RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Deaf and World War II/Holocaust

Articles

Video-Drama

Books-Personal Narratives or Biographies

Video-History

Books-Fiction

Video-Other

Books-History

Video-Personal Narratives-Asian

Books and/or Video-Juvenile

Video-Personal Narratives-Fortunoff-Yale University

Books-Other

Video-Personal Narratives-Shoah

Plays

Video-Personal Narratives-Yad Yashem

Video-Deaf Mosaic

Websites

This course is taught by Patricia Durr and J.Matt Searls, NTID professors. Patricia Durr has a public website focusing on this topic. The URL is: http://idea3.rit.edu/paddhd/deafww2/ where you will find online captioned Shoah videos, some articles and book chapters as well as links. If unable to open this link, use your IE browser and copy and paste the URL. She may be reached via PADDHD@rit.edu. If you know of other material we may not be aware of, we welcome your input.

Videos are located on the 3rd and 4th floors at WML or at ETRR, 3355. WML videos may be borrowed for up to 3 weeks. There are tvs, vcrs and captioning available at MRC, basement of the library. Also, ETRR, LBJ 3355 has tvs and vcrs for viewing. Students may also view videos there.

Articles

Baldwin, Stephen C. "Genocide & Deafness." The Voice 4.4 (May-June 1988): 7-11.
Available online courtesy of courtesy of Hearing Health, the Deafness Research Foundation http://www.drf.org and the author.

Beck, Ellen. "Eugene Bergman: Deaf Survivor." Deaf American 35.3 (1982): 4-6. 2nd floor, MICROFILM 190 v.35 1982/1983. Available online with permission of the National Association of the Deaf http://www.nad.org and the author.

Bohlman, Lynne. "Images of Darkness, Flickers of Light." NTID Focus (Fall 1989):22-23. 3rd floor Archives. Available online courtesy of the National Technical Institute for the Deaf http://www.rit.edu/ntid.

Crying Hands. Spec. issue of Gallaudet Today 18.2 (Summer 1987-88). Available online courtesy Gallaudet University http://www.gallaudet.edu.
Includes the following articles:  "Inside the Madness: A Deaf Survivor Remembers the Holocaust" and
in der nacht" by Vickie Walter.


Deaf People in Hitler's Europe. Spec. issue of Gallaudet Today 29.1 (Fall 1998). Available online courtesy of Gallaudet University http://www.gallaudet.edu.
Includes article "Deaf People in Hitler's Europe" by Laura-Jean Gilbert, "Stories of Survival" by Lynne McConnell and "An Open Letter from Marla Petal to Gallaudet Uiversity and U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum" by Marla Peta.

Gill, Ernest. "Horst Biesold: Helping the Survivors." Deaf American 35.8 (1983): 7-8. 2nd floor MICROFILM 190 v.35 1982/1983. Available online courtesy of the National Association of the Deaf http://www.nad.org.

"John A. DeLance: Alaskan Scout." Deaf American Mar. 1976: 45. 2nd floor MICROFILM 190. Available online courtesy of the National Association of the Deaf http://www.nad.org.

Kannapell, Barbara. "The Forgotten Americans Deaf War Plant Workers During World War II." NADmag - A Publication of the National Association of the Deaf (2002): 20.
During the 50th anniversary of World War II celebrations from 1991 to 1995, the contributions of deaf people, minorities, and women were ignored. The only project to illustrate the contributions of minorities during the war were documentaries of African Americans, Native Americans and women pilots during World War II for the anniversary. Available online with permission of the National Association of the Deaf http://www.nad.org and Barbara Kannapell.

Rogow, Sally M. "Child Victims in Nazi Germany." The Journal of Holocaust Education 8.3 (Winter 1999): 71-87. Academic Search Elite. EBSCO. RIT Lib., Rochester, NY. 3 Apr. 2006 <http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/acadelite/acadelite.html>.
During the Nazi years, thousands of  non-Jewish German children were victims of unrelenting persecution and genocide. Children who were blind, deaf, physically disabled or mentally handicapped,orphans, juvenile delinquents and adolescent non-conformists were removed from their homes and communities, isolated in institutions and work camps and many thousands were murdered.
Significant members of  the medical profession found it personally and professionally profitableto engage in murder and gave it a protective veneer of respectability. In the process Europe's most advanced and comprehensive system of rehabilitative  education was destroyed. This article, entirely based on secondary literature, provides a concise synthesis of this history for teachers. Persistent link:

http://ezproxy.rit.edu:80/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=afh&an=7352309

Ryan, Donna F. "Deaf People in Hitler's Europe: Conducting Oral History Interviews With Deaf Holocaust Survivors." The Public Historian 27.2 (Apr. 2005): 43-52. ProQuest Research Library. ProQuest Information and Learning. RIT Lib., Rochester, NY. 3 Apr. 2006 <http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/abi/abiweb.html>. Persistent link:
http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=864541791&sid=2&Fmt=2&clientId=3589&RQT=309&VName=PQD
  
Shirey, Lilly R. "Pre-Holocaust Experience with a Jewish Deaf Family."Washington Society of Jewish Deaf Newsletter 17.5 (Aug. 1993): 12-13. Available online courtesy of the Washington Society Jewish Deaf http://www.jirs.org/jirs/jirs0005wo.html  

Swain, Robert. "A Deaf Profile: A Mother's Courage Defied the Nazis." Silent News 16.5 (May 1984): 18. Available online via http://idea3.rit.edu/paddhd/deafww2/
The story of deaf Hilda Rattner and her efforts to get herself and her family, including other deaf members, out of Nazi-occupied Austria, barely one step ahead of being rounded up and sent to the camps.

