Deaf and Special Education Resources
Deaf and Special Education is a complex field of study and plays a crucial
role in deaf children's development. There are a number of choices in the field
such as the residential school, the day school and the public school placements.
One must look at the individual student to determine the best placement. The
"least restrictive environment" (LRE) is interpreted by some to mean
placement in a public school setting. However, for some individuals, this placement
may be the "most restrictive environment". The public school placement
has evolved from the mainstreaming movement and is now called "inclusion".
In the public school setting, support services such as note-takers and interpreters
are usually provided. In addition, there are communication options schools usually
adopt such as the auditory-verbal, bilingual-bicultural, cued speech, oral method,
acoustic method, Rochester method, speechreading (lipreading), manual sign languges
(PSE, ASL, Signed English, Signing Exact English), sign supported speech (simultaneous
communication) and total communication.
The following resources are found in RIT
Library and/or the Educational
Technology Resource Center (ETRR) in Building 60, 3355. If the call
number is preceded by an *, it is available in both places. If the call number
is preceded by "ETRR ", it is available only in the Educational Technology Resource
Center. Use the Einstein Library Catalog
for more information. If we do not have the book you want, be sure to check
the "Connect NY"
library catalog. If you still cannot locate the book, go to
ILL and request the book. ILL service is fast and the book arrives within
a few days. Please note that we keep ERIC documents [microfiche] Lib. has 000001-
1966- Located in 2nd Fl. Microfiche Cabinets.
Remember to use the NTID Research
Dept. to help you find more information about your topic. There are
lists of bibliographies on selected presentations, articles or books. In addition,
you can e-mail persons who work in the dept.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS,
DICTIONARIES OR REFERENCE WORKS-Use the following specialized reference
books. These are good resources to use when starting to do research on a topic.
Articles are written by experts in the field and have bibliographies for further
reading. If you are not sure of a topic, browsing through these works will give
you topic ideas. Be sure to check the table of contents and the index to find
your topic. Most if not all of the encyclopedias are located in the Reference
area on the 1st floor.
DICTIONARIES AND DIRECTORIES- Provides definitions, summaries, rankings,
lists or brief entries.
Dejnozka, E.L. (Ed.) (1991). American educators' encyclopedia.
New York: Greenwood Press. (REF LB15 .D37 1991).
This classic reference book has been revised to reflect a decade of change.
More than 200 items--ranging from "AIDS" to "Zero Rejection"--have
been added. Making it an excellent referece for today's educator or parent.(From
Greenwood
Publishing web site).
Educational Resources Information Center. (1995). Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors.
Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press. (Index Collection 2nd floor, Z695.1.E3T49 1995).
Find vocabulary lists for terms used in ERIC databases. Use the web link as
well via http://searcheric.org/
Marschark, M. & Spencer, P.E. (Eds). (2003). Oxford Handbook of deaf
studies, language and education. New York: Oxford University Press.
(forthcoming).
Milburn, G. A. (1990). A critical dictionary of educational concepts :
An appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory and practice.
New York, N.Y. : Teachers College Press. (REF LB15 .B29 1990).
150 lengthy entries of critical assessment dealing with educational theory and
practice.
Vergason, G. A. & Anderegg, M. L. Dictionary of special education
and rehabilitation. Denver : Love Pub.(REF LC3957 .D53 1997)
This updated edition of one of the most valuable resources in the field is over
six years in the making and incorporates hundreds of additions. It provides
clear, understandable definitions of more than 2,000 terms unique to special
education and rehabilitation. (From Love
Pub. web site).
Westney, L.C.H. (Ed.) (2002). Educational Rankings Annual. New
York: Gale Group. (REF LB2331.63.E383 2002).
This up-to-date resource presents more than 4,000 national, regional, local
and international lists and rankings, compiled from hundreds of respected sources.
Entries include a description of the ranking, background information on criteria
for establishing the hierarchy, additional remarks about the ranking, the complete
or partial ranking and a complete source citation for locating additional information
(From Gale
web site).
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Alkin, M.C. (Ed.) (1992). Encyclopedia of educational research.
New York: Macmillan. (REF LB 15.E48 1992).
Remains the standard general reference in its field for critical synthesis and
interpretation of reported educational research from pre-school through post-secondary
education, and should continue to enlighten and guide a wide range of readers
with an interest in educational research for the next decade. The 257 all-new
signed articles have been organized under 16 broad topic headings, and can be
accessed alphabetically by entry or alternatively by subject category. This
edition sees a greater abundance of societal topics that affect education, e.g.
"Pregnant and parenting teenagers," "Prevention/intervention,"
and "AIDS education." The references within each article provide starting
points for further research, and each article is cross-referenced to related
entries. Finally, a detailed appendix guides readers through the next steps
in conducting further inquiry on their topic, including library research methodology.
(From Amazon
web site).
American Educational Research Association. (Ed.) (1973- ) Review of research
in education. Itasca, Ill.F. E. Peacock Publishers. (4th floor LB1028.R43).
This combined volume for 2000 and 2001 addresses two general themes: the continuing
relevance of foundational disciplines to education research and issues of diversity
that go beyond race, class, and gender. Articles that focus on the former theme
are written from within the foundational disciplines of cognitive science and
anthropology. Articles that focus on the latter address the dimensions of student
identity, the construction and silencing of sexuality in schools, the preparation
of teachers for diversity, and multiple conceptions of literacy.(From
AERA web site).
Baker, C. & Jones, S.P. (Eds.). (1998). Encyclopedia of bilingualism
and bilingual education. Philadelphia: Multilingual Matters. (REF LC3707
.E53 1998).
This encyclopedia is divided into three sections: individual bilingualism; bilingualism
in society and bilingual education. It includes many pictures, graphs, maps
and diagrams. The book concludes with a comprehensive bibliography on bilingualism.
Part 1 focuses on Individual bilingualism- what is a bilingual?- bilingualism
and the family- the everday use of bilinguals- bilingualism and thinking- measurement
of bilingualism; Part 2 focuses on Bilingualism in society-bilingualism
in communities- how many languages are there in the world? - languages in contact,
the mapping of languages in the world, presentation of language maps-language
change - language planning and evolution- bilingualism and culture-bilingualism
and politics;Part 3 Bilingual education focuses on- the aims of bilingual
education- weak forms of bilingual education- strong forms of bilingual education-
bilingual education and the community- bilingual education in the United States-
bilingual eduation for students with special needs- bilingual education for
the deaf and hearing impaired- language awareness-multiculturalism in education-
the bilingual classroom- factors affecting second languae acquistion- second
language learning in the classroom.(from
Multilingual Matters web site).
Burg, D.F. (Ed.) (1998). Encyclopedia of student and youth movements.
New York: Facts on File. (REF LA186 .B87 1998)
Including entries on the Hitler Youth, Kwame Nkrumah, Big Brothers of America,
the Black Panthers, the May 1968 uprising in France, the Intifida, China's Cultural
Revolution, and Robespierre supporter Louis de Saint- Just, this book offers
entries of persons, events, and organizations related to the role of young people
in political, social, religious, and academic movements from across the world.
Although entries mostly concentrate on events of the past few centuries, some
movements from as far back as the 13th century are included. For each entry
the significance of the subjects to wider historical processes are explained.
Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (From Einstein
Catalog)
Chambliss, J.J. (Ed.) (1996). Philosophy of education: An encyclopedia.
New York: Garland Pub.(REF LB17.P485 1996).
An encyclopedic charting of education philosophy containing 228 articles written
by 184 international authors, emphasizing an array of theories and their significance
to education practices. Encompassing diversity, the philosophical points of
view covered extend from Plato to Dewey, and from epistemology to realism. Other
fields of influence such as politics, religion, rhetoric, and social sciences
have also been sampled to allow for the broadest representation of theories
possible including current postmodern and feminist critiques. Each entry features
a bibliography and is cross-referenced. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland,
Or. (from Amazon
web site).
Corte, E. & Weinert, F.E. (Eds.) (1996). International encyclopedia
of developmental and instructional psychology. New York: Pergamon. (In
Reference area on 1st floor-REF BF712.7.I58 1996).
This text intends to provide a research-based overview in an educational perspective
of the present state-of-the-art of our knowledge and understanding of the conditions,
processes, and modifiabilities of human development and learning. The encyclopedia
focuses on both developmental psychology and instructional psychology and is
divided into 16 areas in order to reflect the specific nature, as well as the
integration, of both domains. In the first section, which is most representative
of the integrative tendency, a general framework of research on human development,learning
and instruction is outlined. The next six chapters are concerned with the various
aspects of human development and learning. The remaining nine sections represent
an overview of the research findings on learning and instruction which are relevant
to education. (From Elsevier
web site).
Deighton, L.C. (Ed.) (1971 ). The encyclopedia of education. New
York: Macmillan. (REF LB15.E47).
Dated information but still relevant in today's world. Check the Index for references
to bilingual education, cultural differences, cultural enrichment, multicultural
understanding, and other topics. A new updated edition will be out soon.
Kincheloe, J.L. & Weil, D.K. (Eds.) (2001). Standards and schooling
in the United States: An encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.
(4th floor LB2822.82.S82 2001).
In this three-volume set, top scholars illuminate the historical, social, cultural,
political, administrative, psychological, and philosophical issues behind the
standards debate.Standards is one of the most hotly debated topics in education
today. In this definitive collection of essays, 50 top scholars address the
development of the current conversation about quality education and standards,
putting it in historical context and grounding it in relation to other attempts
at educational reform. (From ABC-CLIO
web site).
Mann, L, Fletcher-Janzen, E. and Reynolds, C.R. (Eds.) (1999). Encyclopedia
of special education. New York: John Wiley & Sons. (In Reference
area on 1st floor - REF LC 4007.E53 1999).
