Creative Directories for the Commercial Arts
Creative directories are specialized sources used by advertising, public relations,
and other creative industry professionals to locate talent and support services
for a great variety of projects--advertising and editorial illustration, corporate
reports, product design, retail and exhibit displays, television commercial
production, etc. Creative directories can also assist students seeking employment
as graphic designers, photographers, industrial designers, illustrators, and
filmmakers to identify potential employers.
The directories provide brief contact information (names, addresses, telephone numbers) for service
providers ranging from individual free-lancers to giant production companies. Many of the
directories also include lavishly produced self-promotional advertisements showing examples
of work and providing other information about the advertiser, such as clients, publications,
and areas of specialization. The directories are updated regularly (usually every year)
to ensure their usefulness in the ever-changing world of commercial art. Many are limited to
specific geographic areas or media, and several are sponsored by professional organizations and
are limited to members of those groups.
The following guide lists all the current creative directories available in the RIT Library
collection. Annotations describe the general scope of each work, provide information about directory entries and
illustrations, give the library's holdings (statements include previous titles and title variations), and show
the location of current and older editions.
AdHub. Rochester, N.Y.: The Adhub LLC.. Ongoing
http://adhub.com
adhub is a directory of advertising agencies & marketing resources in Upstate New York. Search profiles about advertising agencies, freelance graphic designers, jingles, illustrators, models, photographers, printers, training & development, video production companies, website designers, writers and more.
RESD NX110.A46
WL has: 4th ed.- , 1995- .
The Alternative Pick. New York: Storm Music Entertainment. Annual.
Provides film and video, design, illustration, photography, and support services
(stylists, hair and make-up, etc.) geared to music industry projects. Directory
listings and full color ads grouped by type of service. National coverage.
RARE T324.A273
WL has: No. 1- , 1985-Date.
A.R. Creative Directory. New York: Black Book Marketing Group. Annual.
A.R. provides national listings for the broad range of services and products
used for annual report production and corporate identity and image development--design,
photography, illustration, and printing. Directory information is given at
the back of each volume, grouped by type of service. Lavishly produced advertisements,
some including samples, client lists, and other information about the company,
make up most of each volume. Continues A.R.: The Complete Annual Report
and Corporate Image Planning Book.
RARE TR706.C67
WL has: No. 1- , 1983-Date.
Corporate Showcase. New York: American Showcase. Annual. Listings for
U.S. photographers, illustrators, and graphic designers specializing in corporate
communications work--print advertisements, annual reports, corporate identity,
and packaging. Well-produced advertisements often give representatives, stock
source, clients, areas of specialization, and brief bibliographies. Ads and
listings are organized eographically. A brief directory of support services
(set construction, labs) is also included. Continues Corporate Photography
Showcase.
REF and PER HF5813.G7C742
WL has: 1982/83-Date.
The Creative Handbook. West Sussex: Reed Information Services. Annual.
Well-illustrated directory of British design consultants and groups, typographic
designers, illustrators, photographers, commercial film and video production
companies, computer graphics studios, and other support services for the commercial
arts.
RARE NC997.A1C72
WL has: No. 3- , 1982-Date (incomplete).
Creative Source. Toronto: Wilcord Publications. Annual. Listings for
Canadian photographers, stock photography sources, graphic designers, illustrators,
exhibit and display designers, and support services (stylists, labs, talent
agents, etc.). Well-produced color and black and white advertisements, many
of which include lists of clients, areas of specialization, and brief bibliographies.
Continues Corporate Source.
RESD NC 999 .D484 1999 (graphic design edition)
RESD NK1160.D42 (interior design edition)
RESD TS 23 .D475 1997 (product design edition)
WL retains current two years only.
The Design Firm Directory . Chicago: Wefler & Associates. Annual. National
coverage including foreign branches of companies based in the U.S. Entries
give basic directory information, list services provided (using a code given
at the front of each volume), company officers and major department heads,
number of employees, and in some cases, clients. No illustrations or advertisements.
Continues The Design Directory.
RARE P93.5.N49
WL has: No. 1- , 1991-Date.
New Media Showcase: The Digital Sourcebook. New York: American Showcase.
Annual. Includes listings for electronic imaging, interactive multimedia,
production services, hardware, software, and other resources. Full color ads
include several examples of the artist's work, contact information, and in
some cases, lists of clients. Directory listings are given in the back of
the book.
REF NC998.6.G7P76
WL has: No. 1- , 1985-Date
Profile: British Design Groups and Their Work. Surrey: Elfand Art Publishing.
Annual. Covers graphic design, new product development, industrial design,
interior design, and exhibition work and goals of the company, directory information,
a list of contact people, and a page of color photographs of the firm's recent
work.
