Deaf Biographies - Print Resources
Here are a few definitions that you should know before you start your research.
- Biography - The story of a person's life.
- Autobiography - The story of a person's life written by that person.
- Bibliography - A list of books and/or magazine articles.
- Index - A list of authors, titles, and subjects, usually in alphabetical order found in the back of a book.
This bibliography suggests some books, videos and web resources about deaf individuals in various fields. For books and videos about a particular person, type the last name as both the subject and also as an author when using the Einstein on-line library catalog. Type in the last name, first name. EX: Panara, Robert. You can also try these search words Deaf Biography or Deaf Autobiography. Use both keyword and subject searches. If you are interested in Deaf Artists, Deaf Women or Deaf Authors, try those search words as well. An asterisk * in front of a call number means the book can be found in Wallace Library (WML) and in the Educational Technology Resource Room (ETRR) at LBJ Bldg. 60, Room 3355. An asterisk * in front of a name means the book is by a deaf author.
COLLECTIVE BIOGRAPHIES
*Braddock, Guilbert C. Notable Deaf Persons. Washington, DC: Gallaudet College, 1975. 1st floor, REF *HV2373.B7
Profiles of 100 deaf persons from early times to the 1940s.
*Bowe, Frank and Martin Sternberg. I'm Deaf Too: Twelve Deaf Americans. Silver Springs, MD: National Association for the Deaf, 1973. 4th floor *HV2534.A3B6.
Campbell, Hilda M., Joanne Robinson, & Angela Stratiy. Deaf Women of Canada: A Proud History and Exciting Future. Canada: Duval House Publishing, 2002. OVER 4th floor HV2577.A3 C35 2002.
A collective history of Deaf women and their contributions to their various communities, Deaf Women of Canada recounts their anecdotes, stories and histories to help us understand their experiences. Information about the daily lives and struggles of Deaf women is not easy to come by, mainly because, until recent decades, women were not considered makers of history. Be inspired and sustained by the women whose remarkable accomplishments are traced in this book - heroines to call our own.(from Duval House Publishing website).
Carbin, Clifton F. Deaf Heritage in Canada: A Distinctive, Diverse and Enduring Culture. Toronto, CA: McGraw-Hill Ryerson Limited, 1996. (OVER 4th floor * HV2576 .C38 1996 a).
The story of the Canadian Deaf experience is the story of men and women, both hearing and deaf. Some have achieved recognition for their feats of bravery, for their pioneering spirit, for their courage in the face of adversity, for their determination to succeed regardless of the situation in which they found themselves. Others have added colour and texture to the Canadian tapestry through accomplishments in education, the arts, religion, science, writing and publishing, business and sports. The pages of Deaf Heritage in Canada bring to life the stories of these people.Dr. Carbin describes Deaf Heritage in Canada as "a window through which we can catch a glimpse of deaf Canadians as they go about their everyday lives, responding to events around them and making a difference in the future of their local Deaf communities." As such, it provides all Canadians with a fascinating and unique insight into the lives of deaf Canadians. It also provides, for deaf and hearing Canadians alike, an appreciation and understanding of the valuable contribution deaf Canadians have made and are continuing to make to the Canadian cultural mosaic. Contents include: Chapter 1: The Early Days Attitudes Toward Deaf People and Their Education; Chapter 2: The American Scene; Chapter 3: Early Educational Efforts and Short-Lived Schools; Chapter 4: Schools in Quebec and Ontario; Chapter 5: Schools in the Atlantic Provinces; Chapter 6: Schools in Western Canada; Chapter 7: Organizations; Chapter 8: Deaf Settlers in Western Canada; Chapter 9: Occupations; Chapter 10: Religion; Chapter 11: The Printed Page; Chapter 12: Sign Languages Chapter 13: The Visual Arts; Chapter 14: The Performing Arts; Chapter 15: Sports; Chapter 16: Hobbies and Leisure Activities; Chapter 17: "Down Memory Lane" -Insights, Anecdotes and Adventures; Chapter 18: Military Service and Training for Deaf People; Chapter 19: Deaf People and Technology; Chapter 20: "Silent No Longer" Chapter 21: A Few Things More... (From McGraw - Hill website).
*Carroll, Cathryn, and Susan M. Mather. Movers and Shakers: Deaf People Who Changed the World. San Diego, Calif: Dawn Sign Press, 1997. 4th floor *HV2373.C37 1997.