The text presents a comprehensive vision of special education in an understandable,
usable, summative form.Comprehensive yet succinct, the encyclopedia literally
provides an A to Z examination of what special education is all about. More
than 2,000 entries include biographies and contributions of key figures in the
field; educational and psychological tests; techniques of intervention and service
delivery; descriptions of handicapping conditions; a directory of related services;
and information on legal issues related to special education. The Encyclopedia
provides a scope and view of special education not readily obtained from other
sources. It is an essential reference tool, not only for professionals working
in special education, but for lawyers, physicians, psychologists, social workers,
school board members, and others who assist in or formulate policies for the
education of disabled and gifted students. (From
Amazon web site).
Plomp,
T. and Ely, D.P.(Eds.) (1996). International encyclopedia of educational
technology. New York: Pergamon. (In Reference area on 1st floor- REF
LB1028.3.I567 1996).
Presents a comprehensive collection of state-of-the-art reports which cover
the whole field of educational technology throughout the world. Consists of
articles which have been drawn from The International Encyclopedia of Education,
with revisions and updates, as well as new articles specially commissioned to
cover recent developments in the field of educational technology. These articles
are thematically organized within five interrelated sections, each section having
its own introduction outlining the scope and range of ideas and applications
covered. Within the sections, extensive coverage is given to conceptual frameworks,
technical developments, the design and distribution of instructional resources,
the organization and professionalization of educational technology, the potential
and impact of new technology, and practical problems of classroom use. This
substantial reference work offers authoritative reviews of the field as well
as pointing to new directions in educational technology and its applications
worldwide. (From Elsevier
web site).
Reyolds, C.R. and Fletcher-Janzen, E. (Eds.) (2002). Concise encyclopedia
of special education. New York: John Wiley & Sons. (REF LC 4007.E53
2002).
This is a comprehensive resource for those working in the fields of special
education research and practice. Featuring reviews of assessment instruments
and teaching approaches, legal issues, overviews of specific learning disabilities,
dozens of biographies, and more. (From back of book).
Squire, L. (Ed.) (1992). Encyclopedia of learning and memory.
New York : Maxwell Macmillan International. (REF BF318 .E53 1992).
Containing 189 alphabetically arranged, signed articles, most accompanied by
a bibliography, this reference for students, teachers, and the educated public
encompasses the range of current knowledge about the brain's ability to process,
store, and retrieve vast amounts of information. It's particularly helpful in
explaining the biological aspects of learning and memory--brain anatomy, function,
and chemistry--to the general reader through the use of illustrations. In addition,
the Encyclopedia contains 26 biographies of key individuals associated with
the field, including Freud, Piaget, and Skinner . (from Amazon
web site).
Sternberg, R.J. (Ed.) (1994). Encyclopedia of human intelligence. New
York : Maxwell Macmillan International. (REF BF431 .E59 1994).
A comprehensive guide to the many theories of the way humans gather and use
information, and to the men and women who developed these theories. Among the
topics covered are aging, Alzheimer's disease, aptitude tests, bias in testing,
cognitive styles, culture, drugs, dyslexia, ethnicity, genius, illiteracy, intuition,
reasoning, schooling and intelligence, test-taking strategies, underachievement,
and wisdom. The 250 original, signed articles are arranged alphabetically and
some are illustrated with drawings, charts, or photographs that are useful in
explaining anatomy and function of the brain and nervous system. (from Amazon
web site).
Tuijnman, A. (Ed.) (1996). International encyclopedia of adult education
and training. New York: Pergamon. (REF LC 5215.I586 1996).
The volume provides extensive coverage of lifespan development, cognition, adult
learning, and theories and methods for the teaching of adults both now and in
the future. Adult education and continuing vocational training are no longer
considered as two separate fields and their merge has provoked increased attention
on theories and practice, with particular focus on human resource
development. (From Elsevier
web site).
Unger, H.G. (Ed.) (1996). Encyclopedia of American education.
New York: Facts on Files (REF LB17.U54 1996).
This three-volume set by an education journalist contains nearly 2,500 entries
on every aspect of education at all levels from colonial times to the present.
Legal issues, teaching methods, types of schools, educational organizations
and programs, tests, publications, administration, and leading educators are
some of the broad areas covered. Articles range from a few sentences (voucher
system, classical realism, phoneme) to several pages (school choice, prayer-in-school,
student unrest), with most falling somewhere in between (Channel One,Coleman
Report, multicultural education). Entries for each state briefly survey the
history of education there. The one for Alabama states that"fewer than
30% of its adults have high school diplomas" ; other sources say more than
60 percent are high-school graduates. Entries give concise definitions and descriptions,
which will be sufficient for most users. The treatment is often historical,
however; entries do not always delve into current issues. For instance, the
incorporation of trade books into the elementary curriculum is not mentioned
in children's literature; the controversy over alternatives to vivisection is
not found under biology.There is no entry for the Internet, a topic that certainly
has many implications for education, and it is not mentioned in computers.(From
Amazon
web site).
*Van Cleve, J.(Ed.) (1987). Gallaudet encyclopedia of Deaf people and
deafness. New York: McGraw-Hill. (1st floor and on the 4th floor- REF
HV 2365.G35 1986).
Check out the following articles: "Education" p. 349-380. Includes
sections on demographic information, school placement, academic achievement,
ethnic identification of deaf students, communication modes in the classroom,
history, first permanent school for the deaf deaf founders of american schools
for the deaf, leaders, (American innovators, language development specialists,
post-secondary education, deaf educational administrators), teachers, terminology,
research, evaluation, trends, and problems. Written by 300 experts from around
the world in the fields of sociology, audiology, law, education, psychology,
history, and rehabilitation, this unique and authoritative three-volume reference
work is broad in scope and international in coverage. It features 271 articles
on sign languages and other methods of communication hearing, audiology, and
auditory disorders organizations, associations, publications of the deaf community,
rehabilitation, demographics, religion, biographies of distinguished deaf individuals,
educational programs, and the conditions and status of the deaf community in
most of the major countries around the world. (from Amazon
web site).
Walberg, H.J. and Haertel, G.D. (Eds.) (1990). The International encyclopedia
of educational evaluation. New York: Pergamon. (In Reference area on
1st floor- REF LB2822.75.I57 1990).
Over the past two decades, educational evaluation has become well established
as a distinctive field of research and practice. It is a definitive reference
providing a current and comprehensive treatment of evaluation theories and practices
in educaion. The volume contains over 150 articles organized thematically into
eight sections providing an easily accessible, practical yet scholarly source
of information about a broad array of significant topics in educational evaluation.
Broad philosophical issues of evaluation are addressed in the context of their
potential relevance to the actual conduct of evaluation studies. Major topics
include the approaches and methods used in educational research focusing on
educational needs assessment, measurement, evaluation, design, decision making
and educational policy. This Encyclopedia is international in scope, both from
the point of view of the authors as well as the range of the educational programs
and evaluation theories chosen. (From Elsevier
web site).
Watson, K., Modgil, C. and Modgil, S. (Eds.) (1997). Teachers, teacher
education, and training. Herndon, VA : Cassell. (REF LB1725.G6 T387
1997).
The first of a four-volume set contains 34 contributors examining the educational
dilemmas that face governments, educators, and administrators in the light of
debates, disagreements, and diverse opinions regarding current educational issues
and reforms. The contributors are mostly from the UK, but a small number from
elsewhere lend an international flavor. Arrangement is in four sections focusing
on professionalism and deprofessionalism of teachers, restructuring teacher
education, differing insights on teacher education, and international perspectives
on reforms in teacher education. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland,
OR (From Einstein
Catalog).
Watson, K., Modgil, C. and Modgil, S. (Eds.) (1997). Power and responsibility
in education. Herndon, VA : Cassell.(REF LC71 .P65 1997).
One of four volumes looking at the educational dilemmas that face governments,
professional educators, and practicing administrators in the light of debates,
disagreements, and diverse opinions regarding many current educational issues
and reforms. The 27 essays cover administrative control and the centralization/decentralization
debate, issues in policy and planning, pressures for change in England and Wales,
control of the curriculum, separate school provisions such as Christian education,
and school leadership. Most of the contributors are British despite the attempt
to incorporate perspectives from elsewhere.The other three volumes address teachers
and teacher education, the reform of higher education, and quality in education.
Distributed in the US by Books International. Annotation copyrighted by Book
News, Inc., Portland, OR. (From
Einstein Catalog)
Watson, K., Modgil, C. and Modgil, S. (Eds.) (1997). Quality in education.
Herndon, VA : Cassell. (REF LB41 .Q35 1997).
Watson, K., Modgil, C. and Modgil, S. (Eds.) (1997). Reforms in higher
education. Herndon, VA : Cassell.( REF LB2322.2 .R446 1997).
Wilson, R. A. and Keil, F. C. (Eds.) (1999). The
MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT
Press. (REF BF311 .M556 1999).
The state-of-the-art knowledge about knowledge is contained within this text.
Its 471 comprehensive entries cover topics as diverse as "Hemispheric Specialization,"
"Epiphenomenalism," and "Algorithms" in 1,000 to 1,500 words
each, thoroughly cross-indexed and extensively referenced to launch further
research. A few biographical entries are also included, highlighting such giants
as Alan Turing and Santiago Ramóny Cajal. The editors selected their
contributors well, assigning "Neurobiology of Consciousness" to Christof
Koch and Francis Crick, for example. Even better, six longer essays introduce
the Encyclopedia, each providing an overview of one of the six disciplines that
overlap to form cognitive science: computational intelligence; culture, cognition,
and evolution; linguistics and language; neurosciences; philosophy; and psychology.
(from Amazon
web site).
LEGAL REFERENCES
Check out these on-line resources. The ADA Compliance Guide via
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ada/ada.html
and Special Education Connections via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/eao/eao.html.
Gallaudet University. (1992). The ADA and you : A guide for Deaf and hard
of hearing People. Washington, D.C. :Gallaudet University, The Academy.
(4th floor KF480.5.D4 A33 1992).
Of interest to the deaf and hard of hearing person who want to learn more about
the ADA.
DuBow, S. (2000). Legal Rights: The guide for Deaf and hard of hearing
People. Washington,DC : Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor, KF480.5.D4
L43 2000 and at ETRR, NTID).
