Deaf Culture Print Resources
Deaf Culture has played an important role in helping to understand American Sign Language (ASL). It also gives insights as to how Deaf people interpret the world around them. Deaf Culture has various aspects, including history, values, jokes, language, education, social relations and rules. An asterisk * indicates that the material is also available at ETRR, LBJ 3355, Building 60. Remember that we have the NTID Research Dept. composed of experts who have bibliographies on selected presentations and articles on the web site.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS OR REFERENCE WORKS-Use the following specialized reference books. These are good resources to use when starting to do research on a topic. Articles are written by experts in the field and have bibliographies for further reading. If you are not sure of a topic, browsing through these works will give you topic ideas.
Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (REF LC3707 .E53 1998).
This encyclopedia is divided into three sections: individual bilingualism; bilingualism in society and bilingual education. It includes many pictures, graphs, maps and diagrams. The book concludes with a comprehensive bibliography on bilingualism. P art 1 focuses on Individual bilingualism- what is a bilingual?- bilingualism and the family- the everday use of bilinguals- bilingualism and thinking- measurement of bilingualism; Part 2 focuses on Bilingualism in society-bilingualism in communities- how many languages are there in the world? - languages in contact, the mapping of languages in the world, presentation of language maps-language change- language planning and evolution- bilingualism and culture-bilingualism and politics; Part 3 Bilingual education focuses on- the aims of bilingual education- weak forms of bilingual education- strong forms of bilingual education- bilingual education and the community- bilingual education in the United States- bilingual eduation for students with special needs- bilingual education for the deaf and hearing impaired- language awareness-multiculturalism in education- the bilingual classroom- factors affecting second languae acquistion- second language learning in the classroom.(from Multilingual Matters web site).
Edwards, R. (Ed.). (1997). Encyclopedia of social work. Washington, DC: National Association of Social Workers. (REF HV35.S6).
Tovah M. Wax has written an article that examines the multifaceted nature of deafness, the Deaf community, and factors that contributed to Deaf culture and offers suggestions for social work intervention in the Deaf community. (Vol. 1, pp. 679-684).ETRR has this article ( NTID-RR 1543). Dean K. Santos has written an article about the culture model of deafness (including psychosocial development, mental health, family dynamics, and sociocultural environments of people in the deaf population) with implications for social work practice. (Vol. 1, pp. 685-704).ETRR has this article ( NTID-RR 1530 ).
*Gannon, J.R. (1981). Deaf heritage: A narrative history of Deaf America. Silver Spring, Md: National Association of the Deaf.. (REF, 4th floor, and ETRR HV2530 .G36. ).
There are examples of deaf humor and folklore in Chapter 8, information about Deaf schools in Chapter 1, etc.
Marschark, M. & Spencer, P.E. (Eds). (2003). Oxford Handbook of deaf studies, language and education. New York: Oxford University Press.(REF, Archives, 4th floor, and ETRR HV2380 .O88 2003).
The Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language, and Education is the definitive professional reference work in the field of deafness research. This volume covers all important aspects of deaf studies: language, social/psychological issues, neuropsychology, culture, technology, and education. Each chapter, written by an acknowledged authority in the field, contains a state-of-the-art review of an important aspect of research concerning individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. The book also includes comprehensive bibliographies and a glossary. The editors are from the two primary institutions for research and post-secondary education of deaf individuals and were founding editors of OUPs Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education. The Handbook is intended for researchers, educators, educational administrators, service-providers such as audiologists, speech therapists, and school psychologists, as well as graduate students in the field of deaf studies. (from Amazon).
Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf people and deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill.. (REF, 4th floor, and ETRR- HV 2365.G35 1986).
Look at the article in Volume 1 by Yerker Anderson, "Culture and Subculture" which gives a definition of culture and how it applies to the concept of Deaf Culture. Check out the "Cochlear Implants" article by J.M. Prickett in Volume 1. Check out articles on Sign Language in Volume 3, pp. 22-134 which discuss various aspects of sign languages such as facial expressions, history, other countries' sign languages and more. Use the index in Volume 3 to find related articles under the following headings: Deaf Community, Deaf Population, Education, Folklore, History.
