RIT Home

Directories

Info Center/SIS

RIT Library home page RIT home page RIT institute directory RIT Student Information Service RIT Libraries Wallace Library Cary Collection RIT Archives

NORTH AMERICAN INDIAN ART: GUIDE TO LIBRARY RESOURCES

This guide is intended to assist the student doing basic research on the art and culture of the North American Indian tribes. The selection of well illustrated general surveys and representative examples of general and specialized studies of individual tribes and art media includes classic works and more recent publications. A list of subject headings that will enable the researcher to locate many more titles through "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog is provided for each section. Periodicals that frequently publish material about North American Indian art and culture and indexing and abstracting services that provide access to these publications (including subject headings for various aspects of this topic) are given in the final section of the guide.

RETROSPECTIVE BIBLIOGRAPHIES

REF E98.A7B87 1988
Burt, Eugene C., ed. Native American Art: Five-year Cumulative Bibliography, mid-1983 through 1988. Seattle: Data Arts, 1988. 157 p.

REF Z 5961.U5A77 v.1
Chapman, Allan D. "Art of the Native Americans." In Arts in America: A Bibliography, edited by Bernard Karpel, volume 1, section A. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1979. 74 p.

E98.A7H268 1969
Harding, Anne D., and Patricia Bolling, comps. Bibliography of Articles and Papers on North American Indian Art. Washington, D.C.: Department of the Interior, Indian Arts and Crafts Board, 1938. Reprint. New York: Kraus Reprint, 1969. 365 p.

REF E78.S7P37 1991
Parezo, Nancy J.; Ruth M. Perry; and Rebecca Allen. Southwest Native American Arts and Material Culture: A Guide to Research. 2 vols. New York: Garland, 1991. 1506 p.

GENERAL SURVEYS AND HANDBOOKS

OVER E59.A7A6 1971
Appleton, Le Roy H. American Indian Design and Decoration. New York: Dover, 1971. Reprint. Indian Art of the Americas. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1950. 277 p.

E98.A7 B47 1998
Berlo, Janet Catherine, Ruth Phillips. Native North American Art. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. 291 p., bibliography pp. 254-273.

E98.A7P33 1990
Burger, Hillel, Ian W. Brown, and Barbara Isaac. The Hall of the North American Indian: Change and Continuity. Cambridge, Mass.: Peabody Museum Press, 1990. 129 p., bibliography.

N6538.A4 C536 2002
Changing Hands: Art Without Reservation: 1 Contemporary Native American Art from the Southwest. New York: American Craft Museum, 2002. 224 p., bibliography p.222.

N5310.C54 1955
Christensen, Erwin O. Primitive Art. New York: Viking Press, 1955. 84 p., bibliography pp. 367-376.

OVER E98.A7D57
Dockstader, Frederick J. Indian Art in America: Arts and Crafts. Greenwich, Conn.: New York Graphic Society, 1961. 224 p., bibliography pp. 222-224.

OVER E98.A7F36 1991
Fane, Diana; Ira Jacknis; and Lise M. Breen. Objects of Myth and Memory: American Indian Art at the Brooklyn Museum. Brooklyn: The Brooklyn Museum, 1991. 320 p., bibliography pp. 313-316.

OVER E98.A7F38
Feder, Norman. American Indian Art. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1971. 446 p., bibliography pp. 439-446.

E98.A7F44
Feest, Christian F. Native Arts of North America. New York: Oxford University Press, 1980. 216 p., bibliography pp. 198-208.

OVER E98.A7C74 1994
Hill, Tom, and Richard W. Hill, Sr., eds. Creation's Journey: Native American Identity and Belief. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1994. 255 p.

OVER E78.S7L23 1989
I Am Here: Two Thousand Years of Southwest Indian Arts and Culture. Santa Fe: Museum of New Mexico Press, 1989. 209 p., bibliography pp. 202-205.

E98.A7I4913 1993
In the Shadow of the Sun: Perspectives on Contemporary Native Art. Quebec: Canadian Museum of Civilization, 1993. 538 p., includes bibliographies.

E98.A7A77 1992
Penney, David W. Art of the American Indian Frontier: The Chandler-Pohrt Collection. Detroit: Detroit Institute of Arts, 1992. 368 p., bibliography pp. 252-263.

E98.A7W32 1989
Walters, Anna Lee. The Spirit of Native America: Beauty and Mysticism in American Indian Art. San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 1989. 120 p., bibliography p. 117

Use the following subject headings to locate other general surveys of North American Indian art in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog:


	Indian Art
    Indian Artists
    Indians of North America	-Antiquities
                                -Industries

SURVEYS OF MAJOR CULTURE GROUPS

E78.E2 B72 2001
Bragdon, Kathleen. The Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Northeast. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001. 292 p., bibliography.

