Standards Information
RIT Library contains standards and specifications from a
variety of issuing organizations. These standards are scattered throughout
the collection and the various agencies do not adhere to a standard form of
presentation in issuing their standards. Consequently, locating a particular
standard, either by subject or by its alphanumeric designation, is not always
a simple and straightforward process. The purpose of this guide is to facilitate
the search for an engineering standard. A listing of the organizations which
issue standard (as represented in WL) is provided as well as information regarding
access to the individual standards of these organizations.
As a general guide, the Index and Directory of Industry Standards
(REF. T59.2.U6I5 1997) provides access to the majority of currently available
U.S. and international standards. The current edition consists of 8 volumes.
The Index is, of course, quite comprehensive and WL holds only a small portion
of the available standards as follows:
The world of standards is also available on the World Wide Web
through the ILI StandardsWeb.
- ACI. American Concrete Institute.
- ACI publishes a five part Manual of Concrete Practice which contains
standards and specifications pertaining to all aspects of the concrete
industry. The five volumes are collectively assigned: REF. TA681.A43 1995.
- A table of contents in each volume lists the standards of that volume
in alphanumeric order. A more detailed subject index in each volume provides
access to the full set of standards.
- AISC. American Institute of Steel Construction.
- The AISC publication, Manual of Steel Construction (REF. TA684.A47
1980), contains a section entitled, "Specification for the Design , Fabrication
and Erection of Structural Steel for Buildings." This section is intended
to provide the standards and specifications necessary for a uniform practice
in the design and installation of structural steel in buildings.
- A table of contents provides access to the standards by title and numeric
designation.
- AITC. American Institute of Timber Construction.
- Part II of the Timber Construction Manual ( REF. TA666.T47 1994),
contains the AITC standards and specifications which pertain to the use
of wood products as the structural components of buildings and other structures.
- This part of the Manual is not indexed but a numeric listing
of the standards is provided.
- ANSI. American National Standards Institute.
- While not maintaining a comprehensive collection, WL has ANSI standards
pertaining to areas as diverse as construction technology through photography
and information systems. These standards are scattered through eighteen
separate volumes which are collectively assigned the call number: REF.
T59.2.U52A42. The current Catalog of American National Standards
(REF. T59.2.U52A45 1996) serves as a subject index to all currently available
ANSI standards. An alphanumeric listing of the standards is also provided
in this volume. To determine whether or not WL has a particular standard,
it is necessary to first locate the volume which might contain the standard
and then page through the volume to see if the collection does in fact
include the desired standard. The standards are arranged as follows:
Volume 1: ANSI A117.1-1961 to ANSI B11.18-1985 Volume 1A: ANSI B65.1-1972 to ANSI MH10.2-1973 Volume 2: ANSI N5.8-1967 to ANSI PH1.62-1980 Volume 3: ANSI PH2.1-1952 to ANSI PH2.48-1981 Volume 4: ANSI PH3.1-1973 to ANSI PH3.710-1980 Volume 5: ANSI PH4.1-1962 to ANSI PH4.304-1979 Volume 6: ANSI PH5.1-1959 to ANSI PH22.182-1978 Volume 7: ANSI S1.13-1971 to ANSI S3.25-1979 Volume 8: ANSI PH22.184-1973 to ANSI X3.9-1978 Volume 9: ANSI X3.11-1969 to ANSI X3.22-1973 Volume 10: ANSI X3.23-1974 to ANSI X3.34-1972 Volume 11: ANSI X3.36-1975 to ANSI X3.49-1975 Volume 12: ANSI X3.50-1970 to ANSI X3.59-1981 Volume 13: ANSI X3.60-1978 to ANSI X3.85-1981 Volume 14: ANSI X3.92-1978 to ANSI Y14.4-1957 Volume 15: ANSI Y14.5-1973 to ANSI (USAS) Z87.1-196 Volume 16: ANSI Z94.1-1972 to ANSI Z59.1-1974 Volume 17: ANSI/ANS 10.5-1979 to ANSI/SMPTE 139-1988
-
There is also a volume of ANSI standards classed separately
as a drafting manual: REF. T357.A42. This volume contains the following
standards:
ANSI Y14.5-1973 to ANSI Y14.36-1978
Three additional binders contain ANSI telecommunication
standards T1.101-1987 - T1.310-1990.
ANSI/ASQC. American Society for Quality Control.
ISO 9000. The five quality management and quality
assurance standards in the ASQC series, Q90-94 , are technically equivalent
to the ISO series, 9000-9004, but incorporate customary American language
usage and spelling.The series is located ar the reserve desk: RESD TS155.A4643
- RESD TS 155.A4647.
ISO 14000. Several of the ISO 14000 standards have
been published and are available in the ISO 14000 Handbook: REF TS
155.7.I863 1996. These standards concern the implementation and management
of environmental systems. They are currently under development.
ASHRAE. American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and
Air-Conditioning Engineers
ASHRAE standards are primarily concerned with the components
and the process of mechanical refrigeration. WL maintains a complete set
of retrospective (up to 1980) ASHRAE standards in two volumes: REF. TH7011.A42.