Of interest to lawyers and deaf people who want practical applications of how
the laws protect the interests of the deaf person.
Legal Information Institute. (n.d.). Decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Retrieved 12 July 2002 from the Cornell University Legal Information Institute
web site: http://www.law.cornell.edu/supct/
Access the full-text of every supreme court decision made from 1937-1975, 1990-present,
and selected other cases by opinion author, party, date, topic or keyword.
Morrissey, P.A. (1993). Educator's guide to the Americans with Disabilities
Act. Alexandria, VA :American Vocational Association. (1st floor, REF
KF4210 .M67 1993).
Of interest to educators who need to know the laws relating to students with
disabilities.
Walker, L.A. (1985). Amy, the story of a deaf child. New York,
NY: E.P. Dutton. (4th floor HV2392.W35 1985).
The introduction and conclusion of this book discuss the Supreme Court case
sparked when Amy's parents request a full-time sign language interpreter in
the schoo Amy attends with hearing classmates. Amy narrates the main text, telling
about her family, her hearing and deaf friends, how she communicates with her
teachers without an interpreter, her school and anecdotes from her life.
STATISTICS
Holt, J., Hotto, S. & Cole, K. (1994). Demographic aspects of hearing
impairment: Questions and answers. Retrieved July 12, 2002 from the
Gallaudet Research Institute web site: http://gri.gallaudet.edu/Demographics/factsheet.html
National Center for Education Statistics. (1996- ). The condition of education.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Education (REF L112.N377a).
This is an annual report to Congress which focuses on 60 indicators, representing
a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures
of the condition and progress of education at the time of publication. Provides
statistical information and indicators to assist in educational planning. Also
see the web site http://nces.ed.gov/edstats/
National Center for Education Statistics. (1996- ). Projections of educational
statistics. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Education (REF LA210.A28).
Publication provides projections of statistics for elementary and secondary
schools and institutions of higher education; includes enrollments, graduates,
teachers, and expenditures. The tables, figures, and text contain data on enrollment,
teachers, graduates, and expenditures for the past 14 years and projections
to the year 2011. For the 50 states and the District of Columbia, the tables,
figures, and text contain data on projection of public school elemetnary and
secondary enrollment and public high school graduates to the year 2011. Also
see the web site http://nces.ed.gov/edstats/
Office of Educational Research and Improvement. (1993). Youth Indicators,
1993. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept of Education. (REF HQ799.7 .Y6 1993).
Compilation of social statistics concerning the nation's young people. Also
see the web site http://nces.ed.gov/edstats/
DEAF AND SPECIAL EDUCATION BOOKS-Books are good
places to get in-depth information and the historical background of an issue.
They are not good places to find recent information. Check the bibliography
(list of resources) at the end of most books to find other suggestions of where
to find related articles and books. Most Deaf-related books are in the HV 2350
area on the 4th floor.
You can find books about Deaf Education in the Einstein
Catalog. Note you can browse the entire catalog, the video catalog or
the e-content catalog. Do a Word Search using the entire catalog and try these
keywords: deaf education or deaf* educa* The asterisk at the end of the word
deaf* will give you variants of that word root such as deafened, deafblind,
and the asterisk at the end of the wrod educa* will give you education, educator,
educate, etc.Try the Subject Search to retrieve ALL records. Do not use the
asterisk when you do a subject search.
Remember that we now have e-books via netLibrary.
If we have the title via netLibrary, click on the title link to read
the book on-line. Go to the E-Content Catalog via Einstein
Catalog to search for ebooks and ejournals. They are the equivalent
of print books and are up-to-date and recent.
Most of the book descriptions are from the Clerc Center at Gallaudet University.(Alston,
2000 from the WWW site: http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/infotogo/547.html)
unless otherwise noted. Amazon bookstore and publishers' websites or catalogs
have also been used for other book descriptions.
COMMUNICATION OPTIONS BOOK LIST-There
are many approaches to communication in deaf education: Auditory-Verbal, Bilingual-Bicultural,
Oralism, Manual Sign Language (ASL, Signed English, PSE, Signing Exact English),
Cued Speech, Total Communication and Simultaneous Communication (Sign Supported
Speech). The most popular movement is the Bilingual - Bicultural approach.
Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf. (1998). Components of
a quality auditory oral program. Washington, D.C. : Alexander Graham
Bell Association for the Deaf. (4th floor, HV2483 .C657 1998).
Beck, P. H. (2000). Discovering cued speech [videorecording] : Instructional
video. Cleveland, OH : Cued Speech for Integrated Communication, Inc.
; Upper Savannah Area Health Education Consortium (WML, 1st floor 5 day collection
HV2487 .B42 2000).
A complete instructional set for learning cued speech. The videos and personal
workbook are designed to be used together or with face-to-face instruction
*Estabrooks, W. (1995). The ABC's of AVT [kit] : analyzing auditory-verbal
therapy. North York, Ont. : Auditory-Verbal Therapy Programme, Learning
to Listen Foundation, North York General Hospital. (Basement, ETC VH 1855 and
book).
Book and video intended to be used simultaneously. Intended to provide opportunities
for auditory-verbal therapists, speech-language pathologists, teachers of hearing-impaired
children, and audiologists to expand and enhance their professional skills.
Can also provide guidance for parents when used collaboratively with an auditory-verbal
professional. Video shows 33 episodes of therapy, accompanying episodes in the
book. Includes information on the auditory-verbal approach; auditory-verbal
techniques; auditory development, articulation/phonology, pragmatics, language
processing, discourse and variables affecting the programs. Also includes a
task analysis guide with audiological information, transcript, and tasks for
each episode.
Evans, L. (1982). Total Communication: Structure and strategy.
Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet College Press.(4th floor, HV2497.E82).
Total communication, a method utilizing a combination of visual and auditory
cues in an attempt to maximize comprehension, has long been a focus of debate
by the deaf community, families of deaf children, and education professionals.
For perhaps the first time, this book documents total communication's historical
and philosophical roots and analyzes the strengths and limitations of total
communication's elemental parts and their salient linguistic properties.
*Lynas, W. (1994). Communication options in the education of deaf children.
San Diego, Calif. : Singular Pub. Group. (4th floor HV2471 .L95 1994).
This book examines critically three broad categories of communication approach
which are currently advocated by the different schools of thinking concerned
with the socialization and education of deaf children. These are: the "auditory-oral",
the "total communication" and the "bilingual approach".
In each case the claims for the approach are identified, the arguments offered
for are assessed and the counter-claims made by the critics are presented. The
research relating to the efficacy of each approach is reviewed and the validity
of the available evidence is examined. The unresolved ideological and political
features of the debate are also discussed. This book is addressed primarily
to teachers of the deaf, student teachers of the deaf and parents of deaf children.
(From Whurr
Publishing web site).
*Schwartz, S. (1996). Choices in deafness : A parents' guide to communication
options. Bethesda, MD : Woodbine House (4th floor HV2471 .C46 1996-2
copies).
Overwhelmingly, hearing parents raise deaf children. Most of the time they have
no prior exposure to people with hearing loss and must face some very difficult
options, for deaf education has been divided by controversy and bias for decades.
This work provides comprehensive information on various methodologies with straightforward
delivery, offering the perspective of parents and of children who have grown
up since the publication of the first edition. While only three methodologies
were discussed in the first edition--total communication, oralism, and cued
speech--the auditory/ verbal and bilingual-bicultural approaches have been added
here. This edition also covers in depth the medical causes of hearing loss,
the diagnostic process, meeting with the audiologist, and the pros and cons
of the newest technology, the cochlear implant. This work guides parents through
the choices they must make for their child, covering conditions and treatment
from both the parents' and the child's point of view. National organizations
serving the deaf or hard of hearing are listed, along with contact information.
(From Einstein Catalog)
EDUCATION AND PSYCHOLOGY BOOK LIST
Anderson, R. J., Keller, C.E., & Karp, J.M. (1998).
Enhancing diversity : Educators with disabilities. Washington,
D.C. : Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor, LB2844.1.H35 E54 1998).
The 43 million people with disabilities form this country's largest minority
group, yet they are markedly under-employed as educators. Enhancing Diversity:
Educators with Disabilities paves the way for correcting this costly omission.
Editors Anderson, Karp, and Keller have called upon the knowledge of 19 other
renowned contributors to address the important issues raised in Enhancing Diversity,
including the place of disability in discussions of diversity in education,
research on educators with disabilities that validates their capabilities, and
information on the qualifications desired in and the demands made of education
professionals. Legal precedents are cited and explained, and examples of efforts
to place disabled educators are presented, along with recommendations on how
disabled individuals and school administrators can work toward increased opportunities.
Interviews with 25 disabled educators discussing how they satisfactorily fulfill
their professional requirements completes this thoughtful-provoking book. Check
out "Issues and Practices in the Recruitment and Retention of Deaf and
Hard of Hearing Teachers" by Judith Coryell, Robert T. Mobley, and
Thomas K. Holcomb (from Gallaudet
University Press web site).
*Beattie, R.G. (2001). Ethics in deaf education : The first six years.
San Diego, Calif. : Academic Press. (4th floor, HV2471 .E8453 2001).
The information on ethics in education in general is quite limited. Indeed most
practicing teachers (general and special education) know little detail of existing
codes of ethics for their profession, or whether one even exists. In the past,
options for parents and professionals were fewer or non-existent in most aspects.
Not that long ago, the choice of an educational program for many children was
a "fait accompli" given that there was only one school for the deaf.
Now, educational options exist for perhaps the majority of children with hearing
losses--options that span the service range of residential schools to full integration.
Further, within these educational settings, the language and method of instruction
is also variable, spanning the range from auditory/verbal to bilingual-bicultural.
Technological changes have also increased a range of tests for identifying the
presence and degree of hearing loss at a very early age.This book introduces
and clarifies, in a structured manner, the many possible ethical considerations
concerning the provision of educational services and habilitation for young
children with hearing losses. The decisions that parents or guardians make on
behalf of their children, often based on the contributions of educators, habilitation/rehabilitationspecialists,
and the Deaf and medical communities, deserve an airing in a comprehensive manner.
