Managing in Global Environment - Course Number: 0113-730
BOOKS FROM THE RIT LIBRARY & CONNECT NY ON
The links below are a basic subject searches done in the library's catalog and the entire ConnectNY system. You can go directly into the catalog anytime to search for books. The links are designed to help get you started. Advanced searching can help you locate books not found in this general search. You can also use ConnectNY directly to search for books not in our collection but available to you through a consortium of libraries. To learn more about ConnectNY and how to request books click here.
- Asian Business Customes & Manners: A Country By Country Guide
"Asian Business Customs & Manners is the comprehensive guide to Asian customs, cultures, and communication. It contains information on every aspect of Asian business culture, including business practices and attitudes, meetings, negotiations, meals, punctuality, language, gestures, and everything in between. The book helps ensure best business practices abroad, resulting in successful business relationships and transactions. It includes information for the following countries: Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Pakistan, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam as well as a brief overview of Australia."
- Corporate Social Responsibility (our subject is Social Responsibility of Business)
This link will generate a list of books on this topic available through the RIT Library.
- Culture Shock Books
"There are tips on political traditions, building business
relationships, and the particular intricacies of setting up a home or
office. Great for the business traveler, the foreign exchange student,
or the tourist who makes a sincere attempt to cross the bridge into a
new and exciting culture." Each book is about an individual country. Click on the link above to generate a list of the editions we have.
- Doing Business In....
There are many books in the library focusing on Doing Business In a particular country. Use this link to see a list of those books.
- Europa World Year Book
The two volume reference tool was "first published in 1926. The year book is renowned as one of the
world's leading reference works, covering political and economic
information in more than 250 countries and territories, from
Afghanistan to Zimbabwe." This is a two volume set available in the 1st floor Reference Collection under call number JN1.E85.
- International Business Enterprises
This is the subjecty heading the library uses to classify books that deal with international business in general. Click the link to see a list of the books we have with the most current books first.
- Passport to the World Series
This series of books covers culture and etiquette for various countries. Click on teh link above to see the list of availavle books in alphabetical order.
MAGAZINES/JOURNALS/PERIODICALS
Note that some of these journals have a 12 month delay before they are available electronically. To obtain an article that is not available electronically use inter-library loan.
Search the databases for the individual subjects.
For a refresher on how to search the ABI/Inform Complete database click here.
LIBRARY DATABASES CONTAINING INFORMATION ON COUNTRIES
Each of these databases contains a variety of country specific information including political overviews, economic overviews, population data, cultural etiquette information and more.
LIBRARY DATABASES CONTAINING ARTICLES ON
THE GLOBAL BUSINESS ENVIRONMENT
WEB RESOURCES
- Country Insights
"Country facts and cultural information on the countries of the world" from the Canadian Centre for Intercultural Learning.
- Executive Planet
Various guides on culture and negotiation for multiple countries.
- Global Competitiveness Report 2007-2008
From the World Ecnomic Forum, "The Global Competitiveness Report series has evolved over the last three decades into the world’s most comprehensive and respected assessment of countries’ competitiveness, offering invaluable insights into the policies, institutions, and factors driving productivity and, thus, enabling sustained economic growth and long-term prosperity."
- HSBC Expatriate Advice & Tools
HSBC is offering free cpies of Country Profiles from "Employment Condistions Abroad." Go to this site and along the right column look for Advice and Tools. Choose Other from the drop down menu and you will be prompted to supply contact info and an email address where they can send the profile. These profiles contain helpful information for someone who is planning on working offshore. It can take 2 days for HSBC to process the request.
- International Business Etiquette and Manners
Various country guides to Geert Hofstede Analysis, Appearance, Behavior, and Communication.
- New York Times
Now offers free access to all sections. Register here.
- wsj.com (Wall Street Journal online) via Digg
Some wsj.com articles are available for free on the web when readers have posted them to Digg.com.
Follow this link to see the articles that wsj.com readers are digging.
CITATION SUPPORT RESOURCES
EndNote is also available from the library to help you save and manage citations. EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and citation manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
Training on any of these resources, assistance with citation and help in general is available from:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison E. Philip Saunders College of Business
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian  
Friend me on
|