = dielectric coefficient, dielectric constant, 

			permittivity

Diss.		Dissertation

dritte		third



E.		Äthylacetat = ethyl acetate

Eg.		Essigsäure (Eisessig) = acetic acid, ethanoic acid, ethyl acid

eintragen	introduce, add

Einw.		Einwirkung = reaction

EMK		Elektromotorische Kraft = electromotive force

engl. 		Aus.englishee Ausgabe = english edition

E or Ergw.	Ergänzungswerk = supplement

erste		first



F		Schmelzpunkt = melting point

Formelregister	formula index



Gew.%		Gewichtsprozent = percent by weight

Geschichtliches	history



Handbuch	handbook

H or Hptw.	primary or main work (of Beilstein)



inakt.		inaktiv = inactive



Jahr		year



k(ks, k b)	elektrolytische Dissoziationskonstanten, bei Ampholyten Dissoziations- 

			konstanten nach der klassischen Theorie = electrolytic coefficient 

			of dissociation, from ampholyte coefficient of dissociation to the 

			classical theories 

K(KS, KB)	elektrolytische Dissoziationskonstanten con Ampholyten nach der 

			Zwitterionentheorie = same as above, but "to the dipolar Ion theories"

konz.		konzentriert = concentrated

korr.		korrigiert = correct

Kp		Siedepunkt = boiling point

Kp750		Siedepunkt unter 750mm Druck (pressure)



lin.		linear



m-		(als Stellungsbeizelchnung)  meta-

m-		(als Konzentrationsangabe)  molar

Me.		methanol, methyl alcohol

Min.		Minute

Mitarb.		Mitarbeiter = collaborator

Mol.-Gew.	Molekulargewicht = molecular weight

Mol.-Refr.	molecular refraction

ms-		meso-



n		refractive index, index of refraction

n-		normal

Natrium		sodium



o-			ortho-

opt.-akt.		optisch-aktiv = optically active

opt.-inakt.		optisch-inaktiv = optically inactive

Organischen Chemie	organic chemistry



p-		para-

PAe.		Petroläther = petroleum ether, ligroin

Physikalische Eigenschaften=Physical Properties

prim.		primär = primary

Priv.-Mitt.	Privatmitteilung = personal communication

Prod.		product

Py.		Pyridin(e)



racem.		racemisch = racemic

RRI		The Ring Index (2 Aufl. 1960)

RIS		The Ring Index (2 Aufl. 1960) Supplement

RV		Reducktionsvermogen=reducing power



S.		Seite = Side, face (of a solid), or page (of a book)

s.		siehe = see

s.a.		siehe auch = see also

s.o.		siehe oben = see above

s.u.		siehe unten = see below

Sachregister	subject index

Schmelzpunkt 	(F) melting point

Siedepunkt 	(Kp)boiling point

sek.		sekundär = secondary

sog.		sogenannt = so called

spezif.		spezifisch = specific

Spl.		Supplement

Stde., Stdn.	Stunde, Stunden = hour, hours

Stdg.		stündig = for an hour

Syst.Nr.	System-Nummer = system number



Teil (Tl.)	part

Temp.		Temperatur = temperature

tert.		tertiär = tertiary

Tl.		part



unkorr.		unkorrigiert = incorrect

unverd.		unverdünnt = undiluted



V.		Vorkommen = occurrence

verd.		verdünnt = diluted

vgl.		vergleiche = compare

vgl.a.		vergleiche auch = compared to

vic.		vicinal = neighboring (position)

vierte		fourth

Vol.		volume

V.		occurrence



W.		Wasser = water

WŠssr, or wssr.	wässrig = watery, aqueous



z.B.		zum Beispiel = for example

Zers		Zersetzung = decomposition

zweite		second


Page maintained by Adwoa Boateng