What are the issues concerning amplification, implantation, visual communication
systems, and sign languages? What technological route should the parents take?
What language should they be trying to develop in their child? What educational
setting and approach will best satisfy the needs of their child and themselves
for the present and foreseeable future?
No other book has combined the factors of ethics, education, and deafness, to
discuss a variety of topics that concern parents and professionals who have
and work with young children with hearing losses. Concise, readable chapters
have been written by a cross-section of experienced academics, researchers,
and educators; each begins with an "ethical dilemma" and expands to
consider new technologies and educational options. Each chapter ends with a
list of suggested readings and ethical questions for consideration. (From Academic
Press web site).
Burch, S. (2002). Signs of resistance: American deaf cultural history,
1900 to WW II. New York: New York University Press. (forthcoming).
During the nineteenth century, American schools for deaf education regarded
sign language as the "natural language" of Deaf people, using it as
the principal mode of instruction and communication. These schools inadvertently
became the seedbeds of an emerging Deaf community and culture. But beginning
in the 1880s, an oralist movement developed that sought to suppress sign language,
removing Deaf teachers and requiring deaf people to learn speech and lip reading.
Historians have all assumed that in the early decades of the twentieth century
oralism triumphed overwhelmingly.
Susan Burch shows us that everyone has it wrong; not only did Deaf students
continue to use sign language in schools, hearing teachers relied on it as well.
In Sings of Resistance, Susan Burch persuasively reinterprets early twentieth
century Deaf history: using community sources such as Deaf newspapers, memoirs,
films, and oral (sign language) interviews, Burch shows how the Deaf community
mobilized to defend sign language and Deaf teachers, in the process facilitating
the formation of collective Deaf consciousness, identity and political organization.
(From Amazon
Bookstore web site).
*Clark, M.D., Marschark, M., & Karchmer, M.A. (Eds.) (2001). Context,
cognition and deafness. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.
(4th floor HV2391.C66 2001).
To integrate often contrasting approaches of clinical and cultural researchers,
this work assembles contributions from experts in anthropology, psychology,
linguistics, education, cognition, and neurophysiology to examine the effects
of family, peers, and schools on deaf children. They discuss the clinical assessment
of deaf people's cognitive abilities, the impact of sign language expertise
on visual perception, and cognition and language in deaf preschoolers from deaf
and hearing families. Other subjects include vocabulary development,emotional
development in deaf children, and social conflict. c. Book News Inc. (From Einstein
Catalog).
Clymer, E.W. (Ed.). (2001). Instructional technology and education of
the deaf: Supporting Learners, K College: An International Symposium.Retrieved
July 12, 2000 from http://www.rit.edu/~techsym/2001/paperslinks.html
Papers from the June 25-29 symposium are posted. Read about the latest technology
projects in the field of deaf education. There will be an upcoming international
technology symposium June 23-27, 2003.
*Erting, C.J., Johnson, R.C., Smith, D.L., & Snider, B.N. (Eds.). (1994).
The Deaf way: Perspectives from the international conference
on Deaf culture. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor,
HV2359 .I487 1989-3 copies).
Check out "Reaching the Deaf Community for Literacy" by K. Lloyd,
"Equality in Educational Opportunities: The Deaf Version" by S. Supalla,
"A Brief Overview of 'Unlocking the Curriculum'" by R. E. Johnson,
S.K. Liddell, and C.J. Erting, "The Language Arts Curriculum in Programs
for Deaf Children" by J. Simmons," A Deaf Teacher and a Hearing Researcher
Collaborating: From ASL to English in a Kindergarten Classroom" by K. M.
Whitesell and G. Zmijewski, "Classroom Turn-Taking Mechanism: Effective
Strategies for Using Eye Gaze as a Regulator" by S. M. Mather, "What
Deaf High School Seniors Tell Us About Their Social Networks" by R.L. Mowry,
"Experiences of a Deaf Mother and Preschool Teacher" by R. Bergmann,
"A Professional Deaf Educator in Spite of the System" by P. Smith
and "Deaf People's Civil Rights to Information" by J. Collins.
*Erting, C.J. (1994). Deafness, communication, social identity: Ethnography
in a preschool for deaf children. Burtonsville, MD: Linstok Press. (4th
floor HV2395 .E77 1994).
This text examines the complex interactions of teachers, deaf children, school
administrators, and deaf and hearing parents in an urban preschool. Erting identifies
and discusses conflicts which result from social identity and the expectations
that accompany it.
*Farb, A. B. (Ed.). (1997). Who speaks for the Deaf community?
Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV 2545.W446
1997 and 4th floor).
This book offers views from over 20 authors. Open and honest dialogue among
deaf, hard of hearing and hearing persons. Opinions are informative, meaningful
and thought-provoking.questions.
*Farb, A. B. (Ed). (1998). Unrealized visions: What's next for the Deaf
and hard of hearing community? Silver Spring, MD: National Association
of the Deaf. (4th floor HV2545 .U57 1999).
This monograph from NAD contains papers on issues concerning the deaf and hard
of hearing community, along with each writer's own ideas and views. Topics include
deaf minorities, CODAs, AIDS and mental health care, deaf comployees and entrepreneurs,
cochlear implants and more. Each section includes a short biography of the author,
their qualifications and accomplishments.
*Fischer, R., & Lane, H. (Eds.). (1993). Looking back: A reader on
the history of Deaf communities and their sign languages. Hamburg, Germany:
Signum Press; Washington, DC: Distributor for the U.S., Gallaudet University
Press.(4th floor HV2367 .L66 1993).
Researchers detail historical developments around the world in a book organized
into six core topics: deaf biographies, deaf communities, sign languages and
sign systems, deaf education and daily life at school, sociological and philosophical
issues as well as methodological and theoretical issues.
*Foster, S. B. & Walter, G.G. (Eds.). (1992). Deaf students in postsecondary
education. New York : Routledge. (4th floor HV2449 .D43 1992-2 copies;
1 copy in Archives, 3rd floor). With an ever-increasing number of deaf students
entering higher education throughout the world, major strides need to be made
in provision and support for them. This book is intended for practictioners
worldwide who provide support to deaf students in postsecondary settings. This
text recognizes that the integration of deaf students into mainstream higher
education raises complex and challenging problems. For example, while an interpreter
may provide students access to formal lectures, they are less useful in rapid
classroom discussions or in supporting ad-hoc out of class projects. It has
proved extremely difficulty for deaf students to enter fully into the social
and extracurriculuar fabric of campus life- an essential factor in ensuring
student success. The authors provide an assessment of state-of-the-art practice
in postsecondary settings and suggest theoretical and practical approaches to
providing support. There is discussion of the attainments of deaf graduates
with commentaries by deaf persons about their experiences in college. In addtion,
statistics support the theoretical contentions and clearly demonstrate the benefitis
of postsecondary education to deaf people. (from book introduction).
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1990). Eyes, hands, voices: Communication issues
among Deaf people. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf.
(1st floor REF HV2471 .E958 1990-1 copy and 4th floor-3 copies; ETRR has 2 copies).
The 30 articles in this monograph discuss diverse aspects of communication including
total communication, the value of ASL in deaf education, Cued Speech, communication
in the deaf community, bilingualism and more.
NTID Professor, W. Newell wrote "ASL Is Not a Four-Letter Word: Deaf
Education Can Dance With the Boogieman", p. 97. Recommended articles: "Ethics
in Deaf America: Education and Language" by E. Bosso, "The Value of
ASL in the Education of Deaf Children" by R. Johnson and S. Liddell, "Bilingual
Education for ASL-Using Children" by H. Lane, "Bilingualism and Deaf
Children" by M. Strong, and "A Taboo Exposed: Using ASL in the Classroom"
by C. Valli.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1991). Perspectives on Deafness. Silver
Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2380 .P457 1991and
4th floor).
More than 30 writers who have had extensive involvement with deaf people present
their views. The articles, representing the diversity in the deaf community,
share views, experiences, and perspectives which may appear to be conflicting,
inconsistent or contradictory.Check out the articles.
NTID professor R. Davila wrote "Freedom of Choice: From Limited Options
to Unlimited Opportunity", p. 43; A. Hurwitz wrote "Notes on My Education",
p. 71. Recommended articles: "The Path to Bilingualism and Biculturalism
at the Learning Center for Deaf Children" by M. Philip and A. Small.
Poems listed are: "words from a mother to her deaf child" by M. Garretson;
"My Own Broken Shell & My Dark Side" by K.Glickman; "Voices,
Voices" by J.H. Hogan, "They Say I'm Deaf" by S. Kessler; "Eye
Song" by S. Parlato and "Shared Beauty" by R. Smithdas.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1992). Viewpoints on Deafness. Silver
Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV2390 .V54 1992
and 4th floor).
Contains more than 30 articles written by well-known authors and poets giving
their perceptions on being deaf and on deaf people.
NTID professors wrote: "The Black Deaf Experience" p. 49 by R. Davila,
"Back to the Future with "ye Compleat Communication", p. 97 by
R. Panara and "Early ASL Training for Hearing Families with Deaf Children",
p. 109 by G. Poor. Recommended reading: (opposing viewpoint) "Debunking
the Bilingual/Bicultural Snow Job in the American Deaf Community" by L.
Stewart, "The Bilingual and Bicultural Approach" by L. Newman, "Deaf
Cultural Studies: Towards an End to Internal Strife" by P. Ladd, "Problems
in Educating the Deaf Child" by J. Kubis and "The Future of Young
Deaf People" by D. O.E. Josberg.
Poems listed are: "A World of Silence" by P. Campbell; "Words
from a Mainstreamed Deaf Student" by M. Garretson; "Me to Sign?"
by K. Glickman; "Language for the Eye" by D/ Miles; "Late Deaf"
by S. Parlato; and "Know Consequence" by J. Rosenstein.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1993). Deafness: 1993-2013. Silver Spring,
MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st floor REF HV 2545.D43).
