This guide will help you find resources to get you started on your research. Visit the Archives, 3rd floor, to view examples of deaf art work ( a collection of deaf art posters, notecards, postcards, etc). We have articles about deaf artists on RES and at ETRR.
Please see Deaf Art, Deaf Artists website. http://www.rit.edu/~420www/authorize.htm
Visit the Joseph F. and Helen C. Dyer Art Center in the basement of NTID, LBJ Building.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS OR BIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCE WORKS-For famous artists such as Goya, you can try general encyclopedias such as the World Book Encyclopedia as well as specialized art and deaf encyclopedias. Art Encyclopedias are in the NC45 area in the reference collection on the first floor near the Reference Desk. Check out the Deaf Biographies Guide via http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/deafamer.html
*There are articles on Deaf Artists you can check at the RES desk.
Gannon, Jack. Deaf Heritage: A Narrative History of Deaf America. Silver Spring, Md: National Association of the Deaf, 1981. REF, 4th floor and ETRR HV 2530.G36).
Look at Chapter 4 for info on the following deaf artists: Arnold, Hills; Bloch, David; Broderson, Morris; Brewster, John; Carlin, John; Clarke, John L.; d'Estrella, Theophilus; Freiman, Robert, J., Fisino, Louis; Hannan, Eugene E., Hughes, Regina O.; Kowalewski, Felix; LaMonto, Frederick; LeClerq, Charles J.; Miller, Betty G.; Miller, Ralph R.; Moore, Henry H.; Redmond Granville S.; Sparks, William B.; Stevens, Kelly H.; Tilden, Douglas; Washburn, Cadwallader L.; Wood, Tom; Duning, Hilbert; Hanson, Olof; and Marr, Thomas.
Lang, Harry G. and Bonnie Meath-Lang. A Biographical Dictionary: Deaf Persons in the Arts and Sciences. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1995. ( REF, 4th floor, Archives, ETRR HV 2372.L36 1995).
Go to the back of the book, Appendix B: Detailed Biographies Listed by Field and you will see a listing of names under "Artists". The following artists are listed: Ambrosi, Gustinus; Arnold, Hillis; Baird, Charles C.; Ballin, Albert; Bloch, David L.; Brewster, John; Broderson, Morris; Carlin, John; Catlin, George; Choppin, Paul-Francois; Clarke, John L.; Deseine, Claude-Andre; d'Estrella, Theophilus H.; Dirube, Rolando L.; Freimand, Robert; Fuller, Augustus; Geikie, Walter; Feu, Antonio G.; Goya y Lucienttes, Francisco Jose de; Haigh-Voorhis, Eliza; Hamar, Fernand; Hanau, Jean; Hannan, Hanson O.; Haunder, Vilem; Hughes, Regina; Jackson, Margaret; Kowalewski, Felix; Lapp, Henry; Marr, Thomas S.; Martin, Felix; Mercer, William; Miller, Betty; Moore, H.H.; Navarrete, Juan Fernandez; Newsam, Albert; Peterson, Robert B.; Prendergast, Maurice; Princeteau, Rene; Redmond, Granville S.; Sharp, Joseph H.; Stevens, Kelly H.; Stoltenberg, Mathias; Thomson, Alfred R.; Tilden, Douglas; Washburn, Cadwallader L.; Washburn, Mary; Wise, Dorothy S.; Zubiaurre, Ramon de; Zubiaurre, Valentin de.
Moore, Matthew and Robert Panara. Great Deaf Americans: The Second Edition. Rochester, NY: Deaf Life, 1996. REF, 4th floor and ETRR HV 2534.A3M66 1996.
The following artists are profiled: Carlin, John; Tilden, Douglas; Marr, Thomas S.; Washburn, Cadwallader; Hughes, Regina; Hillis, Arnold; Broderson, Morris and Baird, Chuck.
Paris, P.G.& Wood, S.K. (Eds.). Step into the Circle: The Heartbeat of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations Deaf Communities. Salem, OR: AGO Publications, 2002. OVER 4th floor and ETRR HV2545 .S747 2002.