Comes with a companion teacher's guide and a unique bilingual student workbook (WML only). Multicultural profiles of 26 deaf men and women such as Joachim Du Bellay (French writer), John Goodricke (astronomer), Goya (artist), John Robert Gregg (shorthand inventor), Harriet Martineau (writer), Douglas Tilden (sculptor) and Konstantin Tsiolkovsky (rocket scientist).
Davis, Anita Price. Discoveries: Significant Contributions of Deaf Women and Men. Hillsboro, Or.: Butte Publications, 1996. 4th floor, *HV2373.D384
Profiles of 20 deaf persons in various fields such as Robert Davila (leader and advocate), Leo Jacobs (writer), Robert Weitbrecht (TTY inventor), Bernard Bragg (actor), Phyllis Frelich (actress) and Shelia Mentkowski (lawyer).
*Gannon, Jack R. Deaf Heritage: A Narrative History of Deaf America. Silver Spring, Md.: National Association of the Deaf, 1981. OVER 4th, 4th, RES and REF *HV2530.G36
Comes with a companion student workbook (WML only). Profiles of deaf persons such as artists, inventors, clergy, pilots, writers, athletes, and leaders from early history to 1980.
Goldstein, Martin M. Deaf Canadians: An Insight. Calgary, M. Goldstein, 1990. 4th floor, * HV2577.A3 G64 1990.
Profiles 22 Canadians from different backgrounds.
*Hairston, Ernest and Linwood Smith. Black and Deaf in America: Are We That Different. Silver Spring, MD: T.J. Publishers, 1983. 4th floor, *HV2545.H342 1983
*Holcomb, Mabs and Sharon Wood. Deaf Women: A Parade Through the Decades. Berkeley, CA: DawnSignPress, 1989. 4th floor, *HV2534.A3 H643 1989
Profiles hundreds of deaf women from all backgrounds, time periods and fields.
*Jackson, Peter W. & Lee, Raymond.* (Eds.). Deaf Lives: Deaf people in History. Middlesex, ENG: British Deaf History Society, 2001. OVER 4th floor, HV2717.A3 D32 2001.
*Lang, Harry G. Silence of the Spheres: The Deaf Experience in the History of Science. Westport, Conn.: Bergin & Garvey, 1994. 3rd floor, REF and Archives *Q175.5L34 1994
Engrossing overview of international deaf scientists throughout history and the barriers they overcame. Includes diverse profiles of deaf physicians, fossil hunters, astronomers, naturalists, chemists, geologists, microscopists, metallurgist, botanists, electrical scientists, bacteriologists and paleontologists.
*Lang, Harry G. and Bonnie Meath-Lang. Deaf Persons in the Arts and Sciences: A Biographical Dictionary. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995. 4th floor, REF and Archives *HV2372.L36 1995
Biographical data on 152 international deaf persons from all backgrounds such as artists, entertainers/musicians/dancers, scientists/physicians/inventors, writers/poets, architects/engineers, advocates and leaders.
Lipa, Karel. We Have Overcome: Deaf, Blind and Great. Oak Park, MI. s.n., 1971. 4th floor, HV1584.L5.
*Moore, Matthew and Robert Panara. Great Deaf Americans: The Second Edition. Rochester, NY: Deaf Life Press, 1996. 4th floor, REF and Archives(*HV2534.A3M66 1996.
Multicultural biographical profiles of 77 deaf men and women from 1785 to 1996 from various careers such as Robert Davila (leader and advocate), Jack Gannon (historian), Bonnie Tucker (lawyer), I.King Jordan (leader and advocate), Linda Bove (actress), Chuck Baird (artist and actor), Marlee Matlin (actress) and Julianna Fjeld (tv/movie producer).
*Panara, Robert and John Panara. Great Deaf Americans. Silver Spring, Md: T.J. Publishers, 1983. 4th floor and Archives *HV2534.A3P35.1983
This popular work inspired many other works, including the 2nd edition. 33 biographical profiles of deaf men and women from early history to 1982. Samples are Laurent Clerc (teacher), Juliette Gordon Low (Girl Scouts founder), William Hoy (baseball player) , Donald Ballantyne (surgeon), Andrew Foster (missionary and teacher), Michael Chatoff (lawyer), and Kitty O'Neil (stuntsperson).
*Paris, P.G. & S.K. Woods. Step into the Circle: The Heartbeat of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations Deaf Communities. Salem, OR: AGO Publications, 2002. OVER 4th floor *HV2545 .S747 2002
*Podmore, Ron. Signs In Success: Profiles of Deaf Americans. Hillsboro, Or.: Butte Publications., 1995. 4th floor, *HV2534.A3P63 1995
Short biographies of Marlee Matlin (actress), Philip Bravin (IBM manager), Mary Lou Novitsky (Deaf Mosaic host), I. King Jordan (President, Gallaudet), and Greg Hlikbok (financial consultant).