Magazine-Other

Look up articles in the Silent Cavalier or Cavalier which was published during the WW II years. Use the NTID Database Index to find citations to articles http://www.ntid.rit.edu/terpref/index.htm. The magazines are housed at WML .Vols. 1-2 (1940-1942). Vols. 3-4 (1942-1944). Vols. 5-10 (1944-1950) are housed in Archives HV2350.S59. Online courtesy of the family.

Books-Personal Narratives or Biographies


Abrams, Charlotte. The Silents. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1996. 4th floor  and ETRR HQ759.912 .A27 1996. 
Born hearing to deaf parents, Jewish author Charlotte Abrams and her younger sister, Adelaide, were known as "the Silents" in their Chicago neighborhood. Living through the Depression and World War II, the family faced each crisis together, especially upon discovering that their mother was also becoming blind. Interlaced with the embarrassment Abrams sometimes felt over her parents' signing and lipreading, and the inevitable arguments that crop up in all families, is the affection and devotion they have for each other.

Barash, Harvey L . Our Father, Abe: The Story of a Deaf Shoe Repairman. Madison, Wis. : ABAR Press, 1991. 4th floor,  HV2534.B3 B3 1991.

Battad, Hester Parons. Hester, Hester. Los Angeles: Aibuda, 1975. 4th floor, HV2524.B38 A3.  
See Sound of the Stars. Frances's deaf twin sister also writes about her memories of Tahiti.

Davis, Morris J. Shall I Say a Kiss? The Courtship Letters of a Deaf Couple, 1936-1938. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1999. 4th floor and ETRR HV2534.D38 A3 1999.     
Shall I Say A Kiss? opens a window into the lives of two working-class, Jewish, British, Deaf people in the 1930s. This striking book reveals a consistent, journal-like account of the “lived” experience of Deaf people during the tumultuous times just prior to World War II. Because the correspondence is mainly composed of Eva’s letters, the focus sharpens even further as a record of the life and opinions of a young, working-class, Deaf woman about to embark upon marriage and life in a new country. The challenges she faced, including de facto racial barriers for both deaf and Jewish immigrants, and the prospect of uniting with a man she knew mostly through his letters alone, make for a compelling and emotional trip through her life. (from Gallaudet UP website).

Dunai, Eleanor. Surviving in Silence: A Deaf Boy in the Holocaust: The Harry I. Dunai Story. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2002. 4th floor and ETRR. DS135.H93 D863 2002.

Fischer, Nana. Papi and I. Oxie, Sweden: Döviana, 2000. 4th floor, HV2808 .F47 2000. 
This book is about a Jewish deaf girl’s memoirs born in Frankfurt. .Being deaf and Jewishwas a devastating time for any individual born in Germany during the Nazi regime. She writes about her parents forbidden marriage, her mother who fled to London, her older brother who ended up in Edinburgh, her father who was imprisoned and herself. She was a child to  whom no one could explain all the difficult things that happened around her. Nana and her father came to Sweden in spring of 1938 and nana entered a Swedish school for the deaf in Lund. An insight into the ordinary life there in the 1940s is well detailed and enthralling along with a wealth of interesting characters such as Babba her replacement mother and friend. (from Deaf History Review).

Heilman, Anna. Never Far Away : The Auschwitz Chronicles of Anna Heilman.Calgary : University of Calgary , 2001. 4th floor, DS135.P63 H45 2001. 
Story of a CODA (child of deaf adult) who survived.

Irgens, Henning. "World War II in Norway." Deaf Esprit: Inspiration, Humor and Wisdom from the Deaf Community. Ed. Damara Goff Paris and Mark Drolsbaugh.Salem, OR: AGO Gifts and Publications, 1999. 131-144. 3rd floor and ETRR PS508.D43 D4 1999.
See also Post-War Experiences of Henning Irgens p.145-158 and Frieda and Me by Ira J. Rothenberg p. 159-169.  

Katz, Eileen. "Making Sense of it All : The Battle of Britain through a Jewish Deaf Girl's Eyes." Trans. Celeste Cheyney. Deaf Women's Lives : Three Self-Portraits. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2005. 4th floor and ETRR HV2373 .D43 2005. Also available as an ebook via ebrary: http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rit/Doc?id=10081792&f00

Parsons, Frances M. Sound of the Stars. New York: Vantage, 1971. 4th floor, HV 2988.P3. 
When this book opens, two girls, barely turned teen-aged, have  lived in Tahiti with their parents for four years. They are identical twins.  Francies (alias Peggie, alias Tiri), younger than her sister by several  minutes, kept the record from which this remarkable book has been made. The account ends in 1941, with WW II well under way.