BOOKS-Books are good places to get in-depth information and the historical background of an issue. They are not good places to find recent information. Check the bibliography (list of resources) at the end of most books to find other suggestions of where to find related articles and books. Most Deaf-related books are in the HV 2350 are on the 4th floor.
You can find books about Deaf Culture in the Einstein Catalog. Note you can browse the entire catalog, the video catalog or the e-content catalog. Do a Word Search using the entire catalog and try these keywords: deaf culture, american deaf culture or just deaf* The asterisk at the end of the word deaf* will give you variants of that word root such as deafened, deafblind, etc.Try the Subject Search to retrieve ALL records. Do not use the asterisk when you do a subject search.
Remember that we now have e-books via eBrary and netLibrary. They are the equivalent of print books and are up-to-date and recent.
Most of the book descriptions are from the Clerc Center at Gallaudet University.(Alston, 2000 from the WWW site: http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/infotogo/547.html) unless otherwise noted. Amazon bookstore and publishers' websites or catalogs have also been used for other book descriptions.
Anthropology/Sociology/Politics
Benderly, B.L. (1990). Dancing without music: Deafness in America. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor HV2545.B39-6 copies).
This book offers insightful discussion about being deaf and its ramifications in society, the relationship between thought processes and language, whether spoken or not, and the rights of deaf people.
*Bragg, L. (2001). Deaf world: A historical reader and primary sourcebook. New York : New York University Press. (REF, 4th floor, and ETRR HV2545 .D43 2001).
*Branson, J. (2002). Damned for their difference: The cultural construction of deaf people as "disabled": A sociological history. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor HV 2380.B685 2002).
Until the recent recognition of Deaf culture and the legitimacy of signed languages, majority societies around the world have classified Deaf people as "disabled," a term that separates all persons so designated from the mainstream in a disparaging way. This text offers a well-founded explanation of how this discrimination came to be through a discursive exploration of the cultural, social, and historical contexts of these attitudes and behavior toward deaf people, especially in Great Britain.
Authors Jan Branson and Don Miller succeed brilliantly in placing significant people and events into broad cultural settings to examine the orientation toward and treatment of deaf people. They explore the scientific rationalism and the middle-class thirst for reason through education in the eighteenth century; the "moral therapy" and missionary zeal of educators of the poor in the first half of the nineteenth century; the professionalism and bureaucratization coupled with imperialism, evolutionism, and eugenicism that dominated the second half of the nineteenth century; the eugenic policies and increasing alliances among proponents of professionalism, medicalization, and bureaucracy through the wars of the first half of the twentieth century; the rebellious and revolutionary moves against restrictions on individual rights through the 1960s and 1970s; the widespread deinstitutionalization through the 1980s; and the multiculturalism and assertion of ethnic rights and identities through the 1990s.
This wide-ranging study explores the varied constructions of the definition of "disabled," a term whose meaning hinges upon constant negotiation between parties, ensuring that no finite meaning is ever established. Branson and Miller’s cross-cultural analysis introduces the implications of the grandiose architecture of eighteenth-century asylums for deaf people, sideshows at town fairs, and the methods of treating conditions deemed as pathological. The text provides a sociological understanding of disabling practices that combines history and biography with the study of social structures and processes in a way that has never been seen before.(From Gallaudet University Press web site).
Corker, M. (1998). Deaf and disabled, or deafness disabled? Philadelphia: Open University Press. (4th floor HV 2380.C69 1998).
Deaf people's quest for self-definition and self-determination has tended to take one of 2 divergent paths each embracing vastly different and often conflicting conceptualizations of deafness and disability and their relationships to contemporary socio-cultural and political contexts. Because fragmentation works against collective empowerment and effective political challenges to oppression, there is a great need to identity a common discourse which all deaf and disabled people can share without compromising fundamental beliefs and values. This book is the first to use a multidisciplinary, postmodernist approach in the search for an inclusive framework for understanding deafness and disability, which aims to liberate the political potential of socio-cultural diversity and develop our thinking about disability as a form of social oppression. In using this approach, it exposes the essentialism inherent in existing social, politicial and service frameworks which confuse issues of needs and rights and contribute to the creation and reinforcement of the power imbalances at the heart of disability oppression. (From book cover).