Contains 30 articles written by well-known authors and poets offering a broad
spectrum of perspectives and opinions focusing on the future of the deaf community.
NTID professor R. Stuckless wrote "Automatically Changing Speech into Captions"
p. 155. Recommended articles: Magnet Schools: Future Bilingual Day Schools for
Deaf Students" by J. Andrews and J. Covell, "The Year 2003: Visions
of a Bilingual and Bicultural School" by Indiana School for the Deaf-Students,
Staff, and Parents, and "Who Will Shape the Future of Deaf Education?"
by S. Nover.
Poems listed are: "Diminishing Returns" and "March 13, 1988"
by H. Busby; "Deaf or Something?" by K. Glickman; "The Worst
Signers Watch Their Hands" by M. Garretson; "Hands" by G. Kuzma;
"October" by R. Lowman; "Lady With Mandolin (upon viewing a portrait)"
by L. Newman; "To You Who Hear" by S. Parlato; "Life Within Deafness
(a poem from Ethiopia)" by K/ Taye; "Belonging....Where?" by
M. L. Woolsey; "My Deaf Vision" by B. Eger and "Lydia Sigourney
Counsels Mr. Clerc" by L. Golladay.
Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1994) Deafness: Life & culture: A Deaf American
monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf. (1st
floor REF HV2545 .D55 1994 and 4th floor).
Selected articles and poetry providing insights into the diverse ethnicities,
religions, cultures, philosophies, educations, and languages within the deaf
community.
NTID professors P. Schragle and G. Bateman wrote "Impact of Captioning",
p. 101. Suggested reading: "One Edcator's Assessment" by R. Ramacciotti,
"Bilingual and Bicultural Education" by M. Vernon and B. Daigle and
"Deaf Culture Courses: Opinions of Deaf and Hearing Instructors" by
D. Youngblut and G. Powers.
Poems listed are "Like Love This Choice of a Language" by I. Caroom;
"Soundless Frustration" by L. Chiango; "Sign Language" by
M. Garretson; "Identity" by S.Hardy; "Night Ceremony (with the
light on) by S. Leigh; "With My Hands I Can..." by M. Okwara; "Audiogram"
and "Questions for a Cochlear Surgeon" by S.Parlato; "The Soul
of Meaning" by R. Rosen and "Beyond Silence" by R. Smithdas.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1995) Deafness: Life & culture II: A Deaf
American monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf.
(1st floor REF HV2545 .D55 1995 and 4th floor).
A sequel to the first monograph, this book shares thought-provoking articles,
historical essays, and touching poetry.
NTID Professor R. Davila wrote "Current Issues Facing Education of
the Deaf", p. 19. Suggested reading: "When Tomorrow Comes: A Challenge
to Educators of Deaf Children" by M. Garretson, "By Our Deaf Students
We'll Be Taught" by H. Meador, "American Sign Language: A Course of
Study for ASL Users in Elementary and Secondary Programs" by R. Stone.
Poems listed are: "Estele" by Julia Alvarez; "Jennifer"
and "Wittebome '72 by LIndsay Dunn; "Deaf Again" by Mer Garretson;
"A Credo for Deaf Americans" by Frank Lala; "Rise Up Spirit and
Pray" by Ruby Miller-Samples; "My Hands Searched Yours" by Lawrence
Newman; "Field of Dreams Opening Day, Yankee Stadium" by Robert Panara
and "Teach Me" by Sal Parlato.
*Garretson, M.D. (Ed.). (1996) Deafness: Historical perspectives: A Deaf
American monograph. Silver Spring, MD: National Association of the Deaf.
(1st floor REF HV2380 .D435 1996 and 4th floor. ETRR has 2 copies).
The historical perspectives in this book include essays on organizations and
programs of and for deaf people, communication and education, profiles depicting
individuals who have contributed greatly to public understanding of the deaf
community, a genealogical perspective on five multi-generational deaf families,
deaf studies, deaf theatre, and poetry.
Rochesterian M. Moore wrote "The Great Treasure Hunt: What Can We Learn
from Researching "Deaf History"?" Recommended reading: "Does
Repeating the Mistakes of the Past Protect the Innocent? Mainstreaming and Inclusion
Revisited" by J. F. King, "The Intentional Systematic Deconstruction
of Mainstreaming" by B.Malzkuhn, "History and Deaf Studies: An Essay"
by J. Schuchman, and "Communication in Deaf Education: Retrospect and Prospect"
by John Vickrey Van Cleve.
Poems listed are "The Isolation of Silence" by T.Bluekens;
"The Silent World" by J. Ernst; "Later" by R. Luczak; "Shell"
and "Friends" by R. Miller-Samples; "My Four Senses" by
L. Newman; "Idylls of the Green" by R. Panara; "Out, Loud!"
and "TWO-gether" by S. Parlato; "The Happening" by H. Purcell
and "Challenged" and "Persistence" by R. Smithdas.
*Gutman, V. (2002). Ethics in mental health and deafness. Washington,
D.C. : Gallaudet University Press. ( 3rd floor, RC451.4.D4 E86 2002).
This volume explores ethical issues specific to working with deaf clients, including
matters of confidentiality, managing multiple relationships, and the clinician's
competency to provide services, particularly in communicating with and understanding
deaf people. Led by editor Virginia Gutman, a unique assembly of respected mental
health professionals share their experiences and knowledge in working with deaf
clients.Irene Leigh commences this text with her varied experiences as a deaf
mental health practitioner, and Gutman follows with insights on ethics in the
"small world" of the Deaf community. William McCrone discusses the
law and ethics, and Patrick Brice considers ethical issues regarding deaf children,
adolescents, and their families. In contrast, Janet Pray addresses concerns
about deaf and hard of hearing older clients. Minority deaf populations pose
additional ethical questions, which are detailed by Carolyn Corbett. Kathleen
Peoples explores the challenges of training professionals in mental health services
specifically for deaf clients. Closely related to these topics is the influence
of interpreters with deaf clients in mental health settings, which Lynnette
Taylor thoroughly treats. This text also features a chapter on genetic counseling
and testing for deafness by Kathleen Arnos. The final section, written by Robert
Pollard, examines ethical conduct in research with deaf people, a fitting conclusion
to a volume that will become required reading for all professionals and students
in this discipline. Book jacket. (from
Einstein Catalog).
Jankowski, K. A. (1999). Student
life in the new millennium : Empowering education for deaf students. Washington,
D.C. : Pre-College National Mission Programs, Gallaudet University. (4th floor
HV2430 .J36 1999).
Conference paper presented by Katherine Jankowski, Ph.D. discusses various aspects
of student life including literacy, dorm activities, social skills, athletics
and other topics. The focus is on outcome-driven programming. (From Clerc
Center web site).
Kaplan, H., Mahshie, S., Moseley, M., Singer, B., & Winston, E. (1993).
Design of effective media, materials, and technology for deaf and hard-of-hearing
students (Tech.Rep.No.1). Eugene, OR: National Center to Improve the
Tools of Educators, University of Oregon. Available (as of July 25, 2000): http://idea.uoregon.edu/~ncite/documents/techrep/tech01.html
*King, J. F.. (2001). Introduction to deaf education: A Deaf perspective.
Hillsboro, Oregon: Butte Publications. (4th floor, HV 2430.K564).
This text is a compilation of contributions written by experienced educators
and is the starting place for students entering teacher training programs. Contributions
include the major topics to which future teachers should be exposed, including
(with author name): "Deaf Teachers and Their Impact on American Education
of the Deaf "(Gannon), "The Deaf Civil Rights Movement: Gallaudet
Protest to the Present" (Jordan), "Parents of Deaf Children: Educational
Implications" (Hurwitz/Hurwitz), "Deafness and Intelligence: A Multiperspective
Viewpoint" (Busby), "Legislation and How it Affects Deaf People"
(Bienenstock), "Educational Placement Options and the Unwritten Curriculum"
(Garretson), "Early Intervention Programs: Critical Time for Deaf Children"
(Rose), "Teachers of Young Deaf Adults" (Bateman), "Bilingual
Education and the Deaf Child" (Bailes/Tompkins), "The Role of the
Residential Program in the Ed. of the Deaf Child (Finneran)" and "Other
Modes of Communication" (Vashista/Kendrick). (From Butte
Publications web site).
*Livingston, S. (1997). Rethinking the education of deaf students: Theory
and practice from a teacher's perspective. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.
(4th floor HV2469.E5 L58 1997).
A controversial text that asserts that Deaf students be treated like non-Deaf
students. The author rejects the predominant view of Deaf students as special
learners in need of language remediation and repair. Instead, she maintains
that for Deaf students as well as their hearing counterparts, the primary educational
goal is the making and sharing of understaning in various subjects. Furthermore,
she views this as a process that occurs naturally, concomitantly and reciprocally
with the acquistion of language, regardless of one's hearing ability.Her assertion
clashes with conventional Deaf Education, which presumes that the wider learning
begins after students master a sign system that codifies and reconstructs English.
She offers an alternative and demonstrates how ASL and English can co-exist
in the same classroom, embedded in the content of what is being taught. Through
clearly explained theory, field-tested teaching strategies, authentic examples
of students' work, lesson plans and sections on assessment, she suggests ways
to help students become educated language users. The author's ideas hold enormous
implications for those who teach Deaf students, develop school budgets, design
programs and train future teachers. More important, they may hold the key that
unlocks the potential of Deaf students of all ages to become voracious readers
and accomplished writers. (From back of book).
*Marschark M. (1993). Psychological development of deaf children.
New York: Oxford University Press. (3rd floor RF 291.5C45M373 1993. ETRR has
3 copies
This book is the first comprehensive examination of the psychological development
of deaf children, many of whom are reared in language-impoverished environments
and thus experience social and cognitive development that is markedly different
from hearing children. The author details those differences, giving special
attention to how development is affected by parents, peers, and teachers. This
careful consideration of existing evidence yields a new psychological perspective
on deaf children and deafness while debunking a number of popular notions about
the hearing impaired, helping to forge an integrated understanding of social,
linguistic, and cognitive development as they are affected by childhood deafness.(From
Oxford
University Press web site).
