A question most typically asked with respect to engineering standards is simply this: "Does this library have such-and-such a standard?" WL currently has four volumes containing over fifty separate IEEE standards but these volumes lack both an index and table of contents so that an answer to this seemingly straight- forward question actually involves an extended search through the four volumes. The purpose of this guide is to simply list the IEEE standards currently held in WL. A complete list of IEEE standards can be found at their Website.
A "w" after a standard indicates that the standard has been withdrawn by IEEE, but it remains in the collection for archival value. A "s.e." indicates that the standard is contained in the IEEE Software Engineering Collection listed below.
Most of the standards are collectively assigned the call number: REF T 59.2 U52 I5 and arranged in the four volumes as follows:
New from IEEE- Information Technology Standards Online. Full-text of standards from this collection including the Sortware Engineering Collection.
Standard for Surge Arresters for A-C Power Circuits. w
Guide for Operation and Maintenance of Turbine Generators. Revised 1990.
Guide for Measuring Ground Resistance and Potential Gradients in the Earth. Revised 1983,1991.
Standard Graphic Symbols for Logic Functions.
General Principles for Rating Electric Apparatus for Short-time, Intermittent, or Vary Duty.
Guide on Test Procedures for DC Machines. w
Test Procedure for Single-Phase Induction Motors. w
Test Procedures for Synchronous Machines.
Standard Test Code for Resistance Measurements.
Recommended Practice for General Principles of Temperature Measurement as Applied to Electrical Apparatus. w
(Reaff 1972). Master Test Code for Electrical Measurements in Power Circuits. Revised 1990.
(Reaff 1984). Definition of Terms for Electronic Digital Computers. w
(Reaff 1984). Standard Definitions of Terms for Analog Computers. w
(Reaff 1984). Standard Definitions of Terms for Hybrid Computer Linkage Components.
Standard Definitions of Terms for Information Theory. w
(Supersedes Stds. 177-1968, 178-1958, and 179-1961). Standard on Piezoelectricity. Revised 1987.
Definitions of Primary Ferroelectric Terms. Revised 1990.
Standard Methods of Testing Monochrome Television Broadcast Receptors. w
Reference Designations for Electrical and Electronics Parts and Equipment. w
(Reaff 1978). Television: Methods of Measurement of Aspect Ratio and Geometric Distortion. w
(Reaff 1972). Television: Measurement of Luminance Signal Levels. w
(Reaff 1978). Television: Measurement of Differential Gain and Differential Phase. w
(Reaff 1978). Video Techniques: Measurement of Resolution of Camera Systems. Revised 1995.
Standard Definitions of Terms for Radio Wave Propagation. Revised 1990.
(Reaff 1980). Definitions of Semiconductor Terms. w
Standard Definitions of Terms for Thyristors. w
(Reaff 1980). Standard Definitions of Terms for Integrated Electronics. w
Letter Symbols for Quantities Used in Electrical Science and Electrical Engineering.
Standard Service Conditions for Power System Communication Equipment.
(Reaff 1986). Guide for Protective Relay Applications of Audio Tones Over Telephone Channels. w
Standard Definition of Terms for Communication Switching. w
Graphic Symbols for Electrical and Electronics Diagrams.
Standard for Electrical Installations of Packaging Machinery and Associated Equipment. w
Standard Definitions in Power Operators Terminology Including Terms for Reporting and Analyzing Outages of Electrical Transmission and Distribution Facilities and Interruptions to Customer Service. w
Definitions of Terms Under IEEE Standards on Nuclear Generating Stations.
Standard Digital Interface for Programmable Instrumentation. Revised 1992.
Standard on Video Signal Transmission Measurements of Linear Waveform Distortion. w
Standard Modular Instrumentation and Digital Intertface System. (CAMAC)
Standard Serial Highway Interface System.
Standard Parallel Highway Interface System.
Standard Glossary of Computer Applications Terminology. Revised 1990, s.e.
Standard Multiple Controllers in a CAMAC Crate.
(Reaff 1981). Recommended Practice for Block Transfers in CAMAC Systems.
Standard for Microprocessor Assembly Language.