Higgins, P. (1980). Outsiders in a hearing world: A sociology of deafness. Beverly Hills, Calif. : Sage Publications. (4th lfoor HV2395.H53-2 copies).
This book offers a sociological perspective on what it is like to be deaf, and discusses some of the basic issues confronting the deaf community- identity, stigma, interaction with deaf and hearing people, and social status.
Higgins, P.C. & Nash, J.E. (Eds.). (1987) Understanding deafness socially. Springfield, IL: Charles C. Thomas (4th floor HV2545.U53 1987at WML only; (1996 edition is HV2545 .U53 1996-3 copies and ETRR has 2 copies).
In this collection of articles on the social dynamics of deafness, the authors explore socialization of children who are deaf and hard of hearing, lifelongadaptive behavior, deafness and family life, and other important issues
*Ladd, P.(2002). Understanding deaf culture: 'In search of deafhood'. Cleveland, England: Multilingual Matters. (REF and 4th floor, HV2380 .L26 2003)
This text presents a "Traveller's Guide" to deaf culture, starting from the premise that deaf cultures have an important contribution to make to other academic disciplines, and human lives in general. Within and outside deaf communities, there is a need for an account of the new concept of deaf culture, which enables readers to assess its place alongside work on other minority cultures and multilingual discourses. The book aims to assess the concepts of culture, on their own terms and in their many guises and to apply these to deaf communities. The author illustrates the pitfalls which have been created for those communities by the medical concept of "deafness" and contrasts this with his new concept of "deafhood", a process by which every deaf child, family and adult implicitly explains their existance in the world to themselves and each other. CONTENTS: Introduction - walking the tightrope- deaf community-deafness and deafhood in Western civilization - towards the development of a new conceptual framework - 20th century discourses on deafness and deafhood- culture - definitions and theories- researching deaf communities - subaltern-researcher methodologies- the roots of deaf culture - the residential school- the roots of deaf culture - deaf clubs and deaf subalterns- subaltern rebels and deafhood - the national dimension- conclusions and implications- afterword - imagined futures.(from Multilingual Matters web site).
Lane, H. (1992). The mask of benevolence: Disabling the Deaf community. New York, NY: Alfred A. Knopf.(4th floor and ETRR HV2537 .L36 1992; 1999 edition is HV2537 .L36 1999 at WML only).
"Let the deaf be deaf" is the message of this book. The author views deafness as a state different from hearing, and deaf people as a societal minority who should be treasured, not eradicated.
Lane, H., Hoffmeister, R., & *Bahan, B. (1996). A journey into the Deaf-world. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (4th floor and ETRR HV2380 .L27 1996).
Introduces readers to the lives, language, and culture of the deaf world. Examines the history, culture and political agenda of the deaf world and provides details on the education of deaf children, deaf culture worldwide, and
Neisser, A. (1990). The other side of silence: Sign Language and the Deaf community in America. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.(Archives and 4th floor HV2545.N44 1983).
Chronicles the culture of and issues within the deaf community through interviews and research from across the country.
*Padden, C., & Humphries, T. (1988). Deaf in America: Voices from a culture. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. (4th floor HV2545 .P33 1988 and ETRR).
This unique book illuminates the life and culture of deaf people from the inside, through their everyday talk, shared myths, art and performances, and the lessons they teach one another.
Parasnis, I. (Ed.). (1996). Cultural and language diversity and the Deaf experience. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press.(Archives, 4th floor and ETRR HV2545 .C85 1996 ).