Sidranksky, Ruth. In Silence: Growing up Hearing in a Deaf World. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1990. 4th floor, HQ 759.912.S53 1990.
This is the story of Ruth and her poignant experiences in the silent world of her family's household. It was a world where the bond between parent and child was strange and fragile, yet as unbreakable as the red ribbon Ruth's mother tied to her infant's body and her own, so she could detect any movement in the baby whose cries could not be heard. This book offers a tender and loving evocation of a world gone by-a vanished city of close-knit Jewish neighborhoods, gatherings on street corners on summer nights and the strength of a people who had to endure the poverty and turmoil of their place and time--the Bronx and Brooklyn of the 1930s and 1940s. (from book).

Synnestvedt, Alice Resch, Aase Ingerslev, and Claire Gorfinkel. Over the Highest Mountains : A Memoir of Unexpected Heroism in France during World War II. .Pasadena, CA: Intentional Productions, 2005.
Alice Resch Synnestvedt became an unlikely hero upon discovering Quaker relief workers in France in 1939. She spent six years assisting Jewish and other refugees escaping from the  Nazis. She wrote this detailed memoir for her deaf mother in 1945. Over  fifty years later she was honored by those whose lives she saved.

Teger, Irene. Let us not Forget: A Mother's Letter to a Son. New York: Pyramid Books, 1974. RES, 1st floor Durr Book #1. Also available online courtesy of  the Teger family.

Wright, Mary Herring. Far from Home: Memories of WW II and Afterward. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2005. 4th floor and ETRR HV2534.W75 2005.  Available as an ebook via ebrary:
http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rit/Doc?id=10081785&f00




Books-Fiction


Platt, Stevie. Go to the Hill: A Novel. Baltimore: American Literary , 2003. 3rd  floor PS3566.L298G 2003. 
Examines the lives and friendship of two deaf women, Jeanette and  Maria, growing up in WW II America. Friends since childhood in the small town of Culpeper, VA, their struggle for independence in a time of turmoil  is compounded by their struggle for validation in a world that often mocks their disability.

Books-History

A Beginner's Introduction to Deaf History. Ed. Raymond Lee. Feltham: BDHS  Publications, 2004. OVER 4th and ETRR, HV2367 .B43 2004. Section on WW II online courtesy of Raymond Lee.
There is some info about the Depression Years and WW II in the book

Axford, Roger W. "Hannah Takagi Holmes." Too Long Been Silent: Japanese Americans Speak Out. Lincoln, Neb.: Media Pub. & Marketing, 1986. Online courtesy of the Axford family.

Biesold, Horst. Crying Hands: Eugenics and Deaf People in Nazi Germany. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1999. 4th floor and ETRR HV 2748.B5412 1999. Also available as an ebook via netlibrary:
http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=12026

---. "The Fate of the Israelite Asylum for the Deaf and Dumb in Berlin." Looking Back: A Reader on the History of Deaf Communities and their Sign Languages. Ed. Renate Fischer and Harlan Lane. Hamburg: Signum, 1993.157-169. 4th floor and ETRR HV2367 .L66 1993.

Buchanan, Robert M. Illusions of Equality. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1999. 4th floor and ETRR HV2530 .B83 1999. Also available as an ebook via  netLibrary
http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=12048

Burch, Susan. Signs of Resistance: American Deaf Cultural History: 1900 to WW II. New York: New York UP, 2002. 4th floor and ETRR HV2530.B87  2002. 
Irony of acculturation -- Visibly different : sign language and the  deaf community -- The extended family : associations of the deaf -- Working  identities : labor issues -- The full court press : legal issues -- Irony of acculturation, continued.

California, United States. Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians. Statement of Education: Hannah Tomiko Holmes. Voiced by Gerald Sato. Los Angeles: National Archives and Records Administration, 1981. 167-174. Available courtesy of William Hohri.

Carbin, Clifton F. Deaf Heritage in Canada : A Distinctive, Diverse, and Enduring Culture. Ed. Dorothy L. Smith. Toronto: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1996. OVER 4th floor and ETRR HV2576 .C38 1996. Some sections available online courtesy of Clifton Carbin.

Deaf People in Hitler's Europe. Ed. Donna F. Ryan and John S. Schuchman.  Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 2002. 4th floor and ETRR HV 2746.D43 2002. Also available as an e-book via ebrary
http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rit/Doc?id=10078136

Evans, Suzanne E. Forgotten Crimes : The Holocaust and People with Disabilities.  Chicago: Ivan R. Dee, 2004. 4th floor D804.5.H35 E93 2004.  See also online:
http://www.dralegal.org/downloads/pubs/forgotten_crimes.pdf

Friedman, Ina. "Franziska: A Silent Protest Against Sterilization." The Other Victims: First-Person Stories of Non-Jews Persecuted by the Nazis. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1990. 63-76. 4th floor, D811.A2 F74 1990 .

Gannon, Jack R. "The 1940s." Deaf Heritage: A Narrative History of Deaf America. Ed. Jane Butler and Laura-Jean Gilbert. Silver Spring, MD: NAD, 1981.  219-23. 4th floor and ETRR HV2530 .G36. Excerpts online with permission of  the National Association of the Deaf http://www.nad.org and the author.

