The Deaf Culture Print Guide is also available.
A Comparison of Communication Values. DVD. Rochester, N.Y. : National Technical Institute for the Deaf, 2007. 80 mins. Voiced/Color/Signed. (4th floor, HV2395 .S47 2007).
This workshop presented by Linda Siple explores differences and similarities in values between American culture as a whole and Deaf culture in the United States. In particular, it addresses differences in communication values, and ways in which interactions between Deaf and hearing people can go awry. The presenter invites questions and comments from the audience, which includes both Deaf and hearing members.
Cross-Cultural Comparisons: American Deaf Culture and American Majority Culture. Videocassettes. Westminster, CO: Front Range Community College, 1993. 158 mins. Voiced/Color/Signed. (ETRR only Video 5202).
This 3 hr. teleconference introduces certain terms used in cultural anthropology and how they apply when comparing American Deaf culture and American majority culture. It inlcudes a look at some culturally determined behaviors and values from both cultures, how possible cultural conflicts occur and some strategies to foster mutual respect between peoples.
Deaf Culture Lecture-Cultural Differences. Videocassette. Sign Enhancers, 1998. 35 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV 2539.D465 no. 8J).
Popular and humorous deaf performer Nathie Marbury lectures about the different values between Deaf and hearing cultures. She shares some amusing anecdotes.
Deaf Culture Lecture: Tools for a Cross-Cultural Adventure. Videocassette. Sign Enhancers, 1996. 42 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned (4th floor, HV 2395.D465 no. 8K).
Examines the different characteristics of the distinct cultures of the hearing and the Deaf and focuses on growing up within a Deaf family.
Deaf Culture Lectures: An Inside View. Videocassette. Sign Enhancers, 1996. 42 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
(4th floor, HV 2395.D465 no. 8J).
Nathie Marbury ( a popular and vivacious signer) gives you an intimate view of Deaf culture, including cross-cultural etiquette, tales from Deaf schools and more.
See What I Mean. DVD. Sign Enhancers, 2001. 45 mins. Color/Signed. (4th floor, HV 2545.S44 2001).
Explores the differences between American hearing and deaf cultures. Looks at how each group deals with tardiness and saying goodbye and examines three cultural differences that may lead to misunderstanding: information sharing and privacy, giving criticism and feedback, and personal remarks about another's appearance.
Sign Here and Silence is Golden. Videocassette. Magic Lamp Productions, 1987. 45 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2380 .S54 1987). See companion book by Roy Holcomb. Hosted by Herb Larson, Lou Fant and Mary Beth Barber.
Several deaf performers, with the assistance of their voice interpreter partners, share various insights about the humor, confusion, complications, foibles, fears and delights of everyday life in a deaf world. They then get the hearing point of view on the same topics from their partners' perspective of the sometimes difficult-to-vault communicative fence. The resultant programs offer much food for thought about these two not-so-different worlds and the richness to be gained by mutual understanding and continued communication.
Deaf Awareness. Videocassette. Los Angeles, CA: Beyond Sound, 1986. 30 mins. Signed and voiced. 4th floor HV2380 .D35 1986
A discussion of the need for the public, both deaf and hearing, to become aware of Deaf culture, to learn about terminology related to deafness, to become familiar with services available to the deaf community, and to learn more about sign language and about how to communicate with the deaf and hard-of-hearing.
*CBS News Sunday Morning [Jan. 13, 2002]. Videocassette. CBS Video, 2002. 27 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (In Joan Naturale's office).
This video is about the deaf community in Rochester, NY. Rochester, NY has the most deaf people per capita compared to other cities in the nation. Due to copyright restirictions, we cannot put the video on the 5 day shelf. However, you can stop by Joan Naturale's office to borrow the video.
*CBS News Sunday Morning [Jan. 20, 2002]. Videocassette. CBS Video, 2002. 32 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (3rd floor, PN1992.77.A1 C28 2002)
The Matchetts is a family of four who are deaf and live in Rochester, N.Y. There is discussion about the different educational placements of the Matchetts' two deaf childrenbased on individual differences and needs.
*Deaf Community at a Crossroad. Videocassette. Deaf Expo General Store, 1996. 30 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV 2530.D434 1996).
Provides information about the Deaf and hard of hearing communities.
Introduction to the Deaf Community. Videocassette. Sign Media, 1993. 25 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV 2545.I619 1993).
Provides a basic overview of the culture of Deaf people and American sign language in America. Designed to debunk stereotypes, and provide information about national and international organizations of and for Deaf people.
Deaf Way II: Opening Ceremonies & Visual Anthology. DVD. Gallaudet University, 2004. 150 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV2359 .I487 2002).