Trial-Use Standard for Microprocessor Universal Format for Object Modules. Revised 1990.
Standard for Real-time BASIC for CAMAC.
Recommended Practice for Code and Format Conventions for Use With Std 488-1978.
Standard for Software Quality Assurance Plans. Revised 1990,s.e.
Standard for Binary Floating-Point Arithmetic.
Trial-Use Standard for Extending High-Level Language Implementations for Microprocessors. w
(Reaff 1981). Standard for Subroutines for CAMAC.
Guide to the Use of ATLAS. Revised 1989.
Standard Microcomputer System Bus.
Standard Methodologies for Specifying Voicegrade Channel Transmission Parameters and Evaluating Connection Transmission Performance for Speech Telephony. w
Standard for Software Configuration Management Plans. Revised 1990, s.e.
Standard for Software Test Documentation. s.e.
Guide for Software Requirements Specifications. Revised 1993, s.e.
Trial-Use Standard for Media-Independent Information Transfer.
Standard Definitions of Switching System Performance in a Telecommunications Environment.
Guide for Software Quality Assurance Planning. w
Recommended Practice for ADA as a Program Design Language. s.e.
Standard for Logic Circuit Diagrams.
Serial ASC II Instrumentation Loop (SAIL) Shipboard Data Communication. w
Standard for Software Verification and Validation Plans. Revised 1987, s.e.
Recommended Practice for Software Design Descriptions. s.e.
Standard Glossary of Mathematics of Computing Terminology. w
Several IEEE standards are classified separately as follows:
REF QA76.758.I46 1999.
Software Engineering Standards Collection. (5 volume set; see tables of contents for a complete list.)
4-1978 / REF TK275.I24 1978.
Standard Techniques for High Voltage Testing.
100-1992 / REF TK9.I478 1993.
Standard Dictionary of Electrical and Electronics Terms.
149-1979 / REF TK7871.6.I45 1979. Reaffirmed 1990.
Standard Test Procedures for Antennas.
802.1d-1993 / REF TK5105.7.I627 1993.
Information Technology- Telecommunication and Information Exchange Between Systems.
802.2-1989 / REF TK5105.7.A45941989.
Local Area Networks: Logical Link Control.
802.3-1988 / REF TK5105.7.A4584 1987.
Standards for Local Area Networks. Contains 802.3a,b,c,e-1988.
802.3-1990 / REF TK5105.7.A4584 1990.
Supplements. Contains 802.3b,c,d,e-1989.
802.3-1993 / REF TK5105.7.I624 1993.
Information Technology- Local and Metropolitan Area Networks. Contains 802.3-1988, h,i-1990.
802.4-1990 / REF TK5105.7 .A46 1990.
Local Area Networks: Token-Passing Bus Access Method.
802.5-1989 / REF TK5105.7.A4623 1989.
Local Area Networks: Token Ring Access Method.
802.6-1990 / REF TK5105.7 .I564 1991.
Local Area Networks: Distributed Queue Dual Bus (DQDB) Subnetwork of a Metropolitan Area Network (MAN).
802.7- 1989 / REF TK5105.7.I644 1990.
Recommended Practice for Broadband Local Area Networks.
960-1989 / REF TK 7895.B87.I573 1989.
FASTBUS Modular High-Speed Data Acquisition and Control System.
1003.2-92 / REF QA76.76.O63 I56 1993.
Standard for Information Technology: 1- Portable Operating System Interface; 2- Shell and Utilities.
1076-1987 / REF TA344.5 V47.I444 1988.
Standard VHDL Language Reference Manual. Revised 1993.
1076/INT-1991 / REF TK7885.7.I58 1991.
1149.1-1990 / REF TK7867 .I33 1993.
Standard Test Access Port and Boundry-Scan Architecture.
1149.1b-1994 / REF TK7867 .I332 1995.
Supplement to 1149.1-1990.
1209-1992 / REF QA76.758.I44 1993.
Recommended Practice for the Evaluation and Selection of CASE Tools.
1802.3-1991 / REF 5105.7.A46 1991.
Conformance Test Methodology: CSMA/CD Access Method and Specifications.
Page maintained by: Linette Koren