Language and Communication Options in Deaf Education
The following resources are found in RIT
Library and/or the Educational
Technology Resource Center (ETRR) in Building 60, 3355. If the call
number is preceded by an *, it is available in both places. If you are interested
in more books on this topic, use the subject in the library's Einstein
catalog. If we do not have the book you want, be sure to check the "Connect
NY" library catalog. If you still cannot locate the book,
go to Interlibrary Loan
and request the book. ILL service is fast and the book arrives within
a few days. Please note that we keep ERIC documents [microfiche] Lib. has
000001- 1966- located in 2nd Fl. Microfiche Cabinets. The full-text
ERIC documents are also available (1996- present) via the Ebsco database.
Remember that we have the NTID Research
Dept. composed of experts who have bibliographies on selected presentations
and articles on the web site.This bibliography includes book, video, software
and web resources.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS OR REFERENCE WORKS-Use the following
specialized reference books. These are good resources to use when starting to
do research on a topic. Articles are written by experts in the field and have
bibliographies for further reading. If you are not sure of a topic, browsing
through these works will give you topic ideas.
Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism
and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (In Reference
area on the 1st floor REF LC3707 .E53 1998).
Part 3 - Bilingual education for the deaf and hearing impaired
*Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf people and
deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill.. (In Reference area on the 1st floor
and on the 4th floor- REF HV 2365.G35 1986). Look in the index at the back of
Vol. 3 for more information about your topic.
American Sign Language, Sign languages, Fingerspelling, Pidgin Sign English
and Invented Sign Systems. Vol. 1 p. 262. Vol. 3: Sign Languages-Origins, Facial
Expressions, American, History (p. 31-118), Sign Writing Systems (p. 118-120),
Signs-Fingerspelling, Technical and Invented Signs (120-132); Sign Language
Continuum- ASL and English (157-167), Total Communication, Simultaneous Communication
and Bilingualism (173-182).
Manually Coded English Vol. 2 p. 197-202 and Vol. 3 p. 177
Pidgin Sign English Vol. 3 p. 158, 177-178, Pidginization Vol. 3 p. 153-154.
Seeing Essential English or SEE 1: Vol. 2 p. 200-202; Vol. 3 p. 131
Signing Exact English or SEE 2: Vol. 2 p. 200-202.
Signed English Vol. 2 p. 202-204; Australia Vol. 1 p. 129
Simultaneous Communication Vol. 1 Classroom Communication p. 371; Vol. 2 Japan
p. 110; Vol. 3 176-179.
Total Communication Vol. 1 Belgium p. 134, Brazil p. 154, Classroom communication
p. 371-372; Vol. 2 Total Communication p. 61, Israel, p. 103, Japan p. 110,
New Zealand p. 240, Peru p. 282; Vol. 3 Developments in Europe p. 174-175, Linguistic
Structure p. 175, Origin in the U.S. p. 173-174.
Deaf Blind Communicaton, Alphabets, Alphabet Devices, Tadoma Method Vol. p.
241-245.
Cued Speech Vol. 1 Belgium p. 134, Classroom Communication p. 370-371, Vol.
2 Cued Speech p. 215-216, Japan p. 110.
Fingerspelling Vol. 1-Carrion, Manuel Ramierez de, p. 180, Chinese, p. 183-184;
Vol. 2 Ponce de Leon, Pedro p. 296 and Vol. 3 Fingerspelling, p. 120-124, India
p. 80.
Lipreading and Speechreading Lipreading Vol. 3 p. 234; Speechreading Vol. 3
p. 207, 234-237; Mouth-Hand Systems p. 213-216.
Rochester Method Vol. 1 Classroom Communication p. 371.
Oralism Vol. 1: Auditory Training-p. 122-126, Oral education-p. 288-289, Braidwood,
Thomas p. 147-148; l'Epee, Abee p. 416, role of Alexander G. Bell p. 137-138,
Alexander G. Bell and Edward Gallaudet p. 443, Clarke School- p. 188-190. Oral
method, p. 370, France-p.432. Germany-p. 460, England-p. 409. Vol. 2: Oralism:
arguments of early American oralists p. 56-57, Heinicke, Samuel p. 35-38, Pablo,
Bonet-p. 264, Congress of Milan-p. 63-68, European adoption of oral methods-p.
57-58, United States (19th century) p. 54-56; Vol. 3 Auditory Oral Teaching
Methods p. 232-234, Ling Method p. 223-234.
BOOKS-Books are good places to get in-depth information and the historical
background of an issue. They are not good places to find recent information.
Check the bibliography (list of resources) at the end of most books to find
other suggestions of where to find related articles and books. Most Deaf-related
books are in the HV 2350 are on the 4th floor. You can find books about Communication
and Deaf in the Einstein Catalog.
Note you can browse the entire catalog, the video catalog or the e-content catalog.
Do a Word Search using the entire catalog and try these keywords: deaf* communication,
hearing impair* and communication. Also try the keywords for language and communication
options, such as Cued Speech. The asterisk at the end of the word deaf* will
give you variants of that word root such as deafened, deafblind, etc.Try the
Subject Search to retrieve ALL records you might miss using the keyword search.
Do not use the asterisk when you do a subject search. Remember that we now have
e-books via netLibrary.
If we have the title via netLibrary, click on the title link to read
the book on-line. Go to the E-Content Catalog via Einstein
Catalog to search for ebooks and ejournals. They are the equivalent
of print books and are up-to-date and recent. If we do not have a book you want
here, click on the Connect NY
catalog, do a search and make a request for the book if it's available.
If it's not available, then go to Interlibrary
Loan to make your request.
ALL COMMUNICATION AND LANGUAGE OPTIONS. It is important
to understand that audiological hearing loss has no bearing on what communication
and language modes a person may adopt. A person may be profoundly deaf, but
functions like a hard of hearing person (ie, speechreads, has understandable
speech, uses residual hearing and may also know signs) while another person
may be hard of hearing but functions like a deaf person by adopting ASL as his/her
preferred mode of language use and communication (for ex., this person may be
able to hear on the phone and use his/her speech to some degree, but uses ASL
in everyday communication).
*Anderson, Y. (1990). Who should make decisions on communication among deaf
people? In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication
issues among deaf people (pp. 1-4). Silver Spring, MD: National Association
of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies;
ETRR has 2 copies).