Genetics, Disability, and Deafness. Ed. John V. Van Cleve. Washington, DC:Gallaudet UP, 2004. 4th floor and ETRR RF292 .G465 2004. Also available as  an e-book via ebrary:
http://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/rit/Doc?id=10081803


Greenberg, Irving, and Jane Alpert. Deaf People in the Holocaust : The Extraordinary Story. Jackson, NY: Lexington School and Center for the Deaf & Jewish Heritage Project, 2003. 4th floor, HV2746 .D433 2003.    Available online via website: http://www.lexnyc.com/holocaust.pdf

Kanappel, Barbara "The Forgotten People: Deaf People's Contributions During WW II." Deaf Studies IV: Visions of the Past, Visions of the Future: Conference Proceedings. April 27-30, 1995, Woburn, Massachusetts. Washington, DC: Gallaudet U, Continuing Educ. and Outreach, 1996. 111- . 4th floor and ETRR HV2526 .D423 1995.

Muhs, Jochen. "Followers and Outcasts: Berlin’s Deaf Community under National Socialism (1933-1945)." Collage : Works on International Deaf History . Ed.Renate Fischer, Tomas Vollhaber, and Heiko Zienert. International Studieson Sign Language and Communication of the Deaf 33. Hamburg: Signum , 1996.195-204. OVER 4th and ETRR, HV237 .C766 1996.

Nakamura, Karen. Deaf in Japan : Signing and the Politics of Identity. Ithaca: Cornell UP, 2006. 4th floor and ETRR HV2883 .N35 2006.
The politics of Japanese sign language -- The early history of the deaf in Japan -- Life history : Nakano Shizuyo, a prewar generation deaf woman -- Middle-generation deaf in the postwar period -- Three postwar women's lives : Sano-san, Horikawa-san, and Funata-san -- The  postwar generation of deaf activists -- The Japanese Federation of the Deaf and the welfare state -- Deaf students in the post-mainstreaming era --  Life history--Yamashita Mayumi, a deaf youth in contemporary Japan -- Language wars and language politics, or, How an itinerant anthropologist  introduced a new sign into the Japanese sign lexicon.

Pullen, Gloria, and Rachel Sutton-Spence. "The British Deaf Community during the1939-1945 War ." Looking Back: A Reader on the History of Deaf Communities and their Sign Languages. Ed. Harlan Lane and Renate Fischer. Hamburg: Signum, 1993. 171-76. 4th floor and ETRR HV2367 .L66 1993

Reis, Michael. "Student Life at the Indiana School for the Deaf During the Depression Years." Deaf History Unveiled: Interpretations from the New Scholarship. Ed. John V. Van Cleve. Washington, DC: Gallaudet UP, 1993.198-223. 4th floor and ETRR HV2367 .D4 1993

Takeshi, Mamezuka. Don ga Kikoenakatta Hitobito: The Deaf and the Atomic Bomb. Kyoto, Japan: Bunrikaku, 1991. In Japanese.
(In English) "Silent Thunder" by Nagasaki branch of the Japanese Study Group of Sign Language Problems: p. 149-162. Photographs and stories of Deaf survivors of  the Nagasaki deaf school bombing. Available online courtesy of Bunrikaku http://www.bunrikaku.com

Juvenile Books and/or Videos

Eades, Nancy, narr. Rose Blanche. Videocassette. Kansas School for the Deaf,  1999. Signed in American Sign Language, level F. 6 mins. 3rd floor,  PZ7.I586 Rose 1999. 
Based on the book of the same title by Roberto Innocenti. During World War II, a young German girl's curiosity leads her to discover something far more terrible than the day-to-day hardships and privations that she and her neighbors have experienced

Graber, Janet. Resistance. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 2005. 3rd floor PZ7.G7488 Re 2005. 
In German-occupied Normandy, France, fifteen-year-old Marianne worries that her mother is exposing the family, especially Marianne's deaf younger  brother, to great danger by volunteering for more perilous assignments in the resistance movement .

Shea, George. The Silent Hero. New York: Random House, 1994.
Thirteen-year-old  Pierre, who is both deaf and mute, witnesses the December 1940 downing of an Allied airplane by Germans near his home in St. Claire, France. With great difficulty, he manages to rescue the American pilot, Jim Rush, and hide him from the Nazis in a secret room under a woodshed until he can be safely returned to England. Based on a true event, Shea's book vividly portrays life in occupied France, with special emphasis on the activities of the French Resistance. Although classified as nonfiction (no sources are cited), the text reads like an adventure story.

Books-Other  

Bloch, David Ludwig. Holzschnitte = Mu Ke Ji = Woodcuts : Shanghai 1940-1949 . Sankt Augustin : China-Zentrum und Institut Monumenta Serica , 1997. 3rd  floor, NE1150.5.B58 A4 1997. 
Noted Holocaust artist. Table of contents and introductory material also in English and Chinese.

