|
IETC Gift Book
List
Wallace Library has other related education
titles.The call numbers for education topics are in the LA, LB and LC areas located
on the 4th floor. Check the Einstein Catalog http://albert.rit.edu/ and if we do not have a title you want, use Connect NY http://www.connectny.info/search/
or IDS (interlibrary loan) http://wally.rit.edu/userservices/ill.html.
Find online full-text education articles using the education databases such as
Academic Search Elite, ERIC and Education FT. You can browse the Education Subject
Databases via http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/topic/education.html.
The Higher Education Journal List compiles print and online titles such
as New Directions in Teaching and Learning and is available via
http://wally.rit.edu/pubs/guides/hiedper.html.
The Journal on Excellence in College Teaching is available online via http://ject.lib.muohio.edu/
Active Learning
Banks, D.A. (2006). Audience response systems in higher education : Applications and cases. Hershey, PA : Information Science Publishing. (4th floor, LB2395.7 .B319 2006).
Bean, J.C. (1996). Engaging ideas: The professor’s guide to integrating writing, critical and active learning in the classroom. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (OVER 4th floor, PE1404 .B35 1996).
Beard, C.M. (2006). Experiential learning : A best practice handbook for educators and trainers. Philadelphia : Kogan Page. (4th floor, BF318.5 .B43 2006). (Also available online via ebrary). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Ciaccio, J. (2004). Totally positive teaching: A five-stage approach to energizing students and teachers. (e-book available via ebrary). Available via: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Golub, J.N. (1994). Activities for an interactive classroom. Urbana, IL: NCTE, 1994. (4th floor, LB1613.G62 1994).
Hertel, J.P. (2002). Using simulations to promote learning in higher education: An introduction. Sterling, VA: Sylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB 1029.S53 H48 2002).
Lee, V.S. (Ed.). (2004). Teaching and learning through inquiry: A guidebook for institutions and instructors. Sterling, VA: Stylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB1027.44.T43 2004).
McGill, J. (2004). The action learning handbook: Powerful techniques for education, professional development and training. New York: Routledge. (4th floor, LB1027.23.M34 2004)
Silberman, M. L. (2005). 101 ways to make training active. San Francisco, CA : Pfeiffer. (4th floor, LB1027.23 .S55 2005).
Weber, E. (2005). MI strategies in the classroom and beyond : Using roundtable learning. Boston : Pearson/Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, LB1060 .W43 2005).
Assessment
in Face to Face and/or Online Learning Classes
Allen, M.J. (2004). Assessing academic programs in higher education. Bolton, MA: Anker Publishing Co. (4th floor, LB2822.75.A44 2004).
Anderson, R.S., Bauer, J.F., and Speck, B.W. (Eds.). (2002). Assessment
strategies for the online class: From theory to practice. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB1028.5
.A83 2002).
Angelo, T. (Ed). (1998). Classroom assessment and research: An update on uses, approaches, and research findings. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2822.75.C55 1998).
Astin, A.W. (1993). Assessment for excellence : The philosophy and practice of assessment and evaluation in higher education. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press. (4th floor, LB2366.2 .A89 1993).
Banta, T.W. (1996). Assessment in practice : Putting principles to work on college campuses. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2366.2 .A88 1996).
Bresciani, M.J. (2006). Outcomes-based academic and co-curricular program review : A compilation of institutional good practices. Sterling, Va. : Stylus. (4th floor, LB3051 .B693 2006).
Brookhart, S.M. (1999). The art and science of classroom assessment: The missing part of pedagogy. Washington, DC: George Washington University. (4th floor, LB2822.75.B76 1999).
Comeaux, P. (Ed.). (2005). Assessing online learning. Bolton, MA: Anker Publishing Co. (4th floor, LB2328.I5.U6 A88 2005).
Diamond, R.M. (1998). Designing and assessing
courses and curricula: A practical guide. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (OVER 4th floor, LB2361.5 .D5 1998).
Drinka, D. (2005). From principles to practice: Analyzing a student learning outcomes assessment system. (e-book available via ebrary). Available via: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Driscoll, A. (2007). Developing outcomes-based assessment for learner-centered education : A faculty introduction. Sterling, Va. : Stylus, 2007. (4th floor, LB3051 .D665 2007).
Erwin, T. D. (1991). Assessing student learning and development : A guide to the principles, goals, and methods of determining college outcomes. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass (4th floor, LB2822.75 .E78 1991).