*Bornstein, H. (1990). Manual communication: Implications for education.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor HV2471.M36 1990).
"Manual codes on English and American Sign Language" by J. Stedt &
D. Moores, "A manual communication overview" by H. Bornstein, "Communication
in classrooms for deaf students" by T.E. Allen & M. Karchmer, "Sign
English in the Education of Deaf Students" by J. Woodward, "ASL and
Its Implications for Education" by R.J. Hoffmeister, "Signing Exact
English" by G. Gustatson, "Signed English" by H. Bornstein, "Cued
Speech" by E.L. Kipila & B.Williams-Scott, and "Manual Communication
for Those Who Can Hear" by G.R. Karlan.
*Bragg, B. (1990). Communication & the deaf community: Where do we go
from here? In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1990). Eyes, hands, voices:
Communication issues among deaf people (pp. 9-14). Silver Spring, MD:
National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and
4th floor-3 copies; ETRR has 2 copies).
Gannon, J. (Ed.). (Winter 1974-1975). Communication. Gallaudet Today,
5 (2). (2nd floor, HV2561.W18W344 v.4-5 1973-1975).
"Ameslan" (ASL) by L.Fant p. 1-3; "New Signs..the Pros and the
Cons" by H. Bornstein and F.C. Schreiber, "Seeing Essential English:
SEE" by D. Anthony, "Signing Exact English" by G. Gustason, "An
Experiment in Preschool Education" (the Rochester Method) by H.T. Hofsteater,
"What is Cued Speech?" by R.O. Cornett.br>
*Lynas, W. (1994). Communication options in the education of deaf children.
San Diego, Calif. : Singular Pub. Group. (4th floor HV2471 .L95 1994).
This book examines critically three broad categories of communication approach
which are currently advocated by the different schools of thinking concerned
with the socialization and education of deaf children. These are: the "auditory-oral",
the "total communication" and the "bilingual approach".
In each case the claims for the approach are identified, the arguments offered
for are assessed and the counter-claims made by the critics are presented. The
research relating to the efficacy of each approach is reviewed and the validity
of the available evidence is examined. The unresolved ideological and political
features of the debate are also discussed. This book is addressed primarily
to teachers of the deaf, student teachers of the deaf and parents of deaf children.
(From Whurr
Publishing web site).
McCay, V. (1992). Controversy within sign language. In Aymard, L..L.
& Winstanley, C. (Eds). Reflections on the language and culture of
Deaf Americans. Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt Publishing Co. (REF 1st
floor, HV 2471.R45 1992).
See p. 119-124.
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn and
Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
*Schirmer, B.R. (2001). Psychological, social, and educational dimensions
of deafness. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor HV2551 .S35 2001).
A treatment of the major issues affecting the lives of children, adolescents,
and adults who are deaf or hard of hearing, as well as their families. In addition
to describing current practice and research, Schirmer (Kent State U.) includes
personal essays that illustrate concepts and trends. Intended for professionals
and students preparing for roles in education, counseling, rehabilitation, interpreting,
and speech and hearing science. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland,
OR. (From Einstein Catalog ).
*Schwartz, S. (1996). Choices in deafness : A parents' guide to communication
options. Bethesda, MD : Woodbine House (4th floor HV2471 .C46 1996-2
copies).
Overwhelmingly, hearing parents raise deaf children. Most of the time they have
no prior exposure to people with hearing loss and must face some very difficult
options, for deaf education has been divided by controversy and bias for decades.
This work provides comprehensive information on various methodologies with straightforward
delivery, offering the perspective of parents and of children who have grown
up since the publication of the first edition. While only three methodologies
were discussed in the first edition--total communication, oralism, and cued
speech--the auditory/ verbal and bilingual-bicultural approaches have been added
here. This edition also covers in depth the medical causes of hearing loss,
the diagnostic process, meeting with the audiologist, and the pros and cons
of the newest technology, the cochlear implant. This work guides parents through
the choices they must make for their child, covering conditions and treatment
from both the parents' and the child's point of view. National organizations
serving the deaf or hard of hearing are listed, along with contact information.
Check out "A Communication Fairy Tale" p. 267 and "A Cultural
Identity: Peace and Grace in Being What You Are" by J. Gannon.(From
Einstein Catalog)
*Stokoe, W.C. (1992). Simultaneous communication, ASL and other classroom
modes. Burtonsville, MD: Linstok Press. (4th floor, HV2474.S59 1992).
*Val, Sarah. (1985). None so deaf. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College.
(Teacher's Guide HV2417.V342 1985).
Check out section VIII-"Methods of Communication" p. 43-51. Oralism
vs. Manualism, Oral Method and Manual English, Pidgin Sign English, Seeing Essential
English, SEE II (Signing Exact English) and LOVE (Linguistics of Visual English),
Rochester Method, Total Communication, What is Language?, ASL and the Definition
of Language, Nonverbal Communication, and ASL and Learning English. There is
a companion student text.
AMERICAN SIGN LANGUAGE OR ASL -Is a distinct language
with its own grammar rules used by the deaf community and is the language referred
to when discussing bilingual/bicultural deaf education. Different countries
have their own sign language systems, different from ASL. See the
Bilingual Bicultural Education guide for more information and resources.
Butler, K.G. & Prinz, P.M. (Eds.). (August 1998). ASL proficiency and English
literacy acquisition: New perspectives. Topics in Language Disorders,
18 (4). In this issue are the following articles: "Literacy
and Deaf Children: The Language Question" by M. Kuntze, "From Sign
to Word: Considering Modality Constraints in ASL/English Bilingual Education"
by J.L. Singleton, S. Supalla, S. Litchfield and S.Schley, "Reading Ability
in Signing Deaf Children" by C. Padden and C. Ramsey, "ASL Proficiency
and English Literacy within a Bilingual Deaf Education Model of Instruction"
by P. M. Prinz and M. Strong, "Development of ASL and English Competence
for Learners Who Are Deaf" by S.M. Nover, K.M. Christensen, and L.L. Cheng,
and "Toward a Differentiated Account of Facilitators of Literacy Development
and ASL in Deaf Children" by K.E. Nelson.(3rd floor, RJ 496.L35 T66 Vol.
18. no. 4).
Erting, L. & Pfau, J. (1997). Becoming
bilingual: Faciliating English literacy development using ASL in pre-school.
Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Pre-College National Mission
Programs. (4th floor, HV2391 .E78 1997).