*Reisler, J. Voices of the Oral Deaf : Fourteen Role Models Speak Out. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2002. 4th floor, HV2545 .R45 2002 .
Kristin Buehl -- Tom Fields -- Jeff Float -- Carolyn Ginsburg -- Evelyn Glennie -- David James -- Michael Janger -- Karen Kirby -- Ken Levinson -- Ralph Marra -- Mildred Oberkotter -- George Oberlander -- Kathleen Suffridge Treni -- Bonnie Poitras Tucker
*Sonnestrahl, Deborah M. Deaf Artists in America: Colonial to Contemporary. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress, 2002. RES, REF & 3rd floor N6505 .S614 2002.
The following artists are profiled: William Mercer, John Brewster, George Catlin, James Whitcomb, Albert Newsam, Augustus Fuller, John Carlin, Charlotte Coman, Harry Moore, Theophilus D'Estrella, Frances Allen, Mary Allen, Maurice Prendergast, Joseph Sharp, Douglas Tilden, Albert Ballin, Henry Lapp, Caldwallader Washburn, Granville Redmond, Eugene Hannan, Conrad Haeseler, Will Quinlan, Blanche Lazzell, John Clarke, Christy Maxcy, Regina Hughes, Kelly Stevens, Charles Sullivan, Jean Hanau, N. Hillis Arnold, David Bloch, Felix Kowalewski, Robert Freiman, Maggie Sayre, Frederick LaMonto, Henry Newman, Rolando Dirube, Morris Broderson, Louis Francis Frisino, Daniel Wang, David Hockney, William Sparks, James Canning, Robert Peterson, Claire Bergman, Charles Wildbank, Robert Behnke, Gary Mayers, Mary Rappazzo, Jessica Geiger, Ralph Miller, Betty Miller, Charles Baird, Harry Williams, Ann Silver, Mary Thornley, Uzi Buzgalo, Lee Ivey, Mark Fisher, Tony McGregor, Alex Wilhite, Shawn Richardson and Susan Dupor.
*Toole, Darlene K. Courageous Deaf Adults. Beaverton, Or.: Dormac, 1980. 4th floor, *HV2469.E5T66.
*Toole, Darlene K. Living Legends: Six Stories About Successful Deaf People. Hillsboro, Or.: Butte Publications, 1996. 4th floor, *HV2534.A3T64 1996
Includes profiles of Evelyn Glennie (musician), Howie Seago (actor), Shirley Allen (professor), John Woo (skydiver), Karen Meyer (TV news reporter) and Paul Ogden (professor)
*Toole, Darlene K. Living Legends II: Six Stories About Incredible Deaf People. Hillsboro, Or.: Butte Publications, 1996. 4th floor, *HV2380.T66 1998
Profiles of deaf persons such as Danny Delcambre (chef), Kathy Buckley (comedian), Ken Glickman (author and publisher), Bethany Hammel (basketball champion), Robert Davila (leader, diplomat and advocate), and Lauren Gallimore (educator and advocate).
*Toole, Darlene K. Living Legends III: Six Stories About Amazing Deaf People. Hillsboro, Or.: Butte Publications, 2000. 4th floor, *HV2380.T66.
Includes profiles of mountain climber Heidi Zimmer, educator and author Dr. Thomas Holcomb, psychologist and world traveler Patty Albee, New Mexico School for the Deaf Superintendent Dr. Medan Vasishta, dermatologist and surgeon Dr. Lisa Woolf, and law student Dean Gates.
*Toole, Darlene K. Successful Deaf Americans. Beaverton, Or.: Butte Publications, 1979. 4th floor, *HV2534.A3T66 1979.
Profiles of deaf persons of all ages, backgrounds and interests from Deaf America. Nancy Bonura (skier), James Marsters (dentist), Dorothy Miles (writer), Lawrence Newman (teacher), Edna Adler (government leader), Lee Brody (TTY businessman), Cynthia Saltzman (TV news reporter and Fred Screiber (NAD director).
Woodford, Doreen E. A Dynasty of Magic. Feltham, England : British Deaf Historical Society Publications, 2005. 4th floor, HV2577.A3 W663 2005.
The Shine Family is highlighted, a family of magicians.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES
Current Biography. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1940-present. REF CT100.C8.
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1987.