Showcases scenes of the opening ceremony and performances, art exhibits, and lectures by international scholars on issues vital to Deaf people worldwide .
Deaf Culture-ASL History
Preservation of ASL. Videocassette. Rochester, NY : PCI Recordings, 1993. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2474 .A759 1993).
Brenda Aaron, a Sign Language instructor at NTID and Dr. Ted Supalla, Professor of Linguistics at the University of Rochester, discuss ASL--how to use it, attitudes that surround it and the misconceptions about it.4 .
The Preservation of American Sign Language. Videocassette. Burtonsville, Md. : Sign Media, Inc., 1997. 90 mins. Color/B&W/Signed. (4th floor, HV2474 .P73 1997).
The preservation of sign language / G. Veditz -- Lorna Doone / E.M. Gallaudet -- Dom Pedro's visit / E.A. Fay -- Memories of Old Hartford / J. Hotchkiss -- Lay sermon / R. McGregor -- The Irishman's flea / R. McGregor -- The signing of the charter of Gallaudet College / A. Draper -- The discovery of chloroform / G. Dougherty. This video shows how some signs have changed during the twentieth century. It contains excerpts from eight sign language films dating back to 1913 from the Gallaudet University Archives, transferred to modern video by Sign Media, Inc. Each of these eight films is introduced by Brian Malzkuhn who provides brief biographical information on each signer. A segment of the film is then shown, followed by a comparison of some of the historically older signs appearing on the film with contemporary sign formation.
The Preservation of American Sign Language : The Complete Historical Collection. Burtonsville, MD : Sign Media, Inc., 1997. 126 mins. Color/B&W/Signed. (4th floor, HV2474 .P73 1997b ).
Several old Sign Language films, some of them dating back to 1913, have been professionally transferred to videotape thus ensuring their preservation and making them accessible to the general public. Each film is shown in its entirety without voice-over or captioning.
The preservation of Sign Language / G. Veditz -- Lorna Doone / E. M. Gallaudet -- Dom Pedro's visit / E. A. Fay -- Memories of Old Hartford / J. Hotchkiss -- Lay Sermon / R. McGregor -- The Irishman's flea / R. McGregor -- The Lady and the cake / R. McGregor -- The signing of the Charter of Gallaudet College / A. Draper -- The discovery of chloroform / G. Dougherty -- Address at the tomb of Garfield / W. Hubbard -- A Plea for a statue of de l'Epee in America / Rev. Cloud and Rev. McCarthy -- The Death of Minnehaha / M. Williamson Erd -- Yankee Doodle / W. E. Marshall -- Glimpses of the battlefield / Rev. Bryant -- Gettysburg Address / Dr. T. F. Fox
Deaf Culture and Family Issues
Deaf Culture-Shared Wisdom for Families. Videocassette. Sign Enhancers, 1996. 44 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV 2395.D465 no 8L).
This video focuses on parenting advice about raising children from experienced parents. All types of families share their wisdom--deaf parents with deaf and/or hearing children, hearing parents with deaf and/or hearing children, and "codas", hearing children of Deaf adults.
*DEAFology 101. Videocassette. DEAFinitely Yours Studio, 1993. 60 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. (4th floor, HV2380 .D436 1993).
Presents information about Ken Glickman's comedy presentation about the deaf culture. Explains the content of the show, what props are needed, the length, and the location. Lists the events that are appropriate for the show. Posts contact information for Glickman via mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail. Contains biographical information about Ken Glickman. This humorous lecture was videotaped live at the Texas School for the Deaf : "A Crash Course on Deaf Culture for Hearies and Deafies!"
You Think DEAF People Have Problems? Videocassette. Deaf Utopia, 1999. 90 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced. (4th floor, HV2380 .Y675 1999).
This videotape features Angela Petrone Stratiy's one-woman comedy show based on her "research" on hearing people, and her perspectives on how deaf people survive in the hearing world.
Deaf Culture Info
Deaf Culture: What's Wrong and Right. DVD. Florida First Coast Signing Video Productions, 1998. 80 mins. Color/Voiced/Signed. (4th floor, HV2395 .D43 1998)
Attempts to present a more balanced perspective on deaf culture to counter perceptions of "anti-hearing" attitudes displayed in books and videotapes related to deaf culture.
*Viewpoints 1: Deaf Culture.Videocassette. Sign Enhancers, Inc., 2000. 57 mins. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
(4th floor, HV 2395.V538 2000 pt. 1).
Consists of unrehearsed interviews with 6 different D/deaf individuals who come from a broad range of educational and linguistic backgrounds and discuss topics important to interpreters, D/deaf people and others within the community. Despite the different backgrounds, there are similar views held on Deaf Culture.