Evans, C. (1998). Literacy acquisition in deaf children. Paper
presented at the Annual Meeting of the Teachers of English to Speakers of Other
Languages (32nd, Seattle, WA, March 17-21, 1998). (OVER 4th floor HV2469.E5
E93 1998).
A review of literature focuses on the literacy acquisition process of deaf children
who acquire American Sign Language (ASL) as a first language and written English
as a second language. Literacy in this context is defined broadly to include
the context and culture in which reading and writing occur, referring to the
strong connection between language learning, the individual, and the community
and emphasizing the importance of literacy acquisition and problems that can
occur when literacy in this broad sense is impaired. Topics addressed in the
review include: the nature of bilingualism; bilingual deaf education (BDE),
or the teaching of English to deaf children as a second language (including
the differences in the natures of ASL and English and differences between BDE
and other forms of bilingual education); and the need for special strategies
for literacy instruction for deaf children (motivation and self-concept development,
teacher understanding of the principles of language development, the role of
basic knowledge of the first language (ASL) in developing literacy, the speak-then-read
approach, allowing student use of translation, emphasis on comprehension, incorporation
of culture into instruction, use of cultural role models). (From Academic
Search Elite - ERIC database).
*Farb, A. B. (Ed.). (1997). Who speaks for the deaf community?
Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV 2545.W446
1997 and 4th floor).
This book offers views from over 20 authors.
*Farb, A. B. (Ed). (1998). Unrealized visions: What's next for the deaf
and hard of hearing community? Silver Spring, MD: National Association
of the Deaf. (4th floor HV2545 .U57 1999).
This monograph from NAD contains papers on issues concerning the deaf and hard
of hearing community, along with each writer's own ideas and views.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1990). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues
among deaf people. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf.
(1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR has 2 copies).
There are many articles about ASL and the Bilingual-Bicultural approach. See:
Bosso, E. "Ethics in Deaf America: Education and Language"; Christensen,
K. "ASL and English: Parallel Bilingualism; Eastman, G. "Interview
with Gil Eastman"; Goodstein, H. "ASL"; Jacobs, L. "What
is ASL?"; Jankowski, K. "Am I Communicating?", Johnson, R. &
Liddell, S. "The Value of ASL in the Education of Deaf Children";
Kannapell, B. "Personal Reflections: Current Issues on Language and Communication
Among Deaf People"; Kuntze, M., "ASL: Unity and Power"; Lane,
H. "Bilingual Education for ASL-Using Children"; Newell, W., "ASL
is not a Four-Letter Word: Deaf Education Can Dance With the Boogieman";
Newman, L. "Float Like a Butterfly, Sting Like a Bee", Peter, P. "ASL
to English"; Strong, M. "Bilingualism and Deaf Children", and
Valli, C. "A Taboo Exposed: Using ASL in the Classroom"; letters from
Bienvenu, M.J. and Kannapell, B.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1991). Perspectives on deafness : A deaf American
monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st
floor REF HV2380 .P457 1991and 4th floor).
See Bosso, E. & Kuntze, M. "Blazing Trails for Bilingual-Bicultural
Education in the West"; Gannon, J. "The Importance of a Cultural Identity";
Philips, M & Small, A. "The Path to Bilingualism and Biculturalism
at the Learning Center for Deaf Children", Vernon, M. "Historical,
Cultural, Psychological and Educational Aspects of ASL" and several other
articles.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1992). Viewpoints on deafness: A deaf American
monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf.(1st
floor REF HV2390 .V54 1992 and 4th floor).
See Andrews, J.F. "Equal Access for Deaf teachers in Texas"; Stewart,
L.G. "Debunking the Bilingual/Bicultural Snow Job in the American Deaf
Community", and several others.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1993). Deafness: 1993-2013: A deaf American monograph.
Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV 2545.D43).
Check out Andrews, J.F. & Covell, J.A. "Magnet Schools: Future Bilingual
Day Schools for Deaf Students", Holcomb, T.K. "The Construction of
Deaf Identity" and several other articles.
Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1994). Deafness: Life and Culture I: A deaf American
monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st
floor REF HV2545 .D55 1994 and 4th floor).
Check out Meador, H.E., "The How of a Language", Youngblut, D.F. and
Powers, G. "Deaf Culture Courses: Opinions of Deaf and Hearing Instructors"
and several other articles.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1995). Deafness: Life and Culture II: A deaf
American monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf.
(1st floor REF HV2545 .D55 1995 and 4th floor).
There are several articles about bilingual-bicultural education.
Graney, S. (1997). Where
does speech fit in?: Spoken English in a bilingual context. Washington,
D.C.: Gallaudet University Pre-College National Mission Programs. (4th floor
HV2497 .G73 1998).
Grosjean, F. (1999). The right of deaf child to grow bilingual.
Retrieved March 15, 2003 from
http://www.unine.ch/ltlp/pub/rightdeafchild_en.html.
*Lynas, W. (1994). Communication options in the education of deaf children.
San Diego, Calif. : Singular Pub. Group. (4th floor HV2471 .L95 1994).
See p. 59-77.
*Mashie, S. (1995). Educating deaf children bilingually. Washington,
D.C.: Gallaudet Unversity, Pre-College Programs.(4th floor, HV2440 .M248 1995).
This book discusses successful bilingual education practices used with deaf
children using examples from the Swedish and Danish experience. The natural
sign language of the deaf and the written language of the larger hearing community
are used to achieve grade-level proficiency. This book provides valuable information
on bilingualism and the development of bilingual education programs. (From Laurent
Clerc web site).
Mashie, S. (1997). A
first language: Whose choice is it? Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet
University Pre-College National Mission Programs. ( 4th floor, HV2391 .M33 1997).
*Mozzer-Mather, S. & Carroll, C. (1997). Movers & shakers: Deaf
people who changed the world: Student bilingual workbook. San Diego,
Calif.: DawnSignPress. (4th floor, HV2373 .C372 1997).
Unique workbook brings puzzles, games, additional information and exercises
based on the readings of the text, and allows one to explore the stories in
several dimensions. Challenges students to explore and develop their understanding
of ASL and English. The exercises will expand your knowledge of these two rich
languages that are the dual birthright of Deaf American children. (4th floor
HV2373.C372 1997). (From book cover).
Nover, S. & Andrews, J. (2000). Critical
pedagogy in deaf education: Teachers, reflections on creating a bilingual classroom
for deaf learners: Year 3 (1999-2000).