*Marschark M. & Clark, M.D. (Eds.) (1993). Psychological perspectives
on deafness. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc. (4th floor
HV2380.P77 1993).
Focusing on the psychological foundations and implications of deafness, this
volume provides a scholarly overview of research concerning deaf individuals,
deafness, and related topics.Taken together, the chapters offer a coherent picture
of the scientific issues facing deafness researchers and the relationships between
biology, language, cognition, and social processes in the deaf. Contributors
were encouraged to provide forthright but balanced examinations of the goals,
methodologies, and interpretations of research relevant to their topics, while
at the same time considering broader theoretical motivations and implications
of relevant findings. Drawing on the expertise of the authors, this book provides
a more comprehensive and integrative approach to deafness than previous volumes.
Most books in the field either have applied perspectives and goals or have focused
primarily on sign language, deaf education, or some other restricted domain.
This book is broader, including "cutting-edge" research from "cutting-edge"
researchers. (From Lawrence Erlbaum web
site).
*Marschark, M. (1997). Relations of language and thought: The view from
sign language and deaf children. New York: Oxford University Press.
(HV 2391.R45).
Contributors offer different perspectives on language and cognitive development
in deaf children, drawing on research in theoretical linguistics, neuropsychology,
parent-child interactions, and reading education. Topics include the modular
effects of sign language acquisition, the nature and role of lip reading in
cognitive development of deaf children, and modules and the informational encapsulation
of language processes. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc.,Portland, OR.
(From Einstein Catalog)
*Marschark, M. (1997). Raising and educating a deaf child. New
York: Oxford University Press. (HV 2391.M26 1997).
Offers parents and teachers a readable and comprehensive summary including everything
a parent would want to know about growing up deaf. Parents of a deaf child,
like the parents of any child, want to know the answers to some apparently straightforward
questions, such as "What kind of school will provide my child with the
best education?" "What language experience is best for my child, sign
or speech?" "Will my child be able to get a good job?" Marschark
addresses these questions and more, with topics ranging from what it means to
be deaf and the uniqueness of Deaf culture to the medical causes of early hearing
loss, from technological aids for the deaf such as TTYs and cochlear implants
to the educational and social opportunities available to deaf children. He describes
the many ways that the environment of home and school can influence a deaf child's
chances for success in both academic and social circles.Above all, he emphasizes
the need for early detection of hearing loss and the importance of being able
to communicate with deaf children from a very early age, recommending that parents
of deaf children learn sign language and use it often. This is not a "how
to" book or one with all the "right" answers for raising a deaf
child. This is a guide through the many conflicting suggestions and programs
for raising deaf children, as well as the likely implications of taking one
direction or the other. (From Einstein
Catalog)
Marschark, M. & Clark, M.D. (Eds.) (1998). Psychological perspectives
on deafness (Vol. 2).. Mahwah, NJ: L. Erlbaum. (HV2380.P77 1998).
Researchers and practitioners in psychology,education, linguistics, child development,
communication sciences and disorders, and language acquisition; a text for upper-division
undergraduate and lower-level graduate courses on exceptionality, deaf education,
and the psychology of deafness. This edited volume picks up where Volume 1 ended.
Composed of review chapters that reflect cutting-edge views from well-known
international researchers within the field, this book surveys issues within
the field of deafness such as cognition, learning disabilities, social development,
language development, and psychopathology. It also highlights the many new and
exciting findings currently emerging from researchers across a variety of disciplines--psychology,
education, linguistics, and child development. (From Lawrence
Erlbaum web site).
*Marschark, M., Lang, H.G., & Albertini, J.A. (2001). Educating
deaf students: From research to practice. New York: Oxford University
Press. (4th floor HV2437.M27 2001-2 copies).
This book presents a summary of the current state-of-the-art in deaf education.
With dramatic changes in deaf education over the past 30 years, this book considers
what we now know, what we do not know, and what we should know about the education
of deaf students. Taking a developmental perspective, the authors look first
at the history of deaf education, and then at education as it begins at home
and in the classroom, encompassing discussion about reading, American Sign Language,
and school choice. The various programs available for deaf children and young
adults are appraised, including details of the curriculum in English, math and
science, and social studies. Using a research-based yet readable approach, the
authors set aside the politics, rhetoric, and confusion that often accompanies
such discussions. Rather, they clearly evaluate deaf education, explaining complex
information in a way that is useful to a wide range of readers involved in deaf
education, from parents and day care providers to elementary, high-school, and
college teachers and other education professionals.(From Oxford
University Press web site).
*Mazurek, K. & Winzer, M. A. (2000).Special education in the 21st
century : issues of inclusion and reform. Washington D.C. : Gallaudet
University Press.(4th floor LC3981 .S594 2000).
In the late twentieth century, a tidal wave of calls for reform and inclusion
of special needs students swept over public special education. The current debates
over implementing these themes today are authoritatively addressed by nineteen
distinguished scholars in this thorough volume. Organized into three cohesive
sections, it begins with the issues of educational reform and the emerging discourses
of disability and integration in the inclusion movement. Respective chapters
appraise specific arguments for inclusion and the federal legislation and litigation
surrounding and supporting special education. The second part features the thorny
issue of assessment, the technological revolution in special education, and
the disposition of teacher training. The third section scrutinizes the inclusion
of various populations of students with exceptional needs, particularly how
teachers can make an easy transition from ideology to educational practice.
Special Education in the 21st Century sets the standard for extrapolating future
directions by wisely weighing classroom practices for different groups and the
technical problems of resources, management, social groupings, instructional
design, and the supposition that teachers will automatically change to accommodate
an even greater diversity of learners.
*Mindel, E.D. & Vernon, M. (Eds.). (1987). They grow in silence :
Understanding deaf children and adults. San Diego, Calif. : College-Hill
Press. (4th floor HV2391.T44 1987).
The following chapters are featured: The Impact of Deaf Children on Their Families,
The Primary Causes of Deafness, Audiology and the HI Child: Current and Future
Needs, Recent Advances in the Diagnosis of Hearing Loss in Newborns and Infants,
Emotional Illness and the Deaf, Deaf Parents of Hearing Children, Language and
the Young Deaf Child, After the Revolution: Educational Practice and the Deaf
Child's Communication Skills, and Outcomes: Deaf People and Work.
*Moores, D. F. & Meadow-Orlans, K. P. (Eds.) (1990). Educational and
developmental aspects of deafness. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet University
Press. (4th floor HV2430 .E383 1990).
Written with clarity and coherence, this volume by distinguished scholars (editors
included) from a wide variety of disciplines including education, linguistics,
anthropology, sociology, and psychology is an important contribution to the
growing body of research on deafness. Based on their diverse research with deaf
individuals, contributors present their findings on the education and the human
development of the deaf in 20 essays. Part 1 deals with "The Deaf Child
at School," examining, for example, the deaf as a linguistic and cultural
minority within US society; the role of research in deaf education; who gets
mainstreamed; and the variables that impact on the academic achievement and
social-emotional development of deaf students. Part 2 focuses on "The Deaf
Child at Home," a useful section since there is a paucity of family-oriented
research. Topics include the concerns, needs, and problems of parenting a deaf
child; a cross-national comparison of major influences on the social-emotional
development of deaf children; the effect of childhood deafness on the family;
and the responses to hearing loss that occur later in life.
Moores, D.F. (2001). Educating the Deaf: Psychology, principles and practices.
Boston: Houghton Mifflin. (4th floor HV2430.M66).
Educating the Deaf is the authoritative, comprehensive standard-bearer
in its market, offering balanced coverage of hotly contested issues, such as
language acquisition vs. manual communication. The text compiles all themajor
home, school, and community issues that affect the education of the deaf. Updated
coverage includes information on new legislation mandating early educational
services for deaf children.Includes completely updated information on advances
in medical technology, information on how technology can assist deaf students,
and new Internet resources. (From Houghton
Mifflin web site).
*National Technical Institute for the Deaf. (1999). Implications of NTID
Research for Deaf and hard of hearing people. Rochester, NY: Educational
Resources, National Technical Institute for the Deaf. (3rd floor-Archives and
4th floor HV2380 .N38 1999).
*Osgood, R. L. (2000). For "children who vary from the normal type"
: Special education in Boston, 1838-1930. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet
University Press. (4th floor, LC3983.B7 O84 2000).
In his perceptive study of the education of disabled children during the nineteenth
and early twentieth centuries, Robert Osgood focuses upon the Boston school
system as both typical and a national leader among urban centers at that time.
Osgood points out that a host of significant figures worked in education in
the region, including Horace Mann, George Emerson, and John Philbrick, and also
Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet, Samuel Gridley Howe, Edouard Seguin, Hervey Wilbur,
and Walter Fernald, each of the latter group noted for first founding and /or
directing institutions for individuals with disabilities.
This text describes the growth of Boston and its educational system during this
period, then examines closely the emergence of individual programs that catered
to students formally identified as having special needs: intermediate schools
and ungraded classes; three separate programs for students with children; special
classes for mentally retarded children; and other programs established between
1908 and 1913. Osgood describes these programs and their relations with each
other, and also the rationales offered for their establishment and support.
This detailed examination graphically depicts how patterns of integration and
segregation in special education shifted over time in Boston, and provides a
foundation for continuing the present-day discussion of the politics and realities
of inclusion.
*Parasnis, I. (Ed.). (1996). Cultural
and language diversity and the Deaf experience. New York, NY: Cambridge
University Press.(4th floor HV2545 .C85 1996 -2 copies).
Presents a perspective that deaf people should be considered a cultural and
language minority group rather than as individuals with an audiological impairment.
Eighteen essays contributed by deaf and hearing educators, linguists, researchers,
and community members support the efforts of deaf people to have ASL recognized
in the planning of educational policies and curricula.