James Woodenlegs, Tony Landon McGregor, Wendell Goff, Dennis Long, Carl Lil' Bear, O. Cooper, Earl Moxely, Paul Benally, Philip Coneska Edwar, Ernest Hofeseth. and Dale Birmingham are artists and craftspersons mentioned in the book
Sonnenstrahl, Deborah. Deaf Artists in America : Colonial to Contemporary. San Diego, CA: Dawn Sign, 2002.REF, RES, 3rd floor and ETRR N6505 .S614 2002. See Susan Dupor's video To Have/To Find. 4 mins. B&W/Sign Language Animated. (Archives PN1995.9.D35 D866 1991). Also, see Guy Wonder: Stories and Artwork. DVD. 129 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2534.W66 A3 2003).
The following artists are profiled: William Mercer, John Brewster, George Catlin, James Whitcomb, Albert Newsam, Augustus Fuller, John Carlin, Charlotte Coman, Harry Moore, Theophilus D'Estrella, Frances Allen, Mary Allen, Maurice Prendergast, Joseph Sharp, Douglas Tilden, Albert Ballin, Henry Lapp, Caldwallader Washburn, Granville Redmond, Eugene Hannan, Conrad Haeseler, Will Quinlan, Blanche Lazzell, John Clarke, Christy Maxcy, Regina Hughes, Kelly Stevens, Charles Sullivan, Jean Hanau, N. Hillis Arnold, David Bloch, Felix Kowalewski, Robert Freiman, Maggie Sayre, Frederick LaMonto, Henry Newman, Rolando Dirube, Morris Broderson, Louis Francis Frisino, Daniel Wang, David Hockney, William Sparks, James Canning, Robert Peterson, Claire Bergman, Charles Wildbank, Robert Behnke, Gary Mayers, Mary Rappazzo, Jessica Geiger, Ralph Miller, Betty Miller, Charles Baird, Harry Williams, Ann Silver, Mary Thornley, Uzi Buzgalo, Lee Ivey, Mark Fisher, Tony McGregor, Alex Wilhite, Shawn Richardson and Susan Dupor.
Van Cleve, John, ed. Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1987. REF and 4th floor HV 2365.G35 1986.
Go to Vol. 3 and look up "artists" in the index at the back of the book. You will find a listing of artists' names such as Ambrosi, Gustinus; Arnold, Hillis; Brewster, John; Broderson, Morris; Carlin, John; Clarke, John Louis; d'Estrella, Theophilus; Dirube, Rolando; Gomez Feu, Antonio; Goya y Lucientes, Franciso Jose de; Hughes, Regina, Mercer, William; Navarette, Juan Fernandez de; Newsam Albert; Peterson, Robert B.; Princeteau, Rene Pierre Charles; Redmond, Granville; Thomson, Alfred; Tilden, Douglas; Washburn, Cadwallader; Zubiaurre, Ramon de; and Zubiaurre, Valentin de
BOOKS-A good resource when you need in-depth info and background. At the end of the book, check out the list of resources which will help you find related books and articles on your topic. Use the Einstein Catalog to find books. Go to http://library.rit.edu , click on "RIT Catalog: Einstein". Do a word search such as "deaf biography". You can also type in last name, first name of the artist you're interested in (use author and subject as well as word searches to retrieve all records).We have e-books now available via net.Library http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/netlibrary/netlibrary.html and ebrary and we are always adding new titles so check there too. http://library.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Check out the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Biographies via http://www.wrlc.org/deafbiog/ . You can search by a person's name, occupation, or by nationality/ethnicity.
Albronda, Mildred. Douglas Tilden: Portrait of a Deaf Sculptor. Silver Spring, MD: T.J., 1980. ( 3rd floor NB237.T54A83).
This is a biography of a deaf sculptor from California.
Albronda, Mildred. Douglas Tilden: The Man and His Legacy. Seattle, WA: Emerald Point, 1994. ( 3rd floor NB 237.T54 A84 1994).