Santa Fe, New Mexico School for the Deaf. Year 4 is located via http://www.starschools.org/nmsd/year4/
(Year 1 is available via ED 426568, Year 2 is available via ED 438634, Year
3 is available via ED 450534 in microfiche, 2nd floor).
Stephen Nover has been doing cutting-edge research on bilingual-biculturall
deaf education programming at the New Mexico School for the Deaf. He has an
extensive bibliogaphy list and some of the books are at RIT Library.
*Parasnis, I. (Ed.). (1996). Cultural
and language diversity and the deaf experience. New York, NY: Cambridge
University Press.(4th floor HV2545 .C85 1996 -2 copies).
Presents a perspective that deaf people should be considered a cultural and
language minority group rather than as individuals with an audiological impairment.
Eighteen essays contributed by deaf and hearing educators, linguists, researchers,
and community members support the efforts of deaf people to have ASL recognized
in the planning of educational policies and curricula.
*Schleper, D.R. (1997). Reading
to deaf children: Learning from deaf adults. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet
University. (Basement, ETC VH 1852 suppl.; ETRR VIDEO 6572 suppl.). There is
a companion video.
Fifteen principles are outlined as a guide for parents and teachers who want
to share the pleasure of reading with deaf children. Check out the video-book
bag program. California School for the
Deaf (videos only), Kansas School for
the Deaf (videos only) and St.
Mary's School for the Deaf (video only-St. Mary's has more English like
signing and drama) have similar shared reading video programs for sale..
Schleper, D.R. (1998). Read
it again and again.
Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University. (Basement, ETC VH 1853 suppl.). There
is a companion video.
In the video and manual, Read It Again and Again, David Schleper
describes and demonstrates a technique for reading and re-reading the same books
over several days. This shared reading model is effective for teachers, librarians,
support staff, and parents who works with children from preschool through third
grade. The video and manual show how to re-read the books, as well as how to
help children write their own versions. Check out the video book bag program.California
School for the Deaf (videos only), Kansas
School for the Deaf (videos only) and St.
Mary's School for the Deaf (video only-St. Mary's has more English like
signing and drama) have similar shared reading video programs for sale.
*Schwartz, S. (1996). Choices in deafness : A parents' guide to communication
options. Bethesda, MD : Woodbine House (4th floor HV2471 .C46 1996-2
copies).
See pp. 89-116.
CUED SPEECH-Sound based visual communication system
uses 8 handshapes in 4 different locations in combination with the natural mouth
movements of speech to make the sounds of spoken language look different.
*Beck, P.H. (1991). Cued speech: Complete spoken language. In Garretson,
M.D. (Ed.). Perspectives on deafness: A deaf American monograph
(pp. 14-20).Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor
REF HV2380 .P457 1991and 4th floor).
Beck, P. H. (2000). Discovering cued speech [videorecording] : Instructional
video. Cleveland, OH : Cued Speech for Integrated Communication, Inc.
; Upper Savannah Area Health Education Consortium (WML, 1st floor 5 day collection
HV2487 .B42 2000).
A complete instructional set for learning cued speech. The videos and personal
workbook are designed to be used together or with face-to-face instruction
*Berlin, C.I. & Keats, B.J.B. (2000). Genetics and hearing loss.
San Diego, CA: Singular Publications. (ETRR only RF 292.G47 2000).
Accompanying CD-ROM contains audio and video footage from a Balinese village
with a large genetically deaf population and features clips demonstrating ASL
and Cued Speech.
*Cornett, R.O. (1990). The complete deaf person. Garretson, M.D. (Ed.).
Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues among deaf people (pp.
35-38). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF
HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR has 2 copies).
*Cornett, R.O. (1992). The cued speech resource book for parents of deaf
children. Raleigh, NC: National Cued Speech Association. (4th floor,
HV2500.C67 1992).
*Cornett, R.O. (1995). What price literacy. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.).
Deafness: Life & Culture II: A deaf American monograph (pp.
11-18). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF
HV2545 .D55 1995 and 4th floor).
*Fleetwood, E. & Metzger, M. (1992). Becoming a proficient cuer [videorecording].
Silver Spring, MD: Fleetwood & Metzger. (108 mins.). Voiced/Color. (ETRR
only Video 5312).
*Henegar, M.E. (1971). Cued speech handbook for parents. Washington,
DC: Gallaudet College. (4th floor, HV 2471.H46).
Kipila, E. & Williams-Scott, B. (1990). Cued speech: A response to "controversy
within sign language". In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands,
voices: Communication issues among deaf people (pp. 71-74). Silver Spring,
MD: National Association of the Deaf.
Koehler-Cesa, K.L. (1990). Cued speech curriculum: A method of instructing
cued speech to the hearing impaired. Boonton, NJ: K-C Publications.
(OVER 4th floor, HV2487.K64 1990).
Lykos, C.M. (1971). Cued speech: Hand book for teachers. Washington,
DC: Gallaudet College. (4th floor, HV2471.L95).
*Metzger, M. (Ed.). (2000). Bilingualism and identity in deaf communities.
Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor HV2471 .B55 2000).
Peter C. Hauser offers a study of an American child proficient in both ASL and
Cued English.
*Mills, A. (1999). An adventure in cued speech [videorecording].
Boise, Idaho : A. Mills. (38 mins.). Voiced/Color. (ETRR only Video 6578).
Presents cued speech users, their families and professionals, demonstrating
and discussing cued speech in a variety of settings.
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn and
Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
Check out p. 129.
*Schwartz, S. (1996). Choices in deafness : A parents' guide to communication
options. Bethesda, MD : Woodbine House (4th floor HV2471 .C46 1996-2
copies).
See pp. 117-162.
DEAF BLIND COMMUNICATION-Tactile sign language is used
by the deaf blind person holding the wrists of the signing person. Another communication
technique is to trace alphabets into the deaf blind person's hand, spelling
out words.
Atwood, A.A., Clarkson, J.D., Laba, C.R., & Snider, B.D. (1994). Being
in touch : Communication and other issues in the lives of people who are deaf-blind.
Washington, D.C. : College for Continuing Education, Gallaudet University. (4th
floor, HV1597 .A82 1994).
Einhorn, L.J. (1998). Helen Keller, public speaker : Sightless but seen,
deaf but heard. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press. (4th floor, HV1624.K4E56
1998).
