This guide lists all periodicals (magazines, journals, newsletters, bulletins) for film, video, and related imaging systems currently received at RIT Library. Periodicals from related disciplines that frequently carry articles about film and video are also included here. General interest magazines that feature substantial reviews of current films are listed separately, after the film and video titles. Film and video periodicals that have ceased publication, creative directories, and annuals are omitted from this list. RIT Library's holdings of these titles can be found by consulting "Einstein," the on-line library catalog. Periodicals primarily devoted to still photography are listed in a separate guide, "Current Periodicals: Photography". "Creative Directories for the Commercial Arts" provides a listing of current titles received at RIT Library.
Publication frequency, local holdings, and location at RIT Library are given for each title. The location of back issues and current issues are given on the first line of each entry. These abbreviations have been used to show the location of current and earlier issues:
CMS Current Magazine Shelves--First floor Current__Only Library retains only issues from the time specified Film Microfilm--Micro-VIA Area--Second floor INDEX Index Shelves--Reference Area--First floor OVER PER Bound Periodicals--Oversize section--Second floor PER Bound Periodicals--Second floor RARE Special Collections--Archives and Special Collections--Third floor RESD Reserve Desk--First floorIf a title is regularly indexed by any of the indexing and abstracting services currently available at RIT Library, this information is given in the entry. The abbreviations used for each service are listed in the first section of the guide, "Indexing and Abstracting Services."
The periodical holdings of other local libraries are given in the RRLC Union List of Serials, available at the Reference Desk. Copies of periodical articles from these and other libraries can be requested through RIT Library's Document Delivery Service. Interlibrary loan requests can be made electronically by selecting option 7, "Interlibrary Loan Request Form," from the RIT Library Text menu or under Library Services on the RIT Library Web Page. Paper interlibrary loan forms are available at the Reference Desk.
Periodicals are listed alphabetically by title in each section. A subject index to the collection is given at the end of the guide.
Film Literature Index. Vol. 1- , 1973- . Quarterly.
Print format issues: INDEX PN1993.F52.
Abbreviated as FLI.
Imaging Abstracts. 1988- . Bi-monthly.
[Previous title: Photographic Abstracts. Vol. 1-67, 1921-1987].
Print issues: INDEX TR1.P72.
Table.
Abbreviated as IA.
International Film Archive. 1982- . Annual.
Electronic format: Reference CD-ROM Area.
International Index to Film Periodicals.
Print format back issues: INDEX PN1993.I7. 1972-93.
International Index to Television Periodicals.
Print format back issues: INDEX PN1992.I57. 1979-82.
Abbreviated as IFA.
Photohistorica: Literature Index of the European Society for the History of
Photography. 1978- . Irregular.
Print issues: INDEX TR15.P46.
Abbreviated as PH.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts. 1983 - . Monthly.
Print issues: INDEX TA1.A66 1958-1990. Annual cumulations.
Abbreviated as ASTA.
Art Full Text. 1984 - . Monthly.
Electronic format
http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
Print issues: INDEX N1.A68. Vol.1-61. 1929-1991. Annual cumulations.
Abbreviated as ART.
Biological Abstracts. Vol. 51- , 1971-1996 . Semi-monthly.
Print issues: INDEX QH310.B37.
Abbreviated as BIOL.
Humanities Abstracts. 1984 -. Monthly.
Print issues: INDEX AI3.H85 v.1-21 1974/1975 - 1994.
Abbreviated as HUM.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. 1983 -. Monthly.
Print issues: INDEX AI3.R4 v.1-54 1900-1994.
Abbreviated as READ.
OVER PER TR640.A2 / CMS
Afterimage. Vol. 1- , 1972- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, FLI, IFA.
/CMS
Animation Magazine Vol. 12- , 1998- .
PER TR845.A55 and Film 818 / CMS
American Cinematographer. Vol. 14- , 1933- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA, PH.
PER N1.A814 / RESD
Artforum. Vol. 2- , 1963- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI.
Film 1548 / RESD
Billboard. Vol 97- , 1985- . Weekly.
Film 101 / CMS
Broadcast Engineering. Vol. 14- , 1972- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL.