Gordon, E.E. (2007). The tutoring revolution: Applying research for best practices, policy implications, and student achievement. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education. (4th floor, LC41 .G595 2006).
Hernon, P. (2004). Outcomes assessment in higher education : views and perspectives. Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited. (4th floor, LB2331.63 .O88 2004).
Keith, B. (Ed.). (2004). Contexts for learning: Institutional strategies for managing curricular change through assessment. Stillwater, OK: New Forums Press. (4th floor, LB2361.5.C66 2004).
Kuh, G.D. (1994). Student learning outside the classroom : transcending artificial boundaries. Washington, DC : Graduate School of Education and Human Development, George Washington University. (4th floor, LA229 .S694 1994).
Maki, P. (2004). Assessing for learning : Building a sustainable commitment across the institution. Sterling, Va. : Stylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB2366.2 .M35 2004).
Morgan, C. (2004). The student assessment handbook. New York : RoutledgeFalmer. (4th floor, LB2368 .S88 2004).
Nichols, J.O. (1995). A practitioner's handbook for institutional effectiveness and student outcomes assessment implementation. New York : Agathon Press. (4th floor, LB2331.63 .N54 1995).
Nichols, J.O. (1995). Assessment case studies : Common issues in implementation with various campus approaches to resolution. New York : Agathon Press. (4th floor, LB2331.63 .N546 1995).
Palomba, C.A. (1999). Assessment essentials : Planning, implementing, and improving assessment in higher education. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass Publishers. (4th floor, LB2366.2 .P35 1999).
Roberts, T.S. (2006). Self, peer, and group assessment in e-learning. Hershey, PA : Information Science Publishing. (e-book available via ebrary). Available via: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Schuh, J.H. (2001). Assessment practice in student affairs : an applications manual. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass Publishers. (4th floor, LB2342.92 .S35 2001).
Stevens, D.D. (2005). Introduction to rubrics: An assessment tool to save grading time, covney effective feedback, and promote student learning. Sterling, VA: Stylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB3063.S74 2005).
Suskie, L.A. (2001). Assessment to promote deep learning. Washington, DC : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2822.75 .A554 2001).
Walvoord, B.E.F. (2004). Assessment clear and simple: A practical guide for institutions, departments, and general education. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2822.75.W35 2004).
Wiggins, G.P. (1998). Educative assessment: Designing assessments to inform
and improve student performance. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (OVER 4th floor, LB3051 .W495 1998).
Blended Learning
Bersin, J. (2004). The blended learning book: Best practices, proven methodologies, and lessons learned. San Francisco: Pfeiffer. (4th floor, HF5549.5T7B4815 2004). (Also available online via ebrary). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Bielawski, L.(2003). Blended elearning : integrating knowledge, performance, support, and online learning. Amherst, Mass. : HRD Press. (4th floor, LB1028.5 .B425 2003).
Bonk, C.J. (2006). The handbook of blended learning : Global perspectives, local designs. San Francisco : Pfeiffer. (4th floor, LB2395.7 .H22 2006).
French, D. (Ed.). (2003). Blended learning: An ongoing process for internet integration. Victoria, B.C. : Trafford. (4th floor, LB1044.87.B54 2003).
Hartley, P. (2005). Enhancing teaching in higher education : New approaches for improving student learning. New York : Routledge. (4th floor, LB2331 .E66 2005).
Hofmann, J. (2004). The synchronous trainer's survival guide : Facilitating successful live and online courses, meetings, and events. San Francisco : Pfeiffer. (4th floor, LB1027.47 .H64 2004b).
Jochems, W. (Ed.). (2004). Integrated e-learning: Implications for pedagogy, technology and organization. New York: RoutledgeFalmer. (4th floor, LB1044.87.I547 2004).
Koohang, A. (2007). Learning objects and instructional design. Santa Rosa, Calif. : Informing Science Press. (4th floor, LB1028.38 .L428 2007).
Littlejohn, A. (2007). Preparing for blended e-learning. New York : Routledge. (4th floor, LB1028.43 .L563 2007).
MacDonald, J. (2006). Blended learning and online tutoring : a good practice guide. Burlington, VT : Gower. (4th floor, LB1028.5 .M124 2006).