HV2365.G35 1986 v.1 -3. REF 1st floor, 4th floor and ETRR.
Gallaudet Guide to Deaf Bios Online index to biographical sources. Can search by person's name, by occupation or by ethnic/cultural identity. Available via http://liblists.wrlc.org/deafbiog/home.htm
Who's Who in America. Chicago: Marquis-Who's Who. Current 10 years only. REF E176.W642.
MAGAZINES, JOURNALS, PERIODICALS AND DATABASES
NTID Index to Interpreting and Deaf Journals Online index to many journals and books.Available via http://www.ntid.rit.edu/terpref/index.htm
Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals Online index to articles in Deaf American, Deaf American Monographs, Deaf Life, Deaf Nation, and Silent Worker. Deaf Life magazine has many articles on deaf people. We keep back issues of Deaf Life (1988-). Available via
Check the following databases for well-known deaf people: Biographical Information Databases and News/Newspapers Databases.
WEBSITES --Go to my deaf web page at http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness.html and click on the topic "Deaf Culture, History and Heritage" to find the links I've listed below.
Eugene and Inez Peterson Collection available via http://www.rit.edu/~glk9638/history/
The following are profiled: The Good Old Days: Leon and Hortense Auerbach, Religion at the Grass Roots - William Leonard Asbridge, Born Too Soon? - Willard Shorter, Mainstreaming: A Senior's Perspective - Leo M. Jacobs , Green Thumbs - Harvey and Anna Gremillion (under construction), The Archivist - William Joseph Marra, California Casual - Kyle and Mae Workman, Gerald and the Wolf - Gerald Nygren (under construction), The Light in the Shadows - David L. Bloch, Homebodies - Race and Lorene Drake, The Leisure Set - Alex Ewan (under construction), Upward Mobility - Edna P. Adler, Army Brat - Barbara Ann Smith-Hinrichs and Deaf, Deaf People - Henry Edgar Johnson.
Deaf Art, Deaf Artists. - Great NTID website
Deaf Friends International Deaf Biographies available via http://www.workersforjesus.com/dfi/deafbio.htm . The following are profiled: Linda Bove, Curtis Pride, LeRoy Columbo, Eugene Silent Hairston, Robert Weitbrecht, Shelley Beattie, Angel Ramos, Kathy Buckley, Edmund Booth, Eleanor Zabel Wilhite or "Nellie", Dr. Josephine Deubler, Deanne Bray, Jim Ryun, Sue Thomas, Frank Hochman, Shawn Dale Barnett, William Beadell, Laura Bridgman, Julianne Fjeld, Samuel Gridley Howe, Cal Rodgers, Henry Kisor, Steve McQueen, Terrence Parkin, Laura Searing, Cadwallader Washburn.
English Works! Thomas Edison biography available via http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading1.html
English Works! Douglas Craig biography available via http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading3.html
English Works! John Lewis Clark biography available via http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading4.html
English Works! Erastus Smith biography available via http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading6.html
English Works! Laurent Clerc biography available via http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading7.html
English Works! William Hoy biography availalbe via http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/exreading/reading8.html
English Works! Other biographies such as John Carlin, Leroy Columbo, Robert Davila and Luther Taylor http://depts.gallaudet.edu/englishworks/exercises/main/reading.html
Lang, H. (4 Sept. 2003). The Deaf Astronomer & the Demon Star. Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/science2.html
Lang. H. (4 Sept. 2003). Can Deaf People Succeed in Science? You Bet! Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from
http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/science1.html
Lang, H. (7 Oct. 2003). Six Moon Craters Named for Deaf Scientists. Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/science4.html
Lapiak, J. (2003). i8Media Artist. Retrieved April 9, 2003 from http://www.i8media.com
Multonomah Country Library. (12 March 2003). Homework Center: Biographies. Retrieved April 9, 2003 from http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Online/biograph.htm
NETAC. (n.d.). Achieving Goals: Career stories of Individuals Who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing. Retrieved March 27, 2003 from http://netac.rit.edu/goals/
O'Keefe Library. (10 March 2003). Biographical Information. Retrieved April 9, 2003 from http://library.sau.edu/bestinfo/Online/biograph.htm
Video Clips of Working Journalists Michael Wilbon, Deb Reichmann, Frank Sesno, Joe Shapiro, Trudy Suggs, Jim Vance, Henry Kisor, Karen Meyer.
World Around You. (28 April 2003). Interviews and Profiles Deaf Individuals. Retrieved Feb. 17, 2004 from http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/WorldAroundYou/interviews.html#profiles
For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)
|
|