Volume 1 contains the following:
ASHRAE 12-75. Refrigeration Definitions and Terms to ASHRAE 47-69. Method of Testing and Rating Retain-Line, Low-Vacuum Heating Pumps
-
Volume 2 contains the following:
ASHRAE 51-75. Laboratory Methods of Testing Fans for Rating to ASHRAE 96-1980 Methods of Testing to Determine the Thermal Performance of Unglazed Flat-Plate Liquid - Type Solar Collectors
There is no index or table of contents to these volumes.
Individual standards must be accessed by first locating the correct volume
and then paging through the volume until the desired standard is found.
ASME. American Society of Mechanical Engineers
ASME produces standards pertaining to all aspects of mechanical
engineering. However, WL maintains only a small portion of these standards:
REF. TS283.A42 1980 v. 8 - Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Code, Section VIII.
A table of contents provides a general subject guide to
each section of this code and a more detailed contents precedes each section
and provides access to individual standards.
ASTM. American Society for Testing and Materials
The ASTM Book of Standards consists of sixteen sections
divided into numerous separate volumes. The volumes are collectively assigned
the call number: TA401.A653. The sections are concerned with materials as
diverse as iron and steel products, textiles and plastics, and medical devices.
Despite the diversity of subjects and the sheer number of volumes, individual
standards are not difficult to locate. One entire volume is devoted to a
detailed subject index and a complete alphanumeric listing of the standards.
This volume also contains a broad subject listing indicating which volume
in the set pertains to a particular subject area.
Each of the separate volumes also contains a table of contents
which lists the standards in the volume by alphanumeric designation and
a detailed subject index to the standards in that volume.
WL maintains the complete set of ASTM standards but the
set is not completely current.
ASTM volumes 8.01 - 8.04 are located at the reserve desk.
ICBO. International Conference of Building Officials
WL contains several ICBO publications pertaining to the
codes and standards involved in the construction of buildings and related
structures.
REF. KF5701.A39 I5 1994 - Uniform Building Code.
Presents standards governing the construction of all types of building and
addresses such topics as the design, use of materials, and the construction
and maintenance of a building. A detailed table of contents and a subject
index provide access to this code.
REF. KF5708.I56 1994 - Uniform Mechanical Code. This
code is also sponsored jointly by the International Association of Plumbing
and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO). It contains specifications and standards
relating to the construction and installation of heating, ventilating, air-conditioning
and refrigeration systems.
REF. KF5709.I65 1994 - Uniform Plumbing Code. Also
published jointly by IAPMO. This code covers all aspects of plumbing systems
and materials. Each of these codes contains a table of contents and a subject
index.
IEEE. Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
WL does not maintain a comprehensive collection of IEEE
standards but currently has four separate volumes containing over fifty
separate standards. The volumes are collectively assigned the call number
T59.2.U52I5. Information regarding access to these standards can be found
in the Guide to IEEE Standards, which is available on the "Guides"
rack.
ISA. Instrument Society of America
ISA publishes a series of standards relating to instrumentation
and control systems. These standards are brought together in the following
volume:
REF. TA165.I5967 1989 - Standards and Practices for Instrumentation.
This volume consists of three sections. The first is a listing
of various standards published by other organizations such as ASME, ANSI
and IEEE which pertain to instrumentation. A detailed table of contents
precedes this section and provides an alphabetical listing of the organizations
represented. The second section is a subject index to the first section
which provides subject access to the standards. The third section contains
the standards actually published by ISA. A table of contents provides access
to the standards in this section.
NEPA. National Fire Protection Association
NFPA publishes a multi-volume set of standards and specifications
covering all aspects of fire prevention and protection. National Fire
Codes is assigned call number: REF. TH9111.N375a. The areas covered
in the code include such topics as fire extinguishers, storage of flammable
materials and installation of sprinkler systems. Each volume contains an
alphabetical listing of broad subject areas which indicates a particular
volume and a numeric designation for that subject area. A very detailed
master index is also included to provide access to individual standards
by subject.
SAE. Society of Automotive Engineers
The SAE Handbook is a 3 volume set of standards,
recommended practices, and technical reports pertaining to the automotive
industry. Each volume contains a complete subject and numerical index.
SMACNA. Sheet Metal and Air-Conditioning Contractors'
National Association
The standards published by SMACNA pertain to the construction
and installation of heating, and air-conditioning systems and the materials
associated with such systems. WL contains five volumes of SMACNA standards,
each cataloged separately:
REF. TH7011.I58 1981 - Installation Standards for Heating,
Air-Conditioning and Solar Systems.
REF. TH7683.D8 L69 1984 - Low Pressure Duct Construction
Standards.
REF. TH7683.D8H5 1984 - High Pressure Duct Construction
Standards.
REF. TH7683.D8F5 1983 - Fibrous Glass Duct Construction
Standards.
REF. TH7583.D8R6 1984 - Industrial Duct Construction
Standards.
These volumes are not indexed but each contains a very detailed
table of contents providing subject access to the individual standards.
|