RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives


Books and Related Materials


 

What are Books and Related Materials?
This guide discusses tools to use to identify books, journal titles, recordings, manuscripts, or any other types of materials cataloged by libraries. The books and related materials can be owned in the RIT Library, or can be owned by any other library. The guide will also discuss ways of obtaining materials not owned by this library. (See related information for distance learners enrolled at RIT).

What sources do I use to locate books and journal titles owned by RIT Library?

  • The primary and most reliable tool for locating materials owned by RIT Library is the Library's On-line Public Access Catalog (OPAC), called Einstein. Einstein contains a record for each item owned by this library, including which journals and mgazine titles the library owns (but not the articles in them). The Einstein record indicates whether or not the item has been checked out and provides a Library of Congress call number for each item. The call number indicates its location in the library.
  • Another source which can be used to identify material owned by RIT Library is the database WorldCat. WorldCat is available through the FirstSearch database. Worldcat represents the holdings of libraries from all over the world (including RIT Library (code RVE) and consists of over 35 million records. Any record that contains the phrase "Your Library (RVE) MAY Own This" or shows RVE in the holdings is likely to be a record of material that can be found in RIT Library. Be aware that the best choice for determining what materials the Library actually owns is Einstein.
What sources do I use to locate books and journal titles owned by other libraries.
  • There are endless choices of databases and catalogs to search. Access through the web to individual library catalogs is available through the library's Electronic Resources page, or link directly to the Other Library Catalogs page. Also, you will find a link to the Library of Congress' retrieval systems.

  • LIBRA, the MCLS (Monroe County Library System) is also available electronically. Once in the MCLS you will be able to choose "Other Library Systems" to search libraries across the country.

  • Rochester Regional Library Council (RRLC) web page provides access to regional libraries, libraries in New York State, and New York State information, in addition to linking to other libraries and Federal information. The Rochester Regional Library Council works to make all library materials in Rochester more accessible. Most local libraries participate in this effort, which has resulted in the RoaringCat database . It is available on the WWW from the RIT Library's Electronic Resources page, or by linking directly to RoaringCat.

  • One popular catalog of books is the Books-In-Print resource. Contained in this source are citations to books which are currently being published. RIT Library has this source electronically in the Firstsearch database. Most libraries and bookstores also have a copy of this tool in either print or CD-ROM. It is searchable by title, author, or subject and can help you identify currently published book titles.

  • How do I get material not held in Wallace?

    Identifying books and related materials not owned by the RIT Library leaves you with at least three choices in retrieving them.

  • RIT Library maintains a page of library weblinks to Library Catalogs of Area Colleges, the library of Congress and Directories in the United States and other countries. Check the regional or local libraries in your area by using one of the sources listed in the above section and obtain the material yourself if you meet the lending criteria of the library.

  • Or, request the material through Interlibrary loan. If you request materials through Interlibrary Loan, allow 3 to 5 days for delivery. There is no need for you to identify a library which owns the material, just be complete in filling out the interlibrary loan form through IDS Express and we'll find it for you. There is no charge for this service. Instructions and a help menu for answering questions regarding Interlibrary loan is also available.


  • Maintained by: Margaret Bartlett