RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

Writing in Engineering and Science

RIT Libraries own many books that will help you with the writing process in the areas of engineering and science. Consult the following list as a start. Clicking on the call number will take you to the book's record in the library catalog to see whether the book is available. For the electronic books listed, merely click on the book title to be taken to the full-text of the book.


Print Books

book jacket

PE1475.T53 1988
Effective writing for engineers, managers, scientists
Tichy, H. J. and Fourdrinier, Sylvia
Appendix B concentrates on problem words and phrases.


book jacket

T10.5.H57 2000
The essence of technical communication for engineers: writing, presentation, and meeting skills
Hirsch, Herbert L.
Also available electronically; see below.


book jacket

T10.5.H57 2003
Essential communication strategies for scientists, engineers, and technology professionals
Hirsch, Herbert L.
This second edition of The essence of technical communication for engineers is also available electronically; see below.


book jacket

T11.B37 2002
Scientists must write: a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students
Barrass, Robert
Chapters on choosing words, using words, and using numbers and illustrations effectively.


book jacket

T11.B396 2004
A guide to writing as an engineer
Beer, David F. and McMurrey, David A.
This second edition contains a new chapter on ethics in engineering writing.


book jacket

T11.B733 1989 c.2
Engineering report writing
Brown, John F.
Written primarily for students needing assistance writing engineering lab reports.


book jacket

T11.B83 2001
Engineers' guide to technical writing
Budinski, Kenneth G.
Lots of examples of writing throughout the book.


book jacket

T11.F53 2008
Pocket book of technical writing for scientists and engineers
Finkelstein, Leo, Jr.
Complete with many examples and exercises to illustrate concepts, this little book is packed with practical information about writing everything from process descriptions to progress reports.


book jacket

T11.H255 2003
Ideas into words: mastering the craft of science writing
Hancock, Elise
Gives practical advise on scientific writing.
Also available electronically; see below.


book jacket

T11.K54 2005
Good style: writing for science and technology
Kirkman, John
This second edition contains such chapters as sentence length, fashionable words, and verb tense in scientific writing.


book jacket

T11.M418 1990
How to write and publish engineering papers and reports
Michaelson, Herbert B.
Very much a "how to" book with chapters on such topics as: how to submit to a journal and how to write so as to avoid ethical issues.


book jacket

T11.R663 2005
Spring into technical writing for engineers and scientists
Rosenberg, Barry J.
Covers the mechanics of writing and how to write specific types of documents.


book jacket

T11.S263 1995
Style for students :effective writing in science and engineering
Schall, Joe
A very practical book on writing developed out of a tutor's work with students.


book jacket

T11.S55 2000
Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports
Silyn-Roberts, Heather
A very basic book on writing written with graduate students in mind.


book jacket

T11.V55 1996
Engineering your writing success: how engineers can master effective on-the-job communication skills
Vincler, James E. and Vincler, Nancy H.
Demonstrates how to prepare reports, proposals, memos, procedures, and data sheets.


book jacket

T11.W44
The writing system for engineers and scientists
Weiss, Edmond H.
Emphasizes the strategy behind why engineers and scientists write and why there must be a system to follow.


book jacket

T11.W66 1988
Effective writing strategies for engineers and scientists
Woolston, Donald C., Robinson, Patricia A. and Kutzbach, Gisela
In addition to standard writing techniques and strategies, this book includes a chapter on legal issues in writing.


book jacket

T11.W75 2003
Writing and speaking in the technology professions: a practical guide
Beer, David F., IEEE Professional Communication Society and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
This second edition anthology contains articles originally published in the IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication.


book jacket

T11.Z62 2004
Writing for computer science
Zobel, Justin
This second edition places a stronger emphasis on research methods while still covering writing and editing.


Electronic Books


book jacket

The essence of technical communication for engineers: writing, presentation, and meeting skills
Hirsch, Herbert L.


book jacket

Essential communication strategies for scientists, engineers, and technology professionals, second edition
Hirsch, Herbert L.
This is the second edition of The essence of technical communication for engineers.


book jacket

Ideas into words: mastering the craft of science writing
Hancock, Elise
Gives practical advise on scientific writing.

 

Want More?

Older editions or newer editions and new titles may not be represented on this guide. To locate additional library materials on Writing in Engineering and Science, search for the following subjects in the RIT Library catalog:

Communication in engineering
Communication in science
Communication of technical information
Communication of technical information -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Report writing
Technical writing
Technical writing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc

 

Page maintained by: Linette Koren