You will see examples of his sculpture in this book.
Ankrum Gallery. Heart, Eye, Hand : Works by Twelve Deaf Artists. Rochester, N.Y. : National Technical Institute for the Deaf, 1985? (3rd floor, Archives and ETRR N8355 .A55 1985).
*Baird, Chuck. 35 Plates. San Diego, CA: DawnSign, 1993. ( 3rd floor ND 237.B226A4 1993).
This book shows art plates by Chuck Baird using the De'VIA genre.
*Bloch, David Ludwig. Holzschnitte = mu ke ji = woodcuts : Shanghai 1940-1949. Nettetal : Steyler Verlag, 1997. (3rd floor, NE1150.5.B58 A4 1997).
*Carbin, Clifton F. Deaf Heritage in Canada: A Distinctive, Diverse and Enduring Culture. Toronto: McGraw-Hill Riyers, 1996. (4th floor OVER Collection HV 2576.C381996).
Go to the back of the book (index, look up artists) and you will see several artists mentioned. Mason, Ambrose W.; Nickerson, Manton; Nickerson, Forrest; Boudreau, Beverly; Thrasher, Mona and Kane, Elise.
*Carroll, Cathryn and Susan M. Mather. Movers and Shakers: Deaf People Who Changed the World. San Diego, CA: DawnSig, 1997. (4th floor HV 2373.C373 1997).
You will find biographical info on Juan Fernandex Ximendes de Navarette, Francisco Goya and Douglas Tilden.
*Castle, James. James Castle: The Common Place. New York : Knoedler, 2000. ( 3rd floor, N6537.C363 A4 2000).
Essay by John Yau.
Dimmock, A.F. Tommy: A Biography of the Distinguished Royal Painter A.R. Thompson. [Edinburgh]: Scottish Workshop, 1992. (3rd floor N6779.D4 1992).
A biography of A.R. Thompson who lived from 1894-1979. The author traces his story from abject poverty to fame and recognition as a distinguished artist and Royal Painter
Dippie, B. George Catlin. and his Indian Gallery. Washington, D.C. : Smithsonian American Art Museum, 2002. (3rd floor, ND237.C35 A4 2002).
George Catlin was an expert on the Native Americans and also wrote books about their life.
Flynt, S.L. The Allen Sisters : Pictorial Photographers, 1885-1920. Deerfield, MA : Pocumtuck Valley Memorial Association, 2002. (2 copies, OVER 4th TR653.A44 F4 2002).
The remarkable Allen sisters of Deerfield, Massachusetts, Frances (1854-1941) and Mary (1859-1941), overcame challenges presented by their gender, progressive deafness, and rural isolation to earn international recognition as two of America's foremost women photographers. Working within the Deerfield Arts and Crafts Movement, the Allen sisters created exquisite photographs for turn-of-the-century exhibitions and publications. Their compelling, idealized photographs of country scenes, romanticized figure and child studies, and exquisite landscapes of New England, Great Britain, and California, have now been painstakingly catalogued and celebrated in this book. Based largely on new or long-unseen material, this meticulously researched and well-written biography is accompanied by 100 tritone plates and 40 duotone images. (from Einstein Catalog).
*Grigely, Joseph. Textualterity : Art, Theory and Textual Criticism. Ann Arbor : University of Michig, 1995. (3rd floor, P47 .G75 1995).
*Holcomb, Mabs and Sharon Wood. Deaf Women: A Parade Through the Decades. Berkeley, CA: DawnSign, 1989. (4th floor HV 2534.A3 H643 1989).
You will find info on deaf women artists on page 37. Jackson, Margaret; May, Florence; McVan, Alice Jan; Hughes, Regina; Miller, Betty; Chan, Pearl Jean; Tom, Linda; Sweeney, Myung Joon; Silver, Ann, Roth, Ellen; Ellis, Dorothy; Sayer, Maggie Lee; Montoya, Elaine; Bartholick, Robin; Cox, Doris Jean; Kitscher, Joan P.; Sonnestrahl, Deborah; and Gannon, Rosalyn L.