Thompson, Vivian Alpert. "David Bloch." A Mission in Art : Recent Holocaust Works in America . Macon, GA: Mercer University Press, 1988. 20-27. Reproduced by permission of David Bloch's estate and Mercer University Press, Macon, GA

Plays

Durr, Patricia. Meta. Ts. Wallace Library, Rochester. RES, 1st floor PS3554.U77  M47 1991, Archives, 3rd floor and e-reserves.  This work is copyrighted and the author's permission is required to stage, film and/or reproduce the work in any way. paddhd@rit.edu. Available online courtesy of the author.
Performed at Lights On, a deaf theater in Rochester, NY.

Medugno, Richard. Silent Salzburg: A Full Length Play. Bloomington, IN : AuthorHouse, 2007. 3rd floor, PS3613.E4846 S45 2007.
This work is copyrighted and the author's permission is required to stage, film and/or reproduce the work in any way. richardmedugno@yahoo.com. Script may be purchased here: http://www.authorhouse.com/BookStore/ItemDetail.aspx?bookid=43249
Two-act drama that tells the story of an Austrian Christian family that goes into hiding in 1940 to protect their deaf teenage son from sterilization or worse by the Nazis.  

Videos-Deaf Mosaic

"Stanley Teger." 309. Deaf Mosaic. Gallaudet University. Washington, DC. Jan. 1987. ETRR 5880 no. 38. Clip available online courtesy of Gallaudet University http://tv.gallaudet.edu.

"Eric Malzkuhn." 510. Deaf Mosaic. Gallaudet University. Washington, DC. Fall  1990. ETRR 5880 no. 53. Clip available online courtesy of Gallaudet University http://tv.gallaudet.edu/.

"In Der Nacht." 403. Deaf Mosaic. Gallaudet University. Washington, DC. Fall1988. ETRR 5880 no. 47. Clip available online courtesy of Gallaudet University http://tv.gallaudet.edu/.

" Pearl Harbor." 503. Deaf Mosaic. Gallaudet University. Washington, DC. Fall 1988. ETRR 5880 no. 47. Clip available online courtesy of Gallaudet University http://tv.gallaudet.edu/.

Videos-Drama


Beskardès, Levent, producer and playwright. Hanna. Videocassette. iVT, Paris, 1994. French Sign and spoken French. 4th floor, HV2746.H36. First 10 mins. available online courtesy of Levent Beskardes. Contact beskardes@wanadoo.fr for more information.
A fiction story based on a true documentary about a young deaf girl who attempts to avoid forced sterilization under the Nazi regime in July 1933. The feature film was created after several theater performance.

Cook, Peter, and Kenny Lerner, perf. Flying Words: Holocaust Poem.Videocassette.

Leuw, Eduard. Petrified Sorrow. Videocassette. Handtheater, 2002. Signed in Dutch Sign Language with English voice over and captions. 4th floor, DS135.N4 P48 2002. First 10 mins. available online courtesy of Handtheater http://www.handtheater.nl/index2.html . Contact Handtheater if you would like to buy the video.
The story of one Dutch Jewish family's experiences during World War  II.

Motherland . DVD. Remark!, 2004. In British Sign Language, captioned. 3rd floor, PN1995.9.N36 M68 2004. First 10 mins. available online courtesy of Deafinitely Theatre http://www.deafinitelytheatre.co.uk. Contact Deafinitely Theatre if you want to buy the DVD.
During the Nazi rule of Germany more than 17,000 deaf people were  forcibly sterilized and many were murdered. Motherland follows the life of one woman through school, marriage and the rise of the Nazis; it is a tale of love, loss and survival seen through the eyes of a group of deaf  friends.

Videos-History

American Schools and Depression Years . Videocassette. Sign Media, 1991. 85 mins. Color, Voiced, Signed. http://www.signmedia.com/. 4th floor,  HV2474 .I5847 1992 and ETRR 5961 no.15.
Janet Dick discusses the interest group activities of the deaf and the lack of Social Security funding for deaf people in the 1930's. Michael Reis talks about student life at Indiana School for the Deaf during the depression years. (International Conference on Deaf History).

Carmel, Simon. Jewish Heritage and Holidays in ASL. Simon Carmel, the Holocaust: A Deaf Perspective. Videocassette. Deborah Sisterhood Etz Chaim SephardicSynagogue, 1999. ETRR VIDEO 6624  

Durr, Patricia, prod. Exodus: A Deaf Jewish Family Escapes the Holocaust. Voice interpreted by Miriam Lerner. DVD. NTID at RIT, 2006. 25 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor and ETRR D804.196 .E96 2006.  
A short documentary about the Wiener/Rattner family's flight from Nazi occupied Austria and their detainment on Ellis Island.

Durr, Patricia, host. Lilly Rattner Shirey : Deaf Holocaust Survivor. Videocassette. NTID at RIT, 2006. 49 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced. Captioned. 4th floor. D804.196 .S44 2006.  

Forgotten People: Deaf People's Contributions During WW II . Videocassette. 1999. ETRR 5912 no. 62  

Holder, Burma. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center 1999. 16 mins. Color, Voiced, Signed, Captioned.. 4th floor, HV2534.S44 N44 1999.
Evelyn Preston interviews 91 year old Berman Holder on her life experiences and how she go through WW II.

Intrator, Marion. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's Hisotry Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 33 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.I682 N44 1999.  