Porter, J. E. Promoting the success of individual learners: Teachers applying
their craft at the undergraduate level. Westport, Conn.: Bergin &
Garvey. (forthcoming).
Responding to the educational ideal of supporting "each and every"
student, individualizing instruction is put forward as the basis of effective
undergraduate instruction. In the tone of "practitioners talking to practitioners,"
eight teachers representing various undergraduate institutions and disciplines
share assumptions and strategies for supporting successful learning by individual
students. (From Greenwood
Publishing).
*Ramsey, C.L. (1997). Deaf
children in public schools: Placement, context and consequences.
Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor, HV2430 .R350 1997).
As the practice of mainstreaming deaf and hard of hearing children into general
classrooms continues to proliferate, the performances of these students becomes
critical. This text assesses the progress of three second-grade deaf students
to demonstrate the importance of placement, context, and language in their development.
Ramsey points out that these deaf children were placed in two different environments,
with the general population of hearing students, and separately with other deaf
and hard of hearing children. Her incisive study reveals that although both
settings were ostensibly educational, inclusion in the general population was
done to comply with the law, not to establish specific goals for the deaf children.
In contrast, self-contained classes for deaf and hard of hearing children were
designed especially to concentrate upon their particular learning needs. This
book also demonstrates that the key educational element of language development
cannot be achieved in a social vacuum, which deaf children face in the real
isolation of the mainstream classroom. Based upon these insights, this text
follows the deaf students in school to consider three questions regarding the
merit of language study without social interaction or cultural access, the meaning
of context in relation to their educational success, and the benefits of the
perception of the setting as the context rather than as a place. The intricate
answers found in this cohesive book offer educators, scholars, and parents a
remarkable stage for assessing and enhancing the educational context for the
deaf children within their purview.(From Gallaudet
University Press web site).
Scheetz, N.A. (2001). Orientation to deafness. Boston : Allyn
and Bacon. (4th floor, HV2380 .S33 2001).
Sheetz (Valdosta State U.) furnishes insights into the world of the deaf for
future and current educators who work with clients ranging from infants through
college students and students entering interpreting and social work, a foundation.
Her information might also be appreciated by parents and deafened adults. She
discusses the psychosocial perspective, the art of hearing, family dynamics,
education, reading, work, myths and misconceptions, morals and values, hearing
aids, support services, and other dimensions. The first edition appeared in
1993. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland, OR. (From Einstein
Catalog).
*Schirmer, B.R. (2001). Psychological, social, and educational dimensions
of deafness. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor HV2551 .S35 2001).
A treatment of the major issues affecting the lives of children, adolescents,
and adults who are deaf or hard of hearing, as well as their families. In addition
to describing current practice and research, Schirmer (Kent State U.) includes
personal essays that illustrate concepts and trends. Intended for professionals
and students preparing for roles in education, counseling, rehabilitation, interpreting,
and speech and hearing science. Annotation copyrighted by Book News Inc., Portland,
OR. (From Einstein Catalog ).
*Sheridan, M. (2001). Inner lives of deaf children: Interviews and analysis.
Washington, DC : Gallaudet University Press. (4th floor, HV2391 .S58 2001).
Through its qualitative research design, this book offers a revolutionary approach
to the study of Deaf children in society. Though most quantitative studies,
by nature, summarize patterns of behavior to formulate averages, Sheridan's
study of seven Deaf and hard-of-hearing children of diverse backgrounds focuses
on the individuality of each child. The book is largely composed of transcripts
of interviews with these children and the subsequent analysis of the information
gathered. Rather than giving voice to (mostly hearing) researchers' perceptions
of Deaf and hard-of-hearing children, this book gives direct insight into what
Sheridan calls the children's own "lifeworlds" (images of themselves
and others in their lives). In so doing, this work also underscores the differences
between the experiences of Deaf children today and those of previous generations,
because of such factors as improved technology and changes in educational and
linguistic philosophies and in socioeconomic environments. The results indicate
strong differences between largely negative societal expectations of Deaf and
hard-of-hearing children and the children's own images of themselves.(From Choice
via Einstein Catalog).
*Spencer, P.E., Erting, C. & Marschark, M. (Eds.). (2000). The deaf
child in the family and at school: Essays in honor of Kathryn
P. Meadow-Orlans. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (HV2392.2D43
2000).
This book presents chapters by many eminent researchers and interventionists,
all of whom address the development of deaf and hard of hearing children in
the context of family and school. A variety of disciplines and perspectives
are provided in order to capture the complexity of factors affecting development
of these children in their diverse environments. Consistent with current theory
and educational practice, the book focuses most strongly on the interaction
of family and child strengths and needs and the role of educational and other
interventionists in supporting family and child growth. This work, and the authors
represented in it, have been influenced by the seminal work of Kathryn P. Meadow-Orlans,
whose work continues to apply a multidisciplinary, developmental approach to
understanding the development of deaf children. The book differs from other
collections in the degree to which the chapters share ecological and developmental
theoretical bases. A synthesis of information is provided in section introductions
and in an afterword provided by Dr. Meadow-Orlans. The book reflects emerging
research practice in the field by representing both qualitative and quantitative
approaches. In addition, the book is notable for the contributions of deaf as
well as hearing authors and for chapters in which research participants speak
for themselves--providing first-person accounts of experiences and feelings
of deaf children and their parents. Some chapters in the book may surprise readers
in that they present a more positive view of family and child functioning than
has historically been the case in this field. This is consistent with emerging
data from deaf and hard of hearing children who have benefitted from early identification
and intervention. In addition, it represents an emerging recognition of strengths
shown by the children and by their deaf and hearing parents. The book moves
from consideration of child and family to a focus on the role and effects of
school environments on development. Issues of culture and expectations pervade
the chapters in this section of the book, which includes chapters addressing
effects of school placement options, positive effects of learning about deaf
culture and history, effects of changing educational practice in developing
nations, and the need for increased knowledge about ways to meet individual
needs of the diverse group of deaf and hard of hearing students. Thus, the book
gives the reader a coherent view of current knowledge and issues in research
and intervention for deaf and hard of hearing children and their families. (From
Lawrence
Erlbaum web site).
*Stewart, D.A. & Kluwin, T.N. (2001). Teaching deaf and hard of hearing
students: Content, strategies, and curriculum. Boston : Allyn and Bacon.
(4th floor, HV2437 .S74 2001).
This text takes a practical look at the challenges of teaching subject matter
to deaf children. It gives suggestions about what teachers can do in the classroom
that will make a positive difference in how their deaf students learn. It emphasizes
providing teachers with a framework to design instructions that meet the educational
needs of their deaf students. The principles upon which instructional planning
proceeds are applicable to deaf students at all grade levels; thus, the book
is suitable for teachers at the elementary through high school levels. These
principles are diverse but revolve around four central themes: 1) Creating authentic
experiences; 2) Integrating vocabulary development; 3) Creating opportunities
for self-expression; and 4) Providing deaf role models. When applicable, distinctions
are made between the various instructional roles of teachers in self-contained
classrooms, resource room teachers, and itinerant teachers, as well as general
education teachers who have deaf students in their classrooms. In addition to
subject matter teaching, issues relating to diversity, discipline, and disabilities
are reviewed from a pragmatic perspective. Ideas are then presented about how
teachers can address these issues through instruction. Finally, strategies are
provided for involving the family in the education of their deaf children, including
exercises for increasing family awareness of the learning challengestheir deaf
children face. Practical ideas about how teachers can empower parents in the
learning process are featured. (From Allyn
& Bacon web site).
*Vernon, M. & Andrews, J.F. (1990). The psychology of deafness : Understanding
Deaf and hard-of- hearing people. New York : Longman. (4th floor HV2395
.V47 1990-3 copies).
Hearing loss is the most prevalent chronic health problem in the U.S., yet little
attention has been given to understanding the psychological implications for
deaf and hard of hearing persons. In this text, the authors argue that deafness
is a psychological variable that causes the life experiences of the hearing
to consistently differ from those of the deaf and hearing impaired. Covering
all levels of hearing loss-from prelingual and profound deafness to partial
and mild hearing loss--the text demonstrates how and why a hearing loss creates
psychological stress regardless of its degree. This book is an excellent introduction
to the subject-including coverage of the basic principles of psychodiagnosis
with deaf persons, examination of the stress created by this handicap, and suggestions
for working more efficiently with the deaf community, The Psychology of Deafness
features: A comprehensive section on the American deaf community and the causes
of deafness, a comparison and analysis of forms of communication used by the
deaf, an examination of the pressures deafness imposes and the attitudes of
hearing people toward deaf chidlren and adults, a section on diagnosis aimed
at reducing the amount of misdiagnosis with deaf children, a bilingual/bicultural
approach toward helping deaf children learn.(From back of book).
*Weisel, A. (1998). Issues
unresolved: New perspectives on language and deaf education. Washington,
D.C.: Gallaudet University Press.(HV2430. I77 1998).
NTID professors S. Fischer wrote "Critical Periods for Language Acquisition:
Consequences for Deaf Education", L. Siple wrote "The Use of Addition
in Sign Language Transliteration", M. Stinson and E. R. Stuckless wrote
"Recent Developments in Speech-to-Print Transcription Systems for Deaf
Students", and R. Menchel wrote "Deaf Students Attending Regular Four-Year
Colleges and Universities in the United States". Comprises 20 contributions
selected from the 400-plus papers presented at the 18th International Congress
on Education of the Deaf. Representative paper topics include: assessing cognitive,
relational, and language abilities of deaf preschoolers in Italy; the perception
of speech by children with hearing loss; school and classroom characteristics
that facilitate the social integration of deaf and hard of hearing children;
deaf students attending regular four-year colleges and universities in the US;
and deaf identity in adolescence. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc.,
Portland, OR (From Einstein Catalog).
*Winzer, M. A. (1993). The history of special education : From isolation
to integration. Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet University Press.(4th floor,
LC3965 .W56 1993).
