This guide lists a selection of recent books, periodicals, and other library materials about the health and safety of visual and performing artists. Among the topics addressed in these works are illnesses caused by art materials, the contents of art supplies and their effects on the body, proper handling of art materials, selection and use of equipment to prevent illness and injury, and the design of studios, classrooms, and other work environments to minimize dangers to artworkers, performers, and students. The guide also includes suggestions for finding more information about these topics in printed and electronic form. A brief listing of local organizations that assist visual and performing artists in the Rochester area with health- and safety-related issues and problems is presented in the last section of the guide.
R963.6.A78C43 1990
Challis, Tim. Health and Safety: Making Art and Avoiding Dangers. Sunderland: An Publications, 1990.
Z244.7 .C482 1990
Challis, Tim. Printsafe: A Guide to Safe, Healthy and Green Printmaking. London: Estamp, 1990.
RESD TR 1.K639 no.J-52
Disposal of Small Volumes of Photographic Processing Solutions. Rochester, N.Y.: Eastman Kodak, 1986.
RC965.C43H43 1986
Health and Safety in Ceramics: A Guide for Educational Workshops and Studios. 2nd ed. New York: Pergamon Press, 1986.
REF RC963.6.A78H42 1970z
Health Hazards in the Arts and Crafts: Data Sheets. New York: Center for Safety in the Arts, 1970-Date.
One-to six-page pamphlets and journal reprints on a wide variety of health and safety issues for artists, museum workers, and theater workers.
NE2236.J65 1987
Johnson, Lois M., and Hester Stinnett. Water-based Inks: A Screenprinting Manual for Studio and Classroom. Philadelphia: Philadelphia College of the Arts, Printmaking Workshop, 1987.
RC963.6.A78M312 1992
McCann, Michael. Art Safety Procedures: A Health and Safety Manual for Art Schools and Art Departments. New York: Center for Safety in the Arts, 1992.
RC963.6.A78M32 1992
McCann, Michael. Artist Beware. 2nd ed. New York: Lyons and Burford, 1992.
RC963.6.A78M324 1994
McCann, Michael. Health Hazards Manual for Artists. 4th ed. New York, Lyons and Burford, 1994.
RC963.6.A78 M333 1994
McCann, Michael. School Safety Procedures for Art and Industrial Art Programs. New York: Center for Safety in the Arts, 1994.
TR560.M35 1989
Making Darkrooms Saferooms: A National Report on Occupational Health and Safety. Durham, N.C.: National Press Photographers Association, 1989.
Material Safety Data Sheets.
Material safety data sheets supplement information given on product labels. Contents
of the product and health and safety information (including Threshold Limit Values) for
use are given in the data sheets. They are available from the product's manufacturer.
RC963.6.A78 M42 1989
Medford, Marsha Kay. Respiratory Health Hazards of Artists in Their Studios. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms, 1989.
RC963.6.A78Q34 1986
Qualley, Charles A. Safety in the Artroom. Worcester, Mass.: Davis Publications, 1986.
REF RC 963.6.A78 R67 2001
Rossol, Monona. The Artist's Complete Health and Safety Guide. New York:
Allworth Press, 2001.
RC965.T54R67 1986
Rossol, Monona. Stage Fright: Health and Safety in the Theater. New York: Center for Occupational Hazards, 1986.
TR287.S48 1991
Shaw, Susan. Overexposure: Health Hazards in Photography. 2nd ed. New York: Allworth Press, 1991.
On Order
Spandorfer, Merle. Making Art Safely: Alternative Methods and Materials in
Drawing, Painting, Printmaking, Graphic Design, and Photography. New York:
Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996.
REF RC963.6.A78W344 1985
Waller, Julian A. Safe Practices in the Arts and Crafts: A Studio
Guide. New York: College Art Association of America, 1985.
REF RA1211.G5 1984
Gosselin, Robert E. Clinical Toxicology of Commercial Products. 5th ed.
Baltimore: Williams and Wilkins, 1984.
TH7392.M6A5 1982
Industrial Ventilation: A Manual of Recommended Practice. 17th ed. Cincinnati: American Conference of Government Industrial Hygienists, Committee on Industrial Ventilation, 1982.
REF T55.3.H3S3 1996
Lewis, Richard J. Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials.
9th ed. 3 vols. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996.