Presents a perspective that deaf people should be considered a cultural and language minority group rather than as individuals with an audiological impairment. Eighteen essays contributed by deaf and hearing educators, linguists, researchers, and community members support the efforts of deaf people to have ASL recognized in the planning of educational policies and curricula. NTID professors and/or Rochesterians who have contributed articles are: Ila Parasnis, "On Interpreting the Deaf Experience within the Context of Cultural and Language Diversity"; Susan Foster, "Communication Experiences of Deaf People: An Ethnographic Account"; R. Greg Emerton, "Marginality, Biculturalism, and Social Identity of Deaf People"; Gerald C. Bateman, "Attitudes of the Deaf Community Toward Political Activism"; Bonnie Meath-Lang, "Cultural and Language Diversity in the Curriculum: Toward Reflective Practice"; Susan C. Searls and David R. Johnston (Translated from the ASL by Susan D. Fischer and the Authors) "Growing up Deaf in Deaf Families: Two Different Experiences"; Patrick A. Graybill, "Another New Birth: Reflections of a Deaf Native Signer"; Gary E. Mowl, "Raising Deaf Children in Hearing Society: Struggles and Challenges for Deaf Native ASL Signers"; Dianne K. Brooks, "In Search of Self: Experiences of a Postlingually Deaf African-American"; Lynn Finton "Living in a Bilingual-Bicultural Family" and Patricia DeCaro, "On Being Both Hearing and Deaf: My Bilingual-Bicultural Experience"
Sacks, O. (1989). Seeing voices: A journey into the world of the Deaf. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.(4th floor HV2370 .S23 1989 -3 copies)
This book takes us into the world of deaf people and the ways in which they were seen and treated in the past. Sacks looks at the present situation of deaf people, which, all too often, is still one of misunderstanding and mistreatment.
Schein, J.D. (1989). At home among strangers. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.(4th lfoor HV2545 .S29 1989).
This book presents a portrait of the deaf community as a complex social network spanning the nation, including the history and culture of the deaf community, its structural underpinnings, intricacies of family life, issues in education and rehabilitation, economic factors, and interaction with the medical and legal professions.
Van Cleve, J.V., & Crouch, B.A. (1989). A place of their own: Creating the Deaf community in America. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor HV2530 .V36 1989 -2 copies).
Using original sources, this text traces the development of American deaf society to show how deaf people developed a common language and sense of community. Views deafness as the distinguishing characteristics of a distinct culture.
Wilcox, S. (Ed.). American Deaf culture: An anthology. Silver Spring, MD: Linstok Press.(4th floor and ETRR HV2530 .A547 1989).
Deaf and hearing scholars and writers explore cultural issues, ASL, social interaction in the deaf community, education, folklore and other topics
*Woodward, J. (1983). How you gonna get to heaven if you can't talk to Jesus: On depathologizing Deafness. Silver Spring, MD: T.J. Publishers. (4th floor HV2545.W66 1982-2 copies).
This collection of articles examines deaf culture and its relationship with hearing society, profiling sociolinguistic and anthropological perspectives in research on American deaf society and culture.
*Wrigley, O. (1996). The politics of deafness. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor HV2395 .W75 1996).
Drawing from a decade of experience among the deaf people in Thailand, Wrigley challenges theories about deaf identity and culture.
Conferences
Cebe, J. (Eds.). (1992). Deaf studies for educators: Conference proceedings. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University, College for Continuing Education. (4th floor HV2526 .D422 1992)
Presentations from the 1991 March 7-10 conference focuses on integrating the educational curriculum with the study of culture, ASL, and the literature and arts of deaf people. Other papers discuss bilingual/bicultural programs and considerations as well as sociological implications of deaf studies.
*Erting, C.J., Johnson, R.C., Smith, D.L., & Snider, B.N. (Eds.). (1994). The Deaf way: Perspectives from the international conference on Deaf culture. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP. (REF and 4th floor, HV2359 .I487 1989).
This book chronicles the historic gathering at Gallaudet University of over 6,000 deaf people from around the world who attended "The Deaf Way," an international conference on deaf culture in July 1989. The 153 articles focus on topics related to deaf societies around the world.
