RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

A Guide to Employment Sources in the Wallace Library for Students Contemplating Graphic Arts Careers

printable .pdf version

INTERNET

Internet terminals
A comprehensive U.S. Telephone Directory may be accessed through the Wallace Library Web Page (http://wally.rit.edu/) under Databases/Internet/Resources/General. Telephone Directories are available for reference.                                               

<http://careers.yahoo.com> Use this Internet address to get to one of the best listings of job bank services on the World Wide Web. Most of these services allow the user to narrow a job search to printing and publishing-related categories.                                               

<http://www.napl.org/> This address gets you to a job search service tailored to the printing industry. It is sponsored by the National Association of Printers and Lithographers from whose home page the user can get to a number of other interesting sites.                                               

<http://www.gain.net> Graphic Arts Information Network. It is the home page of GATF (Graphic Arts Technical Foundation) and PIA (Printing Industries Of America). The most comprehensive printing site on the web with information on employment, industry status, education and training resources etc. Has links to other trade organizations, printing magazines, and printers. The employment section can be accessed directly at <http://www.gain.net/employment>.                                               

<http://www.gaes.com> Website of the Graphic Arts Employment Specialists, Inc. It has a comprehensive listing of positions related to print and print production from pre-press to post-production.

<http://www.printjobs.com> Website of Newhouse Associates, a firm of recruiters working within the framework of the Printing and Graphic Arts industry. The site has a large list of jobs available in the industry. Resumes can be uploaded free of charge and all jobs can be searched by specific categories.                                               

<http://www.ipst.edu> The home page for the Institute of Paper Science and Technology, a private graduate level educational institution which represents the pulp and paper manufacturing industry. Includes information on employment opportunities.                                                

A number of search engines are available on the World Wide Web, including Google (http://www.google.com) and All The Web (http://alltheweb.com), which permit browsers to sift through the vast number of web sites for those of specific interest to the user. The above mentioned sites have a very broad coverage of the web and outstanding relevancy. A general query like “printing,” for example, will turn up thousands of hits which can be narrowed down as needed. Other search engines include: MSN search (http://search.msn.com), Yahoo (http://www.yahoo.com), Lycos (http://www.lycos.com), Ask Jeeves (http://www.askjeeves.com), Wise Nut (http://www.wisenut.com), Alta Vista (http://altavista.com) and  Excite (http://www.excite.com)                                               

<http://dir.yahoo.com/business_and_Economy/Directories/> Allows the search of companies through categories, “printing” and “publishing”.                                               

Some  more suggested job sites are: Hire Skills (http://www.hireskills.com) and Career Builder (http://www.careerbuilder.com). 


KEY TO ABBREVIATIONS     

REF prefix in call number denotes Reference shelves.     
RESD prefix denotes Reserve Desk.
CMS denotes Current Magazine Shelves.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

REF Area, Guide Rack            
Bartlett, Margaret. Where to Find Company Information. Wallace Library.  

REF Area, Guide Rack   
Reynolds, Sarah. Guide for Finding General Career Information. Wallace Library.

REFERENCE AREA DIRECTORIES

RESD Z475.B56                         
Blue Book of Printing and Graphic Arts Buyers. Hinsdale, IL: A.F. Lewis & Co., 1997. (CD-ROM)
A listing of graphic arts buyers at major corporations, ad agencies, publishers, and graphic design firms.

REF Z477.B66                           
Book Publishing Career Directory. New York: Career Publishers Corp., 1990. Telephone: 1–800–career–1.

REF Z119.C3                             
Canadian Printer and Publisher Buyer’s Guide and Canadian Directory of Suppliers, 1999.
This is the January issue of the Canadian Printer and contains a listing of Canadian graphic arts industry suppliers. This is available in the Microfilm Area of the Library (2nd Floor) Library retains latest issue only.

REF Z243.A2.F543 1998           
Careers In Graphic Communications - A Resource Book. Pittsburgh, USA: GATF Press, 1998.
A good listing of opportunities existing in the Graphic Arts industry. Has job descriptions, required qualifications and skill sets along with an expected salary range. Contains list of web resources, addresses of print-related organisations and other useful information.

