Typography and Type Design
Periodicals
The following is a list of RIT Library's current subscriptions to graphic
design periodicals. The holdings, location of current and back issues, and
frequency of publication are given for each title. "CMS" indicates current
issues are kept on the Current Magazine Shelves on the second floor of the
library. "RESD" indicates current issues are kept at the Reserve Desk, also
on the first floor. Consult the "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to find
information about periodicals that have ceased publication but may still be
useful for research. Older issues are housed in the bound periodicals area
on the second floor at the call numbers given (PER) or are kept on microfilm
(Film) in the Micro-VIA Area, also on the second floor.
GRAPHIC DESIGN
PER TS 171 .A1 A8
@ Issue. Quarterly.
PER NC 5813.A3
Adbusters. Bi-monthly. Vol.8, 2000 - .
PER NC1800.A38
Affiche. 3 issues/year. No. 1- , 1992- . CMS.
PER NC997.A1A43
AIGA [American Institute of Graphic Arts] Journal of Graphic Design.
Quarterly. Vol. 2- , 1984- . CMS.
PER NC997.A1A66
Applied Arts Magazine. Bi-monthly. Vol. 1- , 1986- . CMS.
PER NK1160.A98
Azure. Bi-monthly. Vol. 11- , 1994- . CMS.
PER NA1.B583
Blueprint. Monthly. No. 87- , 1992- . CMS.
PER NC997.A1C2
Communication Arts. Bi-monthly. Vol. 1- , 1959- . RESD.
PER NC991.A1C7184
Creative Review. Monthly. Vol. 12- , 1992- . CMS.
PER TA175.D38 and Film 754
Design. Quarterly. No. 189- , 1973- . CMS.
PER T385.D475
Design Graphics. Bi-monthly. No. 9- , 1995- . CMS.
PER NK1160.D43
Design Issues. Semi-annual. Vol. 1- , 1984- . CMS.
Also available Full-Text from: Academic
Search Elite
PER TS171.4.D486
Design Management Journal. Quarterly. Vol. 6- , 1995- 2002.
As of 2003, available Full-Text through:
ABI Inform, 2001-
Wilson OmniFile, 2002-
PER NK1458.A1D432
Designmatters.. Quarterly. Fall 2003, no. 3 - CMS.
PER NC997.A1E93
Eye. Quarterly. Vol. 2- , 1992- . CMS.
PER NC997.A1G72
Graphic Design USA. Monthly. Vol. 16- , 1981- . CMS.
PER N8.G73/Film 1340
Graphis. Bi-monthly. Vol. 1- , 1944- . CMS.
PER NC1000.H68
How. Bi-monthly. Vol. 1- , 1985- . CMS.
PER TS1.I515/Film 819
ID: Magazine of International Design. Bi-monthly. Vol. 1- , 1979- .
CMS.
PER NC997.A1A42
Idea. Bi-monthly. No. 13- , 1955- . CMS.
PER NK1160.I53
Information Design Journal. Quarterly. Vol. 1- , 1979-2002
As of 2003, available Full-Text through
ABI/Inform 2001 - present.
Wilson Omnifile 2002- present.
PER NK1160.J68
Journal of Decorative and Propaganda Arts. Semi-annual. No. 1- , 1986-
. CMS
PER NK1160.J685
Journal of Design History. Quarterly. Vol. 1- , 1988- . CMS.
PER NC998.5.A1M48
Messages. Quarterly. CMS.
OVER PER N6535.N5M47
Metropolis. Monthly. Vol. 1- , 1981- . CMS.
PER NC997.A1G4
Novum das Forum fur Kommunikations-Design. Monthly. 1997- . CMS.
PER Z119.P8985/Film 1217
Print. Bi-monthly. Vol. 1- , 1940- . CMS.
PER NK1457.A1S347
Scandinavian Journal of Design History. Vol. 1- , 1991- . Annual.
Also available Full-Text: Art Full-Text.
1998- .
PER NC997.A1S73
Step-Inside Design. Bi-monthly. Vol. 18, no. 4- , 2002 - . CMS.
ADVERTISING
Film 8
Advertising Age. Weekly. Vol. 31- , 1960- . CMS.
Also availalbe Full-Text: Academic
Search Elite: 1996 - .
PER NC997.A1A684
Art Direction. Monthly. Vol. 9- , 1957- . CMS.
PER NC997.A1L86
Lurzer's Int'l Archive. Bi-monthly. 1987- . CMS.
TYPOGRAPHY AND PRINTING
Current Year Only
APHA [American Printing History Association] Newsletter. Bi-monthly.
CMS.
Cary Library
Base Line. Irregular. No. 1- , 1979- . Cary Library.
PER Z119.E54
Emigre Magazine. Quarterly. No. 26- , 1993- . CMS.
PER Z124.A5P7
Printing History. Semi-annual. Vol. 1- , 1979- . CMS.
PER Z119.T9955
Typografische Monatsblatter: TM. Monthly. Vol. 71- , 1952- . CMS.
PER Z119.J88/Film 1048
Visible Language. Quarterly. Vol. 1- , 1967- . CMS.
Also available Full-Text from Research
Library. 2000 -.
ANNUALS AND YEARBOOKS
Annuals and yearbooks provide a pictorial overview of the year's work in
commercial graphics (chosen by editors or a jury). The geographical and media
coverage of titles listed here varies, but all include print media of some
type--advertising in magazines and newspapers, package design, book illustration,
posters. Many include television and film graphics, corporate identity systems,
and environmental graphics. Each volume has indexes to the people and organizations
responsible for the work shown--graphic and type designers, illustrators,
photographers, art directors, advertising agencies, and clients. Unfortunately,
there is not cumulative index to these publications, so each volume of each
title must be searched. Several publications regularly feature lengthy articles
on notable designers (AIGA Graphic Design USA, Art Directors Annual,
and Penrose Annual).