*Jackson, Peter. Britain's Deaf Heritage. Edinburgh: Pentalnd Press, 1990. (4th floor HV 2716.J22 1990).
You will find info about deaf artists in the 1890s in Great Britain. The following artist are discussed: Davidson, Thomas; Trood, William; Mitchell, William; Ferguson, Alexander; and MacLeod, Murdoch.
*Keast, Missy. One Day: Our View. Silver Spring, MD. : WebbyNation, 2001. (3rd floor, TR681.H35 K4 2001).
Lane, Harlan. A Deaf Artist in Early America : The Worlds of John Brewster, Jr. Boston : Beacon, 2004. (3rd floor ND237.B8634 L36 2004). See video From Eyes to Hands : The Story of John Brewster Jr. and Early Deaf Education in Maine. (3rd floor, ND1329.B74 F76 2003).
"John Brewster Jr (1766-1854) was one of the most prominent early American portrait painters. His hauntingly beautiful portraits have a directness and intensity of vision that were rarely equaled, as the images in this book attest." "Lane's unprecedented biography both vividly and comprehensively explores Brewster's worlds: he was a seventh-generation descendant of William Brewster, who led the Pilgrims on the Mayflower voyage; he was a member of the Federalist elite; a Deaf man; and finally, an artist." (Book Jacket).
*Luczak, Raymond. Silence is a Four-Letter Word : On Art & Deafness. Minneapolis, MN : The Tactile Mind, 2002. (ETRR and 3rd floor N8356.D43 L833 2002).
*Mirzoeff, Nicholas. Silent Poetry : Deafness, Sign, and Visual Culture in Modern France. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University, 1995. (ETRR and 4th floor HV2471 .M57 1995).
*Paris, Damara Goff and Sharon Kay Wood. Step into the Circle: The Heartbeat of American Indian, Alaska Native, and First Nations Deaf Communities. Salem, OR: AGO Publications, 2002. (OVER 4th floor and ETRR HV 2545.s747 2002.)
Redfern, Paul. Paintings by Deaf and Deafened Artists. London: Paul Redfern, 1997. (3rd floor N8355 .R2 1997).
You will find a listing of British deaf artists exhibited at art galleries in the London area.
*Redmond, Granville. Granville Redmond. Oakland, CA: Oakland Museum, 1989. (3rd floor and ETRR ND237.R2545 A4 1989).
Catalog of an exhibition held at the Oakland Museum Dec. 3, 1988-Jan. 29, 1989, the Laguna Art Museum, March 9-April 30, 1989, and Gallaudet University, July 1989
*Sayre, Maggie. Deaf Maggie Lee Sayre: Photographs of a River Life. Jackson: UP of Miss., 1995. (4th floor F457.03S29 1995).
Depicts pictorial works of the Ohio and Tennessee rivers.
*Schertz, Brenda and Harlan L. Lane. Elements of a Culture: Visions by Deaf Artists. Boston, Mass.: Northeastern University, 2000. (3rd floor N8355 .E43 2000).
The following artists are discussed: Chuck Baird, Uzi Buzgalo, Susan Dupor, Paul Johnston, Thad Martin, Tony McGregor, Betty Miller, Joan Popovich-Kutscher, Orkid Sassouni, Ann Silver, Marjorie Stout, Robin Taylor, Sandi Vasnick, Alex Wilhite, and Harry Williams.
*Stern, Louise. Joseph Grigely and Aaron Williamson : Within the Context of the Deaf Experience. Ts. Thesis. Sotheby's Institute of Art, 2003. (3rd floor, N8355 .S84 2003)
This thesis examines the work of deaf artists Joseph Grigely and Aaron Williamson, placing the issues of art and deafness in the position of the norm. The author seeks to demonstrate how the art of Grigely and Williamson depicts deaf aspects of the human condition, rather than seeking to set itself in opposition to the experience of hearing.