Shank, P. (2007). The online learning idea book : 95 proven ways to enhance technology-based and blended learning. San Francisco : Pfeiffer.(4th floor, LB1028.5 .O499 2007).
Thorne, K. (2003). Blended learning: How to integrate online and traditional learning. Sterling, VA: Kogan Page. (4th floor, HF5549.5T7 T4623 2003).
Troha, F. (2003). Bulletproof blended learning design: Process, principles and tips. Bloomington, IN: International Online Library. (4th floor, HF5549.5.T7T76 2003).
Wilson, D. (2005). The other blended learning : a classroom-centered approach. San Francisco, CA : John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (4th floor, HF5549.5.T7 W496 2005).
College Students, Generation X, General Y, Net Generation, Digital Natives, Millennials
Barefoot, B.O. (Ed.). (2005). Achieving and sustaining institutional excellence for the first year of college. (4th floor, LB2343.4 .A34 2005).
Cheung, E. (2007). Baby boomers, Generation X and social cycles. Toronto : Longwave Press.(4th floor, HB849 .44 .C54 2007).
Coomes, M.D. (Ed.). (2004). Serving the millennial generation. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2342.92.S47 2004).
Evans, N.J., Forney, D.S. and Guido-Dibrito, F. (1998). Student
development in college: Theory, research, and practice. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass.(4th floor, LB2343. 4.E88
1998).
Erickson, B.S. (2006). Teaching first-year college students. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331 .E76 2006).
Feldman, R.S. (2005). Improving the first year of college: Research and practice. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (4th floor, LB2343.32 .I57 2005). (Also available online via ebrary). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.html
Gardner, J.N., Van Der Deer, G. and Associates. (Eds.). (1998). The senior year experience: Facilitating
integration, reflection, closure and transition. San
Francisco: Jossey -Bass. (4th
floor, LA229.G27 1998).
Generation X : Americans born 1965 to 1976. (2004). Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications. (1st floor, Business and Entrepreneurship Resources Area HC110.C6 G46 2004).
Hicks, R. and Hicks, K. (1999). Boomers, Xers,
and other strangers: Understanding the generational differences that divide
us. Wheaton, Ill.:
Tyndale House. (4th floor, HM681.H53 1999).
Howe, N. and Strauss, W. (2000). Millennials rising: The next great generation.
New York: Vintage Books. (4th
floor, HQ796.H74 2000).
Howe, N. and Strauss, W. (2003). Millennials go to college: Strategies for a new generation on campus: Recruiting and admissions, campus life, and the classroom. Washington, DC: AACRAO and LifeCourse Associates. (4th floor, LB2324.H69 2003).
Kuh, G.D. (2005). Student success in college: Creating conditions that matter. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2343.32 .S79 2005).
Levine, A. and Cureton, J.S. (1998). When hope
and fear collide: A portrait of today’s college student. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th
floor, LA229.L423 1998). Also available via netLibrary ebook: http://www.netlibrary.com/ebook_info.asp?product_id=26090
Light, R.J. (2001). Making the most of college : Students speak their minds. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press.(4th floor, LD2160 .L54 2001).
The Millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994. (2004). Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications. (REF 1st floor, HQ796 .M4797 2004).
The Millennials : Americans under age 25. (2001). Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications. (4th floor, HQ796 .M55 2001).
Mitchell, S. (2001). Generation X : Americans aged 18 to 34. Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications. (1st floor, Business and Entrepreneurship Resources Area, HC110.C6 M544 2001).
Mitchell, S. (1999). Generation X : The young adult market. Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications.(4th floor, HC110.C6 M544 1999).
Montgomery, K.C. (2007). Generation digital : Politics, commerce, and childhood in the age of the internet. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press. (4th floor, HQ784.M3 M66 2007).
Nathan, R. (2005). My freshman year : What a professor learned by becoming a student. Ithaca : Cornell University Press. (4th floor, LB3605 .N34 2005).
Oblinger, D. and Oblinger, J.L. (2005). Educating the net generation. Boulder, CO: Educause. (4th floor, LB2395.7.E383 2005).
Pascarella, E.T. How college affects students: Findings and insights from
twenty years of research. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LA229 .P34 1991).
Perry, W.G. (1998). Forms of intellectual and ethical development in the
college years: A scheme. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor LB3609.P4 1998).
Rennie, F. (2004). The connecticon : Learning for the connected generation. Greenwich, Conn. : Information Age Publishing.(4th floor, LB1028.3 .R453 2004).