RESD and PERTR12.W66
WL has: 1984-Date
The Workbook. California ed. 4 vols. Los Angeles: Scott & Daughters.
Annual. Covers design studios, photographers, illustrators, artists' representatives,
art directors, film, and other commercial production services (computer graphics
companies, stylists, labs, equipment rental) throughout the United States
with best coverage for the West Coast. Directory information includes specialties,
representatives, and the firms' principals. Latest edition at the Reserve
Desk, earlier years in the bound periodicals section.
FILM AND VIDEO
REF PN1995.9.P7N38
WL retains current year only.
New York Production Guide. New York: NYPG Ltd. Annual.
Listings for products, services, facilities, and crew members (producers, directors, camera operators, cameramen, sound technicians, still photographers, etc.) for the commercial film and video industry in the greater New York area. Limited illustrations.
REF PN1993.5.U77B46a
WL retains current edition only.
Producer's Masterguide. New York: Shmuel Bension. Annual.
Lists products and services for all aspects of commercial film and video production and post-production throughout the United States, Canada, and selected other countries.
RARE NC998.5.A1A44
WL has: Vol. 1- , 1978-Date.
American Illustration Showcase. New York: American Showcase. Annual.
Volume 1 of the two volume publication presents advertisements placed by
representatives showing examples of their clients' s work. Volume 2 presents
ads placed by illustrators themselves. Directories of illustrators, graphic
designers, and representatives (organized geographically) are given at the back of
Volume 2. Advertisements are of high quality and many include information about
clients, representatives, and areas of specialization. Volumes 1 to 5 are called
American Showcase of Photography and Illustration.
RARE NC997.A1A7
WL has: No. 4-, 1984-Date.
Art Directors ' Index to Illustrators. Mies, Switzerland: Rotovision.
Annual. International scope, entries grouped by country. All entries include
color reproductions of several works and contact information, and many list
of specialties and clients.Volumes 4 to 6 are called Art Directors' Index
to Illustration, Graphics, and Design.
PHOTOGRAPHY
RESD and PER TR690.4.B52
WL Has: 1996-Date.
Black Book Photography. New York: Black Book Marketing Group. 1996-
.Annual.
Directory information including agenst with well illustrated advertisements
for photographers working/represented in US. Divided by region: Northeast;
South; Midwest and West.
RARE TR690.4.A4
WL has: Vol. 1- , 1978-Date.
Klik! Showcase Photography. New York: American Showcase. Annual. Directory
information and well-illustrated advertisements (many of which include areas
of specialization, client lists, and brief bibliographies) for commercial
photographers in the United States. Geographical grouping of advertisements
with alphabetical listings given at the end of each volume. Includes an extensive
list of artists' representatives, and briefer directories of support services.
Volumes 1 to 5 are called American Showcase of Photography and Illustration,
volumes 6-15 American Photography Showcase.
RESD and PER TR 679.B65
WL has 2002-Date.
Le Book. New York: Le Book. 2002 - .
Directory information and lavishly illustrated for commercial photographers
primarily in New York City, but also includes selected photographers in Los
Angeles, Stockholm, Paris, London, San Francisco, Miami and Germany. Vol.
1 Photography / Art Direction; Vol. 2 Hair, Make-up, Stylists, Model Agencies,
Photo Production, Rentals, Magazines, Music, Video, Fashion, Advertising Agencies.
RESD and PERNC997.A1N38
WL has: Vol. 1- , 1987-Date.
NY Gold. New York: New York Gold, Inc. Annual.
New York metropolitan area listings for photographers, stock companies, photo
agencies, video and film production services and a variety of other support
services (stylists, printers, prop rental, etc.). Organized by specialty (food,
fashion, portraits, etc.). Basic directory information and large color and
black and white advertisements. Latest edition at the Reserve Desk, earlier
years in the bound periodicals area.
CURRENT and PER TR690.S44.
WL has: No. 14- , 1986-Date.
Select. Dusseldorf: Select. Semiannual.
Magazine format compendium of full- and double-page advertisements placed
by photographers and their representatives. Ads include basic contact information.
Each issue profiles a particular location and provides support service and
local talent information for the featured place. Current issues are kept at
the Reserve Desk.
RARE TR690.S79 and MULTI 24
WL has: Vol. 1- , 1987-Date.
Stock Workbook. Toronto: Scott & Daughters. Annual. Heavily illustrated
directory of a broad range of stock agencies in the United States and Canada.
Directory listings are given in the back of each volume and some entries include
lengthy descriptions of the agencies--subject strengths, number of photographers,
size of the collections, etc. A subject index to the images reproduced in
the advertisements is given at the beginning of each volume. Many images are
included on the accompanying Stock Workbook Disc cd-rom.
Maintained by Kari Horowicz.
|