PERIODICALS, MAGAZINES, JOURNALS. A good resource especially if you want to find recent info on a topic. Use the "Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals" on my Deaf Studies Database page. This lists citations on your topic from popular deaf magazines like Deaf Life. Type in last name, first name to find citations. Highlight the name of the magazine, copy the title by using the control and c keys and open up a new window using the control and n keys. You will be at the library home page. Click on Einstein Catalog, click on title search and paste (control c and v keys) in the title. Ex: Deaf Life. Notice we keep old Deaf Life magazines in bound periodicals on the 2nd floor. The call number is PER HV 2350.D45.
Check out the NTID Deaf Index via http://www.ntid.rit.edu/terpref/index.htm for information about artists, De'VIA, etc.Check out Visual Anthropology Review. See special issue "The Third Eye"-Deaf Visual Traditions-Fall/Winter 1999-2000 PER GN347.S85. There are articles about De'VIA, including one written by Patti Durr. Another journal of interest is The Tactile Mind and Deaf Arts (UK publication) which has works by deaf writers, artists and photographers.
Websites
Other websites of interest may be found on my Deaf Internet Resources via http://wally.rit.edu/internet/subject/deafness/html. Click on the Deaf Culture topic heading. Find Deaf Art http://www.deafart.org and other De'VIA links.
Lapiak, J. (2003). i8Media Artist. Retrieved April 9, 2003 from http://www.i8media.com
ART AND BIOGRAPHY DATABASES. Check out the databases listed on the Art Librarian's page via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/art.html
Art Full-Text via Omni Files http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Gallaudet Index to Deaf Biographies via http://liblists.wrlc.org/deafbiog/home.htm
SLIDES-Check out "Elements of Culture-Visions by Deaf Artists" First National Touring Exhibit of Deaf Culture Art (53 slides) at the Media Resource Center, A level (basement). The call number is TDA.You can look it up by artist's name, title of the work, or title of the series when using Einstein. You may borrow the slides for a presentation.
VIDEOS-We have some videos on artists and you can browse easily using the Einstein Video Catalog (includes captioned and signed videos). Go to http://albert.rit.edu/search~S2/ and do a word or subject search on "deaf artist" or an author, word and subject search using the last name, first name to retrieve all records. Some videos are available on the 3rd and 4th floors which you may borrow up to 5 days. Others are available at NTID-ETRR or at the Media Resource Center (MRC) . However, you may not borrow these but you may view them at ETRR, LBJ 3355 or at MRC (Level A or basement of Wallace).
Affirmation and Resistance Art Within De'VIA: Two Deaf Women's View. Rochester, NY : NTID, RIT, 2000. Videocassette. 47 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, N8356.D43 A44 2000. ETRR Video 5912 no.64
Paula Grcevic and Patricia Durr presenters. ASL Lecture Series.
Brenda Schertz. Rochester, NY : NTID, RIT, 2000. Videocassette. 51 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, N8356.D43 B74 2000.
Brenda Schertz gives a lecture at NTID about deaf artists.
Deaf Artists. Rochester, NY : NTID, RIT, 2006. DVD. 50 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned/Voiced. 3rd floor, N8356.D43 D435 2006.
Producers and interviewers, Patti Durr and Paula Grcevic ; videographer and editor, Don Feigel ; voice narrators, Jim Orr and Miriam Lerner. Featuring interviews with: Sander Blondeel, stained glass artist; Randy Dunham,
surreal painter; Rita Straubhaar, nature photographer; Leon Mian Sheng Lim,
multi-media artist.
Deaf TV : Culture Centre. Toronto : For the Record Productions, 2005. DVD. 24 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2380 .D32 2005 and Video 6686.
Executive producer, Peter Reynolds, Host: Enza Iovio ; interviewer: Peter Reynolds ; interviewees: Chris Kenopic,
Angela Strathy, Anita Small, Nanae Ho, Susan Ruptash, Helen Pizzacalla, Macklin
Youngs, Joanne Cripps ; interpreters: Carolyn Lesonsky, Heather Hawthorn, Sean
Power, Sharon Wilson, Tina Schembri.