An account of Keller's public speaking, concentrating on characteristics of
her speeches, their effectiveness, and her radical activism. Contains 19 speeches,
plus a chronology and b&w photos. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc.,
Portland, OR.
*Freeberg, E. (2001). The education of Laura Bridgman: The first deaf
band blind person to learn language. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University
Press.(4th floor, HV1624.B7 F74 2001).
The disabled have rarely received historical recognition. Freeberg (humanities,
Colby-Sawyer College) offers an important corrective. Born in 1829 in New Hampshire,
Laura Bridgman contracted scarlet fever at the age of two and lost her sight
and hearing. Her tragic fate would have remained outside historical notice had
not a doctor named Samuel Gridley Howe heard about her and brought her to his
Boston school for blind children when she was eight years old. She became the
first deaf and blind child in his care, and he took great interest in her education.
As a Unitarian and moral reformer, Howe viewed Laura as a test case: if he could
teach her to communicate it would "prove" his belief in the innate
intelligence of all living beings. Howe developed a large audience in Boston,
around the country, and overseas for his regular reports on Laura's progress
and on public demonstrations of her ability to communicate through a manual
language he devised. Laura Bridgman became the symbol of Romantic hope over
Calvinist doom. Freeberg's rich narrative offers readers Laura's story within
the larger social context of mid-19th-century New England.
*Gitter, E. (2001). The imprisoned guest: Samuel Howe and Laura Bridgman,
the original deaf-blind girl. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux. (4th
floor HV 1624.B7 2001).
In 1837, Samuel Gridley Howe, the director of Boston's Perkins Institution for
the Blind, heard about Laura Bridgman, a bright deaf-blind seven-year-old, the
daughter of New Hampshire farmers. At once he resolved to rescue her from the
"darkness and silence of the tomb." And indeed, thanks to Howe and
an extraordinary group of female teachers, Laura learned to finger spell, to
read raised letters, and to write legibly and even eloquently. Philosophers,
poets, educators, theologians, and early psychologists hailed Laura as a moral
inspiration and a living laboratory for the most controversial ideas of the
day. She quickly became a major tourist attraction, and many influential writers
and reformers -- Carlyle, Dickens, and Hawthorne among them -- visited her or
wrote about her. But as the Civil War loomed and her girlish appeal faded, the
public began to lose interest. By the time Laura died in 1889, she had been
wholly eclipsed by the prettier, more ingratiating Helen Keller. The Imprisoned
Guest recovers Laura Bridgman's forgotten life, placing it in the context of
nineteenth-century American social, intellectual, and cultural history. Her
troubling, tumultuous relationship with Howe, who rode Laura's achievements
to his own fame but could not cope with the intense, demanding adult she became,
sheds light on the contradictory attitudes of a reform era in which we can find
some precursors to our own. Book jacket.
Herrmann, D. Helen Keller : A life. New York : A. Knopf. (4th
floor, HV1624.K4 H47 1998).
Using mostly primary sources written by Helen Keller, her friends, and her detractors,
Herrmann set out to discover "the real Helen Keller" as opposed to
the "plaster saint" of mythology. Herrmann uses a chronological account
of Keller's long and eventful life from her birth in 1887 to her death in 1968
as a framework, but her focus is on more personal questions: what were Keller's
relationships with her friends, how did she make her money, and what did she
really experience? She paints a portrait of a complex and enigmatic woman who
was at once strong, intelligent, kind, courageous, and stoic, as well as petty
and vindictive. Some of the theoretical controversies raised by Keller's life
(e.g., what does a deaf/blind person experience, what is knowledge for a deaf/blind
person, how is a deaf/blind person best taught) are briefly explored, but Herrmann
concentrates on Keller's achievements, experiences, ideas, and desires, and
how these were fulfilled or thwarted in her lifetime. The author's most interesting
and thorough speculations are about the dynamics and consequences of dependency
and dominance; her less satisfying speculations concern sexual attraction. A
thought-provoking book, easy to read, and generously illustrated with photographs.
(from Einstein Catalog).
Heubner, K. M. (Ed.). (1995). Hand in hand : Essentials of communication
and orientation and mobility for your students who are deaf-blind. New
York : AFB Press, (4th floor, HV1597.2 .H34 1995 v.1-2)
Myers, M. J. (2001). The national curriculum : An introduction to working
and socializing with people who are deaf-blind [videorecordings]. (122
mins.). Voiced/Signed/Color. San Diego, Calif. : DawnSignPress. (5 day collection
HV2402 .N385 2001).
Accompanying computer floppy disk includes text file of the book. Deaf-blind
community experience -- Understanding technology used by people
who are deaf-blind -- Sighted guide techniques with people who are deaf-blind
- Tactile communication methods and techniques -- Interpreting adjustments
This curriculum set presents an overview of the lives and perspectives of members
of the deaf-blind community and their culture. It also covers the various
roles and relationships of interpreters and support service providers within
the Deaf-blind community. Two companion texts.
*Pennsylvania Department of Education. (1995). Tactile interpreting for
students who are deaf-blind [videorecordings]. [S.l.] : Pennsylvania
Department of Education. (300 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (ETRR only
VIDEO 5726)
This is a three videotape teleclass on tactile interpreting for the deaf-blind.
A section on current assistive technology services and devices is included.
Some of the topic areas covered are: leading causes of deaf-blindness, culture
and socialization isssues, and conveying affect within the context of interpreting,
specifically related to environmental orientation and mobility. Comes with a
companion brochure.
*Petronio, K. (1995). Tactile ASL as used by deaf-blind people [videorecording].
Rochester, NY : NTID/RIT. (51 mins.). Voiced/Signed/Color. (ETRR only VIDEO
5912 no.38)
Dr. Petronio explains how ASL makes the transition to tactile ASL .
Smith, T. B. (1992). Deaf-blind : Communication and community [videorecordings].
Burtonsville, Md. : Sign Media, Inc. (125 mins.). Signed/ Voiced/ Color/Captioned.
(5 day collection HV1597 .S468 1992).
[tape 1] Overview and introduction -- [tape 2] Getting involved : a conversation
Teresa Smith, director of the ASL Interpreting School of Seattle, presents basic
issues for the consideration of those people who are thinking of becoming interpreters.