FAQ
*Moore, M. S. (1993). For hearing people only: Answers to some of the most commonly asked questions about the Deaf community, its culture and the "Deaf reality". Rochester, NY: Deaf Life Press. (4th floor and ETRR HV2545 .M66 ).
Here, in a handy Q/A format, are answers to some of the most commonly asked questions about deaf people, their community, and their language. E.g., "Is there one sign language for all countries?" "Do all deaf people read lips?" "What is Deaf culture?" "How do deaf people feel when a hearing person approaches them in public using sign language?" Each of the 60 chapters is illustrated. Easy-to-read, enjoyable introduction to a complicated subject. Written especially for those with NO background. 336 pages; includes index and bibliography. The first book of its kind. And the most popular "Deaf Studies" handbook ever! (From Deaf Life website).
Medical Issues
Corker, M. (Ed.). (July 1997).The end of deafness?: Deaf people, deaf genes and deaf ethics. Deaf Worlds, 13, 2. Gloucestershire. UK: Deaf Worlds. (Over 4th floor, HV2395.E54 1997).
This issue contains papers from the 1997 Deaf Futures Symposium at the University of Central Lancashire that explored the serious questions and concerns of Deaf people on medical ethics and the advances in genetic research.
Monograph Articles
Aymard, L.L. & Winstanley, C. (1992). Reflections on the language and culture of Deaf Americans. Dubuque, Iowa: Kendall/Hunt Publishing Co. (4th floor, HV 2471.H45).
Presents a collection of articles addressing topics in deaf culture, facts about hearing loss, and the history of American Sign Language (ASL). Designed to give the student of ASL an appreciation of the American deaf community and its language. Recommended articles: "Two Views of Deafness" p. 35 by Chris Wixtrom; "Inside the Deaf Community" p. 153 by Barbara Kannapell; "Name Signs as Identity Symbols in the Deaf Community" p. 157 by Kathryn Meadow; and "Reflections of American Deaf Culture in Deaf Humor" by M.J. Bienvenu.. (Amazon Bookstore web site).
*Farb, A. B. (Ed.). (1997). Who speaks for the Deaf community? Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (REF and 4th floor, HV 2545.W446 1997).
This book offers views from over 20 authors. Open and honest dialogue among deaf, hard of hearing and hearing persons. Opinions are informative, meaningful and thought-provoking.questions.
*Farb, A.B. (Ed). (1998). Unrealized visions: What's next for the Deaf and hard of hearing community? Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (4th floor HV2545 .U57 1999).
This monograph from NAD contains papers on issues concerning the deaf and hard of hearing community, along with each writer's own ideas and views. Topics include deaf minorities, CODAs, AIDS and mental health care, deaf comployees and entrepreneurs, cochlear implants and more. Each section includes a short biography of the author, their qualifications and accomplishments.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1990). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues among Deaf people. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (REF, 4th floor and ETRR HV2471 .E958 1990).
The 30 articles in this monograph discuss diverse aspects of communication including total communication, the value of ASL in deaf education, Cued Speech, communication in the deaf community, bilingualism and more.
NTID Professor, William Newell wrote "ASL Is Not a Four-Letter Word: Deaf Education Can Dance With the Boogieman", p. 97. Recommended article: "Personal Reflections: Current Issues on Language and Communication Among Deaf People" by Barbara Kannapell, p. 65.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1991). Perspectives on deafness. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. ( REF, 4th floor HV2380 .P457 1991).
More than 30 writers who have had extensive involvement with deaf people present their views. The articles, representing the diversity in the deaf community, share views, experiences, and perspectives which may appear to be conflicting, inconsistent or contradictory.Check out the article "Importance of a Cultural Identity" by Jack Gannon p. 55 & "Can Deaf People Survive 'deafness'? by MJ Bienvenu, p. 21. NTID professors Gerald Bateman wrote "Perceptions on Political Activism: Definitions and Attitudes", p. 7; Robert Davila wrote "Freedom of Choice: From Limited Options to Unlimited Opportunity", p. 43; Alan Hurwitz wrote "Notes on My Education", p. 71. Poems listed are: "words from a mother to her deaf child" by Merv Garretson; "My Own Broken Shell & My Dark Side" by Ken Glickman; "Voices, Voices" by J.H. Hogan, "They Say I'm Deaf" by Saul Kessler; "Eye Song" by Salvatore Parlato and "Shared Beauty" by Robert Smithdas.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1992). Viewpoints on deafness. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. ( REF and 4th floor HV2390 .V54 1992).