REF HD69.C6C647                   
Consultants & Consulting Organizations Directory. Detroit: Gale Research, 2003.
See sections: Graphics; Lithography; Printing; and Publishing. Library retains current edition only.

REF Z475.D644                         
Directory of Printers. Fairfield, Iowa: Ad-Lib Publications, 1994/95. Telephone: 1–800–669–6773

REF HF5381.D86                      
Dun’s Employment Opportunities Directory. Parsippany, N.J.: Dun’s Marketing Services, 2002.
Consultants listed by specialty. See “Printing,” for example.

REF HD9981.5.D85                   
Dun’s Directory of Service Companies. Parsippany, NJ: Dun’s Marketing Services, 2003.
Listings in “Businesses by Industry Classification” (SIC 2700-2799). Look under Printing, Publishing and Allied industries and also Paper and Allied products. Library retains current edition only.   

REF P88.8G4a                           
Gebbie Press All-In-One Directory. New Paltz, N.Y.: Gebbie Press, 2003.
Includes addresses of newspapers, magazines, and other media.

REF Z475.P83                            
Graphic Arts Blue Books. New York: AF Lewis & Co., 2001.
Regional volumes issued annually for Metropolitan New York; Northeastern; Delaware Valley-Ohio; Southeastern; and West Coast regions. Contain comprehensive listings of graphics arts suppliers. The Midwestern region edition may be found under Z475.G76. Library retains current editions only.

REF Z249.G69                           
Graphic Arts Directory. Glendale, Calif.: Printing Equipment News, 2001.
Lists printing companies, suppliers, and equipment sources in Los Angeles and Orange County, California. Library retains current edition only.

REF Z244.6.U5G738 1994  
Gravure Association of America Membership Directory. Rochester, NY: GAA, 1994. 

REF Z475.W74
Guide to Women Book Publishers in the US for 1990. Los Angeles: Clothespin Fever Press, 1990.

online directory         
International Literary Marketplace. New York: R.R. Bowker, 1999
Lists book manufacturers.

PER Z119.G867                  
Japan Graphic Arts. Tokyo. Japan Printing News Co., 2001.
Yellow pages in back of volume list Japanese printers and printing machinery companies.

REF/RESD HF5382.5U5C622      
Job Choices … Planning. Bethelem, Penn.: College Placement Council, 2003.
Outlines strategies for finding employment, including how to research companies and tips on resumé writing. Includes a page with contact information about RR Donnelley & Sons, the world’s largest printing company.

online directory                        
Literary Market Place. New York: RR Bowker, 1999.
Features a directory of book manufacturing firms, including printers and binders. Library retains current edition only.

online directory                        
Million Dollar Directory. Bethlehem, PA.: Dun’s Marketing Service, 2001.
Lists companies alphabetically, geographically, and by industry.

REF HF5382.5.U5N34              
National Job Bank. Holbrook, Mass.: Bob Adams, 2001. Library retains current edition only.

REF Z471.P3 2001                      
Opportunities in Publishing Careers. Lincolnwood, IL., USA : VGM Career Horizons, 2001.
Includes information on book publishing, newspaper publishing, and magazine publishing.

REF HF5381.v45no.25 1998      
Opportunities in Printing Careers. Lincolnwood, IL., USA: VGM  Career Horizons, 1998.
Contains comprehensive information on the various type of jobs available in the Printing Industry. Also has a listing of printing related organisations, publications and academic programs. A useful chapter on Job Search is also included. Also refer to Opportunities in Publishing Careers (no.22) and Opportunities in Desktop Publishing Careers (no. 53) in the same series.

REF Z244.6.G7 P75                   
Print Buyers Directory. London: British Printing Industries Foundation, 1992.
Addresses of printing, print supplies and finishing companies in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Also provides employment summaries.

REF Z244.6.U5P733                  
Printing Industry Gold Book. Philadelphia, PA: North American Pub. Co., 2001.

REF Z327.P7                              
Printing Trades Directory. London: Printing Trades Journal, 1999.
Includes printers in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Library retains current edition only.

REF Z244.6.U5P75                    
Printmarkets. Stamford, Conn.: Printmarkets company, 1994.
Includes “Master List of US Printers.” Telephone: 1–800–275–7107.