OVER E78.N78 B76 1998
Brown, Steven. Native Visions: Evolution in Northwest Coast Art from the Eighteenth through the Twentieth Century. S eattle: Seattle Art Museum, 1998. 216 p., bibliography pp. 201-209.

E78.G73C57 1982
Conn, Richard. Circles of the World: Traditional Art of the Plains Indians. Denver: Denver Art Museum, 1982. 151 p., bibliography p. 151.

E78.G73F69 2003

Fowler, Loretta. The Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Great Plains. New York: Columbia University Press, 2003. 282 p., bibliography pp.222-263.

E78.G7G74 1989
Great Lakes Indian Art. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1989. 107 p., includes bibliography.

E98.A7I5
Inverarity, Robert Bruce. Art of the Northwest Coast Indians. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1967. 243 p., bibliography pp. 237-243.

OVER E78.G73M375 1992
Maurer, Evan M., and Louise Lincoln. Visions of the People: A Pictorial History of Plains Indian Life. Minneapolis: Minneapolis Institute of Arts, 1992. 298 p., bibliography p. 293-295.

E78.S65 P45 2001

Perdue, Theda. The Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Southeast. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001. 325 p., bibliography.

E99.E7R24
Ray, Dorothy Jean. Aleut and Eskimo Art: Tradition and Innovation in South Alaska. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1981. 251 p., bibliography pp. 225-237.

E78.E2R5
Ritzenthaler, Robert E., and Pat Ritzenthaler. The Woodland Indians of the Western Great Lakes. New York: Natural History Press, 1970. 178 p., bibliography pp. 158-162.

OVER E78.S7T29
Tanner, Clara Lee. Prehistoric Southwestern Craft Arts. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1976. Bibliography pp. 219-222.

E99.S54W35 1985
Walton, Ann Thorson; John Canfield Ewers; and Royal B. Hassrick. After the Buffalo Were Gone: The Louis Warren Hill, Sr., Collection of Indian Art. St. Paul: Northwest Area Foundation, 1985. 254 p.

E78.S7L23 1989
Whiteford, Andrew Hunter. I Am Here: Two Thousand Years of Southwest Indian Arts and Culture. Santa Fe: Museum of New Mexico Press, 1989. 209 p., bibliography pp. 202-205.

Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to find more books about the arts and crafts of specific tribes and culture groups:


	Indian Art  			 -[State or Region]
    [Name of Specific Tribe] Art
    [Name of Specific Tribe] -Antiquities
                             -Industries
    Indians of North America	-Southwest, New				-Antiquities
                                -Northwest Coast of North America	-Implements
								-Great Plains
								-West, U.S.
								-[State]

SURVEYS BY MEDIA

  • Architecture

    OVER E99.P9C85
    Current, William, and Vincent Scully. Pueblo Architecture of the Southwest: A Photographic Essay. Austin: University of Texas Press for the Amon Carter Museum of Western Art, 1971. 97 p.

    OVER E98.D9N33 1989
    Nabokov, Peter, and Robert Easton. Native American Architecture. New York: Oxford University Press, 1989. 431 p., bibliography pp. 411-420.

    Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to locate more books about Indian architecture:

    
    	Cliff Dwellings
        Indian Architecture
        Pueblo Architecture
        Indians of North America	-[State or Region]	-Dwellings
    
    
  • Basketry

    OVER TS910.J27 1970
    James, George Wharton. Indian Basketry, and How to make Indian and Other Baskets. 3rd ed., rev. and enl. New York: H. Malkan, 1903. Reprint. Glorieta, N.M.: Rio Grande Press, 1970. 407 p., includes bibliographies.

    OVER E98.B3M683 1989
    Moser, Christopher L. American Indian Basketry of Northern California. Riverside, Calif.: Riverside Museum Press, 1989. 93 p., bibliography pp. 91-93.

    OVER E98.B3M69 1993
    Moser, Christopher L. American Indian Basketry of Southern California. Riverside, Calif.: Riverside Museum Press, 1993. 155 p., bibliography pp. 149-154.

    OVER E99.A6T25 1982
    Tanner, Clara Lee. Apache Indian Baskets. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1982. 204 p., bibliography pp. 197-200.

    E99.S64T58 1983
    Thompson, Nile, and Carolyn Marr. Crow's Shells: Artistic Basketry of Puget Sound. Seattle: Dushuyay Publications, 1983. 80 p., bibliography p. 78.

    E78.S7W53 1988
    Whiteford, Andrew Hunter. Southwestern Indian Baskets: Their History and Their Makers. Santa Fe: School of American Research Press, 1988. 219 p., bibliography pp. 206-214.

