Where to Find Company Information
BASIC U.S. DIRECTORIES
Advertisers
and Advertising Agencies Red Book. Skokie, IL: National
Register Publishing Co. Annual. Most comprehensive directory of
advertisers and ad agencies available. Search capabilities include:
company name, brand name, product type, geographic location, position
type, sales, and SIC code, to name a few. Includes International
firms as well as U.S. based companies.
RESD HF5421.A615
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory. Detroit: Gale
Research. Annual. Directory information on approximately 27,000 wholesalers
and distributors in the U.S. Alphabetical, geographical and industry breakdowns
available. REF HG 4057.A147
America's Corporate Families: the billion dollar directory..
Parsippany, NJ: Dun's Marketing Services. Volume one provides full descriptions
of 12,700 U.S. parent companies and over 75,000 subsidiaries & divisions.
Volumes two and three link 1,700 U.S. parents with 13,000 foreign subsidiaries
as well as give industry and geographic breakdowns.
REF HD69.C6C647
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory. Detroit:
Gale Research, 1999. First volume contains descriptive listings
organized into general subject sections. Volume two includes geographic;
activities; personal name; and consulting firms indexes.
REF HD9981.5.D85
Dun's Directory of Service Companies. Parsippany, NJ: Dun &
Bradstreet. Annual. Contains information on approximately 50,000 service
businesses whose primary income is generated by service activity. Industries
represented include: Hotels and other lodgings; Personal services; Legal
services; Social Services; Health Services; etc. Directory breakdowns include:
Alphabetical; Industry Code (SIC code based) and Geographic.
Gale's
Business and Company Resource Center. Database includes
company profiles, financial information histories, products and
brands, and company/industry rankings. Searchable by company name,
ticker symbol as well as keyword.
Hoover's
Online. Austin: Reference Press.
Web-based access to approximately 14,000 company capsules and nearly
4,000 company profiles for both public and private corporations.
Resource also includes links to news, stock quotes, and lists of
company rankings.
Standard
& Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors & Executives
via NetAdvantage. New York: Standard & Poor's . Web
based access to listings for approximately 45,000 U.S. and Canadian
firms giving officers, products or services, SIC, sales and number
of employees; list of executives with brief biographical data; companies
by SIC and geographically.
REF HD9727.....
"State" Manufacturers Registers. Chicago: Manufacturers' News,
Inc. WL has available several of these directories for individual states
including California, Texas, Illinois, Connecticut/Rhode Island.
REF T12.T6
Thomas
Register of American Manufacturers and Thomas Register Catalog File.
New York: Thomas Publishing Co. Annual. Comprehensive listing of
American manufacturing firms. First eleven volumes list manufacturers
by products and services. Twelve and thirteen are alphabetical listings
of companies, giving address, etc. Last volumes are "catalogs of
companies."
BASIC INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORIES
REF HG4538.A1D5 1994
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries.
New York: Simon & Schuster, 1996. Lists over 3,250 companies.
1: alphabetical list giving name of officer in charge of foreign
operation and countries of operation; 2 and 3: lists companies by
geographical location, provides parent/subsidiary and product or
service information.
REF HG4057.A121943
Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States. New
York: Simon & Schuster, 1998. The direct opposite of the above listing. REF HG4234.85.Z65D86
Hoover's
Online. Austin: Reference Press. Web-based
access to approximately 14,000 company capsules and nearly 4,000 company
profiles for both public and private corporations. Resource also
includes links to news, stock quotes, and lists of company rankings.
REF HD2721.I62
International Directory of Company Histories. Chicago: St.
James Press. Multiple volumes. Gives historical development of the
world's largest and most influential companies. Each company included
has either a minimum of $2 billion in annual sales or are a leading
influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Mergent
Online (formerly FISOnline). Source of financial and business
information on over 3,000 major corporations in 100 countries. Includes
company history, description of business , financial statements,
management, debt, capital, and other key data.
REF HF54.U5P74
Principal International Businesses. Bethlehem, PA:
Dun & Bradstreet. Annual. Information on approximately
50,000 leading enterprises throughout the world. Sections include
businesses listed alpabetically, by product classification and geographically. REF HG4538.W423
Who Owns Whom: North American Edition. London: Dun & Bradstreet,
2002. Indicates ownership of subsidiaries and associated companies.
REF HF54.U5W667
World Business Directory. Detroit: Gale Research. Annual. 4
volumes. Directory information for more than 140,000 companies in over
180 countries.
NEW YORK STATE AND LOCAL COMPANIES
Annual Report Files Located in VIA
Annual Reports. The library keeps 5 years of annual reports for Fortune 500 companies
that supply reports to our collection. This includes some of the larger Rochester-based companies.