Film 188 / CMS
Broadcasting and Cable. Current 5 Years Only. Weekly. Indexed by CARL.
PER PN1993.C25 / CMS
Cahiers du Cinema. No. 212- , 1970- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.C36 / CMS
Camera Obscura. No. 1- , 1976- . Irregular. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.C56 and Film 1203 / CMS
Cineaste. Vol. 4- , 1970- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.S62 / CMS
Cinema Journal. Vol. 12- , 1972- . Semi-annual. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI,
IFA.
PER PN1993.5.A8C56 / CMS
Cinema Papers. No. 9- , 1976- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by FLI, IFA.
CMS
Cinema Technology. Current Year Only. Quarterly. Indexed by FLI.
PER NC997.A1C2 / RESD
Communication Arts. Vol. 1- , 1959- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ART, CARL.
PER T385.C558 / RESD
Computer Graphics World. Vol. 6- , 1983- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL
Film 1780 / CMS
Discourse. Vol. 16- , 1993- . 3 isues/year. Indexed by CARL, FLI.
Film 1219 / CMS
Educational Media International. 1980- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL.
Film 1219 / CMS
Emmy. Vol. 1- , 1979- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by CARL, IFA.
Film 1219 / CMS
Film Comment. Vol. 1- , 1962- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.F4183 / CMS
Film Criticism. Vol. 4- , 1979- . 3 issues/year. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
Film 768 / CMS
Film Culture. No. 1- , 1955- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.F443 / CMS Film History. Vol.7- , 1995- . Quarterly. Inedexed by CARL, FLI.
Film 369 / CMS
Film Quarterly. Vol. 6- , 1951- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
Film 369 / CMS
Films in Review. Vol. 22- , 1971- . Monthly. Indexed by ART, CARL,FLI, IFA.
PER NX513.A1F88 / CMS
Fuse. Vol. 4, no. 2- , 1980- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by CARL.
PER PN1993.5.A1H56 / CMS
Historical Journal of Film, Radio, and Television. Vol. 1- , 1981- .
Quarterly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.H63 / CMS
Hollywood Reporter. Current 5 Years Only. Daily.
PER T385.I18 / RESD
IEEE Computer Graphics and Applications. Vol. 1- , 1981- . Bi-monthly.
Indexed by ASTA, CARL.
PER TK6561.I2 and Film 1140 / CMS
IEEE Transactions on Broadcasting. Vol. 1- , 1955- . Quarterly. Indexed by
ASTA, CARL.
PER TR1.I47 / RESD
Image. Vol. 1- , 1952- . Semi-annual. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI.
PER TR845.B75 / CMS
Image Technology: Journal of the BKSTS [British Kinematography, Sound, and
Television Society]. Vol. 68- , 1986- . Monthly. Indexed by IA, PH.
PER PN1993.I617 / CMS
Independent. Vol. 5- , 1982- . Monthly. Indexed by FLI.
PER PN 1995.9 .D6 I58 / CMS
International Documentary. Vol. 9 - , 1990- .Indexed by FLI.
PER TR1.G35 / CMS
International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House Newsletter.
Vol. 7- , 1985- . Bi-monthly.
PER TR1.I65 / CMS
International Photographer. Vol. 6- , 1934- . Monthly.
Film 597 / CMS
Journal of Audiovisual Media in Medicine. Vol. 1- , 1978- . Quarterly.
Indexed by BIOL.
PER TR1.B5 and Film 792 / CMS
Journal of Biological Photography. Vol. 1- , 1932- . Quarterly. Indexed by
BIOL.
Film 110 / CMS
Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media. Vol. 15- , 1970- . Quarterly.
Indexed by CARL, HUM, IFA.
PER P87.J6 and Film 957 / CMS
Journal of Communication. Vol. 1- , 1951- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL, FLI,
HUM, IFA.
PER PN1993.J67 and Film 1120 / CMS
Journal of Film and Video. Vol. 23- , 1971- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL,
FLI, IFA.
Film 595 / CMS
Journal of Popular Culture. Vol. 1- , 1967- . Quarterly. Indexed CARL, FLI,
HUM.
Film 691 / CMS
Journal of Popular Film and Television. Vol. 1- , 1972- . Quarterly. Indexed
by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN4700.J7 / CMS
Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly. Vol. 18- , 1941- . Quarterly.