Topics include getting to know the community, differences between interpreting
for the Deaf and for the Deaf-Blind, guiding, styles, and setting personal limits
on services. She then moderates a discussion between two Deaf-Blind individuals,
Pat Cave and Janice Adams, assisted by interpreters Steven Collins and William
Adams. Topics include general perceptions and experiences of deaf-blind adults
and their communication needs. Companion texts.
Sturley, N. (1995). Oh really...you have Usher? [videorecording].
Carlisle : BDA & Sense Usher Syndrome in the Deaf Community Project in Partnership.
(36 mins.) Voiced/Color/Signed/Captioned. (5 day collection RF292.8 .O3 1995b).
MANUALLY CODED ENGLISH SYSTEMS.Seeing Essential
English (SEE I) - Adds many new signs for English words, signs for word
endings and verbs.Signing Exact English adds prefixes and suffixes
to ASL signs and Linguistics of Visual English adds many new signs
and tries to use the first letter of the word as part of the new signs. These
manual languages are not used by the deaf community.
Anthony, D. (1978). Seeing essential English elementary dictionary.
Boulder, Colo. : Pruett Pub. Co. (4th floor HV2475.A68 1978).
This is an invented system created to represent the English language.
Anthony, D. (1992). Seeing essential English. In Aymard, L..L. &
Winstanley, C. (Eds). Reflections on the language and culture of Deaf
Americans. Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt Publishing Co. (REF 1st floor,
HV 2471.R45 1992).
See p. 129-133.
*Anthony, D. (1995). A S L Write Right Rite Wright. In
Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Deafness: Life & Culture II: A deaf American
monograph (pp. 1-7). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the
Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2545 .D55 1995 and 4th floor).
*Bornstein, H., Saulnier, K., & Hamilton, L. (1983). The comprehensive
Signed English dictionary. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College Press.
(REF 1st floor and 4th floor, HV2475.C65 1983).
This text is the premier volume of the Signed English series. This complete
dictionary has over 3,100 signs, including signs reflecting lively and contemporary
vocabulary. The American Manual Alphabet, numbers, and sign markers are all
located in the front of the book for easy reference. Other sections provide
a general description of the Signed English system, its logic, and its use.
(from Einstein Catalog )
*Bornstein, H., & Saulnier, K. (1984). The Signed English starter.
Washington, DC: Kendall Green Publications. (4th floor-2 copies HV2474.B67 1984).
This book covers 940 basic signs. Information on sign systems, the use of markers
and how deaf children learn English is also provided. (from Info
to Go)
Gustaston, G. & Zawolkow, E. (1980). Using signing exact English in
total communication: A collection of articles. Los Alamitos, CA: Modern
Signs Press.
*Gustaston, G. (1990). Are we building bridges, or are we building walls?
In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues among
deaf people (pp. 51-52). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of
the Deaf.(1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR
has 2 copies).
Gustason, G. (1992). Signing exact English. In Aymard, L..L. & Winstanley,
C. (Eds). Reflections on the language and culture of Deaf Americans. Dubuque,
Iowa: Kendall/Hunt Publishing Co. (REF 1st floor, HV 2471.R45 1992).
See pp. 125-127.
*Gustaston, G. (1992). Wall, after wall, after wall. In Garretson, M.D.
(Ed.). Viewpoints on deafness: A deaf American monograph (pp.
63-66). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF
HV2390 .V54 1992 and 4th floor).
*Gustason, G. (1993). Signing exact English. Los Alamitos, CA
: Modern Signs Press. (4th floor, HV2475 .G87 1993).
Presents a system of signs to represent the English language.
*Luetke-Stahlman, B. (1993). Whole English. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.).
Deafness: 1993-2013: A deaf American monograph (pp. 89-92). Silver
Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV 2545.D43).
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn and
Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
Check p. 124.
PIDGIN SIGN ENGLISH -- -(PSE- "contact signing"
which is used when 2 groups who don't know each other's language try to communicate;
usually ASL signs in English grammar order-neither ASL nor English). Persons
who learn ASL as a second language tend to use this form of signing.
*Bragg, B. (1992). In defense of English - like signing on NBC-TV's Reasonable
Doubts. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Viewpoints on deafness: A deaf American
monograph (pp. 31-34). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the
Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2390 .V54 1992 and 4th floor).
*Bragg, B. & Olson, J.R. (1993). Meeting halfway in American Sign
Language: A common ground for effective communication among deaf and hearing
people. Rochester, NY: Deaf Life Press. (4th floor HV2474 .B724 1994).
The most lavishly-illustrated photographic sign-language book ever published
(approx. 1,300 photographs). An ideal supplementary text for intermediate sign-language
classes-but can be used and enjoyed by beginning and advanced students as well.
Contains complete frame-by-frame visualizations of two anecdotes, Bragg's "Crackers"
and Olson's "Experiences of a Hearing Educator," a "Dialogue,"
and Robert Frost's poem "Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening." Photos
of 43 indispensable handshapes/classifiers are also featured. Practice texts
include Olson's "The Day I Almost Got Fired for Signing" and Bragg's
hilarious "Beefeater Catastrophe." With introduction, explanation,
notes, glosses, and bibliography.(from
Deaf Life Press)
*Cassell, J. D. (1995). Comparative translations : written English,
Pidgin Sign English, American Sign language [videorecording]. Salem,
OR : Sign Enhancers. (60 mins.). Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor HV2474 .C666
1995).
Demonstrates and explains the difference between sentences in written English,
American Sign language and Pidgin Sign English. Comes with a companion text.
Cassell, J. (1995). ASL grammatical aspects : Comparative translations
[CD-ROM]. Salem, OR : Sign Enhancers. (On reserve HV2474 .C6662 1995).
The same as the video described above. Comes with a companion text.
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn
and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
Check out: Contact Signing (CS)--a Language Bridging the Gap p. 122
ROCHESTER AND OR FINGERSPELLING METHOD--uses fingerspelling
and speech at the same time. No sign language is used. The manual alphabet
is represented by different handshapes. The American alphabet is one handed.
The British alphabet is 2 handed.
*Bahleda, S.J. (1996). Fingerspelling, the real world. Cinccinnati,
OH: Real World Press.(4th floor, HV2477 .B35 1996).
Contains over 2,000 practice words including those relating to deaf history
and culture, names from popular culture, history, geographic locations and science
and nature. Also provides tips for expressive and receptive fingerspelling and
exercises for signing numerical information. (from Info
to Go).