RARE NC998.5.A1A37
AIGA Graphic Design USA: The Annual of the American Institute of Graphic
Arts. New York: Watson-Guptill. WL has: 1980-Date.
RARE NC998.5.A1A43
American Illustration. New York: American Illustration. WL has: 1982/1983-Date.
RARE NC998.5.A1A44
American Illustration Showcase. New York: American Showcase Inc. WL
has: 1978-Date.
NC997.A1A69
Art Directors Annual. New York: ADC Publications. WL has: 1922-Date.
HG4028.B2B43
Best in Annual Reports. New York: RC Publications. WL has: 1975-Date.
RARE NC998.6.G7D47
British Design and Art Direction: D & AD. London: Designers and Art
Directors Association of London. WL has: 1988-Date.
PER NC997.A1C2
CA Advertising Annual. Palo Alto: Coyne & Blanchard, Inc. WL has 1980-Date.
(December issue of Communication Arts, bound with rest of volume)
PER NC997.A1C2
CA Design Annual. Palo Alto: Coyne & Blanchard, Inc. WL has: 1980-Date.
(November issue of Communication Arts, bound with rest of volume)
PER NC997.A1C2
CA Illustration Annual. Palo Alto: Coyne & Blanchard, Inc. WL has:
1981-Date. (July issue of Communication Arts, bound with rest of volume)
RARE NC997.A1C73
Creativity. New York: Advertising Trade Publications. WL has: 1971-Date.
RARE NC998.6.E87E9
European Illustration. London: Polygon Publishing. WL has: 1975/1976-1991.
RARE NC997.A1G7
Graphic Arts Awards Annual. Arlington, VA: Printing Industries of America.
WL has: 1984-1994.
RARE NC991.A1G684
Graphic Design in Japan. Tokyo: Kodansha International. WL has: 1982-Date.
RARE NC997.A1G794
Graphis Advertising. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1995-Date.
RARE NC997.A1G737
Graphis Annual Reports. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1988-Date.
RARE Z116.A3 G72
Graphis Book Design. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1995-Date.
RARE NC997.A1G7282
Graphis Brochures. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1994-Date.
RARE NC1003.G72
Graphis Corporate Identity. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1989-Date.
RARE NC997.A1G73
Graphis Design Annual. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1953/ 1952-Date
(incomplete).
NC997.A1G7284
Graphis Ephemera. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1995-Date.
RARE NC1003.G724
Graphis Letterhead. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1991-Date.
RARE NC1002.L63G72
Graphis Logo. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1991-Date.
RARE NC997.A1G7286
Graphis Paper Promotions. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1994-Date.
RARE NC1800.G7
Graphis Posters. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1973-Date.
RARE Z253.5.G727
Graphis Publication. Zurich: Graphis Press. WL has: 1992-Date.
RARE NC991.I4
Illustration in Japan. Tokyo: Kodansha International. WL has: v.1-3.
RARE NC975.A1I5
Illustrators: The Annual of American Illustration. New York: Hasting
House for the Society of Illustrators. WL has: 1965-Date.
RARE NC1001.5.O53
The One Show. New York: One Club for Art and Copy. WL has: 1970-Date.
RARE TR925.P4
Penrose Annual: International Review of the Graphic Arts. London: Northwood
Publications. WL has: 1896-1982.
PER Z119.P8985
Print's Regional Design Annual. New York: RC Publications. WL has:
1983-Date.
RARE and OVER HF5813.I8P8
Pubblicia in Italia=Advertising in Italy. Milan: Ufficio Moderno. WL
has: 1961/1962-1983/1984 (incomplete).
RARE NC975.P82
Publication Design. New York: Society of Publication Designers. WL
has: 1978-Date (incomplete).
RARE Z243.A2T9a
Typography: The Annual of the Type Directors' Club. New York: Watson-Guptill.
WL has: 1980-Date.
Cary Collection
The Melbert B. Cary, Jr. Graphic Arts Collection housed on the second floor
of the library includes examples of the work of major artists in the fields
of book design, book illustration, and typography. Materials in the collection
include books, periodicals, typeface catalogs, type specimens, and posters.
All are available for supervised use in the Cary Collection reading room.
Media Resource Center
Among the resources of the MRC collection housed on the basement (A) level
of the library are slides illustrating the work of contemporary and historically
important graphic designers and illustrators, a series of videotaped interviews
with major contemporary artists in the field, and a work station for the interactive
videodisc Graphic Design Archive. Viewing facilities are located on the premises
and many materials in the collection are available for loan.
Special Collections
The RIT Library Special Collections, located on the third floor of the library,
includes a variety of primary source materials available for supervised use
in the Archives and Special Collections reading room. The collection includes
almost two thousand posters
dating from 1900 through the 1970s, many designed or illustrated by major
graphic artists from this period such as A.M. Cassandre, Jean Carlu, Ludwig
Hohlwein, and James Montgomery Flagg. The collection also includes long runs
of key twentieth century periodicals
among them Fortune, Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, and Avant
Garde, and archives
of personal papers and business records of ten important twentieth century
graphic designers, among them Lester Beall, Will Burtin, William Golden, George
Giusti, Cipe Pineles, and Ladislav Sutnar.
Annual Report File
RIT Library receives annual reports from most of the Fortune 500 companies,
top service industry companies, and major local firms. These are housed on
the third floor of the library at the top of the central staircase. The file
provides an excellent survey of contemporary corporate design by many major
American firms and is also a useful resource for tracing historical changes
in package, logo, and trademark design.
Maintained by Kari Horowicz.