Contains more than 30 articles written by well-known authors and poets giving their perceptions on being deaf and on deaf people.
Yerker Anderson wrote "Sociological Reflections on Diversity Within the Deaf Population", p. 7. NTID professors wrote: "The Black Deaf Experience" p. 49 by Robert Davila, "Community Issues and Political Activism", p. 19 by Gerald Bateman; "Back to the Future with "ye Compleat Communication"", p. 97 by Robert Panara and "Early ASL Training for Hearing Families with Deaf Children", p. 109 by Geoffrey Poor. Poems listed are: "A World of Silence" by Patrick Campbell; "Words from a Mainstreamed Deaf Student" by Merv Garretson; "Me to Sign?" by Ken Glickman; "Language for the Eye" by Dorothy Miles; "Late Deaf" by Salvatore Parlato; and "Know Consequence" by Joseph Rosenstein.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1993). Deafness: 1993-2013. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. ( REF HV 2545.D43).
Contains 30 articles written by well-known authors and poets offering a broad spectrum of perspectives and opinions focusing on the future of the deaf community.NTID professor Ross Stuckless wrote "Automatically Changing Speech into Captions" p. 155 and William Castle wrote "Visions for the NTID: Past and Present" p. 19. Recommended articles: "Fifty Years of Technology in Six Scenes" p. 39, by Judy Harkins; "The Construction of Deaf Identity" p. 41, by Tom Holcomb; "The Deafhood Papers"p. 67, by Paddy Ladd and "Constructions of Deafness" p. 73, by Harlan Lane. Poems listed are: "Diminishing Returns" and "March 13, 1988" by Howard Busby; "Deaf or Something?" by Ken Glickman; "The Worst Signers Watch Their Hands" by Merv Garretson; "Hands" by Greg Kuzma; "October" by Rex Lowman; "Lady With Mandolin (upon viewing a portrait)" by Lawrence Newman; "To You Who Hear" by Sal Parlato; "Life Within Deafness (a poem from Ethiopia)" by Kibra Taye; "Belonging....Where?" by M. Lynn Woolsey; "My Deaf Vision" by Barbara Eger and "Lydia Sigourney Counsels Mr. Clerc" by Loy Golladay.
*
Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1994) Deafness: Life & culture: A Deaf American monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (REF, 4th floor HV2545 .D55 1994).
Selected articles and poetry providing insights into the diverse ethnicities, religions, cultures, philosophies, educations, and languages within the deaf community.NTID professors Peter Schragle and Gerald Bateman wrote "Impact of Captioning", p. 101. Recommended articles: "Laughing Our Way Up: Deaf Superiority Through Humor" p. 69 by Lisa Lind; "Oppression, Culture of Poverty, and Deaf People" p. 75 by Albert Linderman and "The 'How' of a Language" p. 81 by Helen Meador. Poems listed are "Like Love This Choice of a Language" by Ilene Caroom; "Soundless Frustration" by Lisa Chiango; "Sign Language" by Mervin Garretson; "Identity" by Steven Hardy; "Night Ceremony (with the light on) by Serena Leigh; "With My Hands I Can..." by Maria Okwara; "Audiogram" and "Questions for a Cochlear Surgeon" by Sal Parlato; "The Soul of Meaning" by Roslyn Rosen and "Beyond Silence" by Robert Smithdas.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1995) Deafness: Life & culture II: A Deaf American monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. ( REF, 4th floor HV2545 .D55 1995).
