Global Business: Special issues
RESERVE ITEM
A copy of The Emerging Markets Century is available at the Circulation Desk for use in the library.
Provide the call number and the library staff will retreive the item to check out on your RIT ID for 2 hours. Please be aware that not all textbooks are in the library the collection. This one happens to be available.
BOOKS FROM THE RIT LIBRARY & CONNECT NY ON
The links below are a basic subject searches done in the library's catalog and the entire ConnectNY system. You can go directly into the catalog anytime to search for books. The links are designed to help get you started. Advanced searching can help you locate books not found in this general search. You can also use ConnectNY directly to search for books not in our collection but available to you through a consortium of libraries. To learn more about ConnectNY and how to request books click here.
LINKS TO RIT BOOK CATALOG ON:
International Business
International Business Enterprises - Management
LINKS TO CONNECT NY
BOOK CATALOG ON:
International Business
International Business Enterprises - Management
MAGAZINES/JOURNALS/PERIODICALS
Note that some of these journals have a 3, 6 or 12 month delay before they are available electronically. To obtain an article that is not available electronically check to see if we subscribe to the print edition and if not order it from inter-library loan.
Many articles on global business also occur in trade or industry specific magazines and journals. Search the databases for the individual subjects.
For a refresher on how to search the ABI/Inform Complete database click here.
TODAY'S WALL STREET JOURNAL, NEW YORK TIMES AND INTERNATIONAL NEWS
Use Factiva's News Pages section to browse today's and the past weeks issues of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Economist and major international publications.
STUDENT/FACULTY SUBSCRIPTIONS TO THE ONLINE SERVICES
New York Times Select (free with a .edu address)
Wall Street Journal wsj.com (fee based but discounted for students)
LIBRARY DATABASES CONTAINING ARTICLES AND
INFORMATION
ON
GLOBAL BUSINESS AND RELATED TOPICS
WEB RESOURCES
- Country Insights
"Country facts and cultural information on the countries of the world" from the Canadian Centre for Intercultural Learning.
- Executive Planet
Various guides on culture and negotiation for multiple countries.
- Export.Gov's Market Research Library
Country Commercial Guides can be accessed for free here. All other info is for subscribers. Go to our Stat USA subscription.
- Global Competitiveness Report 2007-2008
From the World Ecnomic Forum, "The Global Competitiveness Report series has evolved over the last three decades into the world’s most comprehensive and respected assessment of countries’ competitiveness, offering invaluable insights into the policies, institutions, and factors driving productivity and, thus, enabling sustained economic growth and long-term prosperity."
- New York Times
Now offers free access to all sections. Register here.
- Trade Stats Express
From the US Government. Can track national and state trade data including global patterns, product profiles or state export data.
- wsj.com (Wall Street Journal online) via Digg
Some wsj.com articles are available for free on the web when readers have posted them to Digg.com.
Follow this link to see the articles that wsj.com readers are digging.
CITATION SUPPORT RESOURCES
EndNote Web is also available to help you manage citations. EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and citation manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. It is currentl available through the Web of Knowledge platform.
NoodleBib is also available to help create citations.
Training on any of these resources, assistance with citation and help in general is available from:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison
E. Philip Saunders College of Business
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian  
Friend me on
|