Indexed by HUM.
OVER PER PN1993.J85 / CMS
Jump Cut. No. 3- , 1974- . Semi-annual. Indexed CARL, FLI, IFA.
Film 874 / CMS
Literature Film Quarterly. Vol. 1- , 1973- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL,
FLI, HUM, IFA.
PER NC997.A1L86 / CMS
Lurzer's International Archive. 1987- . Bi-monthly.
Film 858 / CMS
Media and Methods. Vol. 6- , 1969- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL.
PER TR845.M54 / CMS
Millimeter. Vol. 9- , 1981- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER HD9697.P563U55 / CMS
Mix. Vol. 11- , 1987- . Monthly.
PER NX1.O25 / CMS
October. No. 2- , 1977- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI.
PER TR1.P2 and Film 509 / CMS
Photo Electronic Imaging. Vol. 1- , 1958- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL.
PER TR1.P618 / CMS
Photo Marketing. Current 5 Years Only. Monthly.
Current Year Only / CMS
Photo Trade News. Monthly.
PER TR1.P462 / RESD
Le Photographe. No. 1311- , 1975- . Monthly. Indexed by PH.
Film 1070 / CMS
Popular Photography. Vol. 1- 1937- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, PH, READ.
Film 1789 / CMS
Premiere. Vol. 3- , 1990- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 1789 / CMS
Quarterly Review of Film and Video: QRFV. Vol. 2- , 1977- . Quarterly.
Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.S56 / CMS
Sight and Sound. Vol. 33- , 1963- . Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CARL, FLI, IFA
PER TR845.S6 and Film 444 / CMS
SMPTE [Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers] Journal. Vol. 14-,
1930- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, IA, PH.
Film 99 / CMS
Tech Trends. Vol. 1- , 1956- . Bi-monthly. Indexed by CARL.
OVER PER PN1992.5.B76 / CMS
Television Broadcast. Current 5 Years Only. Monthly.
Film 1445 / CMS
Variety. Vol. 310- , 1983- . Weekly. Indexed by FLI, IFA.
PER PN1993.V44 / CMS
Velvet Light Trap. No. 10- , 1973- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, IFA.
PER TK6630.A1V49 / CMS
Video. Current 5 Years Only. Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CARL.
CMS
Video Review. Current Year Only. Quarterly. Indexed by ART, CARL.
CMS
Video Systems. Current Year Only. Monthly.
Film 1229 / CMS
Videography. Current 5 Years Only. Monthly. Indexed by CARL, FLI.
PER GN347.S85 / CMS
Visual Anthropology Review. Vol. 7- , 1991- . Semi-annual.
PER PN1993.W598 / CMS
Wide Angle. Vol. 2- , 1977- . Quarterly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, IFA.
Film 277 / CMS
Commentary. Vol. 1- , 1945- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, HUM.
PER AP2.C6897 and Film 267 / CMS
Commonweal. Vol. 61- , 1954- . Bi-weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 282 / CMS
Nation. Vol. 1- , 1865- . Weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 164 / CMS
National Review. Vol. 1- , 1955- . Bi-weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 403 / CMS
New Leader. Vol. 56- , 1973- . Bi-weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 1420 / CMS
New Republic. Vol. 1- , 1914- . Weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
PER F128.1.N4 / Film 1112 / CMS
New York. Vol. 1- , 1968- . Weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 4000 / RESD
New York Times. Vol. 1- , 1851- . Daily. Indexed by FLI
Film 1023 / CMS
New Yorker. Vol. 1- , 1925- . Weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 831 / RESD
Newsweek. Vol. 1- , 1933- . Weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 233 / CMS
Progressive. Vol. 32- , 1968- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, READ.
Film 981 / RESD
Rolling Stone. No. 1- , 1967- . Bi-weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 824 / RESD
Time. Vol. 1- , 1923- . Weekly. Indexed by CARL, FLI, READ.
Film 1439 / CMS
Village Voice. Vol. 28- , 1983- . Weekly. Indexed by FLI.
PER TT500.V7 and Film 1409 / RESD
Vogue. Vol. 1- , 1892- . Monthly. Indexed by CARL, READ.