REF Z120.R47R42                     
Research and Engineering Council of the Graphic Arts Industry Membership Roster. Landover Hills, Maryland: R & E Council, 2001. Library retains current edition only.

PER Z286.E43S52                    
Seybold Report Vendor Directory. Media, Penn.: Seybold Publications, 1997.
International list of suppliers for publishing systems including electronic publishing.

RESD Z244.5.S637                    
1997 Source Book for Graphic Arts Industry Information. Alexandria, Va.: Graphic Arts Marketing Information Service (GAMIS),PIA, 1997.
This book features a listing of over 1,600 international firms that provide print market data, market segment information, abstracting services, etc. It also includes listings of industry associations, trade unions, and suppliers.

RESD Z244.6.U5A17                 
Statistical Handbook for the Graphic Arts Industry. Alexandria, Va.: Graphic Arts Marketing Information Service (GAMIS), PIA, 2000.
This book features 650 pages of vital data on market segment growth, trends, forecasts, and analysis. It includes forecast data for the paper, printing, and publishing industries, state-by-state industry market analysis, details on specific print markets, advertising and media trends, and international printing industry statistics.

REF HF5382.5.U5C337             
VGM’s Career Encyclopedia. Lincolnwood, IL.: VGM Career Horizons, 1991.
Includes chapters on graphic design, and book, magazine, and newspaper publishing.

REF TT273.S339                       
Screenprinting and Graphic Imaging Association International Annual Membership Directory. Virginia: Screen Printing Association International, 1997. Library retains current edition only.

REF Z119.T42                            
Technology Forecast (GATF).
An annual supplement of GATF World. It contains information on current and future technology trends in the Graphic Arts. Library retains old and current issues.

REF HF294.W75 2002              
World Chamber of Commerce Directory. Loveland, Colo.: World Chamber of Commerce Inc., 2002. Library retains current edition only.

REF Z6951.W6 2003                 
Working Press of the Nation Directories. Bulington, Iowa: National Research Inc., 2003.
These directories come in the following three volumes: Newspaper Directory, Magazines & Newsletters Directory, and TV & Radio Directory. Contains addresses, contact numbers, ownership details and other information on the related firms. Library retains current edition only.

SALARIES

RESD HF5439.P7M372             
Marketing Information. Reston, Va.: NPES, the Association for Suppliers of Printing and Publishing Technologies, 2001.
In addition to industry production and financial data, contains information on employment and wages. 

ALSO USEFUL

REF HF5382.A15 2001             
25 Jobs That Have It All. Chicago. IL, USA: Ferguson Publishing Co.
Lists “Graphic Designers” as one of the jobs. There is useful information on job overview, requirements, job outlook, employers etc.

REF HF5383.A273 1996           
Adam’s Resume Almanac & Disk. Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA: Adam’s Media Corporation.
Tips on writing resumes and cover letters. Has samples of over 600 resumes covering a variety of jobs including those for the Printing and Publishing Industry.

REF HF5549.5.C67 P58            
The Almanac Of American Employers 2000-2001. Houston, Texas, USA: Plunkett Research Ltd.
Gives an outlook of the Print and Publishing Industry along with the top employers in the field, their growth, salaries and wages etc.

REF HF5415.1.U8 2001            
US Market Trends & Forecasts, Second Edition. Gale Group.
Contains vital statistics and trend forecasts on Printing, paper and allied industries.

JOURNALS WITH EMPLOYMENT SECTIONS

CMS                                       
Editor and Publisher. (Weekly)

CMS                                       
Printweek. (Weekly, United Kingdom)

CMS                                       
Package Printing. (Monthly)

CMS
Presstime. (Monthly)

CMS                                       
Print-Equip News. (Monthly. Covers West Coast of U.S.)

CMS                                       
Printing Impressions. (Monthly)

CMS                                       
Printing News. (Weekly)

CMS                                      
Printing World (Monthly, United Kingdom)

CMS                                       
Professional Printer (Bimonthly)

[DAVID PANKOW, 2002] 

[VIKAAS GUPTA, 2002]