    Use the following subject heading in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to locate more books about Indian basketry:

    
    	Indian Baskets
    
    
  • Ceramics

    E99.A16D55 1992
    Dillingham, Rick. Acoma and Laguna Pottery. Santa Fe: School of American Research Press, 1992. 241 p., bibliography p. 232-233.

    E99.P9D54 1994
    Dillingham, Rick. Fourteen Families in Pueblo Pottery. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1993. 289 p.

    E99.N3H32 1987
    Hartman, Russell P. Navajo Pottery: Traditions and Innovations. Flagstaff: Northland Press, 1987. 113 p., bibliography pp. 103-106.

    OVER E99.M76M68 1984
    Moulard, Barbara L., and John Bigelow Taylor. Within the Underworld Sky: Mimbres Ceramic Art in Context. Pasadena, Calif.: Twelvetrees Press, 1984. 159 p., bibliography p. 159.

    E98.P8N4
    Naked Clay: 3000 Years of Unadorned Pottery of the American Indian. New York: Museum of the American Indian, Heye Foundation, 1972. 76 p., bibliography pp. 73-76.

    OVER E98.P8 P37 1997

    Peterson, Susan. Pottery by American Indian Women: The Legacy of Generations. New York: Abbeville Press, 1997. 224 p., bibliography pp. 218-220.

    Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to find more books about Indian ceramics:

    
    	Indian Pottery
    	[Name of Specific Tribe or Culture Group]	-Pottery
    
    
  • Metalwork

    REF E98.J48 B38 2000
    Baxter, Paula. Encyclopedia of Native American Jewelry : A Guide to History, People, and Terms. Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2000. 242 p., bibliography pp. 202-209.

    E99.N3B39
    Bedinger, Margery. Indian Silver: Navajo and Pueblo Jewelers. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1973. 264 p., bibliography pp. 243-255.

    E78.S7C53 1992
    Crillo, Dexter. Southwestern Indian Jewelry. New York: Abbeville Press, 1992. 240 p., bibliography p. 237.

    OVER E98.J48 D83 1999

    Dubin, Lois.North American Indian Jewelry and Adornment: From PreHistory to the Present. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1999. 608p., bibliography pp. 591-597.

    E99.N3F82 1990
    Frank, Lawrence Phillip, and Millard J. Holbrook. Indian Silver Jewelry of the Southwest, 1868-1930. 2nd ed. West Chester,Penn.: Schiffer Publishing, 1990. 214 p., bibliography.

    OVER E78.S7K36 1993
    Krasik, Carol. The Turquoise Trail: Native American Jewelry and Culture of the Southwest. New York: Abrams, 1993. 215 p., bibliography p. 213-215.

    Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to locate more books about Indian metalworking:

    
    	Indian Silverwork
    	[Name of Specific Tribe or Culture Group]
        Indians of North America		-[State or Region]	-Costume
                                                            -Jewelry
                                                            -Silverwork
    
  • Painting

    N6538.A4A7 1991
    Archuleta, Margaret. Shared Visions: Native American Painters and Sculptors in the Twentieth Century. Phoenix: Heard Museum, 1991. 110 p., bibliography pp. 103-108.

    E98 .P23B76 1999

    Broder, Patricia. Earth Songs, Moon Dreams: Paintings by American Indian Women. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999. 296 p., bibliography pp.285-287.

    OVERE98.A7D8
    Dunn, Dorothy. American Indian Painting of the Southwest and Plains Areas. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1968. 429 p., bibliography pp. 385-414.

    ND238.A4H53
    Highwater, Jamake. Song from the Earth: American Indian Painting. Boston: New York Graphic Society, 1976. 212 p., bibliography pp. 206-208.

    ND238.A4S48 1988
    Seymour, Tryntje Van Ness. When the Rainbow Touches Down: The Artists and Stories Behind the Apache, Navajo, Rio Grande Pueblo, and Hopi Paintings in the William and Leslie Van Ness Denman Collection. Phoenix: Heard Museum, 1988. 377 p., bibliography pp. 368-372.

    Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to locate more books about Indian painting:

    
    	Indian Painting
        Picture-writing, Indian
        Sandpaintings
    
    
  • Sculpture

    OVERE99.H2D74
    Drew, Leslie, and Douglas Wilson. Argillite: Art of the Haida. North Vancouver: Hancock House, 1980. 313 p., bibliography pp. 303-306.

    OVER E78.G73E935 1986
    Ewers, John Canfield. Plains Indian Sculpture: A Traditional Art from AmericaÕs Heartland. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1986. 239 p., biblliography, p. 233-237.

    E99.E7R28
    Ray, Dorothy Jean. Eskimo Masks: Art and Ceremony. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1967. 246 p., bibliography pp. 223 to 235.