Deaf TV: Deaf Culture Centre is a documentary special on the history of the Deaf Culture Centre, and feature interviews with the artists, architects and organizers that made the project possible.The Deaf Culture Centre is scheduled to open in the Distillery District in Old Town Toronto in spring 2006. A project of the Canadian Cultural Society of the Deaf, it plans to feature a museum, art gallery, gift shop, research and archives, state-of-the-art visually rich technology highlighting Deaf historical artifacts, literature, ASL/LSQ interactive website/television, and a multimedia production studio
From Eyes to Hands : The Story of John Brewster Jr. and Early Deaf Education in Maine. Portland, ME, 2003. Videocassette. (3rd floor, ND1329.B74 F76 2003).
Gary Mayers, Sculptor. Santa Cruz, CA : Gary Mayers, Digital Media, 1989. Videocassette. 23 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
This is an unrehearsed interview with Gary Mayers at the 3-D Art Gallery in
Santa Cruz, CA. Mayers, deaf since birth, explains his work, the use of shapes and forms and color, and how he works with various media such as wood, metal, acrylic, resin and stone.
Les Mains du Sourd : Fête de Reg'Art. Meudon [France] : CNRS Images, 2005. Videocassette. 42 mins. Color/FSL/French/Captions (French). .4th floor, HV2736 .M34 2005.
The association SERAC has as its goal to facilitate contact between deaf and hearing people. SERAC organized the Reg'Art festival in April 1988 to increase the visibility of sign language. This video combines excerpts from the festival such as sketches and songs, presentations by deaf artists, and interviews with famous deaf persons. It is signed with simultaneous oral and subtitled translations into French. Interviewees discuss the problems deaf people face at three periods of their lives (childhood, youth, and adulthood) and their efforts to bring about solutions
Lives of Great Deaf Men. 1. Granville Redmond, 1871-1935. Japan : Deaf Market, 2004. DVD-R. 70 mins. Color/B&W/JSL/ASL/Captioned. RES ND237.R2545 L48 2004a.
Producer, Keiko Chijiiwa ; MC, Akira Morita. K. Yoshimoto, K. Oishi, A. Morita, H. Akahori, Dr. John Schuchman, Dr. Ted
Supalla, Dr. Kenneth Norton.
Tells the story of Granville Redmond, a Deaf actor and artist in early 20th century California. He became friends with Chaplin and taught him sign language. He was also one of California's leading landscape painters. Also includes some discussion of the history of the oralist method and ASL in deaf education, the history of the California School for the Deaf in Fremont (where Redmond went to school), and the work of four other deaf actors in the silent film era.
Profile of a Deaf Artist & Deaf Mechanic. Los Angeles, Calif. : KCET-TV, 1981. DVD-R. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. 3rd floor, N8356.D43 P76 1981.
DVD contains a recording of 'Profile of a Deaf artist & Deaf mechanic" and possibly parts of other programs, origins unknown. The second section on the DVD notes the producer as Pearl Swan Youth. Greg Grosz, producer and director. 1. Harry R. Williams, Deaf Artist (14:50)-- 2. HRW (4:47)-- 3. Rocky and Harry Williams [Profile of a Deaf artist & Deaf mechanic].(40:00).
The life and career of Harry R. Williams, one of the founders of the Deaf Art Movement, is presented by the artist himself. He describes his use of art as a communication tool, and discusses the different symbols and influences found within his work. The documentary film "Profile of a Deaf artist & Deaf mechanic" originated from Los Angeles' KCET-TV television station, and was aired on PBS/KCET on June 3, 1981 as part of the "Characters: a variety of visions" television program series. The film features both Williams and his brother Rocky, a motorcycle repairman, also Deaf. Each brother provides his story of how he communicates with the hearing world.
Regardez-moi, Je vous Regarde: Auto-film. France : L. Beskardes, 2003. DVD 30 mins. Color/FSL/Captions (English and French). 3rd floor, N8356.D43 B47 2003.
