CATIE, located at St. Catherine College in St. Paul, Minn. offers CD-ROMs and DVDs for sale on a variety of topics. There are also companion study packets you can retrieve online. Also, check out the Digiterp Communications website. St. Catherine College also developed a ASL and English Resources for Interpreting in Medical Settings website. Excerpts of videos are shown.
Technical Information for CD-ROMs: System requirements: Macintosh OS 8.6 or greater; 32 MB RAM recommended; Power
PC processor; Windows 98/NT/Me/2000/XP; 32 MB RAM recommended; Pentium-based
processor; Sound Blaster or compatible sound card and speakers recommended;
DirectX version 3.0 or later recommended; QuickTime 6 and Acrobat Reader 5.1
recommended.
All in Due Time: Perspectives on Childbirth from Deaf Parents. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RG525.A44 2003. Study packet available.
A Commitment to Access for Patients who are Deaf or hard of hearing. DVD. Minneapolis, MN : Fairview Health Services, 2005. 4th floor, HV2395 .C66 2005 .
A notice to patients on access -- The Minnesota Patients' Bill of Rights -- Notice of privacy practices -- Information about advance health care directives
Birth Companions: Perspectives on Doulas and Nurse Midwives in ASL and English. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2004. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, Study packet available.
Here's How: A Tutorial and Samples from Digiterp Communications. CD-ROM.
Contains samples from a variety of compact discs produced by Digiterp Communications and tips on how to effectively use them. Provides supplemental material for Life in parallel: matching texts in ASL and English. Includes the necessary software installers for Adobe Reader and Apple's QuickTime.
Hurry Up + Wait : Interpreting a Visit to an Emergency Department. DVD. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2005. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RA975.5.E5 H87 2005.
Featuring Rudy Kurtovich, deaf patient ; Natalie Stanley, interpreter. Intended to provide interpreters with help in learning how to interact with deaf patients in an emergency room setting. Touring the emergency dept. -- Background information -- Initial interview by nurse -- Getting an EKG -- Evaluation by the physician -- Drawing blood -- The physician's assessment -- Being discharged. Accompanying study packet available in paper format and on an Internet site; system requirements World Wide Web and Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Internal Discussions : An Appointment in Cardiology. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RC682 .I58 2003. Study packet available.
A resource for medical interpreters. Follows a Deaf couple's visit to a cardiologist. The appointment is shown from two perspectives, that of the interpreter (shown both consecutively and simultaneously) and one that shows all participants in the interaction. Includes vocabulary, Internet links, and suggestions for using this CD in conjunction with the companion CD, "To the Heart of the Matter: the Cardiovascular System in ASL and English." Designed to be accessible to Deaf interpreters. Includes captioned version of each movie clip.
Internal Discussions: An Appointment in Gastroenterology. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RC801 .I57 2003. Study packet available.
Comprehensive resource for medical interpreting practice. Follows a Deaf patient's appointment with a gastroenterological nurse. Includes vocabulary, Internet links, and suggestions for using this CD in conjunction with the companion CD, Stomach this, the digestive system in ASL and English. Designed to be accessible to Deaf interpreters and instructors, with captions and a segment featuring a Deaf interpreter working from the other interpreter's feed.
Life in Parallel : Matching Texts in ASL and English. CD-ROM. Duluth, Minn.: Digiterp Communications, 2002. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, HV2474 .L54 2002.
Why I live in Vermont? -- Summertime favorite -- Discovering a garden -- Bowls,
bowls, bowls -- Packing tips -- Growing blueberries -- House projects -- North
Carolina education -- Koda Camp -- Obedience training -- Beach week In this series of 11 matching texts, Amy Williamson-Loga addresses each topic in
both ASL and English. This allows for comparison between languages as well as
interpreting from one language to the other. Spoken English texts include
transcription for accessibility for Deaf instructors and mentors. These texts
provide an opportunity for interpreters and interpreting students to look at and
analyze the differences in discourse between ASL and English.
Mirrored Math : Five Parallel Math Lessons in ASL and English. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2003. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, QA155 .M57 2002.
Contains five advanced algebra lessons and lesson plans. Useful for developing ASL to English and English to ASL skills in the area of advanced mathematics.
Stomach This : The Digestive System in ASL and English. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2002. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, QM301 .S76 2002. Study packet available.
Presents parallel lectures, in English and ASL, on the digestive system, with vocabulary and two levels of instruction (secondary and post-secondary). A companion to the CD, Internal discussions, an appointment in gastroenterology.
Take These Meds: Interpreting Visits to a Pharmacy. DVD. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2005. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, RS92 .T35 2005. Study packet available.
Presents a pharmacist's worldview and scenarios designed to go with a study packet and web site which provide background, a broader context, and reflections by sign language interpreters. Three scenarios address four medical conditions: dealing with asthma, a med review (blood pressure and diabetes), and on bones (osteoporosis).
To the Heart of the Matter: The Cardiovascular System in American Sign Language and English. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2004. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 3rd floor, QM178 .T6 2002. Study packet available. Another one focusing on fingerspelling is available here: Study packet .
Presents parallel lectures, in English and ASL, on the cardiovascular system, with vocabulary. A companion to the CD-ROM "Internal Discussions: an Appointment in Cardiology
Views from the Voting Booth : Deaf Perspectives on theIimportance of Voting. CD-ROM. St. Paul, Minn. : College of St. Catherine, 2004. Color/Signed/Voiced/Captioned. 4th floor, JK2160 .V43 2004.
A resource designed to help with voter registration drives within the Deaf community. Includes a video narrated by Elise Knopf from the Minnesota Participation Project, explaining the basics of voter registration, video discussions by 20 Deaf individuals in Minnesota and in other states about the importance of voting, and ideas for interpreter education. Signed and with captioned version and written translations available.