Larson, Herb, and Lou Fant, hosts. Off-hand: Episode 82. DVD-R. Silent Network,1983. 60 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, D805.4.H35 O44 1983 . 
Herb Larson, host of 'Off Hand', a TV production of the Silent Network, interviews deaf Holocaust survivors, Marion Intrator, Rose Feld Rosman, and Lotte Friedman, as well as Professor Horst Biesold, a former teacher of the deaf, who wrote about his research into the forced sterilization of at  least 17,000 deaf Germans under the Nazi regime.  

Lemaine, Brigitte, and Stéphane Gatti. Témoins Sourds, Témoins Muets. Videocassette. C.N.A. Santé Mentale, 1994. 4th floor, HV2746 .T45 1994
Brigitte Lemaine, a sociologist, has put together this documentary on the persecution and deportation of the deaf by the Nazis, using images which Stéphane Gatti took from the teatrical work by Armand Gatti, "Chant d'amour des alphabets d'Auschwitz." If interested in ordering the video, please contact fotofilmecrit@aol.com

- - -, dirs. Témoins Sourds, Témoins Silencieux. Videocassette. CNRS Diffusion,2000. In French Sign Language with spoken French voiceover and English subtitles. 4th floor, HV2746 .T46 2000 and ETRR 6703.  The first 10 minutes is  available online courtesy of Brigitte Lemaine. If interested in ordering the video,  please contact fotofilmecrit@aol.com.  
This video documents an investigation that was carried out from 1993 to  2000 into the history of deaf Jews under the Nazi regime. It intersperses  numerous eyewitness accounts with images of places where forced sterilizations were carried out. Historians, including Horst Biesold, a specialist on the history of deaf persons in Nazi Germany, discuss the Nazi regime's "racial hygiene" policy.

Long, Elmer. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Jerry L. Bass amd Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 16 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.L66 N44 1999.

Meyer, Marcella. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: ANeglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 32 mins. Color, Signed,Voiced,Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.M49 N44 1999.

Miyauchi, Ruth. Interview with Caroline Preston. Deaf Women's History: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 26 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.H65 N44 1999. 
Ruth Miyauchi tells the life story of her sister, Hannah Holmes, a survivor of the Japanese internment camp in CA.

Mocenigo, Roger, dir. American Culture : The Deaf Perspective. Program 4, Deaf Minorities. Deaf Media Inc. San Francisco Public Library, 1984. Color/Signed/Voiced. 4th floor HV2545 .A455 no.4 and ETRR VIDEO 5667. Online courtesy of San Franscico Public Library http://sfpl.lib.ca.us/librarylocations/accessservices/deafservices.htm
Clip about Japanese deaf man available.

Preston, Evelyn. Interview with Michelle Hunter. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 60 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.P74 N44 1999.

Raymond, Linda. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center,1999. 18 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.R39 N44 1999.

Shirey, Lilly Rattner. Interview with Patricia Durr and Joshua Berman. An Interview with Lilly Rattner Shirey. Voice Interpreter: Miriam Lerner. DVD. NTID at RIT, 2006. 37 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, D804.196 .I68 2006. 
An interview with a Deaf Holocaust survivor about her childhood in Austria and her family's flight to the United States. 

Skinner, Lillian Hahn. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 34 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th  floor, HV2534.S44 N44 1999.

Some Activities of the Deaf. 1940. Videocassette. Sign Media. 12 min., B&W, Silent, Signed.  At Gallaudet University Archives. http://archives.gallaudet.edu/
Dr. Tom Anderson discusses the National Association of the Deaf and its objectives. Includes scenes of the club mobile purchased with money raised by the National Association of the Deaf and presented to the Red Cross during World War II.

The Women at Pilgrim Towers. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia  Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 46 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.A3 N44 1999.
Evelyn Preston interviews deaf women at the Pilgrim Towers senior citizen community on their life experiences. Ruth Ann "Bonny" LaMonto -- Bessie Watt -- Ida Mae Cundy -- Jane Divincenzo -- Helen Krakover -- Rosella Burgess.

Women of the Bay Area. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden, Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center,1999. 80 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.A3 .N447 1999. 
Interviews women of the Bay Area. LeeAnn Poyner -- Carola Rasmus -- Evelyn Zola --  Maryellen Lentz

Women of Las Vegas. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale, Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center, 1999. 60 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.A3 N445 1999. 
Interviews women of Las Vegas. Mildred Osterman-- Pat Gorman --  Frances Pasley -- Maydeen Watt

Women of Orange County. Interview with Evelyn Preston. Deaf Women's History Series: A Neglected Cultural Legacy. Interpreted by: Virginia Hughes, Allisun Kale,  Joyce Linden and Caroline Preston. Videocassette. PepNet Resource Center,1999. 58 mins. Color, Signed, Voiced, Captioned. 4th floor, HV2534.A3 .N446 1999. 
Evelyn Preston interviews seven women of Orange County on their life experiences such as schooling and WW II. . Mary Craft -- Betty Gonzales -- Addie Porter -- Anna Petrillo -- Virginia Baker -- Becky Bowling -- Mary Greenstone.