A sequel to the first monograph, this book shares thought-provoking articles, historical essays, and touching poetry. NTID Professor Robert Davila wrote "Current Issues Facing Education of the Deaf", p. 19. Poems listed are: "Estele" by Julia Alvarez; "Jennifer" and "Wittebome '72 by LIndsay Dunn; "Deaf Again" by Mer Garretson; "A Credo for Deaf Americans" by Frank Lala; "Rise Up Spirit and Pray" by Ruby Miller-Samples; "My Hands Searched Yours" by Lawrence Newman; "Field of Dreams Opening Day, Yankee Stadium" by Robert Panara and "Teach Me" by Sal Parlato.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1996) Deafness: Historical perspectives: A Deaf American monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. ( REF, 4th floor and ETRR HV2380 .D435 1996).
The historical perspectives in this book include essays on organizations and programs of and for deaf people, communication and education, profiles depicting individuals who have contributed greatly to public understanding of the deaf community, a genealogical perspective on five multi-generational deaf families, deaf studies, deaf theatre, and poetry. Rochesterian Matthew Moore wrote "The Great Treasure Hunt: What Can We Learn from Researching "Deaf History"?" Poems listed are "The Isolation of Silence" by Thomas Bluekens; "The Silent World" by Jodi Ernst; "Later" by Raymond Luczak; "Shell" and "Friends" by Ruby Miller-Samples; "My Four Senses" by Lawrence Newman; "Idylls of the Green" by Robert Panara; "Out, Loud!" and "TWO-gether" by Sal Parlato; "The Happening" by Harry Purcell and "Challenged" and "Persistence" by Robert Smithdas.
Opposing Viewpoints
*Bertling, T. (1994). A child sacrificed to the Deaf culture. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group (4th floor HV2534.B47 A3 1994).
Bertling shares his subjective and unpopular (with the deaf community) views on deaf culture, deaf education, and deaf children. He attended a residential school and has deaf family members.This controversial book was written for educators and administrators, parents of deaf children, and those having a professional or social interest in the deaf. (From Amazon Bookstore website).
*Bertling, T. (1997). No dignity for Joshua : More vital insight into Deaf children, Deaf education, and Deaf culture. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group (4th floor HV2545.B395 1997).
Bertling surveys and offers subjective opinions on such controversial issues as cochlear implants, sexual abuse at residential deaf schools, militancy within the deaf community and deaf community leadership. Contributes to the on-going dialogue and debate of issues key to deaf community interests and to the education and assimilation of deaf children.(From Amazon Bookstore website).
*Bertling, T. (1998). American sign language: Shattering the myth. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2471 .A63 1998).
This controversial and unprecedented collection of essays from distinguished and respected scholars marks the turning point in the education of the deaf. Headlined with compositions and documents written by the late Dr. Larry G. Stewart and Prof. Frances M. Parsons, both once members of the faculty of Gallaudet University, the book opens the door for new thinking. With additional contributions from Dr. Otto J. Menzel, Dr. Donald F. Moores, Dr. Truman W. Stelle, and PhD student Patrick W. Seamans, all of these writers venture into the heart of deaf language and cultural issues and reward us with the kind of critical thinking largely absent from many proponents of ASL-based learning. Topics regarding the failure of Deaf education, Bilingual-Bicultural, immoral intimidation tactics, and other pressing points are mentioned. Personal accounts that go against the traditional ASL mindset are also given.(From Amazon Bookstore web site).
*Bertling, T. (2001). An intellectual look at American Sign Language : Clear thinking on American Sign Language, English, and Deaf education. Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2474 .I563 2001).
This book encompasses contributions from some of the researchers, educators, and commentators on sign language communication. In addition to American Sign Language, the contributors discuss deaf education, the importance of English reading and writing skills, deaf culture, ethical questions, Cochlear Implants, residential schools for the deaf, and the future of education and life for deaf children. The subjective opinions and unpopular (with the deaf community) in the book challenges and shows skepticism toward the ASL-based approach to learning for the deaf.(From Amazon Bookstore web site).