*Bragg, B. (1995). Sign initialization/fingerspelling in ASL: Its impact
on deaf people. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Deafness: Life & Culture
II: A deaf American monograph (pp. 7-10). Silver Spring, MD: National
Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2545 .D55 1995 and 4th floor).
Gaertner, S. (n.d.). ASL fingerspelling dictionary. Retrieved
August 1, 2002 from http://www.where.com/scott.net/asl/.
Gay, G. (22, April 2001). Fingerspelling wizard. Retrieved
August 1, 2002 from http://www.iwaynet.net/%7Eggwiz/asl/.
View Norwegian, French, United Kingdom, Deaf-Blind alphabets
*Groode, J.L. (1992). Fingerspelling: Expressive and receptive fluency
[Videorecording]. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (120 mins.)
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (1st floor video collection HV 2477.F55 1992).
Based on her popular and successful workshops, the videos discuss dealing with
strategies for building and improving both expressive and receptive fingerspelling
skills. Comes with a companion booklet.
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn
and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
Check p. 126.
*Sign Media. (1991). Fingerspelling practice tapes [Videorecordings].
Burtonsville, MD: Sign Media.Color/Signed. (1st floor video collection HV 2477.F55
1991 no.1-4).
There are four videos entitled, "Fingerspelling Loaned Signs", "Proper
Names", "Geographic Locations" and "Miscellaneous Items".
The videos include slow and fast signing with proper names, geographic locations
and other useful items.
SIMULTANEOUS COMMUNICATION OR SIGN SUPPORTED SPEECH-The
use of speech and signing at the same time.Speech tend to over-ride correct
use of signs unless one is well-trained.
*Johnson, R. (1989). Robert Johnson at NTID [videorecording].
Rochester, NY : NTID/RIT. (Voiced/Color/Interpreted). (ETRR only VIDEO 5912
no.10).
Robert Johnson, Chairman of the Department of Linguistics and Interpreting at
Gallaudet University, gives his recommendations for "Unlocking the Curriculum"
for deaf students, citing the inadequacy of the sign supported speech currently
in use in classrooms, the cycle of low expectations which the deaf education
system has for deaf students, and the need for children to acquire a natural
language very early. Supplement: "Unlocking the Curriculum", Gallaudet
Research Institute Working Paper 89-3 by Johnson, Scott K. Liddell, and Carol
J. Erting.
*Johnson, R., Liddell, S.K. & Erting, C. (1989). Unlocking the curriculum
: Principles for achieving access in deaf education. Washington, D.C.
: Gallaudet University. (4th floor HV2469.E5 A328 1989).
*Marschark, M. & D. Clark (Eds.). Psychological perspectives on deafness.
Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum. (4th floor HV2380.P77 1993).
Check out pp.7-26 Origins and interactions in social, cognitive, and language
development of deaf children. This paper looks at good and ineffective simultaneous
communication and suggests key elements that must be present if simultaneous
communication is to be effective.
*Moores, D. (1990). Communication: Some answered questions and some questioned
answers. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication
issues among deaf people (pp. 91-96). Silver Spring, MD: National Association
of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies;
ETRR has 2 copies).
*Parsons, F.M. (1992). The pendulum since the Great Depression. In Garretson,
M.D. (Ed.). Viewpoints on deafness: A deaf American monograph
(pp. 103-108). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor
REF HV2390 .V54 1992 and 4th floor).
*Newell, W.J. (1990). Simultaneous communication: A description by deaf
professionals working in an educational setting. Rochester, NY : NTID/RIT.
(ETRR NTID-RR 1515)
Can be found in Sign Language Studies, 69, 391-414, 1990. Focus groups
of deaf and hard of hearing professionals working with college age deaf students
described attributes which make simultaneous communication "comprehensible"
to them. Features of simultaneous communication related to both the signed and
spoken components of the signal are described and representative comments from
these focus group participants are utilized to provide insight into the perceptions
of deaf communicators within a simultaneous communication framework.
*Stewart, L. (1990). Sign language: Some thoughts of a deaf American.
In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues among
deaf people (pp. 117-125). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of
the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR
has 2 copies).
SPEECHREADING/AUDITORY-VERBAL/ORALISM-The oral method of
communication uses speech and speechreading without the use of signs. This philosophy
encourages the development of residual hearing with hearing aids and
cochlear implants.
Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf. (1998). Components
of a quality auditory oral program. Washington, D.C. : Alexander Graham
Bell Association for the Deaf. (4th floor, HV2483 .C657 1998).
*Breunig, H. L. (1990). Letter. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands,
voices: Communication issues among deaf people (pp. 135-136). Silver
Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1
copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR has 2 copies).
*Campbell, R., Dodd, B., & Burnham, D.K. (1998).
Hearing by eye II: Advances in the psychology of speechreading and auditory
- visual speech. Hove, East Sussex, UK: Psychology Press. (ETRR
HV2487.H43 1998).
Estabrooks, W. (1994). Auditory-verbal therapy for parents and professionals.
Washington, DC: AGB Association for the Deaf. (4th floor, HV2483.A834
1994).
*Estabrooks, W. (1995). The ABC's of AVT [kit] : analyzing auditory-verbal
therapy. North York, Ont. : Auditory-Verbal Therapy Programme, Learning
to Listen Foundation, North York General Hospital. (Basement, ETC VH 1855 and
book).
Book and video intended to be used simultaneously. Intended to provide opportunities
for auditory-verbal therapists, speech-language pathologists, teachers of hearing-impaired
children, and audiologists to expand and enhance their professional skills.
Can also provide guidance for parents when used collaboratively with an auditory-verbal
professional. Video shows 33 episodes of therapy, accompanying episodes in the
book. Includes information on the auditory-verbal approach; auditory-verbal
techniques; auditory development, articulation/phonology, pragmatics, language
processing, discourse and variables affecting the programs. Also includes a
task analysis guide with audiological information, transcript, and tasks for
each episode.
*Gardner, A. (1992). Folie d'Oralisme. In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Viewpoints
on deafness: A deaf American monograph (pp. 59-62). Silver Spring, MD:
National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2390 .V54 1992 and 4th floor).
*Golan, L. (1995). Reading between the lips: A totally deaf man makes
it in the mainstream. Chicago : Bonus Books. (4th floor, HV2848.5G65A3
1995).
