RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives


Effective Technical Communications

Guide for Finding General Career Information


Various Career Guides by Career and Personality

Books on Careers

Wages and Compensation

Articles on College Graduates and Salaries

Company Resources

  • Hoovers
    This library databases allows you to search for specific companies or do "Build A List" to creat a list of companies based on criteria like industry, location, employee size, etc.

  • ABI/ProQuest
    Search this article database for news about specific companies. Use this to prepare for an interview or to learn about the latest developments in a company you already know. Not all companies get covered by news organizations.

Best Places to Live Resources

General Reference Sources


REF. HF5549.5.C67P58
Almanac of American Employers. Corporate Jobs Outlook. Annual.
This book gives an excellent overview of who's growing, and therefore most likely to be hiring, which are the best to work for, salaries, benefits, pension plans and much more information on America's giant companies.

HF5382.5.U5 F374 2007
Top 100 Careers for College Graduates. JIST Works, 2007.
This book gives detailed information on 100 careers
requiring four-year and higher degrees.

HF5382.5.U5 F373 2007
Today's Hot Job Targets.
JIST WORKS, 2007

REF. HF5381.D86
Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory. Dun & Bradstreet, Annual.
This directory lists the major companies and the disciplines that they hire in. The name and address of the contact person is also included.

REF. HF5381.E52 2003
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. (4 volume set). J.G. Ferguson, 2003.
This set gives job descriptions, job outlook, and salary information for hundreds of jobs and careers.

REF. HF5382.7.G85 2005
Guide To Internet Job Searching. VGM Career Horizons, 2005.
This book covers job hunting, computer network resources and much more.

REF. KF299.G6V38 2003
Vault Guide to the Top Government and Nonprofit Legal Employers. New York: Vault, 2003.
This directory will be useful for all who are seeking employment with government agencies and with nonprofit organizations.

 

Job Classification and Forcasting

This section deals with several titles that define and classify jobs by title and occupation. There are also a couple of titles that give forecasts on particular jobs.

REF. HF5381.A1O36
Occupational Outlook Handbook. U.S. Department of Labor, Annual.
This book describes the job, gives the earning power, and it gives the outlook on a particular job for the future.
Also available on the Web here.

REF HB2595.05
O'Net Dictionary of Occupational Titles. Jist Works, Annual. This volume updates the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

World Wide Web Resources

America's Career Infonet
This site gives both career planning information, as well as, links to jobs and employers.

Best Jobs in the USA
This is another site that list employers by all disciplines. Good career planning information is also included.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
This is an excellent source. It will allow you to search the Occupational Outlook Handbook that is published annually by the Bureau. You can search by job name or by industry. It will give you information on how well the industry is doing, if there is projected growth for jobs in the area, earning potential, educational requirement and much more.

Career Magazine
This web based site allows you to search the web for information on careers and career planning.

CareerPerfect
This site gives good information on career planning, there is a career testing questionnaire, resume tutorial, and advice from experts in the field.

CareerPlanner.com
There are articles on careers found on this site as well as, career testing and more.

Careers.org
This site list job searching, resume writing and posting information. There is also career advice and more.

MSN Careers
This site provides information on career planning, resume writing and much more.

Monster Career Center
This site is part of the Monster.com site. There is lots of information listed that can be used for career decision making as well as finding a job.

MyRoad
This site provides lots of information on careers and educational opportunities.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
This online publication by the Bureau of Labor Statistics is an excellent source to research careers. It gives a good overview of a profession including educational and training requirements.

 

 

 


For more information contact:
Jennifer Freer
Business Reference Librarian
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian
Friend me on