REF RC967.P37 1991
Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology. Vol. 2, Toxicology. 4th ed. New York: Wiley, 1991.
Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog, to find other books, conference proceedings, and reference sources about health hazards to visual artists:
| Artisans-Health and Hygiene | Jewelers-Supplies-Toxicology |
| Artists-Health and Hygiene | Jewelry-Trade-Safety Measures |
| Artists' Materials-Safety Measures | Photographers-Health and Hygiene |
| Artists' Materials-Toxicology | Photography-Developing and Developers-Health Aspects |
| Artists Studios-Safety Measures | Photography-Materials-Toxicology |
| Ceramic Industries-Hygenic aspects | Photography-Processing-Health Aspects |
| Ceramic Industries-Safety Measures | Photography-Safety Measures |
| Ceramic Materials-Toxicology | Photography-Studios and Darkrooms-Safety Measures |
| Decorative Arts-Safety Measures | Printing, Practical-Safety Measures |
| Handicraft-Materials-Toxicology | Printmakers-Health and Hygiene |
| Jewelers-Health and Hygiene |
Articles in professional journals, newsletters, magazines, and bulletins are the most current printed source of information about health issues and product safety. The following list is a representative selection of recent articles about health issues published in art periodicals.
PER N8530.A2
Art Hazards News. New York: Center for Occupational Hazards, 1978-1995.
Date. 5 issues/year. Covers "hazards, precautions, government regulations, lawsuits,
and other topics related to hazards in the visual and performing arts, museums,
and school art programs."
PER N6490.L42
Babin, Angela. "VDT Hazards in Art." Leonardo 23, no. 1 (1990): 127-128.
PER N6490.L42
Gupta, Sahlini; Michael McCann; and John Harrison. "Health Hazards in the Arts and Crafts
(Toxic Chemicals Commonly Found in Art Materials)." Leonardo 24, no. 5 (1991): 569-572.
PER NK3700.S86
[Health Hazards and the Potter: 10 Article Anthology]. Studio Potter 15 (June 1987): 19-90.
Film 1132
Karlen, Peter H. "Chemicals can be Dangerous to Your Art." Artweek 17 (July 26, 1986, August 23, 1986): 8, 8.
PER N1.A815
Lange, Oliver. "The Art Business: Playing Safe." The Artist 108 (February
1993): 32-33.
PER N1.A243 and Full-Text through Academic Search Elite
Luke, Joy Turner. "An update on art-material and quality standards."
American Artist 65, 703 (February 2001): 18-22.
PER TT848.S53
Rossol, Monona. "Accent on Safety." Regular column in Shuttle, Spindle, and Dyepot.
PER NK1160.S97
Rossol, Monona. "First Things Come First: Studio Safety." Surface Design Journal (Spring 1994): 4-5.
PER N1.A6
Staggs, Sam. "Poisonous Muse." ArtNews 87 (December 1988): 18.
PER NK6400.M43
Weiss-Edwards, Linda. "Health Hazards: Questions and Answers." Metalsmith
6 (Winter 1986): 51-52.
PER N1.A243 and Full-Text through Academic Search Elite
Willard, Christopher. "Art Materials Safety." American Artist
65, 710 (September 2001): 10-15.
Art Full-Text, available through the RIT Library Web Page, provides access to articles (with selected full-text) published from 1984 to the present. Use the following subject headings to find more information about art and photography health hazards:
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Monroe County Health Department
111 Westfall Road
Rochester, N.Y. 14692
585-274-6000
Provides general information about materials and the proper environment for their use.
Eastman Koday Health, Safety and Environmental Information Line
Eastman Kodak: 585-722-5151
Offices are staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, to answer general questions
about the toxicity of products, health concerns related to products, and to
provide information on procedures for dealing with emergencies resulting from
improper use of materials manufactured by these suppliers.
Finger Lakes Regional Poison and Drug Information Center.
Strong Memorial Hospital
601 Elmwood Avenue, Rochester, N.Y. 14642
1-800-222-1222.
Handles emergency situations, giving information about antidotes and proper procedures for dealing with internal and external contact with hazardous substances.
Rochester Institute of Technology, Chemical and Environmental Information
Irene Evans, Chemical Safety Officer, College of Science, 475-2491
Helen Revelas, Manager of Environmental Health and Safety, Campus Safety, 475-2040
Maintained by Kari Horowicz.