Levent Beskardes, Fanny Corderoy du Tiers.
Regardez-moi, je vous regarde is a black-and-white film from 1996 with sound, in French Sign Language with English subtitles, about K¯oji Inoue, a Deaf Japanese photographer. Auto-film is a series of silent, color films made in 2003, in French sign language with French subtitles. The first sequence depicts Beskardes' drawings representing the Seven Deadly Sins. The second section, Essais, is an artistic film in which the camera follows the director around his apartment. The last piece, Répétition d'un poème, shows Beskardes and Fanny Corderoy du Tiers signing a poem in a very dramatic manner.
Regardez-moi, je vous regarde: Koji Inoue photographe sourd. Meodon [France] : CNRS, 1996. Videocassette. 19 mins. Color/FSL/Captions (English and French).(3rd floor, N8356.D43 R34 1996)
Author and producer, Brigitte Lemaine. An homage in the form of a poem to the deaf Japanese photographer Koji Inoue, told in sign language by a deaf actor, Levent Beskardes.
Search for Vision: Deaf Artists in Profile. Rochester, NY : NTID, RIT, 1989. Videocassette. 23 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. 4th floor HV2380 .S437 1989 and ETRR VIDEO 5069.
Videographer, editor, Chris Nuccitelli ; narrator, Fred Keller ; original music, Musicworks, A brief look at seven artists who also happen to be deaf, including Morris Broderson, Steve DeShetler, Chuck Baird, David Bloch, Wendy Maruyama, Nancy Cook-Smith, and Kim Hurdelbrink. Each tells briefly how important their art is to them.
*Steinberg, Emily Jane. Paint it Loud. The Art of Betty G. Miller and Susan Dupor. Washington, DC: Eye of the Storm, 2005. DVD. 46 mins. Color/Signed.3rd floor, N8356.D43 P34 2005.
Betty G. Miller and Susan Dupor, two Deaf artists, tell about their experiences growing up Deaf in a hearing-dominated culture and developing their careers as artists. Betty G. Miller tells of creating the De'VIA Manifesto in 1989 in order to define Deaf culture art.
USA-Russia Deaf Artists Art Work Exchange 1993. Rochester, NY : NTID, RIT, 1993. Videocassette. 24 mins. Color. Voiced in English and Russian, Signed in ASL and RSL and captioned (English). (3rd floor, N8356.D43 U7 1993)
Executive producer, Thomas Raco ; producer/director (Moscow), David Conyer ; producer/director (Rochester), Chris Nuccitelli. Deaf artists from Russia and the U.S., as well as students and others, participated in a teleconference held in Rochester, New York and in Moscow.
Visions Found : Artwork by Deaf and hard of hearing American Artists. Rochester, N.Y. : Deaf Artists of America, 1992. Videocassette. 30 mins. Color/Voiced. 3rd floor, N8356.D43 V47 1992 and ETRR VIDEO 5348.
Curator, Tom Willard ; video, Stephen Jacobs ; music arranger, Fred Wagner. Featuring: Richard Bechdol, Larry Bell, James Canning, Randy Dunham, Susan "Vito" Dupor, Joan Fabian, Paula Grcevic, Shani Marchant, Wendy Maruyama, Robert Mayes, Gary Mayers, Gerard Pagane, Joseph Ramsauer, Mary Rappazzo, Tracey Salaway, Dorothy Hammond, Mary Thornley, Rita Straubhaar, Eddie Swayze, Valerie Trozelle, Alex Wilhite. A series of slides reproduced on videotape of the various artists' works.
*Wonder, Guy. Guy Wonder, Stories & Artwork. Minneapolis: Tactile Mind, 2003. DVD. 128 mins. Color/Signed/Captioned. 4th floor HV2534.W66 A3 2003.and ETRR CDROM 1008.
Guy Wonder is a third-generation deaf man who has led a captivating life. Funny and sad stories about growing up in a deaf family and in a deaf school, becoming an artist in New York City, and making a new niche for himself in San Francisco.