Hoover's
Online. Austin: Reference Press. Web-based
access to approximately 14,000 company capsules and nearly 4,000 company
profiles for both public and private corporations. Resource also
includes links to news, stock quotes, and lists of company rankings.
Can search by geographic location.
REF HF5065.N7U67
Upstate New York Business Directory. Omaha: American Business
Directories, 2002. Listing of over 200,000 businesses by city and yellow
page category. Separate listing of major employers and of manufacturers
by city and product.
TELEPHONE DIRECTORIES
Telephone directories are excellent sources for basic company information.
There are numerous web-based phone directory sites available. The
Library has links to many of these through the General Reference
Sources section under Telephone
Directories on the Library homepage.
COMPANY HISTORIES AND PROFILES
Annual Report Files Located in VIA
Annual Reports. The library keeps 5 years
of annual reports for Fortune 500 companies
that supply reports to our collection. This includes some of the larger Rochester-based companies.
REF HC102.E53 1994
Encyclopedia of American Industries. Detroit: Gale Research.
Two volume set detailing comprehensive information on a wide range of industries
based on the SIC codes. Within each industry section information on specific
industry leaders in included. Data on sales; market share; volume of production
and new product development are included for the leaders. REF HF5415.3.E527
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands. Detroit: Gale Research. Three
volumes. Provides substantive information on products that have been leaders
in their respective brand categories and have had decided impact on American
business or popular culture. Highlights approximately 600 of the most popular
brands in America. See also Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
(REF HD2324.E525 1999).
Hoover's
Online. Austin: Reference Press.
Web-based access to approximately 14,000 company capsules and nearly
4,000 company profiles for both public and private corporations.
Resource also includes links to news, stock quotes, and lists of
company rankings.
Mergent
Online. Database includes access to Bank
and Finance; Industrial; OTC Industrial; Public Utility; and Transportation
company information.
REF HG4009.N68
Notable Corporate Chronologies. Detroit: Gale. Two volumes.
Chronologies for over 1,000 major corporations. Timelines list at least
30 key dates marking major events for the individual corporations.
RANKING OF COMPANIES
REF HG4061.B88
Business Rankings Annual. Detroit: Gale Publishing.
Annual. Lists of copanies, products, services and activities compiled
from previously published sources.
REF HF5035.D86
D & B Business Rankings. Parsippany, NJ: Dun's Marketing
Services. Annual. Ranks leading public and private U.S. businesses by size,
sales volume within industry groups and geographically. RESD HG4057.A275
Forbes 500. New York: Forbes, Inc. Annual. Nation's largest
companies ranked by assets, sales, market value and net profit.
RESD HG4057.A282
Fortune 500. New York: Fortune. Annual issue of Fortune 500
lists top 500 manufacturing and service companies by sales, assets, employee
size, growth, etc.
Hoover's
Online. Austin: Reference Press. Web-based
access to approximately 14,000 company capsules and nearly 4,000 company
profiles for both public and private corporations. Resource also
includes links to news, stock quotes, and lists of company rankings.
RESD HF5068.R6B66
Lists. Rochester, NY: Rochester Business Journal.
Annual. Lists that rank local companies by specific criteria (i.e.
size, type of company, sales).
OBSOLETE COMPANIES, SUBSIDIARIES, MERGERS AND ACQUISITIONS
REF HG 4057.A157
America's Corporate Families: the billion dollar directory.
Parsippany, NJ: Dun's Marketing Services. Volume one provides full
descriptions of 11,000 U.S. parent companies and over 55,000 subsidiaries
& divisions. Volumes two and three link 1,700 U.S. parents with
13,000 foreign subsidiaries as well as give industry and geographic
breakdowns.
PER HG4028.M4M45
Mergers and Acquisitions.
Philadelphia: Information for Industry. Published 5 times a year. Current
issues on the current magazine shelves.
REF HG4538.W423
Who Owns Whom. North American Edition. London: Dun &
Bradstreet, 1999. Defines ownership of subsidiary and associate companies
and how they fit into their parent groups. Entries provide address, main
business activities of the parent group, and the structure and links between
companies.
Access to Articles
ABI/Inform.Comprehensive
index of over 1,400 business related journals from 1970 to date.
Includes a 150 word abstract for each article indexed. Approximately
50% of the journals are available in a full text format directly
on line.
Factiva. Financial information as well as articles on
companies available via this web based service.
Lexis/Nexis
. Database service providing access to over 700 business and news files
including newspapers, magazines company and industry reports as well as
legal and medical information."
INTERNET SOURCES
Selected web sites for Company
Information are found on the library's web page.
For More Information Contact:
Jennifer Freer
Library Liaison
E. Philip Saunders College of Business
Business News and Resources
jlfwml@rit.edu
IM me at bizlibrarian 
|