Videos-Other

Deaf Holocaust Survivors. Videocassette. PCI Recording, 1989. ETRR, VIDEO 5968  no.1. Color/Voiced/Signed. 
Guests are David Bloch and Stanley Teger. David was a prisoner of Auschwitz in the early 1930's. Ninety-eight members of Stanley's family were killed at Treblinka. (Hey Listen! series)  

Landau, Samuel, host. Jewish Heritage and Holidays in ASL. David Bloch, Holocaust Survivor and Artist . Videocassette. Deborah Sisterhood Etz Chaim Sephardic Synagogue, 2000. 4th floor, HV2474 J48 2000z Tape 5

Paul, Robert, prod. 20th Century Chicago Stories: Deaf Lives and Experiences. DVD. Chicago Deaf Stories, 2005. 4th floor,  HV2373 .T92 2005.  http://www.chicagodeafstories.com/

Pfaff, Beatrice, host. Jewish Heritage and Holidays in ASL. The Holocaust: An Interview with Samuel Landau. Videocassette. Deborah Sisterhood Etz Chaim Sephardic Synagogue, 2000. 4th floor HV2474 .J48 2000z Tape 3

The Deaf Holocaust: Deaf People and Nazi Germany . SeeHear. BBC, London. 7 Feb. 2005. See website: http://www.bbc.co.uk/seehear/extra/nazispecial/

Videos-Personal Narratives-Asian

Chijiiwa, Keiko. Okinawa. Videocassette. 2000. In Japanese Sign Language and Japanese subtitles. 
 Keiko interviews deaf Japanese survivors of the Okinawa bombing.  She may be contacted via mdeaf-kei@yhc.att.ne.jp

Hansen, Arthur A., host. Holmes, Hannah Tomiko Takagi Videocassette. August 27, 1981 and February 8, 1982. O. H. 1476. 3 hrs. 30 min. http://ohp.fullerton.edu/jaohp_g-l.htm
A deaf Nisei teacher recalls her education at the California School for the Deaf at Berkeley, California; evacuation to Manzanar War Relocation Center in eastern California; transfer to Tule Lake War Relocation/Segregation Center in northern California; resettlement in Chicago and attendance at the Illinois School for the Deaf from 1944—1948; return to California and postwar experiences as a teacher of upholstery and power sewing; and redress movement activities.

Videos-Personal Narratives-Fortunoff Collection at Yale University http://www.library.yale.edu/testimonies/  

Carmel , Simon, host. Helga G. Holocaust Testimony: Oct. 25, 2001. Videocassette.
NTID at RIT, 2001. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. At ETRR on long-term loan.

- - -, host. Herta M. Holocaust Testimony: October 27, 2000. Videocassette. Yale
University, 2000. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned. At ETRR on long term loan.

---, host. Morris F. Holocaust Testimony: April 13, 2001. Videocassette. Yale
University, 2001. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. At ETRR on long term loan.

Dwork, Bonnie, and Brenda Stiefel, hosts. Henry F. Holocaust Testimony: April
14, 1986
. Margaret Ransom, Interpreter. Videocassette. Yale University,1986. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 30 mins.
At ETRR on long term loan

Forman, Miriam, and Lilian Sicular, hosts. Meta N. Holocaust Testimony: April
13, 1986
. Brenda Marshall, Interpreter. Yale University, 1986. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
At ETRR on long term loan

Goodman, Pam, and Bonnie Dwork, hosts. David B. Holocaust Testimony: April 14,
1986
. Margaret Ransom, Interpreter. Videocassette. Yale University,1986. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned.
1 hr. 9 mins. At ETRR on long-term loan.

Goodman, Pam, and Gabriele Schiff, hosts. Lore F. Holocaust Testimony: April 14,
1986.
Margaret Ransom, Interpreter. Videocassette. Yale University,1986. Color/Signed/voiced/Captioned.
At ETRR on long term loan

Laub, Dori, and Laurel Vlock. Renee H. Holocaust Testimony. Videocassette. Yale
University, 1979. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. At ETRR on long term loan.

Nelly M. Holocaust Testimony. Videocassette. Yale University, 1986.
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. At ETRR on long term loan.

Schiff, Gabriele, and Lilian Sicular, hosts. Hilda R. Holocaust Testimony: April
13, 1986
. Brenda Marshall, Interpreter. Videocassette. Yale University,1986.
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. At ETRR on long term loan

Tobin, Phyllis, and Miriam Forman, hosts. William F. Holocaust Testimony: April
13, 1986.
Brenda Marshall, Interpreter. Videocassette. Yale University,1986.
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. At ETRR on long term loan

Videos-Personal Narratives-Shoah
---http:/www.usc.edu/schools/college/vhi

Finder, Esther, host. Eugene Bergman: November 8, 1996. Videocassette. Survivors
of the Shoah Visual History Foundation, 1996.
Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. Available at Archives,3660 and 4th floor
D804.196 B47 1996. Available online courtesy of the Shoah Foundation.

Goldberg, Merle, host. Rose Rosman. Videocassette: July 27, 1997. Survivors of
 the Shoah Visual History Foundation, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
RES, 1st floor D804.196.R67 2003. Available online courtesy of the Shoah
Foundation.