    E78.N78W6 1976
    Wingert, Paul S. American Indian Sculpture: A Study of the Northwest Coast. New York: Hacker Art Books, 1976. 182 p., bibliography pp. 124-129.

    Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to locate more books about Indian sculpture:

    
    	Indian Masks
        Indian Sculpture
        Indian Wood-carving
        Totem Poles	
        Indians of North America			-Implements
        [Name of Secific Tribe or Culture Group]	-Implements
                                                    -Sculpture
    
  • Textiles

    E98.C8B422 1982
    Bebbington, Julia M. Quillwork of the Plains. Calgary: Glenbow Museum, 1982. 42 p., bibliography, pp. 52-53.

    E99.N3B56 1988
    Blomberg, Nancy J. Navajo Textiles: The William Randolph Hearst Collection. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1988. 257 p., bibliography pp. 251-253.

    E98.T35D62 1993
    Dockstader, Frederick J. Weaving Arts of the North American Indian. Rev. ed. New York: Icon Editions, 1993. 223 p., bibliography pp. 210-219.

    E99.A86D85 1989
    Duncan, Kate C. Northern Athapaskan Art: A Beadwork Tradition. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1989. 224 p., bibliography pp. 203-217.

    E99.K84D86 1988
    Duncan, Kate C. A Special Gift: The Kutchin Beadwork Tradition. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1988. 94 p., bibliography pp. 92-94.

    TT880.H468 1989
    Hensler, Christy Ann. Guide to Indian Quillworking. Surrey, B.C.: Hancock House, 1989. 63 p.

    E99.N3K283
    Kaufman, Alice, and Christopher Selser. The Navajo Weaving Tradition: 1650 to the Present. New York: E.P. Dutton, 1985. 150 p., bibliography.

    OVER E98.C8K36 1992
    Kapoun, Robert W. Language of the Robe: American Indian Trade Blankets. Salt Lake City: Peregrine Smith Books, 1992. 179 p.

    OVER E98.C8P37 1994
    Paterek, Josephine. Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume. Denver: ABC-CLIO, 1994. 516 p., bibliography pp. 473-485.

    Use the following subject headings in "Einstein," the RIT Library catalog to locate more books about Indian textiles:

    
    	Indian Beadwork
        Indian Embroidery
        Indian Featherwork
        Indian Textile Fabrics
        Quillwork
        Beadwork				-[State]
        Indians of North America		-[State or Region]	-Costume	
        [Name of Specific Tribe or Culture Group]			-Textile Fabrics
                                                            -Embroidery
    
    

    PERIODICAL LITERATURE

  • Periodicals

    American Anthropologist. Vol. 66- , 1964- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/Film 263. Also available full-text: WilsonOmniFile: 1998- .

    American Craft. Vol. 12- , 1952- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER NK1.C73. Also available full-text: ProQuest Research Library: 1991- .

    American Indian Art Magazine. Vol. 1- , 1976- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER E98.A7A43

    Archaeology. Vol. 11- , 1958- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER GN700.A725. Also available full-text: Academic Search Elite: 1999- .

    Fiberarts. Vol. 5- , 1978- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER TT697.F52. Also available full-text: Art Full-Text: 1997- .

    Ornament. Vol. 2- , 1975/76- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER NK7300.B42. Also available full-text: Art Full-Text: 1997- .

    Shuttle, Spindle, and Dyepot. Vol. 1- , 1969/70- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER TT848.S53 and Film 978

    Smithsonian. Vol. 1- , 1970- .
    Current Magazine Shelves/PER AS30.S6 and Film 982. Also available full-text: Academic Search Elite: 1990-.

  • Indexing and Abstracting Services

    Art Full-Text. Indexing 1984 -. Abstracts 1994 - . Monthly. Selected Full-text beginning 1997 - .
    Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
    http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/art/art.html
    Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 32-38 1983/84-1989/1990.

    Art Index Retrospective. Indexing 1929-1984. Citations and Abstracts.
    Electronic format: RIT Library Web page: Databases and Resources
    http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/artretro/artretro.html
    Print Issues: INDEX N1.A1A68. Vol. 1-32. 1929-1983/84.

    Humanities Full-Text.

    Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
    http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
    Indexing 1982-. Abstracts 1984- . Full-Text, 1994- .Monthly.
    Print Issues: INDEX AI3.H85 v.1-21 1974/75-1994.

    Readers' Guide Full-Text

    Electronic format: RIT Library Web Page: Databases and Resources
    http://wally.rit.edu/electronic/omni/omni.html
    Indexing 1982-. Abstracts 1984- . Full-Text, 1994- .Monthly.
    Print Issues: INDEX AI3.R4 v.1-54 1900-1994.


    Maintained by Kari Horowicz.

  •