Sacks, P. (1996). Generation X goes to college : an eye-opening account of teaching in postmodern America. Chicago : Open Court. (4th floor, LB2331 .S17 1996).
Seidman, A. (Ed.). (2005). College student retention: Formula for student success. Westport, CT : Praeger Publishers. (4th floor, LC148.2 .C65 2005).
Tapscott, D. (1998). Growing up digital: The rise of the net generation. New York: McGraw-Hill.. (3rd floor, QA76.9.C66 T28 1998). (Also available online via ebrary). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.htm
Thau, R.D. (1997). Generations apart : Xers vs. boomers vs. the elderly. Amherst, N.Y. : Prometheus Books. (4th floor, HN90.I58 G45 1997).
Tulgan, B. (2001). Managing Generation Y : Global citizens born in the late seventies and early eighties. Amherst, Mass. : HRD Press.(4th floor, HF5549.2.U5 T853 2001).
Upcraft, M.L. (Ed.). ( 2005). Challenging and supporting the first-year student: A handbook for improving the first year of college. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2343.3.U63 2005).
Course/Instructional Objectives, Design and Theory
Anderson, L.W., Krathwohl, D. and Bloom, S.B. (Eds.). (2001). A
taxonomy for learning, teaching,and assessing: A revision
of Bloom’s taxonomy of educational objectives. New
York: Longman. (4th floor,
LB17 .T29 2001).
Diamond, R.M.
(1998). Designing and assessing courses and curricula: A practical
guide. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
(OVER 4th floor LB2361.5 .D5 1998 ).
Fink, L.D. (2003). Creating significant learning experiences: An integrated
approach to designing college courses. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass.(4th floor LB2331 .F495 2003).
Gronlund, N.E. (2000). How to write and use instructional objectives.
Upper Saddle River, NJ: Merrill. (4th floor, LB1027.4 .G76 2000).
Innes, R.B. (2004). Reconstructing undergraduate education: Using learning science to design effective courses. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (4th floor, LB2324.I55 2004).
Jonassen, D.H. (2003). Learning to solve problems: An instructional design guide. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB1028.38.J645 2003).
Koohang, A. (2007). Learning objects and instructional design. Santa Rosa, Calif. : Informing Science Press. (4th floor, LB1028.38 .L428 2007).
Morrison, G.R., Ross, S.M., and Kemp, J.E. (2001).
Designing effective instruction. New
York: John Wiley. (4th floor, LB1028.38 .K46 2001).
Piskurich, G.M. (2000). Rapid instructional design: Learning ID fast and right. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB1028.38.P57 2000).
Reigeluth, C.M. (Ed.). (1999). Instructional design theories and models:
Vol. 2 , a new paradigm of instructional theory. Mahwah,
NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. (4th floor, LB1025.2 .I6462 1999).
Rothwell, W.J. (2004). Mastering the instructional design process: A systematic approach. San Francisco: Pfeiffler. (4th floor, HF55549.5.T7 R659 2004).
Saroyan, A. (Ed.). (2004). Rethinking teaching in higher education: From a course design workshop to a faculty development framework. Sterling, VA: Stylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB1738.R46 2004).
Faculty
Assessment and Scholarship, Higher Education Issues
Bain, K. (2004). What the best college teachers do. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. (4th floor, LB2331.B34 2004).
Baxter M.M.B. (2004). Learning partnerships : Theory and models of practice to educate for self-authorship. Sterling, Va. : Stylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB2331 .L393 2004).
Boyer, E.L. (1997). Scholarship reconsidered: Priorities of the professoriate. Princeton, N.J. : Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching . (4th floor, LA227.4 .B69 1997).
Braskamp, L.A. and Ory, J.C. (1994). Assessing faculty work: Enhancing
individual and institutional performance. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2333.B68 1994).
Cohen, A.M. (1998). The shaping of American higher education: Emergence
and growth of the contemporary system. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass (4th floor, LA226 .C66 1998).
Colbeck, C.L. (2002). Evaluating faculty performance. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2333.E835. 2002).
Cross, K.P. and Steadman, M.H. (1996). Classroom
research: Implementing the scholarship of teaching. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (OVER 4th floor, LB2331.C766 1996).
Glassick, C.E., Huber, M.T., and Maeroff, G.I. (1997).