Lee, J. (1997). Speechreading in context: A guide for practice in everyday
situations: A revision of David Deyo's work. Washington, D.C.: Pre-College
National Mission Programs, Gallaudet University. (4th floor, HV2487.L44 1997).
*Lynas, W. (1994). Communication options in the education of deaf children.
San Diego, Calif. : Singular Pub. Group. (4th floor HV2471 .L95 1994).
See p. 7-26.
*Marschark, M. (1997). Relations of language and thought: The view from
sign language and deaf children. New York: Oxford University Press.
(HV 2391.R45).
Contributors offer different perspectives on language and cognitive development
in deaf children, drawing on research in theoretical linguistics, neuropsychology,
parent-child interactions, and reading education. Topics include the modular
effects of sign language acquisition, the nature and role of lip reading in
cognitive development of deaf children, and modules and the informational encapsulation
of language processes. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc.,Portland, OR.
(From Einstein Catalog)
Ramacciotti, R.L. (1994). One educator's assessment. In Garretson, M.D.
(Ed.). (1994). Deafness: Life and Culture I: A deaf American monograph
(pp. 89-92). . Silver Spring, MD: National Association
of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2545 .D55 1994 and 4th floor).
Reisler, J. (2002). Voices of the oral deaf: Fourteen role models speak
out. Jefferson, NC: McFarland. (4th floor, HV2545.R45 2002).
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn and
Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
See page 128 on the oral approach.
*Schirmer, B.R. (2001). Psychological, social, and educational dimensions
of deafness. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor HV2551 .S35 2001).
A treatment of the major issues affecting the lives of children, adolescents,
and adults who are deaf or hard of hearing, as well as their families. In addition
to describing current practice and research, Schirmer (Kent State U.) includes
personal essays that illustrate concepts and trends. Intended for professionals
and students preparing for roles in education, counseling, rehabilitation, interpreting,
and speech and hearing science. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland,
OR. (From Einstein Catalog ). Check
page 198 on the oral approach.
*Schwartz, S. (1996). Choices in deafness : A parents' guide to communication
options. Bethesda, MD : Woodbine House (4th floor HV2471 .C46 1996-2
copies).
See pp. 53-88 and 163-208.
Tye-Murray, N. (1993). Communication training for hearing impaired children
and teenagers: Speechreading, listening, and using repair strategies.
Austin, TX: Pro-Ed. (4th floor, HV2497.T94 1993).
TOTAL COMMUNICATION-- Often confused with "simultaneous
communication". This is a philosophy that believes in using any and all
methods of communication to assist the student: ASL, PSE, sign supported speech,
manual English, speech, fingerspelling, writing, mime, drawing pictures and
non-verbal communication (facial expression, body language, gestures).
*Cohen, J. (1990). Total communication: A parent's perspective. In Garretson,
M.D. (Ed.). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues among deaf people
(pp.31-34). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st
floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR has 2 copies).
Evans, L. (1982). Total Communication: Structure and strategy.
Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet College Press.(4th floor, HV2497.E82).
Total communication, a method utilizing a combination of visual and auditory
cues in an attempt to maximize comprehension, has long been a focus of debate
by the deaf community, families of deaf children, and education professionals.
For perhaps the first time, this book documents total communication's historical
and philosophical roots and analyzes the strengths and limitations of total
communication's elemental parts and their salient linguistic properties.
*Lynas, W. (1994). Communication options in the education of deaf children.
San Diego, Calif. : Singular Pub. Group. (4th floor HV2471 .L95 1994).
See p. 35-56.
*Panara, R.F. (1992). Back to the future with "ye compleat communicator".
In Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). Viewpoints on deafness: A deaf American monograph
(pp. 97-102). Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor
REF HV2390 .V54 1992 and 4th floor).
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston: Allyn
and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380.S33 2001).
Check p. 128.
*Schwartz, S. (1996). Choices in deafness : A parents' guide to communication
options. Bethesda, MD : Woodbine House (4th floor HV2471 .C46 1996-2
copies).
See pp. 209-244.
DEAF AND SPECIAL EDUCATION JOURNALS-These are good places
to find recent information on a topic.
Check out Parasnis, Ila. (1997) Cultural identity and diversity in deaf education.
American Annals of the Deaf, 142, 72-79. .
Use the ETRR Index to
Interpreting and Deaf Periodicals to find citations.
The Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals
is another citation database. The Gallaudet Index DOESN'T index recent information
and it indexes popular magazines, not professional journals. Deaf Life
Magazine is highly recommended and we keep back issues in bound format on
the 2nd floor PER HV2350.D45.
When you find a citation you like and want to locate the journal or magazine,
use the Einstein Catalog to find
the journal title and the location. It may be available in print on the
1st floor on the Current Magazine Shelves or at the Reserve Desk, in bound
periodical format (Deaf Life magazine) on the 2nd floor, on microfilm/microfiche
on the 2nd floor, and/or online via a
full-text database. For citations on American Sign Language,
try the online database Linguistics
Abstracts for citations. Full-text articles may be found via
ABI Inform,
Academic Search Elite-Master File Index-ERIC, FirstSearch-MLA
Bibliography and OMNI Files. Check out Dissertation Abstracts and
the World Cat via FirstSearch
for citations. Check out in-depth reports on Special Education and
the Americans With Disabilities Act via the
CQ Researcher Database.
There is a Deaf and
Special Education Periodical Guide. The guide lists the web and database
links for you for all journal titles. Some recommended periodicals are:
Journal of Deaf Studies and Education,
American Annals
of the Deaf , Sign Language
Studies, Topics in Language Disorders and there are more.
NEWSPAPERS-These are good places to look for current information or to
get an overview of the day-to-day coverage of a particular issue. Try the ABI-PROQUEST
or Academic
Search Elite databases to get newspaper articles.
DEAF WWW RESOURCES-Check out the
Deaf Internet Resources .You can click on the Deaf Education,
ESL and Deaf Resources links. Check out Info
to Go from Gallaudet University which has online "quick reference"
sheets.
EDUCATION WWW RESOURCES-Check out the
Education Internet Resources.
FACT SHEETS- We have quick reference short papers on various topics from
Gallaudet University REF HV 2353.N375 and SHHH REF HV 2353.S53 in the reference
area on the 1st floor.
Compiled by Joan Naturale, JXNWML@rit.edu
Links checked 15 March 2003. Check links free via http://validator.w3.org/checklink.
Input URL, click on summary option, then click check.
|