*Bertling, T. (2002). Communicating with deaf children. Wilsonville, Or: Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2471 .C66 2002).
Cochlear implants and the claims of culture? / by Dena S. Davis -- English language acquisition of children with cochlear implants / by Melissa Chaikof -- Language development in deaf children / by Frank Bowe -- Communication modalities and English literacy / by Gerilee Gustason -- What is deaf culture? / by Patrick Seamans -- Thirty years of cued speech: A compilation of international research results / by Paulette Caswell -- English acquisition for deaf children / by Glenn T. Lloyd.
*Winefield, R. (1987). Never the twain shall meet: Bell, Gallaudet and the communication debate. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor, HV2471.W56 1987)
The opposing viewpoints of Gallaudet and Bell, who started an educational debate in the middle of the 19th century that continues today, are presented: Should sign language be used in deaf education or should deaf children deail with a hearing, speaking world on its own terms?
Personal Narratives
*Cohen, L.H. (1994). Train go sorry: Inside a Deaf world. Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin. (4th floor, HV2561.N72 N35 1994-2 copies).
The title is an ASL idiom meaning "missing the boat," a concept which captures the miscommunication that occurs between deaf and hearing people individually and societally. As a hearing child, Leah Cohen grew up and formed her identity at the Lexington School for the Deaf in Queens, NY. She illuminates the struggles and triumphs of the deaf world through student accounts.
*Holcomb, R. (1985). Silence is golden, sometimes. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress.(4th floor and ETRR HV2380.H643 1985).
In this revised edition of The Hazards of Deafness, amusing anecdotes enlighten and sensitize hearing people to the "deaf experience" and bring to light the problems and frustrations deaf people cope with in a hearing society.
*Holcomb, R., Holcomb, S. & Holcomb, T. (1994). Deaf culture our way: Anecdotes from the Deaf community. San Diego, CA: DawnSignPress. (4th floor HV2380 .H643 1994).
Author Roy Holcomb and his two sons (NTID professor Sam Holcomb) provide entertaining glimpses of life in the deaf community.
Sports
*Stewart, D.A. (1991). Deaf sport: The impact of sports within the Deaf community. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.. (4th floor HV2551 .S74 1991).
This book describes the full ramifications of athletics for deaf people, from the meaning of individual participation to cultural bonding. Shows the positive psychological and educational impact of sports within the deaf community.
Journals, Magazines
These are good places to find recent information on a topic. Use the NTID Deaf Index. and the Bibliography of Sign Language.
Use the Gallaudet Index to Deaf Periodicals to help you find citations on your topic. The Gallaudet Index DOESN'T index recent information. Deaf Life Magazine is highly recommended and we keep back issues in bound format on the 2nd floor PER HV2350.D45.
If you want to locate a journal or magazine, use the Einstein Catalog to find the journal title and the location. It may be available in print on the 1st floor on the Current Magazine Shelves or at the Reserve Desk, in bound periodical format (Deaf Life magazine) on the 2nd floor, on microfilm/microfiche on the 2nd floor, and/or online via a full-text database.
There is an ASL - Deaf Culture Journal Guide . The guide lists the web and database links for you for all journal titles. Some recommended periodicals are: Deaf Rochester News, Silent News, Deaf Life, Journal of Deaf Studies and Education (available on-line), American Annals of the Deaf (available on-line), Views, Sign Language Studies and there are more.
Newspapers-These are good places to look for current information or to get an overview of the day-to-day coverage of a particular issue. Try the ABI-PROQUEST or Academic Search Elite databasesl to get newspaper articles
WWW-Check out the Deaf Internet Resources. You can click on ASL, Deaf Culture and History, Multicultural Deaf, Deaf Resources etc. to find good web links related to your topic. Check out Info to Go from Gallaudet University which has online "quick reference" sheets.
FACT SHEETS- We have quick reference short papers on various topics from Gallaudet University REF HV 2353.N375 and SHHH REF HV 2353.S53 in the reference area on the 1st floor
For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)
|