Scholarship assessed: Evaluation of the professoriate. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331
.G63 1997).
Knight, P. (2000). Forever better: Continuous quality improvement in higher education. Stillwater, OK: New Forums Press. (4th floor, LB2341.K65 2000).
Menges, R.J., Weimer, M. and Associates. (Eds.). (1996). Teaching on solid ground: Using scholarship to improve practice. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass ( 4th floor, LB2331 .T418 1996).
Palmer, P.J. (1998). The courage to teach: Exploring the inner landscape
of a teacher’s life. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB1775 .P25 1998). Also available via netLibrary ebook http://www.netlibrary.com/ebook_info.asp?product_id=26046
Roueche, J.E. (2003). Practical magic: On the front lines of teaching excellence. Washington, DC: Community College Press. (4th floor LB2331.R6782003).
Schuh, J.H. and Whitt, E.J. (Eds.). (1999). Creating successful partnerships between academic and student affairs. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2342.9.C75 1999).
Stronge, J.H. (2002). Qualities of effective teachers. Alexandria, VA: ASCD. (4th floor, LB1025.3.S789 2002).
Weimer, M. (2006). Enhancing scholarly work on teaching and learning : Professional literature that makes a difference. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331 .W365 2006).
Learning Communities
Barab, S.A. (Ed.). (2004). Designing virtual communities in the service of learning. New York: Cambridge University Press. (4th floor, LC5803.C65 .D47 2004).
Cox, M.D. (Ed.). (2004). Building faculty learning communities.San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.7 .B83 2004).
Guskin, A.E. (2004). Learning communities and fiscal reality : Learning in a time of restricted resources. Washington, D.C. : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2331 .N27 no.9).
Hurd, S.N. and Stein, R.F. (2004). Building and sustaining learning communities: The Syracuse University experience. Bolton, MA: Anker. (4th floor, LB1032.H873 2004).
Lai, K-W. (2005). E-learning communities : Teaching and learning with the Web. Dunedin, N.Z. : University of Otago Press. (4th floor, LB1044.87 .E425 2005)
Laufgraben, J.H.L. (2004). Sustaining and improving learning communities. San Francisco, CA : Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2341 .L245 2004).
MacGregor, J. (Ed.). (2003). Doing learning community assessment : Five campus stories. Washington, DC : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2331 .N27 no.2).
Malnarich, G. (2003). The pedagogy of possibilities : Developmental education, college-level studies, and learning communities. Washington, DC : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2331 .N27 no.8)
Murphy, C.U. (2005). Whole-faculty study groups creating professional learning communities that target student learning. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press. (4th floor, LB1731 .M865 2005).
O'Connor, J. (Ed.). (2003). Learning communities in research universities.Washington, D.C. : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2331 .N27 no.3).
Reisman, S. (2003). Electronic learning communities : Issues and practices. Greenwich, Conn. : Information Age Publishing. (4th floor, LC5803.C65 E54 2003).
Shapiro, N.S. and Levine, J.H. (1999). Creating learning communities: A practical guide to winning support, organizing for change, and implementing programs. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.S473 1999).
Smith, B.L. (Ed.). (2004). Learning communities : Reforming undergraduate education. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331 .L392 2004.
Spear, K.I. (Ed.). (2003). Learning communities in liberal arts colleges. Washington, D.C. : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2331 .N27 no.4).
Stone, R. (2006). Best practices for teacher leadership : What award-winning teachers do for their professional learning communities. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press. (4th floor, LB1025.3 .S755 2006).
Taylor, K. (Ed.). (2003). Learning communities research and assessment: What we know now. Washington, D.C. : American Association for Higher Education. (4th floor, LB2331 .N27 no.1).
Tu, C-H. (2004). Online collaborative learning communities :Twenty-one designs to building an online collaborative learning community. Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited. (4th floor, LB1028.5 .T755 2004).
Mentoring and New Faculty Orientation
Blythe, H. (2002). It works for me too!: More shared tips for effective teaching. Stillwater, OK: New Forums Press. (4th floor, LB2331.B59 2002).
Boreen, J.(2000). Mentoring beginning teachers : Guiding, reflecting, coaching. York, ME : Stenhouse Publishers.(4th floor, LB1731.4 .M4655 2000)
Boyle, E. (2003). Essentials of college and university teaching: A practical guide. Stillwater, OK: New Forums Press. (4th floor LB2331.B63 2003).
