How to Find Career Information in Business Related
Disciplines
REF HF5617.C5
Accountancy Law Reporter. Commerce Clearinghouse, inc. Annual.
This is a state by state directory that gives all state requirements
and regulations for persons seeking to become certified public accountants.
REF HF5828.4.A28
Advertising Career Directory. Career Publishing Corporation,
Annual. This is a comprehensive guide for college and graduate students
looking for careers in advertising. This guide includes data on
over 300 U.S., Canadian and international advertising agencies.
REF HD8038.U5W74
American Almanac of Jobs and Salaries. Avon Books, Annual.
This book gives an overview of the different industries, and it
also gives the starting salaries for jobs within these industries.
REF HF5421.A615
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory. Gale Research
Inc., Annual. This is a comprehensive guide offering industry details
on more than 27,000 wholesalers and distributors in the United States.
REF HG181.K513 1992
Career Alternatives for Bankers. Magellan Press, Inc., 1992.
This book was written to help those with banking backgrounds use
those skills to land other jobs. There is a section on how to prepare
your resume, how to prepare for the interview, and what other jobs
you may qualify for.
REF HF5382.5.U5C27 1998
Career Guide to America's Top Industries. Jist, Inc., 1998.
This guide addresses questions concerning job opportunities in over
40 diverse industries which, when combined, accounted for almost
three-quarters of all wage and salary jobs in 1990. The guide provides
information on the nature of the industry, employment, working conditions,
occupations in the industry, training and advancement, and other
useful information.
REF HF5616.U5G39 1997
Careers in Accounting. VGM Career Horizons, 1998. This book
covers careers in accounting. It outlines key accounting careers
and the requirements necessary for these jobs.
REF HD2755.5.H35 1995
Careers in International Business. VGM Career Horizons, 1996.
For those interested in careers in the international business area,
this book will give you an excellent overview of what requirements
are necessary for a successful career.
REF HD5724.D56
Directory of Special Programs for Minority Group Members.
Garrett Park Press, Annual. This directory is divided into three
categories to aid the user. The first section consists of general
employment and educational assistance programs, section two deals
with federal programs, and section three deals with colleges and
universities special awards.
REF HD9981.5.D85
Dun's Directory of Service Companies. Dun & Bradstreet
Information Services, Annual. This directory was compiled to provide
information on the most interesting, prominent, and difficult to
find service businesses. The information included is on both public
and private companies. There are approximately 50,000 businesses
listed.
REF HF5381.D86
Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory: The Career Guide.
Dun's Marketing Services, Annual. For each firm listed, this guide
gives the company name and address, the name, title and telephone
number of the contact person, brief history of the company, specific
job opportunities, hiring practices and other useful information.
REF HF5549.2.U5H66
Hoover's Directory of Human Resources Executives. Reference
Press, Annual. This directory will give you the name and address
of most major human resources director and/or vice presidents.
REF HD6983.I57
Inter-City Cost of Living Index. American Chamber of Commerce
Research Association, Quarterly. This report covers major metropolitan
cities. It gives useful information on housing, food, and other
items necessary for living. It is useful for the job seeker when
trying to determine the best place to live and work.
REF. HF5382.5.U5C623
Job Choices: Business. National Association of Colleges and
Employers, Annual. This annual guide gives an excellent overview
of the job opportunities that are available, the employers that
are hiring,salary and much more.
REF HD59.2.N38
National Directory of Corporate Public Affairs. Columbia
Books, Inc., Annual. This book is divided into two sections. Section
one is an alphabetized listing of 1500 companies of varied sizes
which have been identified as having public affairs programs. The
second section is an alphabetized listing of approximately 12,000
corporate officers engaged in the informational, political, and
philanthropic aspects of public affairs.
REF HM263.O37
O'Dwyer's Directory of Public Relations Firms. J.R. O'Dwyer
Co., Inc., Annual. This directory contains information on more than
2,000 public relations firms and public relations departments of
advertising agencies and their branches. This directory also contains
rankings of PR firms in 19 cities or regional areas.
REF HF5381.V45 no.1
Opportunities in Accounting Careers. VGM Career Horizons,
1996. This book gives an extensive overview of the opportunities
available to those seeking to start a career in the accounting field.
REF HF5381.V45 no.65
Opportunities in Business Management Careers. VGM Career
Horizons, 1998. This book gives good information for those seeking
to move into the management area.
REF HF5381.V45 no.75
Opportunities in Financial Careers. VGM Career Horizons,
1998. This is an overview of the financial industry and the opportunities
that are available.
REF HF5381.V45 no.44
Opportunities in Human Resource Management Careers. VGM Career
Horizons, 1997. This book is designed to help those seeking positions
as human resource director. It gives an overview of the area, and
the necessary requirements needed to do the job.
Maintained by: Sarah Reynolds
Outreach/User Services Coordinator
|