This comprehensive volume examines the facts, characters, and events that shaped
this field inWestern Europe, Canada, and the United States. From the first efforts
to teach disabled people in early Christian and Medieval eras to such current
mandates as Public Law 94-142, this study breaks new ground in assessing the
development of special education as a formal discipline. This text presents
a four-part narrative that traces its emergence in fascinating detail from 16th-century
Spain through the Age of Enlightenment in 17th-century France and England to
18th-century issues in Europe and North America of placement, curriculum, and
early intervention. The status of teachers in the 19th century and social trends
and the movement toward integration in 20th century programs are considered
as well.(from Gallaudet
University Press web site).
*Winzer, M.A. & Mazurek, K. (Eds.). (2000). Comparative studies in
special education.Washington, D.C. : Gallaudet University Press. (4th
floor, LC3965 .C54 1994).
This unequaled collection of international programs will enable educators worldwide
to investigate special education practice within its social context to enhance
their own initiatives with new ideas. Comparative Studies divides into five
sections, each with an introduction to the chapters within. This thorough text
begins with limited special education in such venues as South Africa and Senegal.
Section Two addresses emerging special education in Nigeria, Brazil, and several
other locales. Segregated special education in Japan, Russia, and other countries
makes up Section Three, and Section Four explores countries that are approaching
integration, such as Poland and Australia. Integrated special education is described
in Scandinavia, New Zealand and other nations in the final section. More than
50 noted scholars have contributed to this important work, offering an indispensable,
detailed frame of reference for assessing education programs worldwide for all
special populations -- blind, deaf, physically and mentally disabled, and all
others. (from Gallaudet
University Press web site).
*Winzer, M.A. & Mazurek, K. (Eds.). (2000). Special education in the
21st century: Issues of inclusion and reform. Washington, DC: Gallaudet
University Press. (4th floor, LC3981 .S594 2000).
In the late twentieth century, a tidal wave of calls for reform and inclusion
of special needs students swept over public special education. The current debates
over implementing these themes today are authoritatively addressed by nineteen
distinguished scholars in this thorough volume. Organized into three cohesive
sections, it begins with the issues of educational reform and the emerging discourses
of disability and integration in the inclusion movement. Respective chapters
appraise specific arguments for inclusion and the federal legislation and litigation
surrounding and supporting special education. The second part features the thorny
issue of assessment, the technological revolution in special education, and
the disposition of teacher training. The third section scrutinizes the inclusion
of various populations of students with exceptional needs, particularly how
teachers can make an easy transition from ideology to educational practice.
This text sets the standard for extrapolating future directions by wisely weighing
classroom practices for different groups and the technical problems of resources,
management, social groupings, instructional design, and the supposition that
teachers will automatically change to accommodate an even greater diversity
of learners. (from Gallaudet
University Press web site).
World Federation of the Deaf. (2002). World Federation of the Deaf in
the 21st century: Vision, prioritites & action plan for years 1999-2003.
Helsinki, Finland: World Federation of the Deaf. (OVER 4th floor HV2354
.W674 2002).
Reports from the XIII World Congress of the WFD, Australia, 1999.
OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS BOOKLIST
*Bertling, T. (1994). A child sacrificed to the Deaf culture. Wilsonville,
Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor HV2534.B47 A3 1994-3 copies and ETRR has
2 copies).
Bertling shares his subjective and unpopular (with the deaf community) views
on deaf culture, deaf education, and deaf children. He attended a residential
school and has deaf family members.This controversial book was written for educators
and administrators, parents of deaf children, and those having a professional
or social interest in the deaf. (From Amazon
Bookstore website).
*Bertling, T. (1997). No dignity for Joshua : More vital insight into
Deaf children, Deaf education, and Deaf culture. Wilsonville, Or. :
Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor HV2545.B395 1997-2 copies and ETRR has 2 copies).
Bertling surveys and offers subjective opinions on such controversial issues
as cochlear implants, sexual abuse at residential deaf schools, militancy within
the deaf community and deaf community leadership. Contributes to the on-going
dialogue and debate of issues key to deaf community interests and to the education
and assimilation of deaf children.(From Amazon
Bookstore website).
*Bertling, T. (Ed.). (1998). American sign language: Shattering the myth.
Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2471 .A63 1998).
This controversial and unprecedented collection of essays from distinguished
and respected scholars marks the turning point in the education of the deaf.
Headlined with compositions and documents written by the late Dr. Larry G. Stewart
and Prof. Frances M. Parsons, both once members of the faculty of Gallaudet
University, the book opens the door for new thinking. With additional contributions
from Dr. Otto J. Menzel, Dr. Donald F. Moores, Dr. Truman W. Stelle, and PhD
student Patrick W. Seamans, all of these writers venture into the heart of deaf
language and cultural issues and reward us with the kind of critical thinking
largely absent from many proponents of ASL-based learning. Topics regarding
the failure of Deaf education, Bilingual-Bicultural, immoral intimidation tactics,
and other pressing points are mentioned. Personal accounts that go against the
traditional ASL mindset are also given.(From Amazon
Bookstore web site).
*Bertling, T. (Ed.). (2001). An intellectual look at American Sign Language
: Clear thinking on American Sign Language, English, and Deaf education.
Wilsonville, Or. : Kodiak Media Group. (4th floor, HV2474 .I563 2001).
This book encompasses contributions from some of the researchers, educators,
and commentators on sign language communication. In addition to American Sign
Language, the contributors discuss deaf education, the importance of English
reading and writing skills, deaf culture, ethical questions, Cochlear Implants,
residential schools for the deaf, and the future of education and life for deaf
children. The subjective opinions and unpopular (with the deaf community) in
the book challenges and shows skepticism toward the ASL-based approach to learning
for the deaf.(From
Amazon Bookstore web site).
*Bertling, T. (Ed.). (2002). Communication. Wilsonville, Or.:
Kodiak Media Group. (forthcoming).
*Tellings, A. (1995). The two hundred years' war in deaf education: A
reconstruction of the methods controversy. Eindhoven, The Netherlands:
A. Tellings. (ETRR only. HV2417.T445 1995).
Dissertation.
*Winefield, R. (1987). Never the twain shall meet: Bell, Gallaudet and
the communication debate. Washington, DC: Gallaudet University Press.
(4th floor, HV2471.W56 1987 - 2 copies)
The opposing viewpoints of Gallaudet and Bell, who started an educational debate
in the middle of the 19th century that continues today, are presented: Should
sign language be used in deaf education or should deaf children deail with a
hearing, speaking world on its own terms?
DEAF AND SPECIAL EDUCATION JOURNALS-These are
good places to find recent information on a topic.
Check out Parasnis, Ila. (1997) Cultural identity and diversity in deaf education.
American Annals of the Deaf, 142, 72-79. .
Use the ETRR Index to
Interpreting and Deaf Periodicals to find citations. The Gallaudet
Index to Deaf Periodicals is another citation database. The Gallaudet
Index DOESN'T index recent information and it indexes popular magazines,
not professional journals. Deaf Life Magazine is highly recommended and
we keep back issues in bound format on the 2nd floor PER HV2350.D45.
When you find a citation you like and want to locate the journal or magazine,
use the Einstein Catalog to find
the journal title and the location. It may be available in print on the
1st floor on the Current Magazine Shelves or at the Reserve Desk, in bound
periodical format (Deaf Life magazine) on the 2nd floor, on microfilm/microfiche
on the 2nd floor, and/or online via a
full-text database. For citations on American Sign Language,
try the online database Linguistics
Abstracts for citations. Full-text articles may be found via
ABI Inform,
Academic Search Elite-Master File Index-ERIC,FirstSearch-MLA
Bibliography-and OMNI
Files. Check out Dissertation Abstracts and the World Cat
via FirstSearch for
citations. Check out in-depth reports on Special Education and the Americans
With Disabilities Act via the
CQ Researcher Database.
There is a Deaf and
Special Education Periodical Guide. The guide lists the web and database
links for you for all journal titles. Some recommended periodicals are:
Journal of Deaf Studies and Education
, American
Annals of the Deaf , Sign
Language Studies, Topics in Language Disorders and there are more.
NEWSPAPERS-These are good places to look for current information or to
get an overview of the day-to-day coverage of a particular issue. Try the ABI-PROQUEST
or Academic
Search Elite databasesl to get newspaper articles.
DEAF EDUCATION VIDEOS-Available on the 1st floor
in the Videotape Browsing Collection across from the Circulation Desk.
You may borrow them for up to 5 days.See the WML
ASL and Deaf Culture Vdeo Guide. There are also videotapes at ETRR-NTID
(only faculty and staff may borrow videos, but students can view videos at ETRR).
The Media Resource Center in the basement of WML also has some videos and you
must view the videos in the viewing room (there are about 15 tvs and vcrs).
Use the Einstein Video Catalog
to explore videos on this topic. Use both keyword and subject searches
to retrieve all records. We also have a captioned
video list you can browse by title.
* Paoletti-Schelp, J. (2000). Viewpoints 3: Deaf education
[Videorecording]. Salem, OR: Sign Enhancers, Inc. 42 mins. (1st floor
video collection HV 2395.V538 2000 pt.3).
Consists of unrehearsed interviews with 6 different D/deaf individiuals who
come from a broad range of educational and linguistic backgrounds offering opinions
and experiences on the topic of Deaf Education.
DEAF WWW RESOURCES-Check out the
Deaf Internet Resources. You can click on the Deaf Education,
ESL and Deaf Resources links. Check out Info
to Go from Gallaudet University which has online "quick reference"
sheets.
EDUCATION WWW RESOURCES-Check out the
Education Internet Resources .
FACT SHEETS- We have quick reference short papers on various topics from
Gallaudet University REF HV 2353.N375 and SHHH REF HV 2353.S53 in the reference
area on the 1st floor.
Created by Joan Naturale 10 July 2002. E-mail JXNWML@rit.edu.
Links checked 15 March 2003. Check links free via http://validator.w3.org/checklink.
Type in URL, click summary option, then click check.
|