Cordell, R.M. (Ed.). (2004). Quick hits for new faculty: Successful strategies by award winning teachers. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press. (4th floor, LB2331.Q532 2004).
Daloz, L.A. (1999). Mentor:
Guiding the journey of adult learners. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LC5225.M45D35 1999).
Fibkins, W.L. (2002). An administrator’s guide to better
teaching mentoring. Lanham,MD:
Scarecrow Press. (4th floor, LB1731.4.F53
2002).
Forsyth, D.R. (2003). The professor's guide to teaching: Psychological principles and practices. Washington, DC: APA. (4th floor, LB2331.F632 2003).
Johnson, W. B. (2004). The elements of mentoring. New York : Palgrave Macmillan. (4th floor, HF5385 .J64 2004). Also available via ebrary: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.htm
Jonson, K.F. (2002). Being an effective mentor: How to help beginning
teachers succeed. Thousand Oaks, CA:
Corwin Press.(4th floor, LB1731.4.J66 2002).
Hostetler, K.D. (2001). The art and politics of college teaching: A practical guide for the beginning professor. New York : P. Lang. Available via ebrary: http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.htm
Lipton, L. (2003). Mentoring matters : A practical guide to learning-focused relationships. Sherman, CT : MiraVia, LCC. (4th floor, LB1731.4 .L56 2003).
Lucas, C. (2002). New faculty : A practical guide for academic beginners. New York : Palgrave, 2002. (4th floor, LB1778.2 .L83 2002).
McKeachie, W.J. (2002). McKeachie's teaching tips: Strategies, research and theory for college and university teachers. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co. (3rd floor, LB1738.M35 2002).
Menges, R.J. (1999). Faculty
in new jobs: A guide to settling in, becoming established, and building institutional
support. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.72.M46
1999).
Nilson, L.B. (1998). Teaching at its best: A research-based resource for college instructors. Bolton, MA: Anker Publishing Co., (OVER 4th LB2331.N54 1998).
Portner, H. (1998). Mentoring new teachers. Thousand Oaks Calif. : Corwin Press. (4th floor, LB1731.4 .P67 1998).
Royse, D.D. (2001). Teaching tips for college and university instructors: A practical guide. Boston: Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, LB2331 .R695 2001).
Scherer, M. (1999). A better beginning : Supporting and mentoring new teachers. Alexandria, Va. : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. (4th floor, LB2844.1.N4 B48 1999). (Also available online via ebrary). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.htm
Zachary, L.J. (2000). The mentor’s guide: Facilitating effective learning
relationships.San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB1731.4.Z23 2000).
Teaching Tools and Strategies, Microteaching
Barkley, E.F.(2005). Collaborative learning techniques : A handbook for college faculty. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB1032 .B318 2005)
Bateman, W.L. (1990). Open
to question: The art of teaching and learning by inquiry.San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th
floor, LB2331 .B377 1990).
Brown, D. (Ed). (2003). Developing faculty to use technology: Programs and strategies to enhance teaching. Bolton, MA : Anker. (4th floor, LB2331.72.D48 2003).
Brown, G. (1975). Microteaching: A programme of teaching skills. New York:Harper & Row. (4th
floor, LB1731 .B74 1975).
Brookfield, S.D. and Preskill, S. (1999). Discussion as a way of teaching: Tools and techniques
for democratic classrooms. San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.B679 1999).
Campoy, R.W. (2005). Case study analysis in the classroom: Becoming a reflective teacher. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications. (4th floor, LB1025.3.C35 2005).
Casazza, M.E. and Silverman, S.L. (1998). Learning assistance and
developmental education: A guide for effective practice. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.2.C37
1996).
Cooper, J.L. (Ed.). (2003). Small group instruction in higher education: Lessons from the past, visions of the future. Stillwater, OK: New Forums Press. (4th floor, LB1032.S63 2003).
Davis, B.F. (1993). Tools for teaching. San
Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.D37
1993).
Gordon, E.E. (2007).The tutoring revolution : Applying research for best practices, policy implications, and student achievement. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education. (4th floor, LC41 .G595 2006).
Hricko, M. (2003). Design and implementation of Web-enabled teaching tools. Hershey, PA : Information Science Publishing. (4th floor, LB1044.87 .D47 2003). (Also available online via ebrary). http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/ebrary/ebrary.htm
Hung, D. (2006). Engaged learning with emerging technologies. Dordrecht : Springer. (4th floor, LB1028.3 .E635 2006).