Gruenberg, Sandra, host. Miriam Rubin: November 8, 1998. Videocassette.
Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned.
RES, 1st floor D804.196.R82 2003. Available online courtesy of the Shoah Foundation.

Kalb, Edie. Elizabeth Feldman de Jong: Jan. 11, 1995. Videocassette. Survivors of the Shoah
Visual History Foundation, 2003. Color/Voiced/Captioned. RES, 1st floor D804.196.F45 2003.
Available online courtesy of the Shoah Foundation.

Meier, Chana, host. David Bloch: May 26 1995. Videocassette. Survivors of the Shoah Visual History
Foundation, 2003. Color/Voiced/Signed/Captioned.  Archives and 4th floor D804.196.B56 2003.
Available online courtesy of the Shoah Foundation.

Merei, Anna, host. Peter Farago: March 30, 2001. Videocassette. Survivors of theShoah Visual History
Foundation, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced. In spoken Hungarian and Hungarian Sign Language.
4th floor D804.196.F37 2003.

Videos-Personal Narratives- Yad Yashem
http://www.yadvashem.org/  

Edith Frank Lobenberger . Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation. Videocassette.
Yad Vashem Archives, 1991. 4th floor, D804.196 .L62 1991. Spoken Hebrew and Israeli Sign Language. 
A Deaf Jewish woman recounts her experiences under the Nazi Holocaust. Online courtesy of Yad Vashem.

Franz Ehrenfeld . Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation. Videocassette. Yad Vashem Archives, 2002.
4th floor, D804.196 .E47 2002. Spoken Hebrew and Israeli Sign Language.  
A Deaf Jewish man recounts his experiences under the Nazi Holocaust.

Perl Lazar . Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation. Videocassette. Yad Vashem Archives, 2002.
4th floor, D804.196 .L39 2002. Spoken Hebrew and Israeli Sign Language.  

Zila Shemesh . Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation. Videocassette.Yad Vashem Archives, 2002.
4th floor, D804.196 .S43 2002. Spoken Hebrew and  Israeli Sign Language. 

Websites

BBC. "The Deaf Holocaust: Deaf People and Nazi Germany." SeeHear Extra. 2005. 24 Apr. 2006 <http://www.bbc.co.uk/seehear/extra/nazispecial/>.

Benjamin Marshall Schowe, Sr., Papers . Gallaudet U Archives. 3 Apr. 2006
<http://www.aladin.wrlc.org/gsdl/collect/schowe/schowe.shtml>.
The digital collection focuses on recruiting, promotion, insurance, and discrimination related to Deaf people and employment from 1920 through 1975. While Schowe was a labor economist for Firestone, he corresponded with federal authorities about hiring Deaf employees during the New Deal and World War II. He was also responsible for hiring Deaf people to work at Firestone and he also helped conduct surveys of Deaf workers that were published and distributed to federal agencies during this era.  

Soudakoff, Sharon Ann. "Anti-Semitism Sent Him To America: Fred Fedrid." JDCCNews: Surviving The Holocaust.
2005. Jewish Deaf Community Center. 5 Apr.2006. Available online courtesy of the Deaf Jewish Community Center.

-- -. "Escaped at Last Through An Underground Tunnel: Joseph Schertz." JDCC News: Surviving the Holocaust. 2005. Jewish Deaf Community Center. 5 Apr.2006. Available online courtesy of the Jewish Deaf Community Center.

-- -. History of Deaf Holocaust Victims. 2005. Jewish Deaf Community Center. 24 Mar. 2006. Published in issue  #22 May/June 1996. Available online courtesy of the Jewish Deaf Community Center.

- --. "Love Conquered All Odds:Rose Steinberg and Feld Rosman ." JDCC News: Surviving the Holocaust. 2005. Jewish Deaf Community Center. 5 Apr. 2006. Available online courtesy of the Jewish Deaf Community Center.

---. "Saw Better Opportunities In America: Doris Rosen Fedrid and Esther RosenLandman." JDCC News: Surviving the Holocaust. 2005. Jewish Deaf Community Center. 5 Apr. 2006. Available online courtesy of the Jewish Deaf Community Center.

- - -. "A Strong Willed and Brave Woman Who Never Gave Up Hope: Marion Schlessinger Intrator." JDCC News: Surviving the Holocaust. 2005. JewishDeaf Community Center. 5 Apr. 2006 Available online courtesy of the Jewish Deaf Community Center.

"Survivors." Temple Beth Solomon of the Deaf. 2002. 5 Apr. 2006.Available online courtesy of Temple Beth Solomon of the Deaf.
Includes profiles of Marion Intrator, Rose Rosman and Lotte Friedman.  

Tambuscio, Colleen, and Roger A. Fitzgerald. "Experiential Learning and the  Holocaust for Deaf and Hearing Students." The International School for Holocaust Studies: Yad Yashem. 2003. 3 Apr. 2006  <http://www1.yadvashem.org/download/education/conf/Tambuscio_Fitzgerald.pdf >

For more information contact:
Joan Naturale
Deaf, Disability and Education Librarian
Deafness News and Resources
jxnwml@rit.edu
IM me at ntidlibrarian
Videophone IP: 129.21.179.36 (D-Link)