Lowman, J. (1984). Mastering the techniques of teaching.
San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.(4th floor, LB2331 .L68 1995).
Materna, L. (2007). Jump start the adult learner : How to engage and motivate adults using brain-compatible strategies. Thousand Oaks, CA : Corwin Press. (4th floor, LC5225.L42 M365 2007).
Michaelsen, L.K. (2004). Team-based learning: A transformative use of small groups in college teaching. Sterling, VA: Sylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB1032.T38 2004).
Penrod, D. (2007). Using blogs to enhance literacy : The next powerful step in 21st-century learning. Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education. (3rd floor, PE1422 .P46 2007).
Porter, J. (2002). Promoting the success of individual learners: Teachers applying their craft at the undergraduate level. Westport, CT: Bergin & Garvey. (4th floor, LB1031.P78 2002).
Provitera-McGlynn, A.(2001). Successful beginnings for college teaching : Engaging your students from the first day. Madison, WI : Atwood Publishing. (4th floor, LB2331 .P768 2001).
Richardson, W.(2006). Blogs, wikis, podcasts, and other powerful web tools for classrooms. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press. (4th floor, LB1044.87 .R53 2006).
Silverman, S.L.
and Casazza, M.E. (2000).
Learning and development: Making connections to enhance teaching. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331.2.S55 2000).
Speck, B.W. (2002). Facilitating students' collaborative writing. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, PN181.S64 2002).
Weimer, M. (2002). Learning-centered teaching: Five key changes to practice. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass. (4th floor, LB2331 .W39 2002).
Zubizarreta, J. (2004). The learning portfolio: Reflective practice for improving student learning. Bolton, MA: Anker. (4th floor, LB1029.P67.Z82 2004).
Zull, J.E. (2002). The art of changing the brain : Enriching teaching by exploring the biology of learning. Sterling, Va. : Stylus Publishing. (4th floor, LB1057 .Z85 2002).
Universal Design and Learning Styles
Bowe, F. (2000). Universal design in education : Teaching nontraditional students. Westport, Conn. : Bergin & Garvey. (4th floor, LB1028.38 .B69 2000).
Campbell, L. (1999). Teaching & learning through multiple intelligences. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, LB1060 .C366 1999).
Dunn, R.S. (1999). The complete guide to the learning styles inservice system. Boston : Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, LB1731 .D86 1999).
Dunn, R.S. (2000). Practical approaches to using learning styles in higher education. Westport, Conn. : Bergin & Garvey. (4th floor, LB2395 .P69 2000).
Gardner, H. (2006). Multiple intelligences : New horizons. New York : BasicBooks. (4th floor, BF432.3 .G379 2006).
Gardner, H. (1999). Intelligence reframed : Multiple intelligences for the 21st century. New York, NY : Basic Books. (4th floor, BF432.3 .G378 1999).
Grasha, A.F. (1996). Teaching with style: A practical guide to enhancing learning by understanding teaching and learning styles. Pittsburgh: Alliance Publishers. (4th floor, LB2331.G73 1996).
Powell, S. (Ed). (2003). Special teaching in higher education. Sterling, VA: Kogan Page. (4th floor, LC4814.G72 S369 2003).
Project Access workshop planner's guide : For presenting workshops to college faculty that promote access to instruction for deaf/hard-of-hearing students. (2005). Rochester, NY : National Technical Institute for the Deaf at RIT. (4th floor, HV2437 .P76 2005).
Scott, S.S. (2002). Universal design for instruction: A framework for anticipating and responding to disability and other diverse learning needs in the college classroom. Storrs, CT: University of Connecticut. (4th floor, LB1028.38 .S26 2002).
Silver, H.F. (2000). So each may learn : Integrating learning styles and multiple intelligences. Alexandria, Va. : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. (4th floor, LB1060 .S538 2000).
Villa, R.A. (2007). Differentiating instruction : Collaborative planning and teaching for universally designed learning. Thousand Oaks, CA : Corwin Press. (4th floor, LB1031 .T56 2007).
Weber, E. (2005). MI strategies in the classroom and beyond: Using roundtable learning. Boston: Pearson/Allyn and Bacon. (4th floor, LB1060.W43 2005).
Maintained by: Joan Naturale . Email: JXNWML@rit.edu.
|